Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Tie-Back Rose Garden Shift

$42 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look flirty and feminine in this gorgeous Mark & James by Badgley Mischka floral dress. Great for any bride to be or romantic date night out. Go with eye catching accessories like the Dannijo's Vala Necklace and kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

White crepe with floral applique. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. Open back with navy grosgrain ribbon tie. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

70 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 18
Large 42
Photos 18
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 2, 2012

Flowery fun

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a party to raise money for the Enoch Pratt Public Librar, called the black and white party. I loved the flowers and received lots of compliments on the dress. It was a great dress for a great party to raise awareness of childhood literacy in Baltimore. I am short and carry some extra weight - especially up top. But this dress fit well and I loved it.
Madeline
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

Runs Large!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I usually wear a 0 or 2 and I ordered this dress in an XS. The dress was way too big, looked more like a size 4 or 6. The dress was very straight with very little shape and fell off my shoulders. I'd suggest ordering an XS for someone who usually wears a 4, 6 or even small 8. Beautiful dress, just didn't fit :(
Ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

Better on the model

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was an okay dress. I rented a XS, and it seemed a bit too large. I have a smaller bust, and you definitely need a larger one to fill this out. Also, it was super hard to walk in and hiked up a lot when I sat down. Overall, this dress simply didn't look as good as I had wanted it too. This is my first time ordering from Rent the Runway, so maybe this is common, but it felt a little like a sack and didn't hug my body as well as it looked to. The bow in the back was beautiful, though.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2012

beautiful dress but runs big

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was really excited to get this dress. I talked with a fit specialist who was very helpful. I told her i Usually wear a 4 and she suggested the small and backup medium. When i got the small it looked huge on. It was also a lot longer than I expected. I would definitely recommend sizing down. I was bummed because it is so cute but my backup dress worked perfectly. Would be great for a spring event.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

Roses are pretty but add bulk

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
First of all, I ordered both the M and the L because I wanted to be sure to have a nice fit. I tried on the L first, and found it to be too big and shapeless. Then I tried on the M which fit well but felt there was too much material in the stomach area. I was surprised that the M fit, as I recently had a baby and wear a size 12. The dress is gorgeous, but I think it would have looked better on someone thinner than I. The roses made me look and feel a bit larger than I am. I had to have a white dress for this event, and this dress did the trick, but next time I will stick with a more streamlined silhouette.
C Me
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 5, 2012

Great dress but runs large

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I would go a size smaller. If I would have known, I would have rented a small.
Beach girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Mar 20, 2012

Very frenchie

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a French theme party and it was perfect! The dress is very striking. I would not rent this dress again because of the little threads on the dress that could get caught in the zipper. I unzipped it one time for the initial fitting - too scared to zip it again until the party day. Also a little afraid that the zipper would catch and I couldn't get it off.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 17, 2012

Gorgeous! But runs large...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in an XS for my engagement party and it was too big. The dress itself is beautiful and would look great on someone taller. The detail and bow on the back are so cute! I would say the XS was more like a Medium. I wish I could have worn it!
Logan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 30, 2012

Huge dress!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my sister to wear to her rehearsal dinner. Be advised, this dress runs huge!!! She actually couldn't wear either the XS or S and I ended up having to let her wear the dress I had rented. Make sure you try it on ASAP and if you are anywhere near 5'3" or smaller and weigh less than 120, this dress will probably not come close to fitting. It is a beautiful dress though.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

runs large

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Dress was very large. Order one size down.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

cute style, a little boxy

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a cocktail party. I loved the ivory rosettes and the navy ribbon in the back was especially fun. However, the style was a bit to boxy and not particularly flattering from the front on my straight and narrow body type. I wouldn't order it again, but it might work for a different body typel
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Too hot for summer...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a possible rehearsal dinner dress. It is cute on the model, but wasn't quite as cute in person. The material is REALLY heavy - heavier than I was hoping for on a July evening. It's a cute dress, but I don't think it's particularly flattering to a wide range of people.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Odd lining in dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I did not end up wearing this dress. I rented it for my bridal shower and it's a beautiful dress, but has a very tight lining in it. I could have easily fit into the 6 or 8, but the lining was squeezing my thighs and hips. Since the dress is very billowy, not form-fitting, I'm not sure why the inner lining is so much tighter. Something to consider when choosing a size!
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Very cute

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Adorable dress but didn't end up wearing because it was big. I'm normally a size 6/8 and wear a medium but it seemed to be big everywhere.
Monisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

The ruffles are huge but fun

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The ruffles are big, it's very loose at the top because of the open back and a bit fitted through the hips. It was a fun dress but maybe slightly bridal (great for a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner). I wore it to a Friday evening cocktail event during the summer. I liked the dress but didn't love it.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 16, 2012

Looked like a ruffled hospital gown

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was an 'emergency' rental for my bridal shower after various options didn't pan out. I'm barely 5'4" and this was so short I could not have sat or bent over. The idea of this is great, and the ruffles are beautiful, but the cut is absolutely terrible. It looked like a hospital gown with no shape definition at all.
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 149 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

I rented this for a date night with my fiance. It was a little big on me.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This was rented for a date night with my fiance. I rented it in a size large only because the md was out of stock. The dress was loose and baggy on me and didn't fit quit right. It looked very pretty and I'm sure if it were a bit tighter it would have been amazing on. It seems to run a bit big to size.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

Customer service was absolutely fabulous when this didn't fit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My own fault for ordering only an XS and no backup size- it didn't fit! but a beautiful dress nonetheless.. even prettier than in pictures, if possible. I will be renting it again as soon as I have an event to wear it to!
Elsie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 3, 2012

Great dress for my Bridal Shower!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. The texture of it is really beautiful, and the navy ribbon in the back was great. I would say that this dress is very short. I am not tall and I felt that when I sat down the dress came way up!
Kyndra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

It runs too big :(

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It is super cute on the rack, but on the body, it is not so great. I really wanted this dress to look good, but it was horrible. Maybe it would look good, it your body type is tall and curve?
francesca
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

I received two dresses, in two different sizes, and they came so quickly!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am not usually an extra small, but the even the extra small was really big on me. But, I loved the dress! Everyone at my rehearsal dinner loved the dress and I received so many compliments on the dress! LOVED IT!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Felt beautiful!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED! The texture of the flowers were so fun, and the navy blue ribbon on the back is fun. It was a little loose around the stomach and a little tight around the hips (I'm pear shaped) but it the patterns of the flowers were thick enough that it was forgiving. A LOT OF COMPLIMENTS!
Shanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Gorgeous dress. The bow in the back is such a wonderful detail.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this as a back up and didn't actually wear this dress. I am a 6-8 and the Medium was definitely too big. I will likely rent this one again but in a smaller size.
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 1, 2012

Great dress but not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought the dress was great but just not on me. I am 3 months pregnant and barely have a belly but this dress was tight around my stomach/ bottom area. Also it looked like a pillow case on a curvy girl. If you're over a size 4, I wouldn't recommend this dress. It'll do nothing for you.
Spenser
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Awful dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Do not rent!!! It ran incredibly large up top and extremely small on bottom. I was very disappointed!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 19, 2012

WOW SHORT!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'9" and this dress was way to short!! I ordered an xs and it was WAY to short! I didn't end up wearing it.
Beth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Didn't like it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress because I thought it would be perfect for my rehersal dinner. I didn't end up wearing it because it was large fitting up top and then tight around the hips. It was not as flattering on me as it looked on the model.
Gabrielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Although everybody adored my dress and thought I looked great in it, I wasn't very comfortable in it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a size 4-6, and the small was pretty tight in the hips, but big on top (even though I'm busty). I know that is the nature of a shift style dress, but I need more of a shape to my dress. I thought I could just belt this dress, but even that did not fix all issues. If you like definition in your dress, do not rent. It's interesting because in the photo of the model, the waist looks nipped-in, but on me seemed straight up and down.
Mallory
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Didn't even up wearing it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a small and a medium for back up. I was swimming in both. I think the XS would have fit, but it still would have been more of a boxy fit than I anticipated. I usually wear a 2-4 depending on the brand or designer.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Wedding rehearsal dinner

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I did not wear this dress because it ended up fitting very odd. The dress is very fitted underneath but the rosettes billow out and are not attached to the body of the dress. It was also very short (however, I am 6'0 tall!)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×