Banana Pepper Dress

$77 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Spice up your night in this Mark & James tomato-red flutter sleeve dress. The gold braided waistband adds dramatic detail against the lady-like ruffle tiers. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Mod Squared Necklace for an easy day to night look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Flutter sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with ruffle detail and gold braided belt at waist. Hidden back zipper with snap closure and faux button detail. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
179 reviews
Fit
Large
(35)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 40
May 9, 2014
I wore this dress to The Kentucky Oaks. It is average in appearance in my
It fit true to size. Because of the belt and neckline made my large chest look bigger IMHO. I was not overwhelmed by it. Wouldn't rent it again- too many outstanding choices.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2014
Cute, flirty dress! Easy to wear, fit well - good safe choice.
I rented this originally in the hopes to wear it to a formal dinner, but it was actually too casual. I wore it instead for my husband's birthday dinner and drinks. It was great choice for not worrying about showing too much cleavage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 13, 2014
Didn't wear. Ran small
I typically wear and 8 and both the 8 and 10 were tight on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2014
comfortable, yet stylish choice for a daytime event
When the dress I initially ordered didn't work out, this was a last minute exchange. I loved the way this looked way more than my original option! The color is vibrant and the fit is flattering, which is a big deal for me since I just had a baby a few months prior. Even though I'm still busty, it was a bit looser on top, so smaller ladies should consider sizing down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 20, 2014
A perfect afternoon party dress that can be glammed up or down with the right accessories.
The dress runs true to size. I ordered the size 4 with the size 2 as an alternate and ended up wearing the size 2 with a little room to spare at the waist. The fabric is light and drapes very nicely. Because I'm a petite 5' 1" the dress was a little longer on me than on the model, but it still fell about an inch above the knee and looked great. My only complaint is that the built-in belt fell a bit high above my natural waist, making me look short-waisted and a little unproportioned. I had to keep tugging the dress down to get the belt to stay at my waist but it kept creeping up. Still, I got a lot of compliments on the bright pop of color among a sea of black and white and a style just different enough to be noticed but not glaring. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 22, 2014
Great color for a beach wedding
Wore this for my mother's second wedding on the beach. The color is a bright coral and was beautiful. The attached belt cinched in my waist nicely too. Great, easy, comfortable dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
May 27, 2014
Great dress... Very comfortable
Fit well and very light material makes it great for a summer wedding
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2014
I got a lot of compliments on the dress. It was a nice light fabric for a wedding in a hot climate.
I ordered the 6, and got the extra in a size 4. The 6 was much too big and so I ended up wearing the 4. On my petite frame it was still a little big on top and could have been shortened by about 2 inches on both shoulder seams. That would have made it perfect. I am pretty petite though and most things fit me too long in the armpit and torso. I might have been able to squeeze into a 2, but I think the 4 was great to allow some room for dancing and eating. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 28, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding in LA!
Overall, I thought this was a wonderful dress. I wore the Size 0 which is pretty on par with what I usually wear (I wear between a 0-2 depending on the dress but because of the dress style this was perfect in 0) so that was nice. My only issue was while getting it on was I had to wiggle quite a bit to get it over my booty, but once on the fit was perfect! I do wish I had time to grab some fashion tape because I didn't realize how open the sleeves were going to be and a couple times my bra straps became slightly visible, but it worked out just fine. I felt like I was dressed conservatively enough but still felt sexy in it. FYI I wore it to a Catholic wedding and then a reception at a country club in Los Angeles in May just to give some perspective on what the event was that I was wearing the dress for. Great dress! I highly recommend this dress and truly wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
May 29, 2014
Stunning color, but the fit was not for me.
I think this dress is best suited for someone who has a small waist. I am a 14 and the waist emphasized my midsection (not in a good way.) I am 5'2 and it was short even for me and it bunched in the back. I wish it had not been too small because the color and fabric are very pretty. The back has a long row of little buttons that are a nice detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
June 2, 2014
Pretty Color but odd fit
The dress was a great color, the only problem was the back of the dress was so big (above the belt) i kept having to pull the front down to make the back smaller. It was very annoying. I wore the 0 size and it was so big still!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 153lbs
June 2, 2014
Too big and a little odd
The dress is pretty and it's a shame I couldn't wear it. It was simply too large. Admittedly, I've lost weight recently, so I think the 10 would've been better than the 12. To be honest, I might've even been able to pull off the 8! However I think the fabric is odd the way it overlaps. There's a slit in the fabric that one of the layers is supposed to go through or hang over. I really couldn't figure it out, but that's was a strange design element.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 4, 2014
a more "orange" red than it looks online, and runs LARGE
I ended up not wearing this dress. The 0 was too big (seemed to be sized like a 2 or even a 4). The layers of fabric were sort of weird, and the color was more "orange" than I expected
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
June 6, 2014
Pretty spring/summer dress
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. The fit was mostly good, but if you can't fill out the bust the material droops.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 8, 2014
Garden Party
Beautiful color & drape. Perfect for day to evening. Comfortable & easy to move around. I have a short torso & a little less waist to shoulder length would have been good but for anyone "normal" the fit will be perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2014
I didn't get to wear the dress. I was unable to make it to my event.
I rented a size 2 and 4. Both sizes were too loose. However, the dress is very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2014
Great dress! Comfortable and not too short!
I rented this dress for a friends summer wedding that was on the casual side, it was perfect! I have long legs and dresses tend to look way too short on me, and this one was a great length. It was really comfortable, cute and flirty. I'd recommend! The braided belt showed a little wear, but nothing major. I ordered a 4 as my alternate dress, and the 2 fit great so I went with that.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
June 9, 2014
Fantastic dress!
I rented this dress for a bridal shower I was hosting. It fit great. I do wish the belt wasnt sown in as it rode up a bit, but wasnt really a big deal. Got a ton of compliments on this one!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2014
I loved the color!
It was definitely roomy on top so I'm glad I ordered 1 size down. I loved the color and even the length, which can sometimes be a miss for me since I'm only 5'2".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2014
Great dress! Felt so pretty in it.
The back was a little too loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2014
OK for a vineyard wedding
The style and color were great for an outdoor summer wedding at a vineyard. The fit overall was good, I could have worn the 2 or the 0, but both had uneven hemlines in the front (which thankfully were somewhat masked by the chiffon layers) and the top was baggy for someone my size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2014
Gorgeous Summer Color
Cute dress. It was comfortable, a great color, and my husband loved it. A few cons - the overall fit is strangely baggy, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the gold belt is tiny and has no stretch. Zero. I wore the 4 and I think the 2 might have been more flattering on the top, but I doubt I could have fit into the belt. (My backup size was the 6). It was so baggy on top that it kept sort of falling forward, and I felt like you could see the outline of my bra, which didn't make sense to me since it was, you know, loose. The skirt does lay sort of funny, the layers of fabric are wrapped inside each other so one side looks perfect but the other, you can tell is looped through the other layer... Kind of hard to explain. Just know that it's not exactly symmetrical. Overall I really enjoyed this rental. If you're looking for something that is a bit billowy and colorful, this is your dress - if you want to show off your curves, the only thing this will accentuate is a small waist. I recently had surgery and haven't been able to work out, so I liked that I was still my same size despite being a little self-conscious after weeks off my feet! I also rented the Yellow Brick Road Clutch which was fun to tote around and surprisingly roomy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 16, 2014
Perfect graduation dress.
Ended up wearing the 10 for a little extra length. Loved the built in belt. The dress paired well with the Drifting Leaves necklace by Lulu Frost. Great color and comfortable fabric. Would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2014
Got this dress as a free backup from RTR when my first choice was ruined
The belt is tight. Unflattering fit for me. Just ok dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
June 18, 2014
Perfect color for a perfect party!!!
So many compliments on the color the fit and how young I looked! Easy and light water. Framed my body nicely since I've been self conscious of my weight. Covered up well and even though I hurt my knee everyone noticed the dress. Will totally rent again!! Love it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2014
It is a wonderful dress for any time of the day. The color is a rich coral.
It fits nicely around the hips and thighs. It will be a bit tight where the belt is, but it is a forgiving dress and I would think that it could even work as a pregnancy or post pregnancy dress, too. I am so glad it fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
June 25, 2014
Cute Dress
Had this dress sent to me as an alternative for engagement photos. The dress is a beautiful coral color and got really well from the waist down but was too large for me in the bust. Was a good option but ended up wearing a different dress which fit better
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 1, 2014
Everyone complimented on how great it looked on me. And it was so comfortable!
Comfotable, classy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2014
I wore this for my son's baptism. It was PERFECT!
I had a baby 3 months ago so I am still holding on to some baby weight. I wanted something I would feel comfortable in BUT I also wanted to look good. The built in belt on this dress was exactly what I needed. It showed off my waist. I got compliments all day long. I would totally rent this again. I wore it with the necklace on the model and it was so nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
July 7, 2014
The dress was a great choice for the night!
The zipper was a little tricky, but other than that it was perfect.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 7, 2014
i really liked it for the not so formal wedding i attended
I have a large chest(34DDD) and I found this to have a lot of room in the top. I think the bottom is more true to size. It looked really nice and i didnt have to worry about a strapless bra like most dresses i was considering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163lbs
July 8, 2014
Nice dress for summer
The color of the dress was beautiful and the gold belt added a very nice touch of elegance. It was slightly snug around my midsection but I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes that I had rented out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2014
This dress is best for taller, leaner bodies.
This dress didn't look as light and airy on me as it did in the photo. I have a shorter, slightly stalky build. I also have a larger bust which made the top half look strange and poofy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 20, 2014
Great dress!
I love this dress! I rented it for a July 4th event where I needed to have something red. I was afraid I'd need to size up, since I read it was loose on top and tighter in the hips, and I'm slightly pear-shaped. However, size 4 worked perfectly for me. It is loose on top, but in a flattering, Grecian sort of way. I thought it was very pretty, and I got lots of compliments! I wore it with sparkly gold flats and a big gold sparkly necklace I also rented from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2014
I rented this dress for Easter Sunday and it was really lovely!
Nice fit, very comfortable and the gold belt is a sweet touch. I would definitely rent it again! I rented both the sizes 4 and 6 but the 4 fit my waist much better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2014
Perfect color... Brighter than model pictures.
This dress fit great, and I received lots of compliments. The color is beautiful... Very bright. The gold belt was cute, but the snaps on the back took some work to close. Might just have been mine. The dress is very flowy and comfortable. No problems with the length either! Split sleeves were fun and just played into dresses airy feel.
RTR CustomerJuly 28, 2014
This picture does not have the correct dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2014
Not too dressy
This dress was very comfortable and perfect for a not to fancy holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
Great color!
The ruffles on this dress lay very weird. When you walk it the way the skirt flows it looks like you have a rip in the front of your dress. The dress was fun to wear for one night and it is true to size and very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2014
Very nice dress. Not fantastic, not bad. Good.
I'm not sure how to describe this dress. It was pretty, it looked good, it was closer to red pepper colored, and less coral. When it arrived, it was a bit less solid than I expected. Not flimsy, just a lot lighter. There is no breast support, and the fact that I have breasts made the waist band a bit higher than I wanted. Nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 30, 2014
Comfortable and very forgiving!
Rented this for dinner while on vacation. Pretty normal short length. Nice bright red/orange color with gold belt. I loved that the way the front lays it covers my stomach and I was very comfortable in it ( and not always worried about "sucking it in" lol).
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×