Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 retail
Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(12)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
Having the complimentary extra size is what made me love the dress. My first pick would have been way to big for me. Without the extra size I wouldn't have felt comfortable in that dress.
The moment I found this dress on RTR I knew that I'd wear it to my high school homecoming. I ordered a small (which i normally would wear) and a extra small (complimentary). The dress arrived and I ended up wearing the XS because it fit my body better whereas the S was shapeless on. I'd recommend renting your normal size and a size down just incase. Also the length is great, and the dress looks super glam & luxurious because the sequins are rectangular instead of circular. Also the sequins didn't ich or irritate my skin which is really sensitive. All in all amazing dress and I'd recommend renting it for an event that you want to sparkle at.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2012
Perfect NYE dress
This dress was fantastic. I rented a size down it fit like a glove. The perfect NYE dress. Sexy without overdoing it - which is a lot to say about a dress made entirely of sequins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 2, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this for New Years Eve. Looks great in photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2011
fun little dress!
This was my back up dress... and I didn't end up wearing it. But it is a cute party dress.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 6, 2012
Everyone loved my dress.It was perfect!
I loved this dress! I am a thicker girl with a more athletic buildand this dress made me look gorg! it hung beautifully.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful color but too big to wear!
I was really excited to wear this dress for my birthday party, but unfortunately it was too big to wear without significant pinning. The neck was low (taller girls likely will not have this problem) and the the loose fit exacerbated the overall bagginess. Disappointed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 24, 2012
I went with the other dress...
I am petite (5'2") and 117 lbs. I found the dress a little long for me. It is designed to be straight and I found it to be baggier than I wanted. I went with the other dress I rented.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress and was able to spread the word about RTR as well!
It fit great! My only complaint is the sequins did run the under part of my arm, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. Awesome dress!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
The dress was beautiful and perfect for a night out in Vegas!
I wore a Medium. I am usually a dress size 6. The dress was a lot shorter and tighter than I thought it would be. I wore shape-wear and a strapless bra underneath to make me feel more confident. I am pear shaped, so the dress was looser up top and tight around the bottom. That being said, I still thought it was flattering and I felt very pretty wearing it. My biggest complaint is the scratchy sequins! They really irritated my under arms. The color was a cross between navy and midnight blue. When the light hits the sequins, it is gorgeous!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2012
I've never gotten so many compliments on a dress in my life = ) It was perfect for my 30th birthday
True to size and flattering for any woman
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2012
Love this dress!
The color and cut were both flattering. The sequins were a bit itchy, but nothing I couldn't handle. I loved this dress and would definitely wear it again! I got compliments on it all night:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 10, 2012
I wore this for a night out in Vegas. It was a fun dress, but wasn't very flattering.
It was a little big, they didn't have the size smaller when I ordered. It was still a fun dress, and perfect for Vegas, I just wish it was a little more form fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2012
Too big for my frame!
I rented this for my bachelorette party in Vegas. The fit was too generous, and hung poorly on my boyish frame. Thankfully, it looked great on one of my friends, so the rental didn't go to waste!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2012
Perfect 21st birthday dress for the Bahamas!
It had a comfortable lining and some stretch that allowed for free movement all night long. I felt fabulous with all the sequins. It wasn't too long on my 5' petite frame, either.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 20, 2013
Great for Vegas!
Rented this beauty for a quick weekend in Vegas. It is outrageously comfortable - I felt like I was wearing comfy PJs v. a party dress. I'm usually so wary of dresses that don't have a defined fit, especially on my height, but I never felt like it made me look like I was wearing a sack. That said, the sequins can irritate the inner arms after a while, but it was barely noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
The dress was gorgeous and service was fantastic!
The dress is even more gorgeous in person. It would look great on any body type! The service was really great also, I loved that I got two sizes. I definitely recommend this dress for a party or a formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2010
Dress is awesome. It's low cut on the front, more than it shows on this picture. The length was great for me. I am 5"0 and it hit me above the knee. Felt like a million bucks in it. LOVED it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2010
Absolutely love this dress really do think I am going to find it and buy!! Wore it for my bachelorette party and looked stunning the length was perfect and wore it with peep toe black patent leather platforms and a patent black clutch no jewelry(the dress was enough).Highly recomend if you want to stand out
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2010
This is really cute and fun! Unfortunately my hips are a little to wide to pull this off since I have a skinny waiste. I looked like a tree truck since this just hangs and is not at all form fitting. I may try this again for a fun night out in AC or Vegas or my 30th Birthday! Hit at my mid thigh. Felt true to size. All in all this dress is constructed wonderfully and great for the rental price!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 10, 2010
Im 15 and i wore this to my homecoming and i loved it! it was perfect! the color is perfect and the sequins are different from normal. it looks sort of stiff in the picture but it isn't at all. i got tons of compliments and i felt amazing. make sure you wear your hair up to show off the razorback!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
October 25, 2010
This dress was fantastic! Like someone else said, the sequins scratched my arms for a bit, but I forgot about that pretty fast. The sequins are shaped differently and the back is really cool. It is a little low cut. But still, I got so many compliments, it looks great in pictures!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2010
I loved this dress!!!! It did drape on my body as it does on the model but it accentuated my curves well. I usually wear a medium but the Large fit in this style.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2010
I love this dress! It wasn't as fitted in the waist as I was hoping, but it was comfortable and the back and length are too cute. With a small chest, it can also feel very low-cut, but I got tons of compliments wearing it, and it was totally appropriate for a place like LV!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
December 21, 2010
Beautiful dress! If you have a bit to cover up in your midsection (like me!) this works like a charm. Flattering and eye-catching!
Absolutely fabulous! I wore this dress to a local bachelorette event and received tons of compliments. I'm a fair-skinned red head, so the blue looked fabulous with my coloring. Fit wise, it was perfect. The mid-section is loose enough to not feel self-conscious, but tight enough highlight your shape. Pair it with killer heels and great earrings, and hit the town!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 8
Body type: Petite
December 23, 2010
You will get 100 compliments on this dress. Totally fun, sexy, and sparkly. But not slutty. Very cute on, flattering, and fits perfectly and always flattering. Awesome for parties and nights out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2011
I took this dress to Vegas and got so many compliments. A little on the short side even on me... but it was definitely a fun dress! True to size but not exactly form-fitting. Can be a little potato-sacky on some I could see. Low cut in the front. Overall - an ultimate party dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
January 12, 2011
I rented this dress in the xsmall and small and ended up wearing the xsmall bc it was cuter shorter...I also added a skinny black belt and it was perfect! I have a large chest and was able to wear a regular racer back bra to support the girls! Definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 24, 2011
I'm 102 lbs and the XS small was too big for me. And it's long just half an inch above the knee. Wish there were more dresses for short girls like me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2011
I loved this dress! I wore it in Vegas and it was perfect. I am very short and it was the perfect short length. I am also very big busted with a curvy athletic figure and it hugged my cureves perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
March 4, 2011
This dress is unvelievable. I got it for my Vegas trip... I am 5'6" 145lbs, 36 D, ordered a M which looks stunning but a bit on the short side, and got a L to go with it... L fits pretty much the same in the bust and waist but is a few inches longer. I love the shortness but I pretty much can't bend over, sit down, or raise my arms :) Anyways, it is so much fun, a little darker than in the photo. ULTRA comfortable! 5 star recommendation for sure.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 6, 2011
I, like most people, rented this dress for a girl's weekend in Vegas. It was quite short on me, but it worked for there. The color is darker than in the photo, but I got plenty of compliments on it. Love!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 3, 2011
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. I received so many compliments on it, and I felt extra special wearing it. The sequins were a little scratchy as they rubbed against the inside of my arms, but that was hardly an issue. The mini length was just right- not too vulgar but short enough to be daring. I wore this dress with a pair of nude high heels and felt amazing the whole night. Loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
April 4, 2011
I loved this dress! It was fun and made me feel like a movie star! I got a lot of looks and compliments. It's a looser fit though, so if your going for something tight this isn't a good choice.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 14, 2011
This dress was hard to wear a bra with. I did not LOVE it yet I still wore it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2011
Awesome dress!! I wore it to a wedding and got a TON of compliments & felt amazing the entire night. It does fit lower in the front - I think it more due to the slick fabric lining than the actual cut of the dress. I added a few pieces of double-stick fashion tape to help keep the dress in place and it worked perfectly. Great fit in the bust area - a little looser than I would have preferred through the waist/hips but still a flattering cut.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 12, 2011
Loved this dress! I wore it out for a bachelorette party and it was perfect. I cinched in the waist a little with a black ribbon and it gave the perfect definition. Loved it so much I was sad to send it back!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 19, 2011
Phenomenal dress! I'm pretty tall and curvy and needed to size up for length, but the dress was a show-stopper for sure!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2011
FAB dress! I was going to a NY Yankee themed wedding and the dress was the perfect shade of navy. I received many compliments and it fit very well. I got both the XS and the S, I found that the XS was a bit short on me. I definitely recommend this dress for any fun occasion, I want to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2011
LOVED this dress! I'm 5'6 and 120 lbs and the XS fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
August 27, 2011
I thought this ran a little big, I rented the 6 and am a 36 D and it was a bit too large... the color was more royal blue than it looks here in the picture, not as dark and the rectangle sequins poked my arms so much between that and the fact that I thought it was a bit baggy, I ended up not wearing the dress at all :-(
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×