Tie-Back Rose Garden Shift

$42 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look flirty and feminine in this gorgeous Mark & James by Badgley Mischka floral dress. Great for any bride to be or romantic date night out. Go with eye catching accessories like the Dannijo's Vala Necklace and kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White crepe with floral applique. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. Open back with navy grosgrain ribbon tie. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(10)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2013
Beautiful dress, poor fit

The fabric is absolutely beautiful. . .but unfortunately the fit was way off. The medium was too big and the small hung loosely in the shoulders/bust/midsection but was tight around my thighs. It definitely didn't contour my body the way it does on the model. Unfortunately I had to send it back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
June 26, 2014
After wedding dress!

I wore this for my getaway dress!! It was so comfortable and girly! I got tons of compliments! Love this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Odd lining in dress

I did not end up wearing this dress. I rented it for my bridal shower and it's a beautiful dress, but has a very tight lining in it. I could have easily fit into the 6 or 8, but the lining was squeezing my thighs and hips. Since the dress is very billowy, not form-fitting, I'm not sure why the inner lining is so much tighter. Something to consider when choosing a size!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Although everybody adored my dress and thought I looked great in it, I wasn't very comfortable in it

I am a size 4-6, and the small was pretty tight in the hips, but big on top (even though I'm busty). I know that is the nature of a shift style dress, but I need more of a shape to my dress. I thought I could just belt this dress, but even that did not fix all issues. If you like definition in your dress, do not rent. It's interesting because in the photo of the model, the waist looks nipped-in, but on me seemed straight up and down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
November 28, 2012
Wedding rehearsal dinner

I did not wear this dress because it ended up fitting very odd. The dress is very fitted underneath but the rosettes billow out and are not attached to the body of the dress. It was also very short (however, I am 6'0 tall!)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
January 9, 2013
Loved the texture of the roses and bow back!

IT does run small, and needs something to define the waist. I wore it with a big black satin ribbon belt and it looked very cute!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2013
Not quite right

I fell in love with this dress when looking for something to wear to my bridal shower, but I was very disappointed when I received the dress. It looked beautiful in the dress bag - all of the flowers looked great and it has been well taken care of. Unfortunately the fit just did not work for me. The size small was quite tight around my hips - there seemed to be NO stretch to the fabric at all. And the top gaped a lot at the back because I couldn't pull the dress down any further. It seems to be made for someone who is quite a bit taller than my 5'3 build and for someone who does not have hips. Needless the say the backup size (XS) was impossible to even put on. I would not recommend this dress for a pear shape gal. The one plus side was that the return process was VERY easy and I was able to get merchandise credit to use towards my next rental!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Beautiful dress but not meant for curves!

This dress was stunning and no one noticed I was constantly pulling it down. I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. The material inside is a silky lining and was hugging very tight to my hips and thighs. I tried the small on and it looked like I was wearing a sleeping bag. It was huge. The dress is gorgeous and I was complimented on it all night. No one could tell that it was tight on my hips or legs because the material on the outside was loose. I would only recommend this dress to a girl that doesn't have curves or doesn't mind being uncomfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2013
Beautiful dress that is meant for women with no curves

I really wanted this dress to work. I read all the reviews about the fit and decided that I wanted it anyway, and ordered an XS and a S. The top of the XS looked fine on me, but I guess I have a bigger booty than I thought because it was so tight around the hips. The S fit around my hips, but the top was so loose, even after tying the bow in the back. It is a well made, beautiful dress that would be perfect for women with no curves (it does not taper around the waist at all), or booty.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 21, 2013
Pretty but not exactly it

I rented this dress for my wedding at town hall. It wasn't a flattering fit for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 25, 2013
As beautiful as this dress is, I would not recommend it if you are pear shaped.

I was so excited for this dress but my excitement immediately turned to disappointment once I tried it on. I should have listened to my fellow RTRers when they said this dress is NOT meant for a pear shape! The dress is SUPER fitted through the hips but fortunately, it is not too noticeable because the dress is lined and also the outside material is very thick and structured. It was, however, kind of difficult for me to actively move around in. The dress is not at all fitted in the waist or bust area, which gave the appearance that I was wearing a white rosette sack! If you are looking for a form fitting dress, this is not it. I really wouldn't recommend this dress if you are short or have short legs. The material is gorgeous but it consumes you! You want to wear the dress, but this dress definitely has the ability to wear you- not a positive thing! Between the tight fit through the hips, no fit through the waist and the rosette detailing making me look larger than I am, I just couldn't take myself seriously in this dress. It was not for me. I would definitely recommend this dress if you are: tall, athletic, thin, busty, hourglass.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 23, 2014
Cute but a weird fit!

I really loved the way this dress looked, but I didn't love the way it fit. I tried it on the night before my wedding rehearsal and it was too tight in the hips and really huge everywhere else. It made me look SO big. I ended up not wearing it. This dress is really great if you have no hips at all :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 2, 2012
Flowery fun

I rented this for a party to raise money for the Enoch Pratt Public Librar, called the black and white party. I loved the flowers and received lots of compliments on the dress. It was a great dress for a great party to raise awareness of childhood literacy in Baltimore. I am short and carry some extra weight - especially up top. But this dress fit well and I loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2012
Date night in NYC

To the white roses and the navy blue ribbon in the back this dress had great detail. I wore an XS and usually wear a 2-4 in dresses. The only thing I would change is I wish it was a little tighter in the stomach area!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
March 20, 2012
Very frenchie

I rented this dress for a French theme party and it was perfect! The dress is very striking. I would not rent this dress again because of the little threads on the dress that could get caught in the zipper. I unzipped it one time for the initial fitting - too scared to zip it again until the party day. Also a little afraid that the zipper would catch and I couldn't get it off.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 12, 2012
The ruffles are huge but fun

The ruffles are big, it's very loose at the top because of the open back and a bit fitted through the hips. It was a fun dress but maybe slightly bridal (great for a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner). I wore it to a Friday evening cocktail event during the summer. I liked the dress but didn't love it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 16, 2012
Looked like a ruffled hospital gown

This was an 'emergency' rental for my bridal shower after various options didn't pan out. I'm barely 5'4" and this was so short I could not have sat or bent over. The idea of this is great, and the ruffles are beautiful, but the cut is absolutely terrible. It looked like a hospital gown with no shape definition at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2012
Customer service was absolutely fabulous when this didn't fit!

My own fault for ordering only an XS and no backup size- it didn't fit! but a beautiful dress nonetheless.. even prettier than in pictures, if possible. I will be renting it again as soon as I have an event to wear it to!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2012
Great dress for my Bridal Shower!

I loved this dress. The texture of it is really beautiful, and the navy ribbon in the back was great. I would say that this dress is very short. I am not tall and I felt that when I sat down the dress came way up!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Pre-Wedding, Wedding Dress

We are getting married in Mexico, so elected to do a city hall wedding here in Chicago beforehand. We weren't going to tell anyone about it, but I loved the dress so much that we posted a picture on Instagram and now everyone knows! haha It was comfy and "bridal" without looking ridiculous for a city hall "ceremony." I would not recommend it for other pear shapes, but I couldn't resist the blue ribbon and open back!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2013
A beautiful, original and intricate dress!

I rented this dress for one of my bridal showers and absolutely loved it. I rented a S and an XS after reading the reviews, and ended up wearing the S because the XS was way too short for me. The S was still a little on the short side (I'm 5'7") but because it's not a skin-tight fit, I felt like it was still very appropriate. It does have a lose fit around the middle, but in no way comes off as looking baggy or strange. It's just such a unique and delicate fabric, people literally stopped me on the street to compliment me on it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 22, 2013
Beautiful dress, but for very specific body type

I was so excited to try this dress, but it didn't work for me. Some reviewers said that it was too big, so I got a small and a medium as a back-up. I felt that the small was pretty true to size, but because of the shape, I could see where maybe people felt it was too big. The picture on the model makes it look like there's a little shape to it, but in reality, the dress is a straight up & down shift, and the rosettes makes it look bulkier. Additionally, the color is really more of a darker ivory, which blended into my skin tone exactly. And not in a good way. Beautiful dress, but I should have listened to reviewers that warned girls with hips and boobs to stay away. This would be adorable on girls with a more boyish figure or are petite.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 24, 2013
Je T'aime!

I lololoooved this dress! Wore it for prom and it totally went with our rendezvous/Parisian theme got a lot of compliments too!:)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2013
The navy blue ribbon made the dress!

I loved the idea of this dress. The open back with navy blue ribbon was beautiful. I felt like the front was not as flattering for my body type. It was like I was wearing an oversized Tshirt. The roses were pretty but a little worn. definitly need high heels to make this dress look right,

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
August 20, 2012
Too hot for summer...

I rented this as a possible rehearsal dinner dress. It is cute on the model, but wasn't quite as cute in person. The material is REALLY heavy - heavier than I was hoping for on a July evening. It's a cute dress, but I don't think it's particularly flattering to a wide range of people.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2012
Great dress but not for me

I thought the dress was great but just not on me. I am 3 months pregnant and barely have a belly but this dress was tight around my stomach/ bottom area. Also it looked like a pillow case on a curvy girl. If you're over a size 4, I wouldn't recommend this dress. It'll do nothing for you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 19, 2012
WOW SHORT!

I'm 5'9" and this dress was way to short!! I ordered an xs and it was WAY to short! I didn't end up wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2013
The dress was beautiful and soft.

It is very square shaped, and it challenging to wear if you have bigger hips than your waist.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
October 15, 2013
i would recommend it. very different dress no one else will be wearing anything like it

I wore this for my rehearsal dinner. I loved it but the material is puffy it made me look a little heavy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 19, 2014
Made me feel so beautiful.

I loved the dress!! it was a great beautiful, luxurious dress!

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×