Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
360 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(223)
Small
(128)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Tons of compliments
It was a very cute dress. Got a lot of compliments on it and people asking me where I got it. I have a big butt, so the size 2 was way too small around that area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2013
Loved it, but wish I got a bigger size!
Super beautiful dress, was perfect to wear from a religious ceremony to the reception. Got a ton of compliments! Was a bit tight in the bottom half of the dress, so at times became a bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress was really comfortable
I loved the gold glitter underlay beneath the black lace. It was really elegant. The only negatives were that the dress ran small and made dancing a little difficult.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2013
Cute, but not if you have hips.
I was really excited to rent this dress and sort of knew that I would be wearing a 6 because of the other reviews I read. However, I didn't realize just how tight the dress would be around my hips and thighs. It was so tight that it was uncomfortable and every step I took, the dress hiked up more and more. I spent most of the night pulling my dress down instead of dancing and having fun. Not something I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
December 4, 2013
Did not wear it.
I, sadly, had to return the dress because it runs small and is really short. I'm a pretty tall lady and found the dress to be inappropriate for my work function. Would have been a nice date night item though and probably just fine for someone a little more petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a bit small
Beautiful dress but runs small! Side zipper which I always find fits tighter than a back zipper dress. Gorgeous colors and perfect for my husbands work party, however very short! Suggest wearing leggings if your tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2013
Perfect for a holiday party.
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's company holiday party. I ordered a Size 6 (my normal size), plus the Size 8 as a back up given review feedback. Unfortunately, I found out the day before the order was due to ship that the Size 8 was unavailable due to the prior renter damaging it. I received a different dress as my back up. I so wish that the prior renter hadn't ruined my chance to wear the Size 8! I was able to fit in the Size 6 pretty comfortably, but the arm holes were a tad tight, & the dress was definitely short even when paired with tights. I was pulling on it quite a bit because I was self conscious given the setting (corporate party). I loved the lace overlay & the fun gold sparkles. Hopefully I'll be able to get this dress in the right size next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2013
Great for any occasion!
I wore this to church and then to a bridal shower and I got so many compliments. I felt a little bad because more people complimented me than the soon-to-be bride! The fabric did not have any give to it, so it was a little difficult to sit down on the little stool I sat on for the shower, but I felt like a million bucks!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Even better in person
I loved wearing this dress - the picture really doesn't do it justice. I got a ton of compliments and really stood out from the crowd, in a good way. It definitely runs small and it is very short - I would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 12, 2014
Very flattering and comfortable
This dress was an emergency backup dress for NYE. I was so relieved when it came because it looked great on. I had read the other reviews and knew to order a size up and was glad that I did. I am tall and the length wasn't too much of an issue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 13, 2014
Really stands out!!!!
This dress is so different and so stunning that it's really hard not to stand out. I got more compliments than I have ever gotten in my life. I wore a 6, which is what I usually wear, but I said it runs small because I have NO hips at all and it fit me perfectly around the hips while dresses are usually big on me in that area. So, if you have hips, size up. i found the top to fit my bigger chest quite nicely. It was a little snug, but not a big deal at all, easy to zip. I am only 5'2'' so the dress was perfect length on me, but I can see it being short on taller people. Pictures really don't do the dress justice. It is really nice material and very thick. You can tell it's expensive. The ONLY reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is falling apart a little. I felt a little like a seamstress before wearing it. I had to trim the tweed on the top a lot because there were so many pulls and snags. Also, obviously the lining on my specific dress was torn and redone because it hangs about an inch lower than the dress so i had to pin it up. Also, when I got it, it reeked of perfume so I am questioning if it was actually dry cleaned. But really I love love love the dress...would buy it if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2014
Pretty dress but didn't work out for me
Loved the dress but it runs way too small, and I'm very true to my size. Too short and too tight. Bummer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 26, 2014
Great dress, but is a little short
This was a great dress for a wedding right before Christmas. The fit was great, except the dress was shorter than I anticipated. I wore black tights under because of the short length. Otherwise it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2014
Awesome, and so festive!
I really liked this dress! I wore it to my husband's work Christmas party in December. I ended up wearing the 12, which was the larger size because this dress runs short and also a little tight in the chest and arms. The 12 fit great, but the 10 was a little short and tight to really be cute and comfortable. Overall I thought that the dress was great, and I loved the black lace overlay to the gold material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2014
Great Dress, Too small
This dress is adorable. Even nicer than the pictures, but it was much smaller than I thought. I didn't wear it as it was too small (and then hem was out in the 6). Luckily, RTR is awesome and sent me two other dresses overnight for my event. I probably needed an 8 (or even a 10), but unfortunately it wasn't available. Might try this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 4, 2014
I LOVED this dress; perfect for a fancy birthday dinner with friends
This dress was great! The gold with the black overlay was perfect for a January birthday dinner with friends. I was able to wear it with tights and tall boots. I wore the size I normally wear, however, the only reason I say it runs small is that it was a bit fitted around the hips and slightly bigger on top. I tried the 10 too, but it was too boxy so I wore the 8. I'd say get your back up size a size up just in case. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was super comfortable. It is short, so beware. I'm 5'5" so if you're taller, keep this in mind. My only feedback is that the lining underneath did peak out a bit at the bottom, and along the neck, but it didn't ruin my night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2014
Runs small but looks cute!
Fit: Runs small Pros: The gold accent adds a classy twist on the classic LBD. Cute and stylish. Paired it with tights and a black cardigan and it looked good and was easy to wear on a winter date night! Cons: Runs a little small, and I had to wear with tights because it was too short.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 12, 2014
n/a
Very pretty details, love the shimmery tweed fabric, but this dress super short. I am 5'9" and even with tights this dress was way too short for me to wear. Definitely runs small (even smaller than typical Milly), so size up at least one size from your regular size.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2014
Dress not worn
The dress is beautiful in person, the picture of the model does not do it justice. But for my shape (hourglass) it was too snug in the hips and too loose in the waist to look quite right, but that is the dress style and my body type, not really anything wrong with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 23, 2014
Runs SUPER small!
I rented this in an 8 and 10 for a wedding. I'm almost always a size 8 or medium. NEITHER of the sizes fit... I couldn't even close to zip it through the back/chest. I am busty (a 36C or 34D) and there is absolutely NO give in this fabric, so I would avoid it if you have any bust at all. Was super bummed, because it is a really gorgeous dress.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
June 8, 2014
Great dress, but runs very small
You definitely want to size UP with this dress. I'm normally a 4 or 6, but both sizes were too small. The next size wasn't available when I called, so I had to pick a different dress. The dress was gorgeous, and I would love to rent it again in a bigger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 10, 2014
Too small!
I tried this on in the 12 and couldn't even get it on. I'm not exactly a slim 12 but I've never had that issue before (and, in fact, wore another Milly dress in a 12 instead). It's very small and VERY short. That said, the dress itself is beautiful so if you're lean and mean go for it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 5, 2014
Got comments all night about how gorgeous the dress was!
Beautiful dress! Fits tightly in the hips - I usually wear a 2 and the 4 was uncomfortably tight so make sure you order your second size up. Besides that it was the perfect dress for our event. It was a little short when I sat down but I think that is because it was a little small. Would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 7, 2014
Overall, I had a great time at the wedding, but the dress was somewhat of an unpleasant distraction.
Beautiful dress, but the fit wasn't good. The dress was very snug around the hips, and I had to hike it up a bit to sit down...which was a problem because it is already very short! The black slip was showing an inch at the bottom, which was a little annoying. It also kept riding up, which made it impossible to dance. I do have wide hips and a smaller bust which makes dress shopping difficult, but I typically wear a size 4 or 6, so it seems this dress runs a little small. Additionally, you could tell the dress had been worn a few times, since some of the gold threads were frayed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2014
actually didn't end up wearing
dress was a tad small in the 4 but did fit. it was pretty! irented it as a backup and actually went with the other dress i rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2014
Runs very small
i usually wear between a 10 and a 12. but i couldn't even get the 12 zippered on this dress. Much smaller than i expected unfortunately. It was beautiful, wish it fit!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 6, 2014
Great dress for Fall wedding
I ordered this dress for a friends Fall wedding. The material was thick which was good. I think this dress runs a little but small, the 4 was very short and too tight - the fabric has no stretch. The 6 was a little loose in the shoulders but tight over my butt/legs. Overall the 6 fit well. I love RTR and plan to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
October 25, 2014
Many compliments!
The fit definitely ran small and I had to be careful when sitting but still looked great on! I would definitely recommend ordering your next size up. I wore this to a fall wedding and it worked perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 5, 2014
Odd shape
I didn't end up wearing this because the arm holes were too small and uncomfortably scratchy next to that glitter; the hips were extremely tight but was baggy everywhere else, even in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 10, 2014
Loved the shimmer to this dress !
Dress was even more beautiful in person ! The cons... Iam usually in a size 8, this dress runs extremely Small in the lower half, especially if you are curvy . I had to wear the 12. It was a good fit on the bottom, but a little Lose on the top. Overall I did love the dress, just make sure you order sizes up (:
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2014
Sparkly and fun for a fall/winter wedding.
I usually wear a four, but the four was pretty short for a church wedding. The six fit well, but the lining was showing so I did have to use sewing tape to keep parts of it hidden.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2014
By far my favorite rental!!
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and got tons of compliments! Fit very snug in the waist and hips, even in a 2 (and I usually wear 0), so maybe size up as your backup. It was more sparkly than I was expecting from the pictures, but I still thought it was appropriate. I would most definitely rent this again!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2014
Unwearable
The dress was intended for an awards banquet, I was not able to wear it because of fit. There is no give in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 10, 2014
This dress is quite short and runs small.
I was not able to wear the dress. It was too small.
KathrynMarch 10, 2014
Agreed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
August 24, 2014
comfortable fit + work appropriate
Wore for a work event. Chic, comfortable for dancing, but also appropriate for work occasion! The fabric is beautiful but has no give/stretch in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Great Dress!!!
This dress is awesome! The fabric is of great quality and the fit is very flattering. I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses, but I had to go up to a 10 for this one as Milly usually runs pretty small. Overall though, I got so many compliments all night and people LOVED my dress.
brittanySeptember 19, 2012
gorgeous! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2013
This was my first time renting, but it won't be my last. The process went as smooth as ever!
The fit was a bit on the smaller side. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I fit into the 8, but it was tough to sit down comfortably since there really is no stretch in this dress. The 10 gave me the little extra room that I needed. I received so many compliments! It was so amazing to wear such a beautiful dress. I felt fabulous all night long. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
February 17, 2014
Lots of compliments
I went up a size, because the hip area was a little small, but then the bust area was too big. It still looked good (and I am small chested) so I still wore it, but if I had bought the dress I'd probably tailor the bust area. Very beautiful, slightly metallic without being obvious, gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 10, 2014
Wanted this dress to fit but it ran incredibly small so I didn't end up wearing it
Too small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2014
Too small
Tried to wear this for a evening cocktail wedding. However it was too small to even get on definitely go a size or two up
See more reviews:
3 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×