Rent the Runway

Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

307 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 192
Large 100
Photos 111
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 25, 2012

Perfect LBD for anything!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It was comfortable to wear for an entire evening and I got so many compliments! The straps are definitely a little big and the chest was a little big on me but everywhere else fit perfectly. Because it's fitted at the waist, it creates a very flattering silhouette. Perfect for the evening wedding I attended or really any occasion :)
Kelly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental from RTR. This dress was absolutely stunning. A very high quality dress that fit me like a glove. I felt like a million bucks. :) The little perfume sample and hollywood tape were nice touches in the bag. Will definitely use this service again. Never again will I dread a special event!
Cindy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

simple and elegant

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect. Loved wearing it and fit perfect!
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

Milly Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really loved the dress - it is a bit low in the front, and I am not big busted so it gapped a bit. I am 5'2" and it was probably an inch or 2 shorter than what I am used to wearing length-wise.
AMD
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 17, 2012

Adorable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great dress, I wore it with sparkly black tights and black shoes. It was a little baggy in the bust so I had to use fashion tape to prevent gaping. Probably could have fit into a size 2.
Tricia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 22, 2012

order a backup size!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs big - I usually wear a 4 but definitely needed the 2. Definitely order the back up size in a smaller size just in case.
Christa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 25, 2012

Great Little Black Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was so cute and chic! I received numerous compliments on this dress, and felt divine! I ordered a 6, but I ended up wearing the 4. (I am small chested and it looked better.)
MG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 4, 2012

Party/fundraiser

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress in a size 4 as my backup dress. It fit but was a little snug in the bust area without a bra. Probably the size 6 would have been better on the top, however, I think it might have been too big everywhere else on me. I do not have large hips and may have looked like too much material. Needless to say I did not wear the dress.
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 24, 2012

Perfect for Bachelorette

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for dinner and dancing during my bachelorette party and it was a true hit. I am small busted, so i did have to wear a push-up bra to fill the top portion of the dress. Other than that, it was a fabulous dress.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 30, 2012

Disappointing and not like pic

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really excited to get this dress for a sorority formal, themed "Mad Men." The dress however was quite a disappointment upon its arrival. The dress looked frumpy-especially the bow, which was significantly smaller in person. The neckline was not particularly flattering on me (I am short with semi-broad shoulders) and the top fit incredibly small on my top half. The material is really pretty though I just think it fits more differently than it is advertised.
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
May 2, 2012

So pretty!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I wore it to my sorority's formal; I picked it because I wanted something pretty not sexy, and this fit the bill. It was the cutest little party dress, and I got so many compliments on it. I am not sure why it is listed under the summer weddings section as the material is pretty heavy, and it is better suited to the winter.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
May 16, 2012

Great black tie affair dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very flattering if you size down. I have a 34c chest and fit into the top of a size 0 with a strapless bra no problem. I'm normally a 2. The overall fit is very flattering and it is of very nice quality.
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

I felt great in my RTR dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and felt gorgeous! However, I went a size down from my normal size and it was still a bit big. I loved the snaps designed to hold your bra in place, which I would have never known about if I hadn't read the RTR dress reviews.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Fun and flirty

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress showed a bit more cleavage than I was expecting, but it was very flattering. People were complimenting my dress all night long. It may be a little short for anyone much taller than me as I occasionally felt it creeping up during dancing. Overall, a great dress. I particularly loved the bow detail.
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

GRADUATION

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved the dress, it looks so great on and it's comfortable.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Very cute, but not sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for New Years and it is a really CUTE dress, do not get me wrong, but I was hoping it would have a little more grown up edge to it then it did. Overall, I was happy, but would choose it for a rehearsal dinner or similar occasion next time.
Laura Lu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Fun awesome dress! So comfy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was very flattering yet so comfortable and cute. Great dress for just about any occasion!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Feminine, flirty and elegant

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a formal work event at the MOMA. It is simple but makes a statement. Very flattering. straps are a bit off the shoulder so I would reco a strapless bra or no bra if you're able.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 17, 2012

Great party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my dad's 70th birthday party at a country club. I was about 4 months pregnant, so I ordered this dress specifically for the camouflaging bow :) It fits true to size, and it's pretty comfortable! I'm 5'8", and it hit my legs about where it hits the model's legs in the photos. I'd rent it again for a semi-formal event!
Lacy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Fabulous

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress so much! I wish I owned it personally, it fit me perfectly. I felt like such a princess. Rent it ladies!
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Really Flattering!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is really flattering and great for a formal affair. I would rent it again
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Loved!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I'm 5' 4", and am quite larger on top. this dress was great! I actually wore it without a bra, which was a first and it was super comfortable and flattering.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Fun and Flirty in DC

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So, I ordered an 8 and 12 (because they didn't have a 10 in stock). The 12 was way too big, and the 8 fit, but was tight. I went with the 8 because it showed off the waist (and let's be honest, the girls too). It was cute, and since I went plain on the dress I got some fun and sparkly jewelry. My only problem is that if you have a larger bum (like me) then you can't be bending down to grab things because you will embarrass yourself greatly. The dress was fun, and I had a great time, now if I could just find shoes that are fun and flirty AND COMFY... :(
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 8, 2012

Bigger than anticipated

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It was lower cut in the front that I anticipated because the straps were too big on me. I felt like I should have worn the next size down but I got a 2 and a 4.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Perfect Cocktail Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a birthday party/cocktail party at the Grammy Museum. The fit was perfect and I received many compliments. This is the perfect little black dress!
lizzie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

this dress withstood the pouring rain and still made me look amazing!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i truly dont know what size dress i am, i rented the 4 and 6 and the 4 fit awesome. its a cute yet classy dress, i loved it!!
Stepha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Perfect little black dress for a special event.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress. Great bow detail and the A-line mad it very figure flattering. The bust is slightly larger so beware if you are a b or smaller.
Courtney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2012

Classic

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So cute dress for formal occasion. I wore with curls and red lipstick. Bow did not stay up and tight. Looked sorta droopy.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Loved the dress! I received so many compliments. It does run a bit large. I would go a size down.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6. I had to wear the 4 and the straps were still a little to big.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Beautiful dress just not beautiful on me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am very slender and tall. The length was perfect but the top of this dress did not fit at all. I got the 0 and the 2 and the 0 was so big on the top. I think this is made for ladies with a little more cushion up top. I was sad that this one didnt work out because it really is a classy and beautiful dress.
hjones
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect LBD that runs true to size and would flatter most figures.
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2012

Cute dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was very cute on; however, the straps were definitely too big. The bow kind of blends into the dress so you don't notice it as much. I have rented other dresses through RTR and this was one just alright, but that is comparing it to some pretty stellar dresses so the bar might be a little high.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

So many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little big, I'm small up top so the straps were a little loose-nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix. Overall gorgeous dress but I think would be better for fuller-busted girls.
Bri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

So pretty but humungous

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got this as a potential for a wedding. It is beyond adorable but I had about 2 inches of loose fabric gapped under each arm because the top runs really really big. This was with a very padded bra on too. I was bummed because I wanted to wear it. If you're small-busted and you want to try this one DEFINITELY spring for the back-up alternate dress.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

A very well constructed classic LBD with luxurious material

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my backup to RTR's "Neatly Polished" by Tracy Reese. The fabric is luxurious and felt durable. It seemed so heavily constructed that it could flatter any body type, hiding all those little imperfections and flaws. It reminded of the material on corsets: shiny and soft but has some kind of layer or weaving that doesn't show your body through. I was going to pair it will pearl accessories: necklace, earrings and braclet. Along with black rights and sleek black pumps as shown in the RTR photo. However, I loved my other rental so much that I didn't get a chance to wear this dress. I also didn't take a picture. In the future I will, even if I don't end up wearing the dress. But I WOULD RENT AGAIN. NOTE: someone with nice looking arms, neck, décolleté and shoulders should wear this dress. The thickness of the material really hugs around every crevice and groove (like underarms and back) If they aren't toned it could look unflattering.
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

This dress was amazing! I was comfortable all night but looked great!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I wore it to my best friend's engagement party. It fit well - the neckline is great, but the lines at the waist are flattering for everyone. Love love loved it!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Classy and well made.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The perfect girly dress for a wedding. Comfortable enough to wear all night long (especially for a girl with a larger bust like me!)
Ali
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 4, 2012

Gorgeous! I felt like Audrey Heburn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved the dress! It's so funny how every woman's body is completely different. I ordered my usual size (6) and a size down because all of the reviews said that the dress ran large. Well I have a 34DD and the dress was extremely small in my chest. I wore it anyways (bra less) and it looked great but it was hard to breathe at times. Overall, I loved it and would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Caroline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

such an easy process. my dress arrived before i did to the hotel. Silver lining to a hellish day!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I felt like a modern day Audrey Hepburn. I top sticked the bow so it wasn't so limp and had to top stick the straps because the bust was a little big on me. But overall, it was a hit! thanks RTR
Laine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

Perfect dress to ring in the New Year!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Waist was a little short but the wide bow belt was very flattering, and the fit was fantastic overall.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×