Banana Pepper Dress

$77 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Spice up your night in this Mark & James tomato-red flutter sleeve dress. The gold braided waistband adds dramatic detail against the lady-like ruffle tiers. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Mod Squared Necklace for an easy day to night look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Flutter sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with ruffle detail and gold braided belt at waist. Hidden back zipper with snap closure and faux button detail. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
179 reviews
Fit
Large
(35)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2015
Comfortable yet glamorous!
I selected this as a free rental to wear out to dinner on vacation. You can wear a normal bra - which is always nice! Unique color and a terrific rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2015
Stunning color and beautiful details!
This dress has some beautiful detailing that makes it unique. Loved the buttons down the back! Fits well, a bit loose in the waist and bust area for me. Too bad you can't adjust then belt!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2015
Beautiful color!!
This was actually my back up dress so I didn't end up wearing it... But I will absolutely be renting it for another occasion. Only word of caution for us larger busted ladies is that the waist ends up a little higher than you'd think. But the color is so stunning it's hard not love it!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 1, 2015
Absolutely loved this dress!
Absolutely loved this dress and I got a ton of compliments! Only complaint is what some other reviews said about the belt hitting in a weird spot. It dug into my ribs when I was sitting down. Other than that I thought it was perfect .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
June 21, 2015
Loved it!!
Perfect fit for a bridal shower!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
July 20, 2015
Too small in waist, didn't wear.
This was a cute dress that I was going to wear to a fancy bridal brunch, but the waist was too tight. I could stand, but not sit, and I wanted to be able to sit and EAT! I do carry some weight around my stomach, so if you are a similar body type, size up, but if you have sweet abs, this size would be great. Room up top for busty gals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 24, 2015
Great customer service
This dress is super comfortable. It's true to size with a little wiggle room. I like how it's loose on the torso without looking like a potato sack. I wish I had a picture of the back. It has cute buttons that give it more detail. Great summer/fall color too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 27, 2015
Great color and perfect to wear for a wedding!
I'm usually a size 8, but this dress ran big so I had to go with the 6, which was still a bit big because I have a smaller bust. The color is fantastic! I rented the recommended necklace as well which weighs a ton but compliments the dress well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2016
Dress is darling! Love the style. However, there is no give in the waist which rides a bit high
Perfect little cocktail dress! The waist is high with no stretch...to be comfortable you may want to go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
August 24, 2015
Beautiful
It was a beautiful fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149lbs
April 22, 2016
Dress fit well, was perfect for a wedding and the whole process was easy and convenient.
The smallest part of this dress was the waist, otherwise I probably could have sized down but thank goodness I have a larger bust because you really need that to fill out the top. The size 6 (which is my normal) size fit very well though and I'm very happy with how it looked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
September 2, 2015
Great comfortable fit! Perfect for warm occasions and a beautiful color!!!
I fit into a 10 but since I was at a wedding and there would be dancing and eating I decided I wanted to be comfortable so I went a size up to a 12. It was perfect, true to size, light weight and the color pops!!! I highly recommend it for warm outside events and it's true, there is no give on the belt/waist so if you aren't sure go up a size. Also great if you have a fairly large bust. Pair it with the necklace RTR has or your own gold jewelry and it goes either built in belt. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
September 15, 2015
Very comfortable, great quality.
Great fit. Loved the button detail on the back. The only complaint I have is that there are no little Snaps to hold your bra in so the straps at the shoulder peek out a bit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
June 2, 2015
Strange Fit
Dress is very pretty but the fit was not flattering on this pear-shaped girl. The belt hit me at a strange place and made my middle look way bigger than it actually is. The color is nice but just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
October 26, 2015
Cute, short torso
There was a pull in the skirt. When this was noticed, I changed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
April 14, 2016
Great dress
Great color! Bright orange-red. Great fit. Very flattering! I felt pretty all night!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Age: 34
May 2, 2016
The dress arrived promptly and fit well
Fit was true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 24, 2016
Loved! Perfect for our Bermuda cruise! Lovely color and the material is perfect for summer!
The fit was spot-on, perfect with a gold necklace and can easily be worn with a jacket or blazer if it's chilly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 16, 2016
Great color...super comfortable
Dress ran true to size. Very comfortable to wear. Getting to wear a normal bra is always a plus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
June 2, 2014
Pretty Color but odd fit
The dress was a great color, the only problem was the back of the dress was so big (above the belt) i kept having to pull the front down to make the back smaller. It was very annoying. I wore the 0 size and it was so big still!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 142lbs
June 2, 2014
Too big and a little odd
The dress is pretty and it's a shame I couldn't wear it. It was simply too large. Admittedly, I've lost weight recently, so I think the 10 would've been better than the 12. To be honest, I might've even been able to pull off the 8! However I think the fabric is odd the way it overlaps. There's a slit in the fabric that one of the layers is supposed to go through or hang over. I really couldn't figure it out, but that's was a strange design element.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 4, 2014
a more "orange" red than it looks online, and runs LARGE
I ended up not wearing this dress. The 0 was too big (seemed to be sized like a 2 or even a 4). The layers of fabric were sort of weird, and the color was more "orange" than I expected
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
June 6, 2014
Pretty spring/summer dress
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. The fit was mostly good, but if you can't fill out the bust the material droops.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2014
I didn't get to wear the dress. I was unable to make it to my event.
I rented a size 2 and 4. Both sizes were too loose. However, the dress is very pretty.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2014
I loved the color!
It was definitely roomy on top so I'm glad I ordered 1 size down. I loved the color and even the length, which can sometimes be a miss for me since I'm only 5'2".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2014
Waaay Too Big
Due to circumstances entirely outside of RTR's control, there was an issue with my original order and this is the dress they sent me as an emergency back-up for my birthday party. I'm very top-heavy and have a narrow waist and hips and unfortunately even the size 4 fit me like a sack of potatoes. The built-in-belt was okay but the top was super blousey and the belt didn't fall easily on my waistline. This seemed like it would fit a short woman who is very curvy top and bottom or a tall woman (long waisted, at least) with a large chest. The size 2 may have been a better fit but sadly I was sent a 4 and 6 option the day of the party. I will say it was a great color and it was in perfect condition.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2014
Great color!
I wore this dress to a wedding in Southern California in September. I was hot outside, but the dress cut kept me breezy and cool. I received many compliments on the color, and I loved the buttons down the back. I reserved both the 2 and 4 and went with the 2, and honestly could have probably fit the 0 if I had ordered it because it was still a little loose in the mid section. I have a small torso and larger hips, but it was not an issue around the hip area. I was able to move and dance comfortably all night. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. My experience with RTR was fantastic and I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2014
Beautiful dress
I wore this dress to a bridal luncheon and absolutely loved it. The dress DEFINITELY runs big! I am usually a size 6 and I would have ordered the size 8 for back up, but I noticed all of the reviews said that the dress ran big so I ordered the size 4 instead. Good thing - I ended up going with the 4, and I haven't worn a size 4 in years.. I had to wiggle a bit to get it over my butt, but once it was on it looked fantastic. I definitely recommend sizing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2013
Standing out from the crowd!
This dress definitely ran large for me, so I would recommend sizing down. I typically wear a size 2, ended up wearing the size 0, and it was still pretty loose. Other than that, this dress is amazing - the color is beautiful, the draping is a nice detail and lays very nicely, the fabric is soft and comfortable, and the length was good. You could wear a regular bra, but I would recommend strapless just because of how the sleeves flutter open - when I first tried the dress on with a regular bra, the straps kept peeking out. I wore gold accessories to match the belt, and I love how the whole ensemble turned out!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2013
Vibrant color, fun dress
Loved the details on this dress with the gold accents and the buttons up the back. However, this dress did not fit me the best, I have a large chest (34C) and even in the 6 it was baggy in the chest. I wore this for a summer outdoor wedding so it was easy to move around in. But if I had to rent again I would go down a size. Wasn't my favorite RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2013
Unfortunately, too large!
This would have been a beautiful, perfect dress for the occassion, but the dress was too large. If you are a petite person, this one may not be the best! Otherwise, the color was gorgeous, and I like the detail in the belt (which is hard to see from the picture).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful dress, but I did not end up wearing it.
This is a beautiful dress, but I did not end up wearing it. I ordered a size 2, but it ran too big. I probably should have gotten a 0. I thought it looked too frumpy on the top portion since I am small chested. Also, I thought the belt was separate. But it was apart of the dress. I was not too fond of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2013
Great dress for a summer garden party.
I wore this dress to a party where the dress code was summer chic. I paired it with some really cute black sandals. This dress was very light and airy almost like a gauzy material. It ran on the large side. I usually wear a size 12, but after reading the reviews decided to go a size down which I was a little leary of becuase I am busty, but I am very glad that I did. Even the size 10 had a little more room than I would have liked. The back of the dress was really cute, it had fake buttons going up the back (It was a zipper dress). The color of the dress was great for summer and it photographed really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2013
Pretty cut and color, but should have ordered the smaller size.
This was my backup dress, but I didn't end up wearing it (even for the Friday night dinner) because it was too big. I ordered my main dress in 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6, but should have ordered this one in 4 as the 6 was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 27, 2013
I got a lot of compliments and the color is fabulous, plus...my fiance loved it!
I LOVED this dress, the color, everything. The only thing was, I am pretty small (and small chested) and I wore a zero, but it still felt a little large at the top, like there was a decent amount of fabric that didnt need to be there. With that said, I would still recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 1, 2013
loved the color.
loved the dress. the color was great, it was light weight and easy to wear. I wore it to a wedding and to church. It was a perfect length even though I am short. Fit nicely after having a baby Only downside was that it was impossible to nurse a baby in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
March 25, 2014
Unfortunately this dress didn't fit well
The top was way too big. Rented an 8. Wanted to wear it to a wedding rehearsal, but wore another dress instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 13, 2014
My first RTR experience was awesome. Definitely doing it again!
I wore this dress to a wedding in April. The color was great! I paired it with the Southern Plantation earrings from Nicole Miller and the Diana Snake clutch by Lauren Merkin. I received numerous compliments on the entire outfit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2014
Comfortable and feminine!
This was a beautiful dress that could be more casual or more dressy depending on accessories! The size 2 fit well and there is a good chance a smaller size would have fit! Very comfortable and flowy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 28, 2014
Great Color!
The color and style of this dress is fabulous. I wore to it a day event and it fit in perfectly. Not too formal and I dressed it down with some wedges. The detail on the back is the best part...I loved the buttons! My only complaint about this dress and why I gave it the four stars and not five is the belt didn't fall at my natural waist in front. It hit slightly above... more on my ribs. It didn't exactly give me a slimming look. The size two fit better than the 4 but I wore the 4 because it was a bit looser and I felt the belt sat a little lower. I would agree with the other reviews that if you are busty, this may not be the dress for you. I think this may be the reason it sat high on me. Overall a very nice dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×