Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Take a Twirl Dress

$40 rental
$320 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Don’t let this hot hot dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka out of your site! Sequins and chiffon…how much better can it get? Go with an accessory piece like the CC Skye's Gold Pave Pyramid Stud Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black chiffon over gold sequins. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Asymmetric hemline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem to shortest part of hemline.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

151 reviews

Fit
Small 41
True to Size 102
Large 8
Photos 90
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Fabulous Dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looked great. My only suggestion would be to say you do not need the bones in the front of the dress. They made it a little uncomfortable since they were digging into my ribs. I think the dress would be amazing still without them. Other then that the dress looked great and was so comfortable. Everyone complimented the way I looked in this great dress. Cannot wait to rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Very Pretty, But A Tad Cheap

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very pretty, but the sequin bit of the dress looks and feels a bit cheap. Also, some of the sequins were a little damaged, but not enough so that others could tell. Overall, I would recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Great fun dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress..... It was perfect for my girlfriends birthday trip to Vegas. Altnough it did run a little small in size. So go up a size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 2, 2012

Very sexy!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is very sexy and beautiful dress. I'm 34A usually wear size 4 or 2 on top, size 4 on the bottom. This dress fit perfectly on the bottom but I need some padded bra on top. Whenever I move or dance on the floor, sparkly dress was showing under the black chiffon outter layer. It was really pretty black dress with sparkles.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Very Cute, But Hard to Zip!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a 6 and 8. At first I didn't think I would wear it because I tried on the 8 and it was big on me, and made me look a size bigger than I am. I tried on the 6, and it seemed to fit, but I couldn't get the zipper to go all the way up. I ended up asking my roommate to help me zip up the 6, and once we got the zipper up it was really cute and fit perfect! It's a little short for someone average height, but I'm short so it was the perfect length on me. I also got a lot of compliments on it that night! The only bad thing was it is a little uncomfortable because the boning of the bodice dug in a little bit. But what's fashion without a little pain, right?!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

Awards Ceremony

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was true to size and it just sparkled under the stage lights i loved it and will defiantly be ordering from rent the runway again
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

The sequins were extremely itchy making the dress very uncomfortable.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very uncomfortable, the sequins on top were cutting into me leaving marks. Top ran small.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Looking in the mirror after zipping it up!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked great, and I loved it at first, but after having it on for more than 5 minutes, I found it to be really, really itchy. Thank goodness I had another dress, because I wouldn't have been able to stand the itchiness all throughout the homecoming dance!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Sep 19, 2012

Great fit and perfect for any shape!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress, and another for New Years. I didn't go with this one but it still looked great! I had been working on losing weight and the way this fit made me feel great. It accentuates all the right areas and is still super classy!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

wore my another RTR dress instead

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bust is odd. Everything fit perfectly except the bust. Maybe if I was a 34C instead of a small B it wouldnt have been a problem. I couldnt wear a strapless bra with it because of the boning of the corset. It is beautiful though. I found myself playing with the skirt as I was trying to decide if I would wear this one or the Tulip Dress. All you want to do is twirl around, which is fitting. Unless you're holding the flaps of the skirt open you cant really see all the sparkle.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 24, 2012

Not so good

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress barely fit. I'm 5'7 and even in the bigger size it barely covered my butt. I felt like I couldn't breathe, things were poking me, and the sequins hurt. Additionally, the sheath part that goes over starts right under the breasts so if you have an hourglass figure (like me) it hides your curves and makes you look bigger than you are. I think this dress is probably better for women with little/no curves
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

HOT

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is extremely flattering because the sequin shell is very fitted. Also, I have a huge butt so the chiffon definitely helped cover it up a little, but in a good way. Got a million compliments and felt very confident.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 4, 2012

shipped really fast

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
looked amazing and got so many compliments!!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Amazing NYE dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love, love, loved this dress. The photos don't do it justice. The sequins are navy, gold, black, and maybe silver - it looks so cute under the black chiffon, which billows elegantly when you move or dance. The under layer is really short, if that's a concern. The top is pretty supportive, but you could easily cram a strapless bra under there if you needed to. Love it! Wish it wasn't so memorable so I could wear it again this year.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Amazing, Gorgeous Dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The picture does not do it justice! I rented it for homecoming and my boyfriend told me when i showed him the picture he didn't really like it, but in person it looked amazing. The dress is super comfortable and I love the black over the sparkles. The only problem was on my dress a wire from the built in bra kept scratching me. But after I taped my skin it didn't bother me. However maybe it was just me but the line where the bust would end was pretty low on me and I didn't exactly like that. Other than that the dress was amazing, got sooo many compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Super Flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a Christmas party. It was gorgeous! The sequins underneath really sparkled any time I walked, since there is a slit down the front of the skirt. The sequin dress part does run a little short, but I am pretty tall so if you're average height it is probably just fine. Definitely a show stopper!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Apple
Nov 12, 2012

Couldn't wear it, too small in the bust.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately my backup size didn't come (hurricane) and the bust on the 10 was wayyyy too small.. but it was a GORGEOUS dress!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2012

Stunning front, frumpy back

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful and definitely eye-catching. I'm usually a 6 or 8, and liked the 6. There were a few cons though that made me choose to wear my backup dress instead. The boning and sequins on the top and underarms were a little painful. Also, there are no sequins on the back and the longer chiffon fell in an awkward place on me. I felt like the longer back, combined with the lack of sequins made it pretty frumpy looking from behind.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Figure-flattering, sophisticated sparkle!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a huge hit! It's very flattering for hourglass shapes, since it highlights/creates a small waist while showing off curves. I'm a 34D, and while I don't usually wear a strapless bra under dresses with structure/boning, in this case, I DID need to. The dress is not as supportive up top as it could be, probably because it's been worn by many girls at this point. I was a little worried that the dress would look too youthful in person, with all the sequins and the fuller skirt, but it ended up being very sophisticated after all—something about the sheer black chiffon and the beautiful draping. It was totally fun and sparkly, and although the neckline was low, with the full, flowing skirt, it wasn't too revealing and still felt appropriate at a wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Nov 20, 2012

Great color and design, not so much for the petite.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was ordered as a back up dress for my prom and the was a lot of pros and cons that came along with this dress. It was really small in the bust area and fit long even though i ordered a size zero. The sheer fabric and sequins are really pretty but the overall dress was not that great.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 4, 2012

Not for me...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I think that this dress would be great for certain people... Personally I thought it looked a little too pre-teen for me. The wires in the top portion of the dress were also pretty uncomfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable dress! Got a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sequin part of the dress was more blue than it looked in the pictures and was beautiful. I usually wear a 6 but ended up wearing the 4 because it fit my bust better (it was a bit tight at the waist though). Also, the zipper in the back tended to bunch up and leave a wrinkle (why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). Overall I would highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

Glam!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Would have loved to have worn this dress, but my backup size was not availbale. I squeezed into the 0 but my chest (34B) would not fit (got it zipped, but didn't create cleavage- just sort of smooshed them together and made them really flat from the side). A size 2 would have been perfect, so maybe next time that's what I'll do! Otherwise-- completely stunning. So many ways to glitz it up or down-- add a black blazer and tights to play down the sequins, or add some fun sparkle earrings and bracelet to really draw some attention. LOVE IT and so sad my chest is too big (for once, haha).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

average

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this last Spring for my Sorority Formal. The dress looked beautiful online and I couldn't wait to wear it. Unfortunately another sister purchased a "copycat" dress at a department store and this dress lost a lot of appeal to me. While this one was surely better quality and probably a lot more flattering, I had my parents send it back before even trying it on/seeing it in person. If I'm renting a designer dress, I want it to stand out from the crowd. This one is nice, but nothing special.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

The compliments I received all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little smaller than I expected but thankfully, I had the additional size to wear. Loved the sheer and cut of the dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

None

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I recieved the dresss tonight on Thurday, Feb 7 and my gala is for Saturday, Feb 9. But the dress runs to small so I have to return it tomorrow..
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Fabulous Dress for a Fabulous Occasion

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved the dress from the moment I put it on. It felt like such a dream and all of my sorority sisters loved it. My semi-formal theme was the Roaring 20s and my dress gave an updated look to such a classy theme. The only con I have about the dress is that there were parts of the dress that stabbed me in my torso throughout the night, but I adverted it by putting on high-waisted Spanx shorts that blocked it. It was really painful tho but as long as the dress fell flat on your chest, it would be fine. If you have the option to get it, I highly suggest it because it's perfect <3
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

This dress was so flattering and flirty!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I love that the dress opens up in the front and exposes the sexy sequin dress. It was a tight squeeze but, I could still dance the whole night in it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 6, 2013

Party in the front, business in the back (kind of)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't like how the dress only had sequins beneath the fabric on the front and none in the back. It made it seem cheaper, but it has a very flattering neckline. I didn't end up wearing it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Must have large chest

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looked great. The length and the waist fit true to my size. However, I'm a B cup and could not fill out the chest. I had to buy a padded bra just so that the dress wouldn't fall down. The sparkly fitted skirt with the black chiffon overlay is just perfect though.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Super Cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually wear this dress, but I did really love it! I would've worn this dress if it weren't for the fact that my other choice went so well with what my date was wearing. (We had a silver theme.) Other than that i would've worn it again. I would recommend this dress to anyone. The picture doesn't do it justice.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Very unique despite being black.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very comfortable and I could have worn a strapless bra but didn't need one. It is fairly low-cut but gave good cleavage. I especially liked that it's shimmery but not too flashy. It wasn't too short on me; it hit just above the knee. Got tons of compliments all night, not just from friends! All in all, a great choice and I totally recommend it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

Runs small

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was tight even as a 6! I did receive tons of compliments though and once the dress was on it was great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 29, 2013

Pretty and fun!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress for NYE. I didn't love the way it fit me, but I think it's because I ordered before I found out that I was pregnant and just felt a little uncomfortable. I wish that I owned it so that I could give it another chance! :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Jul 21, 2013

Loved this dress, it was exactly what I thought it would be and so many people complimented me!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is tight so if you have a big bust (not me), get a size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 13, 2013

This was a gorgeous dress and fit beautifully, but the chiffon overlay one the bottom was too opaque

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a gorgeous dress and fit beautifully, and I am a semi narrow torso with a bigger chests. I loved how I felt in this dress, but honestly you could NOT see the sequins on the lower half. This was for NYE so I REALLY wanted some sparkle. You can only see them in the picture b/c of the photography lights. I couldn't figure out a good way to raise the chiffon so you could see the sequins without looking tacky, so I sent it back unworn. :(
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

dress came when it was supposed to, with easy return bag, dress looked just like picture, fit well!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit how it was supposed to, but did tend to slide down on top, nothing too bad though, very pretty looks like picture, sequins did snag a little and zipper got caught many times
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

Dress is gorgeous!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sparkle detail is beautiful. The online pictures don't do it justice. I saw the gold/ silver but not the blue. It was a nice surprise. A beautifully made dress. I felt like a million dollars all night long. It was snug in all the right places. I can't wait to use RTR again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

puckered at hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
loved the neckline and had high hopes. I wear 10/12 in normal sizes but could not zip up the 12 in this dress all the way. As it was, the waist was already puckering and it was unflattering.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 11, 2013

So cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the cut of this dress, and the details are beautiful. I felt it ran a little small, but I have a curvy figure and sometimes dresses without any give (like this one) are hard to pull off in my usual size.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×