Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
December 22, 2014
Perfect sparkle
Wore to a christmas party with a blazer since it's winter. I pinned up the straps since they were a little too long for a shorty like me, and cinched in the waist with a skinny belt. So pretty after a few adjustments for the fit, so many compliments! Loved the unique shape to the sequins
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 28, 2014
Stunning and easy to wear
The fit is not too tight, very forgiving and flattering. Received lots of compliment.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
February 3, 2015
Gorgeous color!
Loves this dress - I wore the small because the XS was not available - beautiful! Pretty short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 19, 2015
Bachelorette party success!
I rented this for my bachelorette party and it was absolutely perfect!!! Got well, super comfortable and I felt fabulous! Would have kept this if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 19, 2015
Stands out!
Wore this to Vegas on my 30th birthday. I was the heaviest I had ever been & still felt gorgeous in this flattering, sexy dress. It's not itchy & heavy like other sequin dresses. Perfect for dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 27, 2014
Obsessed with this dress!
I rented this for a girl's trip to Vegas. My two friends and I wore sequin dresses that night, and mine got a ton of compliments! It was perfect for Vegas - sequins, low-cut, and short. I wore it to two clubs that night and it was so much fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2010
I love this dress! It wasn't as fitted in the waist as I was hoping, but it was comfortable and the back and length are too cute. With a small chest, it can also feel very low-cut, but I got tons of compliments wearing it, and it was totally appropriate for a place like LV!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 24, 2011
I'm 102 lbs and the XS small was too big for me. And it's long just half an inch above the knee. Wish there were more dresses for short girls like me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
August 27, 2011
I thought this ran a little big, I rented the 6 and am a 36 D and it was a bit too large... the color was more royal blue than it looks here in the picture, not as dark and the rectangle sequins poked my arms so much between that and the fact that I thought it was a bit baggy, I ended up not wearing the dress at all :-(
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2011
This dress is so much fun! I normally wear a medium, but the small fit well. It is not fitted, but is short enough that it doesn't look like a sack. Sequins are a bit scratchy on the side seams, but honestly I didn't notice because I was having so much fun! The lining is a bit slippery, so I recommend a bit of fashion tape to keep the neckline and sides in place. It's stretchy, so will accommodate a variety of figures. The rectangular sequins look very cool, you will definitely stand out! The name of this dress says it all--when you have it on, you can't help but shimmy it all night!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2011
So fun! I felt like a star(:
I loved this Dress! i got so many complements and it was so much fun to wear:) I got the XS and S. The Small was huge and thats what i normally fit into because i have a full bust but the XS fit almost perfect :)the sides were just a little big but over all it was great. I highly recommend this dress but if your REALLY tinny then don't get it because it runs pretty big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 13, 2011
Fun, flirty dress
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi formal and it was so much fun! It was a last minute decision and there weren't a lot of dresses left to choose from, but I am so glad this dress was there. I'm usually a small but the XS fit perfeclty! I'm 5'2" so this short dress showed off my legs and the sequins were just so much fun! The sequins were a little itchy under my arms, but everyone loved it and I looked great. Perfect for a fun night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2012
Fun Sequence Dress!
Wore a size small, was torn between the XS and S, but decided I would rather have it less fitted. Loved the dress, wore it for New Year's eve and it was perfect for the occasion! Only complaint was slightly scratchy under the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2012
Fun night out in Vegas.
It was a little baggy on me, which is fine- but it would kind of fall down in front and show my bra from time to time (but it probably would not do this on someone with bigger boobs). It is short, I don't think a smaller size would have covered enough. I absolutely do not regret getting this dress- it was a fun dress to wear around Vegas and I got plenty of complements on it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 24, 2012
Amazingly sparkly dress
I wanted to wear something that stood out for my bachelorette party, and this dress was amazing. It was super sparkly and so comfortable. I usually wear a size 0 and it was a little big on me. The length was perfect, but the front was pretty low.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2012
Cute Dress!
Super cute and fun dress - I wore it for my bachelorette party. I ordered a S and XS and the S ran a bit too big (XS was still a bit lose). Could be because I have a small chest but just something to look out for. Felt a bit like it was hanging on a hanger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Wore out in Vegas!
Great dress, although was not as snug as I would have liked. Wish it was more slim fitting
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
Having the complimentary extra size is what made me love the dress. My first pick would have been way to big for me. Without the extra size I wouldn't have felt comfortable in that dress.
The moment I found this dress on RTR I knew that I'd wear it to my high school homecoming. I ordered a small (which i normally would wear) and a extra small (complimentary). The dress arrived and I ended up wearing the XS because it fit my body better whereas the S was shapeless on. I'd recommend renting your normal size and a size down just incase. Also the length is great, and the dress looks super glam & luxurious because the sequins are rectangular instead of circular. Also the sequins didn't ich or irritate my skin which is really sensitive. All in all amazing dress and I'd recommend renting it for an event that you want to sparkle at.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2012
Perfect NYE dress
This dress was fantastic. I rented a size down it fit like a glove. The perfect NYE dress. Sexy without overdoing it - which is a lot to say about a dress made entirely of sequins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 2, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this for New Years Eve. Looks great in photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful color but too big to wear!
I was really excited to wear this dress for my birthday party, but unfortunately it was too big to wear without significant pinning. The neck was low (taller girls likely will not have this problem) and the the loose fit exacerbated the overall bagginess. Disappointed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 10, 2012
I wore this for a night out in Vegas. It was a fun dress, but wasn't very flattering.
It was a little big, they didn't have the size smaller when I ordered. It was still a fun dress, and perfect for Vegas, I just wish it was a little more form fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2012
Too big for my frame!
I rented this for my bachelorette party in Vegas. The fit was too generous, and hung poorly on my boyish frame. Thankfully, it looked great on one of my friends, so the rental didn't go to waste!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2013
Shiny fun!
This dress was lots of fun for my bachelorette party - it made me feel special and it definitely made me stand out. It runs a little large so order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 27, 2013
fun, but large
Wore this for a concert- it was a fun dress, but much longer than anticipated and too small on top to wear the smaller size. But a pretty color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 12, 2013
Sparkling on my birthday
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday. I got so many compliments on it. I loved how it looked and fit. Its also really comfortable. I wore it with nude BCBG heels.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 5, 2013
Perfect for Vegas!
I'm not one to purchase anything with a ton of sparkle, so it was great that I could just rent something from RTR for Vegas. Dress fit in perfectly there and really comfy since it's not fitted. One note - I think the dress has been rented out a decent amount since it seemed stretched out, I fixed this by just safety pinning it to my bra so it wouldn't fall down too far in the front (thus the 4 stars v. 5). Got random compliments from people passing by - definitely a flattering dress for any figure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 3, 2013
The dress was a big hit!
I wore this dress to my engagement party. Just like most of the reviews stated the dress ran a little big. I usually wear a small, but the XS actually fit better. I dont have much of a bust, so the top was cut pretty low on me. I had to use fashion tape to make sure my bra didnt show. The XS was also a bit short, so I made sure to wear non see through spanks just in case. It worked well and everyone kept saying how they loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2013
Perfect dress to celebrate a birthday in Vegas!
I am very petite, very close to 5ft and typically a 0 in loft and a 0 - 2 in american eagle jeans (to give you something to compare it too) The dress fit at a perfect length on me - not to short that I couldn't move and not so long that I covered everything up. I wore the xs and did feel that it was baggy around the waist - a belt made it fit better but took too much away from the effect. I got a million compliments all night long! I loved the dress - the great bonus about the bagginess was that I could eat a delicious dinner and not worry about tummy bulge. :-) You know what I'm talking about! If you are celebrating and want jaws to drop - rent this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 8, 2013
Disco Ball Dress!
Great for Vegas or NYE. Would have liked for it to cling a bit more on the rest of my body, but it was fitted pretty nicely over my chest. If you have tiny boobs, it might not be very flattering
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 4, 2014
Perfect for a night out in Vegas!
I really liked the dress. It had a ton of sparkle and was perfect for a Saturday in Vegas. The only con was that it was a little more low-cut than I would've liked and I felt like I needed to pull it up periodically throughout the night.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 12, 2014
Wore this for a Mardi Gras masquerade ball and got amazing compliments!
This dress was such a bright royal blue and really brought out my eyes!! I ordered a medium and large because of my bust, and definitely wish I had ordered a small instead (the fit is a little big). So if you are ordering two sizes I would suggest getting one size down from what you would typically wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2014
It was sparkly and fun. A great dress for Vegas!
I ordered 2 sizes. Small and Extra Small. I went with the Extra Small. It looked better a little more fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 20, 2014
Fun Flirty Dress
I rented this dress after trying it on at the RTR store in Vegas. I ended up not wearing it because I didn't have any shoes that looked good with it. Luckily I had rented another dress that looked great with my shoes. It's a fun, flirty dress that's very light and comfortable.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
July 9, 2014
Loved the dress!! Wore it for Winter Formal. Comfy and made me feel so pretty!
Very comfy!! Sparkled perfectly. Definitely a stand out dress. Loved how everything came shipped so nicely. Also love that you get to pick 2 sizes!! I originally was going to wear the medium I ordered but it was too big so thank goodness I had the small! Love RTR can't wait to use them for when I go to a wedding in a September!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
October 9, 2014
It was perfect for my nautical homecoming theme!
I usually wear a small, and got an extra small and it fit nice. Hugs the hips and isn't too short.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
February 1, 2011
I'm 5.0 and 98 pounds, so it looked too large on me, however it was a pretty dress.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 11, 2011
A little long for me (hit a kind of awkward spot on my thigh) and a little too square-ish. The shine and color of the sequins though was very nice and made it a fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 18, 2012
?
Although it doesn't show off your figure, this dress has a fabulous sparkle with unusually shaped sequins and a neckline that allows you to wear almost any bra. I wore it to a NYE formal with sheer black nylons. I loved the color (somewhere between royal and navy) and the chance to indulge in drinks and appetizers without having to suck in! Go a size smaller than you think you'd need.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 8, 2012
This dress made my birthday that much more unforgettable!
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday and it was such a hit! I loved everything about this dress and got compliments all night. I'm not tall at all and was surprised how short it was on me. (yay!) I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×