Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

307 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 192
Large 100
Photos 111
Anne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 18, 2013

have rented this dress twice now, which says it all ... I LOVE it. Great fit, very flattering!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is pretty short, but works for me since I am not very tall and hate things that are too long. Fits pretty true to size but I wore the 4 b/c it fit better on top.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

Great little black dress for any affair!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I generally wear an 8 but I wore the smaller size and didnt need to wear a bra!
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Jan 22, 2013

Wow--a thousand compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I've worn Milly before, but this dress ran very large. I'm usually between a 4-6 and I could've worn this in a 2. The dress itself is very cute; however, this dress in particular was definitely showing some wear. It was great that Rent the Runway included fashion tape because I used almost all of it. The lining was coming out of the dress so I had to tape it down. Yes, I was able to wear a regular bra with this dress, but I still had to tape the back part as it was a little worn in the straps. I personally own a lot of black dresses, but there was something very classic and unique about this dress. Very cute and received a ton of compliments. Great for a shorter girl, too!
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

Perfect! I received so many compliments

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the dress for an evening couples wedding shower that I was hosting. It was perfect for the occassion and I received so many compliments. Perfect mix of classy and sexy.
Lydia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 63
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 28, 2013

Not for the short & curvy

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
My aunt ordered this dress for me so I am writing the review on her account. I am 5'1, 130lbs, with an hour glass shape. Although the dress is beautiful it's not intended for curvy girls. I think the bust draws too much attention if you have a full chest and the full skirt makes hips look even more hippy. I also felt too much like a cupcake since I am so short in stature. Just a note - the size 4 has a stuck zipper. I usually wear a size 6 but even the 4 was roomy on me but the zipper just wouldn't budge.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 2, 2013

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is incredibly flattering as it flares out at the waist. The bow arrived a little smashed down, but after some fluffing, it was perfect. It is snug in the chest if you've got a fuller bust, but definitely wearable! I got tons of compliments, and felt great in it. I would definitely rent this dress again
Chelsae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Adorable, Forgiving, and Still Hot

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the dress for New Years and I was able to eat a huge dinner but still look great for a party afterwards thanks to the poof of the dress. It was a little more low cut in the bust than I expected, but that made it sexy despite the fact that the silhouette wasn't overly sexy.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

LOVED this dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
im normally a size 4 and wore a size 2 in this dress. The 2 was a little tight but the 4 was way too big. Otherwise, loved the dress and got compliments all night long!
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

A classic dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall, this dress is absolutely perfect! Unfortunately I did not get to wear it because the event was canceled due to this weekend's snow, but I will be renting it again for the next affair I go to. It runs pretty true to size, but if you aren't sure I'd say to order a size down. This dress is classic, flattering, and gorgeous!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Cute little black dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wish I owned this dress. It's so cute! It was a little tight in the bust, but I'm used to that problem. Other than that, I loved the fit. Cute length for a party or a night out.
Jaye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

Customer service was great

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A winter snowstorm caused this dress, which I rented for NYE, to arrive too late, unfortunately. The dress, however, was luxe and cute at the same time. Lovely material, perfect fit. I'm only sad I didn't get to wear it for real!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Very flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a size 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6. I am definitely not a 6 normally, but because the dress is goes out alot n the bottom and is smaller on top like me, this was the best fit. I felt great! it was a bit lower than I would have hoped, but I wore a regular bra and that made it feel pretty secure. This dress is a good bet for anyone larger on bottom and nervous about fit.
Joanna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Had to return it :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I unfortunately had to return this dress, in the size 4. It was huge in the bust area, and the bow was floppy and unflattering. I was really excited about wearing this, but it was a disappointment.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

This dress was absolutely perfect for an October wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress, I wish I owned it! Got compliments all night!
SCgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

RTR always makes renting my dresses SO easy! This was my third time renting and still loving it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was true to size and has a great structure. The fabric is nice and thick, and I didn't even have to wear a bra because of the slight boning in the dress. Lovely dress!
Vmt
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

The bow definitely adds a little flare to the otherwise girly dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked the scoop of the neck and that the dress fit true to size. I wore it with black stockings and heels for a fall/winter wedding in sf and it was perfect. However, as a 34C, it showed too much cleavage than I would like.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

Adorable dress, just didn't quite fit right, so I had to return it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
A little small and short
Shelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

My mom telling me she wanted to buy it for me!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So cute! Straps a little long for shorter girls. Love Milly! And love this dress!
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Perfect Dress for A Wedding - Got Compliments All Night Long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress ran pretty true to size for me and I liked the fit with the full skirt. I wore this to a fancy outdoor wedding last summer and got compliments from friends and random guests. I have a smaller bust and this dress made my girls look amazing! I wore a normal bra but even my husband was asking me what I did differently! I would definitely rent this dress again, or buy it for that perfect LBD.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 15, 2013

Cute dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the other dress I ordered was better for the occasion. I was attending a work benefit, and this was a tad short (even for me) for a work event. The dress is adorable and would be great for other occasions, such as an engagement party, etc.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Great fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a really comfortable choice for a winter wedding. Like other reviewers, it was a little tight around the bust and it didn't require a bra. It was on the shorter side for me at 5'10". I wore it with light black nylons and black patent leather Mary Jane heels. I got lots of compliments! A great rental.
Mitra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

I really felt like a celebrity in this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is cute and sexy at the same time. It looks perfect with high heeled pumps, a side hair do, and big, glamorous earrings. The dress fit perfectly, hid all my flaws (namely the weight gain in my midsection this winter) and accentuated all my strengths. My only criticism is that the zipper was poorly made and nearly impossible to zip up. This had nothing to do with fit because I had the same problem with the larger size that was too big for me. The different fabric in the middle of the dress makes the zipper get stuck and you have to have someone else very very carefully zip it up. I just expect more from a designer dress.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

Loved this dress! Was a perfect one to dress up for a wedding.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The top was a bit big, but overall it's a lovely dress that's easy to accessorize and move in.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 1, 2013

Stop and Stare

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Worn to office holiday party. So classy and elegant. I'm 5'10" and it was just long enough. I wore seamed hose to keep it classy. The quality fabric was thick and therefore slimming. I would absolutely rent this again.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

This dress was beautiful, comfortable and so fun to dance in!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Elegant, classy dress!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

So cute

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my "Breakfast at Tiffany's" themed bridal shower. It fit my curvy figure perfectly, a smaller shaped person may want to consider one size down.
Magaly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Great Dress!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit very well. I received the 4 as a backup, which fit also but the bow on the 6 was sewn to the dress so it did not flop down, unlike the 4. It was very comfortable, and looked great! Very happy with the dress and would rent it again.
Tara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Good first experience with RTR

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress! My only complaint would be that the straps were a little big and laid awkwardly on my shoulders because of that.
khorshid1
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Apr 21, 2013

pretty dress but I was sent the wrong size

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This a pretty dress but I ordered a 4,6 and I got a 4,8. I was able to wear the 4 but it was a little short. I did receive many complements.
AMP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

Comfortable, cute, and appropriate

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as a bridesmaids dress in a friend's wedding. I ordered sizes 2 and 4, and wore the 2. The dress runs a bit large, in my opinion, but I am fairly small chested, so if you have a larger bust it may be truer to size. As other reveiwers have noted, the shoulder straps seemed a bit long and I had to pull them up a couple of times throughout the night. The shape of the dress is really very cute and flattering, and the "stripe" at the bottom is a great element that looks better in person than in pictures. I think this is pretty much the perfect LBD, if only the straps could be altered. The dress was starting to show some wear, but other than that I thought it was great!
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

This dress is classic. I felt like Audrey Hepburn

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was just a little long for my liking. But overall I really liked this dress.
ALB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
May 1, 2013

A bit snug

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was pretty enough, but the belt just sort of hung there limply. I normally wear a 12, but I couldn't get the zipper all the way up. My rib cage is large and combine that with my bust, I wouldn't have been able to breath.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 12, 2013

Effortless and fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was really fun and very easy to wear! It fit well and was very flattering for my body type - it seemed a bit loose on the chest when I tried it on, but it was not a problem at all when I wore it. I got a lot of compliments!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
May 20, 2013

Loved this dress online!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately, I didn't get to wear it. I rented this dress for my graduation from university. After reading the reviews, I chose my usual size (6) and went one size down (4) for my backup..many of the reviews said it ran large in the bust. I also had read reviews of girls with the same bra size wearing a 6, so I thought I would be okay. Sadly, I couldn't zip it up all the way. If you have a wide back and bust is a concern, I suggest sizing up, instead of down, as your backup. I will definitely rent the 8 in the future!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2013

Great dress for a black/white wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall fits true to size, but definitely does run larger in the bust. A little bit on the shorter side, but not too short.
Maggie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 27, 2013

Beautiful and Simple!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my boyfriend's formal law ball. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and it was so much fun to wear. I received a call two days before the shipment was supposed to be made and they told me that the size 2 I ordered was not going to be able to be shipped because of damage from the previous person that rented. The stylist was extremely helpful in this unfortunate circumstance and sent me another dress as an extra option but I ended up wearing this one anyway. I was worried since a lot of reviews said it was too big but the size 4 fit me perfectly and I got a lot of compliments and it was fun to wear!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 27, 2013

tiiiiiny waist!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my backup and my usual size had a microscopic waist - everything else seemed to work, but the middle was so snug I just couldn't picture sitting through an event for hours and being comfortable (and I usually don't have this problem in other dresses!). I ended up not wearing it at all. Also, the dress i received looked pretty worn - wearable, but the interior lining was pretty beaten up, and you could see outer signs of wear if you looked reeeeally closely. If you do get this, go a size larger for the backup to allow yourself some breathing room!
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Jun 3, 2013

Easy to use service!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bust fit a little loose and the zipper was really worn, but the dress itself was lovely. I got several compliments.
d
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

LOVED THE DRESS!! VERY FORGIVING!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
absolutely gorgegous :) really felt like a princess.. i borrowed the necklase as well and was perfect... the only flaw is the i am 5'1 so it was a bit long.. not to worry tape solved the problem.. loved it!! true to size.. bust was a little tight so i could not wear a bra.. but honestly the girls did not require it they were just fine
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

super cute dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super cute! I wore it to a gala and received many compliments on it! Perfect dress for an hourglass figure.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×