Icebreaker Dress

$62 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this adorable Mark & James by Badgley Mischka to a luncheon or bridal shower. It is fun, fresh and perfect for summer weather! Pair with a flirty necklace like the Kenneth Jay Lane's A List Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in boning at bust is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with attached belt - pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in boning at bust is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with attached belt - pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ice blue ikat print cotton. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Bow back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
48 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size43
Small1
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2014
beautiful!
i actually bought this dress and i couldnt be happier! fits perfectly and i didnt have to worry about it falling down all night. fabric is lightweight, comfy and breathable. i can't wait to wear it again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2013
I didn't wear this.
I got this for prom as my back up style. I tried it on however and loved the way it felt on me. The blue accents are more of a purple up close. It's really cute and hopefully i can have an occasion to wear it to soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 6, 2013
Great rehearsal dinner dress!
I wore this dress for my summer time rehearsal dinner. I typically wear a 2 or 4 depending on how the size varies in the chest (I have a large bust and am an hourglass shape). I ended up wearing the 4 due to the boning in this dress. The 2 was just a tad too tight through my ribcage with the boning. The 4 was just a tad roomy in the cups then, which allowed me to wear a bra. I could have gone without one if the 2 had fit through my ribcage. But wearing the 4 with a bra worked just fine! It was very comfortable, perfectly summery, and allowed me to wear a kind-of white dress to feel bridal :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 16, 2013
Great fit
This style dress is great on hourglass or pear shaped women because it hugs your smaller ribcage and flares outward creating a nice look. My only con was that the back tie was limp and needed a lot of ironing and starch to make it nice (does not look like bow in picture by far). Overall, the color of the dress was very pretty and fit the underwater theme dance I went to perfectly!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 17, 2013
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding in the spring.
It fit well I usually wear a 6, so I got both a 6 and an 8, but the 6 was broken, so I ended up wearing the 8, which worked fine. It definitely fits true to size. It was really flattering and I got so many compliments! I wish I could own this dress I would rent it again any day!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 14, 2013
I felt springy and formal, but it was fun enough to dance in all night!
I loved this dress! It was a bit shorter on me than the model, but I am 5'7. I got tons of compliments through the night, and never felt like I was restricted. I could dance and, most importantly, eat without feeling like it was sucking me in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2013
It was perfect for a bridal shower on Boston Harbor
The color is gorgeous. It's comfy and fits well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 6, 2013
Fun summer wedding party dress
Required tape to hold up the dress even when I wasn't jumping around. But after that it didn't stick at all. The light coloring tends to show the wear of the dress more but overall the dress was cute and great for a summer wedding.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2013
RTR was the BEST experience! They were so helpful & stayed in contact with me until I got the dress
At first, I ordered a different dress but RTR called the day before delivery and said that the second size I wanted was out of stock. However, I found this dress and originally ordered it in a size 4. When it came on my original date, it was a tight snug (if you have a larger bust, I would get a size up from what you usually wear!) and I called back saying I'd need the size up and they over nighted it! PERFECT FIT and I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE DRESS! I would DEFINITELY rent this dress again and will definitely be using the genius website for every event!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2013
Didn't have the presence I was hoping for.
I was disappointed with the dress because I was expecting a taffeta or organza fabric with a sheen but it's actually a cotton cady type material that is quite matte. Pretty, but the photo plays up the watercolor effect which is much more tame and kinda drab in person. I rented another dress as a potential option for the same occasion and ended up going with the other one instead.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2013
Perfect daytime dress!
Great dress for my bridal shower that was a daytime affair! Received many compliments on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2013
ok
this dress looked much cuter online than in person. I thought it would be more tie dye and it was really too white for me. It also wasn't that complimentary for my body type. One dress came with a zipper that was broken, and the other didn't fit, so that might have added to it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2013
I wore this dress for prom and got so many compliments and loved how it looked on me!!
Great fit and loved the dress on!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 8, 2013
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and got so many compliments!
Super comfortable, flattering, loved it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
cotton daytime frock
This dress is made of a light cotton. I thought it would look more formal from the picture (rented it to wear to my engagement party) and sadly it just didn't work for evening. It'd be great for a summer lawn party or something in that vein.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2012
Casual and cute.
Very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2012
Perfect for outdoor events in the Summer!
Wore this Summer sun dress to an outdoor wedding. Cotton fabric made for an overall comfortable and while not stretchy, was a bit looser below the waist. Bust is slightly more fitted so I would advise a size up for women with larger chests.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
Overally, very classy and cute dress! I got tons of compliments!
I wore this dress for a Kentucky Derby-themed formal, and it turned out great! I had ordered sizes 2, and 4 thinking I would be lucky to fit in the 4. The two actually fit perfectly! Glad I went one size down vs. up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
September 20, 2012
Cute
I've worn this designer before in a zero so that's what I ordered again. Sadly it was too small in the chest! If it hadn't been I definitely would have worn it! It was a sweet, cute, simple little dress that would have been great to wear. It definitely had more purple in it than you can see in the photo. The zero did fit everywhere except the chest though. So keep that in mind if you have a smaller bust! It could be a perfect fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
I wore this for my brother's graduation from Carolina and it was a perfect day dress
I thought this dress would be more Carolina Blue, but it was more white with grays and purples swirling...from far away and in pictures it still appears light blue though. I ordered the 10 and 8 as a back up. The 10 was more white and I didn't like the color distribution. The 8, though snug, had beautiful color and I ended up opting for the smaller size just for the color and am so glad I did. I felt cute and i looooved the bow in the back. Tons of compliments all around on this one.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Such a great dress! I got so many compliments!
I was really impressed with my RTR experience. When the post office messed up and didn't deliver my package on time, instead of suggesting that I wait for the original delivery, a friendly RTR rep overnighted me an entirely new shipment to be delivered by noon the next day (even though it was 7:55 pm and their warehouse was going to close at 8pm). Even though it wasn't their mistake, they went above and beyond to fix the problem. I will definitely use this service again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Adorable!
Wore for a rehearsal dinner and afterparty. Nice color, flattering fit. The material seems like it could get a little pilly so RTR, please be careful with this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 22, 2012
I always enjoy spending time with my mom. We had a great time at a family friend's wedding.
This dress worked for a summer wedding I attended. It ran a little big, so I was glad I ordered a back up size. There was nothing wrong with the dress, I just would not choose it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect Summer Wedding Dress
I rented this dress to go to a summer evening wedding. The colors are great because it helped me stand out from the rest of the guests without wearing too much white. It was so comfortable and perfect for the occasion.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect Summer Wedding Dress
I rented this dress to go to a summer evening wedding. The colors are great because it helped me stand out from the rest of the guests without wearing too much white. It was so comfortable and perfect for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2012
I felt absolutely beautiful on my special day! Returning was super easy! The hardest part was picking one dress out of the hundreds the site offers!
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. It was the first time I ever used Rent The Runway and I am already searching the site for my next dress to rent!! It was an amazing experience from start to finish. Not only would I recommend using the site but this dress was absolutely perfect!! The sweetheart neckline flatters every women and since I am a bit curvy, the overall fit of the dress was amazing! It even has a strap in the back that you can tie tighter if you need to. I got so many compliments on the dress! It had hints of purple in it which went perfectly with my wedding theme! 5 star dress!!
MeredithAugust 27, 2012
you look great! would you recommend getting a size up or down for the free second size?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Meredith! We recommend going one size up for back-up!
AmyDecember 27, 2012
a size up for sure!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
The girls asked when I went shopping to pick up that great dress...told them it was RTR!
It was comfy, stylish and perfect dress to wear to my vineyard bridal shower.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Cute and comfortable
I wore this to a summer wedding and it was very cool which was great because the wedding was outside and in very very hot weather. Light fabric but it give support in the chest area. It did the job but I didn't feel amazing in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
good fit, lots of compliments
i wore this dress to my bridal shower, and it fit perfectly. the bow was a little flat, but other than that i had no complaints. i recieved many compliments and was very happy with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Very cute
I rented this for a wedding I attended last August and I loved it. The colors are so pretty and I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 10, 2012
Great dress!!
So comfortable and cute. I got tons of compliments and felt confident in it all night for my College alumni cocktail party gala!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 2, 2012
Lovely Dress
I really liked the dress for the occasiont that I rented it, a casual summer party. It was very much of a light, summer dress, not as formal as the photo implies. The structure of the dress was great on top, but a little less form-fitting on the bottom (poofed out a bit)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 10, 2012
Cute Dress
This dress is more vibrant than the photos. Fits great. Would be perfect for anyone concious of there stomach. One thing that I didn't like was when you sit down it's kinda puffy in the stomach.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100lbs
June 25, 2012
So cute for a summer party!
I rented this dress for my engagement party and it fit perfectly! I received tons of compliments on it all day. I especially liked that it tied around the waist. I'm full busted and it gave me extra support and kept the dress from falling down. I will definitely rent this one again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2012
Love the Dress
I rented this dress for my high school graduation and it fit great, I received complements all day!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
May 29, 2012
Perfect Kentucky Derby dress!
I rented this dress in sizes 0 and 2. Both fit but knowing I was going to be in 90+ heat I opted for the 2 so i would have a bit more room to breathe. I received so many compliments on the dress and loved everything about my first RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2012
Great dress!!
I rented this dress for prom and absolutely loved it! It looks great with a tan and was not too short. Fits true to size. I got a lot of compliments! A little tight in bust, but it was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 2, 2012
Perfect dress!!
I rented this for a summer wedding, it was perfect. Looks super good with a tan as well! I am 5'1 and 107 and the 0 fit perfectly I will definitely rent it again
laurenMay 23, 2012
what color shoes did you wear?
RTRJune 4, 2012
Hi Lauren, we recommend nude or silver shoes with this style!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 9, 2012
Great first experience!
I rented this dress for my bridal shower and everyone loved it. I also couldn't stop talking about RTR that one of my bridal shower guests actually used the service for the dress she wore at my wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2011
Great for a Summer Party
Such a cute dress for a summer party. Fits an hourglass shape very well. Material was somewhat stiffer than I had anticipated but helped prevent it from wrinkling.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×