Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Banana Pepper Dress

$40 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Spice up your night in this Mark & James tomato-red flutter sleeve dress. The gold braided waistband adds dramatic detail against the lady-like ruffle tiers. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Mod Squared Necklace for an easy day to night look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Flutter sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with ruffle detail and gold braided belt at waist. Hidden back zipper with snap closure and faux button detail. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

156 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 108
Large 33
Photos 75
Radhika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Perfect engagement session!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore for my engagement session and it photographed beautifully since it's a bright solid color. It was a bit cold to wear it - probably a better summer dress than a late fall dress in California. The texture of the fabric, fit and weight were all perfect. Rent the runway made the return easy and painless, although I wish I had read that you can wait until Monday to return a dress that would normally be due on Sunday - good tip for next time!
Britt
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

Great color, really loose on top

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The top is pretty loose. I wear an 6-8 depending on where the waist hits. The 6 was a little snug in the waist, but bearable. The top half on the 8 was SUPER baggy. However, I got tons of compliments on the color, it was comfortable, and the necklace (also RTR) was perfect!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 21, 2015

Loved it!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit for a bridal shower!
Tina
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 24, 2015

This dress worked out nicely.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was comfortable and the draping makes it flattering. The color is beautiful. The length was just right for my height of 5'
Lyndsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Jun 4, 2015

Very pretty!! Loved this dress! Perfect for a rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit true to size and was actually a little tight! But I wore it anyways to a rehearsal dinner! I loved the buttons in the back and the pretty gold belt. It has beautiful details. I wore wedge sandals with it because the rehearsal dinner was more casual, but you could definitely dress it up with dressier heels. Can't go wrong with this cute dress!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Flowy and perfect for a semi-cold day for our couples shower.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a great dress for my (now) husband and my couples' shower as it was flowy and a great length with jean leggings. I wore tan boots that matched the belt that comes on the dress. I paired it with my own navy and cream necklace and some gold/sparkly bracelets. Everyone kept telling me how much they loved the dress and how it fit like a glove. I loved the button detail in the back. The only complaint is that I wish the belt had been adjustable as I have a long torso, so it kind of hit me a little weird. But it was very flattering and I loved the flutter sleeves! I would purchase this dress if I could!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 22, 2015

Fun, easy to wear dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was good, slightly snug on the waistband but nothing unreasonable. Otherwise it was flattering and I felt good in it. I thought it was easy and fun to dress up with gold jewelry and shoes.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Fantastic, eye-catching red - a festive party number!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a holiday party and had the fortunate opportunity to tour Jay's Garage the same day. It performed all day and evening long! It's a beautiful cut that would likely work with most body types. I found it to be a little large in the waist, so in retrospect I might have gotten away with a size smaller. The sleeve detail makes for sleek arm photos - a little bonus! Needless to say, I had a blast in this dress!
Kerry Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Comfortable yet glamorous!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Vacation
I selected this as a free rental to wear out to dinner on vacation. You can wear a normal bra - which is always nice! Unique color and a terrific rental.
Mathilda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Perfect for Christmas with the family

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for Christmas with family, and really loved it. The color is bold and festive, fabric is light but not overly summery, and the fit was comfortable for a big dinner.
kakiss
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Great color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in Southern California in September. I was hot outside, but the dress cut kept me breezy and cool. I received many compliments on the color, and I loved the buttons down the back. I reserved both the 2 and 4 and went with the 2, and honestly could have probably fit the 0 if I had ordered it because it was still a little loose in the mid section. I have a small torso and larger hips, but it was not an issue around the hip area. I was able to move and dance comfortably all night. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. My experience with RTR was fantastic and I can't wait to rent again!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Comfortable but classy.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a great color and fit. I could have worn the 10, but it was for a rehearsal dinner, so I didn't want it to be too tight in the stomach after eating. I received compliments on the dress, and it was the right amount of dressy, without being too formal. Very comfortable as well. It moved great and covered my problem areas well (I'm much more bottom heavy). Would rent again for another casual occasion.
STS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

flowy and fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
color nice and bright, orange-y which was my assigned color for a bright colored event. so easy to log on and search by color and get a great dress to wear that i didnt have to spend tons on and keep afterwards and never wear again. love this service!
suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Beautiful color - and so comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress. The color is a very bright orangey-red. It was so light weight and comfortable. You can wear a normal bra with it with a little fashion tape (the flutter sleeves are really thin, so you need to attach your straps to just the right place.) Based on some reviews, I was worried about the excess fabric on top making the fit too baggy or frumpy, but I didn't find that at all. I am long-waisted for my height, and the belt hit at exactly the right place. (Perhaps if you are short-waisted, it might just have too much material on top?) It was perfect for a summer wedding, and I will definitely rent this again!
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wasn't sure how this dress would look on me since I tend to go for form fitting dresses that hug my curves. I was pleasantly surprised how pretty it looked and how comfortable it was. The color is just gorgeous. I ordered an 8 and got a 6 as my backup and ended up going with the 6. I danced all night in it and got lots of complements.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Greek goddess with some sass!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! The color was beautiful and it fit incredibly! Lots of compliments and danced for 3 hours in it. Perfect for a wedding!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Comfortable and very forgiving!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this for dinner while on vacation. Pretty normal short length. Nice bright red/orange color with gold belt. I loved that the way the front lays it covers my stomach and I was very comfortable in it ( and not always worried about "sucking it in" lol).
Tracey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Perfect color... Brighter than model pictures.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit great, and I received lots of compliments. The color is beautiful... Very bright. The gold belt was cute, but the snaps on the back took some work to close. Might just have been mine. The dress is very flowy and comfortable. No problems with the length either! Split sleeves were fun and just played into dresses airy feel.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Super fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fun, flirty, fits gorgeously... this is a fantastic dress for a summer wedding. it is a little thick and heavy so be prepared to sweat if it's an outdoor wedding, but the look is totally worth it!
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! I rented it for a July 4th event where I needed to have something red. I was afraid I'd need to size up, since I read it was loose on top and tighter in the hips, and I'm slightly pear-shaped. However, size 4 worked perfectly for me. It is loose on top, but in a flattering, Grecian sort of way. I thought it was very pretty, and I got lots of compliments! I wore it with sparkly gold flats and a big gold sparkly necklace I also rented from RTR.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 18, 2014

Color made me stand out!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ultimately I was pleased with this dress but it wasn't perfect. The waist was comfortable but the chest was baggy, it would probably be better for busty ladies. The length was ideal, short but I didn't worry I was exposed. The dress had a little bit of an awkward drape in the front but not a deal breaker.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Great color for spring/summer!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for Easter and it was a hit, especially the color! I received lots of compliments. The dress was comfortable other than the belt, which is incorporated into the dress and has no flex. The 10 fit to a tee, so after a holiday meal the belt was pretty snug! I was worried the split sleeves would constantly fall open, but they stayed on my shoulders most of the time. Great dress for a day-time event!
RTR Customer
Jul 1, 2014

Everyone complimented on how great it looked on me. And it was so comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Comfotable, classy
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

I received so many compliments that I couldn't help but smile all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner, it was perfect. The colors so bright and cheery, but still sophisticated. The cut of the dress is flattering. THe button details in the back are precious and the gold belt pulls it all together. It's the perfect summer dress, light and airy. I'll definitely be renting this again.
Emaida
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

It is a wonderful dress for any time of the day. The color is a rich coral.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fits nicely around the hips and thighs. It will be a bit tight where the belt is, but it is a forgiving dress and I would think that it could even work as a pregnancy or post pregnancy dress, too. I am so glad it fit perfectly!
Lolita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect color for a perfect party!!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
So many compliments on the color the fit and how young I looked! Easy and light water. Framed my body nicely since I've been self conscious of my weight. Covered up well and even though I hurt my knee everyone noticed the dress. Will totally rent again!! Love it
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Perfect graduation dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Ended up wearing the 10 for a little extra length. Loved the built in belt. The dress paired well with the Drifting Leaves necklace by Lulu Frost. Great color and comfortable fabric. Would definitely rent this one again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Gorgeous Summer Color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Cute dress. It was comfortable, a great color, and my husband loved it. A few cons - the overall fit is strangely baggy, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the gold belt is tiny and has no stretch. Zero. I wore the 4 and I think the 2 might have been more flattering on the top, but I doubt I could have fit into the belt. (My backup size was the 6). It was so baggy on top that it kept sort of falling forward, and I felt like you could see the outline of my bra, which didn't make sense to me since it was, you know, loose. The skirt does lay sort of funny, the layers of fabric are wrapped inside each other so one side looks perfect but the other, you can tell is looped through the other layer... Kind of hard to explain. Just know that it's not exactly symmetrical. Overall I really enjoyed this rental. If you're looking for something that is a bit billowy and colorful, this is your dress - if you want to show off your curves, the only thing this will accentuate is a small waist. I recently had surgery and haven't been able to work out, so I liked that I was still my same size despite being a little self-conscious after weeks off my feet! I also rented the Yellow Brick Road Clutch which was fun to tote around and surprisingly roomy!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

OK for a vineyard wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The style and color were great for an outdoor summer wedding at a vineyard. The fit overall was good, I could have worn the 2 or the 0, but both had uneven hemlines in the front (which thankfully were somewhat masked by the chiffon layers) and the top was baggy for someone my size.
Ana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

I loved the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was definitely roomy on top so I'm glad I ordered 1 size down. I loved the color and even the length, which can sometimes be a miss for me since I'm only 5'2".
Kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Nice dress, nothing special.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Perfectly pretty dress but ended up not wearing it. Nice fabric/color/belt, only complaint is that the way the top fits it can look a bit matronly or frumpy with the excess fabric (and I couldn't go down a size or it was too tight in the waist).
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Great dress! Comfortable and not too short!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friends summer wedding that was on the casual side, it was perfect! I have long legs and dresses tend to look way too short on me, and this one was a great length. It was really comfortable, cute and flirty. I'd recommend! The braided belt showed a little wear, but nothing major. I ordered a 4 as my alternate dress, and the 2 fit great so I went with that.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Garden Party

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful color & drape. Perfect for day to evening. Comfortable & easy to move around. I have a short torso & a little less waist to shoulder length would have been good but for anyone "normal" the fit will be perfect.
Tilli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
May 28, 2014

I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding in LA!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I thought this was a wonderful dress. I wore the Size 0 which is pretty on par with what I usually wear (I wear between a 0-2 depending on the dress but because of the dress style this was perfect in 0) so that was nice. My only issue was while getting it on was I had to wiggle quite a bit to get it over my booty, but once on the fit was perfect! I do wish I had time to grab some fashion tape because I didn't realize how open the sleeves were going to be and a couple times my bra straps became slightly visible, but it worked out just fine. I felt like I was dressed conservatively enough but still felt sexy in it. FYI I wore it to a Catholic wedding and then a reception at a country club in Los Angeles in May just to give some perspective on what the event was that I was wearing the dress for. Great dress! I highly recommend this dress and truly wish I owned it!
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
May 27, 2014

I got a lot of compliments on the dress. It was a nice light fabric for a wedding in a hot climate.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6, and got the extra in a size 4. The 6 was much too big and so I ended up wearing the 4. On my petite frame it was still a little big on top and could have been shortened by about 2 inches on both shoulder seams. That would have made it perfect. I am pretty petite though and most things fit me too long in the armpit and torso. I might have been able to squeeze into a 2, but I think the 4 was great to allow some room for dancing and eating. :)
CMed
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2014

comfortable, yet stylish choice for a daytime event

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When the dress I initially ordered didn't work out, this was a last minute exchange. I loved the way this looked way more than my original option! The color is vibrant and the fit is flattering, which is a big deal for me since I just had a baby a few months prior. Even though I'm still busty, it was a bit looser on top, so smaller ladies should consider sizing down.
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 10, 2014

The color is gorgeous! And such great customer service.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
SO MANY COMPLIMENTS! The dress is so comfortable, amazing material, and great color. I love this dress and don't want to send it back!
Allison
Top Contributor
Age: 39
May 9, 2014

I wore this dress to The Kentucky Oaks. It is average in appearance in my

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit true to size. Because of the belt and neckline made my large chest look bigger IMHO. I was not overwhelmed by it. Wouldn't rent it again- too many outstanding choices.
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2014

Gorgeous, comfy daytime dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was a perfect replacement for the Shoshana dress I ordered that was too big. I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks (the day of races before the Kentucky Derby). I usually wear a size 10 and 10 would have fit but the 8 was just right. I loved the back of the dress and the gold belt. The fabric was nice and color was vibrant! Looked great with nude heels but would have looked good with gold also. Great choice for any daytime occasion.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Rented for a wedding...

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in Newport, RI. I really loved the color of this dress and the flowy material on the bottom. It was really comfortable and allowed for eating and dancing without a problem. I would rent this one again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×