Milly

Pretty Belted Ruffle Dress

$24 to buy
$335 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

A perfectly pretty style from Milly, this dress is a figure friendly choice. Pair with bright bangles to keep this look fabulous.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted when worn with belt at waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted when worn with belt at waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk georgette. One shoulder neckline with ruffle detail. Includes black tie belt. 33" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

63 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 36
Large 10
Photos 6
EBG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a wedding in Chicago last weekend. Other reviews indicated it would feel tight around the hips so I ordered a size 6 (my normal size) and the 8, but the 6 was just fine. It was cute but definitely needs to be pumped up with some fun jewelry. I would probably not have bought this had I tried it on in a store as I liked it but was not obsessed, though it looked good on and I felt comfortable in it.
Chloe
Age: 44
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The dress arrived an absolute mess. The lining was noticeably damaged in several different places (ripped on the edges, so fabric was frayed) & one of the loops that the belt goes through was cut off. Worst part: they did not send the belt! It's called the Pretty BELT-ed Ruffle Dress for crying out loud. BELT is in the name of the dress, you'd think they would've remembered to send it. I called RTR, and FINALLY got them to overnight me the belt. I had not had a problem before ordering from RTR in the past, and I was definitely expecting the RTR staff to be understanding & helpful, since the dress was not only damaged, a component was missing entirely! They made me feel like I was inconveniencing them by calling to ask where the belt was and why the dress was in such poor shape. Not to mention, you'll sit on hold for about 30 minutes and have to listen to their FAQ's on repeat over and over. Once you get an actual person on the phone, they will be very rude. I spoke with someone named Stephanie and then another girl whose name I cannot recall -- both were unhelpful and snarky and made me feel bad that I was calling with a problem. The belt was overnighted to me, so I appreciated that, but it was wadded up messily in an envelope. I would certainly encourage you to think twice before ordering this dress or ANY dress from RTR at all. SO disappointed with this one.
Anais
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Oct 31, 2011

Birthday Night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The size 0 was slightly big, but totally wearable. This dress is really cute and easy to wear. I got a lot of compliments and my boyfriend loved the ruffled asymmetric shoulder. I would recommend this dress for an easy dressy date. I loved the black slightly shinny soft fabric.
Crystal
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Nov 14, 2011

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved the dress. You can forgo a necklace with this one and try big earrings instead. When I first tried it on, I thought the neckline was a little too high, but when I put it on again on the night of my event, it was perfect. The only problem with it is something that other reviewers have brought up - it's a little tight in the hips compared with the chest. The 6 was perfect up top but slightly smaller than I would have liked in the hips. Nevertheless, it was totally manageable and I'm already set to rent it again for another event.
-
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2011

Too tight; Arrived frayed

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress runs extremely small and is very clingy on the bottom. I usually wear a Milly size 6 and couldn't even fit into the 8. It also arrived somewhat frayed.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 15, 2011

Loved this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress!! Great for a night out with friends! The dress pretty much ran true to size. I'm 5'6, 125lbs- usually I'll wear a 2 or 4. I got the 4 and it fit great, though I probably could have fit in the 2. Length was right around mid thigh. Paired it with cute heels and jewelry- definitely money well spent!
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Nov 30, 2011

Beautiful and classic dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful and classy. It definitely ran small (I normally wear a 4 and wore a 6 in this dress). The dress was very simple but classic. The ruffles are difficult to see when wearing the dress, it looks more like a plain black silk one-shoulder when wearing. I wore it to a semiformal, and I would definitely recommend it for that type of event.
allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 28, 2011

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's such a simple dress but I got so many compliments because it fits so well. I ordered a 0 and a 2 and I had to wear the 2. The 0 was just too tight around the butt. Typically I wear a 0. There is an adorable ruffle at the shoulder and the belt shows of your waist. Such a flattering dress! Perfect for a wedding or night out.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 13, 2012

I LOVED this dress and wish I could buy it for keeps!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress and wish I could buy it for keeps!
Mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 21, 2012

Beautiful classy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this as a backup dress and didn't get to wear it because my first choice fit but it was a hard decision. This is a great dress and was very flattering on. Length was great which is difficult for me to find with my height. Would order this dress again.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 9, 2012

Cute LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was the first dress I rented from RTR! I wore this dress to my friends rehearsal dinner. For most styles I usually wear a size 4. This dress ran a bit small through the thighs and the size 4 was a bit fitted. Thank goodness for SPANX! I would for sure recommend sizing up for your backup. I received many compliments and raved all night about RTR!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Subtle fun, with sophisticate

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The date was my own 30th birthday dinner with my now husband. What a evening! Good thing the table cloth was long because this dress was not very generous in terms of length. Adorable, of course, but appropriate length, maybe not. :) Flirty without being showy.
Allyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Back in black

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress. True to Milly, it's cut on the larger end, so had to go with the smaller of two sizes. Was super comfortable and the frills brought some fun to the otherwise fairly simple, LBD. Highly recommended :)
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great simple black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a bachlorette party. Felt pretty and comfortable wearing it. Would consider using a different belt then the sash provided.
ASF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Cute dress but fit a little loose. Don't think I would wear it again.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Cute dress but was a little loose and the arm opening was a little big.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Cute and comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for a summer wedding. It was comfortable and true to size.
Tinley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Too large to wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was too large all over to wear. Very pretty though.
Ariana
Age: 19
Nov 21, 2012

Super pretty and comfortable!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my boyfriends prom and it was really simple but nice and comfortable to dance in. I reccomend it to anyone. This was my sophomore year, so note that I was a size 5/6 then.
sauvichick
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 25, 2012

Unfortunately the 6 did not fit and it was not available in an 8.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is a beautiful dress, but could not wear it. I gave it 5 stars because the entire process is easy. It was delivered to a hotel I was staying at while visiting Chicago on the day it was promised. I still plan on using RTR for a Christmas Eve/Anniversary dinner.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

I didn't feel great, but got lots of compliments

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a bit of a let down, as it was an overnighted replacement dress when my original was delayed. It was too loose at the top (small chested), and then it was a little tight for my liking on my legs. The material doesn't stretch at all, and since the dress is straight and a bit long, it made getting in and out of cars, etc. a little tricky. Overall, it was fine for going out to dinner with my family, but I would've much rather worn the original dress I picked out.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

Fun Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was a little dressier than I first imagined so I had to dress it down with sandals but it was fun to wear and turned out great!
emmaggy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

fits like a dream, very pretty and a good length of a tall girl

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
wonderful, beautiful feminine dress
Nat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Black dress with a twist

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress and wish I owned it. I wore it to a fall wedding and it was perfect. I am very small and liked the way this dress added some extra shape to me. Very flattering and beautiful.
Daisy
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Hated it! Found it very unflattering on my curvy figure.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Found this dress very unflattering. Did not end up wearing this dress. Too skimpy, too short, too unflattering.
sarryj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Feb 23, 2013

Fun yet elegant and stylish.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Felt fantastic in this simple, stylish, and elegant dress. Highly recommended! I wore it for a Bachelorette party but it is a highly versatile dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Great LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great little black dress that you can dress up with fun jewelry. It was a little tight in the rear, but I'm curvy there so that's usually expected for me. Since I had to go up a size for the bottom to fit, the top was a little loose. That was my only complaint. Great dress thought.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 9, 2013

It's a beautiful dress, but I didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't get sent the belt for this dress, so I didn't end up wearing it. That being said, it's a beautiful and simple dress. It was big on top which works well for me as I have a large bust. If you have a small bust, you may want to go a size down. It was somewhat tight on the legs, so I'd go a size up if you are an apple. Very comfortable too!
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jun 7, 2013

Lots of compliments for a LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size and is classy without being your boring run of the mill LBD. I was surprised at the number of compliments I got since it's just a little black dress! At a later time I also rented the red version of the dress and received just as many compliments! Even better, no one realized I had worn this black version a year earlier to another function :) I was pleased with both versions. The one shoulder cut is also subtle enough that you can wear a necklace without it seeming over the top or awkward.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

Flirty & Feminine!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding at the Mandarin Oriental hotel in NYC - it was a fun twist on your typical LBD - I felt it looked best from the front & back, the frill running vertically down the dress added bulk from the side. The fit was comfortable but not really body-hugging, it felt a little loose but it may have just been the style. I didn't order a second size so I'm not sure if the 2 would have fit better - Generally I run between the two.
grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 19, 2013

Loved the fact that they sent two sizes.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish that I would have gotten a dress with a little more give to it, i needed the smaller size in the top but the larger size for my hips. The material was nice and not too heavy.
DFord
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Classy & Fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an August wedding and loved it! It was light weight but still formal and flattering. I would absolutely recommend this!
Martha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 9, 2013

I wore it for my birthday party and it fit very well and worked perfectly for my special day.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wish I had gotten a size up and they had an 8 available but they only had a 6 and a 4.
Inconvenienced
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Not for anyone with a butt. If you're a stick, then it's a great dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
both sizes that were sent to me came without the belt. Their return form is not easy to find in their site.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect dress for date night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress is very flattering with the tie around the waist and runs very true to size.
Mital
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Cute, but not perfect.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress I got seemed a little old, but overall I got compliments on it!
Francesca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Weird lumps

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress COULD have been great. I don't know why but on me it kept bunching and lumping around the hips and thighs...it's not like I'm a big girl. It was not flattering at all!
Laudine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2014

Amazing first time rental experience! I was the bell of the ball!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly. Runs a bit big so definitely get a size down just in case.
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Perfect blend of not too dressy - not too casual

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Perfect for Wedding Rehearsal Dinner!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Unfortunately I couldn't wear it as it was missing the belt and there was a snag in the dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size
Amira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2014

it was tight and made butt look flat

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didnt end up wearing this dress as it was not flattering to my shape. it was a nice dress but it ran very tight
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×