Banana Pepper Dress

$107 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Spice up your night in this Mark & James tomato-red flutter sleeve dress. The gold braided waistband adds dramatic detail against the lady-like ruffle tiers. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Mod Squared Necklace for an easy day to night look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Flutter sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with ruffle detail and gold braided belt at waist. Hidden back zipper with snap closure and faux button detail. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
178 reviews
Fit
Large
(35)
True to Size
(117)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2015
I felt like a beached whale at my sister-in-law's rehearsal dinner because of this dress.
Really pretty dress with a potentially very flattering shape on any body type but in reality, it was extremely short in the waist. I normally wear a 6, and the size 6 fit well everywhere else, the size 8 was slightly large on me, but on both dresses the waist was about 2 in. above my natural waist and was very unflattering. I ordered and paid for a size 10, and the dress was just baggier everywhere else, the waist was still sitting quite high. I was pretty disappointed, I looked like I weighed about 20 lbs more than I do because the gold belt was sitting between natural waist and empire waist. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 29, 2015
Flowy and perfect for a semi-cold day for our couples shower.
It was a great dress for my (now) husband and my couples' shower as it was flowy and a great length with jean leggings. I wore tan boots that matched the belt that comes on the dress. I paired it with my own navy and cream necklace and some gold/sparkly bracelets. Everyone kept telling me how much they loved the dress and how it fit like a glove. I loved the button detail in the back. The only complaint is that I wish the belt had been adjustable as I have a long torso, so it kind of hit me a little weird. But it was very flattering and I loved the flutter sleeves! I would purchase this dress if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 22, 2015
Fun, easy to wear dress
The fit was good, slightly snug on the waistband but nothing unreasonable. Otherwise it was flattering and I felt good in it. I thought it was easy and fun to dress up with gold jewelry and shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 19, 2015
Fantastic, eye-catching red - a festive party number!
I rented this for a holiday party and had the fortunate opportunity to tour Jay's Garage the same day. It performed all day and evening long! It's a beautiful cut that would likely work with most body types. I found it to be a little large in the waist, so in retrospect I might have gotten away with a size smaller. The sleeve detail makes for sleek arm photos - a little bonus! Needless to say, I had a blast in this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2015
Beautiful color!!
This was actually my back up dress so I didn't end up wearing it... But I will absolutely be renting it for another occasion. Only word of caution for us larger busted ladies is that the waist ends up a little higher than you'd think. But the color is so stunning it's hard not love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2015
Stunning color and beautiful details!
This dress has some beautiful detailing that makes it unique. Loved the buttons down the back! Fits well, a bit loose in the waist and bust area for me. Too bad you can't adjust then belt!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2015
Comfortable yet glamorous!
I selected this as a free rental to wear out to dinner on vacation. You can wear a normal bra - which is always nice! Unique color and a terrific rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2015
The color was perfect.
The dress is adorable. The bodice was loose fitting but not over-sized. The skirt was flattering and the belt sat at my natural waist. I would recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2015
Stylish and comfortable!
I wore this dress to a wedding shower and received many compliments on it. The detail on the back of the dress made the dress. The dress fit a little tight around my rib cage but the length was great on it. I would highly recommend the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2015
Perfect for Christmas with the family
I wore this dress for Christmas with family, and really loved it. The color is bold and festive, fabric is light but not overly summery, and the fit was comfortable for a big dinner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 19, 2014
Bright dress for a summer wedding
Wore the dress for my brother's August wedding in Maine. Dress was very vibrant and forgiving for any body but very big on the top. I do not have a large top so it was baggy but I wore it anyway. The dress hit the top of my knees. The button detail on the back was beautiful and even the gold belt didn't look cheap or super fake.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2014
Beautiful dress
I wore this dress to a bridal luncheon and absolutely loved it. The dress DEFINITELY runs big! I am usually a size 6 and I would have ordered the size 8 for back up, but I noticed all of the reviews said that the dress ran big so I ordered the size 4 instead. Good thing - I ended up going with the 4, and I haven't worn a size 4 in years.. I had to wiggle a bit to get it over my butt, but once it was on it looked fantastic. I definitely recommend sizing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 10, 2014
Bright, fun and light. Great for a beach wedding!
I really enjoyed wearing this for a summer beach wedding and got tons of compliments. People could not believe i rented my dress! I really enjoyed the lower half of the dress, as it was perfectly cut and was very flattering when moving and dancing! The belt is attached, and doesn't have too much give so this was quite a bit snug and rode up when it didn't necessarily belong there, but it was barely an issue. The butterfly cut sleeves sometimes look a little odd on me as I do have broad shoulders, but these weren't too bad. I did, however wear a cardigan anyway, since it was a breezy day at the beach, which looked great with the dress. I 100% would rent this one again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2014
Great color!
I wore this dress to a wedding in Southern California in September. I was hot outside, but the dress cut kept me breezy and cool. I received many compliments on the color, and I loved the buttons down the back. I reserved both the 2 and 4 and went with the 2, and honestly could have probably fit the 0 if I had ordered it because it was still a little loose in the mid section. I have a small torso and larger hips, but it was not an issue around the hip area. I was able to move and dance comfortably all night. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. My experience with RTR was fantastic and I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2014
Made me look frumpy
I got this dress as a replacement dress for an original dress that didn't fit. Unfortunately, this one didn't either. I'm typically a 6 but post-baby (15 months ago) I've been wearing an 8 because I have a bit of a pooch now. The 6 would have fit perfectly but the gold band at the waist has no give and so was pressing against my rib cage (my pooch in this case was not the issue). The size 8 fit at the waist, but looked frumpy and obviously too big on my upper half. It's a pretty dress; just wish that the waist had an elastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
September 9, 2014
Comfortable but classy.
This dress was a great color and fit. I could have worn the 10, but it was for a rehearsal dinner, so I didn't want it to be too tight in the stomach after eating. I received compliments on the dress, and it was the right amount of dressy, without being too formal. Very comfortable as well. It moved great and covered my problem areas well (I'm much more bottom heavy). Would rent again for another casual occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 26, 2014
Awkward Cut
I rented this dress for a bridal shower. The color is nice but the cut is very awkward. The cap sleeves have slits along the shoulder which caused the fabric to fall either in front or behind of my arm, but not over top of the shoulder like pictured. Additionally, the front of the dress has strangely layered fabric that doesn't quite lay flat, giving you a billowy look around your hips. It's a lower-priced rental and everyone was wearing similar sundress silhouettes so it wasn't a big deal, but I just thought this dress was very "Meh" looking in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2014
Waaay Too Big
Due to circumstances entirely outside of RTR's control, there was an issue with my original order and this is the dress they sent me as an emergency back-up for my birthday party. I'm very top-heavy and have a narrow waist and hips and unfortunately even the size 4 fit me like a sack of potatoes. The built-in-belt was okay but the top was super blousey and the belt didn't fall easily on my waistline. This seemed like it would fit a short woman who is very curvy top and bottom or a tall woman (long waisted, at least) with a large chest. The size 2 may have been a better fit but sadly I was sent a 4 and 6 option the day of the party. I will say it was a great color and it was in perfect condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 24, 2014
flowy and fun
color nice and bright, orange-y which was my assigned color for a bright colored event. so easy to log on and search by color and get a great dress to wear that i didnt have to spend tons on and keep afterwards and never wear again. love this service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2014
Intended for Rehearsal Dinner
I rented this dress with the intention of wearing it to a close friend's rehearsal dinner...unfortunately the dress did not fit well. The top was very loose and the bottom was VERY snug (in all the wrong places), so snug I was not comfortable wearing the dress. I fell in love with the color online and even more so in person, which is why I'm so upset I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2014
Beautiful color - and so comfortable
I loved everything about this dress. The color is a very bright orangey-red. It was so light weight and comfortable. You can wear a normal bra with it with a little fashion tape (the flutter sleeves are really thin, so you need to attach your straps to just the right place.) Based on some reviews, I was worried about the excess fabric on top making the fit too baggy or frumpy, but I didn't find that at all. I am long-waisted for my height, and the belt hit at exactly the right place. (Perhaps if you are short-waisted, it might just have too much material on top?) It was perfect for a summer wedding, and I will definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 4, 2014
Beautiful dress
I wasn't sure how this dress would look on me since I tend to go for form fitting dresses that hug my curves. I was pleasantly surprised how pretty it looked and how comfortable it was. The color is just gorgeous. I ordered an 8 and got a 6 as my backup and ended up going with the 6. I danced all night in it and got lots of complements.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2014
Greek goddess with some sass!
This dress was perfect! The color was beautiful and it fit incredibly! Lots of compliments and danced for 3 hours in it. Perfect for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 30, 2014
Comfortable and very forgiving!
Rented this for dinner while on vacation. Pretty normal short length. Nice bright red/orange color with gold belt. I loved that the way the front lays it covers my stomach and I was very comfortable in it ( and not always worried about "sucking it in" lol).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2014
Very nice dress. Not fantastic, not bad. Good.
I'm not sure how to describe this dress. It was pretty, it looked good, it was closer to red pepper colored, and less coral. When it arrived, it was a bit less solid than I expected. Not flimsy, just a lot lighter. There is no breast support, and the fact that I have breasts made the waist band a bit higher than I wanted. Nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
Great color!
The ruffles on this dress lay very weird. When you walk it the way the skirt flows it looks like you have a rip in the front of your dress. The dress was fun to wear for one night and it is true to size and very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2014
Perfect color... Brighter than model pictures.
This dress fit great, and I received lots of compliments. The color is beautiful... Very bright. The gold belt was cute, but the snaps on the back took some work to close. Might just have been mine. The dress is very flowy and comfortable. No problems with the length either! Split sleeves were fun and just played into dresses airy feel.
RTR CustomerJuly 28, 2014
This picture does not have the correct dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2014
I rented this dress for Easter Sunday and it was really lovely!
Nice fit, very comfortable and the gold belt is a sweet touch. I would definitely rent it again! I rented both the sizes 4 and 6 but the 4 fit my waist much better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 20, 2014
Great dress!
I love this dress! I rented it for a July 4th event where I needed to have something red. I was afraid I'd need to size up, since I read it was loose on top and tighter in the hips, and I'm slightly pear-shaped. However, size 4 worked perfectly for me. It is loose on top, but in a flattering, Grecian sort of way. I thought it was very pretty, and I got lots of compliments! I wore it with sparkly gold flats and a big gold sparkly necklace I also rented from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 18, 2014
Color made me stand out!
Ultimately I was pleased with this dress but it wasn't perfect. The waist was comfortable but the chest was baggy, it would probably be better for busty ladies. The length was ideal, short but I didn't worry I was exposed. The dress had a little bit of an awkward drape in the front but not a deal breaker.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2014
I ended up not even wearing this dress
This dress just fit very awkwardly. The belt was tight and the chest was big, even though I'm. 34 DD. I rented for the extended period do I could take it to an out of town wedding with me and I couldn't bring myself to wear it. This was my first rtr disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2014
This dress is best for taller, leaner bodies.
This dress didn't look as light and airy on me as it did in the photo. I have a shorter, slightly stalky build. I also have a larger bust which made the top half look strange and poofy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163lbs
July 8, 2014
Nice dress for summer
The color of the dress was beautiful and the gold belt added a very nice touch of elegance. It was slightly snug around my midsection but I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes that I had rented out.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 7, 2014
i really liked it for the not so formal wedding i attended
I have a large chest(34DDD) and I found this to have a lot of room in the top. I think the bottom is more true to size. It looked really nice and i didnt have to worry about a strapless bra like most dresses i was considering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
July 7, 2014
The dress was a great choice for the night!
The zipper was a little tricky, but other than that it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
July 6, 2014
Great color for spring/summer!
I rented this dress for Easter and it was a hit, especially the color! I received lots of compliments. The dress was comfortable other than the belt, which is incorporated into the dress and has no flex. The 10 fit to a tee, so after a holiday meal the belt was pretty snug! I was worried the split sleeves would constantly fall open, but they stayed on my shoulders most of the time. Great dress for a day-time event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 3, 2014
very comfortable, get the accessories for this one!
liked
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2014
I wore this for my son's baptism. It was PERFECT!
I had a baby 3 months ago so I am still holding on to some baby weight. I wanted something I would feel comfortable in BUT I also wanted to look good. The built in belt on this dress was exactly what I needed. It showed off my waist. I got compliments all day long. I would totally rent this again. I wore it with the necklace on the model and it was so nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2014
Great color & comfortable
Loved this for the wedding I attended. Fitted but the fabric is a little bit drapy, so still great for dancing. Received many compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 1, 2014
Everyone complimented on how great it looked on me. And it was so comfortable!
Comfotable, classy
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×