Milly

Indigoing Your Way Dress

$45 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make a bold statement in this Milly electric floral sheath. Simply pair with kate spade new york’s midnight statement earrings and Diane von Furstenberg’s Flapper Tonda Clutch for that over the top look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Floral printed cotton faille (58% cotton, 42% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neck with bust cutout detail. Straight skirt with cut out back. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

128 reviews

Fit
Small 62
True to Size 63
Large 2
Photos 88
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 11, 2014

Great fit, RTR never disappoints!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6, but this dress was much more comfortable in an 8. I'm y'all, so the 6 was WAY too short for an evening wedding reception. It was a WONDERFUL pattern and style and I got compliments all night!
rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 12, 2014

Great daytime dress with fun colors

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Definitely size up in Milly because if it pinches at all in the waist the back cut out will not be flattering! Fun dress for a daytime outdoor event.
Loreley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 13, 2014

Bright, flattering, and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely LOVED this dress. It's bright, fun, and perfect for a summer wedding. It wasn't nearly as short as it is on the model in the photo (I'm 5'4), and the size 2 fit snug and perfect. I typically wear a 0-2, and the 2 was way more comfortable. You can't wear a bra with it because of the back cut out, but I wore some gel covers and it was great. Very flattering, and I got tons of compliments. Would definitely own it if I could! Highly recommend it!
Laurina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 13, 2014

The vibrant colors glowed on my skin! I received so many compliments !!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love the dress! Definitely, the best graduation dressed. The online picture does not do this dress any justice. Very expensive looking, everyone wanted to know where I got it from :)
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2014

Milly magic!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Had this dress on my hearts list and finally had a event to rent it for! It's a great GNO or Vegas dress. It was a bit snug, but hugs everything in well. The lining on my dress often slipped below and was showing which was a tad annoying but I made it work. Loved this dress.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 20, 2014

Fit like a dream!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for SMU Law School Graduation. I wanted something classy, but still fun, and this was the PERFECT mix. I loved the way it hugged my curves but left me room to breathe. There was a good amount of cleavage, but I am a 34D so it's kind of hard to hide mine anyway :) If you have larger boobs and don't like to show cleavage I would avoid this cut. I had so much fun wearing this, received tons of compliments and shed a tear when I had to return it. Amazing dress that I will definitely rent again!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 25, 2014

I liked it even more than I thought I would!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I rented 3 dresses for my recent Hawaiian vacation and this dress took the cake. It was my absolute favorite and I received so many compliments. It was the perfect bright floral for a beach-side luau. I loved the cutouts in the dress but wish I was able to get a picture of the back cutout and zipper. I took a larger size in this dress due to the bottom being a little too tight in the butt and thigh area. I was so sad to give this dress back. I truly wished I could have kept it. The dress I wore did have a small stain on the bust but it was hidden well by the bright pattern. The fabric was different than I expected. Very pleased with this rental and all the photos taken in it!
Shannon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 106 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

I wore this as a bridesmaid for an engagement party and received so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great! There is no stretch in the fabric, but it seems to run pretty true to size. I'm not very tall so the length was perfect on me, and the fabric made going bra-less no problem. Even on my fair skin the combination of the bright yellow and blue looked great on. I'm so happy I decided on this dress
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Beautiful unique dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great on this beautiful dress that worked perfectly for a beach wedding. There is definitely no stretch but it was still comfortable and no-fuss. I was able to go without a bra due to the tight bust area. The material is more silky in person and really stands out. Would definitely recommend!
Lis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Beautiful and interesting vibrant dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was worn for a day event. Ended up wearing the size 0 but be aware there is not much give in this thick fabric. It was a tad uncomfortable in the chest area since it was tight but still wearable . The colors are depicted accurately on the website. Dress is short but since my height is 5'3" it was okay. Other than the tight fitting part, I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It is cute and pretty. I wore flats with this dress but heels would look good.
Toni
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Perfect Summer Wedding Guest Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR dress and I couldn't be happier! The only con was having to return it. I wore this to a small Cape wedding and it was a big hit. There is no stretch, so definitely order two sizes if you're in between sizes. I ordered the 0 and the 2 and went with the 0. The bust area was a little bit big on me, but a stick-on gel bra solved the issue. Perfect length for a wedding and the cutouts weren't too revealing. I wore nude peep toes and a matching nude clutch, with simple diamond earrings.
Sue
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Compliments galore!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress did run small so I am glad I was able to get two sizes. I am 5'3 (This is my mom's account, she also rented and is the picture with me) and this dress fit very well in the 12. I am large chested but I didn't have to wear a bra and felt snug all night. The fabric doesn't have any give in it but if you are a square shape like me it will work. Overall people were constantly complimenting me all night and I couldn't have asked for better except to have this dress in my closet! Great job RTR!
Afua
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

LOVED loved this dress! Perfect a summer wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is by far one of my favorite RTR ever! Tons of compliments, everyone wanted to know who I was wearing. The print and colors are summer perfection, even brighter and more vivid in person! Loved the cutouts in the front and back, sexy and fun but not trashy. Even though I am a 0, the 2 fit perfectly. The fabric was really slimming and flattering -- I could eat, dance..and move easily in it. If you're petite, this is your dress! I'm 5'3 and it showed my legs for days!
Brandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Amazing dress, stood out. Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It did fit pretty tight on the bottom half but my hips, butt and thighs are bigger than average. It wasnt delivered on time and I was going out of town so I didn't know if it would fit but Rent the Runways customer service overnighted me two other dresses to a different address just in case. Those dresses were nice too but I really wanted this one so I had someone bring it with them on the way to the same wedding and I am so glad I did. It is a very fun dress.
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Perfect dress for a summer, beach wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a wedding in La Jolla, CA and received so many compliments! Everyone loved the cutout in the back and the print. I paired it with some black strappy Tibi heels. It hugs in all the right places. Dress runs pretty true to size, but I recommend ordering a size up for your backup. You don't want the back to pinch through the cutout. Will definitely consider future Milly rentals (though Shoshanna is my go-to).
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Perfect for summer wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 2 probably would've been more comfortable, but the lining was showing out the bottom, not sure what happened there. Luckily I was able to wear the 0. Was just pretty short when I sat and tighter at the waist than I would like when eating haha, but otherwise it was a perfect length to dance in and show off the legs, color was great and got so many compliments. Very flattering fit. I also bought the sticky boob things but just went no bra, however keep in mind I am an A! So I can do that, there isn't any support but there's enough fabric that you can do it if you don't need support like me!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Definitely fit a bit small, I'm normally a size 6-8 and wore the 10 (it fit perfectly). Not too short, regular cocktail length. Couldn't wear a bra underneath, but was not a problem. The yellow color is more of a chartreuse in real-life but it looks great with the blue/purple pattern. I loved this dress. Perfect for attending my cousin's high school graduation.
Quincy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Beautiful colors and fun style makes this dress perfect for any occasion!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Like other girls have mentioned, this dress runs small and has no spandex/stretch to the material. I went up a size from what I usually order. Colors were fun for a summer/casual wedding. And cut out detail on the front and back spice it up. Received a number of compliments. I'm sure you'll love it too!
Jodie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Jul 2, 2014

I loved the colors of this dress! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and I loved it!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

A bright, fun summery dress to show off your tan!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Due to weather issues in transit, my dress arrived a day late, coming just 2 hrs before my event which had me really nervous! Fortunately, the dress fit perfectly! It definitely has no give, especially when sitting. Keep that in mind, as you may want to size up! I was able to wear my usual size, but that may not apply if you're taller. I'm a 34DD, and felt comfortable without a bra, as the material is pretty thick. And FYI, the yellow is definitely more of a neon too! Another fab dress for RTR.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Perfect floral dress for a Southern occasion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit perfectly! It was snug in the waist but nothing a pair of spanx couldn't fix. It was rather short and I am 5'0, so I could see it being too short for ladies who might be a bit taller. The colors of the dress stood out and I received compliments all day/night! Comfort-level was manageable. I had to wear the dress from brunch to tailgate, then from the horse races to dinner and cocktails and I wasn't uncomfortable until the very end of the night. The only con was the chartreuse slip that hung out of the bottom of the dress at times.
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

I got a ton of compliments on the cut and color of the dress! I felt like a true fashionista

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It fit a little shorter than I would have liked and the cut of the dress was really constraining. I could not sit comfortably. I usually wear a 2 but for this I would have preferred to go up a size for comfort.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

Great colors!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great night. Great dress. Thanks again RTR
pui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Perfect for a summer cocktail party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cons - I am five feet tall and the dress is obscenely short when I sat down and ran the risk of flashing somebody when exiting from a car. The lining was also longer than the dress so I had to pin the lining up so it wouldn't show. Impossible to zip up by yourself Pros - the color was great and I received a lot of compliments. It also had good chest cleavage.
kirby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 18, 2014

Gorgeous dress! Even cuter in person!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I can typically wear 2s or 4s in dresses. However, I didn't even try on the 2, because the 4 fit like a glove. I also thought the 2 might be a bit short for a wedding. I wore this dress to a summer wedding with an outdoor reception, and it was perfect! It was very comfortable and still left plenty of breathing room. It was still fairly short on my 5'4 frame, so I'm not sure I would recommend it to anyone who is super tall (at least for formal occasions). But this dress is so fun, and I would love to rent it again!
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

It fit perfectly and looked great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered both a 0 and a 2. I fit into both but the 0 was a bit snug. The 2 fit perfectly. I wore it to my birthday dinner. It was a bit stiff to sit in and didn't cover much while sitting down. Otherwise, the dress was perfect and has such a vibrance to it that I wish I bought this to keep it for myself.
Ali Mac
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Great birthday dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I had a free $50 rental for my birthday since I'm RTR Pro, so I found this adorable Milly dress! I got tons of compliments- it was perfect for my twentieth birthday celebration. I didn't add the fifth star because of the condition of the dress. I guess people that had worn it before me were squeezing into it because the seams were exposed and pulling. Also there is a built in silk slip underneath that showed at the bottom of the dress, so I had to pin it to the hem of the dress. Of course these are small details that aren't a huge deal for a dress like this that you wear once. I would also note that this dress ran small on me- I typically wear a size 2 and the size I wore is a 4. I would definitely recommend!!!!!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Fun dress for a summer wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great pattern for a summer wedding. Dress runs true to size, however I definitely agree with other reviews that the fabric does not give at all and runs snug/on the shorter side, so I would suggest sizing up for your backup size. Front and back cutouts made this dress fun and easy to wear - didn't need to wear a sticky bra either. My rental did have a small stain near the neckline, but it wasn't very noticeable. Overall, would recommend!
Caitlin
Age: 27
Aug 5, 2014

This was the best first RTR! I got so many compliments! It was classy and subtly sexy! So great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This ran a size small (I'm always a 2 but couldn't get that on!) glad I read reviews and got the 4. Only negative was the lining could creep out from under the dress at the bottom but wasn't an issue often. Comfy and classy, what more could you want?!,
nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Attending a beautiful venu and wearing a dress that made me feel good!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit! I especially loved the modern take on this dress with the cut outs and zippered backing. Colors/ print was beautiful also! I ended up going with the bigger size due to having broad shoulders, and because the lining on the size 0 kept sticking out at the bottom. TRY THIS DRESS!
P
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 11, 2014

Fun dress! Vibrant colors and sexy cut outs

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding and loved it. It was so comfortable and easy. The only con is that the slip showed at the bottom at times but that was easily fixed.
Robynn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

Wish I owned this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size, short but not too short, perfect for a bachelorette party. The lining stuck out a little on the bottom, but I actually liked the way it looked. I would 100% get this dress again!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Unique print, great fit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is tailored very well. It's super flattering on. The thickness material is substantial but wasn't too hot. I'm pretty tall at 5 foot 10 and I just had to sit down and stand up carefully because the dress is short.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Fun colorful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fun dress for an outdoor wedding in Napa. As other reviewers have said, the dress does run smaller in hips. I had previously worn another milly dress in a size 2 a week earlier, but wore the 4 in this dress. The 2 would have been too small. Received lots of compliments! The only negative is the slip/under layer would peak out from the bottom at times (as seen in photo).
Dana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Unique, fun and bright dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The colors are gorgeous on this dress and much brighter then the picture shows. The fit is great, just runs a but small I thought, I usually wear a 6 or 8 and the 8 I wore was a bit snug but it worked. Also it is on the shorter side but not too short. Perfect for an outdoor occasion and I received many compliments! It was pretty sexy though if you have a curvy figure! I would wear it again!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 5, 2014

Great style!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding rehearsal. I liked the style of this dress but it runs small. I have a booty so even the size 8 was short. Sitting down was difficult because of how short it was. I really liked the back of the dress. You definitely can't wear a bra with it but the material is thick.
Cassie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

This dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unique print and cut - I got tons of compliments! The material is a bit thick, and does start to wrinkle if you are sitting for any length of time. The print hides the wrinkles well though. Not a huge deal!
Alice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Perfect dress to wear in the botanical gardens!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
A little short and runs a little small, but I received so many compliments on it! Wonderful colors for the event.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Love love love it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Love the dress! It ran a little bit small. I would have liked one size up but made do with this size. I usually wear a 4 and the 6 was a tad small. The material does not stretch at all. LOVE the dress though and got many compliments!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Beautiful and flattering

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful colors and lots of compliments! Fun for a wedding
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×