Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Take a Twirl Dress

$40 rental
$320 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Don’t let this hot hot dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka out of your site! Sequins and chiffon…how much better can it get? Go with an accessory piece like the CC Skye's Gold Pave Pyramid Stud Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black chiffon over gold sequins. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Asymmetric hemline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem to shortest part of hemline.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

151 reviews

Fit
Small 41
True to Size 102
Large 8
Photos 90
Maddie
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress is absolutely stunning! It is a little different in person as it is in the picture, but it's still a gorgeous dress nonetheless.
thereisnodana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 17, 2011

Overall fit: Large
this dress reaaally enhances the girls.. and there's some stretch.. so as someone who comfortably wears size 14 clothes, I was able to squeeze in and look HOTT in this dress, size 12. I felt so gorgeous! 36D, 35 waist, 40 inch hips
Shimmy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Was a really flattering, pretty dress. The only problem is that the sequin sheath underneath starts to rub against your legs and really really hurts after a while. I had huge welts on my legs after I wore this and dancing became painful after a while.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress! I rented it for a wedding and am considering renting it for another because I never had any full-length pics taken while wearing it. It is an eye-catching piece.
jayell
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Enhances the bust. Beautifully flowy. The sequin layer has a blueish sheen and is a little scratchy.
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress! I got a lot of compliments when I wore it. True to size, however would probably fit busty girls better. I'm a large B and even with a slightly padded bra it didn't fill out as nicely as I would have wanted.
Jenn
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
My measurements are 37"B 31"W 36"H and I got a size 6 and a size 8. I should have ordered the size 10. As I am never a 10 in the stores, I didn't realize that dresses measure "True to Size" so it is a good idea to check the size chart on this site before ordering. According to the size chart I would be a 10. I could not zip the size 8 all the way up. Disappointing since this dress was quite lovely and would have looked great if I had got the correct size. A second dress I ordered to be safe did fit perfectly in the size 8 and I was relieved that I went with 2 dresses just in case.
Care
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Oct 18, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I got 2 dresses, sizes 4 and 6 and they fit almost exactly the same.
Jillian
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was so much fun to wear, I didn't want to give it back! I rented this dress for a cocktail party and it was absolutely perfect. Got lots of comments on the dress. The chiffon layer on this dress billows whenever you come down a flight of stairs and is super flowy when you walk, definite head turner. This dress fit true to size and has that sticky liner tape right above the outsides of the bust so the dress has some extra help in staying up. Hook and loop closure in the back, zipper runs from mid-bottom to top. The dress was a little itchy in the middle of the bust due to a few sequins right along the seam, but definitely bearable.
Dyani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I could not rent the size I wanted, so I rented a size smaller based on some of the other reviews indicating the dress ran bigger. I needed a 6, but rented a 4. Not able to zip up all the way. Very pretty though. Good for someone with with a narrow rib cage.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress, hides any tummy issues. The quality was excellent, the bodice held everything in place.
Carrie
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I am a size 10 and I got the size 12 just in case aswell. Neither of them fit, they wouldn't zip up around my ribcage and I had to go with my back up dress for the event. It's a very pretty dress though, it's also very scratchy with all the sequins.
BK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 10, 2011

Bachelorette Party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress even more than I expected to. I wore it for a bachelorette party in Vegas and it was great for dancing - very sparkly and not scratchy for me at all. I used a padded, push-up bra - otherwise might have been a little big up top on me. I got multiple comments on this from strangers asking where I got this dress, all of whom were surprised when I said I had rented it!!!
KN
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 15, 2011

Fun and Cute

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very fun and cute. I wore a 4 and it was a tiny bit snug in the top but was well worth it. Cute for shorter heights! fun to dance the night away in!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 26, 2011

Great Style, with a twist!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was fabulous! Per the reviews, it runs a bit small. I'm normally a 4, but ended up wearing my backup size which was a 6 because the 4 wouldn't zip up the back. I rented for my birthday, and wanted to show a bit more flair, so one of my girlfriends gathered and pinned up the black layer in the back with a pretty pin so the sequin skirt was in full view. Got many compliments, and got to add my own style to the dress. The entire process was easy - I will definitely be renting again!
Kerry
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Dec 5, 2011

Super Small!!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress both in an 8 and a 10 and I could not get either one to zip. This dress runs very small. I would recommend ordering 2 sizes bigger than what you would normally wear. I think if I would have got the 12 I would have been able to wear this dress for the holiday party.
Alissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 7, 2011

Fun and beautiful!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a holiday party and it was beautiful! I got compliments on it all night. I usually wear a 4 to 6 but the 8 fit perfectly. I would suggest that women with a larger chest go up a size otherwise the back might not zip up. The dress came down to just above my knees. The bodice is well made and I didn't have to pull the dress up all night like with some strapless dresses, even after dancing for hours. Overall a very fun dress to wear. I wish I owned it!
Maxine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 8, 2011

Beautiful

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really worried because this was my first RTR dress, but having the two sizes made me feel better, even though it is very true to size. I was worried the back piece would be too long but i'm about 5'6" and it didn't go past the back of my knees! I STRONGLY recommend this dress i wore it to my homecoming and many girls told me it was the prettiest dress there :)
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

Runs Small

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is beautiful, I usually wear a size 0, but it was quite a bit too small, the size 2 fit perfect. I chose the other dress I rented for the occasion, this one was a bit short for a Work Christmas party, but it was beautiful, and would amazing with a blue pair of shoes that go with the rhinestones.
Roady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 25, 2011

BAM!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am completely and totally obsessed with this dress! It is a must for dancing and feeling great:)
S - Popp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 1, 2012

versatile and flattering

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A great dress, with a very forgiving cut, especially through the lower half. One drawback would be that the chiffon layer that makes it so forgiving also adds a little more bulk to the area - but the overall effect worked. I wore it with thick black tights and boots to make it a little funkier for the not-so-formal event I went to, but would wear it again with slim heels for something a little classier.
Maria
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect, and it was so adorable!
TrixieB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

tigh fit

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for my sorority formal. It doesnt show as much in the picture, but this dress is actually really sparkly in reality and you can definitely see the shimmery slip, which i loved! I am usually an 8 (5'7'', 36B) mostly because I have broad shoulders and ribcage. Im glad I ordered a size up because the 8 wouldnt even zip! The 10 was a perfect fit, tight enough so I didnt have to wear a bra but loose enough to be comfortable. I danced the night away in this and got many compliments!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 16, 2012

Sizing

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fun and flirty dress, perfect for formal dances. I normally wear size 8, and the dress fit up until we tried to get the zipper to close at the top. The bodice is pretty tight, and I ended up not being able to wear the size 8 at all because my chest couldn't fit into the top (for reference, I wear a 34D).
Samar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 1, 2012

Beautiful - A must try!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely phenomenal. I wore it to a school formal, and can easily say it was one of the prettiest dresses there. When you walk and twirl, the thin black sheath reveals the sequined layer underneath. Awesome for dancing! I wish I had ordered a size down at 0, however, because I wasn't able to fill out the bust entirely. But that's my problem, not the dress'. You really have to try this dress for some sort of occasion - my favorite dress i've ever rented from RTR. Had some very memorable moments that night, so this dress will always be special to me.
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 5, 2012

Cute dress, large bust

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress (I forgot to take pictures sorry!), Luckily it was my backup dress because the dress fit pretty well except for the bust. As mentioned below you either need a well padded bra or large breast in order to look good in the dress. When I tried it on, the dress looked pretty decent except for the bust. The extra padding sort of cover up your breast (if you have small ones)... Hope that helps!
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 5, 2012

Cute dress, large bust

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress (I forgot to take pictures sorry!), Luckily it was my backup dress because the dress fit pretty well except for the bust. As mentioned below you either need a well padded bra or large breast in order to look good in the dress. When I tried it on, the dress looked pretty decent except for the bust. The extra padding sort of cover up your breast (if you have small ones)... Hope that helps!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Won the best dressed award!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a sweet sixteen, and I was voted best dressed! Normally I wear a size 2, but since that was not available, I ordered a 0 and a 4. The zero fit great, except it was very tight in the bust, but that can be a good thing because it gives great cleavage! I used tape to hold it up however, but it did slip a bit, so size up if you have a big chest.
Cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×