Take a Twirl Dress

$35 to buy
$320 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Don’t let this hot hot dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka out of your site! Sequins and chiffon…how much better can it get? Go with an accessory piece like the CC Skye's Gold Pave Pyramid Stud Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black chiffon over gold sequins. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Asymmetric hemline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem to shortest part of hemline.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(41)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2012
I love the fast delivery and the pre addressed envelope makes it easy to return the day after the event.

Loved this dress. I got compliments all night! The only thing that was wrong with the dress is that the sequins snagged my nylons.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
August 26, 2012
Very Pretty, But A Tad Cheap

This dress is very pretty, but the sequin bit of the dress looks and feels a bit cheap. Also, some of the sequins were a little damaged, but not enough so that others could tell. Overall, I would recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 2, 2012
Very sexy!!

It is very sexy and beautiful dress. I'm 34A usually wear size 4 or 2 on top, size 4 on the bottom. This dress fit perfectly on the bottom but I need some padded bra on top. Whenever I move or dance on the floor, sparkly dress was showing under the black chiffon outter layer. It was really pretty black dress with sparkles.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2012
Very Cute, But Hard to Zip!

I ordered this dress in a 6 and 8. At first I didn't think I would wear it because I tried on the 8 and it was big on me, and made me look a size bigger than I am. I tried on the 6, and it seemed to fit, but I couldn't get the zipper to go all the way up. I ended up asking my roommate to help me zip up the 6, and once we got the zipper up it was really cute and fit perfect! It's a little short for someone average height, but I'm short so it was the perfect length on me. I also got a lot of compliments on it that night! The only bad thing was it is a little uncomfortable because the boning of the bodice dug in a little bit. But what's fashion without a little pain, right?!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 3, 2012
Awards Ceremony

it was true to size and it just sparkled under the stage lights i loved it and will defiantly be ordering from rent the runway again

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 40B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165lbs
October 25, 2011

Beautiful dress, hides any tummy issues. The quality was excellent, the bodice held everything in place.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2012
Loved it!

Fit perfect, and it was so adorable!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
September 11, 2012
I was so happy with everything I got from RTR! My best guy friend even said to me "You can't tell me that you don't feel absolutely beautiful in that dress!"

This dress was super cute and fit perfectly, however, the sequins did get turned around a bit and got itchy by the end of the night. I really loved this dress though it made me feel like a million bucks

View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
September 17, 2012
Looking in the mirror after zipping it up!

This dress looked great, and I loved it at first, but after having it on for more than 5 minutes, I found it to be really, really itchy. Thank goodness I had another dress, because I wouldn't have been able to stand the itchiness all throughout the homecoming dance!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Great fit and perfect for any shape!

I rented this dress, and another for New Years. I didn't go with this one but it still looked great! I had been working on losing weight and the way this fit made me feel great. It accentuates all the right areas and is still super classy!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
One of kind and beautiful!

Bodice fit perfectly, but bust ran small

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2012
This dress was amazing! I received so many compliments!

I ordered this awesome dress for a wedding. It was my first time using RTR, so i was a bit nervous. I ordered the dress in a 4 and 6...the 4 fit like a glove! It's a good thing too because the 6 had bunching going on because of the sequins pulling on the threads near the bottom. Everyone gave me so many compliments, I felt so great in this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 27, 2012
9th Grader - Homecoming - She loved it!!

We rented this for our daughters Homecoming at her High School. She is only a 9th grader and was a little hesitant on whether the dress would look to old for her...but she looked FABULOUS!!! She loved the fit and got alot of compliments!! While to me she will always look to grown when she is all dressed up ... we were very pleased with the outcome and can't wait to rent again!! ;) Julia is about 5'1 and weighs 115 lbs ... her body is athletic petite and her bust size is 34A.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 30, 2012
HOT

It is extremely flattering because the sequin shell is very fitted. Also, I have a huge butt so the chiffon definitely helped cover it up a little, but in a good way. Got a million compliments and felt very confident.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2012
shipped really fast

looked amazing and got so many compliments!!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 28F
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 5, 2012
Amazing NYE dress

I love, love, loved this dress. The photos don't do it justice. The sequins are navy, gold, black, and maybe silver - it looks so cute under the black chiffon, which billows elegantly when you move or dance. The under layer is really short, if that's a concern. The top is pretty supportive, but you could easily cram a strapless bra under there if you needed to. Love it! Wish it wasn't so memorable so I could wear it again this year.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
October 7, 2012
Amazing, Gorgeous Dress!!

The picture does not do it justice! I rented it for homecoming and my boyfriend told me when i showed him the picture he didn't really like it, but in person it looked amazing. The dress is super comfortable and I love the black over the sparkles. The only problem was on my dress a wire from the built in bra kept scratching me. But after I taped my skin it didn't bother me. However maybe it was just me but the line where the bust would end was pretty low on me and I didn't exactly like that. Other than that the dress was amazing, got sooo many compliments!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
October 19, 2012
I loved the dress, it was exactly what I expected.

It had a good fit, the only thing I was worried about was whether it would be long enough since I'm 6 feet tall but it was plenty long. My only complaint is that the boning didn't quite go up to the top of the neckline so the fabric kept rolling out and the dress tape didn't really help.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Stunning front, frumpy back

This dress was beautiful and definitely eye-catching. I'm usually a 6 or 8, and liked the 6. There were a few cons though that made me choose to wear my backup dress instead. The boning and sequins on the top and underarms were a little painful. Also, there are no sequins on the back and the longer chiffon fell in an awkward place on me. I felt like the longer back, combined with the lack of sequins made it pretty frumpy looking from behind.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
Figure-flattering, sophisticated sparkle!

This dress was a huge hit! It's very flattering for hourglass shapes, since it highlights/creates a small waist while showing off curves. I'm a 34D, and while I don't usually wear a strapless bra under dresses with structure/boning, in this case, I DID need to. The dress is not as supportive up top as it could be, probably because it's been worn by many girls at this point. I was a little worried that the dress would look too youthful in person, with all the sequins and the fuller skirt, but it ended up being very sophisticated after all—something about the sheer black chiffon and the beautiful draping. It was totally fun and sparkly, and although the neckline was low, with the full, flowing skirt, it wasn't too revealing and still felt appropriate at a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
December 6, 2012
Amazing!!

I'm the lead singer for a cover band that plays at weddings. The glitz was perfect for stage and I got the wow factor! It fit great and is the perfect length for my 5'5 height. Hit me mid thigh. I love this dress and am wearing it again next week for a performance at a holiday party. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable dress! Got a ton of compliments.

The sequin part of the dress was more blue than it looked in the pictures and was beautiful. I usually wear a 6 but ended up wearing the 4 because it fit my bust better (it was a bit tight at the waist though). Also, the zipper in the back tended to bunch up and leave a wrinkle (why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). Overall I would highly recommend this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Amazing dress for a perfect new years in Atlantic City!

Beautiful dress, I was hesitant to order at first because of the picture but after looking at user reviews/pictures I decided to take a chance. I'm so happy I did, not only is this dress beautiful but it was also so comfortable. Something that's different is the back of the dress has sequins as well which I was really happy with instead of it just being all black fabric that's shown in the RTR pictures. The previous reviews said it get a size bigger in case since it ran small. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 even though I'm usually a 6 because the sequin under-lay was shorter and more fitted which looked nicer. The bust area was tighter but it worked fine for me since I'm only an A cup. I really recommend this dress it was awesome, don't let the RTR picture deceive you!!!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2013
Feeling comfortable, sexy and fun all at the same time :)

Fits great, pulls you in where necessary and works on any body type.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2013
A perfect little black dress for parties, with just a hint of sequins for sparkle!

This dress had really great shape to it with a well-constructed corseted top and cinched waist. I made the dress boobilicious by using a backless adhesive bra, but the dress could have easily been worn without a bra at all or worn without a push up bra if you don't want to show off the girls. I believe the dress would also easily fit size C, because for me, size B, without a bra, there was plenty of room. The black chiffon overlay parts in the middle so that when you move or dance the sequins shine through. The sequin slip underneath is made of a stretchy material so it allows for some hip-room if you need it. I accessorized with Kenneth Jay Lane double tear-drop clip on earrings, a simple gold necklace, and a gold cuff bracelet on each wrist. Thank you RTR! This made for a fantastic NYE dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2013
I wore this to homecoming this fall and LOVED the dress! I received so many compliments on it!

It fit very true to size for me, and was very comfortable to wear. I thought the sequins may be itchy but they weren't at all! The sequins tended to get caught on the chiffon overlay, but it thankfully it didn't snag. The sequin part underneath is pretty short, just a heads up. Overall I was incredibly pleased with this dress and didn't want to return it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2013
I felt so beautiful in this dress at my law school's Barrister's Ball (aka "Law Prom")!

I rented a size 6 and a size 8, since I am usually a 6 but had put on a few extra pounds by this event. While the 6 was a bit tight, it looked great. The fabric hides any "fluffiness" you may have in your mid-section. I tried on the 8, and while it was more comfortable, it just hung off of me and did not show off my shape at all. This is definitely a dress where you want to rent two sizes, because there was a major difference between the two! I ended up going with the smaller, tighter one, and it looked great all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 24, 2013
average

I rented this last Spring for my Sorority Formal. The dress looked beautiful online and I couldn't wait to wear it. Unfortunately another sister purchased a "copycat" dress at a department store and this dress lost a lot of appeal to me. While this one was surely better quality and probably a lot more flattering, I had my parents send it back before even trying it on/seeing it in person. If I'm renting a designer dress, I want it to stand out from the crowd. This one is nice, but nothing special.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 173lbs
February 4, 2013
Felt wonderful spinning on the dance floor in this dress!

I asked my husband if he had any requests in the fancy dress I rented, and his only ask was for something that would twirl when he spun me as we danced (we're enthusiastic dancers). This one certainly did. It was a lot of fun to dance in, and it made me feel very pretty and elegant. The compliments flowed. My fit ended up landing somewhere between the 8 and the 10 I rented, so I actually wore the two sizes back to back for our company holiday parties. I had to rate the dress a 4 is because the boning had begun to protrude in the top and poked into my skin on the 10. The 8 didn't have that problem, fortunately, and so I didn't have two nights of poked skin.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 23, 2011
Partying with all of my friends for my birthday

I wore this dress on my birthday and it felt amazing! I felt like a million bucks all night and received so many compliments. It's the perfect mix of classy and excitement, and the fit is great.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
Fun time

Great dress. I like it more in person.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2012
Fit like a glove!

It fit perfectly! The top was fitted like a corset, not uncomfortably tight at all, but tight enough that I didn't have to wear a bra, which is always a relief! The mullet style dress was fun to dance in, and the sequins reflected the light perfectly, catching everyone's eye. I received compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2013
Winter and Glitter

I had been eyeing this dress on RTR for a while. It was all I hoped for! Very fun and flirty. The glitter part is short but the light black overlay keeps it more conservative. Since the main dress is a bit tight, there was a bit of a pucker near the lower back but the overlay made it work. Looks great on the chest and shoulders. Very fun!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2013
Great Dress! But Not for my Occasion.

I had many compliments even though I was slightly overdressed for a dance. Loved the feel of the fabric, the boning and the tightness of the dress kept me from worrying the dress would fall down.This dress is one of the strapless dresses I could wear because the dress would not fall down. I have a wide chest so it was slightly hard to get the invisible zipper up. I had to ask a friend for help.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Love this dress!

Perfect fit, got so many compliments! Fit exactly true to size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 2, 2013
Getting compliments all night!

It was an amazing dress! I loved the fit and the length and it supported my chest pretty well. I have no cons about this dress!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2013
Rent this dress!

I wore this dress to my law prom, and it made me feel glamorous and classy all night. I was "prom duchess," and this dress made me feel like royalty!! It was also very comfortable to dance in. However, I had to put some tape on the the chest part to prevent it from poking me (the size 6 that I tried was extremely pokey in the entire top half; not sure why). I think this dress runs true to size; make sure it is fitted, otherwise it'll make you look frumpy, especially around the chest. I have a fairly small chest (less than a full B), so the dress slid down a little bit, but it has sufficient structure (like a corset) to stay up, especially with the help of some body tape. Lengthwise, I found the fit was perfect: I'm only 5'2", and the sheer outer piece hit just above my knee. Highly recommended for a cocktail event, prom, or any other formal affair. I think the dress is much sexier and more fun than the pictures give it credit for - the inner sequined dress is short and fitted, and the sheer outer piece opens very nicely, especially when you walk. I'd love to wear this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 19, 2013
Super Cute!

I didn't actually wear this dress, but I did really love it! I would've worn this dress if it weren't for the fact that my other choice went so well with what my date was wearing. (We had a silver theme.) Other than that i would've worn it again. I would recommend this dress to anyone. The picture doesn't do it justice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2013
Absolutely beautiful. Very unique despite being black.

The dress was very comfortable and I could have worn a strapless bra but didn't need one. It is fairly low-cut but gave good cleavage. I especially liked that it's shimmery but not too flashy. It wasn't too short on me; it hit just above the knee. Got tons of compliments all night, not just from friends! All in all, a great choice and I totally recommend it!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
July 21, 2013
Loved this dress, it was exactly what I thought it would be and so many people complimented me!!

It is tight so if you have a big bust (not me), get a size up.

See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×