Milly

Sail Away Dress

$50 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Milly's navy dress with white rope detailing is a super sweet Springtime look. Shown here with silver accessories and a white pump.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - elastic waistband is fitted with belt at natural waist; bust allows adjustable waist fit - flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk with ivory rope appliqué. Nautical rope trim detail. V neckline. Tie waist. Gathered skirt. 34" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(42)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2013
VEry classy summer outdoor event dress.

The dress fit very well, the silk was lightweight but hung well. The embroidery is a unique detail and helps create the nautical theme of the dress with a rope-like scrolling. It runs a little large so I wore the smaller size. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. My only regret was that I had to wear a sweater because the weather became chilly ( outside graduation.) It looks great in the graduation photos.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2014
Not a flattering dress

I rented this dress to wear for my bridal shower and it didn't work out at all. I was bummed but I have my eye on another dress that I am planning to rent for a cousin's wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 27, 2012
Love the detail, but the fit was off

The fit on this was awkward because the elastic didn't hit right at my waist. Beautiful dress though!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 36
November 14, 2015
The perfect dress for a wedding by the sea!

Great fit, lightweight, adorable detail.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2010

Cute dress! Fit true to size!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2010

Great dress that is unbelievably comfortable and fits so well. I wasn’t playing with it at all during the wedding, which was on the Cape in August. It was perfect for the occasion but is probably past its prime now that fall is here. I ordered a size 8 and it fit true to size.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2010

Super cute style that was perfect for a wedding brunch the morning after the main event. I didn't like the same-fabric belt tie, so I ended up using a canvas-type belt that was the same color as the rope detailing. If you're a little busty, beware that the top will poof out a little. But the skirt is beautiful and flowy.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
November 17, 2010

Very cute on and very comfy! I wore it to a bridal shower and got alot of compliments on it.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2011

I usually order a 6 and 8- if the second size option is available-, because I have a larger than C chest which can sometimes be hit or miss with a designer. I was able to wear the 6 (normal dress size) in this dress for an outdoor casual dress rehearsal dinner in July '09 with the Ivory Summer Fun Earrings and the Pave Jewel Bracelet- both excellent accessories to bring out the ivory color in the "whiter than ivory" rope embellishment accenting the dress. The navy sash adds the understated touch of chic and doubles as a cover up for the elastic at the waist while the length falls right above the knees. As usual for my rent the runway purchases, I got tons of compliments on my outfit.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2011

AMAZING DRESS!!!!! Wore it for my engagement pics and had so many compliments!!!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2011

I completely agree with the other reviewer who said this is the "easiest fit ever." Beautiful dress! I am normally between a 2 and 4 and the 2 fit me perfectly! The rope detail makes it look more expensive. I got a lot of compliments again thanks to RTR!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 23, 2011

Beautiful and perfect for a beach cocktail party. I usually wear a 4 but the 2 fit perfectly.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2011

I was a bit worried when I couldn't order a second size but this ren true to size and I got many compliments. I would def order this dress again. It went perfect with nude platform heels

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
June 28, 2011

This dress is really cute. I am petite so renting dresses is pretty scary for me because of the length, this dress was perfect for me! I rented it for a yacht party and I felt great in it. I rented the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 2. The elastic waist and conservative top let me wear my smaller size. Great for a summer party!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2011

I usually wear a size 6 in Milly dresses, but was able to wear the size 4 in this dress. I wore it to a summer wedding and it was a big hit and perfect for the occasion. Rent it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2011

Loved this dress - easy fit, so comfy! If anything was a tad big. I normally wear an 8, but probably could have used a 6 in this. The details are beautiful.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2011

True to size, wore it to a bridal shower about a year ago. Very cute!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2011

I wore this dress to my engagement brunch paired with a little white cardigan (it was a bit chilly out). The fit was super easy, I'd say you could even size down if you have a smaller bust. The fabric was light & airy and the rope detailing was too cute. Just a little shorter than I was hoping for, but so is everything when you're 5'11".

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2011

I wore this for my engagement photos & thought that the dress was FABULOUS - Couldn't have been happier with my rental!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011

I loved this dress! Wore it to a dinner dance and got so many compliments. I'm 5"10, 145 pounds and a B - I ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 4. It was a tiny little bit tighter in the armpits, but didn't bother me too much - the 6 wasn't as flattering overall!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 30, 2012
Perfect for a summer wedding rehearsal dinner at a yacht club!

This dress was perfect for a wedding rehearsal dinner at a yacht club! I felt beautiful in it and received several compliments! I would definitely rent this again. It also went great with the Lauren Merkin clutch I rented for the weekend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 11, 2012
Anchors Away

Totally loved this dress. I originally ordered an 8 because the 6 was not available, and it did fit a little big, but an added belt really added to the look and fit of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 16, 2012
This was a much more special look than shorts and a tank top without being over the top.

I rented this dress for a party at the lake - I took the nautical theme literally! It was casual, comfortable and got lots of compliments. I liked that the material was heavy enough not to blow around and was not sheer. I did not like that the dress was much shorter on me than I was expecting. I am 5'8" and it was several inches above the knee. Also, the belt was a darker blue than the dress. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and wore the 10. The 8 probably would have fit too but the eleastic waist was totally stretched out. Overall I enjoyed wearing the dress but would not recommend it for anything more formal than a party.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2012
Everyone was in love with the dress. They thought it went perfectly with the wedding color theme and the bride and maids of honor (my boyfriend's sisters) said it's the favorite of the many dresses I've rented this summer!

I wore this dress for my boyfriend's sister's wedding - I was running around taking pictures and arranging desserts for the reception. It was a great dress to be moving around a lot in and it fit perfectly for the size it was. I normally fluctuate between a 2 and a 4, but the 2 wasn't available so I went with the 4. I was sooo happy there was a belt with it! The dress itself is great! I received compliments on it all night. The maid of honor said she wants to find it and buy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
Loved the dress.

This dress was so cute and I got so many compliments on it. Thanks RTR :)

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011

the dress was not in good shape! No elastic was left in the waist band and it looked like a tent. Shame - seemed like a cute dress

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2011

Loved this dress! Very comfortable and easy to wear. Paired it with pearls to complete the look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 7, 2012
Comfortable and flattering

Relaxed fit through the hips for hourglass/pear shapes - this was lovely on and comfortable enough for a long day outside in the summer. Details are gorgeous and fabric is lightweight without being cheap.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 10, 2012
So pretty

I rented this dress for my sister's bridal shower. It was perfect for the occasion, and is a really nice dress. The only drawback for me was that the 2 fit better overall, but it was a little short on me (5'9"). Other than that, was a great choice!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Jus ok.

I worev the size 4 for Easter, since it sat better at my waistline. However, the elastic band at the waist was totally stretched out. Fortunately, the sash provided helped cinch it in. It worked very well for a small chest. The white trim wasn't white in either dress. It seems as if the dark navy if the dress had darkened it during the wash. It was more like tannish/grey, but it worked well with tan shoes.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Wasn't made for my body type.

This was a very pretty dress. Unfortunately it just wasn't made for me. It was a bit too loose up top for my liking and didn't do much for my liking. I wish it had fit better as I was a fan of the overall look of the dress... just not the overall look of the dress on me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153lbs
September 19, 2012
perfect for post-wedding brunch

perfect fit - nice and comfortable - elastic waistband!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Got lots of great comments on this dress!

This dress was perfect for the outdoor, fall Maine Seacoast wedding that I wore it to. The dress was very comfortable and the fit was great. However, there was a little excess material in the chest because of my small A cups. Although, the way the extra fabric fell I think I was the only one that noticed.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect Bridal Brunch Outfit!

Love , love , love, LOVE this dress! Did not want to send it back! I wore it to a brunch the day after my wedding and it was comfy after a long night of dancing and still looked amazing! Highly recommended!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
Wonderful, Conservative Dress!

I ordered this dress for Easter and, it fit wonderfully! Being tall, it's very hard to find something cute but, not too short to wear in front of the in-laws and church. However, this dress worked!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Perfect fit, and I didn't have to worry about making constant adjustments.

Dress showed signes of wear and tear, but it fit very well. I especially liked the snap bra strap holders! It was super comfortable

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
Very cute dress!! Perfect for a summer poolside cookout!

I really enjoyed this dress. The fit was adorable and the look was perfect for the summer party I wore it to. Also, I got to experience the RTR amazing customer service when I rented this dress. The original package came without the belt, but the RTR stylist I spoke with overnighted one to me.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
January 9, 2013
Beautiful detail

It was beautiful but the fabric did not fall well and it was shorter than pictured.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 10, 2013
Lots of compliments on the dress, but a tad shapeless

I liked this dress, although it wasn't particularly special. It was my sister's rehearsal dinner though, so I didn't feel like it was my turn to shine. I chose it in particular because it had an elastic waist, and I was pregnant at the time (first trimester). It was so comfortable, great fit, but a tad shapeless.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect for a daytime event

I wore this for my daughter's graduation and received tons of compliments. Nice quality, great detailing and very comfortable.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×