Milly

Edie Zag Sheath

$66 to buy
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ready to zig and zag your way through the party in this dress by Milly. The fun pattern will get you compliments all night long! Add equally fun accessories like Jules Smith’s Tribal Necklace for a standout pairing.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Zig zag printed cotton (97% cotton, 3% elastane). ¾ length sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
167 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(64)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
September 17, 2013
cute dress for dinner
cute dress, definitely is a little short, ordered a 2 and it fit, was a little tight in the arms, but probably could have been better in the 4!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2013
I felt great in this dress all night long
Wore to a wedding in New Orleans- I was three months pregnant, and needed room for my 32DDs so I went with the 4. Length was perfect and it was comfortable- no raising the roof, though, the elbow sleeves and stiffer material don't allow your arms to be over your head. Love the shifty, retro style:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2013
Unique dress, good fit, great to accessorize- perfect for a fall wedding!
I usually order a 4 and a 2 and have mostly gone with the 2, but I was remembering having tried on Milly before and it running small. And knowing it was a short dress, I didn't want to be uncomfortable dancing! I thought I'd go with the 4, but my game time decision was the 6. It was slightly longer maybe, and not as tights in the chest. I'm glad I did! This dress was comfy all night and I loved pairing it with the necklace. Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 27, 2013
gorgeous fabric, conservative but fitted
gorgeous fabric, I normally wear a 0 or XS and this was relatively short and tight but gorg! its conservative enough if you are petite, if you are tall I would be wary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 30, 2013
Runs very small and very short, but great print!
In theory, this dress was great! I love the print, and the colors are vibrant in person. I rented a size 8 and 10, as those have been what I normally get in other brands from RTR (although I recently rented an Anna Sui size 6 which fit perfectly); however, when I put on the size 10, it was so tight around the arms/shoulders that I couldn't even raise my arms! It technically fit everywhere else, but it was also very short--I'm only 5'2", and it came to mid-thigh. If you have chunky upper arms (like me), I would stay away from this dress. This dress is for people who love their legs and have slender arms. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2013
I wore this dress to an engagement party in which I am in the maid of honor for the wedding.
I loved it and I got so many compliments on it. It is a little short, and the sleeves are a bit tight but overall it as a hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2013
Beautiful print and great fit
Wore this for my friends wedding rehearsal dinner. I'm usually a size 10 but had also ordered the 12 as my free second size. It was a slimming and flattering fit, and I ended up wearing the 12 just for some extra room in the hips (where I am widest). It was slightly loose in the bust area but not noticeably so. I loved that it wasn't a typical black dress and it was so comfy and flattering. Will definitely rent this one again! My only drawback was that I reserved it for a Thursday (dinner was Friday night) and I ended up having to chase down the UPS guy on Friday afternoon at 5:30!!! It didn't arrive on Thursday as promised and it arrived so so late on the Friday that I almost thought I wasn't going to be able to wear it. I'll definitely try to rent two days prior from now on. Everything else was great though!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2013
Couldn't wear it :(
I am so bummed, I didn't try the dress on before the day of the event. I meticulously read every review before hand to ensure the perfect fit. Needless to say, I couldn't wear the dress and couldn't return it for credit back. (My fault-- I should have tried it on the second it arrived!) It was just wayyy too short. I knew that it was going to be on the shorter side going in, but women taller than me were saying it still worked for classy events like weddings. Not in my opinion-- at all. I normally wear a size 4 and the 6 fit better everywhere but in the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 23, 2013
Cute and Comfy
Fit was pretty accurate. I dont feel like I took an awesome pic in it but it was comfortable and did the job for a bridal shower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 7, 2013
NOT true to size. Runs SMALL!
I consistently wear a size 4 or 6. I ordered a size 6 in this dress to be safe and it was soooo small and short on me! I have a pretty straight up and down body and shift dresses usually work for me. RTR was able to overnight me an 8 and even that was questionable. I think I would have needed a 10 to feel comfortable and I have never worn larger than a size 6 in any other designer. I ended up wearing a Parker dress (size 4, thank you!) that I already owned. Anyway, loved the print of this dress but the sizing is way off. This dress runs about 2 sizes too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2013
Fun, sexy, beautiful
I have wider hips, and this fit very snug, but was still workable. The length is short, not raunchy. The sleeve and high neckline help balance out the sexiness. Very fun dress. Would rent this again to wear out for dinner with DH. The photo does not do justice to the gorgeous colors.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
November 13, 2013
Short
I loved the look of this, but if you have shoulders its not for you. Between how tight the shoulders were and how short the dress was, there is definitely no throwing your hands in the air in this dress! I wore my backup instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 10, 2013
Great dress, great wedding.
Dress was great. A little stretchy, comfy, and warm enough for a winter wedding but still good for dancing. Wore it with black tights to the church, and with stockings to the reception.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 24, 2013
Cute print- Sizing off
The print was cute, Just not the dress for me. It was REALLY short. I'm 5'2 and I thought the dress was really short. I typically wear a 2-4, but I read that the sizing was weird for this brand, so I ended up trying on the 6 which fit kind of off, but the 4 was just way too short. So I ended up not wearing it at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
June 28, 2015
Nice dress for summer event
Was too short for my liking but I tend toward the conservative side. Decided not to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 20, 2013
I wore this to a friend's book launch party in NYC! Definitely a head turner!!
I loved this dress by Milly! The colors were vibrant and beautiful! I received many compliments and felt great wearing it! I thought the dress fit pretty true to size. After reading many reviews I chose a size 6 for my back up dress. I wish I had gone with my gut and rented the 2 as a back up. I'm confident I would have ended up wearing the size 4 regardless, but it was not tight by any means.
ElaineJanuary 23, 2014
Is that the guy from magic mike? Haha that's awesome.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2013
Fantastic
Dress it up or dress it down - it was a great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2014
Fun Rental - Could be dressed up or down.
I rented this dress on sale for New Year's Eve. The dress runs fairly true to size but was slightly snug in the chest/arms. The dress was comfortable but pretty short. I wore it with thick tights and riding boots and it worked fine. The print is fun, and the diagonal panels on the sides were flattering. Only issue was that the print on the 8 looked slightly faded due to use. Not very noticable though when it wasn't next to my back up size. Overall, good rental. This is my second Milly rental, and I'd continue to rent this designer.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2014
Not for Tall Girls
I wore this dress to a dinner party on New Year's Eve, and I really liked it, but I am pretty short and It was very short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
January 12, 2014
CT Wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding where the bride requested bold pattern! Sophisticated and fun, the length was perfect on my 5' tall frame.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2014
Super cute dress! Great for summer. Wore this with a leather jacket and got tons of compliments!
Runs very big, should have sized how. It is a boxy cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 16, 2014
This fun dress was perfect for a night out with my bridesmaids!
Gorgeous pattern/colors on the dress. Ran a little bit small especially in the arms, very fitted, not loose like in the model picture. A comfortable dress that was perfect for a summer night out in Chicago. Loved the mod vibe but an exposed zipped in the back helps give it some edge.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 16, 2014
Winter winery birthday dress :)
I wore this for my birthday in December. The green and blue are perfect after Christmas colors and looked adorable with a pair of navy tights and cowboy boots. The weather was unseasonably warm so I was able to take my coat off for most of the day. This dress is incredibly cute and comfortable but runs small. I usually wear a 2 but the 4 fit me perfectly. I would recommend this dress for a daytime outing, you will definitely receive compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 19, 2014
Perfect for a dinner party!
This was my first Milly rental and I was quite happy with the dress! The fit was pretty easy going, but there's little stretch. The print is really bold and flattering. I'm constantly worried about looking too "boxy" in these kinds of dresses, since I have broad shoulders, no waist, and narrow hips. Fortunately this didn't happen with this dress. It pairs well with an assortment of accessories, including big, chunky necklaces. Fabric is a bit thin, so I'd recommend for either spring or fall. Not winter! brrr...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2014
Fun Party Dress
Really lovely dress. Wore it for dinner and drinks celebrating my birthday. It was the right mix of casual and fancy, and I feel like it can be dressed up and down. Ordered sizes up based on reviews and some leftover holiday weight. Went with the 4 in the end, so glad I did that. Only the sleeves run small in my option, I have athletic arms and zipping up was quite the adventure since the sleeves are tighter than they seem. Chest seems a bit fuller and the hips & waist fit normal. It is short, but I was going to wear tights anyways.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 27, 2014
Perfect party dress
I went to a slightly casual NYE party and still wanted to dress up.This was a great dress for that middle ground. It was a bit short, but when I paired it with dark tights it wasn't much of an issue. People loved the design. This dress was exactly what I was hoping for when I chose it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2014
Great dress - not for those with broad shoulders
I ordered this dress for a night out at a casino. I rented both the 4 and 6, and ended up going with the 6. Even still it was pretty tight on my shoulders (I should've listened to the other reviewer who mentioned it). But I was only going out for dinner & drink/gambling so it was fine - if I was dancing it wouldnt have been comfortable though. I'd rent it again, but definitely try to size up if you have even a little bit of broad shoulders
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
February 2, 2014
Runs small and short!
I rented this for a wedding and even after reading the reviews- was still surprised with how small and short it was. I ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2014
If you want to move your arms, look elsewhere.
I got this dress as an option to wear for engagement photos. I didn't end up wearing it because the sleeves on the dress are really tight. I'm no body builder, but I do have toned arms, and the sleeves on this dress were uncomfortably tight. I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone who wants to move their arms. I don't think sizing up would have made a difference because the body of the dress fit perfectly otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2014
Great Party Dress!
I loved this dress! The cut and fit were really flattering, and the size I ordered wasn't too tight but looked very slimming! Looked great with both tights and boots, and also nude pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2014
Short, stretchy dress - great for NYE!
The dress was perfect for NYE. Normally, I tend to shy away from dresses that might be too short due to being 5'8"/9", but it was appropriate for the occasion. The material is very comfortable and stretchy. I loved the pattern and colors in person. I would love to have this rental in my permanent wardrobe.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
March 3, 2014
Fun dress for a casual birthday dinner
The dress is cute, preppy and a little different. The only con is that if you lift your arms, the entire dress shifts up. It wasn't a big problem for me since I'm short to begin with and we were only going out to dinner, but I wouldn't recommend attempting to wear this dress out dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 3, 2014
Agree with everyone - cute, short and runs a little small
I am normally a 8 in box stores(JCrew, Ann Taylor, Banana Republic) and a 10 in designer. I rented the 10 and 12, but ended up wearing the 12 as it fit better in length and in the arms. Color was a little more blue than the picture - I ended up wearing a blue necklace that I had which matched perfectly. I did wear spanx stockings under just to keep everything in place (didn't need to, but needed to wear stockings anyway since it was only 20 out that day!), and the spanx came down mid thigh. Even though I pulled them up, they sometimes peaked out from the bottom of the dress. Perfect dress for a baby shower in late winter, spring, summer or even early fall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2014
Print was AMAZING!
Dress was perfect for NYE! A little on the short side for me, however it wasn't to short to get away with. Loved the dress and very happy with my rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 1, 2014
Not as I hoped
Not what I was expecting. Had to belt it to give it some shape, and even then it didn't look as great as the model. Still wore it out for a birthday party. Size up!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2014
perfect birthday dress!
I usually wear a 6/8 and the 8 was more form fitting than I thought by looking at the photos. I ended up getting a 10 overnighted to me and it was perfect!! Such a great dress for a birthday! :)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 18, 2014
I do crossfit and the arms and shoulders of this dress run tight.
The arms and shoulders are small on this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 28, 2014
I wore this to a formal work event and got tons of compliments!
Comfortable with the longer sleeve, fit longer on me because of my 5'2 frame but i was wearing it to a work event so that was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 5, 2014
Wish I Owned This Dress
Super cute. A bit on the short side, if that's not completely obvious from the pictures. But so incredibly cute. And because it's otherwise fairly "covered up" it works. I wore it out in New Orleans for a gals weekend, but this dress seems very versatile to me. I've actually considered buying it, I liked it that much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
May 12, 2014
Great print, but unforgiving style.
I was in love with this dress before it arrived, but as soon as I tried it on, I knew I couldn't wear it. The print is stunning and looks really fun and contemporary. The sleeves that look loose on the model are skin tight, and the whole dress fits narrow through the hips. I read that it ran small so I got a 10, and a 12 as backup. The 12 fit on the hips but was really loose through the midsection, so it looked like a sack. The 10 was close fitting all over, and when I put on shape wear beneath, you could see the lines where it ended. The lining hung down slightly below the hem, and when I raised my arms, I could feel air on my undies!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×