Passion Twist Dress

$56 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel the beachy winds with a tropical drink in hand by renting this summer fun Mark & James by Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress.

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Coral matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 30, 2012
LOVE THIS!
I got tons of compliments on this at prom! although it was shorter than I had imagined, (I'm 5'8) I still loved it! I ordered S and M, but ended up wearing the M for the extra length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Great color, heavy fabric
I rented this for a wedding, when I was three months pregnant and conscious of my baby bump. The color is great, especially if you accessorize well. The fabric was very heavy though, which was surprising.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 22, 2012
Feeling confident and put together!
This dress was perfect for the July wedding I was in. The bride requested we wear coral and this fit the bill. It was fun - a little short without being overtly sexy due to the draping of the dress. Also comfy for eating and drinking. I would recommend, in fact I am renting the teal version for a wedding this weekend! My order required last minute customer service, and the stylist went above and beyond to ensure I had what I needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2012
Loved The Dress!
This dress was amazing! It was a little loose on the top but overall amazing! The color is stunning.I will rent this dress again.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 30, 2012
Such a fun dress!!
This is a great dress!! It was a bit short for the more "formal" wedding I was attending, but would definitely rent this dress again for a date night. My husband LOVED it. :)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 5, 2012
Sorry this picture doesn't show the entire dress, but I am using it mostly to show the color and fabric of the dress up close. VERY comfortable and VERY complimentary style!
I rented this dress for a wedding in San Diego this past weekend. It was perfect! At first I was worried that it would be a bit too short and that I wouldn't feel comfortable moving around, but that wasn't the case at all. I decided on the L that I ordered as a back-up instead of the M just for a little breathing room. I did wear Spanx and would recommend a body smoothing underwear as the dress did show the lines in the back. As the mother of three children, I love the draped look, but I think this dress would compliment all body styles.I think the picture I am attaching shows the true color of the dress...it is a beautiful pink-coral. You could literally accessorize this dress ANY way you want to, but I chose nude patent shoes, a beaded chocolate clutch, and chocolate quartz chandelier earrings. I purchased the adhesive support bra pads from RTR, which worked perfectly without having to wear a bra. I received so many compliments at the wedding, and told everyone about RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
so easy and i got to wear designer items without the buyer's guilt!
I rented this for a CT July Wedding on the water. It was perfect and so comfortable. I was worried I would get lost in the fabric but it was just the right amount of flowy-ness to cover up any of the bloat you may develop from the fabulous cocktails and finger foods! I ended up wearing the XS just because of the length and there was a small pen mark on the S. I rented the Lilly Pulitzer clutch and Lee Angel necklace. I cant wait to rent for the next wedding coming up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 26, 2013
Great for a bump
Rented this for a wedding when I was 6 1/2 months [regnant. Fit great, super comfortable. I was a little worried about the zipper closure, but the cut of the dress is very loose and flow-y so i didn't have any problems with my tummy. Highly recommended especially if you are expecting.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 3, 2013
Runs Large
I was unable to wear the dress because it was too big. The medium was unavailable as a back up so I wore something else. Cute dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 11, 2013
Perfection! I want to buy it!
The color and draping of this dress are stunning. I received countless compliments and felt great in it. Not to mention it is beyond comfortable. I'd rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2013
Perfect dress!
LOVED this dress. The xs fit great - a tad short but it still looked fantastic. You can't go wrong with this dress. I got so many compliments - the color was a perfect coral/orange. Looks great with tan!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 13, 2013
Wonderful fit - for both me and my friend!
My friend actually ended up wearing this instead of myself for her sorority's formal event, and she looked completely and utterly gorgeous - definitely jealous I didn't end up wearing it! I think she went back and forth on the size, but because of the shortness of the dress she chose the medium and just had to bobby pin the fabric underneath her arm because it was a bit too large there. She's pretty close to my size although a bit shorter, so I suggest for anyone my heights getting a slightly larger size if you're conscious about the length. Otherwise she had no problems and I think everyone who passed her gave her compliments - jealous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
June 20, 2013
Beautiful color and shape
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but I really loved the color. Looks amazing with a tan. Sizing-wise, I would say that the dress runs true-to-size, if slightly small in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 8, 2013
Great summer dress for a wedding
Got so many compliments and felt extremely comfortable in this dress. loved the color - worked well for the beach wedding I went to with flat gold sandals and necklace shown on model.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
July 21, 2013
Got a ton of complements on the color and style of the dress. Everyone was asking where I got it.
This dress is true to size, however, the medium was way too short on me for a wedding. It fit fine everywhere else, but I went ahead and wore the large (which was big in some parts), but overall, it worked.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
August 12, 2013
Gorge. Loved this dress!!
Great drapery to dress, fun color, really easy to wear. I opted for large earrings and no necklace and that worked well (although I liked the no earrings/necklace look, too). Caution - while the dress is more than roomy and I could have worn the S, the length was too short for me to do so. I am 40 and a little paranoid about dressing like I am 20. I got many compliments on the dress. And, this was the best retail experience ever. I am just mad I was not a company founder/investor! THANK YOU RTR! I will never buy a dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2013
Couldn't feel more comfortable after just having a baby!
Great for a new "mommy". Just had our second baby right before the wedding and ordered the medium and small. Dress ran large so went with wearing the small. The dress was able to hide everything I had felt uncomfortable with and yet was still very flattering. Got compliments all night! Would def recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
September 16, 2013
I ordered this dress for a wedding, but couldn't wear it because it is VERY short.
The dress is beautiful, but extremely short if you're on the taller side. I'm only 5"8, but it was ridiculously short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 20, 2013
Fun evening at the lake in a chic dress!
I thought the sleeve would get in the way, but it didn't! The dress fit perfectly with the right amount of "hang" in the body. Not to mention, the material is soft so it was very comfortable to wear while out on a boat on the lake!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 4, 2013
The first of many rentals! Loved the dress and the ease of obtaining it!
True to size.. a little short (and im 5'3") but still felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 22, 2013
Such a flattering dress!
This was actually my back-up dress. Amongst friends, we tried on all of our dresses together to see who looked best in what dress. Three of us put this one on, all VERY different body types, and it was amazing on every one of us! We did not let the tallest one of us wear it though as it is fairly short. But the other two of us are petite and it was definitely short, but not uncomfortably so. The weight of this dress was perfect. I let another girl wear this one since my first choice fit also, but I would definitely choose this dress next time as I absolutely loved it!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
February 22, 2014
Didn't want to send it back!
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and I got complements throughout the night. The color is amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 3, 2014
I rented this for our Honeymoon. My Husband loved it and I felt amazing
Very comfortable I can't wait to rent again for a nice Summer Wedding/Event
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2014
Beautiful color and so comfy!
The fit was perfect! It was loose enough to his the problem areas, but showed off the good ones!! Definitely renting this again! Heavier fabric which made it drape perfectly!
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2014
I was excited to try RTR for the first time!
I was very excited about my first RTR experience and unfortunately the dress was much too short. I am 5'7" and when I practiced sitting down I had to make sure to really hold the dress down when I sat. I planned to rent it for my trip but I will be returning it instead. Perhaps I will have better luck next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Great dress!
Rented this for a July wedding! Very cute & flattering...super stylish yet comfy all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 9, 2014
Great dress, but not for me...
This dress worked for the occasion, however I don’t think I would rent it again. The draping made me look like I had no shape. In retrospect, I think I should have gotten something that cinched at the waist. The color was good, but it is not as vibrant as it looks in the pictures…it looked like it had been worn several times. The lining underneath also wanted to ride up, and I kept having to pull it down. The size XS fit me better through the chest and hips, but the skirt was VERY short. The XS was also uncomfortably tight under my armpit, so I went with the Small instead. It is a great dress, I just don't think it was the right one for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 25, 2014
Beautiful color and style but TOO SHORT!
I'm 5'3" and normally a size 4 or 6, but at 6 months pregnant and a bust that has ballooned from a 34B to a 36DD, I ordered a Small and Medium even though other reviewers said it ran large. RTR notified me the day of shipping that the medium wasn't available, but they had the same dress in a Medium in a royal blue color, so they shipped that in addition to the coral size small. The coral color was beautiful and the shaped draped my bump nicely but it was outrageously short! At first I thought it was because of my bump, but went I turned around to look at the back, it was barely covering my booty. I'm only 5'3" so beware if you are taller! Thankfully the size medium was much longer (came about 3" above my knee) and I was able to wear that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2014
Perfect for day-to-evening Cali Wedding
Tons of compliments on this dress, especially with the necklace (also RTR). Was just an inch or so too tight around the opening for my shoulders, so wide-shouldered ladies might want to order a size up to be safe. The rest of the fit was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 8, 2014
Colorful cocktail outfit!
Great little dress for a fancy occasion! It was comfortable, not too short, and was still able to wear a regular bra, just removed one strap. Like others said, it was easy to dance in and stood out in a sea of dark colors. I did gold accessories, but easily could have done a lot of different things with it. In that way, it's really versatile - you can dress up or down or for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 179lbs
June 17, 2014
Comfort
It was perfect fit and the jewelry was exactly as described - many compliments. I had been in a major car accident two weeks before and the dress was easy and comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2014
Great dress, just wish it was longer!
I loved this dress online and liked it even more when it arrived. Unfortunately when I tried it on, it was way too short. I'm 5'9", 5'10" on a good day, and there was no way I could sit down without giving a show to the other guests! I was so sad but was grateful that RTR was really good about returning and crediting my account.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 22, 2014
Comfy and perfect for a beach wedding
This was my backup dress. i never intended on wearing it, but thank goodness I ordered it! At 6.5 months pregnant THIS dress was amazingly comfortable and bump friendly. Not the most form flattering, but it still made me feel pretty. Lots of compliments and the color is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
July 23, 2014
Loved it!
Comfy and chic
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
July 29, 2014
Too short! But I had a bump.
I chose this dress because it was listed as "bump friendly" (which it is) and rented for a wedding I attended when I was 16 weeks pregnant (only a tiny bump at that point but I was still feeling self-conscious about it). The dress fit me and my bump but was way too short! I wish I had the Medium as a backup but that size was unavailable at the time. It's possible that the Small would have fit lenght-wise if I wasn't preggers but unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear the dress. Very cute but just a warning that it might be shorter than you think!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
August 17, 2014
Very comfortable, nice fitting dress
Pros, i m currently pregnant (2nd trimester) the dress was very comfortable! And fit perfectly!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 19, 2014
I got this dress for a charity event I put on called Mamas Night Out
This dress could not have been more perfect. I got more compliments on that dress than I have ever gotten on anything. The color was perfect, the fit was perfect, everything was perfect! I may just rent it again for next years event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2014
So comfortable!
Everyone loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 8, 2015
Fit was great
The dress was heavier than expected but the fit was so amazing. I loved wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2014
So easy to wear, comfortable, and flattering!
Wore this dress to a wedding 24 weeks pregnant. The small covered my bump perfectly. It fell a few inches above the knee. It's perfect for an expectant mom who wants to look chic.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×