Milly

Flutter Away Dress

$47 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Strut your stuff in this Milly one shoulder ruffle dress at the cocktail party and have everyone in awe of your stylish looks! Go with gold accessories like the House of Harlow 1960's Gold Textured Cuff, Kate Spade's Flicker Gold Monette Clutch, and the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Orange jacquard silk(95% silk; 5% spandex). One shoulder neckline. Cascading ruffles down center front and at shoulder. Self tie belt at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(12)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 9, 2012
Beautiful dress - LOVED it!
I rented this dress for an evening wedding reception and loved it! The dress came in on time and was carefully wrapped and packaged. I was worried that neither of the dresses (my selected size and the back-up size) would fit and I knew I wouldn't have time to go shopping for another dress. I was pleasantly surprised - the dress fit perfectly and the color, style and cut were gorgeous and flattering. There was only one thing that was disappointing to me and forces me to take one star away from a perfect rating. The dress had a funky smell of body odor in the underarms which I didn't notice until I got to the party. I kept thinking it was someone else that I was smelling and when I figured out that it was my dress, I was mortified and self-conscious. To top it off, the reception we attended was an indoor/outdoor event where temperatures were in the 90's with high humidity. Would I rent this dress again? For that reason, no. Will I try again with RTR? Of course.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Very Flattering
Wore it for a birthday brunch. Loved the dress and fit! Picture doesn't fully show the design on the material, but it was nice. Not the best material, but fine for my occasion. Color is amazing and I feel like would look great on most skin tones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2012
Great for a wedding
I was able to move and dance and stay cool in an outside Georgia wedding in May. It looked great on and was very flattering! Loved it!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 27, 2012
So many compliments!
I ordered a 10 and a 12. The 10 fit perfectly, but given that it was a wedding and there would be lots of good food and dancing, I went up a size to be extra comfortable. The dress was a major hit- I have received so many compliments both at the wedding and after (from pictures posted post wedding).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 29, 2012
Perfect summer dress
Got so many complements on this dress. It is really comfortable and lightweight. My husband liked it so much he said I should buy it! I might!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Pretty summer dress
When I called RTR panicking because nothing else fit, this was one that the stylist recommended. I have to say this was not my favorite. The hips are very fitted and the fabric flutters are not very flattering for curves. This is probably best for straight/narrow body types.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 14, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress. It was the perfect early fall style!
I loved this dress. It is a rich color, and I got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Bold and romantic
I wore this tangerine stunner to a friends wedding about 10 weeks post baby and it was the perfect dress! It highlighted my waist and was forgiving elsewhere. The color was bold and perfect for a spring wedding. I got tons of compliments - which is always nice to hear, especially when you are a new mom! You can't really go wrong with Milly in my eyes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Adorable dress and impeccable customer service!
This dress is so adorable that I wanted to rush out and buy it! It is more of a day dress than an evening dress - the fabric is light and flowy. The color is more orangy/coral than I think it looks in the picture. This was my backup dress and really wasn't formal enough for the event, but the the fit was great and so I went with it. I received tons of compliments anyway! The dresses that I rented came in a day late rather than the day I requested, and I wasn't able to wear the dress for one of the events I intended. But RTR made it up to me. Great customer service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Great post wedding fancy brunch dress
Very flattering and flirty. Could also easily be worn to more dressy events. Great color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
September 20, 2012
Tangerine Dream
I rented this dress in January for a June wedding so I was great to see the dress in person and not on my inspiration board. I popped on the 12 and it was lovely except for a rip at the ruffle side seam! I tried on the back up size and it wasn't as comfortable as the 12 so I called the RTR team for advisement. Those ladies worked super hard to complete my look and were willing to get me a whole different look if that's what I wanted. After a few hours of phone calls and sister/friend fashion shows, I decided to keep it for the event. RTR also made sure that the sash was overnighted to my house before i left for the church. I really appreciated all the effort they put into making sure I was happy and well dressed. The dress itself was amazing. Granted, I was self-conscious about the rip but my friends assured me that I was just being crazy. The dress was fun and safe for eating, drinking and dancing. The color was very attention grabbing and faked a summer glow that I definitely do not have. The bride even took the time to ask about my dress because we had spent time at the bachelorette party stalking the dress on RTR! I felt really special in the dress and will definitely rent again through RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was gorgeous. I felt like a million bucks and it was the perfect bright red color!
At the time (now preggo), I wore a size 4 (hourglass figure, 34D, 27 inch waist) and fit perfect. It was a tad snug in the hip/butt area, but not uncomfortable and I didn't have the wrinkling that some people were complaining about. If you have an hourglass figure and/or some hips/butt, you should probably order a backup size higher than you think you'll need. I find that wrinkling in the front lap area tends to happen when the dress is just a teeny bit too tight (you can stand, but when sitting the material gets real snug). I highly recommend this dress. Wore it with gold earrings, black wedges, and hair pulled back into a wavy ponytail - looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
My first RTR dress was a success! Rented for a family wedding and loved it!
This dress was precious. I received it Thursday before the wedding on Saturday. It fit perfectly and the color was great! I paired it with gold and diamond hoops and 'goldish' open toed heels. I received tons of compliments and it was perfect for hours of dancing. Can't wait for another event to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Beautiful dress for my engagement pictures in Cabo
It fit a little big in the bust, but overall true to size. The color was fantastic and showed up really nice in photographs (wish it didn't have the jacquard print on the fabric though). Very glad I rented!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 30, 2012
Very bright, fun color for a summer wedding.
This was a comfortable, fun dress and great for the occasion. The orange is VERY orange but overall I liked it. I only gave it 3 stars because I didn't think it was very flattering for my body type (large chest).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 27, 2012
Gorgeous color, perfect dress for a summertime rehearsal dinner!
Fit is true to size. Bright orange color looks great with a tan. The sheen of the material makes it more dressy/formal. Got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2012
Dress was damaged and looked different than online. Had a Salsa flair, wasn't me.
Rented this dress for a sorority cocktail/pre-formal. The pattern was much more distinct in person (looked like a bunch of lips, almost cheetah print of sorts). Didn't love the color as much as I thought (was more red than orange/poppy). The dress was stained and didn't have the belt included. Luckily, RTR's awesome customer service let me pick out a different dress and sent it overnight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
LOVED IT!
This dress was my fav. ever from RTR. The color was awesome and the fit was spot on ... best of all - it's COMFORTABLE. LOVED it and so did everyone at the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2013
The dress was beautiful!
The dress is actually has a bit of orange to it... a really lovely color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 16, 2013
A bright look for a cold winter night!
The fit is true to size and universally flattering, especially for women with a larger bust. The only con to this dress is that the fabric is fairly delicate so there were a few snags in the fabric. I would say the color was more orange than in the model picture, but still bright and pretty. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 20, 2013
One of my favorite dresses ever! It's the perfect shade of red and features a flattering cut.
Normally, I steer clear of the one-shouldered look, but the waist-tie detail and asymmetrical ruffle front provided enough intrigue away from the neckline that I was game to try it. And I'm glad I did. It's one of the most gorgeous party dresses I've ever worn, and with a coral-undertone shade of red, it's super flattering in the color department too. The only thing that annoyed me (and it didn't really annoy me all that much) was the sash, which I had to tighten ever so often throughout the night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
January 27, 2013
GORGEOUS color - loved the one shoulder, and very unique! Would definitely rent again!
I felt that this dress was a great fit for a variety of occasions. I ended up wearing it to a black-tie event, and it was perfect. I have larger hips compared to the rest of my body, so the tie at the waist accentuated my waist without making my hips look big. I also thought the one should was fun and made the attention be drawn to the top of the dress instead of the bottom. Highly recommend and love the subtle flower print throughout.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
February 4, 2013
Cute dress, fun color!
I rented this dress as a backup for a wedding but didn't end up wearing it because I loved the other RTR dress so much. However, it was very cute and seemed to run true to size. I wasn't a huge fan of the wrinkle-prone material but loved the color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 6, 2013
A little too much going on...
This dress has a great silhouette, but the combination of the one-shoulder silhouette, the ruffle down the side, and the print on the dress there was just a lot going on. I rented this for an engagement party and could have worn it there, but opted out due to the overall look of the dress. Additionally, I'm pretty tall with long legs and the belt didn't fall at my waistline properly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2013
I wore it to a formal affair for valentines day and it was so comfortable and a perfect color!
fit was fairly true to size. I am a little heavier in the toosh area and it was not too tight which was greatly appreciated. the accents are great and definitely add a little flair to it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 2, 2013
This dress makes you want to kick off your heels and dance!
I wore this dress to a very hot August wedding. I felt light and breezy and everyone loved the bright orange. I accessorized with gold.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2013
Great dress
Wore this dress at a date party for my sorority. Everyone loved it. The dress fit great and I got compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2013
stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!
I could wear this dress over and over!! the fit is great, comfortable and makes you look slimmer!!!!!! doesn't get any better does it???
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 6, 2013
Beautiful dress.
This dress was my back-up dress, so i didn't actually get to wear it to my event because I loved my first choice. However, i did love this dress and it did make the decision difficult. I would certainly rent this dress again and use it as a first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
May 6, 2013
A cute dress, but be aware of how short it really is!
I rented this dress for a bridal shower. It was comfortable, but I didn't like the belt at all. If I had thought ahead and packed a different belt I would have used that. This dress is short on anyone. I went up a size because I didn't want it to be tight (I have a booty) and I felt like it was just too short to be appropriate for a shower, which I didn't realize until I tried it on. If you rent the dress, make sure to steam it or let it hang while you are in the shower, or something because it was incredibly wrinkled.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2013
Loved this dress! Fun color, fit well, and got lots of compliments.
Dress fit really well - wasn't too loose on top, the belt helped cinch at the waist, and the length wasn't too short. Despite packing it in a suitcase, it also wasn't really wrinkled or static-y. Would definitely recommend it to others.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2013
Beautiful color and details!
I loved the color of the dress, it was very unique and made me stand out. Note that it is a bit different from the photo, it definitely is a little more red. I personally thought that the sizing was fine, but if you have a large bust or hip, you'll want to size up to see if a larger size fits better. Sometimes the covered shoulder looked a bit strange because the ruffle there opens right at the shoulder, so just be careful to adjust it before a photo. The sash added the perfect pretty touch to this dress! I received many compliments throughout the entire event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 188lbs
September 13, 2013
Got so many compliments on the color and design!
I thought this dress fit like a glove. I love the way it was designed, it has a very slimming effect. I was able to dance and move freely throughout the evening and never once felt like it was tight or anything. Definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 7, 2013
Received so many compliments!
The dress and material were beautiful, and I was receiving compliments all night! However, it gets a little wrinkly, and the belt was kind of flimsy, didn't stay in the right place. A little tighter on my butt then I would have liked, but I tend to have that problem sometimes with dresses! It was a perfect dress for an end of summer outdoor wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 15, 2014
Pretty color
I rented this dress to wear to a party but didn't end up wearing it because I couldn't get the ruffles to look as good as they look in the pictures and it made my shoulders look funny.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 28, 2014
Awesome color to brighten up the winter!
I wore this dress to a work holiday party. I received a lot of compliments and it fit the theme perfectly. It was also super comfortable to wear. I would recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2014
I wore this dress for a girls' night out (drinks, dinner, dancing). I got lots of attention!
Even though many reviewers said the dress runs small, I found it fit pretty true to size. I almost always wear a size 2, and the 2 fit perfectly. It wasn't too short on me (I'm 5'4") but wasn't awkwardly long, either. The only thing I wasn't a fan of was the belt, so I just didn't wear it. (That's the only reason I gave it 4/5 stars instead of 5/5.) The belt loops are just strings, so they weren't super noticeable. Overall, I had a great time wearing this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 2, 2014
Loved it! Fun and flattering
I rented this for a formal event in June. The dress was perfect. The fit was wonderful and flattering and the fabric has a nice detail to it. The color was great and perfect for a summer event. Loved it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
August 3, 2015
I couldn't wear the dress.
The dress fit fine everywhere except for the stomach. There was a bunch of extra fabric that gave me this unnecessary pouch of air that was really unflattering. I would have thought that with the big stomach area it would also be big around the hips but the hips were fitted. My hips aren't unusually large. Just not made well at all. Unfortunately I can't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
April 16, 2012
The dress!
I rented this dress to wear to a birthday party. We were in a limo traveling from one bar/club to another. The dress was very comfortable and a gorgeous color. The bottom of the dress was wrinkled when it arrived so I did a light steaming on it which got the wrinkles out However, as soon as you sit down in the dress the bottom will wrinkle again so make sure you get any full bod pics before you sit!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×