You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Take a Twirl Dress
Rental $40 Retail $320
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Don’t let this hot hot dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka out of your site! Sequins and chiffon…how much better can it get? Go with an accessory piece like the CC Skye's Gold Pave Pyramid Stud Bracelet.
Chat with a Stylist
Black chiffon over gold sequins. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Asymmetric hemline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem to shortest part of hemline.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos89

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Kami
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Mar 15, 2013
Must have large chest
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looked great. The length and the waist fit true to my size. However, I'm a B cup and could not fill out the chest. I had to buy a padded bra just so that the dress wouldn't fall down. The sparkly fitted skirt with the black chiffon overlay is just perfect though.
Gates
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8441
Mar 6, 2013
Party in the front, business in the back (kind of)
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't like how the dress only had sequins beneath the fabric on the front and none in the back. It made it seem cheaper, but it has a very flattering neckline. I didn't end up wearing it.
Linda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Feb 22, 2013
This dress was so flattering and flirty!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I love that the dress opens up in the front and exposes the sexy sequin dress. It was a tight squeeze but, I could still dance the whole night in it.
Akilah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8344
Feb 19, 2013
Fabulous Dress for a Fabulous Occasion
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved the dress from the moment I put it on. It felt like such a dream and all of my sorority sisters loved it. My semi-formal theme was the Roaring 20s and my dress gave an updated look to such a classy theme. The only con I have about the dress is that there were parts of the dress that stabbed me in my torso throughout the night, but I adverted it by putting on high-waisted Spanx shorts that blocked it. It was really painful tho but as long as the dress fell flat on your chest, it would be fine. If you have the option to get it, I highly suggest it because it's perfect <3
Ronnie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Feb 8, 2013
None
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I recieved the dresss tonight on Thurday, Feb 7 and my gala is for Saturday, Feb 9. But the dress runs to small so I have to return it tomorrow..
Arlette
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 28, 2013
The compliments I received all night!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little smaller than I expected but thankfully, I had the additional size to wear. Loved the sheer and cut of the dress!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jan 24, 2013
average
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this last Spring for my Sorority Formal. The dress looked beautiful online and I couldn't wait to wear it. Unfortunately another sister purchased a "copycat" dress at a department store and this dress lost a lot of appeal to me. While this one was surely better quality and probably a lot more flattering, I had my parents send it back before even trying it on/seeing it in person. If I'm renting a designer dress, I want it to stand out from the crowd. This one is nice, but nothing special.
chicshopper
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
Dec 29, 2012
Glam!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Would have loved to have worn this dress, but my backup size was not availbale. I squeezed into the 0 but my chest (34B) would not fit (got it zipped, but didn't create cleavage- just sort of smooshed them together and made them really flat from the side). A size 2 would have been perfect, so maybe next time that's what I'll do! Otherwise-- completely stunning. So many ways to glitz it up or down-- add a black blazer and tights to play down the sequins, or add some fun sparkle earrings and bracelet to really draw some attention. LOVE IT and so sad my chest is too big (for once, haha).
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 24, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable dress! Got a ton of compliments.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sequin part of the dress was more blue than it looked in the pictures and was beautiful. I usually wear a 6 but ended up wearing the 4 because it fit my bust better (it was a bit tight at the waist though). Also, the zipper in the back tended to bunch up and leave a wrinkle (why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). Overall I would highly recommend this dress!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6441
Dec 4, 2012
Not for me...
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I think that this dress would be great for certain people... Personally I thought it looked a little too pre-teen for me. The wires in the top portion of the dress were also pretty uncomfortable.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Canonical User Type: 2323
Nov 20, 2012
Great color and design, not so much for the petite.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was ordered as a back up dress for my prom and the was a lot of pros and cons that came along with this dress. It was really small in the bust area and fit long even though i ordered a size zero. The sheer fabric and sequins are really pretty but the overall dress was not that great.
Hlec
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Nov 13, 2012
Figure-flattering, sophisticated sparkle!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a huge hit! It's very flattering for hourglass shapes, since it highlights/creates a small waist while showing off curves. I'm a 34D, and while I don't usually wear a strapless bra under dresses with structure/boning, in this case, I DID need to. The dress is not as supportive up top as it could be, probably because it's been worn by many girls at this point. I was a little worried that the dress would look too youthful in person, with all the sequins and the fuller skirt, but it ended up being very sophisticated after all—something about the sheer black chiffon and the beautiful draping. It was totally fun and sparkly, and although the neckline was low, with the full, flowing skirt, it wasn't too revealing and still felt appropriate at a wedding.
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5431
Nov 12, 2012
Stunning front, frumpy back
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful and definitely eye-catching. I'm usually a 6 or 8, and liked the 6. There were a few cons though that made me choose to wear my backup dress instead. The boning and sequins on the top and underarms were a little painful. Also, there are no sequins on the back and the longer chiffon fell in an awkward place on me. I felt like the longer back, combined with the lack of sequins made it pretty frumpy looking from behind.
T
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 7431
Nov 12, 2012
Couldn't wear it, too small in the bust.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately my backup size didn't come (hurricane) and the bust on the 10 was wayyyy too small.. but it was a GORGEOUS dress!!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Oct 12, 2012
Super Flattering!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a Christmas party. It was gorgeous! The sequins underneath really sparkled any time I walked, since there is a slit down the front of the skirt. The sequin dress part does run a little short, but I am pretty tall so if you're average height it is probably just fine. Definitely a show stopper!
Holly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2223
Oct 7, 2012
Amazing, Gorgeous Dress!!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The picture does not do it justice! I rented it for homecoming and my boyfriend told me when i showed him the picture he didn't really like it, but in person it looked amazing. The dress is super comfortable and I love the black over the sparkles. The only problem was on my dress a wire from the built in bra kept scratching me. But after I taped my skin it didn't bother me. However maybe it was just me but the line where the bust would end was pretty low on me and I didn't exactly like that. Other than that the dress was amazing, got sooo many compliments!
Talie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Oct 5, 2012
Amazing NYE dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love, love, loved this dress. The photos don't do it justice. The sequins are navy, gold, black, and maybe silver - it looks so cute under the black chiffon, which billows elegantly when you move or dance. The under layer is really short, if that's a concern. The top is pretty supportive, but you could easily cram a strapless bra under there if you needed to. Love it! Wish it wasn't so memorable so I could wear it again this year.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4233
Oct 4, 2012
shipped really fast
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
looked amazing and got so many compliments!!!!
molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Sep 30, 2012
HOT
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is extremely flattering because the sequin shell is very fitted. Also, I have a huge butt so the chiffon definitely helped cover it up a little, but in a good way. Got a million compliments and felt very confident.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6434
Sep 24, 2012
Not so good
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress barely fit. I'm 5'7 and even in the bigger size it barely covered my butt. I felt like I couldn't breathe, things were poking me, and the sequins hurt. Additionally, the sheath part that goes over starts right under the breasts so if you have an hourglass figure (like me) it hides your curves and makes you look bigger than you are. I think this dress is probably better for women with little/no curves
morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Sep 23, 2012
wore my another RTR dress instead
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bust is odd. Everything fit perfectly except the bust. Maybe if I was a 34C instead of a small B it wouldnt have been a problem. I couldnt wear a strapless bra with it because of the boning of the corset. It is beautiful though. I found myself playing with the skirt as I was trying to decide if I would wear this one or the Tulip Dress. All you want to do is twirl around, which is fitting. Unless you're holding the flaps of the skirt open you cant really see all the sparkle.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6431
Sep 19, 2012
Great fit and perfect for any shape!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress, and another for New Years. I didn't go with this one but it still looked great! I had been working on losing weight and the way this fit made me feel great. It accentuates all the right areas and is still super classy!
Jesse
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2233
Sep 17, 2012
Looking in the mirror after zipping it up!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked great, and I loved it at first, but after having it on for more than 5 minutes, I found it to be really, really itchy. Thank goodness I had another dress, because I wouldn't have been able to stand the itchiness all throughout the homecoming dance!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7534
Sep 17, 2012
The sequins were extremely itchy making the dress very uncomfortable.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very uncomfortable, the sequins on top were cutting into me leaving marks. Top ran small.
Alainnah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2223
Sep 3, 2012
Awards Ceremony
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was true to size and it just sparkled under the stage lights i loved it and will defiantly be ordering from rent the runway again
stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Sep 2, 2012
Very Cute, But Hard to Zip!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a 6 and 8. At first I didn't think I would wear it because I tried on the 8 and it was big on me, and made me look a size bigger than I am. I tried on the 6, and it seemed to fit, but I couldn't get the zipper to go all the way up. I ended up asking my roommate to help me zip up the 6, and once we got the zipper up it was really cute and fit perfect! It's a little short for someone average height, but I'm short so it was the perfect length on me. I also got a lot of compliments on it that night! The only bad thing was it is a little uncomfortable because the boning of the bodice dug in a little bit. But what's fashion without a little pain, right?!
Gusdk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4532
Sep 2, 2012
Very sexy!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is very sexy and beautiful dress. I'm 34A usually wear size 4 or 2 on top, size 4 on the bottom. This dress fit perfectly on the bottom but I need some padded bra on top. Whenever I move or dance on the floor, sparkly dress was showing under the black chiffon outter layer. It was really pretty black dress with sparkles.
Roxy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2424
Aug 27, 2012
Great fun dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress..... It was perfect for my girlfriends birthday trip to Vegas. Altnough it did run a little small in size. So go up a size.
Bree_B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2333
Aug 26, 2012
Very Pretty, But A Tad Cheap
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very pretty, but the sequin bit of the dress looks and feels a bit cheap. Also, some of the sequins were a little damaged, but not enough so that others could tell. Overall, I would recommend this dress.
Roslyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3624
Aug 20, 2012
Fabulous Dress.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looked great. My only suggestion would be to say you do not need the bones in the front of the dress. They made it a little uncomfortable since they were digging into my ribs. I think the dress would be amazing still without them. Other then that the dress looked great and was so comfortable. Everyone complimented the way I looked in this great dress. Cannot wait to rent again.
Cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Aug 15, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Aug 15, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Aug 15, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is cute, but runs a little small and itchy. Wore my other option instead.
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Jun 5, 2012
Cute dress, large bust
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress (I forgot to take pictures sorry!), Luckily it was my backup dress because the dress fit pretty well except for the bust. As mentioned below you either need a well padded bra or large breast in order to look good in the dress. When I tried it on, the dress looked pretty decent except for the bust. The extra padding sort of cover up your breast (if you have small ones)... Hope that helps!
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Jun 5, 2012
Cute dress, large bust
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress (I forgot to take pictures sorry!), Luckily it was my backup dress because the dress fit pretty well except for the bust. As mentioned below you either need a well padded bra or large breast in order to look good in the dress. When I tried it on, the dress looked pretty decent except for the bust. The extra padding sort of cover up your breast (if you have small ones)... Hope that helps!
Samar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2233
Jun 1, 2012
Beautiful - A must try!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely phenomenal. I wore it to a school formal, and can easily say it was one of the prettiest dresses there. When you walk and twirl, the thin black sheath reveals the sequined layer underneath. Awesome for dancing! I wish I had ordered a size down at 0, however, because I wasn't able to fill out the bust entirely. But that's my problem, not the dress'. You really have to try this dress for some sort of occasion - my favorite dress i've ever rented from RTR. Had some very memorable moments that night, so this dress will always be special to me.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6424
Apr 16, 2012
Sizing
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fun and flirty dress, perfect for formal dances. I normally wear size 8, and the dress fit up until we tried to get the zipper to close at the top. The bodice is pretty tight, and I ended up not being able to wear the size 8 at all because my chest couldn't fit into the top (for reference, I wear a 34D).
TrixieB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Apr 11, 2012
tigh fit
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for my sorority formal. It doesnt show as much in the picture, but this dress is actually really sparkly in reality and you can definitely see the shimmery slip, which i loved! I am usually an 8 (5'7'', 36B) mostly because I have broad shoulders and ribcage. Im glad I ordered a size up because the 8 wouldnt even zip! The 10 was a perfect fit, tight enough so I didnt have to wear a bra but loose enough to be comfortable. I danced the night away in this and got many compliments!
Maria
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Feb 6, 2012
Loved it!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect, and it was so adorable!
S - Popp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Jan 1, 2012
versatile and flattering
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A great dress, with a very forgiving cut, especially through the lower half. One drawback would be that the chiffon layer that makes it so forgiving also adds a little more bulk to the area - but the overall effect worked. I wore it with thick black tights and boots to make it a little funkier for the not-so-formal event I went to, but would wear it again with slim heels for something a little classier.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress