Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(153)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 1, 2012
AMAZING dress
I rented this for a cocktail party and I'm not sure I've ever received so many compliments. It's definitely the perfect dress for a night out on the town. The draping of the fabric is simultaneously forgiving and flattering, which is a pretty rare find. The dress is also a GORGEOUS shade of blue that can be worn with nearly any accent color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
February 1, 2012
Great dress for late pregnancy
I was 8 months pregnant and wore this dress to a destination wedding and it was great! Pre pregnancy I am 118 lbs and wear a 0 to a 2 so I rented the small and extra small at 8 months preggo after speaking to the staff at rtr. The extra small was def too tight in the chest and belly area but the small worked great. It was a little shorter on me than pictured but was perfect for what I wanted it for. Def a great dress for late pregnancy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2012
Just felt so amazing and special in this dress, you definitely had all eyes on you!
Love this dress! And my husband like it so much he considered buying it for me. The dress has great draping and the color is very vivid. The length was great for me I'm 5'3 and I wore 3 in heels but I can see if you are much taller it would start to creep up. I got a lot of compliments that night and best of all it was very comfortable. I was worried about fit when I ordered because I'm busty and also have wide hips but I had not issues. Would rent it again but maybe next time in the Coral.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
February 24, 2012
Really pretty but heavy
The dress was beautiful and the color was stunning. I had this as my backup dress and went with my first choice. Looked just like it does on the model. Only thing with it was that it was very heavy from the layers of fabric - though it did not feel too heavy one. The draping was beautiful. Would definitely get this again for another event.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 5, 2012
Stunning Dress
Very stunning dress and fits great. I received a lot of compliments on this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
May 6, 2012
Easy to rent and return with RTR. Everyone kept telling me how stunning I looked!
I rented this dress for my husband's work event and got so many compliments telling me how stunning I looked. I ordered sizes XS and S but ended up wearing an XS because of the dress' flowy design and my petite frame. Overall the dress fit really well and was very comfortable to wear. I also ordered the matching necklace which is a fabulous pairing.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2012
I received countless compliments!
This dress was fantastic! It runs a little big, and I wish I would have had one size smaller, but it still worked great! The color is very vibrant, and it is unbelievably comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 14, 2012
The dress was very comfortable, and I had a great time.
This was a very comfortable dress. It is stretchy so I ended up going with my smaller backup size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 4, 2012
Gorgeous and super comfy!
I rented this dress for a toga party instead of draping a sheet over me and felt absolutely amazing in this dress. It is super comfy and very flattering for almost any body type. I rented the small and extra small and went with the smaller size since it ran large. Would definitely wear this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Loved!
I rented this dress for NYE and it was a big hit! I got so many compliments and felt great in it. I originally rented the S and M, but afte reading the reviews I contacted RTR and they changed me to an XS and S. they were so helpful and the small fit great! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 6, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress for my 30th Birthday celebration. I can't tell you how many compliments I got! I absolutely loved the color and the fit was very flattering without being too "huggy". It does seem to run big, I ordered a medium and large and wore the medium. I would definitely rent this dress again! Love love love!!!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 9, 2012
Cute but too big
Rented this along with another dress for a wedding and ended up wearing the other dress as this ran too big. Very bright color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2012
GORGEOUS dress!!
This was my backup dress for a friend's wedding. I didn't end up liking the first dress that I rented so I went with this one instead. Even though it was a little too big, the dress was extremely comfortable and I really enjoyed not having to suck in all night. The dress is a beautiful blue color. Pair it with a great statement necklace and you will receive compliments all day long!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Pear
September 11, 2012
The dressed arrived on time and the dresses looked as if they were brand new.
Beautiful, comfortable. I'm glad I got the medium and the large, I originally ordered the large and selected the medium as a back up. Glad I got it the medium, it fit perfectly and was easy to return.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121lbs
September 23, 2012
Wore this for my 21st birthday bash! Make sure you accessorize it/ put on some extravagant heels!:)
Definitely get a size smaller - I'm usually a S but wore a XS, which, although a little tight on the bust, had the perfect length as a fun party dress!!:) Completely in love with the color and the cut of the dress, which fit most body types. Definitely recommend it and not to mention the price is so reasonable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2012
Beautiful and Comfortable!
This was my first rental Rent the Runway and it couldn't have been any better. The dress was a beautiful color and so comfortable to wear. The only negative was that it was a bit longer then anticipated - I'm 5'4 and it hit closer to my knee but - I received compliments all night and would buy this dress if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
I wore this dress to my formal.
It is longer in length than I expected, and it was larger than expected. I haven't worn a small since freshman year and I was wishing I had ordered the small as my extra size rather than the large. Overall, good dress..not much fuss and it was very comfortable
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2012
This dress was great! I got a lot of compliments on it.
It runs big - I was skeptical about getting an XS but now I am very glad I did because the small was way too big. The color was great but be careful - it must be a very popular color for Fall 12 because three other girls were wearing an identical shade. Very comfortable though!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2012
Great night, loved the royal blue color.
Love the dress, it definitely runs large - plan on getting one size smaller than you would normally wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2012
Great color but easy to get lost in this dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding when I was about 5 months pregnant. It was a beautiful color but it kind of wore me and the material was really heavy polyester crepe. I ended up wearing the Halston Heritage Hibiscus dress I had gotten as a back up. I would have been satisfied with this dress if I had only gotten it, but the other dress was much cuter and approximately the same style.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2012
Awesome dress. it was comfortable and fun to wear for a wedding.
It fit rather large. I am normally a 8-10 (L) in this dress, but I wore the medium and probably could have fit in the small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 16, 2012
Cute and SO Comfy!
I am fairly petite and found the dress was slightly big on me in the bust, but it was extremely comfortable and I loved the color. I paired the dress with gold accessories and gold shoes, which looked great with the color of the dress and I received quite a few compliments. I would have preferred the dress to be slightly shorter too, but on my 5'1" frame, I usually expect dresses will be somewhat long on me. I'd definitely recommend this dress though - was so comfortable for dancing at a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 18, 2012
Super Comfortable!
This dress is the perfect combination of comfort and fanciness. It hides any bumps you may not want to show off, but you can get swamped in the fabric (especially in pictures). It wasn't a WOW! moment for me, but definitely a dress I would wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved this dress!
My first RTR experience and it was wonderful. Glad I got the size small as a backup, because the medium was way too big. This dress was not only flattering, but super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2012
Perfect fit for the red carpet
I needed a nice dress for a red carpet event. something not too flashy but definitely not too understated. This fit the bill perfectly. Great fit- and looked very elegant, only thing was it ran a bit large for me- I am very hourglass-y so maybe size down when ordering.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 15, 2012
Great color! Easy to wear!
I wore this to a summer wedding. The color was fantastic, it was comfortable, easy to wear and made me feel great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
Dazzling!
This dress was perfect for my sorority's spring formal! It was comfortable yet I still felt so glamorous. And when everyone starts complimenting you so much, that doesn't hurt either. The color, the length, the service--everything was wonderful and made me obsessed with Rent the Runway. Completely OB. SESSED. I've already picked out my next dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
The color is an eye catcher, I got so many compliments that night about how gorgeous the dress was!
I usually wear a S or M, but because all the reviews said it ran large I went with a XS and S, I wore the XS and it fit perfectly! The S looked like I was swimming in the dress. I also thought it would be longer since I am fairly short, but it went above my knees and I loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
getting a ton of compliments on the color & style of this dress!
So, I'm 23 weeks pregnant and needed a cute dress that would fit, plain and simple. I've found very few maternity dresses that are stylish, and the cut of this dress seemed like it'd be a great option. I tried the small (my bump's not THAT big yet), and it was crazy small. Way too short (like, vulgar short) and couldn't zip all the way (even though the draping & jersey along my hips & belly felt comfortable). The Medium was way roomier and was the perfect length, although a bit big along the neckline, so I had to keep pulling it up under my right arm. I was pretty surprised that the two sizes differed SO much. I've never felt such a discrepancy between sizes like that before. That said, I got a ridiculous amount of compliments on the dress. I dressed it up with the House of Harlow pendant necklace, which I felt was a little more understated and appropriate for a day wedding, and nude heels. Rent the Runway has great customer service and makes it so easy to return the garments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Pretty color, but a lot of fabric.
I got this as a back up dress for a wedding, and thankfully my first choice was absolutely perfect. I did try it on for maybe the rehearsal, but I felt like a sack of potatoes. I was 6 months pregnant and even then, there was too much fabric. Maybe on a very slender, athletic type. The color is pretty.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We're so sorry to hear that your dress did not fit perfectly! For your next rental please feel free to contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 and we will help you find the perfect fit for your event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 22, 2013
Great cocktail party dress.
I had a baby 3 mos prior to wearing this dress at our Christmas party. I loved it and of course very forgiving. I think it runs big because I still have baby weight on and was able to wear the small. I expected to have to wear the medium, but that was too large. You can wear a strapless bra and it still fit nicely.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2013
Great first experience with RTR!
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved the fit and color. Because it is not too form fitting, definitely could get away with wearing the smaller size. Got many compliments and was a fun dress!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2013
A fabulous dress!
I ordered this dress in two sizes, but wore the smaller version. It is truly a supremely flattering dress; it shows off the shoulders, the draping hides any bit of belly, and its short length is flattering for those who like their legs. I did not wear a necklace but did add a sparkly pin along the shoulder which I felt really stood out nicely. My only complaint was the inner slip/lining tended to ride up in an irritating manner. It actually helped that I wore a shaping slip underneath b/c it gave the lining something to "stick" to (for the record, the way the dress is made hides any flaws and no slip was really necessary). All in all, I loved this dress, the RTR process (this was my first rental) and plan to use the site in the future instead of buying fancy dresses I only wear once anyway. Hopefully I'll get a good photo back from the event and can upload it in the future.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
This dress was comfortable and very fun to wear!
I usually wear a medium (or size 6), but I had read that this dress runs a little bit big so I ordered both the medium and the small as my extra size. I am really glad that I did because for some reason the medium was actually quite a bit shorter than the small. They were virtually the same dress, but the lining colors were different and the fabric felt a little bit different. The small definitely fit better, especially given the extra length. I really liked wearing the dress and received quite a few compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2013
Loved the color!!
I love this dress, I ordered the small and the medium. I wore the medium but it was on the big side, I normally wear an 8. I tried on the small and it was a little tight across the chest where the zipper meets. It was also very short, which is why I chose not to wear it. Overall it was a great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 24, 2013
Made a pregnant chick feel pretty!
I wore this for a work cocktail party at around 5 1/2 months pregnant. The neckline was beautiful, it fel just right, and it was so comfortable. All night, people complimented me and said they could barely even tell I was pregnant. Based on other reviewers' pics, I was worried it would be a bit too long on me, but it was perfect - hit a couple of inches above my knee. Since it fit so well, I worry that if I were my normal size, it would have been a little too big. I completely forgot to take a picture, but if you have a baby bump, definitely try this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
March 6, 2013
Great dress with a little twist!
Dress ran a little large but it wasn't as noticeable due to the cut of the dress-lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 20, 2013
12 weeks post baby!
I had my son in December and I gained 55 lbs with the pregnancy. I lost 33 lbs so far but not yet back to my prepregnancy weight so I was really stressed with having to find a dress for my friend's wedding in March. This dress was so comfortable and hid the little belly I still have left. I felt really good about myself for the first time since giving birth and I had alot of people comment that I barely looked like I just had a baby. I have another wedding in June and will be renting the same dress in a different color...and hopefully a smaller size :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2013
My only disastrous experience...
I love RTR, and have rented many dresses in the past with great success. This dress did not fit at all-- it wasn't wearable. Good thing I had a backup dress in my closet that was appropriate for my friend's wedding. I rented the M and the L, and the medium fit perfectly except that it was halfway up my thigh, which would have been inappropriate for a formal wedding (not to mention ridiculous-looking: I'm only 5'1, I can't understand why it was so short!). The large was a tent. So disappointing!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 4, 2013
Gorgeous color
I am rather petite and this dress ended up being too large for me to wear to my formal. Beautiful color, but not good for a small frame!
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×