Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Passion Twist Dress

$30 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel the beachy winds with a tropical drink in hand by renting this summer fun Mark & James by Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress.

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

120 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 89
Large 19
Photos 50
julia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 27, 2012

Perfect night in Vegas!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got the dress to wear in Vegas for one of my best friends 30th birthday. I've recently gained 5-10 pounds and was looking for something that was still dressy but wasnt going to make me self concious. This dress was perfect for that, very flattering, loose fitting but still made me feel cute. The fabric was sturdier than I imagined which was nice because I ordered this in the winter-it would work well for any season I think. I paired it with turquoise/light green jewelery which was an awesome contrast. Overall, great dress. Would wear again.
D
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Apr 12, 2012

Just an awesome dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding last summer and loved it! It was incredibly comfortable and I got tons of compliments. The material is heavy (in a good quality way), and forgiving and flattering. The color is vibrant - brighter than it appears in the picture.
Alexandria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

This dress got so many rave reviews! Everyone remarked that I didn't even look pregnant (I think because they thought that was the nice thing to say, lol!) I definitely did not have to sacrifice style or comfort or affordability! Love this!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5 months pregnant and so wanted to get a dress that would be roomy for my bump but still rock the event! This dress was wonderful, great color (although darker than the online pic RTR shows), nice flowy material, and just the right amount of stretch! I would normally wear an XS, but the Small was perfect and gave me a bit more length, since my tummy casued it to be appear shorter than normal I think. The ONLY complaint I have, and this could be because I'm pregnant and carrrying a little more weight than normal, is the top of the dress (from the left shoulder, across the chest, to under the right arm) seemed VERY tight--both the XS and S seemed this way...I didn't wear a bra, so it wasn't that...but the rest fit fine so I'm not too sure if it was just me. Other than that, GREAT dress for this pregnant lady!
Nellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 22, 2012

Feeling confident and put together!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the July wedding I was in. The bride requested we wear coral and this fit the bill. It was fun - a little short without being overtly sexy due to the draping of the dress. Also comfy for eating and drinking. I would recommend, in fact I am renting the teal version for a wedding this weekend! My order required last minute customer service, and the stylist went above and beyond to ensure I had what I needed.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013

This is the perfect dress for a summer wedding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is light, comfortable and I didn't have to worry about adjusting it all night. The color is just a tad darker in person but very close to the picture. I am between a size 4 and 6 so I got a size Small and I'm glad I did because the Medium would've been way too big.
Angela
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 3, 2013

Runs Large

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was unable to wear the dress because it was too big. The medium was unavailable as a back up so I wore something else. Cute dress though!
Whitney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2013

Too short and heavy ...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was tailored very well, but not a favorite in my house. The length was offensively short, falling higher than mid-thigh. I am petite so I did not expect this at all. The material is heavy, but I'm guessing this is how it's able to hang well on different body types. I may have tried it if it wasn't so short on me [clearly not appropriate for my age], but other opinions in my house thought it too "toga-like".
Anne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

Perfect dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress. The xs fit great - a tad short but it still looked fantastic. You can't go wrong with this dress. I got so many compliments - the color was a perfect coral/orange. Looks great with tan!
Julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

Wonderful fit - for both me and my friend!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My friend actually ended up wearing this instead of myself for her sorority's formal event, and she looked completely and utterly gorgeous - definitely jealous I didn't end up wearing it! I think she went back and forth on the size, but because of the shortness of the dress she chose the medium and just had to bobby pin the fabric underneath her arm because it was a bit too large there. She's pretty close to my size although a bit shorter, so I suggest for anyone my heights getting a slightly larger size if you're conscious about the length. Otherwise she had no problems and I think everyone who passed her gave her compliments - jealous!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Jun 20, 2013

Beautiful color and shape

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but I really loved the color. Looks amazing with a tan. Sizing-wise, I would say that the dress runs true-to-size, if slightly small in the bust.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Pretty but short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding but ended up not being able to wear it due to the length being much shorter than I anticipated. It's a very pretty dress and the top is very flattering.
Merechap
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Great summer dress for a wedding

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got so many compliments and felt extremely comfortable in this dress. loved the color - worked well for the beach wedding I went to with flat gold sandals and necklace shown on model.
Lyly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

Not for me.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress on me was simply a mess. Didn't hang right on my frame. DId not wear.
Lauran
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jul 21, 2013

Got a ton of complements on the color and style of the dress. Everyone was asking where I got it.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is true to size, however, the medium was way too short on me for a wedding. It fit fine everywhere else, but I went ahead and wore the large (which was big in some parts), but overall, it worked.
meg
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

I ordered this dress for a wedding, but couldn't wear it because it is VERY short.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful, but extremely short if you're on the taller side. I'm only 5"8, but it was ridiculously short.
Bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

Such a flattering dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was actually my back-up dress. Amongst friends, we tried on all of our dresses together to see who looked best in what dress. Three of us put this one on, all VERY different body types, and it was amazing on every one of us! We did not let the tallest one of us wear it though as it is fairly short. But the other two of us are petite and it was definitely short, but not uncomfortably so. The weight of this dress was perfect. I let another girl wear this one since my first choice fit also, but I would definitely choose this dress next time as I absolutely loved it!
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

Great dress, but shorter than expected

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding when I was 8 months pregnant. The dress was great, very comfortable and a great color for a Labor Day beach wedding. I'm not super tall (5'7, with most of my height in my torso vs. legs) but my height + moderate baby bump made this dress pretty short. So, great dress but definitely a bit shorter than I was expecting
Lissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Sooooo short!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Soooooooo short, could not wear it... had to send it back! Great color though!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Feb 10, 2014

This is the perfect dress if you are pregnant and still want to look glamorous!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding when I was almost 4 months pregnant and it was absolutely perfect. The dress was flowing and roomy enough to accommodate my growing bump. I would definitely recommend this dress if you are looking for a bump friendly dress that is both gorgeous and comfortable!
Queso
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Feb 22, 2014

Didn't want to send it back!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and I got complements throughout the night. The color is amazing.
Claire
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

Beautiful color and so comfy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! It was loose enough to his the problem areas, but showed off the good ones!! Definitely renting this again! Heavier fabric which made it drape perfectly!
Allison
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Mar 18, 2014

I was excited to try RTR for the first time!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was very excited about my first RTR experience and unfortunately the dress was much too short. I am 5'7" and when I practiced sitting down I had to make sure to really hold the dress down when I sat. I planned to rent it for my trip but I will be returning it instead. Perhaps I will have better luck next time.
Jessi Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a July wedding! Very cute & flattering...super stylish yet comfy all night!
Leah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2014

"Flowy & Flattering"

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I definitely loved this dress and did receive a lot of compliments on it. The color was was perfect for a summer wedding. I am not sure if I would rent this again, just b/c it wasn't a "must have" but I definitely would wear a larger accessory so it brings out the dress more or possibly a belt. This is definitely forgiving for anyone trying to hide some tummy! Very flattering around the figure, that is for sure! I ordered a XS and a backup size of a S which is what I ended up going with b/c it fit much better! The XS was a bit snug around the bust area (but then again I am a C cup) Great dress & very flowy!
Tracey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 25, 2014

Beautiful color and style but TOO SHORT!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'3" and normally a size 4 or 6, but at 6 months pregnant and a bust that has ballooned from a 34B to a 36DD, I ordered a Small and Medium even though other reviewers said it ran large. RTR notified me the day of shipping that the medium wasn't available, but they had the same dress in a Medium in a royal blue color, so they shipped that in addition to the coral size small. The coral color was beautiful and the shaped draped my bump nicely but it was outrageously short! At first I thought it was because of my bump, but went I turned around to look at the back, it was barely covering my booty. I'm only 5'3" so beware if you are taller! Thankfully the size medium was much longer (came about 3" above my knee) and I was able to wear that.
Nina
Age: 31
Jun 20, 2014

The color!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my replacement dress. I had ordered a different dress that didn't fit and honestly it just didn't do it for me. The coral color was PERFECT for a summer wedding with a tan! I received endless compliments and will definitely rent again!
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 15, 2014

Great dress, just wish it was longer!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress online and liked it even more when it arrived. Unfortunately when I tried it on, it was way too short. I'm 5'9", 5'10" on a good day, and there was no way I could sit down without giving a show to the other guests! I was so sad but was grateful that RTR was really good about returning and crediting my account.
Chelo
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 19, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable. Falls beautifully. Was perfect!,
YD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Comfy and perfect for a beach wedding

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress. i never intended on wearing it, but thank goodness I ordered it! At 6.5 months pregnant THIS dress was amazingly comfortable and bump friendly. Not the most form flattering, but it still made me feel pretty. Lots of compliments and the color is beautiful.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfy and chic
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Jul 29, 2014

Too short! But I had a bump.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress because it was listed as "bump friendly" (which it is) and rented for a wedding I attended when I was 16 weeks pregnant (only a tiny bump at that point but I was still feeling self-conscious about it). The dress fit me and my bump but was way too short! I wish I had the Medium as a backup but that size was unavailable at the time. It's possible that the Small would have fit lenght-wise if I wasn't preggers but unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear the dress. Very cute but just a warning that it might be shorter than you think!
Net
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Aug 17, 2014

Very comfortable, nice fitting dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros, i m currently pregnant (2nd trimester) the dress was very comfortable! And fit perfectly!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Sep 24, 2014

So comfortable!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everyone loved it
Megan
Age: 27
Oct 31, 2014

Didn't lay right... Not good for short torso

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really excited about this dress since I had worn a long miscka badgley for my dads wedding this last June, but this one just seemed to kind of make me look more blob like than I would have liked. I ended up wearing my backup dress which was more form fitting to give me back my hour glass shape instead of just round
Becca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Truly great dress - I loved it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great color and comfortable fit. Only (very slight) issue was that the neckline fits a little tight but not to the point of making it noticeably uncomfortable all night.
Tori
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Got tons of compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Color is beautiful

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
A stylist recommended this dress for me because the original dress I rented for New Year's Eve didn't work out. Of course on 12/30, there weren't a lot of options left. I was pretty worried, but Rent the Runway went above and beyond once again. The length of this dress is short, but I'm only 5'4 so it was perfectly short and sexy for me. It does run big, I could have worn the xs easily and still been comfortable. I did find the one strap a but tight on my neck but it wasn't so uncomfortable that I was bored by it. I would definitely rent this again. Looks great with gold shoes and accessories.
Leslie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 24, 2015

Loved this dress got so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit is comfortable and it hangs beautifully.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Way too short

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was unwearable. It didn't even cover my butt when I bent over. My husband asked if it was a shirt. Otherwise, I liked the fit! I don't even think a S or M would have been long enough for my frame.
kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

The dress was absolutely beautiful and so much fun! I received so many compliments on the color.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish it wouold have been just a bit longer. I am not tall 5'5'', but I felt it was still a bit shorter than I would have liked. It was a little too big up top, but I wouldn't have gone smaller because of the length. The fabric was heavier than I expected, but it was perfect for the event. It is definitely not a "form fitting" dress, but it is still so flattering. The color was more orangier than I expected, but it was still a fun color
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×