Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(152)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 10, 2013
I am obsessed
I love this dress. It is extremely flattering. I got tons of compliments on it and it was really fun to dance in. I am big chested and so the off the shoulder concerned me, but a decent strapless was more than perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
July 11, 2013
very comfortable dress!
Great color and very flattering cut. I felt comfortable all night! Would rent this one again! I forgot to take a picture though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 14, 2013
This dress was incredible
I am pretty all over the place when it comes to sizes, but I went with the S on this one and it was perfect. I didn't even have to wear a bra (win!) The dress was super comfortable and the draping was perfect. I can't say enough good things about this dress and fit :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
July 19, 2013
Gorgeous color-- VERY bump friendly
I actually didn't wear this dress because I learned the wedding was a semi-casual affair and didn't need to look so fancy. I'm 7.5 months pregnant and it was a great fit. I just ordered up a size from usual. I'd love to see what it looks like on when I'm not prego. Very forgiving in the tummy area and plenty of room for my giganto bosoms. I absolutely loved the color and it looked great with the silver accents I was planning along with it (shoes, necklace, purse). I rented the same dress in teal as my back up and if it came to a choice, I would definitely choose the blue!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2013
Wore it to a black tie optional sumwedding and I got a ton of compliments! Wore it with nude pumps.
I'm usually between an XS and a S, but in this case the XS was a closer fit. It was a little on the short side but not so much that I felt inappropriate (I have very long arms, and it was only about an inch shorter than my fingertips). Pros: Nice coverage to be family-friendly but still dressed up and sexy. I never had to be fidgeting with it. Cons: The fabric/lining are on the heavy side so that was good for panty-lines but not very breathable in the humidity
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2013
I just loved it!
This dress was perfect. The fit was pretty forgiving, so it was nice to not have to worry about it being exact. I got SO many compliments on it, as well as the necklace, which is the silver version of the one the model is wearing in the picture (the gold is no longer available). People even thought that the necklace was part of the dress - I highly recommend renting it as well. So glamorous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
August 16, 2013
Great for early pregnancy!
I wore this dress to a Texas Hill Country wedding in Austin. I was about four months pregnant, so kind of in that awkward stage where you don't quite look pregnant but you definitely feel like you do! It was such a great dress; so easy to wear and I got tons of compliments on the color! Runs TTS and it's VERY forgiving!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2013
Perfect dress for a bump!
Finding a dress to attend a wedding seven months pregnant is not an easy task...do you buy a maternity dress that you will never wear again or try to squeeze into something non-maternity? This dress was perfect! It still gave me shape, was comfortable and my sizable bump didn't feel too out there. I would highly recommend this dress. It does run large...I tend to be between a small and medium normally, and the medium was plenty large enough even with a huge bump.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful color and fit
Loved this dress! I am 16 weeks pregnant and it is perfect for making you feel elegant and beautiful even when you are gaining weight. Iam usually a 6-8 and the small fit great! I would def. go down a size! I had lots of compliments with the color! Great dress and will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
September 3, 2013
Perfect for a baby bump!
I was 7 months pregnant when I wore this dress to a wedding. It looked cute and worked perfectly for my bump. The material was heavier than I expected, but other wise everything was perfect about this dress and my rent the runway experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2013
3 stars for color
I ordered this for a wedding. I typically wear a size M, size 8 and ordered a M and L. The M was obscenely short (I am 5'4"). The L was big all over. I have a small chest so that could've been why. I ended up not wearing either. Stars for color and the draping is pretty. Wish it had fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 13, 2013
Great dress, travels well, super flattering!
I wore this dress to a wedding in August. This dress is very comfortable and flattering. I ordered the XS and S. Both fit, but I felt the XS was a little too short (and I am 5'0"). I ended up wearing the S. I got a ton of compliments and felt great in the dress all night. Another great rental from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 16, 2013
I didn't wear it.
The color is gorgeous and the draping pretty but at 5' 7" it is just too short to look classy. I did not feel the length was appropriate for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2013
The dress was comfortable, especially for a wedding.
I liked the dress a lot. It is flowy, but the fabric helps it cling a little. The one shoulder part runs higher than it looks in the picture- the fabric comes up to your neck on that side. I wore it with a gold necklace. Good rental. I would order down unless you want it to be very loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2013
I love the idea of renting a dress instead of buying one I will probably never wear again. Fabulous!
This dress is perfect for all body types! Totally hid my tummy that has gotten slightly pudgy. I felt fabulous and looked amazing in all pictures. I received so many compliments all night and was sad when I had to return it. The color is such a pretty blue! May have to rent this one again!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2013
Perfect dress
I wore this dress for a black tie optional wedding. I'm glad I chose a smaller size for my free second size because I ended up wearing the smaller one! It was so comfortable, I didn't have to worry about any sort of wardrobe malfunction the whole night and it was so easy to dance and move around in. Everyone was amazed that I rented the dress! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 3, 2013
comfy, bump friendly, super cute
I wore this to a friend's wedding and received so many compliments! I was almost 5 months pregnant and the dress was perfect! I'm short but thought the length was just right (hit just above the knees) The blue is deeper than what the photo shows. I wish my photos came out but they were all blurry :( Super comfy, elegant, classic look- I would rent again for another event (pregnant or not!!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Great dress, can't go wrong!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2013
I loved this dress. It was so comfortable however I would have liked it to be a little longer.
The small was too short and the medium was a bit big around the waist area. However. I still received many compliments on it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2013
Gorgeous color and style, perfect for a wedding!!
This dress was a gorgeous choice for a day wedding! I'm usually a size 6/M and very busty but this dress ran a little bigger so a S fit perfectly while still draping very nicely and not too form fitting. I received so many compliments on the style and beautiful purple/indigo color. I wore a big gold necklace (similar to the one in the example photo) and it just pulled the outfit together. I absolutely recommend this dress and style!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 20, 2013
Felt like a million bucks!
This was my backup dress and obviousky I ended up picking it and glad I did! Felt very glamorous and comfortable all night.My boyfriend coulnt stop telling me how beautiful I looked and is still takking about it today :) I rented the small and medium. The small would have fit but was a different fabric and didnt fit that same. Felt a little cheated there. .so beware of that.The medium is big under the arm with no sleeve. Blue is the color of fall so take a chance
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 23, 2013
fabulous fit!
The last dress I wore I ended up with a 12 and it was too large in the bust - this was awesome as a medium and it fit perfectly! Great stretch and a well made heavy jersey knit fabric - I got tons of compliments and the color was gorgeous! I would totally buy this dress, it is a winner! Its also great to hide that mommy pooch that I am still stuck with, boo!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 24, 2013
Dress was delivered on time with a return shipping package!
This was my back up dress from the Badgley Mischka Manhattan Socialite Dress. The dress was very pretty and I loved the color of it. But the fit wasn't right. It fit everywhere but in the length. However, my sister who is about 4 inches shorter than I am ended up wearing it to the gala we were attending and it looked fantastic on her. The fit and the length complimented her body type (5'3" tall).
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2013
It was very comfortable!
I had to wear the large because the Medium was very short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2013
I couldn't even wear the dress.
Usually I wear an 8 or medium's in dresses or jeans and after reading all the reviews I thought I had it figured out. Upon receiving the dress I realized it was rather baggy and large. It gave me no shape and hung like a heavy sac (the fabric was extremely heavy) and was too large in the bust area. Needless to say I had to come up with a backup plan because I couldn't wear this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149lbs
November 6, 2013
AMAZING dress. I felt GORGEOUS and EVERYONE complemented me and asked where I go the dress!!!!
The first dress I ordered was too small and too short for the wedding I was going to. They were out of the L and offered a different style. I'm so glad this happened! I ordered this dress in 2 sizes M and L and it was PERFECT. The first dress I ordered was shipped to LA and the second they were able to have in NJ at my hotel waiting for me the next day. I was floored and SOOO HAPPY!!!! The color was actually a little bit darker than the photo's but that was a plus for me since it was an East Coast fall wedding. The L was too big but the M was a hit. My husband LOVED it and so did the rest of the wedding. The customer service at RTR is spectacular.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 7, 2013
SO flattering.
I rented this dress for a Fundraising Gala and I wore three weeks postpartum. People were complimenting me left and right and saying how great I looked after just having a baby, but the dress really hid it ALL (ha!) :) The drapery was super flattering and the nice, thick material was comfortable and flowy. Definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
November 12, 2013
My first RTR experience - would definitely rent again!
Dress fit great - a smidge shorter than I usually would wear but I got lots of compliments and my boyfriend loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
November 25, 2013
This dress was stunning and really made me stand out. Wish I could keep it!
RTR delivered this dress a day before planned so I was able to coordinate shoes. The dress was simple, but the color was rich and made me stand out. I paired ths was the pave bracelet and earrings and also wore the sequin necklace and gold mesh glam clutch. I LOVED the jewelry and will rent this set again. I typically wear an 8 so I ordered an M and L. Oddly enough, the L was considerably smaller than the M. The L also had a different liner. I ended up wearing the L since it was a tighter fit. This dress will flatter all figures! I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 28, 2013
It made me feel beautiful and got so many compliments. The color was amazing!
The dress was great! It fit perfect and made me look thin. I was able to wear both sizes 10&12 and they both fit perfect. I was able to use it for a wedding and a baby shower. I did not want to return the dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2013
Comfortable, flattering, and sexy!
I rented this dress for my 10 year reunion and absolutely loved it. It was very comfortable, yet the bare shoulders and mid-thigh length made it sexy and cute. Perfect for dancing, sitting, or standing. Awesome dress for a big chunky necklace. Because it was really cold out, I wore it with black tights and black pumps. Another great RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2013
I wore it for a charity event out in the Hamptons.
It fit perfectly. I loved the weight of the fabric and how easy it was to wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2013
Felt beautiful just three weeks after I had a baby,
Gorgeous color, loose flows fit concealed my mid section, the one shoulder draping and shorter length made it fun and sexy, even though it was loose and hiding all the bad parts:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 9, 2013
Such a cute and flattering dress!
Ran a little long for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
December 11, 2013
it was a very easy process. you are taking a gamble doing this. But the site itself is great
it was ridiculously short. i got a large and am 5'7''. the lining barely was below my butt, which made me feel self conscious, like my butt was showing. It was not, because of the actual dress fabric being a smidge longer, but it was close, just under my bits and pieces. the smallest dance move and it would show. I'm not afraid of short dresses/shorts either. my husband even said it was too short… if you knew him, you would know that it was surprising for me to hear from his mouth. I never wore it to the function, tried it on the night i got it and returned it the next morning… unfortunately a waste of my money since they dont have any return policy for things like that since it 'technically' fit. Also, i thought it would be slimming, but in fact, it was the opposite for me. I also have broad shoulders, the 'neckline' just fit, but probably would feel a bit tight and uncomfortable by the end of the night. I felt that i could have done a M for my waistline, but i dont even know how short it would have been in that case! haha it did feel expensive though, there is a good weight to the fabric. pretty color - please excuse the photo. taken after my morning shower :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 12, 2013
LOVED the blue color!!
The lining of the dress was a bit tighter than I would have preferred but the next size up was a giant potato sack on me. The drape over the shoulder hid that well and covered up my insecure areas. I loved the fit and color of the dress, but since I have a smaller chest the side without the strap would fall a little bit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 15, 2013
Great for many body types, elegant look & feel, perfect for Billboard Music Award Show in Hollywood!
RTR 1st-Timer! Wore this dress for a Billboard Music Award show and received many compliments including 2 from celebrities! I didn't need to wear spanx with it as the fabric has a great weight to it and isn't thin like other dresses I've worn pre-RTR. It is a gorgeous blue, perfect for those that want to go a step beyond a boring black dress, but not go crazy with standing out. Gold compliments the dress well, got my gold wedge 3" heels from Zappos. RTR customer service was totally on point with the mystery bling I ordered, just sent wrong clutch but no biggie as they removed charge for clutch. Happy to return as a RTR customer again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2013
I got tons of compliments on the color (since so many others wore black).
Flowy and forgiving. Felt comfortable dancing the night away.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 17, 2013
Great for a baby bump!
I wore this dress to my office holiday party at 39 weeks pregnant (so closer to 140 lbs here). The small was a great fit! I ordered the medium as a back up and didn't notice a huge difference between the two other than at the bust. Anyone much taller than me would probably have thought the dress was pretty short but luckily I didn't have that problem.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2013
Great fit, wonderful vibrant blue color. Received tons of compliments.
Super comfortable, nice material, easy to move and dance in. Forgiving style and shape.
See more reviews:
7 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×