Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large101
True to Size192
Small15
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
Fun awesome dress! So comfy!
This dress was very flattering yet so comfortable and cute. Great dress for just about any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
nothing
I should've got a smaller size, it did run a little too big. But I liked the style very much
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 14, 2012
This dress made me feel so beautiful only 1 month after having my first baby. Highly recommended!!!
I rented this dress exactly 1 month after having my first baby. It was absolutely perfect, very flattering and hid all the parts of my body that I'm self conscious about at the moment (belly and hip/thigh areas). The only regret I have is not going a size up to an 8 for my second size. All the other reviews said order a size down as it runs big, however, I'm 5'2" and the length is very short even for me and the material has NO give at all. I'm currently sporting a very large chest postpartum and wished it would have stretched just a little.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
August 13, 2012
Very cute, but not sexy
I rented this for New Years and it is a really CUTE dress, do not get me wrong, but I was hoping it would have a little more grown up edge to it then it did. Overall, I was happy, but would choose it for a rehearsal dinner or similar occasion next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 13, 2012
GRADUATION
I loved the dress, it looks so great on and it's comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
August 9, 2012
This photo was taken when trying the dress on.. I was also not feeling well.. hence my heinous look.
This was my back up dress and although it is a cute dress, for my body type it just didn't work, my boobs were too big (what a surprise!) and overall it just made me look frumpy.. would recommend for really petite girls.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
July 30, 2012
Fun and flirty
The dress showed a bit more cleavage than I was expecting, but it was very flattering. People were complimenting my dress all night long. It may be a little short for anyone much taller than me as I occasionally felt it creeping up during dancing. Overall, a great dress. I particularly loved the bow detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2012
I felt great in my RTR dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding and felt gorgeous! However, I went a size down from my normal size and it was still a bit big. I loved the snaps designed to hold your bra in place, which I would have never known about if I hadn't read the RTR dress reviews.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
July 17, 2012
This dress was so comfortable and I was able to dance the night away with not worries.
I am tall and have a large bust and this dress was a great sexy but sophisticated look. I would recommend to anyone.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
July 16, 2012
AMAZING DRESS!! compliments all over and I told everyone where I rented with pride!!...It was incredibly easy to dance in and accessorize!! Meanwhile I felt incredibly sexy without feeling inappropriate for such a family affair.
I ordered a size 8 and 6 (usually an 8) and both fit perfectly wall, so I wore the 6 Everything about rent the runway was a fantastic experience, I was so thrilled by the dress and excited to wear it! and shipping it back was the easiest thing WILL RENT AGAIN!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
June 27, 2012
I was so happy with the entire experience. Just getting to wear a dress that made me feel beautiful was well well worth the price. The stylist recommended the right size because it was known to run large, and the fit was just right. I can't wait for my next excuse to dress up and use RTR again.
I loved this chic LBD! I wore it to a black tie summer wedding and just felt beautiful. I have broad shoulders and was worried about the fit, but because the top does run large, the 0 fit perfectly. This was a great dress for dancing all night long in.
LisaFebruary 13, 2013
Thinking sheer black tights with this dress for a winter wedding...what type of shoe would be best?
RTR CustomerFebruary 13, 2013
Hi Lisa! I would suggest black patent pumps or black booties if you are going to wear tights!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2012
Perfect for my Mad Hatter Bridal Tea Party!
Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
June 24, 2012
Feeling beautiful post baby!
I had a baby recently and still have a belly. This dress hid it so well and was very flattering! It showed more clevage then i would have liked but other then that i love it. I thought i would be a size 8 but ended up wearing the 6. The 6 was a little tight in the bust but the 8 was way too big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 10, 2012
Very stylish dress & perfect fit!
Great first rental! Usually between a 6-8 and the 6 fit perfect. Definately get the size down as your second size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
June 9, 2012
I rented this for my cousin's wedding. It was a little lower in the front than I would have liked, but otherwise it fit great. The necklace that I rented went perfectly with it as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2012
Sophisticated
I wore a 4, but could have fit in a 2. It runs large, so go down a size or two. It was a fantastic dress. Well fitted, emphasized my small waist and long neck. It was a perfect prom dress, but could easily have worked for anything. Very sophisticated and classy, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2012
The whole process was very easy and my night was full of compliments because the dress was of excellent quality and the fit was outstanding.
The dress shapes your torso and defines the waist. It shows legs in an appropriate way. It is easy to accessorize and it's fun to dance with because of the full skirt swing. I got so many complements! My husband was inquiring about the retail price because he thinks I look great in it :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 16, 2012
Great black tie affair dress
This dress is very flattering if you size down. I have a 34c chest and fit into the top of a size 0 with a strapless bra no problem. I'm normally a 2. The overall fit is very flattering and it is of very nice quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
May 2, 2012
So pretty!
I loved this dress. I wore it to my sorority's formal; I picked it because I wanted something pretty not sexy, and this fit the bill. It was the cutest little party dress, and I got so many compliments on it. I am not sure why it is listed under the summer weddings section as the material is pretty heavy, and it is better suited to the winter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2012
Disappointing and not like pic
I was really excited to get this dress for a sorority formal, themed "Mad Men." The dress however was quite a disappointment upon its arrival. The dress looked frumpy-especially the bow, which was significantly smaller in person. The neckline was not particularly flattering on me (I am short with semi-broad shoulders) and the top fit incredibly small on my top half. The material is really pretty though I just think it fits more differently than it is advertised.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 30, 2012
I wore this to a Metro Times - "Best Of" party at the MGM Grand Detroit - received compliments galore!
I love this dress! It was classy but the scoop neck added a bit of pizzazz. I think the dress is perfect for a party or wedding but not so much for a formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
April 28, 2012
I felt very glamorous in a perfectly fitting dress.
Rent the Runway's service couldn't be better. The dress came early, was amazing quality, really flattering and fit perfectly. I received many compliments and just felt great. The dress was very comfortable too. It's loose in the waist, so you can feel free to eat and drink that night. It's snug on top but in a really flattering way. I loved the whole Rent the Runway experience and would love to order from them again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2012
Perfect for Bachelorette
I wore this for dinner and dancing during my bachelorette party and it was a true hit. I am small busted, so i did have to wear a push-up bra to fill the top portion of the dress. Other than that, it was a fabulous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 4, 2012
Party/fundraiser
I rented this dress in a size 4 as my backup dress. It fit but was a little snug in the bust area without a bra. Probably the size 6 would have been better on the top, however, I think it might have been too big everywhere else on me. I do not have large hips and may have looked like too much material. Needless to say I did not wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 25, 2012
Great Little Black Dress
This was so cute and chic! I received numerous compliments on this dress, and felt divine! I ordered a 6, but I ended up wearing the 4. (I am small chested and it looked better.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2012
order a backup size!
Runs big - I usually wear a 4 but definitely needed the 2. Definitely order the back up size in a smaller size just in case.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 17, 2012
Adorable
Great dress, I wore it with sparkly black tights and black shoes. It was a little baggy in the bust so I had to use fashion tape to prevent gaping. Probably could have fit into a size 2.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2012
Milly Dress
Really loved the dress - it is a bit low in the front, and I am not big busted so it gapped a bit. I am 5'2" and it was probably an inch or 2 shorter than what I am used to wearing length-wise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2012
simple and elegant
This dress was perfect. Loved wearing it and fit perfect!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2012
Beautiful dress
This was my first rental from RTR. This dress was absolutely stunning. A very high quality dress that fit me like a glove. I felt like a million bucks. :) The little perfume sample and hollywood tape were nice touches in the bag. Will definitely use this service again. Never again will I dread a special event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2012
Perfect LBD for anything!
I loved this dress! It was comfortable to wear for an entire evening and I got so many compliments! The straps are definitely a little big and the chest was a little big on me but everywhere else fit perfectly. Because it's fitted at the waist, it creates a very flattering silhouette. Perfect for the evening wedding I attended or really any occasion :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 22, 2012
really cute but a little tight
I wore this while on vacation with friends in San Fran. It was really cute and I loved the look of the dress but I am a 36C and it was a little tight in the chest. It fit well everywhere else though.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 16, 2012
Classic, Chic, & a bit of Sexy
I have to say my renting experience with RTR was phenomenal and I've been chattering on about it ever since. I ordered the dress for the wrong date & realized it two nights before the wedding. They shipped it out immediately and I received it about 4 hours before the wedding (nothing like a little drama). On to the dress. My style icon is Lauren Conrad and I was immediately drawn to this dress. After I flipped through the pictures.. I wasn't sold but for some reason, I just kept coming back to this dress. I usually wear a size 4, however after reading reviews on it running large, I ordered a size 2 as my backup. That's the size I wound up wearing. It was a little tight under my ribs but I'm small chested so I'm used to that :) I paired the dress with blingy jewels (which I never normally wear) and the outcome was gorgeous! I think more people complemented my dress than the bride's lol. It was so classic and elegant with a touch of sexy. I was able to dance, drink, dine without feeling uncomfortable at all. The worst part was having to return this dress :( So in love and would recommend it to anyone with a classic style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2012
this dress is great! i wore it to my winter formal. it fit very well. perfect length too! just long enough. extremely flattering, especially the fitted top. the straps were a little loose, but the provided Hollywood Tape took care of it. the dress also comes with snaps for you bra. everyone loved it! great dress.
this dress is great! i wore it to my winter formal. it fit very well. perfect length too! just long enough. extremely flattering, especially the fitted top. the straps were a little loose, but the provided Hollywood Tape took care of it. the dress also comes with snaps for you bra. everyone loved it! great dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
January 12, 2012
Mystery Bling made this order very exciting! Perfect for date night with my boyfriend and Christmas Eve with the family the next night.
After I wore this, twice I might add, I immediately started scoring the website to see where I could buy it. Loved it and the length was perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2012
Cute and Classic
Rented this for a NYE wedding - it was formal enough for the black-tie optional dress code AND youthful/flattering. Will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2012
perfect NYE party dress
This dress was so comfortable, but it was a little shorter than I would have liked. I wore opaque tights with it so it worked out fine but just know it's pretty short. I liked that the straps had little button clasps to hold your bra straps in so you don't have to wear a strapless. All in all, it was exactly what I was hoping it would be, a cute party dress to wear for a wedding on New Years Eve!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this to a New Year's Eve Wedding! It is a great dress! It is a little shorter than I thought it was going to be but I found some great tights to wear with it. I loved this dress and would recommend it!!!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2012
Cute, but did not fit well
This dress fits very awkwardly. It was very tight in the stomach, but loose on the top, and I don't usually have this problem. It was ok to wear for one night, but the fit was uncomfortable and awkward. I did receive compliments on it though, and no one noticed the fit.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
Great Party Dress!
I rented this dress for a Christmas party recently. It was so cute and a classic style! The dress ran true to size and would probably look great on any body type.
See more reviews:
6 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×