Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

187 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 128
Large 43
Photos 72
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

RTR packaging was very nice. The dresses came in a garment bag- very professional service!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. The Bride requested sequin/blingy attire. This dress was perfect! Glad RTR sent me 2 sizes! I have a longer torso so I am glad I had the medium to fall back on. The small fit in the waist and bust area, but was way too short. I wore the medium. I lost a little bit of my waist line in the dress, but still felt like the dress was flattering. I did notice by the end of the night that the sequins were rubbing against my arm quite a bit. But I just expected that to happen with a sequin dress. It is the perfect party dress. I wore an electric blue blazer to dinner, then lost the jacket for a night of dancing! Thank you RTR for a great dress and a great night!
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. The color is beautiful in person and really sparkles. It fits exactly as expected from the photos, it's not skin tight as it's not meant to be, but it hangs beautifully.
Karina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2013

The dress was gorgeous and service was fantastic!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is even more gorgeous in person. It would look great on any body type! The service was really great also, I loved that I got two sizes. I definitely recommend this dress for a party or a formal occasion!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 5, 2013

Having a unique glitter dress that sparkled all night!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very fun party dress. A little clingy and short. I paired it with a black blazer and pave diamond dangle earrings. True to size .
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Lots of compliments, very comfortable and great fit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's supposed to fit a little lose, but I wanted it a little snug since it was my birthday so I went with the XS. I'm normally a size 4, but it fit great! Such a comfortable dress to wear all night and got tons of compliments as well. I wore it with simple black pumps.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Comfy, low maintenance, dazzling dress. I would rent it again.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first RTR rental so I decided to go a little fit "safe". This dress did the trick. It has a comfy jersey lining and is a great color. Needed to use some fashion tape because it slipped a little on one side and showed the top of my bra (by the way, make sure you have a convertible bra since it's a racer back). Otherwise a great, comfy fit. The dress would hide a lot of figure flaws since it doesn't really cling tight to the body. The XS was the perfect size for me, the larger size bunched a little in the back because of the extra fabric that I didn't need. It was great for the charity event and I received a lot of complements.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Nov 2, 2012

Perfect 21st birthday dress for the Bahamas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It had a comfortable lining and some stretch that allowed for free movement all night long. I felt fabulous with all the sequins. It wasn't too long on my 5' petite frame, either.
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

Great dress, lots of sparkle perfect for NYE.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit true to size, it was a little on the short side for my taste but not to the point of where it was uncomfortable for me to wear out. I don't think this would look very good on someone who is very busty, just because of how low the neckline and how short the dress was. You also need to wear petals or fashion tape, no bra. I am 5'4" and tiny on top, it fit me nicely. The blue definitely popped in a see of black and silver dresses. I would recommend as a fun party dress.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

I wore this dress to my Sophomore Homecoming, and I felt so beautiful! My date and friends loves it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly! It wasn't too short, or too long either, and was very easy to dance in. Because my bust size is a 32B, I did look a little flat chested, but that wasn't any major problem. The sequins were scratching a little by the end of the night but nobody else had the dress and I was getting compliments all night long! This was my first RTR dress and I'm definitely going to rent again.
Terry
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 5, 2012

I've never gotten so many compliments on a dress in my life = ) It was perfect for my 30th birthday

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size and flattering for any woman
CT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 2, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for New Years Eve. Looks great in photos.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

So fun and comfortable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress, not scratchy at all. I wore a small, typically I am a medium. Great for new years eve!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 8, 2012

This dress made my birthday that much more unforgettable!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday and it was such a hit! I loved everything about this dress and got compliments all night. I'm not tall at all and was surprised how short it was on me. (yay!) I highly recommend this dress!
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Everyone loved my dress.It was perfect!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I am a thicker girl with a more athletic buildand this dress made me look gorg! it hung beautifully.
Natalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

Having the complimentary extra size is what made me love the dress. My first pick would have been way to big for me. Without the extra size I wouldn't have felt comfortable in that dress.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The moment I found this dress on RTR I knew that I'd wear it to my high school homecoming. I ordered a small (which i normally would wear) and a extra small (complimentary). The dress arrived and I ended up wearing the XS because it fit my body better whereas the S was shapeless on. I'd recommend renting your normal size and a size down just incase. Also the length is great, and the dress looks super glam & luxurious because the sequins are rectangular instead of circular. Also the sequins didn't ich or irritate my skin which is really sensitive. All in all amazing dress and I'd recommend renting it for an event that you want to sparkle at.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Dec 21, 2010

Beautiful dress! If you have a bit to cover up in your midsection (like me!) this works like a charm. Flattering and eye-catching!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely fabulous! I wore this dress to a local bachelorette event and received tons of compliments. I'm a fair-skinned red head, so the blue looked fabulous with my coloring. Fit wise, it was perfect. The mid-section is loose enough to not feel self-conscious, but tight enough highlight your shape. Pair it with killer heels and great earrings, and hit the town!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

?

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Although it doesn't show off your figure, this dress has a fabulous sparkle with unusually shaped sequins and a neckline that allows you to wear almost any bra. I wore it to a NYE formal with sheer black nylons. I loved the color (somewhere between royal and navy) and the chance to indulge in drinks and appetizers without having to suck in! Go a size smaller than you think you'd need.
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Loved the sparkles.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress look adorable on the model, but I had problems for my body type. I'm fairly pear shaped, which was the first problem. The large was way too big in the chest, but the medium was so short it showed my butt cheeks. I ended up wearing the medium and pinning it to be a shirt length with skinny jeans. It looked adorable, but would have hoped for a better fit to begin with.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 31, 2012

Everything about this dress, just so much fun!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this as a backup dress for my friends bachelorette party in Vegas and I loved this one so much I had to wear it instead. I ordered the extra small- it was just a tiny bit big in tummy area and length so I put a thin navy belt with it and it worked like a charm. the thing I loved about this dress the most were the sequins. They weren't your typical round ones, they were rectangular in shape, giving the dress really great movement and texture. if you need a dress that will really make you shine, don't hesitate on getting this one!
Mango
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 22, 2012

Feeling like a million bucks on a budget I can afford!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my engagement photos and absolutely loved it! The length and overall fit were perfect (I'm 5'3" and about 120). It's sassy but smart. The photographer fell in love with the dress and the color!
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 6, 2012

It was great getting two sizes because of the shorter length! I ordered it last minute and it came right on time

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and absolutely loved it! It was so comfortable and sexy. Definitely got a ton of complements and it photographed well. Runs a little on the shorter side but looked great with black pumps!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 28, 2012

This dress was great and random people all over Vegas complimented me on it! =)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my birthday in Vegas and it was perfect!! I got both the small and medium sizes because I didn't know which would work out better; I'm usually a 4 or a 6. The medium was a little loose at the top but it was longer than the small. The small fit better on the top, it was still a tad loose but I used fashion tape, but it was definitely short. I didn't have a problem with it, but some might. You can sit in the dress, but again it is short so just be ready for it! Haha. Also, if your arms are by your side a lot, the sequins may rub a little on the underside of your arm. Overall it was so perfect for Vegas!
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

It was a original dress. I felt good knowing that I would stand out.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. The minute I slipped it on I felt gorgeous. I wore this to homecoming and I loved being the only girl wearing that dress. Rent The Runway is a great place to get a unique dress. It was also really comfortable. I didn't worry about it riding up or sliding down. I didn't even notice the sequins scratching my arms. Definetly rent this dress.
Jannelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

So fun! I felt like a star(:

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this Dress! i got so many complements and it was so much fun to wear:) I got the XS and S. The Small was huge and thats what i normally fit into because i have a full bust but the XS fit almost perfect :)the sides were just a little big but over all it was great. I highly recommend this dress but if your REALLY tinny then don't get it because it runs pretty big.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: S
Rented for: Party
Loves this dress - I wore the small because the XS was not available - beautiful! Pretty short
cassandra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

NYE 2014

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Easy flexible fit. Totally comfortable. It is rather short, but that's how it's presented. It is not overly tight, but it is not quite as loose as it may appear in the photo as well. Great dress. Lots of sparkle. If you've never worn a sequined piece, prepare yourself for a little underarm chaffing.
Erin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Blue sequins mini dress. Perfect for a party.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit like a dream, slightly clingy, but not too clingy. The length was perfect. Not as heavy as some items covered in sequins. I loved it!
kim
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

This was the perfect dress to help me stand out for my bachelorette party in Vegas!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
it was pretty short, about mid thigh, but that was perfect for my occasion, it just may not be great for family events or anything like that. Also I was running around and dancing all night and the sparkles rubbed my underarms all night and left me with a lot of irritation the next day. Other than that though it was a gorgeous dress!
ST
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Perfect fit. Fancy, stylish, sexy and Comfortable! So Many Compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit. True to size. I was worried the small was going to be too tight/short based on other reviews. The Medium was unavailable as a backup so I took a chance. It was fine and fit similar to the model in the pic. (not too tight at all) Its a short dress, but not inappropriately, uncomfortably short. I wore this to a holiday cocktail party and got so many compliments. It was so easy and comfortable, yet a huge statement because of the color and sparkles. I paired with Nude Peep toe patent leather pumps, a couple bracelets and a cocktail ring. I am small busted and was worried about the racerback and having to wear an annoying, sagging strapless and I even got away with NO BRA. LOVE.
regina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Nov 20, 2014

perfect

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fdg
Kandis
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Great dress for the Romy and Michele group costume!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a hit! It ran true to size as far as fit around the waist goes. I ran into problems with the length of the dress since I am 5'11. I highly recommend tights or an alternate way of adding length.
Garota
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Very short and unflattering!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress looks great on the picture, however it is very short specially in you plan to wear it with heels. I ordered size S and M. They both were not very flattering around the waist line since it seems to just hang and not show your figure. If you are petite, this might be a good fit for you.
Smiley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Not flattering

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful but not flattering
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was my back-up, but it ended up as the star of the evening! I wore it to a concert and club in Vegas and it was perfect. Looks very well made, is straight and loose enough down the body to move (and eat!) in, but short enough and with enough scoop at the neck to still be sexy. If I had to nitpick, I'd say the sequins under the arms were a little scratchy. And it's kind of hard to get on and off. But neither on really bothered me. Would rent again!
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Great dress for a bachelorette party, super fun, so many compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is definitely short but surprisingly I wasn't pulling it down all night. Very comfortable. They didn't have the small so I only received XS, it fit, but if you are taller than it will be way too short. Otherwise it fit very well, room to move, wasn't tight around your mid section. Great dress!
Ericka
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 25, 2014

perfect for vegas

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The length was really short but it was perfect for Vegas
Em
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 4, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm a size 32B and the XS was really big you could see down the dress even with a push-up bra :/ I really loved the dress so I was very disappointed it didn't work out!
Lena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Perfect New Year's Eve dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is flattering to your figure. It is low cut, which is fine for New Year's or Vegas, but paired with being a little on the short side, might be a little much for other occasions. I had a lot of fun wearing this dress and received many compliments!
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

SUPER FUN DRESS!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was loose which the picture displayed but comfortable. I was afraid of scratchy around the arms, but I didn't really have that problem.
Corina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Eye catching!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was THE perfect dress for the Britney Spears concert I went to in Vegas! No cons to speak of!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×