Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large
(101)
True to Size
(192)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2012
This dress was gorgeous! I got compliments on it all night.
It fit perfectly, though it was a bit shorter than I had expected (that wasn't a bad thing though). The straps have bra strap holders which were SO helpful since it looked a thousand times better with a normal bra than a strapless one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
Pretty dress but did not end up wearing it as it was my backup and not flattering on me.
I was very excited about this dress but ordered it as a backup since I knew it would flatter my pear shaped body. I did not end up wearing it. I spoke with the stylist who said not to order my usual 2...that a 0 would be best...so I did. I am pretty tiny on top but consistently a 2 (sometimes 0)....when I tried the dress on I could not fill out the 0! I had to wear a push up bra to have the dress fit me correctly. This dress is fun and very forgiving (though big, the top is structured and would hide any tummy...and the full bottom skirt hides anything below). But definitely order a size down if you are not busty! Overall, cute dress, runs VERY LARGE for small busted girls, but comfortable and I imagine would have been fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245lbs
November 12, 2012
I rented this dress for my 13year old daughter to attend a formal affair. She looked so beautiful.
The dress was a bit big on top for her, but overall it was a great fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
I ended up not wearing this dress because it did not look like the picture on the RTR website.
The top of the dress was not as structured as it looks in the RTR picture. Also the skirt went out more at the hips than expected. Overall, it was not a very flattering style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 15, 2012
Pretty dress, but....
This dress seemed like the perfect LBD. I'm sure in its prime it was, however this dress had seen better days. The front bow was frayed and not pressed right. The zipper was a bit flimsy, and VERY hard to zip. It is also REALLY low cut. Those with a large bust need to be very careful with this. I'm a bit modest and even with a normal non push up bra my cleavage was too much. Pretty, but I think it is time to retire this one RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2012
Great party dress!
I thought this dress fit very true to size. I am larger up top but it wasn't too tight and I didn't have to go up a size in order to accommodate. Very flattering in creating an hourglass shape.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
I wore this to a wedding and it was flattering and classy!
Top ran a bit larger than expected, but overall I enjoyed the simplicity of it. Black, classy, elegant. Perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 19, 2012
Perfect Holiday Dress!
Fit True to Size. A bit puffy but looked absolutely lovely on. Would definitely recommend for a holiday event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2012
Cute dress with potential that falls flat and is low cut.
I rented this dress for an office holiday party, and was hoping to channel my inner Audrey Hepburn in this dress. I happen to love A-line silhouettes, and appreciated that the bow on this dress was not super pronounced or juvenile. However, in person, the bow was frustrating, as it just sort of sagged and never really took any shape whatsoever. Also, for an office party, this dress was too low cut. Overall, this dress is cute, but was just missing the element of sophistication that I needed for my event. I believe that this dress would be adorable for someone a bit younger (I am 28) or for a less formal event. On the plus side, returning this dress was a breeze- I love Rent the Runway- so cooperative and seamless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2012
lots of compliments on this number!
I went with a size smaller because I couldn't get the dress in my size for the weekend I needed it for, but still loved the look! It was a little tight because of that, but overall it's so cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
N/A
I love the fit but the bow looked frumpy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
Classy dress!
I rented this dress for a sorority semi-formal and it was perfect! I typically wear a 4 but ended up wearing the size 2. I could have worn either but I preferred the snugger fit around my rib cage. It was a very flattering dress and made my chest look great. Needless to say, it was a hit with the boyfriend as well. My only complaint was that the dress may was starting to show its wear. I had to spray the bow with starch and use double stick tape to give it some life.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
I wanted to love this dress, but..
As a more petite girl, I found that this dress didn't really fit me properly. If you have a shorter torso, this dress probably isn't for you. I found that because of where it hit my waist, the straps were way too long and they kept falling. It is also quite low-cut for someone with a bigger bust. I had rented this dress for a military Christmas ball, but didn't end up wearing it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
Adorable dress!
Love this dress! It was a little big for me in the top though. Since the 2 was unavailable as a back up size I made the 4 work, but the 2 would have probably fit much better. I hope to rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2012
I love the dress -- and the lining was hot pink -- really fun.
The low back was really pretty, but not plungy. It was a great dress for a new year's party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Classy and Fun
I rented this dress for a holiday party. I wore sheer tights with a back seam as shown in the photo. I felt great in the dress and was comfortable all night. It did run a tad big in the straps, however there were snaps to keep your bra in place that helped keep the straps up. I had requested a 2 as my backup, but it was unavailable. I think the 2 may have fit a tad better. I'd recommend that renters get a size down as a backup.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 7, 2012
Perfect dress!
This dress was fabulous. It fit great but was a tad tight up top. I can't tell you how many compliments I got!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2012
The customer service!
This was the original dress I wanted for a wedding, but after it wasn't available the stylist stayed on the phone with me for almost an hour to pick the perfect dress! Still want to try this one though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2012
Bow falls flat.
I thought this dress looked adorable on the model, but in person, the material was kind of worn, and the cute bow around the waist falls flat and looks dopey. I ended up not wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2012
Perfect flattering, semi-conservative dress. Tons of compliments!
I'm 5'2 and it hits a few inches above the knee but isn't too short. Cinched waist was very flattering but the bodice left room for my size D ladies. I want to buy this dress now!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
Nice dress, had some issues though.
I usually wear a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. Two minor issues: (1) the top of the dress did not lie flat against my chest, but fixed this issue with fashion tape, and (2) the bow is not as pictured; it was completely floppy, so I ironed and starched it into shape and then it looked perfect. Would still recommend this dress, classic shape, nice fabric, overall very flattering shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 25, 2012
love this dress so much - wish i could buy it
fit like a glove, was tight across the chest and overall very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 28, 2012
Absolutely LOVE this dress. Incredibly flattering and classic.
I wore this dress for my engagement party and it was quite a hit! looked gorgeous with Nicole Miller pearl drop earrings!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful fabric
This dress would have been great if I had gotten it in a smaller size. The dress runs large for a 4, especially in the chest region. The shape of the dress and the fabric is beautiful, but definitely runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2013
I would rent it again!
I absolutely loved this dress, so did my boyfriend. I wore it to his brother's wedding and felt classy and sexy at the same time! I actually ordered it in a size smaller than I usually wear because of the A line. I got a ton of compliments on it as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2013
Loved this dress!
Wore this for New Years eve and it was such a hit! I got so many compliments and it fit perfectly, very true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2013
Perfectly pairs with my black satin Loub's!
Wore it for my engagement pics and have received so many compliments. I paired the dress with my Christian Louboutin black satin Very Prive heels and RTR's Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald Drop Earrings. SIDE NOTE: I don't know if it's because I have a small upper body, but the straps fell down often mostly hanging off of the shoulders.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
This was my first rent the runway experience and I am hooked! Loved the dress... I did size down to a 4... ( normally take between a size 4 or 6) and the 4 was still a bit roomy. Perfect fit other than the fact I had to pull up the dress alot from preventing my bra from showing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 10, 2013
I would rent it again.
This was not my first option but it fit better than the other one. Overall, it was perfect. It was a little tight on my chest but not uncomfortable. I liked the lenght; being 5'2 a lot of the dresses are too long and this one was perfect. I thought it was a little worn out; not as nice as other dresses I've rented.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 10, 2013
This is my second time renting this dress. Love it. Love the fit! Would rent it again.
Fits great, I think it's a very flattering dress. Timeless!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 10, 2013
One of those dresses that makes people notice you in ways they hadn't before!
Very feminine, a little tight around the chest, but not too tight! Very comfortable and a joy to wear!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
January 13, 2013
Love it
Very cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2013
LOVED IT!!!
Will definately rent this dress again! Perfect fit! Very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 17, 2013
Looking back in the pictures and loving every one!
The dress fit and looked awesome! The shoulder straps were a bit too big and kept falling down but other than that it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
January 18, 2013
Polished
I was 16 weeks pregnant with my 2nd child when I rented this dress for a party. We hadn't announced my pregnancy at the time, so I wanted a dress that would conceal my swollen tummy and this did just the trick! The few people who did know were so surprised. Beautiful, fun dress... and perfect if you want to hide a tummy... or a baby bump! lol!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2013
have rented this dress twice now, which says it all ... I LOVE it. Great fit, very flattering!
This dress is pretty short, but works for me since I am not very tall and hate things that are too long. Fits pretty true to size but I wore the 4 b/c it fit better on top.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 20, 2013
Beautiful AND Comfortable!
The beauty of this dress, to me, is that it can look amazing on a woman of any age. The fit is true to size and it is so comfortable to wear. I didn't feel the need to tug or adjust at any time during the night. The length is flattering and not so short that I worried about dancing in it. I loved it and hope to rent it again - perhaps in a different size when I lose a few pounds!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
January 22, 2013
Wow--a thousand compliments!
I've worn Milly before, but this dress ran very large. I'm usually between a 4-6 and I could've worn this in a 2. The dress itself is very cute; however, this dress in particular was definitely showing some wear. It was great that Rent the Runway included fashion tape because I used almost all of it. The lining was coming out of the dress so I had to tape it down. Yes, I was able to wear a regular bra with this dress, but I still had to tape the back part as it was a little worn in the straps. I personally own a lot of black dresses, but there was something very classic and unique about this dress. Very cute and received a ton of compliments. Great for a shorter girl, too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 24, 2013
Perfect! I received so many compliments
I wore the dress for an evening couples wedding shower that I was hosting. It was perfect for the occassion and I received so many compliments. Perfect mix of classy and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 24, 2013
So cute and flattering.
I wore this for my brithday dinner and it hide the little bit of weight I had put on and made my boobs look great. Definitley would rent again. Runs a tad small though so if you are inbetween sizes as I am I would reccomend going to the next size up instead of the next size down.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×