Tie-Back Rose Garden Shift

$42 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look flirty and feminine in this gorgeous Mark & James by Badgley Mischka floral dress. Great for any bride to be or romantic date night out. Go with eye catching accessories like the Dannijo's Vala Necklace and kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

White crepe with floral applique. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. Open back with navy grosgrain ribbon tie. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large42
True to Size18
Small10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Gorgeous dress. The bow in the back is such a wonderful detail.
I ordered this as a back up and didn't actually wear this dress. I am a 6-8 and the Medium was definitely too big. I will likely rent this one again but in a smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2012
Felt beautiful!
LOVED! The texture of the flowers were so fun, and the navy blue ribbon on the back is fun. It was a little loose around the stomach and a little tight around the hips (I'm pear shaped) but it the patterns of the flowers were thick enough that it was forgiving. A LOT OF COMPLIMENTS!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 12, 2012
I received two dresses, in two different sizes, and they came so quickly!
I am not usually an extra small, but the even the extra small was really big on me. But, I loved the dress! Everyone at my rehearsal dinner loved the dress and I received so many compliments on the dress! LOVED IT!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
It runs too big :(
It is super cute on the rack, but on the body, it is not so great. I really wanted this dress to look good, but it was horrible. Maybe it would look good, it your body type is tall and curve?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2012
Great dress for my Bridal Shower!
I loved this dress. The texture of it is really beautiful, and the navy ribbon in the back was great. I would say that this dress is very short. I am not tall and I felt that when I sat down the dress came way up!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2012
Perfect dress for a bridal shower!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower this past weekend. I received a ton of compliments on it! It was also a sigh of relief not to have another white dress filling up my closet I wouldn't wear again. The whole process of RTR was seamless - I told everyone about the quality and great deal I got! The dress runs BIG. I am a pretty solid 6/8 in dresses, and I easily fit into the small. The style is certainly "baggy" so if you are looking for something hip hugging/to show off curves this isn't the dress for you. The flowers on it are unique, elegant, and pretty making it perfect for a shower, or daytime event. The bow on the back is Navy, but I was able to get away with wearing black shoes :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2012
Customer service was absolutely fabulous when this didn't fit!
My own fault for ordering only an XS and no backup size- it didn't fit! but a beautiful dress nonetheless.. even prettier than in pictures, if possible. I will be renting it again as soon as I have an event to wear it to!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 149lbs
September 24, 2012
I rented this for a date night with my fiance. It was a little big on me.
This was rented for a date night with my fiance. I rented it in a size large only because the md was out of stock. The dress was loose and baggy on me and didn't fit quit right. It looked very pretty and I'm sure if it were a bit tighter it would have been amazing on. It seems to run a bit big to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 16, 2012
Looked like a ruffled hospital gown
This was an 'emergency' rental for my bridal shower after various options didn't pan out. I'm barely 5'4" and this was so short I could not have sat or bent over. The idea of this is great, and the ruffles are beautiful, but the cut is absolutely terrible. It looked like a hospital gown with no shape definition at all.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2012
Looked amazing
The dress ran a little big, but it looked great on. Some of the petals were a little wonky, but overall it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 12, 2012
The ruffles are huge but fun
The ruffles are big, it's very loose at the top because of the open back and a bit fitted through the hips. It was a fun dress but maybe slightly bridal (great for a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner). I wore it to a Friday evening cocktail event during the summer. I liked the dress but didn't love it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 26, 2012
Very cute
Adorable dress but didn't end up wearing because it was big. I'm normally a size 6/8 and wear a medium but it seemed to be big everywhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Odd lining in dress
I did not end up wearing this dress. I rented it for my bridal shower and it's a beautiful dress, but has a very tight lining in it. I could have easily fit into the 6 or 8, but the lining was squeezing my thighs and hips. Since the dress is very billowy, not form-fitting, I'm not sure why the inner lining is so much tighter. Something to consider when choosing a size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
August 20, 2012
Too hot for summer...
I rented this as a possible rehearsal dinner dress. It is cute on the model, but wasn't quite as cute in person. The material is REALLY heavy - heavier than I was hoping for on a July evening. It's a cute dress, but I don't think it's particularly flattering to a wide range of people.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 16, 2012
Great customer service, and so easy to use!
I got married on 8/10/2012, and I wore this dress (size small) for my very-very small civil service. We had pictures taken before by a photographer and as we walked down the streets of downtown Chicago I could hear people commenting on how beautiful the dress was! One little girl turned to her mom and was said, “wow that girls dress is beautiful!” Talk about a good confidence boost!The fit is odd to be honest-I used a blue belt the color of the bow to give it some shape-which helped, and fabric tape to tape the neckline into a sweetheart shape so it didn’t just flop around. The fabric and colors are gorgeous-really unique dress overall.
AmandaAugust 24, 2012
OoooOoooO What a beautiful dress for a beautiful bride!!
StashaMay 28, 2014
Love your alterations!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
cute style, a little boxy
I rented this dress for a cocktail party. I loved the ivory rosettes and the navy ribbon in the back was especially fun. However, the style was a bit to boxy and not particularly flattering from the front on my straight and narrow body type. I wouldn't order it again, but it might work for a different body typel
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
runs large
Dress was very large. Order one size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 10, 2012
Cute Cute Cute
The fabric flowers all over the dress were so cute! I loved the navy blue bow in the back!! It wasn't too short either! The only complaint I have is that it is a little too wide, but I added a larger belt and no one was the wiser.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 30, 2012
Huge dress!!!
I rented this for my sister to wear to her rehearsal dinner. Be advised, this dress runs huge!!! She actually couldn't wear either the XS or S and I ended up having to let her wear the dress I had rented. Make sure you try it on ASAP and if you are anywhere near 5'3" or smaller and weigh less than 120, this dress will probably not come close to fitting. It is a beautiful dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 17, 2012
Gorgeous! But runs large...
I ordered this dress in an XS for my engagement party and it was too big. The dress itself is beautiful and would look great on someone taller. The detail and bow on the back are so cute! I would say the XS was more like a Medium. I wish I could have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
March 20, 2012
Very frenchie
I rented this dress for a French theme party and it was perfect! The dress is very striking. I would not rent this dress again because of the little threads on the dress that could get caught in the zipper. I unzipped it one time for the initial fitting - too scared to zip it again until the party day. Also a little afraid that the zipper would catch and I couldn't get it off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 7, 2012
Got many compliments on how great I looked and where did I get such a cute dress. Thanks RTR!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it was a success. I was worried because the dress wasn't my first choice and I heard it ran big from other reviews and I wasn't sure about the bow. I ordered late so the medium was out of stock, I took the large and it turned out fine. The dress runs big on the top and add a little bulk because of the flowers. I had to wear a bra with a low strap so it couldn't be seen with the open back. That all being said the dress turned out great and I got many compliments, the bow turned out to be super cute and a nice touch. A very bridal dress i would encourage but recommend going a bit smaller because i think i would have had more shape if i had the medium on.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2012
Great dress but runs large
I would go a size smaller. If I would have known, I would have rented a small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2012
Roses are pretty but add bulk
First of all, I ordered both the M and the L because I wanted to be sure to have a nice fit. I tried on the L first, and found it to be too big and shapeless. Then I tried on the M which fit well but felt there was too much material in the stomach area. I was surprised that the M fit, as I recently had a baby and wear a size 12. The dress is gorgeous, but I think it would have looked better on someone thinner than I. The roses made me look and feel a bit larger than I am. I had to have a white dress for this event, and this dress did the trick, but next time I will stick with a more streamlined silhouette.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
beautiful dress but runs big
I was really excited to get this dress. I talked with a fit specialist who was very helpful. I told her i Usually wear a 4 and she suggested the small and backup medium. When i got the small it looked huge on. It was also a lot longer than I expected. I would definitely recommend sizing down. I was bummed because it is so cute but my backup dress worked perfectly. Would be great for a spring event.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2012
Better on the model
This was an okay dress. I rented a XS, and it seemed a bit too large. I have a smaller bust, and you definitely need a larger one to fill this out. Also, it was super hard to walk in and hiked up a lot when I sat down. Overall, this dress simply didn't look as good as I had wanted it too. This is my first time ordering from Rent the Runway, so maybe this is common, but it felt a little like a sack and didn't hug my body as well as it looked to. The bow in the back was beautiful, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
February 16, 2012
Everyone commenting how beautiful I looked!!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower because I wanted to wear white, but the blue bow went with the Peacock them; I and received compliments from everyone wanting to know where I got it. I normally wear a 6-8 and ended up wearing the small because I was swimming in the medium. The skirt area fit perfectly around hips, but I have no chest which made this dress still a little big. However, I loved this dress and felt really beautiful for my shower. I would recommend this for any bride for their day because the detailing was amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2012
Runs Large!!
I usually wear a 0 or 2 and I ordered this dress in an XS. The dress was way too big, looked more like a size 4 or 6. The dress was very straight with very little shape and fell off my shoulders. I'd suggest ordering an XS for someone who usually wears a 4, 6 or even small 8. Beautiful dress, just didn't fit :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2012
Date night in NYC
To the white roses and the navy blue ribbon in the back this dress had great detail. I wore an XS and usually wear a 2-4 in dresses. The only thing I would change is I wish it was a little tighter in the stomach area!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 2, 2012
Flowery fun
I rented this for a party to raise money for the Enoch Pratt Public Librar, called the black and white party. I loved the flowers and received lots of compliments on the dress. It was a great dress for a great party to raise awareness of childhood literacy in Baltimore. I am short and carry some extra weight - especially up top. But this dress fit well and I loved it.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×