Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

471 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 295
Large 151
Photos 182
Mare
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 20, 2013

12 weeks post baby!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I had my son in December and I gained 55 lbs with the pregnancy. I lost 33 lbs so far but not yet back to my prepregnancy weight so I was really stressed with having to find a dress for my friend's wedding in March. This dress was so comfortable and hid the little belly I still have left. I felt really good about myself for the first time since giving birth and I had alot of people comment that I barely looked like I just had a baby. I have another wedding in June and will be renting the same dress in a different color...and hopefully a smaller size :)
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

Got numerous compliments - I lost count after 20!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. I ordered both the Medium and Large, and had the strangest thing happen with the sizing. I tried the Medium on first and it was just a little snug, the black under layer was a little short but wasn’t too worried as the dress itself was a perfect length. I then tried on the Large, and was shocked when I put it on and for some reason the dress was a good 4 inches shorter than the Medium!! No explanation for it, but it was a good thing the Medium fit. I go in between Medium and Large for a lot of clothes – I’d recommend to others trying this dress to order 2 just to be safe – that length thing really threw me! I got numerous compliments on the dress – I lost count after20, and I paired 2 beaded gold necklaces together to make it really pop – also got many compliments on the jewelry as well. Really loved the dress, very easy to move around in, the color is terrific, would love to own this!
rrusso6
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Apr 16, 2011

It was the first dress I ever rented and I fell in love! Best dress ever!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress!! It was great! Loved the fabric and the way it fit, would buy this dress if I could!
Val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Great dress with a little twist!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Dress ran a little large but it wasn't as noticeable due to the cut of the dress-lots of compliments!
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Great color, length, fit. So many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to our annual formal for my sorority. It was gorgeous! It was a great fit and fell perfectly especially in the side drape. I wore it with black and gold heels as well as gold jewelry which looked great with the rich blue color! I loved this dress and got compliments all night!
Eurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
Aug 18, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal event for school and it was perfect - classy, but still fun. The flutter-esque sleeve is great and the draping is great for hiding anything! The color is just like the one shown in the picture too, a bright cobalt blue.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

Loved the color!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I love this dress, I ordered the small and the medium. I wore the medium but it was on the big side, I normally wear an 8. I tried on the small and it was a little tight across the chest where the zipper meets. It was also very short, which is why I chose not to wear it. Overall it was a great experience.
Aspen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

Compliments and comfort all night long!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is pretty much flawless. I got the S and M and thought the small fit better. I felt sexy and classy in it all night. I wore it to a sorority formal and could easily move and dance. I'm so impressed with this dress and in love with my RTR experience. If you're on the fence about this dress don't be! But also note the back of the dress does not have the flowy part. It will show off some booty but is a great length!
Katherine
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

Everyone complemented me on how beautiful I looked and I felt like a model!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The medium was a little short on me so the large fit my taller figure. I would stick to whatever size you prefer. Either way it'll look good on anyone!!!!
Jenn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Gorgeous color, flattering, and great fit!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for the bachelorette weekend! The color was perfect and so was the fit. It was a little short, but it was ok. This was actually my second choice that I rented and my first time to rent from RTR! I LOVE RTR! I am so happy with my whole RTR experience!
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 21, 2012

PERFECT!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress when I was 7 months pregnant and it couldn't have been more perfect. The dress is beautiful. Its heavy and it fell perfectly over my baby bump. I will definitely order it again, with and without the baby bump.
Carly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

This dress was comfortable and very fun to wear!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a medium (or size 6), but I had read that this dress runs a little bit big so I ordered both the medium and the small as my extra size. I am really glad that I did because for some reason the medium was actually quite a bit shorter than the small. They were virtually the same dress, but the lining colors were different and the fabric felt a little bit different. The small definitely fit better, especially given the extra length. I really liked wearing the dress and received quite a few compliments!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 10, 2013

Baby Shower Chic at 36 weeks pregnant!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was dubious I could find something fun to wear to my baby shower 36 weeks pregnant, but this fit the bill! It was super comfortable and managed to make me feel sexy and glam. I usually wear a size 8 but I've gained about 40 pounds with the pregnancy so Lord knows what 'normal' size I am now but the Large fit great.
Shelby
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Perfect

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit so well and was incredibly flattering. Perfect for the cocktail party that I went to.
Cathy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 31, 2013

Wore this dress to a wedding when I was 10 weeks pregnant. I felt amazing wearing it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
While looking through my closet, I was feeling a little meh about my dress options. Most of my dresses are of the summer variety (this wedding was in November) or I've already worn a dress to events with some of the other wedding attendees. Being 10 weeks pregnant, I wasn't ready to share the news or let my wardrobe do the sharing. And let's be honest, I didn't want to go out and buy a new dress when I knew my belly would be expanding. As I suspected, the convenience was one of the biggest perks. I didn't have to worry about packing a dress, let alone two sizes of the same dress. I tend to shy away from online shopping because I like to try things on in person. I have a short torso and longer legs, so that makes things interesting. Depending on the dress, I usually wear a small or medium (6 or 8). I ended up wearing the medium. I scheduled the dresses and necklace to arrive on a Friday and they arrived at the hotel on that Wednesday. And let's not forget the ease of dropping everything in a mailbox when I was done wearing them. Of course you should know that the dress itself came in perfect condition. And I loved wearing it! I received several complements and got a kick out of sharing my secret that I rented it :)
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

Incredibly comfortable and gorgeous!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my mother in law's wedding. It fit beautifully and was so comfortable. The color is rich and pretty. The cut of the dress was flattering and I received so many compliments on it. His was my jest RTR dress and imm definitely be coming back for more!
Carolina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Summer Pool Party dressed to impress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the dress ladies. My husband only likes me to wear tight and neutral colored dresses, but when he saw me in this, he fell in love all over again. The dress is loose and comfortable, but still shows a feminine figure. Highly recommend it!
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Great $50 pick!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a cocktail party event for work... got a lot of compliments. I would definitely recommend it.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Great dress, but shrunk in length since last rental?

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had rented this dress before, but in the green color and LOVED it. No prior problems with fit, but this time the dress seemed much shorter, like it shrunk from being dry cleaned too many times. The color was still beautiful, no fading or any signs of wear. Although shorter than I had liked, still easy to wear and flattering.
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Great color! Great fabric! Flattering cut for when your body isn't so flattering or perfect!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a mini! Don't expect it to go anywhere near your knees. The fabric is heavy so the bottom is not going to fly up if you spin around. However, the draping on the shoulder does fly out. No big deal. Just don't spin so fast. The fabric drapes and covers the midsection really well. It's very comfortable. I'd get it again if I were going to a non-dancing event.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2013

The dress fit amazing! Love the one shoulder

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit great. It was a little short (but I have really long legs). Over all I would get this dress again.
CourtneyCal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

What a difference a designer dress makes! You can just tell the quality when touching it, loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was 34 weeks pregnant when I wore this dress and every said they couldn't even tell I was pregnant until I turned to the side! The front did a great job at minimizing my belly. I normally wear a size XS or 2, so I ordered both the XS and Small. The small fit great and was comfortable and I got compliments all night long! The color is just gorgeous is person. I'd love to try it on when not pregnant and see how it looks!
Sandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

getting a ton of compliments on the color & style of this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
So, I'm 23 weeks pregnant and needed a cute dress that would fit, plain and simple. I've found very few maternity dresses that are stylish, and the cut of this dress seemed like it'd be a great option. I tried the small (my bump's not THAT big yet), and it was crazy small. Way too short (like, vulgar short) and couldn't zip all the way (even though the draping & jersey along my hips & belly felt comfortable). The Medium was way roomier and was the perfect length, although a bit big along the neckline, so I had to keep pulling it up under my right arm. I was pretty surprised that the two sizes differed SO much. I've never felt such a discrepancy between sizes like that before. That said, I got a ridiculous amount of compliments on the dress. I dressed it up with the House of Harlow pendant necklace, which I felt was a little more understated and appropriate for a day wedding, and nude heels. Rent the Runway has great customer service and makes it so easy to return the garments!
Shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

I love this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my second choice when I ordered, but when I received the dresses, this one was my favorite! I felt so glamorous and received lots of compliments. This dress is comfortable and fit perfectly. I might rent it again in the future. This was my first rental with RTR and I am so happy with the service. I definitely recommend RTR!
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

The color is an eye catcher, I got so many compliments that night about how gorgeous the dress was!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a S or M, but because all the reviews said it ran large I went with a XS and S, I wore the XS and it fit perfectly! The S looked like I was swimming in the dress. I also thought it would be longer since I am fairly short, but it went above my knees and I loved it!
Reed
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Dazzling!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my sorority's spring formal! It was comfortable yet I still felt so glamorous. And when everyone starts complimenting you so much, that doesn't hurt either. The color, the length, the service--everything was wonderful and made me obsessed with Rent the Runway. Completely OB. SESSED. I've already picked out my next dress!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

Beautiful and Comfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a rich cobalt blue. It is super comfortable and it looked amazing. I ordered a small and medium because other ladies said this dress ran large. I didn't feel that way. I knew I would be dancing all night and the size small, just felt a little too tight. I think if you flux between a size 8 & 10... go for a medium.
Carli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My first RTR experience and it was wonderful. Glad I got the size small as a backup, because the medium was way too big. This dress was not only flattering, but super comfortable!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 30, 2010

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Great color! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was stylish but comfortable and easy. I also rented the necklace shown with it, and LOVED the way they looked together! Got a lot of compliments!
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 17, 2012

Beautiful semi formal dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the perfect dress for a fun night out! I received so many compliments! It was comfy and easy to dance in. The only downside: The dress was a tiny bit short in the back for me; I wouldn't recommend it for anyone taller than 5'11!
Caren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

Great color! Easy to wear!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a summer wedding. The color was fantastic, it was comfortable, easy to wear and made me feel great!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

Gorgeous color and easy, comfortable fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
So comfortable and easy to dance in! I never felt like the shoulder was going to go anywhere which is so nice in one-shoulder dresses. Some angles made me look a lot bigger, so no front-on pictures. The slip underneath was really short but the actual dress was completely appropriate and I never felt like it was hiking up.
Angela
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

I was 24 wks pregnant (6 mo) when I wore this but the dress totally hid it! I loved the compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for hiding a baby bump!
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

Cute and SO Comfy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am fairly petite and found the dress was slightly big on me in the bust, but it was extremely comfortable and I loved the color. I paired the dress with gold accessories and gold shoes, which looked great with the color of the dress and I received quite a few compliments. I would have preferred the dress to be slightly shorter too, but on my 5'1" frame, I usually expect dresses will be somewhat long on me. I'd definitely recommend this dress though - was so comfortable for dancing at a wedding!
Jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Oct 15, 2012

Awesome dress. it was comfortable and fun to wear for a wedding.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It fit rather large. I am normally a 8-10 (L) in this dress, but I wore the medium and probably could have fit in the small.
Dona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 11, 2012

Super comfy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was exactly what I wanted! The color popped and got so many compliments on it!
Sundae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2012

Thank You RTR

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a freinds wedding and I loved it. It was so comfy and easy to wear. I am tall and usually have to worry about dresses being to short, this beauty was just perfect. I wasnt worried about my butt hanging out all evening. Every time I turned around someone was telling me how they loved the dress. I will rent agian with RTR.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Fits like a dream and curve friendly too!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and I cannot even tell you how many compliments I received. The blue was perfect for my coloring and it fit in every place I wanted it too. It definitely fits true to size, so if you're a 6-8 hourglass figure, definitely get the medium. I was glad I ordered the M as a backup size because the small hugged my hips and looked quite short. I originally ordered the dress in the coral color in a size small, but they did not have my back up size available, so they called me right away (Megan B) and fixed the issue immediately. I chose the same dress in the blue color and am thrilled that I did. I've never loved a dress so much; well except for my wedding gown. :) Thanks RTR! I will definitely be renting again!!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

The dress looked great in photos and was fun to wear!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was nervous about the length at first because the dress is very short. But, my husband loved it, and it was fun to wear. I got lots of compliments and the dress looked great in pictures. I would say it needs a necklace, fun shoes and self tan your legs!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Great night, loved the royal blue color.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Love the dress, it definitely runs large - plan on getting one size smaller than you would normally wear.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×