Milly

Girl of the Hour Dress

$30 rental
$645 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Flaunt your feathers in this fabulous Milly A line dress. Fashionable and flirty, this style will have you ready to make an entrance! Get extra glam with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Envy Necklace, Ben-Amun’s Kiss the Bride Bracelet and kate spade new york accessories’ Emina Engagement Ring Bag.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black twill with feather details (90% Polyamide, 10% Elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Tiered ostrich feather pencil skirt. Sash around the waist with flat back bow. Back keyhole with button closure. Lined. Shoulder seam to hem measures approximately 31". Imported.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(73)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2014
This dress was perfect for a night out.
Great fit, nice with a big necklace and heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
December 9, 2013
Love the fun feathers!
Fun, easy to wear party dress. I ordered 6 & 8 and wore 8 for more length; the bodice was slightly short, and skirt was as well; size 6 looked better, more fitted, but too short. Oddly my hair kept catching at back neck button, FYI.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 22, 2013
Cute dress & unique
Difficult to zip up due to feathers. Feathers are nice but gets static so make sure you spray with anti static spray before going out. Good for flapper party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
January 1, 2014
Very pretty dress, but ran WAY too small
I rented this dress for a NYE event and although it fit fairly well in the top, I couldn't get it zipped even when in full Spanx. Maybe a 14 would have worked? I did love the dress though, and I think even a busy girl could wear it. But the top section is short so if you're busty, keep in mind that your waist is going to end up WAY higher than it looks on the skinny model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2014
The dress was so much FUN!
I wore a short cardi with my dress because I was not comfortable with how tight the dress was up top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 14, 2014
Very fun to dance in! everyone commented on it!
tight around bust....kind of short on me
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 16, 2014
Too small in the chest
The dress is very cute but I am a true size 12 and the size 12 would not zip up on the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2014
would've loved to have worn it :(
it was too small right around the rib cage. since the 4 was not available, i had ordered a back up dress, though this was my first choice. not sure if the 4 would've fit, as the 2 was a great fit everywhere except last inch of zipper :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
September 7, 2014
Not a good fit
I ordered this dress for my husband 's convention's closing party. I was taking a chance because its not exactly my style, but it looked so cute in the photos and reviews. The dress was short and tight and the 'feathers' kept falling all over the floor. My husband said it looked like I was molting! I ended up not wearing it at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2014
Incredible dress!
When you slip it on you will 1) know you are wearing a couture dress, and 2) be the center of attention. It was a stunning dress. It fit like a glove and was very well structured. I was able to wear a black racer-back bra with it. I was also pleased with the length - usually dresses like this look very sort on my 5'11" frame, but I felt covered.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 27, 2014
Fun, unique, high quality!
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday party and absolutely LOVED it! It is extremely high quality and the feathers are fun and unique without being too over the top. It was a quirky take on the classic black cocktail dress. Some sizing notes: I am a pear shaped girl with a smaller bust and waist. At times my top is a 4/6 where my hips can be an 8 or even a 10. The top is very well tailored so it needs to FIT to look good (which the 6 did) BUT there is a liner under the feathers layer that was super tight. You couldn't tell at all by looking at me in the dress but it was uncomfortable and I was pulling it down/adjusting all night. I received tons of complements and it was a great birthday dress BUT I'd size up for the 2nd size and those with heavier legs or if you really plan to dance all night..should be weary.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 18, 2014
Perfect dress for an arts bash!
Absolutely beautiful dress. I had to size up a whole size from my usual 10 but was pleased with the overall fit after that--and the skirt was also not nearly as short on my 5'7 frame as it appears on the model, thankfully! The feathers do shed like crazy but it's worth it if you want a statement piece.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2014
Feathery fun
I rented this for a black and white party. The feathers were fun. The top is tight, especially for a woman with a larger top. But wearing the bigger size worked for me. i loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 14, 2014
Cute dress.
I did not wear this dress as it did not fit. It's very cute, playful and fun. This would be a good fit for someone who is slender. I would be weary of wearing this if you are curvy,
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 2, 2014
Love this dress. Perfect for my occasion, got so many compliments.
Did not feel like I was wearing a rented dress,. looked brand new. It was very comfortable, (although slightly snug in the bust), and high quality. Process was sooo easy. I will definitely do this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2013
Stylist Review
I rented this dress for a black tie optional event and loved it! I received so many compliments and it was such a fun dress to wear. I would not recommend this style for someone with a pear shape as the feathers can make you look a little wider. If you are in between sizes I would recommend going up a size as it is fitted in the natural waist. This is a great options for a black tie event or holiday party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 9, 2013
Amazing dress! Got compliments all night!
Fit great, very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
November 13, 2013
Loved the entire experience! The package arrived on time, return was easy and the dress was FABULOUS
I usually wear a 8 or 10 in formal attire, I did end up wearing the 10 on this one (mostly for comfort and i really needed the extra space in chest). You do have to be careful of the feathers, otherwise you'll be shedding! Oh! And be prepared for the "petting" ; ) Overall fit was excellent. Quality was great. The feathers were FUN! Very lady-like + fun dress to wear!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2013
A total show stopper of a dress!
fits true to size. pull the zipper gently as the feathers can get stuck in the track. the feathers do shed ever so slightly so you may be leaving behind a little trail as you move through a room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 19, 2013
Really cute and festive.
First, sorry for the annoying photo, but I'm not really a "take my picture" kind of gal. Second, this dress is super fun. I wore it for a art deco/20's themed gala and it was perfect. I am tall and curvy, think Khloe Kardashian body, and while this was shooooort, fit well. Didn't need to wear a bra with it. I ordered the 8 and 10 and couldn't really tell the difference between the sizes, so I went with the 10 hoping for extra length. Took one star off because it is hard to zip without getting tons of feathers caught in it and you lose feathers all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2013
20s Glamorama
Love this dress because it was so fun to wear and is incredibly forgiving. I wore it to a 1920s themed gala and it was perfect. As other reviewers have noted, it's short and you will be multing all night. Lots and lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2013
Fun dress, received tons of compliments!
Great fit, really fun cute dress. I received tons of compliments all night long! Perfect for a black tie affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2013
Such a fun dress!!
One of my favorite rentals to date... the feather skirt is so fun to dance in! The fit is great - true to size. Looking for another reason to rent this one again :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
December 8, 2013
Amazing! Super fun, festive and fabulous experience!
Loved this dress and so fun to wear for my company's holiday party! Received tons of compliments and the feathers were the best part - as someone else said, people will totally want to keep touching it. Really comfortable, great quality and fit true to size. Definitely made the night, I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2013
I rented this with another, dress and ended up choosing the other dress.
This dress is slimming through the torso and pretty flattering, but once the feathers hit, it makes your hips look a bit wide. I recognize that is the style of the dress, but I didn't care for it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2013
Feathers for the win!
How I loved this dress! I rented it for my husband's work Christmas party and received so MANY compliments on it! The feathers are ridiculously fun and chic. The dress is extremely well made. A bow in the back just adds to it. I want this dress in my closet because it is just that fabulous! Keep in mind that I'm very petite and lack any sort of curves so I'm not sure someone with a larger bust would find this dress comfortable. Otherwise this is a must rent!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 16, 2013
Such an awesome fun dress for a holiday party!
This dress was SUPER cute! I'm on the small end of a 4 and this dress fit me perfectly. If you're a borderline 4/6, make sure you order the 6 as well. This could be dressed up with accessories and hair. I dressed it down a little bit with funky shoes and hair. The only downside to this dress is that I had people petting the feathers all night! Got SO many compliments and I would definitely order this dress again. Very flattering. Sexy and classy without being too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
December 17, 2013
Loved this dress and got so many compliments on it!
Fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2013
Loved it!!! Got a ton of compliments. This was my 1st RTR experience, very pleased!
I paired it with black velvet booties & the RJ Graziano Pirate Treasure Necklace. I got the 0 & 2, both fit, but the 2 felt better as I have a very long torso and the 0 felt a little snug under the arms. The feathers shed a little, but not terribly. I would highly recommend this for a cocktail party/NYE event (might be a bit much for a wedding or very formal event).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
December 23, 2013
Great, fun dress!
I wore this to a formal Christmas Party with a Great Gatsby theme... the dress was perfect! It's very modern, yet the feathers added that 20's touch. I added long gloves, pearls, and a set of vintage cameo earrings and broach (I pinned the broach to the waist. I ordered it in a 4 and a backup 6... didn't need the 6!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 24, 2013
Beautiful dress! Lots of compliments.
This dress is very fitted- even under the feathers. It was perfect for my husbands 20s themed holiday party. It's covered up but still has that wow factor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
January 2, 2014
Such a fun dress, but I left my mark-Literally
I absolutely loved this dress! However, I was shedding feathers all night. The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable, I was able to dance all night. Be careful of the shedding, the feathers stick to everything!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2014
Speechless xoxoxox
This dress was not in my original order. The dresses for my company's 20s themed party came the night before and none of them fit. With four hours before the beginning of the party I returned them to the RTR showroom on 5th ave. Saw this dress on the rack and knew it was the one. They didn't the 4 available so I tried on the 2. With a bra on the chest was too tight. When I got home I decided to wear it without a bra and it fit like a glove! I paired it the following items (See my review for the Lulu Frost Silver Drift Cuff and the Ben-Amun Deco Bridal Comb), and my own diamond & tanzanite stud earrings. I wouldn't wear a necklace as the dress speaks for itself. Received so many compliments and everyone wanted to touch it ;-). Saw that some people had issues with missing feathers. I had none. If you're careful when adjusting the dress after sitting down you will not loose any. Love this dress so much I didn't want to return it. I highly recommend this dress and would rent again. Also check out one of RTRs showrooms! It's the best way to know if something fits.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
January 24, 2014
This was by far my favorite dress that I have ever worn! SOOO much fun!
I normally wear a 0, but went for the 2 for a little more comfort. This dress is BEAUTIFUL and so much fun! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Want to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
February 2, 2014
Loved the dress!!! Maybe a bit "young" for me...
This was a beautiful, well made dress. I liked the style. I received many compliments. I have to admit I was a bit uncomfortable in this dress for three reasons, which is why I rated it 4 of 5 starts. Please note, these were all personal issues that had nothing to do with the dress itself. First, the length was a bit shorter than I typically like. Second, the hip area was a bit tight for me (I have a curvy figure, and my hips are the widest part of my body). Due to these two issues, it felt like the dress was riding up a bit, I had to constantly pull it down. Third, the feathers were delicate, and I felt like I was shedding the whole night (which others have mentioned). With all that said, I'm glad I rented the dress, and had a fabulous time. I've rented dresses from RTR several times, and the service is always unbeatable! Thank you RTR for making me feel like a star once again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 6, 2014
Stunning dress!
This dress is exceptional. It's feminine, fun and elegant and it was perfect for my event. I would recommend it to anyone. Wore minimal jewelry and black patent leather "pointy-toe" pumps. Was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 7, 2014
Beautiful Perfect for NYE!!
Such a beautiful dress but as many have said it sheds a lot! I got a ton of compliments on it and I was so sad to return it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2014
It was a work party-circus themed. This dress got SO many compliments, everyone loved it!
I couldn't be a bigger fan of this dress if I tried. In fact, I want to buy it. It fit so well from top to bottom :) The top is tight and super flattering (and you can wear a regular strapless bra with it!) The middle ribbon hits at the perfect spot and then the feathers fall until right above the knee. The only downfall was that the feathers shed a little bit, but definitely not enough to not worry order it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 20, 2014
Feathers!
This dress was so much fun to wear! I received compliments all night. It was stretchy in the top, so it fits to your form. The waist is very flattering and the length is perfect. Amazing dress that I definitely would recommend to others!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2014
Perfect party dress
This dress is so fun! It fits really well, besides be a little short it also sheds a fair amount, which got to be pretty annoying by the end of the day.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×