Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(59)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 29, 2014
Great dress for a winter event

Polar vortex in Chicago, folks! Needed a long-sleeved, stupid-cold-winter-friendly dress for a nice date (boyfriend's 30th birthday -- he requested a steak dinner, tickets the symphony, and fancy clothes). This dress is GORGEOUS and incredibly easy to wear. I expected wear the size S based on measurements, but wound up in the XS. Both fit, but the drape was a little overwhelming in the larger size. The open back makes the sizing pretty flexible, but it's important for the arms to fit snugly to keep it from slipping off your shoulders. In short, consider sizing down. It's stretchy! I wore this with a Nubra and it worked well. I was comfortable all night and felt classy... and the open back is pretty sexy (withing being too much, because the front and arms are so covered). Wore with big earrings, black tights, and black pumps. Easy.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 33
February 21, 2014
The dress was perfect for a winter wedding in Maine. The fabric was gorgeous!

I ordered a small and an extra small but ended up wearing the small for a more classier fit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 2, 2014
Gorgeous dress. I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Photos don't do it justice!

Definitely runs a bit large and was a little longer than I expected, while the back didn't dip as low as I thought it would... None of it mattered, this was a stunning dress! Got compliments all night long and I felt beautiful. The back is the best part.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2014
blue's never been sexier!

I ordered small and x-small, ended up wearing the x-small since it snugged at hips better. The color is so amazing. Love the black leather detail on the neckline, I didnt even notice that in the picture when I rented it. It was a perfect length, not too short, not too long - perfect. The drop in the back has this weight that i tucked into my bar so you couldn't see my bar strap. Great dress, especially for the price. Very happy customer!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2014
Perfect for a holiday party!

I wore this dress to my holiday engagement party. It was gorgeous. It was a little large. I am usually a 10 and really should have ordered a medium, but made it work because I really wanted to wear it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
January 17, 2011

This dress is very beautiful and the color is very flattering. However it does run large so get a size smaller.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
November 10, 2010

I typically wear a 6 and wore the medium - could have gone to the small but depends on whether you're going for spanx-tight or not. LOVE the dress

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2012
I got a lot of compliments!

This dress is beautiful!! I recommend it for curvy women tho to fill it in and really show its style! I wore it for a new year eve party just stunning!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 6, 2012
Having my husband's jaw drop!

I wore mine to my engagement party with black tights and black patent pumps. I wore a sticky backless bra underneath. I received so many compliments not only at the party, but the after party as well (from strangers). Highly recommend this dress!!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 186lbs
December 4, 2012
You will stand out in a room full of black suits and dresses!

Rented this for a Festival of Trees event. I'll admit I was a bit nervous because I'm so tall and it looked short on the model but after reading several other tall girl reviews I decided to go with this dress. I ordered medium and the large as my backup size. The dress arrived packaged very professionally and in a garment bag. I ended up wearing the medium as the large was just a bit too big on my shoulders and was slipping off. The material was thick enough and lined that I was able to just wear pasties so I had no issue with the back. The back was sexy without being too sexy. The material is a beautiful rich, thick, velvety royal blue color. I wore black spanx tights that had the built in support that laid right under my breasts. Highly recommend this dress for not only the material but the beautiful blue color.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
December 30, 2012
The fabric is luxurious, the color is marvelous. However, the fit is off for a petite like me.

I'm usually a 00XS/P so I'm just probably out of luck when it comes to straight-from-the-rack designer clothes. I'm short but not curvy enough. The shoulders and arms swallowed me, but the back was a sight to behold. I was the host for a party so it's a shame that I can't walk around with my back on people -- that's the only great part that worked for me in this dress. =P My first review was not approved so hopefully RTR is unbiased enough to let this one through this time.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 14, 2013
This dress was an absolute dream for my 30th birthday! Jaws dropped and heads turned all night.

I was going for a regal look for my birthday. This dress nailed it! I originally wanted a small. But, it was out stock. I ordered the extra small and hoped from the best.. Luckily, it was a perfect fit! So, I would suggest to someone with my physique to get one size smaller. I would also suggest pairing with shiny black tights and black suede shoes. They were a nice compliment to the fabric of the dress. I went with simple jewelry, diamond ring, studs, and tennis bracelet. I did not want to detract from the elegance of the dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 30, 2013
Great winter party dress!

Great fabric, great color - it does run slightly big. Overall, fabulous dress for winter parties!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 1, 2013
Compliments all night long

I actually wore regular bra and pinned to back of dress. It's not that deep as on model. I also wore size xs but probably should have worn the small because as night went on the dress rode up just a bit (not bad at all though). Tons of compliments from the upper echelon of Denver high society.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
May 1, 2011

I was disappointed in this dress. It does run large, which means it can look a little homely or elderly if the fit isn't right. I like the idea of it, but I don't think the back dips low enough for it to have any sex appeal. Also, the length is kind of long. I think depending on your body type, it can be really flattering, but for me, it was too big and made me look old, so I went with the backup dress I ordered.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2012
The overall fit was awkward.

The overall fit was awkward. I expected the dress to be a lot shorter and it cut at mid-thigh. Additionally it was loose around the stomach area, I assume due to the draped back. If I was going to a formal affair (i.e. wedding) I would wear this, but for my high school dance it just didn't work.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 24, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS

So many comments on it all night long. Looked great against my tan. Low back but not too low.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Fun and Classy

I ordered this dress in both a M and L thinking that because of my big bust I might need to size up. Definitely not. I would say it is true to size and possibly even runs a bit large. The medium was falling off the shoulders a bit but I think the small would have been too tight everywhere else. The color is just as vibrant in person. Definitely got a lot of compliments.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 20, 2013
Pretty Dress, but awkward fit for me

Nice dress, beautiful fabric and color. I found it a little shorter than I expected and the waist was much to large for me, however an XS would have been too small. for me. The back is really stunning but the front a little plain.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
November 20, 2013
Great material, looks elegant, different and fun to wear!

Dress fit really well, was warm which was nice for an outdoor fall wedding- only issue (unrelated to the dress really) was that my tights were sticking together strangely and were kind of static-y.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
Was looking forward to wearing this dress but just fit strangely : /

When I opened up the package I was soooo excited about this dress because the color and the velvety fabric were sooo luscious I really thought it was going to be a favorite. But when I tried it on I was sadly disappointed as my boyfriend aptly nicknamed it the 'Star Trek dress'. Unfortunately, it was way tighter through the bust than expected, looser through the middle/torso, and the spacing at the shoulders seemed like it was meant for someone who's shoulders and collarbone started about a foot higher than mine. Also, I could've done without the strange detail at the top of each shoulder. Such a cool looking dress laying down but fits and looks like a curtain on. : /

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2013
Fabulous Material!

This dress runs small, as other renters have suggested. I rented a small and XS, and wore the XS. The material is amazing. It was so soft and hugged all the right places. This dress is elegant without being too short or too revealing. I did notice that the back does not hang as low as it does in the model’s photograph; however the draping was still very pleasing to the eye. I was able to wear this dress with a low backed strapless bra, I think without it would be a bit awkward. There is also nice black leather detail on the shoulders. I wore with black accessories and sparkly purple/blue shoes. I got tons of compliments and the color of the dress photographed amazing... definitely a great choice for an event with a lot of picture taking! I did not want to send it back! Another great NYE thanks to RTR!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2012
The color is gorgeous!

Runs a little small but overall a beautiful dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 8, 2013
I met the Mayor with my Miss California sisters. They all loved this classy royal number!

I'm a size 0 but a little taller then average at 5'6" so my arms are long. I felt that this fit a little snug around the arm pits but had a tenancy to slip off my shoulder...go figure. It's still gorgeous and worth the minimal fuss if you want to stand out! The velvet is the best choice for this royal blue. I wore it in the summer for a formal daytime meet and greet...its probably best suited for the evening or cooler weather. To see more of my Rent the Runway Fashions and events I've strutted them to follow my instagram @echoe_malone

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2017
fantastic dress,would order it again!

no complaints

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2010

loved it, the part in the back didn't hang quite like the photo for me, but it worked nonetheless. This was the backup dress i choose and ended up wearing it instead of the dark swan dress.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2010

the dress was absolutely stunning. The color was so vivid and the style of the dress so classy. The dress was not too short, but fell just at my knee and the back came down to just above the middle of my back. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to be noticed, in a good way, because this dress will definitely do it!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
December 30, 2010

this dress was amazing!!! thank you RTR!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 16, 2011
Perfect find for a winter wedding!

This dress runs pretty true to size. I'm 5'4'', 107lbs and and XS fit perfectly. The back does not drape as low as it does in the photos but the dress is gorgeous and super comfortable. I wore it to a winter wedding and got so many compliments on it! Styled just like the photo, the dress was actually pretty warm too! Fabulous dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 171lbs
April 18, 2011

This dress was amazing. I wore this dress to a friends birthday in February and it was perfect with black tights and suede booties. The draping in the back has a magnet to attach to your bra which won't show at all. I got a ton of compliments almost bought it.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
Beautiful dress

This was my first rent the runway rental and it won't be my last! This dress was even more beautiful in person. I was afraid it might be too short on me (I'm about 5'6") but it hit hit just a bit above my knees. It looks absolutely beautiful on. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and the medium was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
December 30, 2011
Christmas Hit!

This dress is very beautiful and fits great! In my opinion, top heavy girls like myself wont be as comfortable without the full support but If you're like me, cute is everything.. comfort is secondary :)

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2012
I felt like a million bucks in this dress!

This dress was not my first choice for date night. In the end I was happy with the fit, cut, and color. I had compliments all night. I would recommend this dress for any occasion!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 9, 2012
Great Dress

I wore this dress to a fall wedding and it worked well-ordered it several times and it's quite comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 28, 2012
The look on my boyfriends face when he saw me all done up.

I wore this to a wedding reception and I got a ton of complements. It is not as low in the back as you think. I was able to wear a regular bra and I bought one of those straps you can dip the back part lower. In any event, this dress was VERY flattering on me. If you order this, you are sure to blush all night from complements. The dress was also very comfy! I read the reviews and since they said it ran big so the Xsmall fit like a glove. A+++!! This was my first RTR experience and I am bragging to the WORLD about it! Can't wait for my next event so I can RTR again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 9, 2012
We went to a fancy restaurant downtown and we were the best dressed couple in the whole place! I also liked that the dress kept me warm in the cold January weather.

I got this for my New Year's Eve date with my sweetie! The color is great, it is a very deep rich blue like in the picture. The material was like a velvet suede, which was great for keeping me warm in the cold weather. The one thing I did not like about the dress was the shoulder pads which were unusually large and bulky for my frame, and also that they were black pleather patches on top of the blue material. I felt that this was somewhat distracting and detracted from the overall beauty of the dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Couldn't get the drape right

I rented this based on the look on the model, I thought it would be perfect for my 'hourglass' shape. I didn't like it. I couldn't get the drape to look as it did in the picture, and the front was just boring boring boring, not flatering at all. I have a small waist relative to my hips, and the dress didn't reallly accent it at all. So I never did wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2012
Very pretty. Short.

Be sure to get a backless optioned bra for this! It's very cute, but be careful when sitting down because the hem can ride up. Super soft material.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
October 11, 2012
I was like this beautiful blue light that everyone wanted to know about.

Loved the dress. I'm a short girl with a lot of hip, so the dress fit nice. I hugged my hips and gave me a nice waistline. I agree that this dress fit more people with curves. Loved the color and so did everyone else at the party. I usually wear Large, but the Medium fit better. The velvet is soft and beautiful. I'm not sure if it was because I'm short, but the back was open and low for me. Hid some of my flaws. In terms of length, it was right above my knees with heels on.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2012
Wore this to a Christmas event for a non-profit. Stunning

Fits true to size. Ultra-flattering cut.

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×