Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large
(101)
True to Size
(192)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
So many compliments!
Runs a little big, I'm small up top so the straps were a little loose-nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix. Overall gorgeous dress but I think would be better for fuller-busted girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
September 26, 2012
So pretty but humungous
I got this as a potential for a wedding. It is beyond adorable but I had about 2 inches of loose fabric gapped under each arm because the top runs really really big. This was with a very padded bra on too. I was bummed because I wanted to wear it. If you're small-busted and you want to try this one DEFINITELY spring for the back-up alternate dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2012
Felt like a million bucks!
Dress ran big as most reviewers said, so I ordered a size smaller than I am right now (6), and the 4 fit perfectly! I felt classy, but sexy, and was comfortable on top of it all! Would love to own this as a little black dress :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2012
Really classy and fun dress!
I really liked the dress. It ran large, I could have worn a 0. Its extremely flattering and very comfortable! I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 14, 2012
This dress got me a million compliments! It was so flattering!
Great hook think that allowed me to wear whatever bra I wanted!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2012
The only real problem was that it was a little bit big
I usually fit well in a 0 but this was big in every way. The straps seemed to long making the neckline really low and it gaped a little and the fabric all over was quite far from my body. It worked find though. It was a good overall length.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2012
The bow was perfect for the venue and occasion!
Super cute for a formal play and dinner in January. However, skirt was SHORT and boob area was big. I had to keep my hair in front so that it would kind of weigh down the gap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2012
Great LBD for any occasion!
Rented the 4 and the 2, 4 was way too large but the 2 fit perfectly. You can wear a regular bra with this dress. I thought the smaller size might be too short but it was just a little above knee length on me. Very comfortable and easy to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Pretty dress but did not end up wearing it as it was my backup and not flattering on me.
I was very excited about this dress but ordered it as a backup since I knew it would flatter my pear shaped body. I did not end up wearing it. I spoke with the stylist who said not to order my usual 2...that a 0 would be best...so I did. I am pretty tiny on top but consistently a 2 (sometimes 0)....when I tried the dress on I could not fill out the 0! I had to wear a push up bra to have the dress fit me correctly. This dress is fun and very forgiving (though big, the top is structured and would hide any tummy...and the full bottom skirt hides anything below). But definitely order a size down if you are not busty! Overall, cute dress, runs VERY LARGE for small busted girls, but comfortable and I imagine would have been fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245lbs
November 12, 2012
I rented this dress for my 13year old daughter to attend a formal affair. She looked so beautiful.
The dress was a bit big on top for her, but overall it was a great fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
I ended up not wearing this dress because it did not look like the picture on the RTR website.
The top of the dress was not as structured as it looks in the RTR picture. Also the skirt went out more at the hips than expected. Overall, it was not a very flattering style.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
I wore this to a wedding and it was flattering and classy!
Top ran a bit larger than expected, but overall I enjoyed the simplicity of it. Black, classy, elegant. Perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
N/A
I love the fit but the bow looked frumpy
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
Adorable dress!
Love this dress! It was a little big for me in the top though. Since the 2 was unavailable as a back up size I made the 4 work, but the 2 would have probably fit much better. I hope to rent this again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
Nice dress, had some issues though.
I usually wear a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. Two minor issues: (1) the top of the dress did not lie flat against my chest, but fixed this issue with fashion tape, and (2) the bow is not as pictured; it was completely floppy, so I ironed and starched it into shape and then it looked perfect. Would still recommend this dress, classic shape, nice fabric, overall very flattering shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful fabric
This dress would have been great if I had gotten it in a smaller size. The dress runs large for a 4, especially in the chest region. The shape of the dress and the fabric is beautiful, but definitely runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2013
I would rent it again!
I absolutely loved this dress, so did my boyfriend. I wore it to his brother's wedding and felt classy and sexy at the same time! I actually ordered it in a size smaller than I usually wear because of the A line. I got a ton of compliments on it as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2013
Perfectly pairs with my black satin Loub's!
Wore it for my engagement pics and have received so many compliments. I paired the dress with my Christian Louboutin black satin Very Prive heels and RTR's Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald Drop Earrings. SIDE NOTE: I don't know if it's because I have a small upper body, but the straps fell down often mostly hanging off of the shoulders.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
This was my first rent the runway experience and I am hooked! Loved the dress... I did size down to a 4... ( normally take between a size 4 or 6) and the 4 was still a bit roomy. Perfect fit other than the fact I had to pull up the dress alot from preventing my bra from showing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
January 22, 2013
Wow--a thousand compliments!
I've worn Milly before, but this dress ran very large. I'm usually between a 4-6 and I could've worn this in a 2. The dress itself is very cute; however, this dress in particular was definitely showing some wear. It was great that Rent the Runway included fashion tape because I used almost all of it. The lining was coming out of the dress so I had to tape it down. Yes, I was able to wear a regular bra with this dress, but I still had to tape the back part as it was a little worn in the straps. I personally own a lot of black dresses, but there was something very classic and unique about this dress. Very cute and received a ton of compliments. Great for a shorter girl, too!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 66
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2013
Not for the short & curvy
My aunt ordered this dress for me so I am writing the review on her account. I am 5'1, 130lbs, with an hour glass shape. Although the dress is beautiful it's not intended for curvy girls. I think the bust draws too much attention if you have a full chest and the full skirt makes hips look even more hippy. I also felt too much like a cupcake since I am so short in stature. Just a note - the size 4 has a stuck zipper. I usually wear a size 6 but even the 4 was roomy on me but the zipper just wouldn't budge.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 24, 2013
Very flattering!
I ordered this dress in a size 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6. I am definitely not a 6 normally, but because the dress is goes out alot n the bottom and is smaller on top like me, this was the best fit. I felt great! it was a bit lower than I would have hoped, but I wore a regular bra and that made it feel pretty secure. This dress is a good bet for anyone larger on bottom and nervous about fit.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2013
Amazing dress!! It was absolutely beautiful and I got a ton of compliments!
I would normally wear a 4, but I went with the 2 in this dress. It was still a little loose, but not noticeably big around the waist. The built-in clips for your bra were amazing! I have a larger bust and really hate wearing strapless bras, so this allowed me to wear a normal bra and have it not show! Wore it for a NYE Party in Milwaukee, so I wore it with hose. Looked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
February 27, 2013
Had to return it :(
I unfortunately had to return this dress, in the size 4. It was huge in the bust area, and the bow was floppy and unflattering. I was really excited about wearing this, but it was a disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 9, 2013
I wore this as a maid of honor in my brother's wedding.
This dress was beautiful, simple, and incredibly flattering--the material was a thick satin and it draped perfectly. I loved this dress and did not want to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2013
So cute
I wore this dress for my "Breakfast at Tiffany's" themed bridal shower. It fit my curvy figure perfectly, a smaller shaped person may want to consider one size down.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 23, 2013
I felt sophisticated and beautiful in this dress. The necklace was stunning and lightweight!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends formal in Canada. I received compliment on the dress and the INCREDIBLE necklace all night.The dress was a bit too large; I had to wear a belt and use dress tape. While I was a bit uncomfortable with the dress at first after some adjustments, I felt beautiful! The bubble skirt was adorable and great for dancing. The dress length was perfect and very enjoyable to wear. Would recommend this dress to my friends.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2013
Comfortable, cute, and appropriate
I wore this as a bridesmaids dress in a friend's wedding. I ordered sizes 2 and 4, and wore the 2. The dress runs a bit large, in my opinion, but I am fairly small chested, so if you have a larger bust it may be truer to size. As other reveiwers have noted, the shoulder straps seemed a bit long and I had to pull them up a couple of times throughout the night. The shape of the dress is really very cute and flattering, and the "stripe" at the bottom is a great element that looks better in person than in pictures. I think this is pretty much the perfect LBD, if only the straps could be altered. The dress was starting to show some wear, but other than that I thought it was great!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress. RTR is a great idea for any occasion.
The dress wasn't offered in the 10, so I got the 8 and 12. The 12 worked but I do think that the 10 may have been better. I used all of the run way tape they gave me in the kit for the back. The front fit perfectly and the length wasn't an issue. The back puckers, so be sure to have the tape for that. I would wear this dress again and recommend it for anyone. Enjoy ladies!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
July 24, 2013
The cutest little black dress I have ever worn! So many compliments and so comfortable!
The dress ran bigger than I expected. I generally would wear a size 6, but wore it in a 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2013
Great dress for a wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I ordered two and wore the other dress because it was more summery. I loved the look of this dress and it worked with my 4 and a half month pregnant belly. However, the top was very large, even in the size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 19, 2013
Simple, classic, perfect dress!
This dress was perfect and exactly what I expected! It is simple, classy and very flattering. It does run slightly big...I usually wear a 4 or a 6 but the 4 was more than perfect and very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2013
Too big
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the fit was just too big. It was big in the chest area so I ended up wearing an alternate that I ordered.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
September 30, 2013
Loved the dress, it has a very flattering fit!
I ordered this dress to wear to a September wedding. After reading other reviews I ordered a 4 instead of a 6 (my usual size), and the 4 fit perfectly. It was a little lower cut than I expected but nothing a sweater couldn't cover up in the church! I paired it with a Lee Angel necklace as well! My only complaint is that the dress looked like it had been dry cleaned one too many times but overall I wouldn't definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2013
It is the most adorable semi-formal Audrey Hepburn dress!
I think I was so crazy about this dress that I got it in a size 4 even though I normally wear a size 2 and the listing even said to go one size down which would mean a possible 0. Crazy right?! It was two inches too big in the waist for me, but I still was able to pull it off without anyone noticing. It was a wedding for someone at work and knew I wouldn't care as much about impressing the masses. I still got loads of compliments and people said they couldn't notice! I put my hands on my hip in most photos though! It was super fun to dance in!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2013
I wore this for our Pref Night during rush
and it fit beautifully! I ordered the 4 and the 2 and ended up going with the 2 (talk about a confidence boost!). It was elegant, appropriate, and flattering. I wish I could own it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 17, 2014
Modern, fun take on a classic sihouette
It's elegant without being stuffy, and looks great with a simple pair of black heels. Overall fits well but the straps are a bit large and slipped around and the bodice felt roomy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 3, 2014
Mixes classy and flirty with little effort!
Loved this dress! I wore it with an updo for a dress rehearsal dinner for a friend and felt so very elegant. The cut around the bodice is beautiful and shows just enough skin. I would definitely go for an updo if you're wearing this in the evening. Loved the way the skirt flared out on the bottom. Great for adding a little more curve. Beautiful dress all around.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2014
Ehh...
Besides the fact that the zipper on this dress was broken, I wouldn't have worn it anyway. The fabric was worn out and pulling in places. I am normally a 2 or 4 and the dress made me look huge in all the wrong places, while simultaneously smushing my chest down so I looked flat as well. Didn't look a thing like it did on the model. Ended up having to get another dress sent for the next day, which RTR was very helpful with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
December 22, 2015
Overall, a great, sophisticated find for an active wedding.
The bust of the dress runs large, I ended up wearing a VERY padded bra just to help fill it out. But even so, the fabric is very thick and stiff, and I felt a little thick in it. Loved the cut, and the skirt, would opt for a more form fitted top next time.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×