Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

187 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 128
Large 43
Photos 72
Caro
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 10, 2012

I wore this for a night out in Vegas. It was a fun dress, but wasn't very flattering.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It was a little big, they didn't have the size smaller when I ordered. It was still a fun dress, and perfect for Vegas, I just wish it was a little more form fitting.
Monica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 12, 2013

Sparkling on my birthday

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday. I got so many compliments on it. I loved how it looked and fit. Its also really comfortable. I wore it with nude BCBG heels.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Sexy and Sparkly

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had rented this as my backup dress in case the BCBG dress didn't fit, but since the BCBG dress was a winner I lent this dress to a friend. She loved it and it looked great on her! It is sparkly and sexy at the same time! I would recommend wearing a racerback bra to eliminate the bra lines, but I would rent this again as my first choice!
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Perfect for Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I'm not one to purchase anything with a ton of sparkle, so it was great that I could just rent something from RTR for Vegas. Dress fit in perfectly there and really comfy since it's not fitted. One note - I think the dress has been rented out a decent amount since it seemed stretched out, I fixed this by just safety pinning it to my bra so it wouldn't fall down too far in the front (thus the 4 stars v. 5). Got random compliments from people passing by - definitely a flattering dress for any figure!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

Flirty fun party dress for Bachelorette

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was cut to short for me. The dress fit great up top, but it was too short to cover my butt. I loved the racer back, but it was just too short for me to wear. If you have a bubble butt, beware this may not be the best dress for you.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

"I feel like a sexy blue disco ball!"

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I chose this dress for my friend Meganto wear during my bachelorette/birthday weekend in Vegas. She is 5'2", 34B, size 6, and has an Apple body type. She wore the Medium. Her comments: "the sequins didn't bother me at all, the dress was SO flattering, I felt gorgeous and comfortable all night- please tell me where I can find this dress to keep for myself!"
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 21, 2013

I loved getting to sparkle in Vegas!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a girls trip to Vegas and I read a lot of the reviewers saying they sized up for length because this dress is short. I didn't heed their advice and rented a medium (my normal size). I didn't really have any trouble with the fit through the bodice or hips, but WOW was this dress short. I wore volleyball shorts underneath this dress for modesty purposes, but I could not sit or bend in this dress without exposing everything underneath. I still LOVED this dress and it was perfect for Vegas - where else can you wear something this short without being out of place? If I were to rent it again I'd definitely go a size up for length only.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Perfect Party Dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my birthday party/girls night out & it stole the show! Dress is form fitting and short so be ready to see some leg :) I received compliments on it all night and didn't want to take it off. I wore it with black patent heels, black diamond hoops and had black & diamond bangles. It's a great dress to do anything with!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

Cute dress, but too short for my frame.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The Medium fit well and was comfy, but my 5'7" frame was too long for this dress to conceal all "my business" if I were to need to bend at the waist. I would have been tugging at the bottom all night and been distracted. I'm a marathon runner and my tush is NOT big, but heed the warnings from me and others about the length! Also, the shape of this dress is not as flattering on my hourglass figure.. Great for showing off your legs though! If you're 5'5 or less with other than hourglass figure, it'd be a GREAT choice!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 8, 2013

Disco Ball Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great for Vegas or NYE. Would have liked for it to cling a bit more on the rest of my body, but it was fitted pretty nicely over my chest. If you have tiny boobs, it might not be very flattering
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Casino Club Dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The sequins were great for the bachelorette party at a casino club but for a girl with an hour glass figure it was snug it the hips and hung low in the bust. They dress would have been comfortable if it didn't hug the hips. I loved the racer back to this dress.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Pretty NYE Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got tons of compliments on this dress. Everyone from random people to my boyfriend loved it on me. It is extremely pretty, fun, and sparkly. Both the medium and the large fit me, but the medium was so short that it easily could have been a sparkly tank top rather than a dress. The large is also fairly short; they really mean it when they say mini! Also, I wouldn't eat a big meal in it; it shows everything! Otherwise, great dress, great experience.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 30, 2014

Fabulous dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was stunning. I ordered it pretty last minute and it got here on time and worked perfectly for homecoming. The color is beautiful and stands out a lot. I normally wear a size 2, and ordered a small and and an extra small. The small was a bit large and hung loose on me, and did not look flattering. The extra small was perfect aside from the fact that it was a bit short, but not too short to wear. I love that it's a loose fitting dress, but flattering at the same time. Love everything about this dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

The prefect amount of bling for a Vegas birthday celebration!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I did not choose this dress from the website, but when my original order failed to be delivered, RTR representatives invited me to the Vegas show room to choose a replacement. I found this and ended up loving it! It was short enough to be fun without being uncomfortable (I'm pretty tall so often even normal lengths look too short on me). I loved that it was a slim fit without being so tight that I couldn't breathe. I was able to eat dinner and have plenty of drinks without needing to suck it in all night, and it was comfortable to move and dance in all evening. The underneath layer is stretchy, and even though it is completely covered in sequins, it wasn't heavy or itchy at all. I would definitely recommend as a fun party dress.
Jordan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Wore this for a Mardi Gras masquerade ball and got amazing compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was such a bright royal blue and really brought out my eyes!! I ordered a medium and large because of my bust, and definitely wish I had ordered a small instead (the fit is a little big). So if you are ordering two sizes I would suggest getting one size down from what you would typically wear.
Jenna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 20, 2014

I wore this to my sorority formal and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! The only problem I had with it was that it was pretty short considering I am 5'10" with a big chest. I ordered a medium and a large and decided to wear the large for the extra length. I still was a little uncomfortable with how short it was but I wore nude nylons (couldn't even tell!) and that made me feel more covered up. I got so many compliments on it and I felt so fun and beautiful!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Sexy dress with room for dinner. Yes!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Best of both worlds, comfy and sexy. A dress that looks great yet still allows you to eat a nice dinner without being obvious. Perfect for a girls night out! I wore this to a bachelorette party in Vegas and it was a great selection from the RTR closet. The color blue wasn't bright but still eye catching, especially with the sparkle. I would rent again for sure.
heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Wow, comfy sparkles!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome! On a bachelorette (where 11 of us RTR-ed) I rented this dress for the Sparkle Night! I do love me some sparkles though they are typically itchy and irritate my skin, this dress did NOT, I was so happy with how it fit and how it felt. Another one that I wish I could have kept!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 3, 2014

Perfect for a Roaring Twenties party!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was comfortable, stunning, and absolutley perfect for my "Roaring Twenties," 30th Birthday Party! I would reccomend this rental to anyone and everyone!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 5, 2014

Perfect dress to look amazing for a girls night out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the color and details of the dress. The sequins are actually much more impressive in person as they are a rectangle shape. I thought it added a little more dimension to the dress. I got the XS and the S and ended up going with the S. Both fit but the XS was a little too short. The dress was very comfortable but by the end of the night my armpits hurt a little from rubbing against the sequins but it was a very minor issue. Would totally recommend for a fancy fun night out.
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 19, 2014

Perfect for a fun night out in Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a birthday outing in Vegas. Since RTR doesn't ship to Canada (yet) I had it shipped directly to the hotel/resort with no issues at all. I got the Small and Extra Small and ended up wearing the XS. I got so many compliments on it! The sequins were very shiny and really caught the light. The sequins weren't round, they are a rectangle shape that May have something to do with them being so sparkly. They did chafe a bit under my arms, but all sequin dresses will have that issue. The lining stuck out a bit on the bottom of the dress but it wasn't obvious and it didn't bother me. I wore it with white pumps and small crystal studs. This was my first time renting a dress and I will definitely do it again!
kati
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
May 21, 2014

Easy fit and perfect sparkle!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a sparkle theme night in Vegas and it was perfect. I was worried about the length bc I am 5'8" but it was just barely long enough. Probably wouldn't wear it if weren't for a night in Vegas. The fit was great and perfect for dancing!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 31, 2014

Loved the color...not a good cut for my body

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and can typically get away with a loose style dress. The sequins made me look bulky around the waist. The racer back was good looking but I didn't have a racer back bra which I should have bought for this dress. Length was mid thigh and perfect for a shorty like me! Sequins was a little bothersome under my arms but wasn't bad.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Loved the dress!! Wore it for Winter Formal. Comfy and made me feel so pretty!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfy!! Sparkled perfectly. Definitely a stand out dress. Loved how everything came shipped so nicely. Also love that you get to pick 2 sizes!! I originally was going to wear the medium I ordered but it was too big so thank goodness I had the small! Love RTR can't wait to use them for when I go to a wedding in a September!
Dion
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 9, 2014

It was awesome to stand out and I loved the color so much!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is gorgeous in color! All reviews are accurate, it's short but it's supposed to be.
Sunita
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 11, 2014

Great for Vegas!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress because I wanted something fun to wear for a night out in Vegas. I wanted something that was lower cut but looser around the stomach area and this fit the bill. It's definitely on the short side, so be careful about that. It was slightly itchy when my arms rubbed against it but really not that bad. I'm glad I had it for my first night and would definitely rent again!
K
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

This dress was comfortable and fun

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so fun! The sequins on the edge were a little bothersome at times but nothing I didn't expect from a dress like this. I felt it fit true to size. It is short, but with some metallic blue spandex shorts underneath I didn't need to feel concerned about that at all. It didn't ride up.
Roxanne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Aug 18, 2014

I felt amazing in this dress for my bachelorette party in Vegas!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was true to size super comfortable and hugs you in all the right places definitely a dress for any body type.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

perfect for a Las Vegas bach!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
one thing I will warn with this dress is that it is short! I didn't find the L to be any longer, just wider so I went with the M.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Fun dress for a birthday dinner with my husband and family

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a lot of fun to wear; flashy, yet not too much to wear to a nice dinner out with my family. The dress is very comfortable on. Highly recommend this dress!
melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Perfect for the Britney Spears concert in Vegas!!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It is really short. But I wanted a mini for Vegas, so it was perfect! I would rent this again.
Lauren
Age: 20
Oct 9, 2014

It was perfect for my nautical homecoming theme!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a small, and got an extra small and it fit nice. Hugs the hips and isn't too short.
Eve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Fun dress & great fit

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The M I'd initially ordered couldn't be sent so I wore the large. Was a bit roomier than I'd like, but it also struck me as the type of dress where one size would fit most, and it's not going to be tight. I wore it for a fleet week party and had so much fun i wanted to wear it for the rest of the weekend! Sparkles weren't too uncomfortable, and while the dress was short, it wasn't too much. Easily one of my top 5 favorite rentals!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Sexy dress - perfect for Vegas!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this dress for a girls trip to Vegas. It was VERY short, like the other reviews said, but it was perfect for Vegas where anything goes. I wanted the dress to be form-fitting so I ended up wearing the small. The dress has a lot of stretch so the small fit just fine. I also loved the racerback so I could wear a bra.
Mar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Perfect sparkle

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
Wore to a christmas party with a blazer since it's winter. I pinned up the straps since they were a little too long for a shorty like me, and cinched in the waist with a skinny belt. So pretty after a few adjustments for the fit, so many compliments! Loved the unique shape to the sequins
Sherry
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

Obsessed with this dress!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this for a girl's trip to Vegas. My two friends and I wore sequin dresses that night, and mine got a ton of compliments! It was perfect for Vegas - sequins, low-cut, and short. I wore it to two clubs that night and it was so much fun to dance in.
G
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 28, 2014

Stunning and easy to wear

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
The fit is not too tight, very forgiving and flattering. Received lots of compliment.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

Loved this dress for cruise formal night. It fit perfectly.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The dress is awesome. I am not sure how taller people wear it as it was short on me and I am 5'1. I wish it was still forsale because I would have bought it. I loved the look and the feel of the dress and got tons of compliments all night.
XtinaWeena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Bachelorette party success!

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my bachelorette party and it was absolutely perfect!!! Got well, super comfortable and I felt fabulous! Would have kept this if I could.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 11, 2015

Sexy for Dancing, but Sequins are Scratchy

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a Vegas bachelorette weekend. I am 5'2" and wore leggings underneath because it is SHORT, but it was really sexy and attention-grabbing. The main downside: the sequins are rectangular and have VERY sharp edges. By the end of the night, the insides of my arms were all cut up from the sequins!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×