Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Draped Dream Dress

$70 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

467 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 293
Large 149
Photos 182
Anna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 18, 2013

Beautiful color! Fit great for my body shape.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was perfect!!
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 22, 2013

Great cocktail party dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I had a baby 3 mos prior to wearing this dress at our Christmas party. I loved it and of course very forgiving. I think it runs big because I still have baby weight on and was able to wear the small. I expected to have to wear the medium, but that was too large. You can wear a strapless bra and it still fit nicely.
Andrea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Great first experience with RTR!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved the fit and color. Because it is not too form fitting, definitely could get away with wearing the smaller size. Got many compliments and was a fun dress!
SS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Very flattering, elegant, and comfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Flatters your curves and the sleeve creates nice drama when you walk.
Shanan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 9, 2013

A fabulous dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in two sizes, but wore the smaller version. It is truly a supremely flattering dress; it shows off the shoulders, the draping hides any bit of belly, and its short length is flattering for those who like their legs. I did not wear a necklace but did add a sparkly pin along the shoulder which I felt really stood out nicely. My only complaint was the inner slip/lining tended to ride up in an irritating manner. It actually helped that I wore a shaping slip underneath b/c it gave the lining something to "stick" to (for the record, the way the dress is made hides any flaws and no slip was really necessary). All in all, I loved this dress, the RTR process (this was my first rental) and plan to use the site in the future instead of buying fancy dresses I only wear once anyway. Hopefully I'll get a good photo back from the event and can upload it in the future.
Mary Neal
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Loved the overall fit of the dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
perfect one shoulder blue dress for weddings, cocktail parties, or girls night out.
Kendra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 14, 2013

This dress was a comfortable fit, not too loose but just right!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Marine Ball and felt very comfortable with the flow of the dress. This was a nice choice for me since since I had recently had a baby!
Sara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

It fit but it didn't cover my butt, 5'10" it should be worn as a top, not dress.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm not a conservative dress wearing person, but this dress was so short my fiancé thought I was wearing a top as a dress and asked if I was going to wear pants. I'm 5'10" (not a giant) and in shape, this was just so unflattering I had to send back and go buy something instead.
CR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

Classy and comfortable

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and loved it. The fabric is a bit heavy, but it really helps to keep the draped shoulder in place. It was extremely comfortable, and the color is gorgeous.
Gina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Feb 24, 2013

Made a pregnant chick feel pretty!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a work cocktail party at around 5 1/2 months pregnant. The neckline was beautiful, it fel just right, and it was so comfortable. All night, people complimented me and said they could barely even tell I was pregnant. Based on other reviewers' pics, I was worried it would be a bit too long on me, but it was perfect - hit a couple of inches above my knee. Since it fit so well, I worry that if I were my normal size, it would have been a little too big. I completely forgot to take a picture, but if you have a baby bump, definitely try this one.
EP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Effortless, forgiving, and lovely.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! I rented with the necklace that was pictured for a wedding full of people I've never met. I got many compliments on the dress-- mostly from men, who rarely notice anything ;) I've since worn it in the other colors as well, though this bright blue remains my favorite. I'm dirty blonde with darker skin, but I think it would flatter any skin tone/hair color. The blue is exactly as pictured and the fit seems to simultaneously add shape AND disguise flaws. The fabric is a bit heavy, but I would still consider this an all-season dress. You really can't go wrong-- rent immediately!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 11, 2013

Gorgeous color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress. Vibrant color but ended up going with my first choice.
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Great party dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for New Year's Eve. Great, comfortable dress
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

My only disastrous experience...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I love RTR, and have rented many dresses in the past with great success. This dress did not fit at all-- it wasn't wearable. Good thing I had a backup dress in my closet that was appropriate for my friend's wedding. I rented the M and the L, and the medium fit perfectly except that it was halfway up my thigh, which would have been inappropriate for a formal wedding (not to mention ridiculous-looking: I'm only 5'1, I can't understand why it was so short!). The large was a tent. So disappointing!
Clodagh
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

Gorgeous color

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am rather petite and this dress ended up being too large for me to wear to my formal. Beautiful color, but not good for a small frame!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Cute dress but really short

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the backup dress for a wedding I went to, but I didn't end up wearing it. I did try it on, and it was incredibly short.
tracey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

This is a fun dress. The color is beautiful and it is easy wear.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The only negative was that depending on how you are standing you can be a little "lost" in the dress espcially in photos. I would have liked it to have been a little shorter. I think on someone a bit taller it would have been perfect. It does run large. It is a lovely dress.
Alejandra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 19, 2013

Everyone asked me where I got my dress. I felt beautiful in it. Thank You!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit. Looks great on.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

Beautiful shade of blue.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I got a lot of compliments on this dress. The shade of blue was beautiful. The fit was a bit big, but not too big to work out ok. It was flowy and loose. It was a comfy choice for a long day. It was heavier than I thought it would be.
Elby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Gorgeous Color and Fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't expect the dress to be so short - which is a con during a Catholic wedding ceremony - but I loved the color and fit! At the reception, I received numerous compliments and felt very comfortable dancing, eating, and drinking. It's a winner!
WB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was easy to wear. Nothing to be self conscious of.
deborah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Beautiful, but too short.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, but it was VERY short. It looked more like a tunic top than a dress when I put it on! I am 5'3" and though I knew the dress was short, I didn't think it would look so short on my frame. Unfortunately, could not wear it.
Amber J.
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Love RTR but chose the wrong size.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Both my mother and husband love this dress unfortunately I chose the medium instead of the large and it fell way too short for my comfort level for a wedding. The dress is beautiful, the colors beautiful, I wasn't so excited about the material but the dress itself was amazing. I just wish it had a few more inches or I went with the large. The medium was nice on my body, but given the flowy nature of the style im sure the large wouldnt look oversized. If I rented again id definitely go a size up for length being 5'8. Shorter girls should be safe.
allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
May 4, 2013

Gorgeous and comfy

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Compliments all night
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 6, 2013

Loads of compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a family wedding in Chicago in November while I was 5 months pregnant. The dress was a little short but fit my bump perfectly and the color was beautiful!!! I felt great!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
May 6, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
As the other reviewers said, this ran big. Make sure you order a size down for your second size, just in case. This dress was so comfortable, perfect for a wedding where there's lots of food and booze. The beautiful bright blue was eye catching. Loved this dress!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 10, 2013

!Ugh

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fit me like a curtain. Not flattering at all.
G$
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 17, 2013

Flattering and comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Incredibly comfortable dress that is flattering for anyone who wants to hide a little tummy. Color is striking and fabric moves and breathes. Enjoy!
sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
May 23, 2013

Wonderful Pregnancy Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress while I was pregnant to a wedding got tons of compliments.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Great for a night out!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. Fits beautifully, though a bit short for my likeing, so I opted to wear the medium. Heavy fabric so may not be best if you are going to be in a hot or humid climate. Lots of fun and comfortable to dance in!
jill
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 16, 2013

This dress was comfortable and stylish

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received many compliments, it was comfortable, and well made. You can wear almost any shoe or jewelry with it to dress it up or down. The dresses came on time and the entire process was a great experience especially for someone who needs style help!
Eily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Stunning dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning. The drape is gorgeous, and very forgiving. It does run large -- I don't recall the last time I've worn anything in a size "small," but that fit much better than the medium I'd ordered. One thing was less than ideal -- the lining does not match the dress. It's only evident under the left arm, where there is a split between the draping on the back and that on the front. On the size small, the lining was black, and really evident from the side, or if I raised my arms. Not ideal. On the medium, the lining was blue -- close to the rest of the dress, but not quite the same.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 22, 2013

Great fit for small pregnancy bump

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was four months pregnant and the cut of this dress was great since fitted waists were out of the question but wasn't ready for maternity clothes yet. The dress was really comfortable and the shade of blue is very pretty and saturated.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Great customer service, beautiful dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I received this dress as a substitute when the original color was not available in the backup size. As always, customer service was prompt in letting me know what was going on and going above and beyond to try to make sure I was taken care of. Unfortunately I didn't end up wearing the dress because it was much shorter than I anticipated, but it was very pretty and the top is flattering.
AMILLER1115
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Unfortunately I did not wear this...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented the S and M; both fit equally well....however WAY too short for me. If I leaned forward in the slightest, my lady-bits would've been hanging out. I was hoping the M would've added some length, but that was not the case :( It was such a cute dress, but I cannot wear something that short - especially for a wedding.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Jul 2, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this in the Medium and the Large, and ended up going with the large more for length than anything else. The medium was a just a little short, especially when I sat down, and I knew I'd be self-concious about it all night. The large was a little big, but it wasn't a problem at all, especially during dancing all night! I felt super comfortable and pretty all night long. Great dress, I would definitely consider renting this one again.
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 10, 2013

I am obsessed

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress. It is extremely flattering. I got tons of compliments on it and it was really fun to dance in. I am big chested and so the off the shoulder concerned me, but a decent strapless was more than perfect.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jul 11, 2013

very comfortable dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great color and very flattering cut. I felt comfortable all night! Would rent this one again! I forgot to take a picture though.
liz
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 18, 2013

this was perfect! i had a baby a few months ago and this dress is very flattering.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
none
jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 19, 2013

Gorgeous color-- VERY bump friendly

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I actually didn't wear this dress because I learned the wedding was a semi-casual affair and didn't need to look so fancy. I'm 7.5 months pregnant and it was a great fit. I just ordered up a size from usual. I'd love to see what it looks like on when I'm not prego. Very forgiving in the tummy area and plenty of room for my giganto bosoms. I absolutely loved the color and it looked great with the silver accents I was planning along with it (shoes, necklace, purse). I rented the same dress in teal as my back up and if it came to a choice, I would definitely choose the blue!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×