Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Island Breeze Shift

$40 rental
$278 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look effortlessly chic in this Lilly Pulitzer sea foam lace dress. A feminine style made for a day out on the town with your best friend! Dress up this look with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Whiting and Davis' Black Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal lace (68% polyester, 32% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Back keyhole with hook-and-eye closure. No zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Lined (100% polyester). Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

194 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 133
Large 25
Photos 114
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Super cute shift!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Easy fit, runs true to size, easy and comfy!
JA
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 24, 2013

Perfect bridal shower dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful lace and color! The dress came to the right length for me (I'm 5'9") and fit well. This was a great experience for my first RTR!
brantley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

I wore this dress for Easter. It was perfect and so comfortable! I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was exactly what I expected. I did go with the four so I would have a little more hip room.
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Beautiful lace dress-- but needed more shape

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a wedding in Miami, and although the dress itself was beautiful (color and lace even prettier in person than shown in the pictures), I had to send it back without wearing it. The dress runs very large and gave no shape (as it is very straight cut). I would have needed it cinched in at the waist to be able to wear it without feeling huge. RTR was great about my return and offered to overnight the 4, but bad a daytime wedding that it may not have arrived in time. I am not sure the 4 would have worked, as it was still snug in the shoulders/chest-- not the dress for me
Karrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 11, 2013

I LOVE this dress. The color is amazing. I wore this for Easter and it was perfect! Love it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got so many compliments in this dress. The fabric is so light and soft, and the design is just beautiful. I loved it.
Hailey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

I wore this dress to my wedding party that was western themed, and it was a hit!! Cute and comfy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 0 and a size 2, but ended up wearing the size 2. The 0 was really tight under my arms, and the 2 was a little big in the chest. I had to wear a different bra to make the size 2 work, but it looked fine! Also, I saw some questions about what bra to wear with this dress- the dress has snaps on the inside for your straps so you can wear a normal bra and not have to worry about it hanging out! The dress is definitely a shift, but it has some shape to it! Enough to feel comfortable eating and drinking, but also enough to be flattering. Overall, I really enjoyed this dress!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 15, 2013

Great Spring Wedding Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as a back-up for an April wedding. The ceremony was outside in the evening so this dress was a great combination of fun and light but formal enough for an evening reception. I loved the color of the dress and the lace was beautiful (and in great condition!). I'm usually between a 4 and 6 but I ordered smaller for this one because it's a shift dress and I didn't want it to be too "sack-like". The 4 ended up fitting everywhere except that it was a little tight in the shoulders/bust area. Granted I have fairly broad shoulders for a girl, but it would could have fit better. I ended up adding a belt I already owned just to give it a waist, but it was definitely a great dress!
Candice
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

I absolutely LOVED this dress! I had so many compliments all night long.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs true to size. I am rather busty, but small waisted...The 0 fit, but it was tight in the arms because of my chest. It is a shift dress so it doesn't hug your curves and was extremely comfortable to dance the night away. Perfect dress for a formal, wedding or a day at the horse track. The lace detail was gorgeous and the color is much more vibrant in person.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 30, 2013

Loved this dress and rent the runway

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was afraid that the dress would be a little short but it was the perfect modest length. I loved the design of the back of the dress. The dress was a little more green than what appears in pictures but it was beautiful, I wanted to keep it! Can be dressed up or dressed down depending on accessories. I received compliments on the dress all night. Great rent the runway experience, will definitely do it again for the next time I need a dress for an occasion.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 16, 2013

Gorgeous color for summer!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my college graduation, and it was the perfect lightweight material for underneath my gown. The dress up close is really 2 colors; a greenish layer underneath and a turquoise lace overlay. Like the other reviewers said, it doesn't have a ton of shape but it is very comfortable and I didn't mind that, although I wore a size 4 and am generally a 6 in more form fitting Lilly dresses.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 23, 2013

Beautiful shift dress with a strange fit

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my graduation and while it certainly is beautiful and I would recommend it, just be aware that it has a very strange fit. I say it runs true to size because it both runs big and small at the same time! I usually wear a 4 and ordered a 2 as my backup size. The 4 was a little bit tight around the shoulders but really ill fitting around the torso. I understand that it's a shift dress and isn't supposed to give you shape, but the material bunched up in weird places and it was simply too large around my tummy. The 2 was even tighter in the shoulders but fit well around the torso. That being said, the 2 looked great and was comfortable for the entire day. It's a beautiful spring and summer color and can be dressed up or down to make it work for any occasion! I wore it with some gold jewelry and sandals since we were on grass, but it would look killer with some gold heels or cowboy boots as well!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Perfect for summer wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental from RTR and I'm in love! I rented this for a wedding and I got complimented on it all night. I ordered a size 4 and a size 6, I ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little tight across the chest. It was very comfortable and the color is beautiful. It is a little greener than I thought, but still gorgeous. The rental process was so easy as well as the return process. I don't think I'll ever buy a dress again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Great summer dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner. It is a beautiful color, and the detail is more beautiful in person than it looks online. I rented a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit, but it was a little snug in the arm hole/chest area. I decided to wear the 6, but it was a little baggy (dress doesn't have much shape), so I wore a belt with it. Overall, I was really happy with the dress and received a lot of compliments on it.
A
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Beautiful and comfortable. A classy, perfect dress for many occasions!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everything about this dress screamed perfection.
Shannon
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Loved this dress! Received numerous compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Based on other reviews, I though I would need to wear the 12, as I have a larger chest, however, the 10 fit perfect. The size 12 was quite large in the waist and hip area. This dress was super comfortable and loved that my bra straps could be snapped into the dress! Many people complimented me (both at the wedding and via photos on Facebook) and said they loved my dress. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I will definitely come back!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Such a great color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a beautiful color!! It is fit true to size in the upper shoulder area but is not as fitted in the waist area. With a belt it was perfect!! It was comfortable all night!
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

Fun color and style

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a graduation. I really loved the color and the texture. Like some other reviewers mentioned, the lining is a lime green color. The length was perfect (not too short for seating on bleachers!). The only issue I had was it was a little bit of a strange fit. The stomach area was really big so I wore a belt. It was not a big deal just not what I expected.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 14, 2013

Great dress, fabulous color, it fit really well!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is great. I tried the 0 and the 2 and both fit just fine and I could have worn either, but the 2 was slightly more comfortable so went with that. I have broad shoulders so it for me was a little tight in the chest area, but fit nicely everywhere else. It was a beautiful color and great dress for the wedding.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

Good, preppy, summery style

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a little more preppy than my usual taste but I gave it a try because of the color. I loved the color and the lace was really pretty too... i just didnt like that you could see that the lining would ripple underneath the lace because it was loose and then the shadows were dark through the lace. I think this took away from it although my husband swore no one else could tell. LOL... I paired it with pearls and simple earrings and actually wore flat sandals because I wore it to s summer day wedding that was outside for the ceremony on the grass. It was really comfortable and easy to wear since it was so loose. If you're preppy kinda gal you'll love this dress!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 20, 2013

First time RTR experience and it was awesome! So many compliments at the wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a shift dress so it definitely hangs loose. There is a little hole exposing your back on the back side of it but you can still wear a regular bra with it. I wore the 2 and got 4 as backup... they both seemed to fit identical but the 2 was a little tighter in the chest/armpit area? I wore that one though so it was a bit more fitted. Length was perfect- was able to dance in it. It was 100 degrees out at the wedding and the material was light enough that I was still cool. Would definitely rent it again for another occasion! Check out the Kate Spade Confetti Necklace I wore with it- perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a ton of compliments. It was a perfect fit. I got the sizes 8 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6. It was very comfortable to dance in too! Will definitely rent this one again :)
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

BEAUTIFUL DRESS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! I am always a little nervous to order clothes without trying them on but this worked out awesome. I am big busted and under the arms are definitely tight as most of the other reviews say but I was still able to move around just fine! The color and length were great and I can't believe how many people commented on the dress.I had one of the waitresses at the wedding ask if she could take a picture to show her daughter. I can't even count how many times I explained what RTR was all about.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Loved the sea foam color - flattering and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress has a green lining and a turquoise lace overlay. It was very easy to move in. Thought about wearing a belt but decided not to - wish I had. I wore the 6...runs true to size!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 25, 2013

Perfect for my sister's rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress! It's great quality and the color is gorgeous. Since it's a shift dress I liked how the 0 looked better than the 2. I would absolutely rent again!
Lyndsy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

It fit great after adding a belt, way to baggy otherwise. I received multiple compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Overall very pretty dress, I am very petite so this was baggy on me. I added a belt at the waist to pull it in and it looked much better! Great rental
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Simple summer dress

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great color but not the most flattering fit. Rented this for a summer weekend and it could have worked for both an evening out or a Sunday morning church service with a sweater.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Great for a summer wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a September wedding. The dress is really pretty, nice material in a typical sheath fit. Sadly had to send it back because the color and material were just too summery. I plan to rent it for a wedding next summer if it's still available! This was a great experience with RTR, with them crediting my order without any hassle.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a great fun dress... It was perfect for graduation! The color is even brighter in person!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Awesome Fit

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
My back up Fred was a two and definitely fit better in the body but the arms were super tight, so I ended up wearing the 4 which was a bit baggier. Photographs well and received tons of compliments. Loved how comfortable it was.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Pretty color, a little short on me, and the under slip was too tight--should have gotten a 0

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Pretty color, a little short on me, and the under slip was too tight--should have gotten a 0
kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Lovely aqua dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a confirmation/reception, which I was hosting. This dress was very comfortable and easily transitioned from church to home and running around all afternoon. And it looked great in the photos. (need to find one to post - LOL!)
Lillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

This dress is simple but makes a statement

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great color for blondes, tight in the chest so it was perfect for me since I am flat chested and petite. Great dress for a party on the beach.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

Another beautiful Lilly

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Date
Rented this for a date-gorgeous shift dress with Aqua lace, pulls a bit short on me since I have a long torso but it was actually a perfect length. The arm holes are a tad tight, and the neckline is a bit boring (scoops aren't my favorite) but such a pretty color and flattering fit. Will rent again.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Apr 6, 2015

Really pretty color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bridal shower, and I absolutely loved the color! Perfect for a spring shower, it's got more blue detail than you can tell from the pictures, but that makes it that much nicer. I took one star off simply because (like other reviewers said) it was tight in the armpits, but once I was at the party I didn't really notice. I didn't feel like my shape was lost, which can happen in dresses like this since I have some hips. Overall, I really liked the dress!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Tight under the arms - go a size up

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was such a pretty dress, but I ended up liking the dress I rented as my "backup" more. Beware - as other reviews have said, it is really tight under the arms, so you probably should go a size up.
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Fit a little strange....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was made of a beautiful material and the color was amazing. I'm only 5'3" and the dress was a little too short for my taste....so I can only imagine how it would be on taller girls. If you don't mind the length, it would be perfect.
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Returned this dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Although the color is beautiful, when I tried on the dress, I was disappointed with the fit. I have a small waist, which I like to accentuate but this dress did nothing for that. It was not flattering on me at all. I returned this dress.
Brittany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 16, 2015

It went smoothly and it was so easy. I loved the dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. This was my first RTR and it went perfectly. I haven't worn lily before so I can't say if it's true to size for the dress. I went with the 2 because I wanted it to be more form fitted then a lose dress. I paired it with sandals and a denim jacket to a daytime party.
Pam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 20, 2015

Pretty lace dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress appears to be more mint green in person, close to a Tiffany blue. The color is really nice and the dress is really pretty. It's a good shift dress without being too tight--the four was actually a bit loose.
smhock
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 19, 2015

Great Dress! Received a lot of compliments! Would rent again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a beach summer wedding! Great Color
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×