Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size222
Small128
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
December 4, 2013
Did not wear it.
I, sadly, had to return the dress because it runs small and is really short. I'm a pretty tall lady and found the dress to be inappropriate for my work function. Would have been a nice date night item though and probably just fine for someone a little more petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 27, 2013
Everyone loved it!
I wore this to a small family winter wedding for an older aunt. I received so many compliments. This was a great alternative to strapless for the occasion. The overall fit was a bit smaller, so I"d recommend renting up than down in terms of size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2013
Cute, but not if you have hips.
I was really excited to rent this dress and sort of knew that I would be wearing a 6 because of the other reviews I read. However, I didn't realize just how tight the dress would be around my hips and thighs. It was so tight that it was uncomfortable and every step I took, the dress hiked up more and more. I spent most of the night pulling my dress down instead of dancing and having fun. Not something I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2013
Perfect for a party!
Great fit, wore to a cocktail party and it was very appropriate- hit just above the knees on me, and I am 5'4". looks shorter on the model. Very figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress was really comfortable
I loved the gold glitter underlay beneath the black lace. It was really elegant. The only negatives were that the dress ran small and made dancing a little difficult.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2013
Love the gold and lace details
This dress is very pretty and I did get complimented on it. The black polka dots are lace and the gold underneath and on top really shines and is very pretty. However like other reviewers mentioned, it's very fitted through the hips and waist. I'm normally a size 4 and I needed the 6 in this dress. And since I have a smaller chest, I thought it was a little large and droopy on top. It still worked and was very pretty, but I definitely recommend sizing up for the back-up size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2013
Loved it, but wish I got a bigger size!
Super beautiful dress, was perfect to wear from a religious ceremony to the reception. Got a ton of compliments! Was a bit tight in the bottom half of the dress, so at times became a bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 104
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Tons of compliments
It was a very cute dress. Got a lot of compliments on it and people asking me where I got it. I have a big butt, so the size 2 was way too small around that area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 7, 2013
GORGEOUS in person! Pics don't do it justice.
I loved this dress so much. I rented it for a New York City wedding and it was perfection. I got compliments all night long. If I could buy it and wear it to every wedding, I would! So flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 7, 2013
Perfect for a night out to the theatre
I loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2013
Way, way, way too short to wear out of the house.
I'm 5'10" and have a fairly large bust. The skirt barely covered my bum. I could have worn it with leggings, but that wouldn't have really matched the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 6, 2013
LOVED it!
This dress is gorgeous! I want to rent it again! I got tons of compliments, it fit great, wish I owned it! :-)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2013
Beautiful dress, but fit not the greatest if you have curves
I wore this to a wedding and got tons of compliments. As others have said, the hips run a little small and the chest area is a little big so it wasn't the greatest fit ever, but it was pretty good. I got a 2 and 4, but I ended up wearing the 2 because it was a little more fitted, and spanx helped the bottoms fit better. The gold is even better in person and it stood out so much I didn't really need much jewelry. Overall a good experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 30, 2013
A bit tight for me
I have a somewhat rotund booty and some hips and this dress didn't really have much give to it. Not very flexible and a bit too short for a wedding.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
Beautiful, classy dress!
I really loved the look of this dress & was not disappointed when I received it. The 6 was a little baggy on the top & the 4 fit perfectly but the material was a little itchy & made my skin a bit red/blotchy near the arms where it rubbed the most. It was also a little short when sitting. Neither of these were too major though & for the most part I was very happy with my rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2013
I would love to own this dress
I received so may compliments on this dress! The top does run a bit small so if you have a large bust definitely size up. The length was perfect. The gold makes much more of a statement in person and in other renters pictures than on the model...beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
October 21, 2013
Gorgeous dress with classy pizazz
I wore the 10, although the 8 would have fit better. Unfortunately RTR called the day before and said the 8 was not available. They sent another style dress as a backup, but I ended up just wearing this one a little bit big. Lovely dress, lots of fun. I should mention that while it was a perfectly tasteful length when I was standing, it was super short when I sat down...so maybe the larger size is not such a bad idea. Got lots of compliments and it was comfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2013
<3!!
Aboslutely loved the fit, perfect, came in great condition!! A bit short, but I made it work and wore black hose with heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2013
Cute & Flattering
This dress is really cute in person and perfect for a wedding. I can normally wear a 2 or 4, but I am a little bigger on the bottom so I could not fit myself into the 2. I received a ton of compliments and would definitely rent this dress again! I accessorized with earrings, bracelet and black patent pumps. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 17, 2013
Pretty Dress but not the best fit.
The dress was really pretty but I had a little trouble with the fit. It was a little large in the shoulder area but pretty tight around my "curves" - sizing up just made it larger in the shoulder area. Probably not the best dress for my body (petite and curvy) but I did get a lot of compliments regardless :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2013
The dress didn't work for my body but Lauren, my stylist, made the return process very simple!
I rented the sizes 4 and 6. The 4 was very narrow and I couldn't get it over my hips. While the 6 fit my hips, the bust area was too big. The slip showed out of the bottom of the 6. I returned the dress and through the help of my stylist was able to quickly find a dress that would fit and be ready in time for my friend's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 9, 2013
Great dress!
This is the second time that I am renting from RTR and I loved this dress! I ordered a size 2 and 4 for a 5:00 wedding...both fit, but I ended up wearing the 2. It was comfortable and my husband liked it! The only thing that I didn't like about it was that it was a little loose in the neck area. I wore a regular bra, which was great. I can't wait for my next event to rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The dress was GORGEOUS! I loved it and got so many compliments, I did think it was a tad small around my waist but overall it was good. It was such a pretty dress and I had a great time in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 4, 2013
Adorable dress, lots of compliments!
I really liked this dress but the fit wasn't the best. The bottom ran a little small and the top ran a little big. It worked out just fine when I added a skinny belt. Note: dress does not come with belt even though it is shown in some of the pictures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2013
Not ideal if you have hips and a butt!
I ordered this dress against my better judgement. All of the reviews and stylist notes mentioned that it was not an ideal dress for pear shapes. It was made clear that the dress runs tight in the hip area but I figured I would give it a try anyway and just order a size up. It fit everywhere except around my hips and I could not zip it up. I typically wear a size 4 and neither the 4 nor the 6 fit. An 8 would've fit around my hips, but most likely would've been too loose in the chest and arms. It was a lovely dress and the material seemed high quality, it was just not meant for my body type. I liked the gold and the retro feel of the polka dots, but I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2013
Many compliments!
I think the fit was a little too small. I didn't think it was too short, however, I did get the size 4 and it wouldn't even go up over my hips (where normally I can do that with dresses!). The size 6 ended up fitting perfect. I really liked it and received many compliments throughout the night. I give it 5 stars because the size 6 was great!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
September 10, 2013
RTR makes everything incredibly easy. It was so much fun to be able to wear a designer dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was perfect. I have no hips or rear-end to speak of, but a full bust -- which makes it pretty hard to find a dress that fits well. This dress fit beautifully through the hip area and, although the bust area was a little snug, it didn't look like I had to "squish" to make it work. And it was wonderfully comfortable the whole night -- from the sit-down dinner to the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 9, 2013
Perfect for a friend's wedding in Colorado!
The fit was great. I am 5'10'' and it was a little short to go without tights. Otherwise, I highly recommend this style!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 9, 2013
The perfect shift dress!
Fit to a T!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
July 31, 2013
Cute and easy to dance around in
Loved everything about the dress. It was about 3 inches above my knee and was perfect attire for a semi formal wedding in front of family.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
July 29, 2013
Love the dress- sparkles & very flattering! I got so many compliments! Top was loose, bottom tight.
This was my first time doing Rent the Runway and I LOVED IT! I am usually a 6 so I rented the 6 and 8. I wore the 6 because the top was loose and I didn't want it to be any looser. The bottom was tight, but everyone I was with said it looked perfect, so I guess it was fine! I felt wonderful in it and I love how it looks with the Dramatic Drop Earrings from Badgley Mischka Jewelry. The dress is classy yet has great personality! Definitely recommend it for a wedding.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 28, 2013
FAVORITE RTR DRESS SO FAR!
This dress was amazing. I needed something for a rehearsal dinner and couldn't be more happy. The gold in the dress doesn't get justice with the uploaded pictures - its absolutely gorgeous. The dress was a perfect true to size fit and extremely comfortable. Seriously considering buying this dress because i loved it so much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 159lbs
July 26, 2013
Pretty dress, if only the liner wasn't so much smaller than the dress!
I'm usually a 6 but rented the 8 since the recommendation was to order a size up....well, they weren't kidding! The liner was so tight around my hips!! I guess I should have ordered a 10...I ended up not wearing the dress....if the liner wasn't so snug, it would have been a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2013
Fabulous party dress!
True to size. It was a great length for me...hitting about mid thigh. The shorter hem perfectly contrasted the conservative boatneck style neckline. This dress may start to get a little too short for taller girls. This dress has just the right amount of shine and interesting detail. It's cute but also classy! This is probably one of my favorite dresses! Love and would highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
July 21, 2013
Another great experience from RTR!
I wore this dress to a wedding, and felt amazing. Received so many compliments too! I usually wear a 2, but this dress seems to run small. So I ended up wearing the size 4. It fit perfectly! Looking forward to my next RTR dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
So fun & girly!
Very fitted, runs a tad bit small. So cute with the dots! Black and gold was great for a holiday party! http://bowsandsequins.com/2011/12/19/dots-bows/
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 30, 2013
Perfect for my 10 year HS reunion...classy, yet fun!
I usually wear a size 2, but because this was a shift dress fit, I went with the zero to keep it more fitting. It was fun and low maintenance. I definitely recommend for a holiday party or winter wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
June 20, 2013
Very pretty!
Such a pretty dress! I usually wear a size zero, but the zero was a tad snug, so I wore size 2. The dress was a little short. I received compliments all night. Thank you again RTR for another opportunity to wear a fabulous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
A "wow" dress
Good fit and I received several compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
Simple and glamorous
This dress was the perfect formal short dress. The gold and black for perfect for a saturday night affair. I order a 2 and a 4. The 2 fit very well. I would say maybe just a tad short but it was the perfect fit without being uncomfortable but still giving my body a great shape!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×