Take a Twirl Dress

$35 to buy
$320 retail
Stylist Notes

Don’t let this hot hot dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka out of your site! Sequins and chiffon…how much better can it get? Go with an accessory piece like the CC Skye's Gold Pave Pyramid Stud Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black chiffon over gold sequins. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Asymmetric hemline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem to shortest part of hemline.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(41)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2011
Was a really flattering, pretty dress. The only problem is that the sequin sheath underneath starts to rub against your legs and really really hurts after a while. I had huge welts on my legs after I wore this and dancing became painful after a while.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2011
Love this dress! I rented it for a wedding and am considering renting it for another because I never had any full-length pics taken while wearing it. It is an eye-catching piece.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 21, 2011
i got so many compliments and no one could tell how much money i saved by renting through rtr
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I wore it to my senior homecoming and got nothing but compliments. It fit perfectly and I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2011
Beautiful dress! I got a lot of compliments when I wore it. True to size, however would probably fit busty girls better. I'm a large B and even with a slightly padded bra it didn't fill out as nicely as I would have wanted.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2011
My measurements are 37"B 31"W 36"H and I got a size 6 and a size 8. I should have ordered the size 10. As I am never a 10 in the stores, I didn't realize that dresses measure "True to Size" so it is a good idea to check the size chart on this site before ordering. According to the size chart I would be a 10. I could not zip the size 8 all the way up. Disappointing since this dress was quite lovely and would have looked great if I had got the correct size. A second dress I ordered to be safe did fit perfectly in the size 8 and I was relieved that I went with 2 dresses just in case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2011
Everything about this night was unforgettable.
This dress is a total show-stopper. I wore it to my senior homecoming, and I got so many compliments. It's different, but not too over the top. There are blue, silver, and gold sequins, which you can't really see here. And, you can MOVE in this dress! Not to mention the fact that the dress must come with some good luck, because somehow I was crowned Homecoming Queen in it :)
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2011
This dress was so much fun to wear, I didn't want to give it back! I rented this dress for a cocktail party and it was absolutely perfect. Got lots of comments on the dress. The chiffon layer on this dress billows whenever you come down a flight of stairs and is super flowy when you walk, definite head turner. This dress fit true to size and has that sticky liner tape right above the outsides of the bust so the dress has some extra help in staying up. Hook and loop closure in the back, zipper runs from mid-bottom to top. The dress was a little itchy in the middle of the bust due to a few sequins right along the seam, but definitely bearable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 20, 2011
I could not rent the size I wanted, so I rented a size smaller based on some of the other reviews indicating the dress ran bigger. I needed a 6, but rented a 4. Not able to zip up all the way. Very pretty though. Good for someone with with a narrow rib cage.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2011
I am a size 10 and I got the size 12 just in case aswell. Neither of them fit, they wouldn't zip up around my ribcage and I had to go with my back up dress for the event. It's a very pretty dress though, it's also very scratchy with all the sequins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2011
Bachelorette Party
I loved this dress even more than I expected to. I wore it for a bachelorette party in Vegas and it was great for dancing - very sparkly and not scratchy for me at all. I used a padded, push-up bra - otherwise might have been a little big up top on me. I got multiple comments on this from strangers asking where I got this dress, all of whom were surprised when I said I had rented it!!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
November 14, 2011
Perfect Fun and Classy Dress
This dress fit wonderfully. The sequin part fit nicely and held itself up well too. I didn't have to keep pulling the dress up all night. I wore it to my sorority's semiformal in November and it was perfect. I felt classy with the chiffon overlay but also the sparkle added a sassy element to it. Wanted to keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2011
Great Style, with a twist!
This dress was fabulous! Per the reviews, it runs a bit small. I'm normally a 4, but ended up wearing my backup size which was a 6 because the 4 wouldn't zip up the back. I rented for my birthday, and wanted to show a bit more flair, so one of my girlfriends gathered and pinned up the black layer in the back with a pretty pin so the sequin skirt was in full view. Got many compliments, and got to add my own style to the dress. The entire process was easy - I will definitely be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
Feeling fabulous!
I absolutely LOVED this dress and found that it was very flattering! I found that this dress ran true to size. I got so many compliments on this dress. I was a little nervous because some of the reviews had said that it would fit a bigger bust size better, but I thought it flattered my girls very well! (and I am only a 34B) I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 4, 2011
RTR is my new go-to website when I need something fun to wear! I have a closet full of fancy dresses (76 to be exact) so renting just seems more practical these days! The dresses arrived on the scheduled day and I had no problem shipping them back. Thanks RTR!
I rented this dress for my work holiday party, which was a Hollywood theme. I normally wear a 10, but ordered the 12 as my backup since I know designer sizes run a little small. When the dresses arrived, I tried the 10 first and couldn't zip the back. The zipper seemed a little worn (the only way I could tell the dress had ever been worn before) but with a little help from the hubby, I was able to get it zipped. Once it was on, I realized how much I absolutely loved the fit! This dress almost fit me as well as my wedding dress! The sheer black skirt is actually split in front, revealing the sequined mini dress beneath as you walk. It was stunning! I got compliments all night, from both men and women! I will definitely rent this again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 8, 2011
Beautiful
I was really worried because this was my first RTR dress, but having the two sizes made me feel better, even though it is very true to size. I was worried the back piece would be too long but i'm about 5'6" and it didn't go past the back of my knees! I STRONGLY recommend this dress i wore it to my homecoming and many girls told me it was the prettiest dress there :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2011
The quality of the dress and the way it fit made me feel wonderful!
I rented this dress for the opening number of a pageant I was competing in. It hugs and accentuates curves really well! Classy, sexy, but not overdone. I got tons of compliments and stood out on stage, ended up placing 3rd overall!
ArianaMay 14, 2012
did you pull the black overlay to the side or is the dress like this?
RTRMay 14, 2012
Hi Ariana, this is the dress with the overlay to the side.
TeddiSeptember 30, 2012
I am wanting a dress for this same event, but I'm worried the strapless dress will cause problems. Did you have any issues with this?
HeatherNovember 16, 2012
The strapless was not an issue but I did go a size smaller than normal because of it. I am small chested so that was also a factor.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2011
Runs Small
The dress is beautiful, I usually wear a size 0, but it was quite a bit too small, the size 2 fit perfect. I chose the other dress I rented for the occasion, this one was a bit short for a Work Christmas party, but it was beautiful, and would amazing with a blue pair of shoes that go with the rhinestones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2011
Love the effect of the semi see-through fabric over sequins. It gives the dress sparkle but isn't over the top.
Perfect for the black tie event I went to. I knew the band was going to be good. I rented a short dress so I'd be able to dance! The dress has a mix of silver, gold and black sequins so it's easy to accessorize. I normally wear a 6 in Badgley Mischka but the 6 in this dress was very tight in the bust area (I'm a 36B). The 8 was a perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
December 25, 2011
BAM!
I am completely and totally obsessed with this dress! It is a must for dancing and feeling great:)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2012
Everyone loved my dress! I got a bunch of compliments. Most importantly, though, the dress made me feel fantastic!
I rented this dress for a black tie optional New Year's Eve dance on an aircraft carrier. I'm 5'9" and my measurements are 37(Bust)-28(Waist)-39(Hip), and I wear a 34DD bra. I think, *technically*, I'm an 8 (I've recently lost weight, so I'm a little unsure about my "normal" size), but because of my bust I can wear 8-12 depending on the style - the 10 worked out perfectly. I really loved the dress, especially for the occasion! It definitely fit right - though I felt as the night went on, the dress didn't fit as snugly (but this wasn't a huge problem), so there's a little bit of stretch. My biggest problem with the dress was with the sequins along the hem - they rubbed against my legs. I had worn some tights with the dress; between the general wear from the night and the car ride to and from the event there were patches of scratches in my tights about where the sequins were. Overall, I really loved the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 4, 2012
Feeling fabulous around all of my hot friends while we rang in the new year in style!
I wore this for a fun night out with friends on New Year's Eve. I wear a 6-8, typically a 6 in dresses but this one has a pretty tight bodice under the chiffon so the 8 worked better. Overall, I loved it and received many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
I loved how nobody else had a dress like mine! Definitely using RTR again!!
This dress was amazing. Wore it to my senior homecoming, fit like a glove and I didn't have to hike it up all night. I received a ton of compliments! Loved the fact that there were sequins, but they weren't too in your face. And the high to low hemline was to-die-for!! Definitely would recommend this to ANYONE!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 29, 2012
I loved getting multiple dresses to try on. I wasn't sure if the 6 would fit. Even though it did, I felt better knowing I had back up. The dress really fit me great and showed off the good parts of my figure. Everyone said I looked stunning, especially when I walked and the glittery part showed through.
The dress fit great and was super comfortable. Only problem was that it was I little big on top. Not that it didn't fit sort of big, but the material was very thick and bulky. I had to wear a Bombshell bra just to make it look like I had boobs. Great dress but you might need to invest in a bra, or just have larger boobs. Haha.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 11, 2012
tigh fit
I ordered this dress for my sorority formal. It doesnt show as much in the picture, but this dress is actually really sparkly in reality and you can definitely see the shimmery slip, which i loved! I am usually an 8 (5'7'', 36B) mostly because I have broad shoulders and ribcage. Im glad I ordered a size up because the 8 wouldnt even zip! The 10 was a perfect fit, tight enough so I didnt have to wear a bra but loose enough to be comfortable. I danced the night away in this and got many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2012
Sizing
Fun and flirty dress, perfect for formal dances. I normally wear size 8, and the dress fit up until we tried to get the zipper to close at the top. The bodice is pretty tight, and I ended up not being able to wear the size 8 at all because my chest couldn't fit into the top (for reference, I wear a 34D).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 28, 2012
Love this dress!
I had wanted to rent this dress for about a year, and I finally decided to rent it. It was AMAZING!! I didn't wanna take it off!! I normally wear a 12 and got the 12 and the 10 and the 12 fit perfectly. The only thing was that the boning in the bust was kind of digging into my ribcage but I got over it once the party started ;).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 22, 2012
gorgeous dress and great service!
I absolutely loved this dress! It looks great in photos but really, it's more stunning and sparkly in person. I had so much fun dancing and twirling in this dress and I got compliments all night! Great for small busted ladies! First RTR experience and I'll definitely be renting again. My picture is pretty ridiculous but not many others show the gorgeous under-layer of the dress haha
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 1, 2012
Beautiful - A must try!
This dress is absolutely phenomenal. I wore it to a school formal, and can easily say it was one of the prettiest dresses there. When you walk and twirl, the thin black sheath reveals the sequined layer underneath. Awesome for dancing! I wish I had ordered a size down at 0, however, because I wasn't able to fill out the bust entirely. But that's my problem, not the dress'. You really have to try this dress for some sort of occasion - my favorite dress i've ever rented from RTR. Had some very memorable moments that night, so this dress will always be special to me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 5, 2012
Cute dress, large bust
This was my backup dress (I forgot to take pictures sorry!), Luckily it was my backup dress because the dress fit pretty well except for the bust. As mentioned below you either need a well padded bra or large breast in order to look good in the dress. When I tried it on, the dress looked pretty decent except for the bust. The extra padding sort of cover up your breast (if you have small ones)... Hope that helps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 5, 2012
Cute dress, large bust
This was my backup dress (I forgot to take pictures sorry!), Luckily it was my backup dress because the dress fit pretty well except for the bust. As mentioned below you either need a well padded bra or large breast in order to look good in the dress. When I tried it on, the dress looked pretty decent except for the bust. The extra padding sort of cover up your breast (if you have small ones)... Hope that helps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
July 9, 2012
I felt gorgeous, and so many people told me I had the best dress of the night!
I wore this for a black tie ball, and was told by multiple strangers that I had the most beautiful dress of the night. It is amazing to move in, the material flows so perfectly. I felt gorgeous in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2012
Where did you get that dress it looks made for you! Actually... I rented it haha!
This was the first time I have ever purchased anything online so I was a little apprehensive. I wore the size 4, it was true to its size. My only problem was that the 4 was a little worn down and parts of the dress had come out and were poking and scratching me. So I wore a corset underneath (plus it made my boobs look better!). The 6 did not have the same problems, but I liked the way the 4 fit me better. I also did the mystery jewelry from RTR and they chose those gorgeous earrings which I loved. Overall I was happy. Everyone loved the dress (and shoes but those are mine!) and after putting the corset on I was comfortable in it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 10, 2012
Won the best dressed award!
I wore this to a sweet sixteen, and I was voted best dressed! Normally I wear a size 2, but since that was not available, I ordered a 0 and a 4. The zero fit great, except it was very tight in the bust, but that can be a good thing because it gives great cleavage! I used tape to hold it up however, but it did slip a bit, so size up if you have a big chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2012
The uniquenesses of the dresses, style and customer service.
I got this dress for my first rental, I wasnt sure how this will work, i got the two sizes 2 and 4, and ended up with the 2. It fitted perfectly and it was a great choice. I got compliments all night long! I felt super sexy, glamorous in it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2012
Fabulous Dress.
This dress looked great. My only suggestion would be to say you do not need the bones in the front of the dress. They made it a little uncomfortable since they were digging into my ribs. I think the dress would be amazing still without them. Other then that the dress looked great and was so comfortable. Everyone complimented the way I looked in this great dress. Cannot wait to rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2012
I love the fast delivery and the pre addressed envelope makes it easy to return the day after the event.
Loved this dress. I got compliments all night! The only thing that was wrong with the dress is that the sequins snagged my nylons.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
August 26, 2012
Very Pretty, But A Tad Cheap
This dress is very pretty, but the sequin bit of the dress looks and feels a bit cheap. Also, some of the sequins were a little damaged, but not enough so that others could tell. Overall, I would recommend this dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×