Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large101
True to Size192
Small15
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2013
Great dress for a wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I ordered two and wore the other dress because it was more summery. I loved the look of this dress and it worked with my 4 and a half month pregnant belly. However, the top was very large, even in the size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2013
Overall great dress, straps are kind of loose
In general i loved this dress and was very happy with how it fit. The length was great even though i'm short, and it fit well throughout the bodice. It's definitely lower cut than I expected, so keep that in mind in terms of undergarment choice. My only complaint was that the straps seemed too long for the dress. If I'd purchased this, I would have had a tailor take 2 inches off of each strap, no joke. Fashion tape fixed it easily enough. They didn't fall off the whole night, though there was probably an odd gap in the back. Overall I was happy with it and would probably rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
July 25, 2013
The perfect little black party dress!
I wore this dress to my friends wedding and absolutely loved it! The perfect little black party dress. Dressy enough to catch the eye, but simple enough not to need too many accessories. Wore with black heels and diamond chandelier earrings. Includes clasps to hold bra straps in place. Runs true to size, rented sizes 2 and 4 but went with the 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
July 24, 2013
The cutest little black dress I have ever worn! So many compliments and so comfortable!
The dress ran bigger than I expected. I generally would wear a size 6, but wore it in a 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2013
fit well and great for dancing!
I got tons of compliments on this dress and it was SO comfortable. It's especially good for girls with a little bit larger chest - everything stayed in place all night even though I was dancing around. The bow needed a little life so I just taped it in place with the double sided fashion tape they give you. I'm usually between a 6 and an 8 but the 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
July 15, 2013
This dress was the perfect combination of simple but fun. I loved the cut and the bow on front!
The fit was true to size. The cut is low, so that is something to be conscious of, but the length was perfect for a mid-day or evening cocktail event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 13, 2013
Classic LBD!
Ah! I absolutely loved this dress. It's the perfect fit that looks just right on every body style. If you need a "go-to" black dress- pick this one!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2013
super cute dress!!
This dress was super cute! I wore it to a gala and received many compliments on it! Perfect dress for an hourglass figure.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
June 4, 2013
LOVED THE DRESS!! VERY FORGIVING!
absolutely gorgegous :) really felt like a princess.. i borrowed the necklase as well and was perfect... the only flaw is the i am 5'1 so it was a bit long.. not to worry tape solved the problem.. loved it!! true to size.. bust was a little tight so i could not wear a bra.. but honestly the girls did not require it they were just fine
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 3, 2013
Cute dress, but didn't wear
I ordered this as a backup but ended up wearing the other dress I rented. However, this is a very cute dress. A little plain, even with the bow, so plan on accessorizing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
June 3, 2013
Easy to use service!
The bust fit a little loose and the zipper was really worn, but the dress itself was lovely. I got several compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2013
Comfortable and classic dress for many occassions
I loved this dress! I was scared to rent at first because my chest is so large (34DDD) but with that said the dress fit quite well. I wore it to the Naval Academy's graduation ball, the top was a little small for me and a little lower cut than I prefer usually but neither of those things are unusual for me. With all of that said, great first rental!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2013
tiiiiiny waist!
I ordered this as my backup and my usual size had a microscopic waist - everything else seemed to work, but the middle was so snug I just couldn't picture sitting through an event for hours and being comfortable (and I usually don't have this problem in other dresses!). I ended up not wearing it at all. Also, the dress i received looked pretty worn - wearable, but the interior lining was pretty beaten up, and you could see outer signs of wear if you looked reeeeally closely. If you do get this, go a size larger for the backup to allow yourself some breathing room!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2013
Beautiful and Simple!
I wore this for my boyfriend's formal law ball. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and it was so much fun to wear. I received a call two days before the shipment was supposed to be made and they told me that the size 2 I ordered was not going to be able to be shipped because of damage from the previous person that rented. The stylist was extremely helpful in this unfortunate circumstance and sent me another dress as an extra option but I ended up wearing this one anyway. I was worried since a lot of reviews said it was too big but the size 4 fit me perfectly and I got a lot of compliments and it was fun to wear!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2013
Great dress for a black/white wedding!
Overall fits true to size, but definitely does run larger in the bust. A little bit on the shorter side, but not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 20, 2013
Loved this dress online!!
Unfortunately, I didn't get to wear it. I rented this dress for my graduation from university. After reading the reviews, I chose my usual size (6) and went one size down (4) for my backup..many of the reviews said it ran large in the bust. I also had read reviews of girls with the same bra size wearing a 6, so I thought I would be okay. Sadly, I couldn't zip it up all the way. If you have a wide back and bust is a concern, I suggest sizing up, instead of down, as your backup. I will definitely rent the 8 in the future!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress. RTR is a great idea for any occasion.
The dress wasn't offered in the 10, so I got the 8 and 12. The 12 worked but I do think that the 10 may have been better. I used all of the run way tape they gave me in the kit for the back. The front fit perfectly and the length wasn't an issue. The back puckers, so be sure to have the tape for that. I would wear this dress again and recommend it for anyone. Enjoy ladies!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 12, 2013
Effortless and fun!
This dress was really fun and very easy to wear! It fit well and was very flattering for my body type - it seemed a bit loose on the chest when I tried it on, but it was not a problem at all when I wore it. I got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 1, 2013
A bit snug
The dress was pretty enough, but the belt just sort of hung there limply. I normally wear a 12, but I couldn't get the zipper all the way up. My rib cage is large and combine that with my bust, I wouldn't have been able to breath.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 25, 2013
This dress is classic. I felt like Audrey Hepburn
It was just a little long for my liking. But overall I really liked this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2013
Comfortable, cute, and appropriate
I wore this as a bridesmaids dress in a friend's wedding. I ordered sizes 2 and 4, and wore the 2. The dress runs a bit large, in my opinion, but I am fairly small chested, so if you have a larger bust it may be truer to size. As other reveiwers have noted, the shoulder straps seemed a bit long and I had to pull them up a couple of times throughout the night. The shape of the dress is really very cute and flattering, and the "stripe" at the bottom is a great element that looks better in person than in pictures. I think this is pretty much the perfect LBD, if only the straps could be altered. The dress was starting to show some wear, but other than that I thought it was great!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 23, 2013
I felt sophisticated and beautiful in this dress. The necklace was stunning and lightweight!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends formal in Canada. I received compliment on the dress and the INCREDIBLE necklace all night.The dress was a bit too large; I had to wear a belt and use dress tape. While I was a bit uncomfortable with the dress at first after some adjustments, I felt beautiful! The bubble skirt was adorable and great for dancing. The dress length was perfect and very enjoyable to wear. Would recommend this dress to my friends.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2013
pretty dress but I was sent the wrong size
This a pretty dress but I ordered a 4,6 and I got a 4,8. I was able to wear the 4 but it was a little short. I did receive many complements.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 9, 2013
Good first experience with RTR
Loved the dress! My only complaint would be that the straps were a little big and laid awkwardly on my shoulders because of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2013
Great Dress!!!
Fit very well. I received the 4 as a backup, which fit also but the bow on the 6 was sewn to the dress so it did not flop down, unlike the 4. It was very comfortable, and looked great! Very happy with the dress and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2013
So cute
I wore this dress for my "Breakfast at Tiffany's" themed bridal shower. It fit my curvy figure perfectly, a smaller shaped person may want to consider one size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 4, 2013
This dress was beautiful, comfortable and so fun to dance in!
Elegant, classy dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2013
Stop and Stare
Worn to office holiday party. So classy and elegant. I'm 5'10" and it was just long enough. I wore seamed hose to keep it classy. The quality fabric was thick and therefore slimming. I would absolutely rent this again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 29, 2013
beautiful, amazing dress!
this dress was a perfect fit and so flattering. loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 29, 2013
Loved this dress! Was a perfect one to dress up for a wedding.
The top was a bit big, but overall it's a lovely dress that's easy to accessorize and move in.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 26, 2013
Adorable for a great date night in NYC!
This dress was the perfect mix of fun and class for a date night on vacation in NYC. Fit was true to size and even accommodated my larger chest, which isn't always the case. Got many compliments on the dress and loved pairing it with a black tight. I had a great first RTR experience and look forward to using the service again soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 18, 2013
I really felt like a celebrity in this dress!
This dress is cute and sexy at the same time. It looks perfect with high heeled pumps, a side hair do, and big, glamorous earrings. The dress fit perfectly, hid all my flaws (namely the weight gain in my midsection this winter) and accentuated all my strengths. My only criticism is that the zipper was poorly made and nearly impossible to zip up. This had nothing to do with fit because I had the same problem with the larger size that was too big for me. The different fabric in the middle of the dress makes the zipper get stuck and you have to have someone else very very carefully zip it up. I just expect more from a designer dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 17, 2013
Great fit!
This dress was a really comfortable choice for a winter wedding. Like other reviewers, it was a little tight around the bust and it didn't require a bra. It was on the shorter side for me at 5'10". I wore it with light black nylons and black patent leather Mary Jane heels. I got lots of compliments! A great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2013
Cute dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the other dress I ordered was better for the occasion. I was attending a work benefit, and this was a tad short (even for me) for a work event. The dress is adorable and would be great for other occasions, such as an engagement party, etc.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 11, 2013
Perfect Dress for A Wedding - Got Compliments All Night Long!
This dress ran pretty true to size for me and I liked the fit with the full skirt. I wore this to a fancy outdoor wedding last summer and got compliments from friends and random guests. I have a smaller bust and this dress made my girls look amazing! I wore a normal bra but even my husband was asking me what I did differently! I would definitely rent this dress again, or buy it for that perfect LBD.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 10, 2013
My mom telling me she wanted to buy it for me!
So cute! Straps a little long for shorter girls. Love Milly! And love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 9, 2013
I wore this as a maid of honor in my brother's wedding.
This dress was beautiful, simple, and incredibly flattering--the material was a thick satin and it draped perfectly. I loved this dress and did not want to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
March 7, 2013
Adorable dress, just didn't quite fit right, so I had to return it.
A little small and short
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
The bow definitely adds a little flare to the otherwise girly dress!
I really liked the scoop of the neck and that the dress fit true to size. I wore it with black stockings and heels for a fall/winter wedding in sf and it was perfect. However, as a 34C, it showed too much cleavage than I would like.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2013
So easy!
I rented this to be a bridesmaid in a friend's wedding this February. I was flying in from abroad, and couldn't shop for a black dress prior to the event. I rented the dress online, spoke with a fit specialist, and it was fantastic. Came on time, in great condition, and shipping it back couldn't have been easier (I literally just handed it to the hotel front desk on my way to the airport). It was wonderful not having to pack a fancy dress. The dress is really easy to wear, flattering, and photographs well. I am 5' 2" and the length was a couple inches above the knee. I am a 32D but did not find it tight in the chest, like some other reviewers. It is a bit low in the front, so I had to run and buy a new bra the day before the wedding to make sure it didn't show. Next time, I'll pack several underwear options when I rent a dress and am traveling!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×