Rent the Runway

Milly

Sail Away Dress

$50 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Milly's navy dress with white rope detailing is a super sweet Springtime look. Shown here with silver accessories and a white pump.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - elastic waistband is fitted with belt at natural waist; bust allows adjustable waist fit - flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - elastic waistband is fitted with belt at natural waist; bust allows adjustable waist fit - flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy silk with ivory rope appliqué. Nautical rope trim detail. V neckline. Tie waist. Gathered skirt. 34" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

94 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 51
Large 42
Photos 13
ALW
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful and perfect for a beach cocktail party. I usually wear a 4 but the 2 fit perfectly.
Dana
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I was a bit worried when I couldn't order a second size but this ren true to size and I got many compliments. I would def order this dress again. It went perfect with nude platform heels
BAM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
May 25, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I would recommend going down a size in this if you are smaller on top. The full skirt is very forgiving for wider hips. I felt like the elastic band hit me in a strange spot - more over my ribs than at my natural waist. I liked the dress but wouldn't rent it again.
jules
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Jun 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Adorable dress. Easy and comfortable fit. Was perfect for Sunday night dinner with the fiance's family.
Lacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was really pretty, fun and comfortable. I wish I would have worn my own belt as the sash seemed a little silly to me and made a bow in the back. It was great for a classy spring wedding.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 20, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Loved this dress! Very comfortable and perfect for a "dressy casual" summer rehearsal dinner. I'd say it runs a tad large, so if you're in between sizes, consider the smaller one.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Jun 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is really cute. I am petite so renting dresses is pretty scary for me because of the length, this dress was perfect for me! I rented it for a yacht party and I felt great in it. I rented the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 2. The elastic waist and conservative top let me wear my smaller size. Great for a summer party!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 30, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Because of the elastic band beneath the belt and loose fit, most could probably size down in this dress! very flattering and comfortable! Loved it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I usually wear a size 6 in Milly dresses, but was able to wear the size 4 in this dress. I wore it to a summer wedding and it was a big hit and perfect for the occasion. Rent it!
Mollie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress - easy fit, so comfy! If anything was a tad big. I normally wear an 8, but probably could have used a 6 in this. The details are beautiful.
Rebecca
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 8, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress runs a bit large. My mother in law was able to fit into the extra size 8 I got, and she's really a 12. I fit easily into the size 6 with a G cup bra. So perfect for summer, and no special bra necessary!
Bridget
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 13, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I loved this dress! It was my first time renting the runway and I will do it again. I wore it to a wedding in Newport, RI and received so many compliments. It definitely ran large so I was glad I got a smaller size. Super comfortable and the details are fabulous! Can't wait to rent again!
Jan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
True to size, wore it to a bridal shower about a year ago. Very cute!
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
My one caveat with this dress is that it runs a full size smaller than every other Milly Dress I have rented. Usually the 8 is correct size in Milly, but in this dress the 8 was a bit to roomy. Also, I would recommend getting the fashion tape to keep bra straps in place on this dress. Overall I got many compliments on the dress.
KellyB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding at the beach. Hurricane Irene cancelled the beach wedding which then became a fancy hotel wedding. The dress was alot baggier and larger than I thought it would be. I normally can fit into a 0 but am more comfortable in a 2 and the 0 was huge on me. I didn't end up wearing the dress b/c of the change of venue but I don't know if I would have been very happy wearing at the beach wedding either. Just not what I expected from the picture.
ACPnyc
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I'm normally a 6, and very rarely a 4, but the 4 fit well, so I would order a size down. I couldn't tell from the picture that the white detailing is rope, so that was a pleasant surprise. I wore it to a very casual beach wedding, where I didn't want to be too dressy, so this dress was perfect. Like other reviewers have said, the fit is really easy because the style and the elastic waist. I'm small up top, but it's supposed to be kind of blousy, so I thought it looked fine.
acmes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 9, 2011

Overall fit: Large
For taller and bustier women. I usually fill out the tops of things but this one gapped at the sides. This particular dress also seemed a bit worn and past its prime. The rope trim pulled at the silky fabric. The dress seemed dowdy and frumpy overall.
NC Girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I agree with the other reviews that say this dress is an easy fit. The elastic waistband and loose fit means that almost anyone could wear it but if you have a smaller chest I'd go a size down. I also found it shorter than in the picture, too short for me in fact. Cute dress for the right occasion.
nk
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Body type: Pear
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
the dress was not in good shape! No elastic was left in the waist band and it looked like a tent. Shame - seemed like a cute dress
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 30, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I absolutely loved this dress! It was so perfect for the summer wedding rehearsal dinner I wore it to! It definitely runs large. I usually wear a 6, but only the 4 was available. I decided just to get the 4, and it was actually a little big. The tie sash that the dress comes with helps fit the dress at the waist. The only thing is that the dress is unlined and a little sheer, but I wore a slip and it was fine.
Adrienne
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to my engagement brunch paired with a little white cardigan (it was a bit chilly out). The fit was super easy, I'd say you could even size down if you have a smaller bust. The fabric was light & airy and the rope detailing was too cute. Just a little shorter than I was hoping for, but so is everything when you're 5'11".
Kim
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this for my engagement photos & thought that the dress was FABULOUS - Couldn't have been happier with my rental!
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! Very comfortable and easy to wear. Paired it with pearls to complete the look.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! Wore it to a dinner dance and got so many compliments. I'm 5"10, 145 pounds and a B - I ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 4. It was a tiny little bit tighter in the armpits, but didn't bother me too much - the 6 wasn't as flattering overall!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2011

Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and got rave reviews! (I also loved it!) Just a couple of notes for future renters - the embroidery is NOT white. I was planning to wear white shoes but it was more of a khaki. Ended up wearing some nude wedges and it worked fine. Also - it appears it should come with a belt as there are loops but there was not one to be found. And I paired it with a cropped khaki jacket as it was a little cold and it worked really well! :)
JT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Apr 5, 2012

Want to rent again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This is such a cute, easy to wear dress. The way it flows is so nice. The fabric just takes it up a notch from a regular little sundress. Do not make the mistake of thinking the trim is white though. It is more natural. Looked perfect with nude wedge sandals. Absolutely loved this little dress.
NB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Apr 23, 2012

Better in person

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I thought the dress would be more casual looking, but I was pleasantly surprised that it looked fancier than I originally thought. The dress doesn't appears as "nautical" in person, which makes the dress more versatile, in my opinion. As mentioned, the rope detail is not white - it's definitely more khaki. The dress definitely runs large, so it's best to size down at least one size. Having a large bust, I was thankful the top was quite roomy, but if you are small-chested, you may be able to size down two dress sizes. Would definitely rent again!
Donna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 25, 2012

Wish that they had a size 6!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is super flattering and very comfortable! The detailing is really something. They didn't have a size 6 and I took a gamble and rented the size 8 and the size 4. The size 8 was way too big on me and the size 4 didn't really fit me (I have a post partum body from a 5 month old baby) around the chest area. I ended up not being able to wear either dress but wanted to note that the white in the dress is definitely closer to a cream color.
Lola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 28, 2012

Easiest dress to wear ever!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful and I loved how easy and comfy it is. It runs large I'm always a 4 and the 2 fit perfectly. Thanks to everyone's reviews I picked the right size!! If you are looking for a stylish hassle free dress! this is the one
Malavika
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 21, 2012

cute dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a semiformal brunch. It was extremely comfortable and very cute. I received lots of compliments. The dress runs large, and was a bit loose on the top. I have large hips though, and the a-line skirt is great for pear-shaped bodies.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 8, 2012

Great casual dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was a backup rental I didn't end up wearing, but it is really cute. I normally wear a 2 in Jcrew, and this was a bit large for me. Cute dress overall, though.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 12, 2012

Classic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. Perfect for a casual outing, great detail, classic. BUT it runs REALLY large. It felt like I was wearing a tent. Had to send back, but would order again in a smaller size. Great dress!
Donna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Jun 19, 2012

Great Casual Outfit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Outfit is cute! I am in between an 8 and a 10. Definitely size down as outfit has plenty of room. You can see a lil bit of of used in this dress. The nautical design is beigy.
Tatiana M.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 11, 2012

Anchors Away

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Totally loved this dress. I originally ordered an 8 because the 6 was not available, and it did fit a little big, but an added belt really added to the look and fit of the dress.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Perfect for us "larger" gals!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I have an extreme hourglass figure, and this dress is perfect for it. If you have a large bust or hips, this is a great choice. It runs VERY LARGE. I wear an 8, but I rented a 4 as a backup based on reviews. If the 4 was even an inch longer, I would have worn it instead of the 8. I also felt that it was maybe not dressy enough for an evening wedding, but the fabric is silky so I think I got away with it!
emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

Perfect ant dress code dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding, where the dress code was unspecified. I dressed it up with pearls and heels, and it was perfect! I received many compliments on it.
Kat
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Nice dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress, but chose the other to wear to this wedding. RTR really needs to extend their service to Alaska.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Cute but a little casual

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i rented this for a wedding and ended up wearing it to the rehersal bbq instead - it fit great and was really cute, but it was a little casual for the actual wedding. Perfect for a laid back or casual affair.
Abigail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Sweet and Unique

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Very cute dress! I would size down for your back up size. The elastic waist is forgiving, yet perfectly concealed by the sash. Absolutely adorable for my boyfriend's graduation!
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Comfortable and flattering

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Relaxed fit through the hips for hourglass/pear shapes - this was lovely on and comfortable enough for a long day outside in the summer. Details are gorgeous and fabric is lightweight without being cheap.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×