MARCOBOLOGNA

Order In The Court Dress

$99 to buy
$510 retail
Stylist Notes

Throw a tea party and be the queen of the room wearing this gorgeous Marco Bologna dress. Waist cinching and looks great paired with the Ben-Amun's Victorian Crystal Statement Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and slate jacquard (61% Acrylic, 39% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full skirt with grosgrain detail at waist. Exposed back zipper. 33” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
104 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(26)
Size worn:
40
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2014
LOVE THIS DRESS!!!
This dress is gorgeous. I'm 32b, 120lbs, 5'2". The 38 was too tight in the chest and squished my boobs in a weird way. The 40 was a tiny bit loose but a padded bra made it perfect. The length was was just right and the pockets were fantastic. I wish this dress was mine to keep!!! I wore it with nude platform pumps and a red lip-it needed no other accessories. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this again! This was my first RTR experience and it couldn't have been easier, I was super impressed!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2014
Absolutely loved the easy feel of this elegant and flirty dress!
The dress was made so well and seemed quite expensive with the velvet accents. I wore it for a bridal tea and rehearsal dinner for a winter wedding and got many compliments throughout the day/night. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2015
Beautiful dress perfect for spring wedding!
First time using RTR so I went with a dress that would be an easy fit. Dress is a little tight up top but still went with the smaller size. Loved the pockets and such a cute shape. Will definitely be using this site again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 19, 2015
Cute Formal Dress
Beautiful dress with lovely velvet pattern perfect for a fall wedding. I wore the smallest size and everything was great except the chest area was super small. I am a 34B and I couldn't even fit a bra in there so I had to go braless. Regardless, I got a lot of compliments and I absolutely loved the pockets as well. Also, easy to dance in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 31, 2015
Beautiful but small!
This dress is really pretty. I loved it but it was too small for me to wear. It's prefect for shorter girls in the length. I have a small bust and the top was crazy tight. Runs very small.
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 16, 2015
Perfect dress! Fit extremely well & was comfortable....Great for cocktail parties
LOVE!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
January 1, 2016
Great dress! Many compliments. Love the bell shaped skirt :)
Great dress! Fits tight in the bust if you're larger than probably a B cup. Pretty short but perfect for petite girls! I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
June 8, 2016
So comfy and chic!
I'm typically a size zero but I wore the size 2 (size 40 instead of size 30) it runs small although the top part is kind of not fitted on me because I don't have that much boobs even if I wore a padded bra. overall it's a cute rental, I wore it to a funeral (daytime, summer).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 13, 2017
Perfect for my event!
The neckline was very deep and it was a bit short. The dress is very beautiful and I loved the pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 16, 2017
Cute and simple
Fun dress without being too flashy. Was able to wear to a fall wedding. Always love the pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2012
Amazing Dress For My Anniversary!
I ordered an 8 since that usually fits best for my pear shape but the bodice was way to big for me. I pinned it on both sides to make it fit and it worked great. I probably would have done better with a size 42 or 40. But I still loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 27, 2012
Terrible fit and fabric
I was so excited to wear this dress for a wedding, but was extremely disappointed when I received it. The fabric was extremely thick and not what I expected from the picture. Additionally, the waist was huge so overall the fit was very unflattering. I ended up sending this one back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2013
second choice
This was the extra dress we ordered for a 25 dollar fee in one size just in case the first dress choice didn't work out. I read the reviews that said the dress ran large so we ordered the smaller of the usual dress size my daughter normally wears,,,It was still very large..so big that we were happy the first choice worked because this dress was unwearable it was so large. My daughter is usually a size 4. maybe a size 6 if the dress runs small, but this dress just runs large, esp in the waist..Very Pretty though. Not sure what size we got,,nothing on any labels in the dress to check the size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
February 26, 2013
It is absolutely beautiful!
I rented this dress for a business cocktail and dinner party. The fabric is exquisite and even more beautiful in person. I loved the fact that it had pockets and made it very fun. I am a 34b and the top was a little big so I had to do a little pinning, but everything else fit perfectly including length! I would definitely rent it again and highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 2, 2013
Too big, sad I did not get to wear it
I was so excited for this dress and it was only available in the size 6. It was too big in the waist and in the chest. I am 5'3, 34C about 130lbs and bigger on the bottom than top. I think the 4 would have been a better fit but it wasnt available. Its a great dress for a winter affair. The heavier material is nice and the silvery shine gives it a little extra something. I also thought the length would be short if you are a taller girl.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 87lbs
June 11, 2014
Quality, fun cocktail dress!
I'm pretty petite so take that into consideration when reading this review. This dress ran large on the top sides, but since it's black you couldn't tell unless you looked for it. It photographed well and had a really nice rich pattern to it. The material is a bit thicker so wouldn't be good in heat. It was perfect for an indoor, formal wedding. It has silver tones so I recommend silver jewelry. It would be a great travel dress. I had it balled up and it had absolutely no wrinkles. I'm a 28DD/34B. If you're much bigger than that I'm guessing the cleavage would be a little smushed. I'm 4' 9 1/2" so it hit just a little longer than I would've liked, but I wore 5 inch Jimmy Choos with it to add some height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
June 24, 2014
Did not fit
I rented this dress for a March wedding and it did not fit, it ran very large. The material was gorgeous and perfect for a snowy wedding, but unfortunately it just was too large and I rented the smallest size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2014
very pretty - high quality material. Skirt is very full and it runs large.
Very pretty but runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2015
Classy and comfortable LBD Bachelorette party dress! #pockets
Unfortunately, I don't have a photo of this one to upload, but the dress fit like a glove and was so comfortable all night. I didn't have to fuss with it at all. I ordered the 42 and 44 and ended wearing the 42. I have broad shoulders, a short waist, small chest, and I am kind of in between sizes - it's a toss up if a 4 or a 6 will fit. The dress in the 44 just lightly skimmed my waist and was a little baggy around the arm holes. The 42 fit my waist just right and the arm holes weren't gaping. However, if I had a large chest, I would have gone with the 6, as it didn't have much stretch. I thought the fabric was great, thick and very well constructed, the shine was subtle but added interest. I will say it was a little heavy for a warm/humid evening, so maybe more appropriate for a winter or fall event. The zipper had a nice larger pull-tab on it so I didn't feel like I would snap it off when I pulled it up. I loved it. Got lots of compliments. Pockets came in handy too! I wore a sparkly necklace, a couple of sparkly cocktail rings, and black Mary-Jane heels.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 30, 2013
I got this dress for my birthday and LOVED it. I received so many compliments all night!
The dress may be a little more loose than I'd like it to fit, but I loved the frame. I love the peplum bottom and the v neck collar. The whole thing pulled together beautifully! I was even able to wear my new shoes from Nordstrom with them!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 11, 2015
Perfect for a winter formal
This dress runs a bit small. I isially wear a size 4, but needed a size 2. This is a really great looking classy dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2015
lovely pattern!
The top fit too loose and I am heavy chested. The pattern was great and the fit and flare was very classic. Almost too flared in the front, though. I recommend sizing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2012
Such a fun dress!
The full skirt and fitted bust really makes this dress fun and unique. It is very fitted in the chest so sizing up for any bust size larger than a B is key. The detail is amazing making this the perfect party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
Uncomfortable
This dress looks very cute on the hanger. The chest was too tight and not flattering at all. I would not rent this dress if you're a b cup or bigger
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I was the maid of honor in a wedding, and the bride requested that we wear black dresses with red shoes. I tried on several options at the RTR showroom (definitely recommend a visit!) The ceremony was outdoors in November so I was aiming to find something with long sleeves. I was surprised (and thrilled!) to like this the best. Though it's obviously sleeveless, the fabric is beautiful and thick which makes it more appropriate for fall (we also lucked out with unseasonably warm weather that day!) The dress is slightly shiny and the pattern is gorgeous -- a fun, surprising change from a plain old LBD. My only complaint is how much the skirt flares out. Because the fabric is so thick, that flare will not be tamed. And it's pretty short so be careful on the dance floor!
LarkinNovember 27, 2012
Love your shoes! Where did you get them?
KatieNovember 27, 2012
Zappos! http://www.zappos.com/franco-sarto-surf-borolo-suede
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2012
beautiful dress- I was so sad that it was too short on me
I am 5'9 and this dress was wayyy too short both in length and the torso was proportioned for a shorter person. I was very thankful that I ordered a backup dress for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 18, 2012
**
This was a cute dress. The problem is that if you have any boobs it will smash them. Which is too bad because the material is beautiful and very well made
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW!
Wore this dress to a company party--fits snug under the bust so I sized up to the size 40. Can be dressed up for a formal affair, or down for a night out. Would recommend for anyone with a pear shape, petite, or hourglass. Really great option! Could also easily be paired with tights and shoes for winter!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 5, 2013
This was seriously the easiest shopping experience EVER!!
The dress was great. I'm very busty, so I ordered the larges size available (US 8). That made it a bit large in the waist, but you couldn't tell and I loved the sparkle!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 29, 2013
Tight in the bust, but beautiful!
As I had read in other reviews, the top was definitely tight. I have an average size chest (C) but my waist is tiny so the size 40 was too baggy in the mid-section. I ended up going with the 38. Even though it was tight on my chest, it was still very comfortable and didn't appear to be too tight. The length was great for someone like me with short legs and fell a few inches above the knee. Definitely a great dress, but be sure to wear silver jewelry because there are some silver tones to the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2013
This dress is fun and flirty!
The dress runs a bit small. The 38 was really tight in the bust, the 40 was a tiny bit loose, but I just wore a push up bra and it worked fine. It may be a little bit harder for someone with a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 27, 2013
Prettier in person!
This dress is really cool - I didn't actually wear it for my event because the size 4 was so tight on my bust it was too smushed. It fit in the waist though. Definitely not a dress for anyone with a large bust but smaller waist.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2014
Cocktail Dress Standard
As the other reviews mentioned the top is VERY fitted and would notwork with larger bust size. The material and pattern is nice (more then basic black). The puffy skirt may have not been the best to give me the illusion of height (i'm just 5'1). In general it appeared more 'curvy' on me then on the model. All and all it worked well and the overall experience from RTR was great - I had it shipped to my hotel and returned in the next day (no lugging on a flight).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 6, 2014
Cute but tight
I got this dress last year as a back-up 2nd dress, and ended up wearing the other dress instead. But I still liked this dress, so much that I'm renting it again for another event this year! Hopefully it still fits me okay. I remember it fitting on the small side, and my breasts were smashed. But I did recall liking how it fit, the length, and the overall flirty style. I plan to style it with a simple but sparkly bracelet and earrings, red heels, red lips, and a gunmetal clutch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2014
Different than it looks in the photo, but still great!
I ordered this dress for an art deco wedding. When I looked at it in the model photo and in the customer photos it appeared to have an overlay that had the design. That is not the case. For lack of a better description this dress is like wearing a super thick brocade curtain. With that said, I loved it! It goes well with any color metallic and is classy and feminine. The lower neckline added a sexy element to an otherwise girly dress. The bottom hem is raw, which is kind of weird, but also kind of fun. I ordered the 38 and 40. The 38 looked great from the waist down but was so tight up top my boobs looked smashed and ridiculous. The 40 fit perfectly all over. Overall RTR experience was great! Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 19, 2015
Absolutely gorgeous! But couldn't wear because it was too small through the bust. Big bummer! :(
I LOVED this dress! It was absolutely gorgeous in person! The only problem was that it was tight through the bust area (and loose through the waist). It squished me flat! I had read in other reviews that it might not be good for large busted women...I don't necessarily consider my self "large busted" at a 34 C but it was definitely too tight! For smaller busted women this is an amazing dress! I really can't even come up with words that would begin to describe my passion for this dress! OH! And pockets!! Hello! Huge bonus! Also, side note, I am only 5 feet tall and where as the picture may look like it was a little long (chalk it up to weird angle!), the dress hit just above my knees which is where I prefer a dress to fall. I was bummed when I couldn't wear this but was also glad I had a back up dress ordered that worked out just fine! Brilliant, Rent the Runway, brilliant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 3, 2015
I had attended an annual Superbike Suit and Tie Ride.
The dress was beautiful, the only down fall that it had an extremely small bust area, I could not wear a bra with this dress and it smashed my chest. I could hardly breath. I also had gotten the size 42 for back up but that dress fit like a large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 16, 2014
This dress didn't fit in the chest area and RTR was very helpful in getting it returned for a credit
This dress was beautiful but the chest was SO SO small that I couldn't even get it over my chest. If you have a chest, I would not recommend this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
November 3, 2013
Really cute dress, but weird fit
The dress is really cute but the fit is off. I read the previous reviews saying the same thing, but I liked the dress so much, I decided to give it a try anyway. It fit, but it made my boobs look flat, definitely not flattering. If you have an 'a' or 'b' cup, you can probably get away with it, but if you have a c cup, like myself, rent another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 9, 2015
Fun LBD with some flair!
The shimmer and pattern of this dress elevate it above the usual LBD. I wore a 40 which would be equivalent to my usual size 2. I am not large chested and it was tight around the chest, even flattened my chest completely without the aid of a push up bra - though the push up bra gave me some cleavage which I don't usually have! It's also a bit short, it was fine for me at 5'3" but if I was any taller it may have been a bit too short.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×