Flutter Away Dress

$47 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Strut your stuff in this Milly one shoulder ruffle dress at the cocktail party and have everyone in awe of your stylish looks! Go with gold accessories like the House of Harlow 1960's Gold Textured Cuff, Kate Spade's Flicker Gold Monette Clutch, and the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange jacquard silk(95% silk; 5% spandex). One shoulder neckline. Cascading ruffles down center front and at shoulder. Self tie belt at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(86)
Small
(12)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2014
So many compliments
It fits true to the size. I had so much fun eating and dancing in this dress all night long! I was a little disappointed when the sash arrived wrinkled but nothing a little steam didn't fix. Get this dress if you want a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2014
Beautiful dress for an outdoor summer wedding!
This fabric was flowy and kept me comfortable all night. The color is bright reddish-orange and looked great with gold accessories. I read some of the reviews that showed people trading out the tie for a belt so I had one ready to do that, but ended up liking the way the tie looked. I rented the 2 and 4 and wore the 4. The 2 was fine but was a little tight in the chest, so I went with the 4 when I knew I'd be moving a lot during the evening. Overall a great dress and I would recommend completely!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
June 9, 2014
Fit is nice, but fabric snags
I rented this for my own wedding rehearsal dinner but ended up not wearing it because there was a thread snag in the front of the dress. The fit is cute, although you have to like the half sleeve feel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2014
N/A
This was a replacement dress. Unfortunately RTR sent the wrong size initially so the correct size didn't arrive in time. I did try it on though and it fit quit snug in the hips. You may need to size up if you're curvy.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 6, 2014
Stunning orangish-red color
I loved this dress. The fabric was elegant. Slightly loose on top in the larger size so I wore the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2014
So many compliments on the dress. It was a big hit
Fit was true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2014
Compliments All Evening
I wore this to my college roomies wedding. I was told to wear a coral colored dress, it's definitely a more orange dress but still got the point across. I was a greeter and was told I looked great by several guest and friends it was very comfortable for outdoor sunset wedding on the lake!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2014
Very easy and comfortable to wear
Wore this to an Indian wedding since they typically wear lots of bright colors. The color is a little more neon orange/red than I was expecting, but the fabric had a little sheen to it which makes it feel more fancy/luxe. Very easy to dance in
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 13, 2011
Great Winter Party Dress
Wore this to my boyfriends office's holiday party and it was great--it is considerably longer than it appears in the photo and hit right at my knee so it was perfect for an office affair. Fit like a charm and I actually got the brand new dress w tags still on it! Highly recommended--color also looks outstanding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 15, 2011
A sure eye-catcher party dress
I really loved this dress. While everyone was wearing those little black dresses, I was wearing a dress that just stood out and someone even complimented me twice for such a beautiful dress. Simply elegant. Size fits well as I expected.
natsFebruary 20, 2012
I'm an inch taller than you, but concerned about the length---did it come above your knee?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Love this dress!
This dress is so pretty! I am actually renting it for the second time soon! so easy and comfortable to wear. wore black pumps and gold earrings! fits perfectly!
LolaFebruary 17, 2012
I am your height and size! I hope it fits well on me too! wish me luck
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2012
A compliment from a female bartender
I usually wear neutral blacks, greys and tans but wanted to celebrate New Year's in something totally different. Received a ton of compliments and was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect length and showed the right amount of skin for the party I attended. Highly Recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2012
Thighter/ shorter than expecte
I rented this for NYE in my size. Unfortunately there were no backup sizes available. I got a brand new dress with tags and everything, but unfortunately the fit was tighter and shorter than expected. From the waist up it fir perfectly, from the waist down it didn't. If you are pear-shaped, consider sizing up or renting another dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2012
Lots of compliments...
This was a great dress. It's a super bright, fun, attention-getter. I can't even remember how many compliments I received. It was easy to wear and comfortable...my boyfriend's mom told me I looked like a super model...so you know, that's a plus! This is a sure thing :)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 9, 2012
Loved it!
The dress fit perfect. I am 5'6'' and just over 100lbs and ordered the zero. I was nervous about it being too short but it hit 4inches or so above my knee for a classy look. I wore the dress to a friends wedding and I received tons of compliments on the dress. It did not however come with the belt shown but you really couldn't tell due to the side ruffles and a little bit of gathering in the front.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
March 6, 2012
Loved this dress!
I wore this for my bridal shower this weekend and got so many compliments! I have to say it is more red, than the color of the picture, but it is still such a pretty color!! Everyone was aking me where I got it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 180lbs
March 10, 2012
love!
I wore this for my sorority formal and when I showed it to everyone they wanted to wear my extra size! Perfectly eye catching. A little bit more red than in the photo though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2012
Someone told me I "look like an Egyptian goddess" :)
This dress is stunning. I wore it to a formal affair and received compliments all night! I got a 2 and a 4..both fit, but I went with the 2 because the 4 was a little loose around the waist (the 2 was a little tight around the bust/hips). Would definitely recommend this for a formal event because it's dressy and the color really pops!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
March 31, 2012
Great dress!
I ordered this dress for a sorority formal and had so many compliments! It appears orange in some of the other review pictures, but I think it's closer to a red or poppy color in person. Overall fit was true to size, though I would order a size up for your backup dress if you have bigger hips/butt. The pattern is hard to see on the model, but it is a small and shiny floral. In pictures the flash makes it look more busy than the print is person. All in all, great experience with RTR and will absolutely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2012
felt great in this dress all night!
I wore this dress to a spring wedding and received so many compliments. Funny enough - another girl had rented the same dress at the wedding and we just decided to laugh about it! We both looked fabulous! It was so comfortable I was able to dance, sit & eat, and not worry about what my dress was doing or it riding up. If you rent this you won't regret it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 12, 2012
great color
wore to a nye wedding. I reveived many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2012
My fiance told me I was gorgeous all night!
I switched my rental last minute and am so glad I did! Great dress and is definitely the color of the season! Comfortable and light-weight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
May 21, 2012
I loved the way the dress made me feel, and seeing the happy little smirk on my boyfriends face when he first saw me in it made it that much better!
This was my first time using RTRW and I will definitely use it again. I received the dress on time and it fit perfectly. I'm a size zero, and 5'5" so the length is a little longer on a shorter girl like me. It hit a few inches above my knee. The fabric is flowy and very light-weight, perfect for the 85 degree weather at the wedding we were at. The sash is also a great addition to the dress, since it's more of a loose-fitting style and you can add some definition to your waist line by tying it in a bow or knot.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2012
I'm in a sorority at school, so I have a million formal dresses and spring dresses, however I wanted to wear something new for graduation week. This was an awesome way to do that without having to fork out a few hundred dollars on new dresses. I found the reviews to be especially helpful, and it was nice that I could try on multiple sizes for the other dress I rented (I wish I could have done the same with a second dress, though). All in all, a wonderful experience.
I ordered this with another dress, so I only got one size, and I'm glad I went up a size. I usually wear a 4-6 (I have large shoulders from swimming, which is usually what decides my size), but I actually found it to be a little snug in the hip/thigh area. It still fit perfectly, but it's definitely a dress to consider renting 2 sizes if you're renting multiple dresses. All in all I loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 31, 2012
Wedding Fun
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding last minute, and it was great. I am pear shaped, so I had to wear a 6 instead of my normal 4 beause the bottom is fitted. I liked the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2012
perfect summer night in the perfect summer dress
This was a great dress for a summer wedding! The color was so bright and vibrant and definitely stands out in a wedding crowd. It fit well, no complaints!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2012
A knockout dress led to a fun-filled formal party!
I rented this dress for a sorority formal and it was the perfect choice. It showed off my shape while still being comfortable and easy to dance in. The color was eye-catching and earned me many compliments. You'll definitely have a great night in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 19, 2012
The food, the wine, the friends, and the red dress!
I wore this dress for a French Food & Wine event for a friend's bachelorette party at the Botanic Gardens. The dress was a hit! The color is beautiful and the ruffles really add a romantic flair to the dress. I got a million compliments and felt great in the dress. I accessorized with my own Kendra Scott turquoise earrings. The color contrast was really stunning. This dress would be perfect for a cocktail party, wedding, or even a more dressy bridal shower.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 29, 2012
Backup that I didn't wear
This was one of my backup dresses and I didn't wear it - it is much more red than in the picture. I'm probably a little picky, but it just wasnt quite casual enough for daytime, hanging out by the pool, but not sexy or flattering enough for evening. I would almost say that the fabric seemed a little filmy to me as well. Maybe a tad cheesey? But, again, I'm randomly picky about various things.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 9, 2012
Beautiful dress - LOVED it!
I rented this dress for an evening wedding reception and loved it! The dress came in on time and was carefully wrapped and packaged. I was worried that neither of the dresses (my selected size and the back-up size) would fit and I knew I wouldn't have time to go shopping for another dress. I was pleasantly surprised - the dress fit perfectly and the color, style and cut were gorgeous and flattering. There was only one thing that was disappointing to me and forces me to take one star away from a perfect rating. The dress had a funky smell of body odor in the underarms which I didn't notice until I got to the party. I kept thinking it was someone else that I was smelling and when I figured out that it was my dress, I was mortified and self-conscious. To top it off, the reception we attended was an indoor/outdoor event where temperatures were in the 90's with high humidity. Would I rent this dress again? For that reason, no. Will I try again with RTR? Of course.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Very Flattering
Wore it for a birthday brunch. Loved the dress and fit! Picture doesn't fully show the design on the material, but it was nice. Not the best material, but fine for my occasion. Color is amazing and I feel like would look great on most skin tones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2012
Great for a wedding
I was able to move and dance and stay cool in an outside Georgia wedding in May. It looked great on and was very flattering! Loved it!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 27, 2012
So many compliments!
I ordered a 10 and a 12. The 10 fit perfectly, but given that it was a wedding and there would be lots of good food and dancing, I went up a size to be extra comfortable. The dress was a major hit- I have received so many compliments both at the wedding and after (from pictures posted post wedding).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 29, 2012
Perfect summer dress
Got so many complements on this dress. It is really comfortable and lightweight. My husband liked it so much he said I should buy it! I might!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Pretty summer dress
When I called RTR panicking because nothing else fit, this was one that the stylist recommended. I have to say this was not my favorite. The hips are very fitted and the fabric flutters are not very flattering for curves. This is probably best for straight/narrow body types.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 7, 2012
Never even got to wear it.
The size itself fit, but the interior slip runs small so it was just overall very uncomfortable. Couldn't wear it for the event I rented it for and unfortunately only got one size, had to wear an old dress of mine. Too bad as it's a lovely colour.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 14, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress. It was the perfect early fall style!
I loved this dress. It is a rich color, and I got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
Perfect dress for a formal affair!
This was a very comfortable dress and the color is beautiful and bright. I had to go up a size because it was tighter in the chest, but it ended up fitting perfectly. The only issue is this dress wrinkles really, really easily. If you sit down, you'll get up and the whole front of the dress is pleated. I had no trouble dancing in it, so it was a great choice for this wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful party dress!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner, and received so many compliments on it. The color is a shade more red than orange. I normally wear a size 4, but wore the size 6 in this style. The neckline is a tad snug--perfect for a small bust!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Excellent dress, works well for any body shape
I wore this as a bridesmaid dress and received several compliments all evening. It's definitely a stunning color and beautiful print. I'm glad the stylist told me to order a back up size, as I preferred to wear that so I could dance more comfortably; my usual size was very form fitting.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×