Teal Draped Dream Dress

$43 to buy
$325 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a goddess in this one shoulder Mark & James by Badgley Mischka.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size (comfortable room at bust)
WAIST: Fitted, stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted, curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH:

Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow, Full Bust body types
(Model's height is 5'10").

Product Details

Teal matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
243 reviews
Fit
Large
(84)
True to Size
(138)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
November 12, 2015
Perfect fit.

Renting a dress at 22 weeks pregnant is a little scary, but this was perfect! I added a belt just to show off my bump a little, but you don't need to. I felt it ran alittle bit big, and unfortunately the XS had some stains on the top of it. I tried to get them out, and they got lighter so I did wear it and you couldn't notice the stains. Though, that was disappointing.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
January 11, 2016
Sadly I wasn't able to wear my rent the runway dress.

The dress was very cute but definitely was not for me. I'm not very tall and this would look much better on someone taller. I was disappointed in the color of the dress. I thought it was teal, but it much darker than that. It also felt very heavy on and made me feel pretty frumpy.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Age: 38
February 25, 2016
Cute comfy dress

Dress was dark hunter green. It was super comfy and flowy and easy to dance in- I think that I probably could have went to a small- but didn't have to wear any shapewear- I wore the medium and and usually wear an 8-10 5'6 153 lbs.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 16, 2014
Loved the "flowy" comfortable feel of this dress! The quality was amazing!

Although the fit of the dress itself runs a little big the length runs a little small. I order a Medium and a Large. The medium fit my body much better but the length in the Medium was significantly short than the length in the Large. Not being a 'short mini skirt" gal I felt more comfortable with the length of the large although it was a little baggy it still looked and felt great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 28, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress!

dress color is darker than picture online but still beautiful! Very comfortable and stylish.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2011

I usually am a 6-8. I wore the small and it fit perfectly wasnt too short at all. I am d cup and I did feel if you are not careful you can seem to get lost in it if pictures are taken at wrong angle. I wore with large dramatic cuff and large earrings since dress can seem bland without a statement piece. I did get alot of compliments on the color of the dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 18, 2011

I would regularly order a small but I ended up wearing the XS. It was a comfortable dress to wear and I received so many compliments on it! I highly recommend this dress.

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
November 8, 2011

this dress is not even close to the color of which is shown in the picture. its a dark hunter green. i would not recommend this dress to anyone.

WendyNovember 8, 2011
what size heels did you wear?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
November 10, 2011
Beautiful dress!

I rented this dress for a cocktail party for my husband's firm, and it was perfect. The color is a much darker teal than it looks like online, but it's still a very pretty color. As the others have said, it does run large. I'm a 10, sometimes a 12 because of the "girls", and the large was huge. The medium fit well and was still a little loose. It's also very comforable. I would definitely rent this one again!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2011
I was told I looked like a Greek goddess.

This dress is fantastic! I wore it for my company holiday party. The draping and the cut are so stunning. It's thick and heavy and just feels worth its price. It does run a bit large (likely due to the loose-fitting style of the dress). I'm also somewhat of a redhead (more strawberry blonde) so the rich greenish color really made my coloring look great! It is a much darker teal than it appears in this photo so be mindful of that. One of my photos is only from the chest up but I wanted to show off the draping and pleats on the shoulder.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 15, 2012
Disappointed

I sent this dress back the same day that I receive it. First of all the color of the dress was a darker green than I expected. I wear a size 8 and the medium was too big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2012
Easy breezy

Renting this dress couldn't have been easier. I picked this dress because of its fabulous color. The shape was loose and comfortable, and runs a bit large because of it. The neckline was snug, which I personally loved because I felt secure all night, and wasn't worried about my strapless bra showing or anything. Contrary to other reviews, I didn't think this was too short at all. I am 5'9", and the Small hit right above my knees. I never even tried on the back-up size, but its nice they give you the option just in case. This dress flowed nicely, and the color was great (very vivid in person)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
March 17, 2012
Comfortable

I agree with the other comments, but I don't think it is necessary to belt this dress. It looks very cool and stylish without a belt, and it is incredibly comfortable. Not a dress that will appeal to men, but fashionable and fun to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
August 14, 2012
Bump-friendly wedding dress

I wore this dress for a wedding. I am pregnant and just started to show a little bit and this dress fit perfectly. My bump is still at that weird point where someone may just think that I ate a huge dinner so I'm slightly self-conscious about it. The dress fell very well and wasn't too short at all. I received lots of compliments and I've actually rented it for another wedding (with different friends) because I liked it so much. The color is slightly darker than the picture.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2012
Pretty dress, but too much fabric.

I rented this dress for a wedding and was disappointed by the size/fit of the dress. The color is just as it appears in the photographs online, however, there was just too much fabric and it was not figure flattering on me. I am 5'8 with a true hour glass figure, and felt that it added volume to my midsection and hip area. However, if you are very slender, I could definitely see how the dress might fall better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2012
The dress was too big for me to wear.

The dress was way too big, even the small for me. For my body type, it didn't look good on me. It looked like the dress was wearing me. I couldn't wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2013
Beautiful dress!

Gorgeous dress! I paired it with a statement necklace and it was beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 1, 2014
I wore this dress 6.5 months pregnant...it was ok but not very flattering

I was 6.5 months pregnant when I wore this dress. It fit comfortably but it didn't really flatter my shape and was just kind of "Eh..." I ordered the small and medium and the small fit a little better but was too tight in the chest. I ended up wearing the medium since it fit better up top and was not impressed with the fit, again it just didn't flatter my shape.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 13, 2015
Flattering fit

Runs large

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 3, 2015
I got this as a replacement dress for one that was too small, and then this one was too big!

I normally wear a size M-L, but usually go with the size up just in case. This one was too big in the large and made me look a little frumpy. While really cute, I think I would order the smaller size just in case.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2012
I was at the awkward stage in pregnancy where nothing fit and this was perfect for a wedding!

Flowy yet feminine still... made me feel beautiful even going into my second trimester!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 23, 2012
This dress was a huge hit! I got constant comments on it. I def stoof out in the crowd.

The dress itself is very flattering, not tight at all so if you would normally get a medium, i suggest you get a small. The only issue is height. I am 5'8" with broad shoulders and the small dress which fit me perfectly cut into my armpit. I ended up wearing the medium which still looked great. So my tip is if you are tall, go for the size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
November 21, 2012
Rent a different gem.

It looks fantastic in the photo, but was much darker when i got the dress. I ordered a med and large (Im 5'10" 140) and both were awkward on me and neither covered my rear completely. Bummer.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 24, 2013
Too short, too tight

Even though the outer layer flows a little bit, the inner layer was too clingy, and the dress was too short. It is also a lot darker than it looks. Nope.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
January 17, 2014
Beautiful Color, was given compliments all evening

Runs a bit small, and although it is lined, showed imperfections in the smaller size.Also, the picture shows the arm draping to be much more tapered than the actual dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
November 16, 2015
Charity Gala

I love this dress very comfortable and forgiving without being oversized or dowdy

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2016
The perfect elegant and comfortable dress for a summer wedding!

I love this dress. I've already rented it int he beautiful coral color and loved it, so thought I would give the teal a try. One thing to note -- it is NOT as light as it appears in the photos. I was expecting a bright turquoise dress, but it's really a fairly dark teal color. This was fine with me but just a bit surprising. I love the cut of this dress -- super flattering because it shows quite a bit of leg plus your whole shoulder, but it's very forgiving in the middle section because of all the fabric. I wish I owned this dress -- I received so many compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 10, 2016
this dress is extremely cute, I just decided to go with a different dress I ordered (also from RTR).

Fits true to size but the color was a lot darker than the color shown in the picture. Definitely look at the reviews to see what the color really looks like.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 31
August 13, 2016
Comfortable

This dress made me feel comfortable and confident all night.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
October 11, 2016
Very forgiving material,but flattering. Recieved many compliments... more of an emerald green.

Darker green than I thought. Perfect color.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 10, 2011

Loved the dress! It fit really well - hides any bumps you may or may not have! I felt very comfortable in this dress and I also got lots of compliments.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2011

I rented this dress for a black tie event with my employer. Judging by the picture, I was a little worried it would be too short for a work event. I'm glad I ordered it anyway. It brushed just above my knee and looked great. I got so many compliments. I wore the small and my only criticism is that the fabric under the left arm was a little tight, but I didn't find it uncomfortable as the night went on.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011

I LOVED this dress and got constant compliments. I'm an 8 so I was scared to get the medium so I went with the large. It was a tiny bit big, but because of the drape style it was perfectly fine. It was a little longer than I expected but I wore it to a formal wedding so it was fine. I wore it with a big colorful bib necklace because it definitely needs something chunky up top, like the necklace pictured. Super comfy for a long event, I totally recommend this dress :)

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
November 8, 2011

I am athletic but have a "tire" around my midsection. The medium was a perfect fit. Large way too big! Normally a 8/10 jeans and dresses, Med shirt

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 7, 2011
Great Dress!

I wore this for a wedding my husband was in, that I was attending, that I was also helping out the bride with some event pieces so she didn't have to worry. This dress was completely comfortable, easy to change into at the church, and everyone loved it.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
I was getting a lot of compliments all night

Overall I really thought the dress fit well and looked great, I wore it out for New Years Eve in Miami, FL. It was slightly a darker teal than pictured but still a great color and I thought it was a little longer than I was expecting but still fit me well.

RachelJanuary 5, 2012
love the belt!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
January 9, 2012
Great, easy party dress

I loved this dress. It's soooo easy to wear and great if you're going to be dancing or moving around and mingling. My only drawback is the color. Online it appears to be a bright teal but it's actually a darker gem color. Still a great color, but be aware of this if you're particular about color.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
January 25, 2012
Great formal dress

I really loved this dress! The color and shape were really flattering. I'm 5'8'' and the length was great as it wasn't too short (which is usually my main problem).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2012
Most comfortable dress I've ever worn!

Loved this dress! It needs a little something to define your waist for pictures. The fabric was so flowy and comfy - I didn't want to take it off! I spent the night before we left packing my bag with this dress still on. Plenty of room for a big meal, and really shows off arms and shoulders.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 28, 2012
Great dress

I wore this dress to a wedding when I was 23 weeks pregnant. I ordered 1 size larger then normal and it fit perfectly. It was a beautiful dress and I received numerous compliments!

See more reviews:
3 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×