Playing In Paris Shift

$83 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk underneath the Eiffel Tower with your man wearing this chic Mark and James by Badgley Mischka shift.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black baroque jacquard (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Pleated drop waist skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% polyester). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 29, 2014
Very high quality dresses
Dress is a little heavy. Nice fabric for fall or winter. Loved the dropped waist
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect for a Birthday Dinner
This is a great dress! I ordered the small ( which I wore) and the medium ( way too big) if anything I would suggest ordering a smaller size as your back up size. The Kate Spade bag made it really fun. I have a pretty straight waistline so the dress worked well for me. If you are more pear shaped you might not like this style as it is snug down to the hips. I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again.
KateOctober 5, 2012
I am interested in renting this dress, but as I was reading your review, I noticed that it said you were 49 years old...is this a mistake? You seriously do not look a day over 29, and the dress looks great - so cute!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2014
It fit perfectly and was just the right length. It was stunning! I received countless compliments!
Because I am short, many dresses tend to be too long on me; however, this dress was the perfect length. The fit was great and very slenderizing. It is a classy, very tasteful, yet fun and flirty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2014
Great for 20's theme party
Rented the small and medium - the small fit but was a little more snug around the hips so I went with the medium. The looser look of the medium had more of a 20's feel so it was the better choice. A great choice for a 20's party without being costume-ish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2014
Classy and pretty dress, wish I owned it!
I rented this dress on a whim, and ended up wearing it to a networking/cocktail party for alumni of my undergrad. I loved this dress. It was perfect for an occasion of people coming from work, I felt dressed up but not overdressed. The pleated skirt is a lot of fun. I wore this dress with black flats and felt very sassy. It also made my figure look more hourglass-y and thin. Love that. If I owned this dress I would wear it to work or maybe like a confirmation, not a night out. It is very modest but very pretty. My boyfriend really liked it though, and encouraged me to wear it 2 nights in a row (um, no) because he liked it so much. If you are on the fence, definitely rent it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2014
Very Flattering
I have hips and I was worried this would highlight unwanted hip region... it actually was very flattering even with the drop waist. It looked great and I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2014
Stylish, comfortable, appropriate
I rented this dress for my husband's Christmas party at a conservative college. I didn't receive lots of compliments like I have with other RTR dresses, maybe because it's pretty straightforward. However it was extremely comfortable, warm for winter (but not hot for dancing), and it was cute without being revealing. I thought the length was perfect but I'm pretty tall, it might be longish on someone shorter than 5'9".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 22, 2014
Perfect look for a 1920's themed office holiday party!
Incredibly comfortable and classy dress; It has stretch in the fabric which is great because normally dresses are too small in the chest area on me which is why I chose size M instead of S but this one would have been fine regardless. I pulled on the dress without having to undo the zipper. I danced all night in it and was thrilled that I looked dressed up without feeling constrained in any way. Would have loved to keep this in my closet forever- It's a classic-timeless, ageless, adorable dress and yes it's much longer than it is on the model. Absolutely recommend it!.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 29, 2014
Perfect for cocktail party!
I am 4 months postpartum. This cute dress covers my tummy well & is very comfortable. Perfect for winter cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
June 18, 2014
Great for a 1920's themed party!
This dress was perfect for a 1920's themed party that I recently went to. It's longer and the fit is looser in person than on the model. It had the perfect drop waist and little flounce skirt that was popular in the 20's. It's much prettier in person, because it has some really nice detailing on the bodice and sleeves. It's a little heavy, so it might be too hot for warm weather. Thankfully, the party was in an area of California that is nice and cool at night. My husband liked it a lot and thought it was the nicest dress at the party. Also, It was soooo comfortable since it's a looser fit.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2015
Wouldn't recommend for under 5'3"
This looked very short on the model, so at 5'2" I figured it would be just slightly above the knee on me but it was well below it. That in addition to the drop waist just did not work - it was too big overall. Wouldn't recommend for petite girls!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2015
Loved this dress. It fit perfectly and I got tons of compliments.
This is the perfect dress for a cocktail party, charity event or even a fun night out on the town. It fits in all the right places. I have what I consider to be large hips and it was so slimming. I would definitely recommend this dress. I can't get a picture to upload...sorry ladies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 11, 2015
Great dress, modest but still interesting and fun. I wore it for an evening work event - perfect!
Nice, slightly loose fit. Great length on me, inch or two above knee
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2015
Did not wear. It was way too big
The arms were snug but the rest of the dress was huge and just hung baggy. Also the zipper was on the side and made the baggy hip look even bigger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
January 20, 2015
Great NYE dress!
I LOVED this dress! Wore it to dinner and theatre on NYE, where some of my friends were more casually dressed. The dress is form fitting through the torso with a cute flair at the hem. The lace top was warm; perfect for the very cold night. The dress is short but not too short, Would rent again.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2015
N/a
I loved this dress! Unfortunately it was too big. I am short and petite (5'1" and 105 lbs). After reading some reviews I was hoping that it would fit because what I lack in height I make up in bust. It was awkwardly long and large around the hips as well. If it had fit I would have given it 5 stars. I think this dress would look amazing on someone a few inches taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148lbs
February 16, 2015
Perfect winter date night dress.
I LOVED this dress, this is my first rental where I actually tried to find a way to purchase the dress after. Fit very well (I'm on the large end of a size 8 and the M was just about perfect; being short at 5'4" I might have wanted it a tad shorter and tried the S but it was fine everywhere but the hips where it was too tight). VERY comfortable and forgiving, and warm enough for the 4 degree night we had on Valentine's day. Wore with tights and booties due to the cold.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 19, 2015
Can I really pull off pleats?
I wore this for my anniversary dinner. I wanted to wear boots, because I am over heels. With boots, the pleats looked a bit anime, but I had fun in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 16, 2015
Super adorable, can be dressed down or up!
The dress was so adorable, I dressed it down for a work event but with the right accessories it could easily be very dressy too. I wore the 6 but wish I had ordered the 4 or worn a belt to add more figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 4, 2012
Long Dress - Awkward Fit
Not a nice looking dress on.... I'm tall and slender and it was super super long on me. Doesn't fit at all like it's pictured. Would not recommend.... :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
Gorgeous dress ... was a bit overkill for my date but he was impressed! :)
I was afraid that the band that went around my hips was going to be too tight with the extra small so I ordered the small as back up. The small was waaay to big in the stomach and was hanging around the hips (my hips are what cause me to order larger sizes depending on fit). The extra small was perfect! Loved it ... LOTS of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2012
This is the cutest dress! Very girlie and feminine, I received tons of compliments.
This is a great dress for almost any occasion. I loved it. The fit was great and it is very easy to wear and dance in. I would rent this again in a minute.
JenniferOctober 25, 2012
We're almost exactly the same size and build and I've order this dress to wear to a party. Can you tell me did you need to wear a tank under it or is it lined up top?
VanessaOctober 28, 2012
Hi Jennifer! Nope, you will not need a tank top. It is completely lined and super comfortable. You will be the talk to the town...Enjoy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 23, 2012
Loved this--little bit long and little bit big
I loved this dress, it was a little bit long on me came right above my knees and the XS had extra material. I wore the XS and it was great for a conservative party but looked much better on my friend who tried it on and is 4 inches taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
October 31, 2012
Awkard
S was awkward fit-- as it hit my ass weird, and the M was to big..... just didn't work for my type of body but was very pretty on the hanger. Ended up not wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
cute and retro
i wore this dress for a 1920s themed halloween party. it's very flattering and the detail on both the weave top and the pleated skirt is exceptional. i got complimented all night. one caveat, i'm 5'9" and it was still a little long on me. i would have liked it to end a half an inch higher.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Classy and Sassy
Loved it and fun to dance in with the pleated skirt.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
November 20, 2012
Loved the dress and how comfortable it was. Would consider purchasing it.
The dress has plenty of stretch in it, so you can be flexible with the size. It's very comfortable. Love the pleated skirt, which had a nice weight to it. It seemed longer than the picture implies.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 3, 2012
Not for petite people.
I ordered the two smallest sizes based on other reviews saying that it runs large. The XS was still extremely large on me and the dress is very long. Needless to say, I returned the dress immediately. I would not recommend this dress to women that are petite. It will probably end up being baggier and longer than you expect. Such a shame because it's a cute dress. This is the first time one of my RTR orders did not work for me. I was so bummed!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 8, 2012
Great fit, super comfortable!!
I wore this dress to my husband's Christmas party (cocktail party), and received so many compliments! The dress was so comfortable and was easy to wear. I have larger hips, so the dress did tend to ride up a little bit, but overall I felt the dress was true to size and great for my body type. Would definitely recommend it, and I might rent it again too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 10, 2012
This dress is even more gorgeous in person! Got a ton of compliments on it!
The top is stretchy enough to allow comfortable room for movement. Warning: the skirt is pretty short and has a tendency to ride up if you have hips because of the dropwaist. All in all though, the dress is gorgeous and comfy, and I wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 17, 2012
cute but underwhelmed
This is a cute dress for work/date (if dressed down) or can be played up for a more formal event. I received compliments but it is in no way a statement piece and I'd spend my $50 for a different RTR dress if given the chance over again. Also, the dress could get borderline dowdy due the fact that it runs quite large so be careful. I'm normally a 4-6 (small) but the XS fit much better. S
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 26, 2012
Perfect for dancing, but wear boy shorts!
Rented this for my December birthday, it was really comfortable and great for dancing! I just recommend wearing boy shorts underneath because the skirt swishes up high if you spin around.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 28, 2012
Worst Christmas Ever, But At Least I Was Well Dressed
I rented this for a Christmas sloshfest gone wrong. But, everyone loved my dress and I got tons of compliments. Yay for Rent the Runway! It was the only good thing about the day.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 31, 2012
In love with this beautiful dress and had tons of compliments all night!
I am tall and slender and always worried about how short, loose or tight dresses will be on me. This was a PERFECT fit! Very flattering! Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 6, 2013
Great for a 1920s themed party!
I rented this dress for a 1920s themed birthday party, and it was perfect! I think the drop-waist is better suited for a straighter body type. (I'm more of an hour glass.) I'm 5'3" and typically wear a dress size 4 (sometimes a 2 sometimes a 6, depending n the fit) and an XS was perfect for me in every aspect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2013
Great dress!
I wore it with flats for a party I was hosting before Christmas. It fit loosely, which I liked. I got so many compliments on it. It is a very well-made dress. The lace is so pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2013
so comfy
Cute dress so comfy. I'm 5'3' so the dress was a little longer than expected.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Such a simple process!
I rented this dress for my husbands company awards banquet. It was a great fit and great material, snug in all the right places. The length was perfect, not too short or too long. I loved the flirty feel of the pleated skirt!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 8, 2013
Very cue dress!
The hem was loose but fashion tape fixed that. I am glad I got the XS as this seems to run a bit large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect for a Gatsby themed party!
I'm 6'0 and the dress was a little on the shorter side. To help with length I paired it with black nylons which was perfect since I wore in the winter. Lots of compliments!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×