In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
156 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size63
Small83
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2013
the bright color was perfect for a beach wedding!
I LOVED this dress, and received so many compliments! I wore it with nude pumps and gold earrings. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2013
Great for a Vegas wedding!
Runs true to size and is comfortable for a strapless.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 14, 2013
Fit perfectly!
This was my first time using rent the runway and I cant wait to use it again! I ordered the 0, and the 2 as a back up, but ended up fitting into the 0. I needed some help getting the zipper up, but besides that the dress fit in all the right places. I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding in November, and got many compliments all night. I was in the dress from 2 in the afternoon till 1 at night and was comfortable the entire night. To sum it up RTR was very easy to use and the dress was gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2013
Fun, flirty!
I loved this dress! It was long enough to dance in and pretty comfortable. The only negative was the dress overlay would keep riding up and the built in slip would show at the bottom. If you have a big rump, just know it will ride up.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2013
Amazing dress!
I wore this dress to an August wedding and while I was worried it might be too flashy it was absolutely perfect! I got so many compliments throughout the night. The dress was true to size but did fit like a glove. The fit was very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 17, 2013
Glamorous and fun!
Great dress. Beautiful yellow color that would be appropriate for almost any season. I wore it to a late summer wedding. I rented the 2 and the 4 and went with the 2. It was a tad on the snug side but it fit me well in all the right places. The 4 could have worked but the 2 seemed more like it was tailored for my body. The dress is so fun - love the ruffle/sash thing on the side. It was surprisingly movable too, I didn't feel like it was too tight or stiff even though it was very fitted. Very high quality dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2013
I was a standout!
I got so many compliments on this dress! Yellow was definitely a standout at the entire wedding. I ordered a size 6 and 4. I ended up wearing the 4 (had to send the first one back b/c the clasp was broken) but it was slightly tight. The 6 was WAY too big on me though. I promise you'll get tons of compliments if you wear this! It was my first experience with RTR and I'll be back for more!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 1, 2013
Love, love, love this dress.
The color has more depth than appears in the photo. It is an unusual yellow that would be flattering to many skin tones. I'm short, and this was a great length. I usually wear a 4, but the zipper was just a bit too tight at the ribcage for my comfort. Lots of compliments. It was a standout.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2013
Compliments all around!
This dress looks great on, and I got compliments from everyone! In deciding between wearing this dress and another I had ordered, this dress won hands down in a vote among my friends and family. It was very comfortable and the top felt secure even while dancing. The color was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding! I'm glad I ordered a size larger as a backup, because I definitely needed it - seems to run pretty small in the waist. Once I sized up it generally fit fine, though I had to slip on a bandeau bra to make the top fit just right.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 13, 2013
So many compliments on this dress
not my usual color- and it is definitely brighter than the picture- more of a neon than a "lemon". I usually wear a 0 and had to go with the 2- it was still a little tight on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2013
Loved the color!!
The dress was gorgeous! I loved this dress and got so many compliments. The only problem was that it ran a little small, and the zipper gets stuck a little when zipping up by the belt part of the waist. But overall I loved it and had fun at a wedding in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 166lbs
June 28, 2013
Runs Small
Dress was way to small . woudl need to go 2 sizes up
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
I felt like a celebrity in this hot dress! I wore it to a wedding and it was a big hit.
I have a big butt and small top half, I wore the larger of the two sizes as it was a bit snug on my bottom.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 151lbs
June 18, 2013
A show stopper for sure.
I looked stunning on my 35th birthday. The color popped the detail is darling and this dress will set you apart from everyone else. The fit is flattering for my figure and the belt adds a nice touch. I got tons of compliments on my dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 18, 2013
So many compliments!
The dress fit very well and I received so many compliments on it. I also chose the surprise accessory pick by a stylist and she picked a beautiful tear drop earring that went perfectly with the dress. Great dress to wear to a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS DRESS!!! Everything I hoped it would be!!
I have nothing bad to say about this dress. I ordered a size 2 & 4 and I ended up wearing the 2 and it was prefect. I just recently just lost some weight so I wasnt sure what sizes to pick but I am so glad I went with the 2 and 4. I wore this dress to a wedding and I received so many complements on it. It was a little hard to seat in but once I realized that, it was easy to adjust. I matched it with nude heels and a cute nude clutch! I would definitely rent this again! Thank you RTR for another get rental!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
May 20, 2013
I had a unique dress for my senior prom!
I was a little worried because this was my first time renting and also because my dress was said to come in the day before prom, but it came in on time so the shipping is great. I ordered a size 8 because the dress supposedly ran small but the 8 was a bit large for me and my mom ended up having to pin it in the back. The dress was comfortable and I loved the design. I usually don't wear strapless dresses because I'm constantly having to pull it up but this dress stayed fine. I would recommend it but make sure you get the free second size just in case the first one doesn't fit you. Thanks RTR :)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
April 19, 2013
Felt so amazing in this dress it looked great and got a ton of compliments all night!
Fit snug formfitting and the only issue I had was the lining kept peeking out! I used a little lingerie tape and that kept it in place for the most part.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Compliments are instantaneous with this dress!
As soon as I put it on, I got so many compliments! I wore this dress to emcee a formal event. It stands out and the fanned fabric on the side gives it a nice detail to make it unique. I've never seen another dress like it. It does run small, I saw the other reviews and ordered my size and next size up. Went with the larger one. It's also a little tight in the thigh area so it pulled and made the stomach area looser than it should have been. I just made sure to stand up straight and that fixed it right away. Loved it and would definitely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 8, 2013
The Customer Service at RTR is top notch!!
This dress is beautiful straight from the box. I read the reviews and I was a little worried about the fit. I had rented a BM dress in Oct in a size 10 so I thought the 12 would fit. Before ordering, I did chat with a stylist to make sure that I could be issued a refund, if the dress did not work. Sure enough the dress came in, and the 12 did not work. I did not have the problem of it going over my hips, but I tend to be larger in the ribcage area, and the dress was very tight. I probably could have zipped the dress, but I would have been very uncomfortable all night. The dress is gorgeous though! Soon after I knew the dress was not going to work I called RTR and they gave me two options..I could get a refund, or they could overnight a backup dress. Not only did they send one backup dress, but two different styles. WOW! They could not confirm the dresses would be here before eight o'clock the next night, but I took my chances and they did arrive around 300pm. GREAT Customer service...I will continue to use this service for years to come. Only a 4star cause the dress did not fit..Not A RTR issue
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Awesome color and feel!
I loved this dress. Very flattering, although it ran pretty small in the hips for me and I had to wear the larger size. Received a lot of compliments, and felt great in the dress all night long. I would highly recommend it for a summer wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2013
Beautiful color, good fit, great for a spring/summer event!
I ordered the size 2 and 4 in this dress. I debated on which one to wear because the size 2 fit great in my chest area, but was snug from the hips down. The 4 fit great from the hips down, but was too big in the chest area. I ended up wearing the 2, got several compliments, and had a great night. Towards the end of the evening, I was definitely ready to get into something more comfortable though. I would recommend the dress to a friend, it is probably better on a girl that doesn't have too many curves, though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2013
I was excited to receive the dress, but I didn't like the way it fit. I didn't end up wearing it.
I didn't think the dress was flattering on me. Thank God for the 2nd dress, as I loved that one and wore it instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 13, 2013
Beautiful shade of yellow, very little give in material
Loved the dress! Was perfect for a wedding I was attending. However, even though I usually wear small, xsmall, 0-2 I couldnt zip this dress up. Fit perfectly everywhere except around my chest/rid cage. The material had no give and could no zip it past darker sash material. No time to send it back, had to eat the money and go with another dress. Thank god I packed one. Really sorry I couldn't wear it- it was gorgeous.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 7, 2013
Bright and Sparkly!
This dress was super fun to wear. Being very short, I was worried that the dress would not fit, but it did! The only issue was that it was a very stiff material and had no stretch to it. I had a fun night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 31, 2013
Did not get any pictures, but it was great!
Loved this dress, fit like a glove, the color was pretty, the cut super cute and I had three guys hit on me at the party, so I think that's a success :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2013
bold and beautiful!
snug fit and make sure you are not wearing dark underwear underneath.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 30, 2012
Rented for a wedding and got so many compliments and felt amazing in the dress.
The dress fit very well everywhere except for the bust. It was very large compared to the rest of the dress. I wear a 34 C and still had trouble filling it out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 28, 2012
Classy and Figure Flattering!I
I wore this dress to my sorority formal and I received a lot of compliments throughout the night. I would say the fit was just right although since I am petite, the dress rested a little below my knees. I just tucked the hem in a little bit and it was good to go.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful dress. Really stands in the crowd.
Runs very small. I am always a size 4 in every brand but I was definitely a 6 and that was still tight and contricting.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
December 10, 2012
Great dress, really unique and felt pretty
ran smaller in size than normal, I would suggest ordering up
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 29, 2012
was so excited about this dress, but too tight for my curves
This was my first RTR rental and it was beautiful online and in person. i was so disappointed that the was absolutely NO GIVE to the material. In hindsight, i should have paid close attention to the reviews. I have since ordered 3 other dresses and been very pleased as I now pay close attention to the reviews. This would be great for a person who doesn't have an ample "booty" :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2012
Fell in LOVE with this dress! The perfect balance of cute, classy, and glam.
I wore this to a outdoor wedding outisde San Francisco. It was the perfect dress. It was bright, fun, and comfortable for the summer, but the beautiful gold ribbion running down the side stepped it up a notch to become dressier and added an a flattering element. I had strangers complementing it all night. great, fun, dress for a summer affair. Fit true to size, snug, which you want for a strapless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2012
I am a teacher & wanted to wear this to Prom, but neither dress fit! Thankfully I brought an extra!
I normally wear a size 2 or a 4, so those were the two sizes I ordered. Neither one fit at all! I was able to get the 4 on and zipped, but it was so tight in the hips that I would not have been able to sit. So basically if you do not have hips (which I do) and your bust is at least a B or a C cup, then this dress will probably work for you. Just note that the fabric does not stretch at all. It was beautiful on the hanger, but unfortunately did not work with my body at all. What a bummer!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Adorable but wrinkly and zipper was broken
I wanted to wear this dress but the zipper was broken when I received it. Very flattering dress, loved the color and fit.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous!
I wore this to my boyfriend's homecoming and it was beautiful. I absolutely loves it. It doesn't have give in the hips so make sure to size up if you have full hips. I got so many compliments on the dress, I wish i didn't have to give it back. Definitely would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 3, 2012
Perfect yellow color- amazing fit and loved the sparkle
This dress is the perfect shade of yellow and the gold sparkle puts it over the top. It fit slightly small, so I was happy that I ordered one size up. Very comfortable too- overall a big hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 31, 2012
.
I loved this dress, however, I could not even fit into it :( I usually wear an 8L but I couldn't even get this dress over my hips. I could squeeze into the size 10 but it was far too tight and not flattering for my body type. I was very bummed because it is so cute.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 16, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress!
The dress was super comfortable, ran true to size, elegant, gorgeous color. Not as dressy as the picture makes it seem but the color really makes you stand out!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2012
I didn't get to wear the dress.
It runs very small.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×