Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Banana Pepper Dress

$40 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Spice up your night in this Mark & James tomato-red flutter sleeve dress. The gold braided waistband adds dramatic detail against the lady-like ruffle tiers. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Mod Squared Necklace for an easy day to night look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Flutter sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with ruffle detail and gold braided belt at waist. Hidden back zipper with snap closure and faux button detail. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
165 reviews
Fit
Large34
True to Size110
Small7
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2014
Great color!
I wore this dress to a wedding in Southern California in September. I was hot outside, but the dress cut kept me breezy and cool. I received many compliments on the color, and I loved the buttons down the back. I reserved both the 2 and 4 and went with the 2, and honestly could have probably fit the 0 if I had ordered it because it was still a little loose in the mid section. I have a small torso and larger hips, but it was not an issue around the hip area. I was able to move and dance comfortably all night. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. My experience with RTR was fantastic and I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2014
Made me look frumpy
I got this dress as a replacement dress for an original dress that didn't fit. Unfortunately, this one didn't either. I'm typically a 6 but post-baby (15 months ago) I've been wearing an 8 because I have a bit of a pooch now. The 6 would have fit perfectly but the gold band at the waist has no give and so was pressing against my rib cage (my pooch in this case was not the issue). The size 8 fit at the waist, but looked frumpy and obviously too big on my upper half. It's a pretty dress; just wish that the waist had an elastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2014
Comfortable but classy.
This dress was a great color and fit. I could have worn the 10, but it was for a rehearsal dinner, so I didn't want it to be too tight in the stomach after eating. I received compliments on the dress, and it was the right amount of dressy, without being too formal. Very comfortable as well. It moved great and covered my problem areas well (I'm much more bottom heavy). Would rent again for another casual occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 26, 2014
Awkward Cut
I rented this dress for a bridal shower. The color is nice but the cut is very awkward. The cap sleeves have slits along the shoulder which caused the fabric to fall either in front or behind of my arm, but not over top of the shoulder like pictured. Additionally, the front of the dress has strangely layered fabric that doesn't quite lay flat, giving you a billowy look around your hips. It's a lower-priced rental and everyone was wearing similar sundress silhouettes so it wasn't a big deal, but I just thought this dress was very "Meh" looking in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2014
Waaay Too Big
Due to circumstances entirely outside of RTR's control, there was an issue with my original order and this is the dress they sent me as an emergency back-up for my birthday party. I'm very top-heavy and have a narrow waist and hips and unfortunately even the size 4 fit me like a sack of potatoes. The built-in-belt was okay but the top was super blousey and the belt didn't fall easily on my waistline. This seemed like it would fit a short woman who is very curvy top and bottom or a tall woman (long waisted, at least) with a large chest. The size 2 may have been a better fit but sadly I was sent a 4 and 6 option the day of the party. I will say it was a great color and it was in perfect condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2014
flowy and fun
color nice and bright, orange-y which was my assigned color for a bright colored event. so easy to log on and search by color and get a great dress to wear that i didnt have to spend tons on and keep afterwards and never wear again. love this service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2014
Intended for Rehearsal Dinner
I rented this dress with the intention of wearing it to a close friend's rehearsal dinner...unfortunately the dress did not fit well. The top was very loose and the bottom was VERY snug (in all the wrong places), so snug I was not comfortable wearing the dress. I fell in love with the color online and even more so in person, which is why I'm so upset I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2014
Beautiful color - and so comfortable
I loved everything about this dress. The color is a very bright orangey-red. It was so light weight and comfortable. You can wear a normal bra with it with a little fashion tape (the flutter sleeves are really thin, so you need to attach your straps to just the right place.) Based on some reviews, I was worried about the excess fabric on top making the fit too baggy or frumpy, but I didn't find that at all. I am long-waisted for my height, and the belt hit at exactly the right place. (Perhaps if you are short-waisted, it might just have too much material on top?) It was perfect for a summer wedding, and I will definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 4, 2014
Beautiful dress
I wasn't sure how this dress would look on me since I tend to go for form fitting dresses that hug my curves. I was pleasantly surprised how pretty it looked and how comfortable it was. The color is just gorgeous. I ordered an 8 and got a 6 as my backup and ended up going with the 6. I danced all night in it and got lots of complements.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2014
Greek goddess with some sass!
This dress was perfect! The color was beautiful and it fit incredibly! Lots of compliments and danced for 3 hours in it. Perfect for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 30, 2014
Comfortable and very forgiving!
Rented this for dinner while on vacation. Pretty normal short length. Nice bright red/orange color with gold belt. I loved that the way the front lays it covers my stomach and I was very comfortable in it ( and not always worried about "sucking it in" lol).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2014
Very nice dress. Not fantastic, not bad. Good.
I'm not sure how to describe this dress. It was pretty, it looked good, it was closer to red pepper colored, and less coral. When it arrived, it was a bit less solid than I expected. Not flimsy, just a lot lighter. There is no breast support, and the fact that I have breasts made the waist band a bit higher than I wanted. Nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
Great color!
The ruffles on this dress lay very weird. When you walk it the way the skirt flows it looks like you have a rip in the front of your dress. The dress was fun to wear for one night and it is true to size and very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2014
Perfect color... Brighter than model pictures.
This dress fit great, and I received lots of compliments. The color is beautiful... Very bright. The gold belt was cute, but the snaps on the back took some work to close. Might just have been mine. The dress is very flowy and comfortable. No problems with the length either! Split sleeves were fun and just played into dresses airy feel.
RTR CustomerJuly 28, 2014
This picture does not have the correct dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2014
I rented this dress for Easter Sunday and it was really lovely!
Nice fit, very comfortable and the gold belt is a sweet touch. I would definitely rent it again! I rented both the sizes 4 and 6 but the 4 fit my waist much better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 20, 2014
Great dress!
I love this dress! I rented it for a July 4th event where I needed to have something red. I was afraid I'd need to size up, since I read it was loose on top and tighter in the hips, and I'm slightly pear-shaped. However, size 4 worked perfectly for me. It is loose on top, but in a flattering, Grecian sort of way. I thought it was very pretty, and I got lots of compliments! I wore it with sparkly gold flats and a big gold sparkly necklace I also rented from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 18, 2014
Color made me stand out!
Ultimately I was pleased with this dress but it wasn't perfect. The waist was comfortable but the chest was baggy, it would probably be better for busty ladies. The length was ideal, short but I didn't worry I was exposed. The dress had a little bit of an awkward drape in the front but not a deal breaker.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2014
I ended up not even wearing this dress
This dress just fit very awkwardly. The belt was tight and the chest was big, even though I'm. 34 DD. I rented for the extended period do I could take it to an out of town wedding with me and I couldn't bring myself to wear it. This was my first rtr disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2014
This dress is best for taller, leaner bodies.
This dress didn't look as light and airy on me as it did in the photo. I have a shorter, slightly stalky build. I also have a larger bust which made the top half look strange and poofy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163lbs
July 8, 2014
Nice dress for summer
The color of the dress was beautiful and the gold belt added a very nice touch of elegance. It was slightly snug around my midsection but I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes that I had rented out.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 7, 2014
i really liked it for the not so formal wedding i attended
I have a large chest(34DDD) and I found this to have a lot of room in the top. I think the bottom is more true to size. It looked really nice and i didnt have to worry about a strapless bra like most dresses i was considering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
July 7, 2014
The dress was a great choice for the night!
The zipper was a little tricky, but other than that it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
July 6, 2014
Great color for spring/summer!
I rented this dress for Easter and it was a hit, especially the color! I received lots of compliments. The dress was comfortable other than the belt, which is incorporated into the dress and has no flex. The 10 fit to a tee, so after a holiday meal the belt was pretty snug! I was worried the split sleeves would constantly fall open, but they stayed on my shoulders most of the time. Great dress for a day-time event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 3, 2014
very comfortable, get the accessories for this one!
liked
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2014
I wore this for my son's baptism. It was PERFECT!
I had a baby 3 months ago so I am still holding on to some baby weight. I wanted something I would feel comfortable in BUT I also wanted to look good. The built in belt on this dress was exactly what I needed. It showed off my waist. I got compliments all day long. I would totally rent this again. I wore it with the necklace on the model and it was so nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2014
Great color & comfortable
Loved this for the wedding I attended. Fitted but the fabric is a little bit drapy, so still great for dancing. Received many compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 1, 2014
Everyone complimented on how great it looked on me. And it was so comfortable!
Comfotable, classy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2014
I received so many compliments that I couldn't help but smile all night!
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner, it was perfect. The colors so bright and cheery, but still sophisticated. The cut of the dress is flattering. THe button details in the back are precious and the gold belt pulls it all together. It's the perfect summer dress, light and airy. I'll definitely be renting this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
June 25, 2014
Cute Dress
Had this dress sent to me as an alternative for engagement photos. The dress is a beautiful coral color and got really well from the waist down but was too large for me in the bust. Was a good option but ended up wearing a different dress which fit better
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2014
It is a wonderful dress for any time of the day. The color is a rich coral.
It fits nicely around the hips and thighs. It will be a bit tight where the belt is, but it is a forgiving dress and I would think that it could even work as a pregnancy or post pregnancy dress, too. I am so glad it fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
June 18, 2014
Perfect color for a perfect party!!!
So many compliments on the color the fit and how young I looked! Easy and light water. Framed my body nicely since I've been self conscious of my weight. Covered up well and even though I hurt my knee everyone noticed the dress. Will totally rent again!! Love it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2014
Got this dress as a free backup from RTR when my first choice was ruined
The belt is tight. Unflattering fit for me. Just ok dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 16, 2014
Perfect graduation dress.
Ended up wearing the 10 for a little extra length. Loved the built in belt. The dress paired well with the Drifting Leaves necklace by Lulu Frost. Great color and comfortable fabric. Would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2014
Gorgeous Summer Color
Cute dress. It was comfortable, a great color, and my husband loved it. A few cons - the overall fit is strangely baggy, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the gold belt is tiny and has no stretch. Zero. I wore the 4 and I think the 2 might have been more flattering on the top, but I doubt I could have fit into the belt. (My backup size was the 6). It was so baggy on top that it kept sort of falling forward, and I felt like you could see the outline of my bra, which didn't make sense to me since it was, you know, loose. The skirt does lay sort of funny, the layers of fabric are wrapped inside each other so one side looks perfect but the other, you can tell is looped through the other layer... Kind of hard to explain. Just know that it's not exactly symmetrical. Overall I really enjoyed this rental. If you're looking for something that is a bit billowy and colorful, this is your dress - if you want to show off your curves, the only thing this will accentuate is a small waist. I recently had surgery and haven't been able to work out, so I liked that I was still my same size despite being a little self-conscious after weeks off my feet! I also rented the Yellow Brick Road Clutch which was fun to tote around and surprisingly roomy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2014
OK for a vineyard wedding
The style and color were great for an outdoor summer wedding at a vineyard. The fit overall was good, I could have worn the 2 or the 0, but both had uneven hemlines in the front (which thankfully were somewhat masked by the chiffon layers) and the top was baggy for someone my size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2014
Great dress! Felt so pretty in it.
The back was a little too loose.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2014
I loved the color!
It was definitely roomy on top so I'm glad I ordered 1 size down. I loved the color and even the length, which can sometimes be a miss for me since I'm only 5'2".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148lbs
June 9, 2014
Nice dress, nothing special.
Perfectly pretty dress but ended up not wearing it. Nice fabric/color/belt, only complaint is that the way the top fits it can look a bit matronly or frumpy with the excess fabric (and I couldn't go down a size or it was too tight in the waist).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
June 9, 2014
Fantastic dress!
I rented this dress for a bridal shower I was hosting. It fit great. I do wish the belt wasnt sown in as it rode up a bit, but wasnt really a big deal. Got a ton of compliments on this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2014
Great dress! Comfortable and not too short!
I rented this dress for a friends summer wedding that was on the casual side, it was perfect! I have long legs and dresses tend to look way too short on me, and this one was a great length. It was really comfortable, cute and flirty. I'd recommend! The braided belt showed a little wear, but nothing major. I ordered a 4 as my alternate dress, and the 2 fit great so I went with that.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×