Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(152)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Great dress for a beach wedding in September!
Only complaint was that the dress was a bit short, but overall very flattering and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 18, 2012
Super Comfortable!
This dress is the perfect combination of comfort and fanciness. It hides any bumps you may not want to show off, but you can get swamped in the fabric (especially in pictures). It wasn't a WOW! moment for me, but definitely a dress I would wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved this dress!
My first RTR experience and it was wonderful. Glad I got the size small as a backup, because the medium was way too big. This dress was not only flattering, but super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
I was 24 wks pregnant (6 mo) when I wore this but the dress totally hid it! I loved the compliments
Great dress for hiding a baby bump!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2012
Perfect fit for the red carpet
I needed a nice dress for a red carpet event. something not too flashy but definitely not too understated. This fit the bill perfectly. Great fit- and looked very elegant, only thing was it ran a bit large for me- I am very hourglass-y so maybe size down when ordering.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2012
You really can't help but feel beautiful in this dress!
Very true to size, got the small as a backup and it was much more for a 4-6. The dress itself was very forgiving, but rather straight, so I added a gold belt to define my waist. Even with the belt it had the nice ruffle detail on the shoulder. Got so many complements on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
Very short and shrunken!
Everyone says this dress runs large and it does, except that it was incredibly short. I am 5'8" and one dress barely covered by butt! I got this dress because I am pregnant and it was featured in the "bump friendly" section, but it wasn't that flattering. I would have been better off with an empire-waist dress or even something more fitted to show off the bump. I also think this dress may have been drycleaned too many times because one was significantly lighter blue than the other and appeared shrunken. The size small was actually shorter than the the XS!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 15, 2012
Great color! Easy to wear!
I wore this to a summer wedding. The color was fantastic, it was comfortable, easy to wear and made me feel great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2012
Beautiful semi formal dress!
This was the perfect dress for a fun night out! I received so many compliments! It was comfy and easy to dance in. The only downside: The dress was a tiny bit short in the back for me; I wouldn't recommend it for anyone taller than 5'11!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
Dazzling!
This dress was perfect for my sorority's spring formal! It was comfortable yet I still felt so glamorous. And when everyone starts complimenting you so much, that doesn't hurt either. The color, the length, the service--everything was wonderful and made me obsessed with Rent the Runway. Completely OB. SESSED. I've already picked out my next dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 21, 2012
PERFECT!
I wore this dress when I was 7 months pregnant and it couldn't have been more perfect. The dress is beautiful. Its heavy and it fell perfectly over my baby bump. I will definitely order it again, with and without the baby bump.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 27, 2012
Very flattering dress
I wasn't able to wear this dress but it fit quite nicely. It was just as described and looked brand new!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
The color is an eye catcher, I got so many compliments that night about how gorgeous the dress was!
I usually wear a S or M, but because all the reviews said it ran large I went with a XS and S, I wore the XS and it fit perfectly! The S looked like I was swimming in the dress. I also thought it would be longer since I am fairly short, but it went above my knees and I loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 6, 2012
Great color, lots of compliments!
I really enjoyed this dress! The color is fantastic and it definitely stands out! The only negative was that the M was a little too short for my liking, I had to keep pulling it down, but the L was overall way to big.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2012
I love this dress!
This was my second choice when I ordered, but when I received the dresses, this one was my favorite! I felt so glamorous and received lots of compliments. This dress is comfortable and fit perfectly. I might rent it again in the future. This was my first rental with RTR and I am so happy with the service. I definitely recommend RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
getting a ton of compliments on the color & style of this dress!
So, I'm 23 weeks pregnant and needed a cute dress that would fit, plain and simple. I've found very few maternity dresses that are stylish, and the cut of this dress seemed like it'd be a great option. I tried the small (my bump's not THAT big yet), and it was crazy small. Way too short (like, vulgar short) and couldn't zip all the way (even though the draping & jersey along my hips & belly felt comfortable). The Medium was way roomier and was the perfect length, although a bit big along the neckline, so I had to keep pulling it up under my right arm. I was pretty surprised that the two sizes differed SO much. I've never felt such a discrepancy between sizes like that before. That said, I got a ridiculous amount of compliments on the dress. I dressed it up with the House of Harlow pendant necklace, which I felt was a little more understated and appropriate for a day wedding, and nude heels. Rent the Runway has great customer service and makes it so easy to return the garments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Pretty color, but a lot of fabric.
I got this as a back up dress for a wedding, and thankfully my first choice was absolutely perfect. I did try it on for maybe the rehearsal, but I felt like a sack of potatoes. I was 6 months pregnant and even then, there was too much fabric. Maybe on a very slender, athletic type. The color is pretty.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We're so sorry to hear that your dress did not fit perfectly! For your next rental please feel free to contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 and we will help you find the perfect fit for your event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2012
Not a great pick.
Unflattering for what I was looking for + a heavy material (would suggest for a more Fall/Winter affair, rather than Summer or Spring). Did not wear it.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We're so sorry to hear that your dress was not perfect for your event! For your next rental please feel free to contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 and we will help you find the perfect fit for your occasion!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 20, 2012
Great dress! I received a ton of complements.
I wore this to a company Holiday Party. It was perfect for dancing. Gold or jewel toned jewelry is perfect. I wore nude heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2012
Amazing dress that's great for formal occassions - especially if our are pregnant!
This dress was amazing. I ordered both a medium and a large and wore the large as I was 7.5 months pregnant at the time. I am 5'9" and normally wear a size 6 or 8. I received so many compliments and yet I was SO comfortable all night. I would totally recommend this dress to anyone - whether you're pregnant or not!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2012
So comfortable!
I ordered a small and medium. The top on the medium was a little big but the small was super short. The style of this dress allowed for the top to be a bit big without issue. Love this dress!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2012
Felt like a modern, cobalt-sporting Grecian goddess! Fun dress.
Fit well. I have a smaller waist (24") and a larger set of hips, but the bottom wasn't ridiculously snug and I still felt like the waist fit nicely. Relatively comfortable and nice material (not too shiny or matte/rough). The color is pretty accurate and GORGEOUS with the paired gold necklace!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 30, 2012
Looked awesome at 8 months pregnant!
Rented this dress for my baby shower, as I thought it would fit my belly. The XS was a little too tight for my taste, so I'm glad the S worked! It is a bit short though. Got SO many compliments on it and felt great wearing it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2013
Wore this to a wedding with the necklace as shown. Got compliments all night!
I wore this to a summer wedding, and it was perfect! I got both the M and L, and ended up wearing the L. The dress is not very fitted, so both fit pretty well, but the M was a little too short for my tastes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
The dress fit amazing! Love the one shoulder
The dress fit great. It was a little short (but I have really long legs). Over all I would get this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
Great color! Great fabric! Flattering cut for when your body isn't so flattering or perfect!
This dress is a mini! Don't expect it to go anywhere near your knees. The fabric is heavy so the bottom is not going to fly up if you spin around. However, the draping on the shoulder does fly out. No big deal. Just don't spin so fast. The fabric drapes and covers the midsection really well. It's very comfortable. I'd get it again if I were going to a non-dancing event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2013
Great dress, but shrunk in length since last rental?
I had rented this dress before, but in the green color and LOVED it. No prior problems with fit, but this time the dress seemed much shorter, like it shrunk from being dry cleaned too many times. The color was still beautiful, no fading or any signs of wear. Although shorter than I had liked, still easy to wear and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2013
Great $50 pick!
Wore this to a cocktail party event for work... got a lot of compliments. I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 13, 2013
Looks good on the website, but looked AMAZING in person.
This was my second choice dress, but I ended up wearing it instead! Fabric was divine, fit like a dream, and was very flattering. I'm pregnant and this dress smoothed, but didn't try to obviously hide my bump. The dress liner is flexible, so I imagine if someone was farther along in their pregnancy this dress would work well. I also have very muscular wide shoulders, so the asymmetrical neck was very softening. I wore a gold cuff, hair in a loose bun, and red suede stilettos. All around fantastic dress that I highly recommend and would rent again. Loads of compliments all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Summer Pool Party dressed to impress
This is the dress ladies. My husband only likes me to wear tight and neutral colored dresses, but when he saw me in this, he fell in love all over again. The dress is loose and comfortable, but still shows a feminine figure. Highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 22, 2013
Great cocktail party dress.
I had a baby 3 mos prior to wearing this dress at our Christmas party. I loved it and of course very forgiving. I think it runs big because I still have baby weight on and was able to wear the small. I expected to have to wear the medium, but that was too large. You can wear a strapless bra and it still fit nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 24, 2013
Incredibly comfortable and gorgeous!!
I wore this dress to my mother in law's wedding. It fit beautifully and was so comfortable. The color is rich and pretty. The cut of the dress was flattering and I received so many compliments on it. His was my jest RTR dress and imm definitely be coming back for more!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2013
Great first experience with RTR!
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved the fit and color. Because it is not too form fitting, definitely could get away with wearing the smaller size. Got many compliments and was a fun dress!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2013
Wore this dress to a wedding when I was 10 weeks pregnant. I felt amazing wearing it!
While looking through my closet, I was feeling a little meh about my dress options. Most of my dresses are of the summer variety (this wedding was in November) or I've already worn a dress to events with some of the other wedding attendees. Being 10 weeks pregnant, I wasn't ready to share the news or let my wardrobe do the sharing. And let's be honest, I didn't want to go out and buy a new dress when I knew my belly would be expanding. As I suspected, the convenience was one of the biggest perks. I didn't have to worry about packing a dress, let alone two sizes of the same dress. I tend to shy away from online shopping because I like to try things on in person. I have a short torso and longer legs, so that makes things interesting. Depending on the dress, I usually wear a small or medium (6 or 8). I ended up wearing the medium. I scheduled the dresses and necklace to arrive on a Friday and they arrived at the hotel on that Wednesday. And let's not forget the ease of dropping everything in a mailbox when I was done wearing them. Of course you should know that the dress itself came in perfect condition. And I loved wearing it! I received several complements and got a kick out of sharing my secret that I rented it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2013
Perfect
This dress fit so well and was incredibly flattering. Perfect for the cocktail party that I went to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2013
A fabulous dress!
I ordered this dress in two sizes, but wore the smaller version. It is truly a supremely flattering dress; it shows off the shoulders, the draping hides any bit of belly, and its short length is flattering for those who like their legs. I did not wear a necklace but did add a sparkly pin along the shoulder which I felt really stood out nicely. My only complaint was the inner slip/lining tended to ride up in an irritating manner. It actually helped that I wore a shaping slip underneath b/c it gave the lining something to "stick" to (for the record, the way the dress is made hides any flaws and no slip was really necessary). All in all, I loved this dress, the RTR process (this was my first rental) and plan to use the site in the future instead of buying fancy dresses I only wear once anyway. Hopefully I'll get a good photo back from the event and can upload it in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 10, 2013
Baby Shower Chic at 36 weeks pregnant!
I was dubious I could find something fun to wear to my baby shower 36 weeks pregnant, but this fit the bill! It was super comfortable and managed to make me feel sexy and glam. I usually wear a size 8 but I've gained about 40 pounds with the pregnancy so Lord knows what 'normal' size I am now but the Large fit great.
LauraApril 5, 2013
Thanks for posting! As a PG woman entering wedding/shower season I am freaked out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
This dress was comfortable and very fun to wear!
I usually wear a medium (or size 6), but I had read that this dress runs a little bit big so I ordered both the medium and the small as my extra size. I am really glad that I did because for some reason the medium was actually quite a bit shorter than the small. They were virtually the same dress, but the lining colors were different and the fabric felt a little bit different. The small definitely fit better, especially given the extra length. I really liked wearing the dress and received quite a few compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 14, 2013
This dress was a comfortable fit, not too loose but just right!
I wore this dress to a Marine Ball and felt very comfortable with the flow of the dress. This was a nice choice for me since since I had recently had a baby!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 15, 2013
It fit but it didn't cover my butt, 5'10" it should be worn as a top, not dress.
I'm not a conservative dress wearing person, but this dress was so short my fiancé thought I was wearing a top as a dress and asked if I was going to wear pants. I'm 5'10" (not a giant) and in shape, this was just so unflattering I had to send back and go buy something instead.
See more reviews:
5 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×