Banana Pepper Dress

$77 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Spice up your night in this Mark & James tomato-red flutter sleeve dress. The gold braided waistband adds dramatic detail against the lady-like ruffle tiers. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Mod Squared Necklace for an easy day to night look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Flutter sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with ruffle detail and gold braided belt at waist. Hidden back zipper with snap closure and faux button detail. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
179 reviews
Fit
Large
(35)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2014
Greek goddess with some sass!
This dress was perfect! The color was beautiful and it fit incredibly! Lots of compliments and danced for 3 hours in it. Perfect for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 4, 2014
Beautiful dress
I wasn't sure how this dress would look on me since I tend to go for form fitting dresses that hug my curves. I was pleasantly surprised how pretty it looked and how comfortable it was. The color is just gorgeous. I ordered an 8 and got a 6 as my backup and ended up going with the 6. I danced all night in it and got lots of complements.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2014
Beautiful color - and so comfortable
I loved everything about this dress. The color is a very bright orangey-red. It was so light weight and comfortable. You can wear a normal bra with it with a little fashion tape (the flutter sleeves are really thin, so you need to attach your straps to just the right place.) Based on some reviews, I was worried about the excess fabric on top making the fit too baggy or frumpy, but I didn't find that at all. I am long-waisted for my height, and the belt hit at exactly the right place. (Perhaps if you are short-waisted, it might just have too much material on top?) It was perfect for a summer wedding, and I will definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2014
Intended for Rehearsal Dinner
I rented this dress with the intention of wearing it to a close friend's rehearsal dinner...unfortunately the dress did not fit well. The top was very loose and the bottom was VERY snug (in all the wrong places), so snug I was not comfortable wearing the dress. I fell in love with the color online and even more so in person, which is why I'm so upset I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2014
Waaay Too Big
Due to circumstances entirely outside of RTR's control, there was an issue with my original order and this is the dress they sent me as an emergency back-up for my birthday party. I'm very top-heavy and have a narrow waist and hips and unfortunately even the size 4 fit me like a sack of potatoes. The built-in-belt was okay but the top was super blousey and the belt didn't fall easily on my waistline. This seemed like it would fit a short woman who is very curvy top and bottom or a tall woman (long waisted, at least) with a large chest. The size 2 may have been a better fit but sadly I was sent a 4 and 6 option the day of the party. I will say it was a great color and it was in perfect condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 26, 2014
Awkward Cut
I rented this dress for a bridal shower. The color is nice but the cut is very awkward. The cap sleeves have slits along the shoulder which caused the fabric to fall either in front or behind of my arm, but not over top of the shoulder like pictured. Additionally, the front of the dress has strangely layered fabric that doesn't quite lay flat, giving you a billowy look around your hips. It's a lower-priced rental and everyone was wearing similar sundress silhouettes so it wasn't a big deal, but I just thought this dress was very "Meh" looking in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
September 9, 2014
Comfortable but classy.
This dress was a great color and fit. I could have worn the 10, but it was for a rehearsal dinner, so I didn't want it to be too tight in the stomach after eating. I received compliments on the dress, and it was the right amount of dressy, without being too formal. Very comfortable as well. It moved great and covered my problem areas well (I'm much more bottom heavy). Would rent again for another casual occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2014
Made me look frumpy
I got this dress as a replacement dress for an original dress that didn't fit. Unfortunately, this one didn't either. I'm typically a 6 but post-baby (15 months ago) I've been wearing an 8 because I have a bit of a pooch now. The 6 would have fit perfectly but the gold band at the waist has no give and so was pressing against my rib cage (my pooch in this case was not the issue). The size 8 fit at the waist, but looked frumpy and obviously too big on my upper half. It's a pretty dress; just wish that the waist had an elastic.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2014
Great color!
I wore this dress to a wedding in Southern California in September. I was hot outside, but the dress cut kept me breezy and cool. I received many compliments on the color, and I loved the buttons down the back. I reserved both the 2 and 4 and went with the 2, and honestly could have probably fit the 0 if I had ordered it because it was still a little loose in the mid section. I have a small torso and larger hips, but it was not an issue around the hip area. I was able to move and dance comfortably all night. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. My experience with RTR was fantastic and I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 10, 2014
Bright, fun and light. Great for a beach wedding!
I really enjoyed wearing this for a summer beach wedding and got tons of compliments. People could not believe i rented my dress! I really enjoyed the lower half of the dress, as it was perfectly cut and was very flattering when moving and dancing! The belt is attached, and doesn't have too much give so this was quite a bit snug and rode up when it didn't necessarily belong there, but it was barely an issue. The butterfly cut sleeves sometimes look a little odd on me as I do have broad shoulders, but these weren't too bad. I did, however wear a cardigan anyway, since it was a breezy day at the beach, which looked great with the dress. I 100% would rent this one again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2014
Beautiful dress
I wore this dress to a bridal luncheon and absolutely loved it. The dress DEFINITELY runs big! I am usually a size 6 and I would have ordered the size 8 for back up, but I noticed all of the reviews said that the dress ran big so I ordered the size 4 instead. Good thing - I ended up going with the 4, and I haven't worn a size 4 in years.. I had to wiggle a bit to get it over my butt, but once it was on it looked fantastic. I definitely recommend sizing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
May 28, 2014
Beautiful color; great for beach wedding!
I wore this dress to a destination wedding in Aruba. I chose it because the reviews said that it was great for hot weather, and they were right! The material is very light and the color was perfect for a beach wedding. The dress was casual yet fancy at the same time and was comfortable for a humid night. I would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2013
Perfect for the Occasion
I wore this to a bar mitzvah. I wore it along with sandals that had gold shade in them. I also rented the necklace shown on the model. Everything went well together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 21, 2013
Great day to night dress!
This dress fit great. It was loose fitting and extremely comfortable. I wore this to work and got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 25, 2013
Super easy to wear!
I had originally rented another dress to wear and it when it arrived, it did not fit. I called customer service (in a panic), picked out a new dress (this one) and they had it sent to me overnight! This dress was great! I loved the color and the fit. it was super comfortable and easy to wear. You can wear a normal bra and no Spanx were needed! It was light and moves nicely, easy to dance in! I got several compliments on the dress, including one from the bride! Fit true to size. Great if youre busty and have curves like i do. Normally wear and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly! I would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
June 27, 2013
Beautiful color.
I rented this dress for my birthday. Color was so beautiful, made my skin glow. Its very comfortable dress, I was able to dance whole night. Nice gold colored accent on waist area which it's not adjustable. Nice easy going dress for special evening. Highly recommended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 1, 2013
Comfortable and easy to wear! Loved wearing it!
I wore this dress for my step-sons graduation and the color made me feel beautiful! I received so many compliments! The size 8 fit me perfectly and would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2013
Fun & Perfect Fit!
This dress fit perfectly! It was very flattering and comfortable all night long. I would rent it again. Easy to dress up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 3, 2013
Great color, super comfortable, forgiving fabric!
I wore this to a wedding in PA, was more on the casual side. This dress is great--you can dress it up with fun jewelry or wear it casual. I loved the dress so much I'm renting it again for another wedding in a few weeks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 3, 2013
Brilliant Color & Great Shape
Worn for my mothers birthday dinner, the dress is her favorite color. It was very well made, great shape. I accidentally dropped by back-up size when I placed my order, the 6 would have been a better fit. The sown in belt made me a bit nervous when figuring out my size. Very lovely dress. Button detailing on the back makes for a great finished look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2013
Standing out from the crowd!
This dress definitely ran large for me, so I would recommend sizing down. I typically wear a size 2, ended up wearing the size 0, and it was still pretty loose. Other than that, this dress is amazing - the color is beautiful, the draping is a nice detail and lays very nicely, the fabric is soft and comfortable, and the length was good. You could wear a regular bra, but I would recommend strapless just because of how the sleeves flutter open - when I first tried the dress on with a regular bra, the straps kept peeking out. I wore gold accessories to match the belt, and I love how the whole ensemble turned out!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2013
Very flattering dress, easy to move and comfortable
I wore this for a wedding and we sat outside on a 90 degree day for almost an hour. The material was light enough that it didn't feel uncomfortable even in the heat. The dress was easy to move in and really comfortable on. Would definitely recommend it! It is true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2013
Vibrant color, fun dress
Loved the details on this dress with the gold accents and the buttons up the back. However, this dress did not fit me the best, I have a large chest (34C) and even in the 6 it was baggy in the chest. I wore this for a summer outdoor wedding so it was easy to move around in. But if I had to rent again I would go down a size. Wasn't my favorite RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2013
Unfortunately, too large!
This would have been a beautiful, perfect dress for the occassion, but the dress was too large. If you are a petite person, this one may not be the best! Otherwise, the color was gorgeous, and I like the detail in the belt (which is hard to see from the picture).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 19, 2013
Flowy and comfortable! Great color!
This dress has a great flowing dress that is very cute and comfortable. The belt goes along with the dress and has snap closures in the back. The buttons in the back is a really nice detail, but its a zip closure. Looked fabulous! Ended up wearing my back up to the wedding, but I would rent this again for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2013
Great bright dress for a fancy affair!
I wore this dress during our engagement photo session. It was perfect for a sunny summer day! The material is thin, but there are a lot of layers so it's actually a little warmer than I anticipated. I didn't understand the way the layers were supposed to fall on the bottom, but it didn't matter from a distance. The gold belt doesn't have any stretech to it, so once you're buttoned in - you're in. Overall it was perfect for what I needed it for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 25, 2013
Perfect for an outdoor wedding
When I first tried this dress on I was a little disappointed but then it REALLY grew on me! I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding. It was extremely HOT but the dress was perfect. It is cool, comfortable, and elegant and the additional lining under it prevented any undesirable sweat marks from coming through. It had more material in the bust area than I desired, but otherwise it is very flattering. You need to be careful with your bra straps because they can show if the straps aren't tight enough. My backup size (size 6) was a bit worn on the seat of the dress. I also wore the Kendra Scott - Deva Emerald Earrings which I loved.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
July 31, 2013
Loved this dress! Felt like a goddess!
I believe the fit runs true to size. Stunning button details up the back and love the gold accented belt.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful dress, but I did not end up wearing it.
This is a beautiful dress, but I did not end up wearing it. I ordered a size 2, but it ran too big. I probably should have gotten a 0. I thought it looked too frumpy on the top portion since I am small chested. Also, I thought the belt was separate. But it was apart of the dress. I was not too fond of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
August 28, 2013
HOT dress!
I rented this dress & the necklace on the model for an out of town wedding - it was gorgeous! The fit was very true to size. I normally wear between a 4 & 6 so I ordered both sizes. I was very pleased when I tried on the 4 and it fit perfectly. Its a very flattering style & the color is really great too. Its really more of an orange-red in person, but I was totally happy with it. One small note - the gold band around the middle is what gives it that flattering fit - but its a little constricting while sitting down. It wasn't terribly uncomfortable, just snug - keep that in mind when sizing. Overall, I was very pleased - I would absolutely recommend this one for your next rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Apple
September 9, 2013
Beautiful dress
Beautiful color and nice details
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2013
Great dress for a summer garden party.
I wore this dress to a party where the dress code was summer chic. I paired it with some really cute black sandals. This dress was very light and airy almost like a gauzy material. It ran on the large side. I usually wear a size 12, but after reading the reviews decided to go a size down which I was a little leary of becuase I am busty, but I am very glad that I did. Even the size 10 had a little more room than I would have liked. The back of the dress was really cute, it had fake buttons going up the back (It was a zipper dress). The color of the dress was great for summer and it photographed really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2013
Great dress, beautiful color!
Such a light, airy and fun dress. I rented it for a daytime event and though I didn't end up wearing it because the event turned out to be more casual, it was a great fit, length, and color.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 13, 2013
Feminine, flattering and perfect!
I wore this dress for engagement photos and absolutely loved it. It was feminine, flattering, colorful and comfortable. It was hard for me to return it because I loved it so much :). I would recommend this dress for multiple occasions.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2013
not quite right
didn't quite fit me. The waist was too small, and the top too big. happens to me sometimes though. on a bustier woman, i think this would look really cute. on me? frumpy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2013
Comfortable, pretty details, nice color
I really wanted the similar “Spread Like Wildfire” version but they no longer carry a size 4 in that style so I opted to try this variation as my backup. I ended up wearing this one but it was just okay (not amazing). The size is true but as other reviews mentioned- the top portion above the belt is just too boxy (would fit those gals more blessed then I in the chest department). I do like that the dress is forgiving in that there are no spanx required and the gauzy layers hide any problem areas and very comfortable! It was a nice pop of color in an otherwise sea of black (and turns out too casual for my event). Overall I would say stick to your normal size as the fabric does not give (I might have been able to squeeze into the size 2 but it would have been tight). But dress aside, RTR is amazing and the customer service is great. I called the night before (9pm) my order was sheduled to ship and the associate was so eager to help quickly swap-out one of my dress choices and offer feedback on certain options!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2013
This was my backup dress; didn't end up wearing it
I didn't love this dress, maybe it's just not my style. It's very pretty and the color is great, but it wasn't quite dressy enough for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2013
Super fun!
Fun, flirty, fits gorgeously... this is a fantastic dress for a summer wedding. it is a little thick and heavy so be prepared to sweat if it's an outdoor wedding, but the look is totally worth it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
October 18, 2013
I wanted to keep this dress!
I usually wear a 10 so the 12 was a bit big, but it was still very flattering and comfortable. The color is great and so fun. The faux button panel on the back that covers the zipper is an extra bonus that makes the dress look even more detailed and "expensive". I loved the belt and it went well with my dark nude heels but would look awesome with gold, too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2013
This dress was my $25 backup dress and I ended up wearing it instead of my first choice. I loved it!
The dress felt true to size as a 6. I have a larger cup size, on top of a wide rib cage and the top was a little baggy on me, I still think the dress looked great, just something to note. The length was great and I was very comfortable. Awesome dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×