Milly

Sail Away Dress

$50 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Milly's navy dress with white rope detailing is a super sweet Springtime look. Shown here with silver accessories and a white pump.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - elastic waistband is fitted with belt at natural waist; bust allows adjustable waist fit - flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk with ivory rope appliqué. Nautical rope trim detail. V neckline. Tie waist. Gathered skirt. 34" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(42)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 29, 2012
Nice dress
I loved the dress, but chose the other to wear to this wedding. RTR really needs to extend their service to Alaska.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2012
Sweet and Unique
Very cute dress! I would size down for your back up size. The elastic waist is forgiving, yet perfectly concealed by the sash. Absolutely adorable for my boyfriend's graduation!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
Loved the dress.
This dress was so cute and I got so many compliments on it. Thanks RTR :)
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
the dress was not in good shape! No elastic was left in the waist band and it looked like a tent. Shame - seemed like a cute dress
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2011
Loved this dress! Very comfortable and easy to wear. Paired it with pearls to complete the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 7, 2012
Comfortable and flattering
Relaxed fit through the hips for hourglass/pear shapes - this was lovely on and comfortable enough for a long day outside in the summer. Details are gorgeous and fabric is lightweight without being cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 10, 2012
So pretty
I rented this dress for my sister's bridal shower. It was perfect for the occasion, and is a really nice dress. The only drawback for me was that the 2 fit better overall, but it was a little short on me (5'9"). Other than that, was a great choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
Jus ok.
I worev the size 4 for Easter, since it sat better at my waistline. However, the elastic band at the waist was totally stretched out. Fortunately, the sash provided helped cinch it in. It worked very well for a small chest. The white trim wasn't white in either dress. It seems as if the dark navy if the dress had darkened it during the wash. It was more like tannish/grey, but it worked well with tan shoes.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Wasn't made for my body type.
This was a very pretty dress. Unfortunately it just wasn't made for me. It was a bit too loose up top for my liking and didn't do much for my liking. I wish it had fit better as I was a fan of the overall look of the dress... just not the overall look of the dress on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153lbs
September 19, 2012
perfect for post-wedding brunch
perfect fit - nice and comfortable - elastic waistband!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Got lots of great comments on this dress!
This dress was perfect for the outdoor, fall Maine Seacoast wedding that I wore it to. The dress was very comfortable and the fit was great. However, there was a little excess material in the chest because of my small A cups. Although, the way the extra fabric fell I think I was the only one that noticed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect Bridal Brunch Outfit!
Love , love , love, LOVE this dress! Did not want to send it back! I wore it to a brunch the day after my wedding and it was comfy after a long night of dancing and still looked amazing! Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
October 7, 2012
Adorable and flattering dress that was perfect for an engagement party
I rented this dress for a "casual attire" engagement party. I dressed it down with flats. It was really adorable. A bit lightweight though, so I wore a cardigan. Also I would definitely recommend sizing down for the back-up. The elastic waist gave some flex room, so while both sizes fit, the smaller looked better on me (the bust wasn't as loose, the waist more cinched, and the length above the knee, just like on the model).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 16, 2012
I wore this to my graduation at Cal Poly. Many compliments!
Length was good (I was worried about that because I am short!). The bust, however, was awkward... I know I am small there, but it was so big the fabric folded over the cute little rope belt! But, very cute, very well made, felt expensive. Glad I didn't have to buy it because of the fit in the bust, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 31, 2012
Embroidery is so pretty!
I thought this dress ran big. I should have gotten a 0 for my backup size. It was light and flowy and perfect for my bridal shower! The embroidery was great, my mom really loved it too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
Wonderful, Conservative Dress!
I ordered this dress for Easter and, it fit wonderfully! Being tall, it's very hard to find something cute but, not too short to wear in front of the in-laws and church. However, this dress worked!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Perfect fit, and I didn't have to worry about making constant adjustments.
Dress showed signes of wear and tear, but it fit very well. I especially liked the snap bra strap holders! It was super comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
Preppy and adorable
Super easy and comfortable dress. The one thing to note is the roping is not a bright white - more a cream or tan shade. Still, I'd rent this dress again. My husband thought it was really cute!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
November 28, 2012
So many compliments!
It was comfy and so cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
Very cute dress!! Perfect for a summer poolside cookout!
I really enjoyed this dress. The fit was adorable and the look was perfect for the summer party I wore it to. Also, I got to experience the RTR amazing customer service when I rented this dress. The original package came without the belt, but the RTR stylist I spoke with overnighted one to me.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
January 9, 2013
Beautiful detail
It was beautiful but the fabric did not fall well and it was shorter than pictured.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
It served it's purpose
This dress was GREAT! Perfect for a Beach BBQ Wedding. SUPER COMFY and easy to eat lots of BBQ and still feel ok. It runs pretty big, I could have easily worn a 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 10, 2013
Lots of compliments on the dress, but a tad shapeless
I liked this dress, although it wasn't particularly special. It was my sister's rehearsal dinner though, so I didn't feel like it was my turn to shine. I chose it in particular because it had an elastic waist, and I was pregnant at the time (first trimester). It was so comfortable, great fit, but a tad shapeless.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect for a daytime event
I wore this for my daughter's graduation and received tons of compliments. Nice quality, great detailing and very comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2013
Wore this for Thanksgiving dinner.
This was my first rental and everything went smoothly. The piping was a little bit worn looking - blue color of the dress had tinged it a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
Favorite Dress!
This is one of my all time favorite dresses! I wish I could buy it! So perfect. Wore to a Mother's Day formal brunch. Easy fit, very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2014
Very comfortable
I wore this dress to my brother in law's wedding. I had a baby a month before I wore it. It was nice and comfortable and not tight.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
March 25, 2011
Great dress. But shorter than I expected from the measurements.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
June 5, 2011
Adorable dress. Easy and comfortable fit. Was perfect for Sunday night dinner with the fiance's family.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
June 20, 2011
Loved this dress! Very comfortable and perfect for a "dressy casual" summer rehearsal dinner. I'd say it runs a tad large, so if you're in between sizes, consider the smaller one.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 30, 2011
Because of the elastic band beneath the belt and loose fit, most could probably size down in this dress! very flattering and comfortable! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Great dress!
Super cute dress. Fun and got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
November 6, 2015
This dress was perfect for an end-of-summer formal at an aquarium!
Fit was true to size, fabric was soft and comfortable, and it was ver flattering. I'd definitely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
August 12, 2010
Easiest fit ever. The waist is elastic but the sash disguises it so easy to eat a big meal:) Could wear whatever bra as well.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2010
Wore this for my rehearsal dinner and loved it! Flattering fit and the print is so fun. Received so many compliments on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
My 1st RTR experience!
The dress was easy to wear and very comfortable. The wedding was at a Yacht club so the dress was a perfect fit for the venue. So many people raved about my dress and were excited to hear about RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
October 22, 2012
I wore this to the spring VA Gold Cup horse race.
This dress was super cute - the nautical detailing was classy, and perfect for this uber preppy event. The fit was pretty loose (I can't remember if I wore the 0 or 2), so I didn't have to worry about shapewear, or my bra showing or anything. That being said, it didn't feel that special; I do think it's a very versatile dress though - it could be dressed up for work, worn on a date, or to an event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2010
I loved this dress -- wore it to a June wedding and it was perfect for dancing, very comfortable, no special undergarments required. Great light fabric but the embroidery feels substantial without being heavy. Definitely a summer/nautical feel that might not be as good now that fall is here.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2011
For taller and bustier women. I usually fill out the tops of things but this one gapped at the sides. This particular dress also seemed a bit worn and past its prime. The rope trim pulled at the silky fabric. The dress seemed dowdy and frumpy overall.
LakeyaAugust 12, 2015
Thank you so much for saying it didn't feel Christmas like...I was worried about that!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2011
I agree with the other reviews that say this dress is an easy fit. The elastic waistband and loose fit means that almost anyone could wear it but if you have a smaller chest I'd go a size down. I also found it shorter than in the picture, too short for me in fact. Cute dress for the right occasion.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×