Milly

Lace Illusion Flutter Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this classic Milly lace sheath for a wedding or cocktail party you are throwing. Show off how great you look to your friends by adding a set of bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Arabian Nights Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black floral lace(60% cotton; 40% nylon). Crew neckline with sheer lace. Belt at waist. Cascading ruffle detail on back skirt. Back button closure with keyhole opening. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(76)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2012
wore this to a wedding

small in the chest, but not so much so that you should wear a different size. Very elegant and classic looking

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
November 26, 2012
I rented this for an outdoor, family wedding in November. Very appropriate and comfortable!!

Top was a bit snug but it fit perfectly! I normally wear a 4 so the 4 was the best choice (got a 6 as a back up). Bottom was looser and I felt very comfortable sitting, dancing, great length!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 1, 2012
Dress fit perfect and I got many compliments on it all night.

The fit and quality of the dress were excellent, length was exactly what i wanted. I felt glamorous in my dress but was also comfortable in it all night long. I was extremely impressed by the great customer service i received from rent the runway. My dress was scheduled to arrive wednesday but was delayed due to ups vehicle issues. I received a phone call to let me know and to verify what day my event was on, someone was monitoring the issue with ups to make sure the dress would get to me on thursday, i was refunded the shipping for the inconvenience and was told that if the issue with ups was not resolved in time that another set of my dress would be overnighted to me. Rent the Runway customer service went above and beyond to ensure I had my dress in time and I was absolutely impressed by how it was all handled, plus i lovedddd the dress. I will definitely be using rent the runway again and telling all of my friends about it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
Perfect for a winter wedding!

Wore this with black tights and maroon wedges - really cute and comfy. Could be dressed up or down. Length was suitable for a tall girl. Nice alternative to the standard LBD.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 10, 2012
elegant LBD

This is a beautiful dress! I ordered it as my back up dress, so did not actually wear it to the event, but may rent it again the the future to wear. It is nicely cut, and the lace overlay is like wearing a strapless dress without worrying that it will fall down. A strapless bra with a low back is necessary. It has a small ruffle in the back, but it is pretty small so it does not add a lot of volume to the back area. I am often between a size 6 or 8, and the 6 fit perfectly.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 19, 2012
Great dress, got lots of compliments

Loved this dress, fit well, very flattering. I have short legs, so it came to knee length which was fine.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 5, 2012
Too long

For a tall girl, it was not the most flattering cut, but the detailing was gorgeous!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!

I felt totally comfortable in this dress all night long. The top is gorgeous and can be worn to a dressy cocktail party or a black tie affair. I wish I owned this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Such a beautiful and flattering dress!

Love the detail and the back!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Perfect for a semi-formal wedding, the price of this rental is what makes RTR a great option!

I wore this to an out of town wedding and forgot a strapless bra, usually a huge issue as I'm 36D but went without and didn't have a problem. The length was perfect and the back ruffle was really fun. I would definitely rent this dress again! I usually wear a 10 but that was unavailable, I got the 12 and it was a little large but still looked good and fit comfortably.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
Very pretty! Loved the lace and the back bow details!

I wore this for my sisters sweet-15 party. I got so many compliments on this pretty dress. Everyone loved the back the best, but i really loved the lace detail in front. Super cute on, my only wish,(which is why its not a 5 Star review) is that it could have been a tad shorter on me than it was. OVERALL- Beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2013
This dress is so fun! It is timeless from the front with a bit of flare in the back!

This dress was such a fun choice for a formal cocktail event I attended in NYC. From the front, the sheer illusion neck is very tasteful and the back adds a bit of flare. I thought the dress fit perfectly and would recommend anyone to rent it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2013
Gorgeous and comfortable

The dress fit like a glove. It was beautiful and everyone wanted to know where it was from! I would absolutely recommend it!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 22, 2013
Fun, flirty dress perfect for weddings, cocktail parties, and fundraising events!

Chose this dress after reading all the positive reviews from other renters for a black tie fundraiser. Snug in the top and low in the back so I was unable to wear a bra. I am 5'10 and the dress was a great length, ending just above my knees. Many complements throughout the evening. Could sit comfortably during the dinner portion of the evening and eat. Recommend to anyone looking for a upgrade to the LBD!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2013
perfect wedding dress. not too short on a 5'7" frame.

this dress was perfect for an evening wedding. the length made it appropriate and allowed m to wear heels without showing off too much leg, yet the top was still delicate and pretty. It was not tight but I did not feel frumpy at all. very comfortable overall. I thought the lace "tail" on the back was a little odd, but didn't stop me from loving it.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 3, 2013
Disappointed in the fit

I wanted to love this dress; in fact, I loved it--except for one important thing. The lace connects in the back with a button hook by the nape of the neck, and the excess material bunched out by my upper back (too much material). Had I been planning to wear a pashmina or cardigan all night, I think I would've still worn the dress, because it fit beautifully everywhere else. But short women likely will have a problem with the lace/sheer fabric bunching and ruining what otherwise is a gorgeous look! I went with the Lilly "Beauty Within" Dress and was really happy with it! Definitely recommend ordering a back-up dress if you plan to order the Milly dress and are petite like me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
June 12, 2013
It's a perfect black dress. Lots of complements!

A little tight in the bust

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2013
This dress was really comfortable and cute.

The fit was perfect, and I thought it had a great balance: sexy and classy. I wore it to a Friday evening wedding, and the color and style were right on point.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 5, 2013
Beautiful dress for a wedding or cocktail party

I wore this dress in ivory after my wedding two years ago so I had a good sense of how it would fit and as expected, the 4 fit just right. The cut is flattering and the design is beautiful and classy. Dress arrived on time and in perfect condition.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2013
Fit like a glove!

On the hanger it looked a little heavy, especially for a March wedding, but it was actually perfect for the occassion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 18, 2013
Classic

Fitted, not much stretch. Perfect length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
October 8, 2013
Fit like a glove, felt confident all night long!

This dress is even more fabulous in person. Very classy

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2013
I met my (now) boyfriend in this dress!

I loved everything about this dress. It was classy enough for the formal affair I was going to, but still cute and fun!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2013
I had over 20 people come up to me & ask me "Where Did I get that AMAZING Dress?!" Wonderful day!

Dress stayed true to its form. I had wonderful comments all night - from the moment I took the dress out of the bag till the end of leaving the wedding. I could not wear a bra with it, and it was during a bitter cold wedding in Wisconsin. But it didn't matter & didn't affect anything (you couldn't see anything). I want to rent this dress over & over again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
January 2, 2014
Just the right amount of wow!

This was my backup dress and luckily the 0 fit me perfect. It is very fitted in the waist and after sitting through dinner and eating it was more noticeable to me. My only regret was using this dress for a dinner party because the back it where it's at. The waterfall accent was beautiful. I almost wish his came in another color to make it more wow! Con- was a little long in torso so my bra showed just a bit where the zipper ended, and the top of my bra showed in front. Not at all noticeable with a black bra (i'm also very short). As someone else reviewed the back being loose between the zipper and button, yes it was, but does not effect the dress at all.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 22, 2014
Perfect little black dress but with a unique decorative top.

Something a little different for a traditional black cocktail dress, with the sheer decorative top. I wore this to a wedding in Oklahoma with a little red lipstick and called it good. Felt super comfortable all night and chic at the same time. Would highly recommend to a friend, or rent again. My fiance liked it as well.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 29, 2014
Fits just fine. I got a fair number of compliments, but I didn't love it.

This dress is comfortable, but that ruffle on the back just kind of hangs there limply, and you MUST iron it before wearing, or it will just lay there looking sad. Other people liked it, I thought it was serviceable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 10, 2014
Twist on the classic LBD

I rented this for a semi-formal work fundraiser. The slit in the back was higher than I expected - it rode up quite a bit when I sat down or bent over... I felt a little more "exposed' than I was comfortable with.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 28, 2011
The best moment was when a senior manager told me how great I looked in this dress!

I LOVED this dress! I want to buy it! I rented the 0 and it fit beautifully. I wore it to work (with an ivory cardigan) and received compliments on how good I looked and then went directly to my brother's wedding rehearsal and dinner (sans cardigan). And to drinks after dinner. I felt fabulous all day and well past midnight! If only I hadn't forgotten the Ganesha bangle in the morning.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 10, 2012
Nice for a semi-casual wedding!

I got so many compliments on my dress! I was nervous about it because everything else was rented out so this was a last resort but I actually ended up liking it a lot! I thought I would need the 6 but the 4 fit better.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2012
Very Flattering!

Got lots of compliments! This dress was perfect for a K St. business function. It was conservative enough for me not to feel like I was clubbing it with partners, but the length was right and the lace detail made it very fashionable. I wore the 6 without a bra (scandalous!) the night of the party and it was fitted, but I wore the 8 the night before at a nice meal (a little more wiggle room). I would say if you have a larger bust, go the size you normally wear or a size up. I'm not particularly blessed in that area, soooo. But a great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
fit like a glove!

I LOVE this dress so much, wish I could buy it. I needed a dress for a "black tie optional wedding" and rented a 12 and a 10 since reviews said it had no give in the hips. The 10 fit perfectly and I felt great in it. Slightly rode up when seated, but not enough to be bothersome. Can't wait to rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
February 10, 2014
Perfect for work dinner!

This dress is very flattering on. The size two was just a bit too tight in the hips for me. I'm 5'4" and the dress hits me right above the knee. It's easy to put on and zip up by yourself.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
June 25, 2014
Great dress :) fit the occassion

#christmasparty great dress love milly

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2014
Dress it up or down

I rented this dress for a murder mystery party with the local young professionals group. It was not too tight or short for a professional event. I wore it once to an after work social with a cardigan and flats and dressed it up with chandelier earrings and pumps for the party. After I sent it back, it went on clearance on rtr, and I couldn't wait to get it back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2011

Rented this dress for a wedding this weekend and got so many compliments - everyone wanted to know where I got my dresss! The lace detailing is beautiful! It hit right at my knee, which was great for a rather conservative family event. I rented both the 4 and the 6, as I'm usually between the two, but went with the 6 as the 4 was too snug. It might be a good idea to size up for your extra size. Overall great dress!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 16, 2011

I wore this dress to a wedding. I felt that sizing was right on. I'm usually a 6 dress size (5'7" and 140lbs), and the 6 fit perfectly. This dress was comfortable and supportive enough - there is some very mild boning in the bodice. The hem hit at my knees and the dress looked great with heels! The only issue I had was that the lace had been pulled on the front upon arrival. It wasn't super visible because the dress is black lace on black lining, but annoying nonetheless. The ruffle in back is subtle, but cute. I enjoyed wearing this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
August 21, 2012
Perfect LBD

This dress fit great. I loved the crochet top, and it was the perfect length (not too short/not too long)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2012
Dressy & Formal

This dress blended in nicely at a formal wedding. It doesn't stand out, but it's fairly flattering. The lace overlay top was a bit saggy on me in the back, so I used the fashion tape to tuck it underneath. Worked out fine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
Pretty dress overall but matronly.

It fit well size wise but it made my small bust look even smaller and it flattened out my butt. I have a pretty striaght figure so I like dresses that make me look curvy, this did not. Plus I think it could be a bit shorter. I am 5'6" and it came to the middle of my knees.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×