Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large101
True to Size192
Small15
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2012
The perfect dress for the event.
This dress runs a little large as others have said, so my second size was the 4 and it fit perfectly (I'm normally a 6). It is so comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments on this dress. Perfect for holiday party, formal events--whole experience was great renting this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 7, 2012
Perfect dress!
This dress was fabulous. It fit great but was a tad tight up top. I can't tell you how many compliments I got!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
Classy and Fun
I rented this dress for a holiday party. I wore sheer tights with a back seam as shown in the photo. I felt great in the dress and was comfortable all night. It did run a tad big in the straps, however there were snaps to keep your bra in place that helped keep the straps up. I had requested a 2 as my backup, but it was unavailable. I think the 2 may have fit a tad better. I'd recommend that renters get a size down as a backup.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2012
I love the dress -- and the lining was hot pink -- really fun.
The low back was really pretty, but not plungy. It was a great dress for a new year's party!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
Adorable dress!
Love this dress! It was a little big for me in the top though. Since the 2 was unavailable as a back up size I made the 4 work, but the 2 would have probably fit much better. I hope to rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
I wanted to love this dress, but..
As a more petite girl, I found that this dress didn't really fit me properly. If you have a shorter torso, this dress probably isn't for you. I found that because of where it hit my waist, the straps were way too long and they kept falling. It is also quite low-cut for someone with a bigger bust. I had rented this dress for a military Christmas ball, but didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
Classy dress!
I rented this dress for a sorority semi-formal and it was perfect! I typically wear a 4 but ended up wearing the size 2. I could have worn either but I preferred the snugger fit around my rib cage. It was a very flattering dress and made my chest look great. Needless to say, it was a hit with the boyfriend as well. My only complaint was that the dress may was starting to show its wear. I had to spray the bow with starch and use double stick tape to give it some life.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
Love the dress, love RTR.
Gorgeous dress, got lots of compliments, perfect for a fancy party. The bow in the front was a little messed up and flimsy when it got to me so I had to use the fashion tape to keep it in place. Overall, a very pretty and fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
N/A
I love the fit but the bow looked frumpy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2012
lots of compliments on this number!
I went with a size smaller because I couldn't get the dress in my size for the weekend I needed it for, but still loved the look! It was a little tight because of that, but overall it's so cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2012
Cute dress with potential that falls flat and is low cut.
I rented this dress for an office holiday party, and was hoping to channel my inner Audrey Hepburn in this dress. I happen to love A-line silhouettes, and appreciated that the bow on this dress was not super pronounced or juvenile. However, in person, the bow was frustrating, as it just sort of sagged and never really took any shape whatsoever. Also, for an office party, this dress was too low cut. Overall, this dress is cute, but was just missing the element of sophistication that I needed for my event. I believe that this dress would be adorable for someone a bit younger (I am 28) or for a less formal event. On the plus side, returning this dress was a breeze- I love Rent the Runway- so cooperative and seamless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 19, 2012
Perfect Holiday Dress!
Fit True to Size. A bit puffy but looked absolutely lovely on. Would definitely recommend for a holiday event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
I wore this to a wedding and it was flattering and classy!
Top ran a bit larger than expected, but overall I enjoyed the simplicity of it. Black, classy, elegant. Perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 17, 2012
It didn't come because of Superstorm Sandy, but it's still adorable!
Wish it had come...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2012
Great party dress!
I thought this dress fit very true to size. I am larger up top but it wasn't too tight and I didn't have to go up a size in order to accommodate. Very flattering in creating an hourglass shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 15, 2012
Pretty dress, but....
This dress seemed like the perfect LBD. I'm sure in its prime it was, however this dress had seen better days. The front bow was frayed and not pressed right. The zipper was a bit flimsy, and VERY hard to zip. It is also REALLY low cut. Those with a large bust need to be very careful with this. I'm a bit modest and even with a normal non push up bra my cleavage was too much. Pretty, but I think it is time to retire this one RTR.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
I ended up not wearing this dress because it did not look like the picture on the RTR website.
The top of the dress was not as structured as it looks in the RTR picture. Also the skirt went out more at the hips than expected. Overall, it was not a very flattering style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245lbs
November 12, 2012
I rented this dress for my 13year old daughter to attend a formal affair. She looked so beautiful.
The dress was a bit big on top for her, but overall it was a great fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
Pretty dress but did not end up wearing it as it was my backup and not flattering on me.
I was very excited about this dress but ordered it as a backup since I knew it would flatter my pear shaped body. I did not end up wearing it. I spoke with the stylist who said not to order my usual 2...that a 0 would be best...so I did. I am pretty tiny on top but consistently a 2 (sometimes 0)....when I tried the dress on I could not fill out the 0! I had to wear a push up bra to have the dress fit me correctly. This dress is fun and very forgiving (though big, the top is structured and would hide any tummy...and the full bottom skirt hides anything below). But definitely order a size down if you are not busty! Overall, cute dress, runs VERY LARGE for small busted girls, but comfortable and I imagine would have been fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 9, 2012
Classic LBD!
I didn't wind up wearing this dress so I don't have a photo, but I have totally filed it away for future events. Very classic little black dress...could be worn to any event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2012
This dress was gorgeous! I got compliments on it all night.
It fit perfectly, though it was a bit shorter than I had expected (that wasn't a bad thing though). The straps have bra strap holders which were SO helpful since it looked a thousand times better with a normal bra than a strapless one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 2, 2012
Really gives the girls a boost!
Accentuates the chest area, but otherwise very classy dress. The bow was folding over in the front as if it had been pressed incorrectly. This was my backup dress and didn't wear it, but would have been very happy with it. Zipper looks a little worn. Would be great for pear shaped ladies... a little tight in the bust, but not unwearable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 31, 2012
So easy to order! The back up size was a big help...can't wait to rent again!
Loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 28, 2012
The dress was beautiful but was slightly too big in the chest. Too bad!
I ordered this dress for a wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. The length was good (I'm only 5'3" though) and it fit well everywhere except for the chest. I normally wear a size 12 and am a 36C. I thought it would fit well in the chest based on other reviews but it didn't and the straps ended up being way too long. It's a really beautiful dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2012
Audrey Hepburn Halloween Castume
I rented the dress for a Halloween Party and it was a hit and looked the part! The 0 was a little big around the waist so i tightened it with a ribon . Also, the length was longer than I expected and the top straps could have fit better on someone with more of a chest than i do. Overall i got lots of compliments on the dress and it worked great for the event!
EmilyFebruary 22, 2013
I was just thinking the same thing, might rent this to be Audrey for Halloween!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 27, 2012
This dress is comfortable, flattering, and the perfect spin on a basic black dress!
I'm about 5"4, 130 pounds and it fit perfectly. I wear a D cup and the top wasn't constricting at all. It was also a nice length for the event and hit me mid to lower thigh. The bow in the middle is a really nice touch. Makes the dress very flattering! It has a satin-y look to it, so it could definitely be worn to a formal event. I wore it to my sorority's bid night and I got so many compliments on this dress - would definitely rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 26, 2012
love it!
I really loved this dress felt so feminine and pretty in it, could wear it all day/night long!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2012
I have never received so many compliments from wearing a little black dress. Fab night!
True to size however, top was a bit too big.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
Really great--I have a big chest and wanted something flattering but not inappropriate and this fit the bill!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I rented this as my backup look, but it ended up being far more flattering! A bit snug in the chest, that created a good push up effect, without the use of a bra! Also, I didnt have to wear spanx, which is always a plus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2012
Great LBD for any occasion!
Rented the 4 and the 2, 4 was way too large but the 2 fit perfectly. You can wear a regular bra with this dress. I thought the smaller size might be too short but it was just a little above knee length on me. Very comfortable and easy to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2012
Being able to read reviews & look at pics from other renters helped me pick the perfect size!
This dress made me feel like a million bucks! Definitely fit true to size and was very flattering. It was a little shorter than I usually wear, but not too short that it was inappropriate. Like other girls have said in previous reviews, it is low cut- but again I didn't think it was too low cut to be wedding appropriate. I got tons of compliments and felt great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2012
The bow was perfect for the venue and occasion!
Super cute for a formal play and dinner in January. However, skirt was SHORT and boob area was big. I had to keep my hair in front so that it would kind of weigh down the gap.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
October 17, 2012
The only real problem was that it was a little bit big
I usually fit well in a 0 but this was big in every way. The straps seemed to long making the neckline really low and it gaped a little and the fabric all over was quite far from my body. It worked find though. It was a good overall length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Got compliments all night on this dress! I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
The dress is constructed very well and looked flawless while hiding my flaws. I'm narrow but on the curvier side so the fact that it nipped in my waist and hid my lower half was great. I did get a fair amount of notice where the cleavage is concerned so it's not for anyone who's a little shy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2012
I felt gorgeous and classy!
Loved this dress! I was worried it might be small as only a 4 was available instead of my usual 6. The material was heavy, and you could tell that it was made well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2012
The great memories while wearing it, of course!
love this dress! I rented for sorority recruitment and I felt great! This dress fit me so well, I would absolutely rent it again! I usually wear a 6 because I'm wider in the hips but the 4 was a perfect fit.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 14, 2012
This dress got me a million compliments! It was so flattering!
Great hook think that allowed me to wear whatever bra I wanted!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
October 12, 2012
Perfect fit!
Loved the color and the neckline
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2012
Really classy and fun dress!
I really liked the dress. It ran large, I could have worn a 0. Its extremely flattering and very comfortable! I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×