Banana Pepper Dress

$77 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Spice up your night in this Mark & James tomato-red flutter sleeve dress. The gold braided waistband adds dramatic detail against the lady-like ruffle tiers. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Mod Squared Necklace for an easy day to night look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Flutter sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with ruffle detail and gold braided belt at waist. Hidden back zipper with snap closure and faux button detail. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
179 reviews
Fit
Large
(35)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 3, 2014
The promptness of the shipment.

I rented this dress for the Kentucky Derby. It was pretty and the color was great; however, i just didn't love it. The top was very loose on me and felt a little large for my liking. I also was not crazy about the "belt"; since it was attached to the dress, there was no way to adjust it. It was too loose around my waist and had a little bit of weight to it. I had to keep pulling the top back so that the dress didn't hang down in the front.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 19, 2014
Bright dress for a summer wedding

Wore the dress for my brother's August wedding in Maine. Dress was very vibrant and forgiving for any body but very big on the top. I do not have a large top so it was baggy but I wore it anyway. The dress hit the top of my knees. The button detail on the back was beautiful and even the gold belt didn't look cheap or super fake.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 1, 2015
Pretty color, but the bust was way too big.

Overall from the waist down, the dress fit well however I didn't wear the dress because the top was baggy

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
August 6, 2015
Very flattering; simple design but fun color!

Pretty, flawy fabric; belt adds waist to what could have been an unstructured look. Got tons of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2015
Loved this dress! I got many compliments!

I ordered this dress for a rehearsal dinner. I ordered two sizes and was surprised to find that the smaller size fit. I was nervous because other reviews said it was tight around the hips, but I didn't find that to be the case at all. The buttons over the zipper were a nice touch. I also found that the dress could be dressed up or down based on the accessories.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 25, 2013
Beautiful color, comfortable and feminine.

I wear between a 6 and an 8. This was a replacement dress for another that didn't work out, so I didn't get the back-up size and just got the 8. It was a little big, but ended up working well since I ate a lot at the wedding and danced all night. The dress was definitely "safe" - I could move and sit comfortably without having to worry about showing anything accidentally. The cut and fabric made the dress very feminine and the color was beautiful! Paired with Kate Spade earrings, I even felt a little glamorous. It was a great dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2013
Gorgeous!!

I rented this dress for a wedding and let me tell you... the color is gorgeous!!! The material is light and very flowy. The belt is sewn into the dress so there was no issue with it not laying flat, etc. The back is very detailed with the false buttons, such a beautiful touch! LOVED this dress! It does run a little big, because I am definitely not a size 4! The size 6 was too big on top, though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 32D
August 3, 2015
Beautiful Rehearsal Dinner

It's a beautiful dress but like other reviews have said, the top definitely runs big. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It was a very hot evening so this dress was very comfortable. It was very flowy and other than on the top, it fell very well. Even with the baggier top, I still got a few compliments on the dress. This would be best for someone with a larger chest or longer torso. It really is a great color!! I wouldn't rent this again, but have no regrets whatsoever.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2014
Splash of color in an interesting shape!

Runs very large up top. If you are smaller chested you can definitely size down. Customer service was excellent when my original size and smaller STILL didn't fit, they quickly overnighted me the next size smaller. Color is bright and perfect for spring/summer. The fabric is light but still solid enough that you feel covered. Very pretty dress.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 24, 2014
I ended up not wearing this dress and returned it the day I received it.

Fit: Runs extremely large on top. Skirt was too long as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
June 3, 2014
My Birthday

Only my backup size (size 2) was available. The 2 was tight on along the belt and too large above the belt. This is better for a someone with a 36 inch chest and large shoulders. I chose not to wear it, as I'd have hold my breath the whole night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
June 4, 2014
Gorgeous color!

Definitely runs a size larger than I normally am!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2014
I ended up not even wearing this dress

This dress just fit very awkwardly. The belt was tight and the chest was big, even though I'm. 34 DD. I rented for the extended period do I could take it to an out of town wedding with me and I couldn't bring myself to wear it. This was my first rtr disappointment.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Age: 34
July 2, 2016
Couldn't wear the dress.

It fit in the bust area (which is tough sometimes for 34DD), but the gold belted part below was ridiculously tight and while I could physically put the dress on, I couldn't breath particularly deeply. REALLY uncomfortable. The rest of the dress fit very loose/large overall otherwise, so it seemed odd that the gold area was so much smaller. Not a great first experience, but the packaging was easy to return.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 13, 2014
Didn't wear. Ran small

I typically wear and 8 and both the 8 and 10 were tight on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2014
Intended for Rehearsal Dinner

I rented this dress with the intention of wearing it to a close friend's rehearsal dinner...unfortunately the dress did not fit well. The top was very loose and the bottom was VERY snug (in all the wrong places), so snug I was not comfortable wearing the dress. I fell in love with the color online and even more so in person, which is why I'm so upset I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the fit.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2014
Made me look frumpy

I got this dress as a replacement dress for an original dress that didn't fit. Unfortunately, this one didn't either. I'm typically a 6 but post-baby (15 months ago) I've been wearing an 8 because I have a bit of a pooch now. The 6 would have fit perfectly but the gold band at the waist has no give and so was pressing against my rib cage (my pooch in this case was not the issue). The size 8 fit at the waist, but looked frumpy and obviously too big on my upper half. It's a pretty dress; just wish that the waist had an elastic.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2013
not quite right

didn't quite fit me. The waist was too small, and the top too big. happens to me sometimes though. on a bustier woman, i think this would look really cute. on me? frumpy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2014
Wanted to wear this for my sister 's bridal shower

The dress zipped up, but was unflattering where the belt hit me. The bottom cut on the dress was so fun! I would've loved the dress if I were 10 pounds lighter.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2015
Stylish and comfortable!

I wore this dress to a wedding shower and received many compliments on it. The detail on the back of the dress made the dress. The dress fit a little tight around my rib cage but the length was great on it. I would highly recommend the dress

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2015
I felt like a beached whale at my sister-in-law's rehearsal dinner because of this dress.

Really pretty dress with a potentially very flattering shape on any body type but in reality, it was extremely short in the waist. I normally wear a 6, and the size 6 fit well everywhere else, the size 8 was slightly large on me, but on both dresses the waist was about 2 in. above my natural waist and was very unflattering. I ordered and paid for a size 10, and the dress was just baggier everywhere else, the waist was still sitting quite high. I was pretty disappointed, I looked like I weighed about 20 lbs more than I do because the gold belt was sitting between natural waist and empire waist. :(

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Age: 41
May 9, 2014
I wore this dress to The Kentucky Oaks. It is average in appearance in my

It fit true to size. Because of the belt and neckline made my large chest look bigger IMHO. I was not overwhelmed by it. Wouldn't rent it again- too many outstanding choices.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2014
Cute, flirty dress! Easy to wear, fit well - good safe choice.

I rented this originally in the hopes to wear it to a formal dinner, but it was actually too casual. I wore it instead for my husband's birthday dinner and drinks. It was great choice for not worrying about showing too much cleavage.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2014
comfortable, yet stylish choice for a daytime event

When the dress I initially ordered didn't work out, this was a last minute exchange. I loved the way this looked way more than my original option! The color is vibrant and the fit is flattering, which is a big deal for me since I just had a baby a few months prior. Even though I'm still busty, it was a bit looser on top, so smaller ladies should consider sizing down.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 20, 2014
A perfect afternoon party dress that can be glammed up or down with the right accessories.

The dress runs true to size. I ordered the size 4 with the size 2 as an alternate and ended up wearing the size 2 with a little room to spare at the waist. The fabric is light and drapes very nicely. Because I'm a petite 5' 1" the dress was a little longer on me than on the model, but it still fell about an inch above the knee and looked great. My only complaint is that the built-in belt fell a bit high above my natural waist, making me look short-waisted and a little unproportioned. I had to keep tugging the dress down to get the belt to stay at my waist but it kept creeping up. Still, I got a lot of compliments on the bright pop of color among a sea of black and white and a style just different enough to be noticed but not glaring. I highly recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 22, 2014
Great color for a beach wedding

Wore this for my mother's second wedding on the beach. The color is a bright coral and was beautiful. The attached belt cinched in my waist nicely too. Great, easy, comfortable dress!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
May 27, 2014
Great dress... Very comfortable

Fit well and very light material makes it great for a summer wedding

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2014
I got a lot of compliments on the dress. It was a nice light fabric for a wedding in a hot climate.

I ordered the 6, and got the extra in a size 4. The 6 was much too big and so I ended up wearing the 4. On my petite frame it was still a little big on top and could have been shortened by about 2 inches on both shoulder seams. That would have made it perfect. I am pretty petite though and most things fit me too long in the armpit and torso. I might have been able to squeeze into a 2, but I think the 4 was great to allow some room for dancing and eating. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 28, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding in LA!

Overall, I thought this was a wonderful dress. I wore the Size 0 which is pretty on par with what I usually wear (I wear between a 0-2 depending on the dress but because of the dress style this was perfect in 0) so that was nice. My only issue was while getting it on was I had to wiggle quite a bit to get it over my booty, but once on the fit was perfect! I do wish I had time to grab some fashion tape because I didn't realize how open the sleeves were going to be and a couple times my bra straps became slightly visible, but it worked out just fine. I felt like I was dressed conservatively enough but still felt sexy in it. FYI I wore it to a Catholic wedding and then a reception at a country club in Los Angeles in May just to give some perspective on what the event was that I was wearing the dress for. Great dress! I highly recommend this dress and truly wish I owned it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
May 29, 2014
Stunning color, but the fit was not for me.

I think this dress is best suited for someone who has a small waist. I am a 14 and the waist emphasized my midsection (not in a good way.) I am 5'2 and it was short even for me and it bunched in the back. I wish it had not been too small because the color and fabric are very pretty. The back has a long row of little buttons that are a nice detail.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 8, 2014
Garden Party

Beautiful color & drape. Perfect for day to evening. Comfortable & easy to move around. I have a short torso & a little less waist to shoulder length would have been good but for anyone "normal" the fit will be perfect.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2014
Great dress! Comfortable and not too short!

I rented this dress for a friends summer wedding that was on the casual side, it was perfect! I have long legs and dresses tend to look way too short on me, and this one was a great length. It was really comfortable, cute and flirty. I'd recommend! The braided belt showed a little wear, but nothing major. I ordered a 4 as my alternate dress, and the 2 fit great so I went with that.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
June 9, 2014
Fantastic dress!

I rented this dress for a bridal shower I was hosting. It fit great. I do wish the belt wasnt sown in as it rode up a bit, but wasnt really a big deal. Got a ton of compliments on this one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2014
Great dress! Felt so pretty in it.

The back was a little too loose.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2014
OK for a vineyard wedding

The style and color were great for an outdoor summer wedding at a vineyard. The fit overall was good, I could have worn the 2 or the 0, but both had uneven hemlines in the front (which thankfully were somewhat masked by the chiffon layers) and the top was baggy for someone my size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2014
Gorgeous Summer Color

Cute dress. It was comfortable, a great color, and my husband loved it. A few cons - the overall fit is strangely baggy, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the gold belt is tiny and has no stretch. Zero. I wore the 4 and I think the 2 might have been more flattering on the top, but I doubt I could have fit into the belt. (My backup size was the 6). It was so baggy on top that it kept sort of falling forward, and I felt like you could see the outline of my bra, which didn't make sense to me since it was, you know, loose. The skirt does lay sort of funny, the layers of fabric are wrapped inside each other so one side looks perfect but the other, you can tell is looped through the other layer... Kind of hard to explain. Just know that it's not exactly symmetrical. Overall I really enjoyed this rental. If you're looking for something that is a bit billowy and colorful, this is your dress - if you want to show off your curves, the only thing this will accentuate is a small waist. I recently had surgery and haven't been able to work out, so I liked that I was still my same size despite being a little self-conscious after weeks off my feet! I also rented the Yellow Brick Road Clutch which was fun to tote around and surprisingly roomy!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 16, 2014
Perfect graduation dress.

Ended up wearing the 10 for a little extra length. Loved the built in belt. The dress paired well with the Drifting Leaves necklace by Lulu Frost. Great color and comfortable fabric. Would definitely rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2014
Got this dress as a free backup from RTR when my first choice was ruined

The belt is tight. Unflattering fit for me. Just ok dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
June 18, 2014
Perfect color for a perfect party!!!

So many compliments on the color the fit and how young I looked! Easy and light water. Framed my body nicely since I've been self conscious of my weight. Covered up well and even though I hurt my knee everyone noticed the dress. Will totally rent again!! Love it

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2014
It is a wonderful dress for any time of the day. The color is a rich coral.

It fits nicely around the hips and thighs. It will be a bit tight where the belt is, but it is a forgiving dress and I would think that it could even work as a pregnancy or post pregnancy dress, too. I am so glad it fit perfectly!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×