Take a Twirl Dress

$35 to buy
$320 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Don’t let this hot hot dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka out of your site! Sequins and chiffon…how much better can it get? Go with an accessory piece like the CC Skye's Gold Pave Pyramid Stud Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black chiffon over gold sequins. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Asymmetric hemline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem to shortest part of hemline.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(41)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 24, 2013
average
I rented this last Spring for my Sorority Formal. The dress looked beautiful online and I couldn't wait to wear it. Unfortunately another sister purchased a "copycat" dress at a department store and this dress lost a lot of appeal to me. While this one was surely better quality and probably a lot more flattering, I had my parents send it back before even trying it on/seeing it in person. If I'm renting a designer dress, I want it to stand out from the crowd. This one is nice, but nothing special.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 28, 2013
The compliments I received all night!
Ran a little smaller than I expected but thankfully, I had the additional size to wear. Loved the sheer and cut of the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2013
Felt wonderful spinning on the dance floor in this dress!
I asked my husband if he had any requests in the fancy dress I rented, and his only ask was for something that would twirl when he spun me as we danced (we're enthusiastic dancers). This one certainly did. It was a lot of fun to dance in, and it made me feel very pretty and elegant. The compliments flowed. My fit ended up landing somewhere between the 8 and the 10 I rented, so I actually wore the two sizes back to back for our company holiday parties. I had to rate the dress a 4 is because the boning had begun to protrude in the top and poked into my skin on the 10. The 8 didn't have that problem, fortunately, and so I didn't have two nights of poked skin.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2013
None
I recieved the dresss tonight on Thurday, Feb 7 and my gala is for Saturday, Feb 9. But the dress runs to small so I have to return it tomorrow..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2011
Partying with all of my friends for my birthday
I wore this dress on my birthday and it felt amazing! I felt like a million bucks all night and received so many compliments. It's the perfect mix of classy and excitement, and the fit is great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
Fun time
Great dress. I like it more in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2012
Fit like a glove!
It fit perfectly! The top was fitted like a corset, not uncomfortably tight at all, but tight enough that I didn't have to wear a bra, which is always a relief! The mullet style dress was fun to dance in, and the sequins reflected the light perfectly, catching everyone's eye. I received compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2013
I absolutely loved the miniskirt underneath the chiffon and the way its sequins sparkled!
I had been planning on getting this dress for months, but because it was Homecoming season, I was not able to rent this dress with a back-up size. A size too small, the sequins dug into my skin as I moved, resulting in me tucking in some a bit of the bottom layer as close to my waistline as possible in order to make it more comfortable, which it was. Besides that, it was really soft, in great condition, and I loved it. It squished my bust since I'm a 34D, but I'd definitely rent it again if I had a back-up size available!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2013
Party in the front, business in the back (kind of)
I didn't like how the dress only had sequins beneath the fabric on the front and none in the back. It made it seem cheaper, but it has a very flattering neckline. I didn't end up wearing it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2013
Winter and Glitter
I had been eyeing this dress on RTR for a while. It was all I hoped for! Very fun and flirty. The glitter part is short but the light black overlay keeps it more conservative. Since the main dress is a bit tight, there was a bit of a pucker near the lower back but the overlay made it work. Looks great on the chest and shoulders. Very fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2013
Great Dress! But Not for my Occasion.
I had many compliments even though I was slightly overdressed for a dance. Loved the feel of the fabric, the boning and the tightness of the dress kept me from worrying the dress would fall down.This dress is one of the strapless dresses I could wear because the dress would not fall down. I have a wide chest so it was slightly hard to get the invisible zipper up. I had to ask a friend for help.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2013
Amazing dress, really stylish and beautiful
I am a size six in Ann Taylor dresses but you have to think that this dress is designed for really skinny girls with no busts. the bust part fit way too snugged, i thought the dress was gonna run big so i rented the 4 and 6. the bust form of this dress is like a 32 B. The 6 leaves marks on my breast, i cant breath in it, but i will suck it up for the fact that i look stunning in this dress. it hits at my mid thigh and rides up as i walk. i give it 4 stars because it is so gorgeous but it truelly runs small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Love this dress!
Perfect fit, got so many compliments! Fit exactly true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 2, 2013
Getting compliments all night!
It was an amazing dress! I loved the fit and the length and it supported my chest pretty well. I have no cons about this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2013
Rent this dress!
I wore this dress to my law prom, and it made me feel glamorous and classy all night. I was "prom duchess," and this dress made me feel like royalty!! It was also very comfortable to dance in. However, I had to put some tape on the the chest part to prevent it from poking me (the size 6 that I tried was extremely pokey in the entire top half; not sure why). I think this dress runs true to size; make sure it is fitted, otherwise it'll make you look frumpy, especially around the chest. I have a fairly small chest (less than a full B), so the dress slid down a little bit, but it has sufficient structure (like a corset) to stay up, especially with the help of some body tape. Lengthwise, I found the fit was perfect: I'm only 5'2", and the sheer outer piece hit just above my knee. Highly recommended for a cocktail event, prom, or any other formal affair. I think the dress is much sexier and more fun than the pictures give it credit for - the inner sequined dress is short and fitted, and the sheer outer piece opens very nicely, especially when you walk. I'd love to wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 19, 2013
Super Cute!
I didn't actually wear this dress, but I did really love it! I would've worn this dress if it weren't for the fact that my other choice went so well with what my date was wearing. (We had a silver theme.) Other than that i would've worn it again. I would recommend this dress to anyone. The picture doesn't do it justice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2013
Absolutely beautiful. Very unique despite being black.
The dress was very comfortable and I could have worn a strapless bra but didn't need one. It is fairly low-cut but gave good cleavage. I especially liked that it's shimmery but not too flashy. It wasn't too short on me; it hit just above the knee. Got tons of compliments all night, not just from friends! All in all, a great choice and I totally recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Turnabout 2013
I needed a dress ASAP for my school's turnabout and this dress caught my eye. The sequin part is actually really fitted, especially if you have hips and I had to wear my 8 complimentary size to squeeze into it. Also, there was a snag in the boning so i ended up with a huge scar under my bust from the dress rubbing against it all night. overall great dress, I just wish RTR would take dresses out of inventory that are that destroyed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
July 21, 2013
Loved this dress, it was exactly what I thought it would be and so many people complimented me!!
It is tight so if you have a big bust (not me), get a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2013
This was a gorgeous dress and fit beautifully, but the chiffon overlay one the bottom was too opaque
This was a gorgeous dress and fit beautifully, and I am a semi narrow torso with a bigger chests. I loved how I felt in this dress, but honestly you could NOT see the sequins on the lower half. This was for NYE so I REALLY wanted some sparkle. You can only see them in the picture b/c of the photography lights. I couldn't figure out a good way to raise the chiffon so you could see the sequins without looking tacky, so I sent it back unworn. :(
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 11, 2013
dress came when it was supposed to, with easy return bag, dress looked just like picture, fit well!!
fit how it was supposed to, but did tend to slide down on top, nothing too bad though, very pretty looks like picture, sequins did snag a little and zipper got caught many times
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 12, 2013
Dress is gorgeous!
The sparkle detail is beautiful. The online pictures don't do it justice. I saw the gold/ silver but not the blue. It was a nice surprise. A beautifully made dress. I felt like a million dollars all night long. It was snug in all the right places. I can't wait to use RTR again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2013
Pretty, but makes your tummy look big and all of the sparkle gets covered up!!
This dress was really pretty, but the chest part of it was super uncomfortable. I kept having to pull it up, and it poked into me. I have a small bust so it fit well; it's just made strangely. The black overlay needs to be pulled back somehow so you can see the sparkly part of the dress! I would have used fabric tape if I got any. :\ Instead I ended up just pulling it back and putting my hands on my hips in pictures. It looked kind of funny though. Also, the sparkly dress kind of made my tummy look big, or that it was poking out or something. Most dresses make it look flat (and I'm pretty thin as is) so this was also weird to me. As far as service goes, I got the dress on time and everything, but on the day I had to return it, I could NOT find a convenient UPS location to drop it off at, and the ones I went to were only open while I'm in school. I ended up leaving during lunch to go find a place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 11, 2013
puckered at hips
loved the neckline and had high hopes. I wear 10/12 in normal sizes but could not zip up the 12 in this dress all the way. As it was, the waist was already puckering and it was unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 11, 2013
So cute!
I loved the cut of this dress, and the details are beautiful. I felt it ran a little small, but I have a curvy figure and sometimes dresses without any give (like this one) are hard to pull off in my usual size.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 30, 2013
Great dress, flattering
I got this as a backup dress and though I didn't end up wearing it, it was a great dress. The cut is very flattering,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2013
Perfect for a Mardi Gras themed party!
Rented this for a charity event with a Mardi Gras theme. Ran a bit tight in the chest area (and I by no means have a large chest) so I went with the size 6. Would go a size up on the second size. The front of the dress has two black sheer panels which part in the middle, so you can't see the glitters unless you part the panels, but it sure is dramatic when you do! Look at the two photos I posted to get an idea of what I mean.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2013
Beautiful and comfortable dress!
I ordered this dress as a back up, and didn't end up wearing it, but I had a hard time deciding because I loved this dress! It fit beautifully and is a great mix of elegant yet fun. The sequins shine through the mesh but are still kind of understated. I ended up lending it to my friend to wear because I couldn't let it go to waste. It was for our sorority's semi formal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2014
Perfect amount of sparkle for a LBD!
Wore this for a NYE party I helped put on for my town. Was a little concerned about sizing, as the size up and size down were both sold out for my date, but I didn't end up needing a backup size. I could probably have worn the 6 and been a little more comfortable, but the 8 worked fine (it was a little looser in the chest, and I am a busty girl), and I got lots of compliments! The undershirt is the perfect length, and the black chiffon is definitely longer than I imagined (hits the back of the knees). Overall, perfect dress for this event - classy, and great quality at a great price!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2014
Fancy dress that's comfortable!
Super flattering, even though I worried that at my height (5"2) the hi low hem might make me look stump - it didn't! Loved it, lots of compliments. Comfortable, too.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2014
Absolutely stunning dress.
This dress fit me like a glove. It wasn't too tight or too loose, but of course as with any strapless dress I had to pull it up a few times. I have a very short torso and am not very curvy, but this dress hugged the small curves I do have AND I think it made it look like I went up a cup size. Everyone I saw that night complimented me on it and at the end of the night I really didn't want to take it off. I'm going on a trip in a couple of weeks and well definitely be renting through RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 9, 2014
It was the perfect amount of "hey look at me" without being over the top!
The fit was a little tight in the bust but otherwise fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 4, 2014
This dress made my 30th birthday sparkle!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's and my joint 30th birthday party at a burlesque club in Atlantic City. It was perfect, the right amount of subtle sparkle, form fitting with a flowy overlay so no body imperfections could be seen. It was a little large in the bust, but the boning helped hold it up all night. I got several compliments throughout the night and then several more after posting pictures. My only complaint about this dress is that prior to arriving to me, the boning in the back had ripped a hole in the fabric, so when I wore it, the boning stabbed me in the back all night. It was hard to dance with the sharp stabbing pain. Check all the boning before wearing this dress out so you can put a little extra padding there if you need it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 11, 2014
Beautiful dress but my daughter didn't wear it
Beautiful dress but it ran too small in the bust area and my daughter wasn't able to wear it for her winter formal.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
July 2, 2014
Thank you RTR! The whole experience was beyond my expectations in every way.
The perfect dress. There were a number of black short dresses at my junior prom, but this dress stood out because of its classic yet fun uniqueness. Despite having a sheer covering over the champagne-colored sequins, the sequins sparkled underneath and when I had pictures taken I did pull the sheer part of the dress back a bit to get a better view of them on camera. I went back and forth between this black dress and a long gown (also a RTR choice), but I am so glad I chose this one. It was comfortable to dance in, the top stayed up perfectly and although I read a review that said perhaps it was a bit itchy, I did not find it so at all. The stylists on the phone were friendly, patient, knowledgeable and eager to help. The dress arrived exactly when they said it would and the little extras that RTR add like the goodie bag with products and being able to keep the garment bag -- great touches. We live on the coast of Maine and don't have malls at our fingertips and did not have time to drive to Boston to get a dress. I could never have expected this RTR experience to be everything it was. I will always rent here from now on -- as will all my friends and their families and everyone else who asked, "Where did you get that Dress!?!"
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 28, 2014
Not the dress
I ordered both an 8 and 10 and both were WAY too small. Not for busty ladies.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Received compliments ALL night!
I'm usually a size 6, but RTR didn't have that size available for my date. So i went with the 8, knowing it'd be a little big, but i made it work. I absolutely loved everything about the dress, no complaints at all. It was my first time renting a dress from RTR and now all my friends signed up and i'm totally renting one for EVERY occasion. It's such an awesome idea.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100lbs
September 18, 2012
Loved it
The style of the dress was nice on me, but not a knockout -- I'm petite and so the pleating on the front bodice was a little droopy. Despite that, this dress is structured and stayed in place all night, even through hours of dancing! There was no tugging on it to keep it up, which was great. I did get poked a little by the boning on one side, but I stuck a blister patch under that spot and didn't feel a thing the rest of the night. I loved the sequins on the underskirt. They are gold, silver, and royal blue, which would have been helpful to know ahead of time, but it wasn't a big deal. Overall I was happy with this dress and I may even rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2014
beautiful dress - very structured and not too much bling. Great for night time wedding
The bust area was a little tight but still flattering. If I was bigger busted this would be hard to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
November 26, 2014
Too Small to Even Zip Up
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party. I went based on the review of other users that were similarly sized who stated that the size 12 fit them perfectly. This was not the case for me. The dress didn't zip up past my waist. The dress is wonderful and would have been perfect had it zipped up.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×