Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
473 reviews
Fit
Large152
True to Size296
Small21
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
August 4, 2014
LOVE IT!!!!
The medium was a little faded and fit was poor but the small was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 3, 2014
Perfect Rehearsal Dinner Dress!
I wore this dress while 7 months pregnant to a friends rehearsal dinner ( I was a bridesmaid). I was felt pretty and comfortable which is the perfect combo when you are pregnant.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 1, 2014
h
n
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2014
This dress is really comfortable and flattering. The color is beautiful. You can dress it up or down
I wore this to a Hollywood movie function. I paired it with nude wedges because I knew I would be on my feet all night. It looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
M was way too short and L was huge. They were like two completely different dresses.
M was way too short and L was huge. They were like two completely different dresses... the lining may have been remade as they were different colors for each size. I'm 6M pregnant and rented this as it was supposed to be "bump friendly". The M was EXTREMELY short and I'm about 5'4". It would have been way too short whether I was pregnant or not. The large was extremely large and hanging off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
July 22, 2014
Made me feel beautiful at 8 months pregnant.
In the past I had rented the teal-colored version of the dress and I knew that it would be the perfect dress to cover up my 8 months pregnant belly. I ended up renting a medium this time, but I'm pretty sure I could have fit into a small again. My husband was glad I didn't attempt that though and the medium was so comfortable. Throughout the night I received many compliments on how people didn't know I was pregnant until they saw my side profile, which was incredibly flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2014
Great for a cool summer night
I rented this for an outdoor wedding in June, and was concerned that the fabric would be a bit heavy. It ended up being a very cool night so the thicker fabric was perfect, but this would probably be too heavy for hot weather. Also, the XS was a better fit but the lining was extremely short, so I went with the S. The color is also darker than pictured, closer to navy, which I actually preferred to the brighter blue that shows in pictures.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
July 19, 2014
Too short. Not for tall women
I'm 5' 9" and it fit almost like a long top. I couldn't wear it. :(
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
July 15, 2014
Quick and easy shopping.
Fit well, easy to move.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
July 14, 2014
Great color, flattering fit
This is a great bump friendly dress! I was only 14 weeks here, but was definitely not feeling like wearing something form-fitting. This was so cute and made me feel comfortable and sexy. I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 4"
July 13, 2014
Fit beautifully and received a bunch of compliments -- and I'm 7 months pregnant !
I am 30 weeks pregnant and the dress fit! It draped nicely and wasn't the least bit tight or uncomfortable. I received a random compliment during the break time between the ceremony and reception -- and I'm pretty sure the woman didn't even realize I was pregnant. If you want to show off your bump this probably isn't the dress. Even if I wasn't expecting, I would have loved the dress. It was both flattering and forgiving !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2014
Great for early baby bump, comfy!
Wore this 4 montths pregnant and got many compliments! Very easy, comfy and fun to wear. Def Rec!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 7, 2014
Gorgeous color!
I thought that I would end up ordering a S and M, but based on reviews I ordered an XS for my extra dress. I'm glad I did because the S was far too big and the XS fit well (a little stretched out in the one-shoulder/bust area - I think due to wear). I received many compliments throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
June 30, 2014
Super sexy and great quality
I was in my first trimester with my 2nd child so I was showing a lot sooner when I wore this too a wedding. The dress is super bump friendly, and I still felt sexy in it. Loved the color. I would highly recommend this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 29, 2014
Comfortable and sophisticated - if you've got great legs, this is your dress.
Ran a tad big but it's flowy so easy to get away with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2014
Felt gorgeous at 7 months pregnant!
I felt like the belle of the ball at 7 months pregnant in this lovely dress! It slid over my bump just right, and the color is really beautiful in person. I am usually a size small or size 6 when not pregnant. Size small was too small with bump on this one only because of the length! I am tall and this does run short. But the M was fine. As an alternate, I'd also selected this dress in the "passion twist" color, and this one is much better in person, in my opinion (it looks more luxe). I wore it with some Rent the Runway blingy accessories, and couldn't have been happier. I got compliments all night and my husband (pictured) gave rave reviews (of course, he's super sweet...but STILL!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2014
Wore this for my birthday dinner with my husband. Great, comfortable dress in a stunning blue color!
I wore this at 4 months pregnant (2nd baby, so belly is a bit larger!). The dress definitely has a lot of stretch to the underlying slip and is perfect for a small-to-medium bump, but the slip is extremely short!! This made the dress a little uncomfortable - even though the dress itself came down to almost my knees, I kept pulling at the slip all night to keep it down. I usually wear form-fitting dresses, so the bagginess of this dress was a bit of a turn off at first. However, I ultimately loved it due to its comfort (stretch) and color. Lots of compliments and I felt like a birthday queen!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
June 23, 2014
I was about 5 months pregnant and this dress was a DREAM. I will probably rent it again!
Very forgiving fit. I was showing a little bit, but most people couldn't tell I was pregnant at all. I felt gorgeous! I will gladly rent it again next time I'm pregnant. I think you could pull it off well into your 2nd trimester!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2014
Good dress & great event!
Great dress! Flattering on any body. A little fidgety and on the short side - wouldn't recommend it for dancing. But overall a good pick - received many compliments!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
June 16, 2014
Was gorgeous. I was at the beginning of my third trimester and it was perfect.
pros- loose fit , perfect for preggo ladies of if in the mood to wear something loose but elegant and stylish
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 10, 2014
Best dress ever!
I ordered it for an upscale wedding. I ordered the medium (usual size) and the large since people said it was true to size. I was worried that my belly would look pregnant in this dress. I have no butt or hips so all my weight goes into my belly. I ended up having them overnight the small to me (which was a great confidence booster). It was comfortable without having to suck in my stomach the whole night. This picture was taken without any spax on underneath. I was able to dance with my two young daughters without worrying about my chest sticking out or my muffin top showing. I am tall but all my length is in my legs so the small fit my chest and shoulders better. I didn't find it too short and like I said was dancing with little girls without a problem. I wore a big gold cuff and opal and gold choker necklace. Got complements all night and an old ex's said I was hot on facebook! Like I said.... Best dress ever!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 9, 2014
Can be an awesome maternity dress!
I wore this for a summer evening wedding and it was perfect. It draped beautifully over my 8 mth bump and received tons of compliments. I was worried it might be on the short side, but it was okay even though it came to my mid thigh because it looked so classy. Although this isn't a maternity dress, it can be worn as one! Would definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2014
Great for Sister-in-law's High School Graduation
I've got a pretty wide ribcage, so I generally wear a 6-8, but this was flowy and relaxed, so I was able to wear the XS. The S looked really shapeless, so I went with the XS to give it a little bit of structure. No Spanx needed, and still flattering. Great dress! Very well made. Nice fabric.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 2, 2014
LOVED this dress, and would absolutely rent it again! Ran a little big, but super comfy
This dress was great for a cocktail party for my husband's work. It was so comfortable and flattering--no need for Spanx! It actually ran a bit bigger than what I thought other reviews suggested. I ordered a M and a L, and the Medium was a bit roomy at the top and I wish I'd had the S to try instead. Other reviewers mentioned they went up a size for length, but I didn't find it to be too short at all! just right! And although I don't have a 'bump', this would be 'bump friendly' for sure. Looked great and felt great! would absolutely order again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
May 28, 2014
amazing and comfortable
This was a gorgeous gown that got tons of attention! comfortable and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Great for hiding a little bump.
I wore this dress to a wedding when my bump was just really starting to come out. I didn't want to get a maternity dress for just one event, but I knew nothing I had would fit. This dress was great. The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars was because I thought it was a little less expensive looking in person than it is in the pictures. Still pretty, just not quite as high end.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 26, 2014
Gorgeous quality
Great color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 25, 2014
Great for baby bumps!
I should start off by mentioning that I am 6 months pregnant - the widest part of my bump is about 41" and my bust is now a 36DD. I rented both a small and medium (normally I would have rented an XS and S) and chose to wear the M because the S was SUPER short. It was about 75 degrees at the outdoor wedding I attended, but I was still very comfortable in this dress. It moved well and fit my bump nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 152lbs
May 25, 2014
Still getting compliments
I ordered the medium and the small. The medium was so short and a bit tight and faded. I tried on the small and it fit nicely. The color is eye catching and received so many compliments from both ladies and gents. Love the ease of renting and returning. I'm hooked on RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
May 20, 2014
Comfortable and fun
I wore this for a beach wedding and it was very comfortable - I danced all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
May 15, 2014
Received many compliments!! Perfect for my friends wedding!!
This was my first dress rented from rent the runway. I was extremely happy with the service, dress,and accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2014
Ordered as a back up dress, super cute, but wore the other one.
This dress is perfect if you're feeling a little concerned about wearing something tight around the middle. It hides all the potential squish but is still short and sexy and fun. If my other dress option hadn't worked out I would've worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2014
Great dress.
I actually have rented this twice. Both times wore to a wedding. Once before I had babies and the second time right after my first son. Very flattering and great popping color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2014
Got a lot of compliments!!
The dress was a hit with everyone else, but wasn't my favorite from RTR. I was hoping it would be closer to the blue in the picture – in some girl's photos, it was – but not in my opinion. Definitely more purple (my photo makes it look even more purple than it is, but it was still not the same color). That being said, it was SUPER comfortable to wear, but has several layers and the material is thicker so it worked great for the 60-65 degree weather I was in, but as soon as I started dancing, it got too hot. It does cover any stomach flaws while not being super baggy-looking, so that's a plus, but for women with a larger bust and smaller other areas, you may have to size up. I range from a 0-2, even a 4 on a rare occasion, so I'd rented the XS and S based on other reviews and I preferred the fit of the XS everywhere else but the bust – it didn't appear tight across the chest at all, but the fit along the back and under my armpit created a problem so I had to size up. I'm about 5'6 but have long legs for my height, and I felt the small was more appropriate – the XS length would have worked had I not been wearing 5+ inch wedges. I would also mention that while it looks flattering standing still, if you plan on dancing and having photos taken at the same time (such as a wedding), the material moves around a lot and could create some unflattering photos! But truth be told, it was a nice dress and can be dressed up or down, and if you look good in a purply-blue, the color would be perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2014
So comfortable!
The color of the dress was stunning. The only negative would be that it was a little short. I am not a tall person to begin with so I didn't think I would have a problem, but it was very difficult bending down and picking things up. Even standing it seemed a little too short. The rest of the dress was great and extremely comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2014
Odd sizing
I originally ordered the small and medium. I'm typically a size 4-6. The small was huge on me so RTR sent me the XS. It fit in the body but was WAY too short and I'm only 5'4. Dress was comfy and beautiful, but the sizing was just off. Love RTR and have used them several times but this dress just didn't work for my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Way too short, did not like the fit.
I rented this as a back up dress... I'm so happy that my first choice fit because this dress looked awful on me. It was way too short and ill fitting. Not made for my body type.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141lbs
April 26, 2014
Beautiful, flattering, dress that got me many compliments all night long!
Ordered the M first but it was too loose, the Small was (surprisingly) perfect although this dress is seriously short! I'm only 5'3" so it worked for me but just barely. It perfectly conceals a less than flat tummy, is good for a full bust as it's quite the minimizer. The color is gorgeous, the dress laid beautifully over just the right places and made me feel beautiful and sexy all night! I would love to own this dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 19, 2014
Didn't wear it!
I really, really liked this dress; however, it was a little too formal for the beach wedding that I rented it for. I had brought another dress that I owned and ended up wearing that one instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
goddess feel!
Absolutely love this dress. Have rented this and another color and loved them both times. It's comfortable and dressy at the same time. I love the one shoulder and the draped fabric over the arm.
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×