Rent the Runway

Milly

Emerald Valentin Dress

$85 rental
$355 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sassy Milly exclusive style to Rent the Runway for your cocktail party! To amp up your look go with the Dannijo's Bea Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with ruffle shoulder. Sash tie at waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

67 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 46
Large 4
Photos 19
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Nov 10, 2011

I adored my accessories- they totally made the outfit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I think this fit was pretty easy breezy. I also thought the color was beautiful. I would agree that it runs a bit narrow in the hip and a bit big in the bust- it's definitely well suited for a bigger bust. Being a 34B myself , I just wore a push up bra to help fill it out!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 20, 2011

-

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved the dress. agree with other reviewers though, the hips are a bit small!! I had some trouble sitting without the dress feeling like it might split in the sides. I'm a pretty standard size 6 though with a large bust, 5'1 about 140 lbs and although the hips were a tiny bit tight, it was still a great rental and as always great service. I rented a gorgeous pair or earrings too seen in the photo.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

First time to the midwest!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a November wedding in Cincinnati and I loved the dress. It was a teeny bit snug in the hips/ butt area, but the rest of the dress fit perfectly. I loved the detailing on the shoulder and it was the perfect length for me (I'm short).
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 2, 2011

All the compliments I got all night and feeling fabulous in a dress I didn't have to dry clean the next day or feel bad how much I spent on it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved it and would actually rent it again. There's two layers and neither bunched or were awkward. The fabric was very wrinkle resistant. Length was perfect. Definitely looked better with hair up to show off the dress. I'm curvy and it complimented my body type very nicely and I felt very confident. I got so many compliments from strangers and felt everyone's eyes on me all night- as if they were wondering who I was. Hehe, it felt really good.
Sara
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Feb 5, 2012

The color was perfect

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved the green color of this dress. I'm a natural redhead, and I got lots of compliments about how the color looked with my hair. I wore a size 0, and it fit, but I agree with the other reviewers that it is tighter in the butt area. I'd say it's better for people who don't have really great curves. Overall, I loved it and wish I could buy it.
csvendson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

fun dress with great color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress. I ordered the two and the four. I have worn 4s in the past but i wore the 2 this time and there wasn't much size difference. As other reviews say, it was a little snug about the hips which made it a little hard to sit and dance for a long time, but overall it was a fun dress and i got lots of complements on it. Wore it without stockings, a black peacoat and nude/gold shoes
Libby
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Mar 20, 2012

The shipping was so fast! I like how easy it was to mail the dress back.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my sorority's spring formal and it was perfect! It fit so well. I am smaller up top, with larger hips and it was a perfect fit. I was a little worried the bottom would be too tight but it was perfect. The color is absolutely beautiful and photographs really well. I got so many compliments on it all night! My only concern was that the belt loops for the sash were a tad high. I wish they were an inch or two lower so that they would fall right on my waist, but it didn't end up being a problem at all. Would DEFINITELY recommend this dress.
Thuy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154 lbs
Jun 12, 2012

It was fast and easy - they shipped it directly to my hotel out of town and I got it in perfect condition just in time for my event!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 6 and 10 as my backup size (I really needed the 8, but it was unavailable) for a wedding - the 6 fit, but was smaller in the booty/hip area, so I sized up to the 10 to hide my postpartum baby bump, which worked because I could cinch in the waist with the belt (was a little small on top, but it was ok). I loved the rich emerald color and the great fabric - got compliments all night. I loved the mystery bling kate spade bangle bracelet - it was beautiful and I wanted to keep it so badly!
Sas
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Body type: Petite
Jun 19, 2012

my boyfriend

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color they show for this dress is really drab... This actual dress is a very pretty green. It wrinkles very easy.. After sitting through a ceremony I had crease lines everywhere the dress folded, such as on my lap area. The wrinkles are very noticeable which bummed me out. There is NO stretch to this dress at all what so ever. I noticed that the seams from the dress were stretched from the previous rental. All in all beautiful dress...
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

emerald stunner

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for a rehearsal dinner - it was a hit! Very flattering, cute and comfortable. I have minimal hips but this was even slightly fitted on my hips which is rare so watch out for that if you're curvy!
Jude
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Great dress, absolutely loved the color. Easy to wear and very comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Good if you are busty, a little snug in the hips area.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 14, 2012

A beautiful dress. I ordered this as a back-up and did not wear it (but I loved it!).

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size, but the belt sat a little high on my torso. Also, the beautiful emerald green was too jewel-toned for an end of the summer wedding, I thought. Very pretty. I may order it again for another occasion!
darci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 17, 2012

not the best dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was pretty, but did not fit well. I ordered a 4 & a 6 and both were too small in the hips but to big in the bust. I am an average size; usually a size 6 in dresses, but this dress just did not fit well. Won't stop me from renting again though! The return was easy and I received my credit within the week!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

Received so many compliments on this dress! The color was amazing against my skin.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have a large bust, and the one shoulder actually fit really well. It was a little snug around my hips and bottom, but that was to be expected. Overall I really enjoyed this dress. I paired it with black and gold jewelry, as well as black and gold sandals to contrast the beautiful emerald green hue. I would definitely purchase this dress to wear again and again.
JANESSA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

it was a beautiful dress and i the size 8 was available i would have LOVED it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
fab dress but sadly they didnt have a size 8 for the dates i needed so I got a 6 and 10 (the six was a little tight on the bottom and i have small hips) and the ten was too big for me. i have a full bust (36D) and the 6 and 10 each fit it just fine. it is a gorgeous color and i have not doubt that if i had gotten it in an 8 i would have fallen in love with it!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

A little too short, a little too tight

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was obsessed with this dress when I saw it on RTR, and I planned all of my weekend looks around it. Unfortunately, the dress was a little too short on me (I'm 5'11"), so the sash was tied around my rib cage rather than around my natural waist. I wear a size 10 in almost everything, including other Milly dresses, but the dress was too tight across my hips to be appropriate for a wedding. Aside from the fit issues, the dress is absolutely gorgeous and would look wonderful on someone just a bit shorter (it probably would have been great for me in a size 12, but I didn't order a back-up size in this one).
V
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Sep 30, 2012

Great dress for a formal event. Beautiful color and design

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great. The only problem I had with it was that it fit a little snug at the hips and booty area.
Cary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Beautiful Color.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Runs a bit small in hips. Very beautiful emerald color and the belt really makes this dress fit perfectly.
Lacie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Great dres!! Wore it for my rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was such a great color. Wore it with nude heels and minimal jewelry. I wore the 0, and the armhole was a little low on me, but that could be because of my small chest size. Hips fit well, may be a bit tight, but overall I LOVED it!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Perfect for New Year's Eve!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the fit of this dress. It was comfy and pretty which is a rare combination. I rented the 4 and 6 and went with the 4. It hugged me a little better and stayed up on the strapless side of the dress. Only required a little fashion tape to keep it up. I'm rather chesty, so this was surprising. The 6 would've been a disaster. Paired it with gold accessories and emerald earrings which also worked out great. I wish it had pockets, but that's about it. I will use rent the runway again for sure!
Carolyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

Gorgeous color and COMFORTABLE!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was nervous as this was my first rental from RTR and I was arriving home from my honeymoon and heading immediately to another wedding. I wasn't sure what to expect but there wasn't much room for error! I am normally a 2, sometimes a 4 and the 2 fit me. It was a little tight in the hips but I am a little wider in the hips so that makes sense. The only downside was that there were little pulls all over the dress. I'm sure this particular style has been rented frequently since it is such a great dress, but it did take away from the experience a little. That is the only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars! I will be renting again!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 15, 2012

Great cocktail dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for the Bethenny Frankel cocktail event in NYC for the Food and Wine Festival. This dress is AMAZING! I loved this dress!!! Super sexy, super comfortable! Beautiful color! LOVE LOVE LOVE
jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 26, 2012

beautiful and elegant!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
wore this to a fraternity formal, and loved it. It was really simple could wear a nomral strapless bra, and didnt need spanx or anything. LOVED IT. comfortable and simple. looks just like it does in person as it photographs
alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

Pretty but not my favorite

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really was excited to wear this dress. When I put it on it was tight on my butt and very very baggy in the stomach area. I still wore it because the belt helped cut down on the extra fabric in the stomach area. I would not rent this dress again based on fit but it is still very beautiful.
Dee Dee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

The color of the dress is amazing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is a beautiful color, but both sizes arrived with out the sash pictured. Disappointed!
Ellie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

The dress was perfect for both me and the event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was sublime for my athletic and slightly curvy body! I had such a good time and never worried about my appearance because the dress was both comfortable and glamorous. I didn't do such a dress justice at all! The event was a semi-formal event with my cross country team and because of it the night went so smoothly.
Stacee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

RTR refunded the money. RTR is great to work with!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
very pretty dress, but i couldn't wear it to the banquet. i have a big butt and thighs so the dress was too tight for me. it was sad because the top fit perfectly, but i've been blessed (and cursed) with curvy bottom.
Anonymous
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Great dress but needs lots of accessorizing

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pro: Gorgeous color, very soft and great detailing with the ruffled shoulder. Con: The belt pictured with the dress did not come with the dress (either the size 2 or 4 which I ordered). Even if it did though, you would need to accessorize the dress well to make it really pop - I went with gold and white accessories (belt and jewelry).
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Loved it so much, I bought it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress but beware if you have a big bum (like me!) that it runs very tight in the bottom half. I was a firm size 2 at the time I wore it but the 4 was super snug. Now I wear a 4 and I purchased an 8 (it's the "biggest" dress in my closet, size wise) and it fits perfectly. Since it's belted, it doesn't matter if it's a little big on the bottom. So heed that warning, I was super uncomfortable in the 4 when I wore it!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Didn't wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs SO small. I am almost ALWAYS a 4 in dresses, no matter where they are from so I thought I'd be totally safe with a 4 and a 6. Neither of the size fit at all and the fabric has zero give to it. Really pretty dress, but what a disappointment!
Zoe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Perfect for St. Patrick's Day!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The belt on the dress makes it so much more flattering!
Kerri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 14, 2013

too short for tall girls!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this second style as a backup to my first choice, it ended up being fun, but a bit too much for girls with fuller chests as it makes you look even bigger on top! Also, it was just a little too short for me and i'm 5'10'' so tall girls be careful!
Christina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

The dress was absolutely gorgeous and fit perfectly. I got complements on it all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am pretty short so I normally have to hem things I buy bc they are too long on me. This dress hit me in the perfect spot! The color was beautiful too.
Christin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

The emerald color was great for the fall wedding that I wore it to.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was tight in the thighs and it actually ripped on the seam when I sat down in a car to go to the wedding. I think that is needs the statement necklace to finish the look. I wore a strand of pearls that was looped around my neck 5-6 times so that is was shorter and more chunky.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

Nice dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs a little big. It was a little baggy on me, but still looked nice. The color seemed a little darker than the picture, but it was still a nice color.
angelica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2013

Wore this for a dinner, looked very cute and nice !

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect, loved the bow on the stomach. Definitely very shiny and silky material.
Charlotte
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

This dress was fabulous and I had eyes on me all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the color of this dress to wear to a winter medical school formal. It was a great dress to dance in all night. The only problem I had was that the waist was large on but the neckline fit great. The belt helped with this but there was still excess material around the waist.
dcstyle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 18, 2013

Gorgeous green color. Felt that it may run a teeny bit small.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very light fabric. Pretty green, got lots of complements while wearing this dress since it set off my blue eyes.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

Fun dress, great quality

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little tight in the hips but otherwise very comfortable. I wore this a couple of years ago when I was a little bit heavier :) It was pretty flattering, but snug in the hips
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

loved the dress, very fun, and perfect for the green theme

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
tight through the hips, so I wore the bigger size. I did feel a bit self conscious as it felt shorter than it looked in the pic.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×