Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(59)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 6, 2016
Beautiful!!

The fit was perfect. The fabric and the color were absolutely gorgeous. The only con is that the fabric is quite thick, so I felt too warm throughout the night.

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2010

I'm 5'3'' and 114 lbs. The dress runs large, I ordered an XS and it was still quite big. For the shorter girls, this dress will go down to your knees. Otherwise, a stunning dress. Only thing that bothered me was the length.

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2010

The dress runs large/long, other than that it is perfect for night events. The back does not run to low and shows off just enough skin. Loved the dress

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2010

Loved this dress right out of the garment bag! The color is beautiful and the fabric feels great on your skin-it is also fully lined! However, it does run a bit on the larger side. I am typically a size 2 to 4 & a 34C and it's just not quite as tight as I would like it to be. I never would have thought to order the XS. Other than that, great dress for your fall/winter event!

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
February 15, 2011

What a gorgeous dress! The back doesn't dip too low (so there are no bra issues), but it goes low enough to definitely be sexy. I'm 5'10" and a 32D and wore a small, so this dress definitely runs large -- in terms of length, it hit me mid-thigh. All in all, this is a truly dazzling piece that looks and feels as luxurious as the picture betrays. My boyfriend was speechless when he saw me in it (which is definitely a first). I paired it with the Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and they worked beautifully together.

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2011

I ordered this dress in an xs...usually i am a small... So def order a smaller size..i wore this dress to a wedding I was attending...this dress was absoutely amazing it fit like a glove it fell just above my knee but with a nice high strappy heal it looked perfect...I highly recommend this dress.. Loved it!

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2011

I should've read the reviews before ordering! This was stunning, but not form-fitting like it looks in the picture. I'm a size 6 and ordered a Med. due to the fact that the stylist notes said it was fitted in the bodice. It was also too long. The color and the fabric are to die for. It looked great in my pictures.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
November 1, 2011

Dress was a disappointment - Odd fit. Ordered an XS and S. And didn't work well for a thin frame like mine. At my height, 5'8 - it still hit right above the knee. My opinion, Pick another dress. Plenty to choose from! :)

BethanyNovember 1, 2011
You are absolutely STUNNING in this! I'm ordering it too...we have very similar shapes! Thanks so much.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 2, 2011

Great dress. Looks amazing without looking like you're trying too hard. I ordered an XS bc it was the only size available for the weekend. I was afraid it would be too small but it fit perfectly...hit a couple inches above the knee and was just tight enough...a small would have been too big. I'm 5'5", 130lbs, 34DD and have a slim/athletic build.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2011
soft soft velvet!!

ordered small and medium, small fit well but probably would have fit into extra small, so order down! i decided not to wear a bra with this but i am modestly chested and found that the material was thick enough that i didn't need any additional support. dress is long especially on petites(hit at top of knee) but i wore really high pumps so it worked out just fine. Dress made me feel expensive which i loved wearing to a NYC black tie event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
When we arrived in LA for this wedding the earrings I had packed looked pathetic with such a fierce dress. My boyfriend immediately made it a priority to go shopping for the perfect earrings so I could feel just as sexy as the dress made me look! I never forget him buying those earrings, and I love wearing them to this day.

sexy dress for a cold weather, winter wedding! the cut in the front ius exactly right, making your silloutte look sexy while covered up. the back doesn't go that low. the leather detail on the shoulders adds some rock n roll. i got lots of compliments, and its a very unexpected, original dress which I loved.

RachelNovember 30, 2011
that dress is stunning on you!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2011
SUNDANCE STANDOUT

Wore this to the Sundance premiere of a film I was in. I usually wear a small but wore the xsmall and it fit perfect! I thought I needed a backless bra but a regular bra didn't even show in the back. I LOVE this dress! It is perfect for any winter formal event!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2011
Too Big

I ordered a XS and a S and when they got here, i loved it right away out of the box. Fabric is great and it is well made and a beautiful color, but when i tried on the extra small, it was too big. The hips were too big and it was very long. almost to my knees. I would have loved the dress if it fitted more like the picture.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2011
Absolutely stunning.

I loved this dress. I wore it to a show and could not have been happier. All evening I caught other women eyeing my dress, and it was a great feeling! The fabric was thick enough to hide your flaws, but not too warm either. Rent this dress. It will make your life more glamorous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2012
Fireworks on NYE!

This dress is very pretty, and was great for NYE, especially the bright color and draping back. It runs a bit big -- a medium was a little large for me.

AmyJanuary 3, 2012
were you able to wear a regular bra with this dress?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
February 15, 2012
very sexy and comfortable

I wore this dress on Valentines day for a dinner date and I got so many compliments. This dress is stunning and it fits so beautifully. Will add pictures later. I also wear a small but this dress runs a bit bigger so I ended up wearing the the XS. I loved wearing this dress, it's so comfortable too, I really didn't want to return it :-)

CandiceFebruary 15, 2012
STUNNING!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
February 16, 2012
Sure to get compliments!

Absolutely beautiful dress!! It does run a tad big though. I usually wear a 2 or 4 depending on the brand, and this seemed like a big 4. I received lots of compliments and overall was very pleased with my rental, especially for the price!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2012
Great Winter Dress

I wore this dress to a winter black tie event. I was able to stay warm all night while still looking dressy enough. I chose not to wear tights and did not feel that it was too short. The color is a little darker than pictured but still a really pretty dark blue. I would definitely suggest adding some fun earrings for a little pop. The only complaint I have is that the cut of the dress seemed to be more suited for girls with wider hips - I felt like there was fabric sticking out in that area.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 29, 2012
Rent me!

I wore this dress for New Years Eve. Sadly I had no place awesome to go, but I surprised my boyfriend where he works as a waiter and he loved it. The bartender also seemed to like it, until he recognized who I was and realized he couldn't flirt with me anymore, lol. It is a fabulous dress and the small fit perfectly. It's a great feeling when you get to go down a size and look absolutely stunning.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 22, 2012
"now you're just making the rest of us look bad!"

It was a little big but overall, very beautiful! I was voted best dresse so I was glad I could pick up the award in a great dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 3, 2012
.

Fit was nice, however, it was longer than it actually appears on the model.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2012
I felt expensive.

The dress was amazingly comfortable and kept me warm in the cold weather.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Loved this dress! Got a lot of compliments! :)

I didn't think I was going to be able to wear this dress. I had ordered it to come on the 23rd of November, but FedEx messed up so it didn't get to my house until the 24th. However, it all worked out so I got to wear it to the dance at a local club (not like a dance club but a country club). I got a medium and a small, but ended up wearing the small because it seemed to fit better. I wore a normal bra with it but pinned the back so that it wouldn't show. It worked well. The best thing about the dress was that no one else had it! I also loved the material (it was very soft). This was my first time renting from Rent the Runway, and definitely won't be my last!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
Fantastic, flirty dress, perfect for a winter wedding!

I apologize for not having a photo, but I was having so much fun at the wedding, I barely stopped dancing enough to take any at all, let alone full body. This dress was fantastic and I got so many compliments. I have a small bust, so i could go braless. It was so comfortable and the back was the right about of sexy. The color was also amazing! It was a bit large around the waist, but RTR was out of the small so I didn't have my second size option. I would def rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
I felt so classy and retro in the right way!

Beautiful color, warm fabric for a winter's night out, and super glamorous while still being elegant and understated. I do think it runs a bit big, and you should be be warned that the fabric can be a little grabby on the love handles if you aren't wearing shapewear. Otherwise, I loved this dress. My boyfriend and I were told by the MC of the event that we were the most attractive couple there!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
This is the perfect dress for a wintertime date night!

This dress was amazing! It is perfect for a winter date night (my boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off of me)! The material that the dress is made of is so warm and soft and the back definitely adds a little hint of sexiness without being too revealing. I usually wear a small but when I tried it on, the dress hung off of me. Luckily, I chose the extra small as my back up size. The extra small accentuated my curves much better, although it did ride up a bit when a walked.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
February 8, 2013
Seeing the look on people's faces as i walked to my table for dinner. PRICELESS

Run's large I wore a Medium and I using double-sided tape to keep the dress from falling off of my shoulders.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
Everyone loved it!

It was beautiful

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 6, 2013
New Year's Eve

The dress arrived in perfect condition and is beautiful, unfortunately it was too long and too big. I did not order the back-up size (mistake on my part). I have a winter wedding this December that I think I'm going to order this for, this time with some back-up sizes!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 8, 2013
This dress ran HUGE. Even the extra small was too large!

Wish I could give it zero stars. Very disappointing rental - it didn't fit (and it smelled a little moldy)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 25, 2013
Beautiful dress for winter!

Wore this dress for a winter cocktail party and it was perfect for the occasion. I ordered an XS and it ran a little big. The length is conservative and would work for taller girls. Also, the color is a little darker in person. The back is beautiful!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2013
The dress felt great and looked great. Perfect for an inauguration event. Classy and sexy.

Cons - Big in the mid section and on the shoulders. If I had a smaller size (I usually wear a medium and I wore the medium) It would have been great! I still received a lot of compliments and felt great in the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 16, 2013
Loved it!

I really loved the color, the low back and the length. It is so sexy! Due to the sheen of the velvet and the hug around the hips, it would not be so flattering on a curvy figure. I think athletic or straight figures do well in this style!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 25, 2013
You'll stand out in a room I promise!

So I wore this for my senior homecoming dance. I was on court and up for queen so I wanted to make sure I stood out. This dress was so different from anyone else'! The velvet look was so complimenting and really slimmed me out, granted I wore spanks. The leather detail on the shoulders really gave it an edgy look which I totally love. I paired it with two totally blinged out bangles that actually ended up looking like cuffs on the dress itself. I wish I would've kept this dress seriously. I'm 5' flat so it was a little longer than I'm used to but it still worked out. The only thing I wish I would change is how I wore my hair. I definitely recommend wearing it up to show off the leather. also, the swoop in the back won't be as low as you expect even if you size up. Still GORGEOUS though!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2013
Runs a little large but still a great dress

I am so glad I ordered a size down, usually its the other way around. This dress drapes nicely and hugs in all the right places. The color is exactly as shown and the quality of the fabric is great.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 22, 2013
Really interesting dress that no one had but me. Loved that.

I'm 5' 10" so short dresses are such a struggle for me. But! My prom date was tall enough for me to wear heels, which I highly recommend for this dress! The back, as it is so open, is both gorgeous but also the reason I needed to go down a size; it was too big around the shoulders to be cute, so with the smaller size the arms may have been a little tighter, but that made them look thinner (problem areaaaaa) and that was fantastic, actually! This dress is perfect for the winter, but even in the spring it looked great and I had a lovely time.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2013
Beautifully elegant and sexy but still practical for colder weather.

The material is extremely soft and I had many friends petting me on the arm without realizing they were doing it. As for how I felt in it--I felt very graceful. I had equal amounts of compliments about how elegant I looked as I did on how sexy I was in it. It does run a little large-- usually wear a S but tried the XS on first and new the S would be too big for me. The XS fit just about everywhere nicely, though it could have just been a little tighter around the shoulders as I had to hike them up occasionally throughout the night. Highly recommend you wear an adhesive backless bra or use fashion tape to help hide bra straps. This dress dipped as low for me as it did on the model.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
na

na

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
This dress is perfect! You'll never want to take it off. Even better in person than the picture.

I'd been wanting this dress for over a year and didn't have an event to wear it to, but when I finally got the chance it exceeded my highest expectations. Everything about it is stunning - the fit, color, quality, leather patches for just a bit of edge, and of course, the amazing cowl back. RTR couldn't send me a small for comparison, but my size is somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and the XS fit comfortably. The fabric is soft, plush, and stretchy, so it hugs curves, but with the help of some Spanx it's still thick enough to hide flaws. The back was high enough on me I could wear a regular bra and the dress was perfectly warm and comfortable for a New Year's eve party by the ocean. I got compliments all night - was sad to have to return it. Highly recommend this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
January 14, 2014
Perfect dress for any winter occasion!

I rented this dress for the Swedish House Mafia's Black Tie Rave and it was perfect! After reading through other reviews I ordered the XS & S and ended up wearing the XS because it was an overall better fit. The small was just a big large in the arms and mid section that didn't make it as flattering as the XS. There's a slight weight that keeps the back in place so you can wear a normal bra. The dress was comfortable enough to dance the night away in and still kept me warm without sweating, probably because of the open back. I also liked how the shoulders had the mock leather giving it some edge. I would definitely rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×