Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Chain Detail Maxi Dress

$85 rental
$380 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Mark & James by Badgley Mischka eye-catching chain detail gown has everything you need. With an attached necklace, there's no need to accessorize - just grab your heels and go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut neck is best worn with a NuBra or no bra
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at natural waist - skirt conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular, about 57" from shoulder to hem, for heights 5'4" to 5'6" and long, about 60" from shoulder to hem, for heights above 5'6".

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut neck is best worn with a NuBra or no bra
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at natural waist - skirt conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular, about 57" from shoulder to hem, for heights 5'4" to 5'6" and long, about 60" from shoulder to hem, for heights above 5'6".

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk satin. Cowl neckline with multi chain detail. Bloussant effect at waist. Column style skirt. Back vent. Model's height is 5'8.5". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

56 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 36
Large 17
Photos 14
alexam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 25, 2010

Overall fit: Large
Fit poorly - the blousing was near my ribs vs. my waistline and made me look hefty despite being a size 2. Would not recommend - had to order another dress.
Miss Fern
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 19, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Dress was great, gorgeous, beautiful, fit perfectly, and super super comfortable. The only negative was that I got the long size and it needed to be just an inch longer on me. So tall girls, just know you might need to wear shorter heels to compensate.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Looks beautiful on this model. I ended up wearing the short dress I ordered as a backup because this one looked cheap up close. Not to mention, the beading was sort of coming apart. The dress they sent me should probably be retired, so I can't comment on how it would have looked otherwise. It's also extremely long (the picture got that right).
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. I got so many compliments. Only flaw was that two of the chains came unattached while I was wearing it. It ran a little short, so I would recommend getting a long if they have it.
Jesse
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I think the dress is lovely, but definitely for a certain body type. It ran a bit big, and the spot where the waistline hits is not going to work for everyone. On me it was ok, but not great.
Molly
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Mar 20, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The dress was beautiful, and I got numerous compliments on it. I loved the way it felt on, so comfy. The only drawback was that it ran slightly large, especially through the chest, and it was VERY low cut. But overall, it was a great dress for the occasion.
Bre
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented the 6L and it wasn't as long as I thought it would be. Ended up not wearing it.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wanted to wear this dress to a wedding, but I had one big problem. I ordered a LONG, but it was out of stock. The regular length was too short and with shoes on you could see all the way up to my ankles. Such a let down...
Arwa
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit me amazingly and the length was perfect as well. I was worried the fabric would cling but it flowed beautifully. It definitely has a cleopatra feel to it and I got so many compliments on it. I felt gorgeous in it.
Milly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I cannot say enough good things about this dress. Rented it for a black tie weding and it was SO gorgeous and SO comfortable. You have to mess with the top a little to get the necklaces to sit just right with the folds on the top but other than that it was absolutely perfect. I wore sticky cups with it which is a good choice I think as you might have been able to see where a regular strapless joins together in the front otherwise. Paired it with red lips and had a whole retro look going.
Cate
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to my senior prom just a few months ago and LOVED IT. I received so many compliments on how it was different than your average prom dress, but yet elegant. It was perfect to dance in with its straps. I'm a more petite figure, so I had to adjust the bust-waist area to make it look less baggy, and it ran a little long because of my height also. But overall, it was an amazing dress; highly recommend!
Mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is simple yet elegant. It is extremely comfortable and the material is very easy to wear. I wore this to a black tie event for work and got so many compliments.
Steph Fine
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress ran a little large, but it was nothing that a few safety pins couldn't fix. It was easy to do this since the dress is drapey- it was easy to hide. Once that was done- it was fantastic! The dress was very comfortable and the regular was the perfect length for my height with heels. I got so many compliments on it. I wore it with the Cara NY Rock on Bracelet which made for an edgier look, along with dark nail polish and more dramatic makeup- this was definitely a party dress!
Andi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress! Super comfortable and look very good. Plunge was a little low but I have a small bust so im sure its different when there is more to fill it up.
vspisme
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress is very pretty on the hanger and on. It was a wee bit long for me and I had 5" heels on. I got a 12L and found the dress to be too big for me. Either I lost too much weight for the size or it runs large. It is very comfortable and beautiful
Christie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Nov 30, 2011

Formal and comfortable.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs a little big. So, order the size you normally fit in and the size down if it's available. Overall, this dress was a hit. I wore it to a black tie charity event, and I received wonderful compliments all night. The dress was comfortable and easy to move in, while still being elegant and appropriate for a black tie event.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×