Lilly Pulitzer

Island Breeze Shift

$40 rental
$278 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look effortlessly chic in this Lilly Pulitzer sea foam lace dress. A feminine style made for a day out on the town with your best friend! Dress up this look with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Whiting and Davis' Black Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal lace (68% polyester, 32% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Back keyhole with hook-and-eye closure. No zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Lined (100% polyester). Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

199 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 137
Large 25
Photos 116
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 21, 2015

Fabulous color for summer at the beach!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The color was stunning, perfect for a graduation party by the beach. The dress fit well from the waist down but was a little tight under my arms.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jun 21, 2015

Great dress for summer occasion!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
The fit was great and the color was beautiful! I could have worn the 4 or the 6, I liked how the 4 was more fitted but it was tighter in the armpit. I recommend your normal size and a size up for the spare. Great dress! Wish I could keep it
Kristy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 19, 2015

The moment I put it on, I wished I never had to send it back.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
The arms fit perfectly but there's really no give to it. The color is beautiful and everything about this is so unique. No worries about another girl having the same dress!!
Adrian
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

Beautiful dress! Gorgeous color and lace pattern, got compliments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, pretty true to size. I normally wear a 6 but the 4 was perfect. Very comfortable, length was great and I didn't have an issue with the arms being too tight. Color was so bright and perfect for a summer beach wedding!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2015

Comfy and just amazing!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I originally ordered it for a rehearsal dinner when my first dress I ordered didn't work. It ended up not arriving in time, but tried it on and decided I wanted it for a wedding the next weekend. I loved everything about this dress. Perfect length, perfect fit. I have a big bust and it wasn't tight at all. I am a huge dancer and never felt like I was going to be showing anything. The only thing I will say is I wish I would have found the bra strap securing pieces before I took it off that night! I would definitely rent this again!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
May 7, 2015

Great southern dress for a summer party or wedding!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The fit overall was true to size and comfortable! It did fit a little tight at the top around the arms, but overall I would wear it again! Lots of compliments on this dress! Love the color and fabric!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
May 1, 2015

Another great Lilly dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The detail on this dress is beautiful, the color really pops, and it was a great length, not too short. The only downside was how tight it was in the arms. I read this in other reviews and thought my 34A cup size would give me more room on top, but I was wrong. Luckily there is a keyhole style back that allowed for a little more wiggle room. I love Lilly dresses and this was the fourth one I've rented and by far the most uncomfortable. I felt great in it, as I always do in Lilly, but I was tugging at the arm holes all night long.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Such a pretty color!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Actually didn't wear this dress but not because I didn't like it! Rented two for my friends bridal shower and everyone I asked voted for the other one...but this dress definitely made it hard for me to decide. Color was very pretty. I thought the length was perfect, short enough to be young and cute, but not long enough to look super covered and conservative. Would definitely consider renting it again so I can actually wear it!
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Lacey and lovely, mod and modern

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
The perfect blend of modern and mod chic. The dress was in perfect condition, and although I was nervous about a shift being shapeless, I was pleasantly surprised! I wish I could have kept it. The color was stunning.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Perfect for baby shower in the spring!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. I usually wear a 4 for anything tight around the hips/butt. The two in this dress was roomy enough my pear shape. Wore a jean jacket , pink beads and nude heels to tone it down for the baby shower. Received a lot of compliments.
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Fun and flirty!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Went back and forth between the 4 and 6. I honestly couldn't tell much difference. The armholes were tight in both though.
Abigail
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

Comfortable, easy fit, light, GREAT color! I received so many components on the dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Noticing negative to say, loved the dress! Perfect for a Florida wedding.
chm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Mar 25, 2015

Beautiful color, comfortable, great length. lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's a a little small in the chest & arms so I wore a size up. the back keyhole closure kept falling open throughout the night. Otherwise absolutely loved!
Kylie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 16, 2015

Perfect for me

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 00 and 0 and wore the 0--I'm 16 weeks pregnant, so the looser body was perfect for me. The only reason why I didn't give this 5 stars was because the clasp in the back kept coming undone all night long--It was annoying. However, it looked great and fit how I expected it to fit.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Such a great color

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
I got compliments on this dress all night long. I wish I had a better photo of it. I'm a tall girl and it was a little short, but not inappropriate. I would rent it again.
Jmielei
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Great color and comfy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great color and very comfortable but it is pretty shapeless.
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Perfect for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding on a hot summer day. I ordered the 2 and the 4, the shoulders/arms and chest were snug on the 2, so I wore the 4 to be more comfortable and since its a shift, the fit other places didn't matter too much. I loved it, not too long, but long enough that you don't have to worry about lifting your arms up, etc. when dancing. I felt super comfortable and loved the color!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 29, 2014

Beautiful Rehearsal Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was wonderful for my wedding rehearsal. It moved perfectly from the church, to the boat, to dinner and then to drinks afterwards. It was comfortable, a gorgeous color and the length I was hoping for. I would highly recommend this dress. It is a little tight around the armpits as other reviewers mentioned but it wasn't too noticeable.
Rachel
Age: 21
Oct 28, 2014

Perfect for my formal!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my sorority formal! It has a green material under the blue lace which made the overall color really unique! The fit is pretty true to size and hits right above the knee. Perfect lilly dress for the night :)
Ames
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a "bridal tea" for my friend's wedding. The color is much more vibrant and green-toned in person, which I liked. I could have worn the 4 but went with the 2 because it was more fitted and had less fabric hanging. The 2 was a little tight in my armpits but not too tight to wear, and was otherwise a very comfortable dress. I highly recommend this one!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Beautiful color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very tight in the armholes. The shift style hides your figure. It was a beautiful color and pattern.
Annie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Worked perfectly as an "aqua bridesmaid dress"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was asked to wear an aqua dress to a beach wedding of a close friend. After finding nothing that I liked to buy, I decided to try RTR. This dress was perfect. It's gorgeous and it was so nice to throw it in a bag and send it back, I didn't even have to pack it to fly home! It was a little small around the arms. I'm narrow shouldered and it fit pretty perfectly.
Erika
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 4, 2014

Perfect color; great for a wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color of this dress. I paired it with a trendy bright coral lip and coral nails and received compliments all night. Things you should know about the dress: if you're a busty girl, its going to be a bit tight in that area; the neckline is fairly high, so its great for conservative events; and the length was pretty short on me, which is saying something considering I'm only 5'4". Definitely manageable, and not too risque, just the type of dress where I had to make sure I was sitting lady-like at all times and didn't bend over at the waist.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Such a cute Lilly Dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The only problem I had was the top hook and eye kept coming open. It may not have come open if I'd gotten a smaller size. I just took the advice of previous reviewers and ordered up!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Sep 27, 2014

Loved the color of this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color of the dress. It was tight in the armpits. Could be more form fitting but over all I really liked the dress.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress, I wish I didn't have to send it back! Fit is true to size, I am typically a 4 and wore a 4. Great length, color, and very comfortable. I liked that. I could wear a normal bra with it and also had built I holder to keep your bra straps tucked in. This was my first rental and I look forward to more!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

The perfect color dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress with elegant pattern and fun color! I loved wearing it all day and received many compliments. As in other reviews if you are larger chested it will feel a bit tight in the chest but manageable. It seems many Lilly dresses that are 4-6 don't a compensate larger bust sizes comfortable however it is manageable. I choose not to wear the bigger size 6 because I wanted a more fitted look to the dress and the 6 felt a bit baggy with the shift pattern.
RTR Customer
Sep 3, 2014

Perfect dress for a summer wedding! Great pop of color... Many compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits well in the bust and the length is good. A con maybe is the fit is straight so it doesn't hug your waist. The color looks more mint in person and not sky blue-like online. Love the lace!
Nicole
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Not for curvy ladies

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Added this as my "extra" dress and I'm glad that I had the primary dress to fall back on. After reading other reviews, I agree with what most gals say about this one - it's absolutely beautiful and the color is amazing, but it's definitely not a good cut for us curvy gals. This would look great on someone who is very slender with slim arms and smaller bust - on me, it was a little snug around the bust, and loose through the middle, and neckline was not very flattering. 10 would have probably fit better in the bust and arms, but this cut was just not for me. Such a disappointment, because this is really a beautiful and fun dress!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Very pretty but not my favorite

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have had my eye on this dress for a while so opted to rent it for a Labor Day Wknd wedding. The RTR process was flawless with the dress and optional alt size arriving on time in perfect condition. I tried on the 2 and it fit perfectly except underneath the arms where it pinched a little bit and I thought it might get uncomfortable. The 4 was just a little bigger so not quite as flattering but much more comfortable under the arms. After much debate and comparison I went with the 4 and it was fine. I was able to wear a regular bra with the dress and there are snaps to hold the straps in place but they kept unsnapping. I was hoping the dress would have been more flattering and fitted but I'm glad I tried it. It was just fine for the event and I was comfortable - just not my favorite rental.
Carey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 28, 2014

Great color and style! I received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It's a shift dress so it's not fitted through the middle. The size 4 fit better in length but the size 6 fit better under the arms. The lace overlay was well maintained. The color, especially for a summer wedding, was fresh and popped! The only con was the hook-and-eye closure at the back kept popping open. The suggested accessories really brought the look together. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Absolutely perfect! I ended up renting it twice this summer!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a summer wedding! The color was stunning - not too bright - but the perfect pop of color. I was worried about length since I'm taller and have long legs, but it ended up hitting mid-thigh. I felt comfortable dancing and didn't have to keep pulling it down like some other shorter dresses I've rented in the past. I originally rented it for a summer beachside wedding in Newport, RI -- and my husband loved it so much that he asked me to rent it again for his brother's wedding a month later. If it's ever available to purchase I would scoop this dress up to add to my closet!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Perfect for a beach wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Usually a size 6, I rented both the 6 and 4 as I read some reviews saying it runs a bit large. The 4 fit perfect, but was a little tight under the arms. The 6 was way too big. There are convenient snaps inside the dress to hold your bra straps in place. This was my favorite Rent the Runway dress yet! The color is perfect and the fit is forgiving and comfortable. I couldn't believe the compliments I received!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Loved the color!! Perfect for am outdoor rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 0 fit okay but it was very tight in the armpits so I went with the 2.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Aug 9, 2014

Everyone loved the dress! I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. Wore the 6 because it fit better around the middle! #standout
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

I rented this dress for graduation pictures and it was fabulous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly. I was very pleased with the way it shaped to my body as well as the vibrant color! The dress arrived on time and was in great condition. It was extremely convenient to have the dress delivered and ready for me waiting on my doorstep when I got home.
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Loved the color for a beach wedding!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is pretty true to size. I ordered this last minute for wound up with only one size to choose from - the 00. Fortunately, because it was not a form fitted dress getting the 00 made it a little more flattering on my body. Usually I wear a 0 in Lilly P but the extra size was not available. The fit was perfect except for around the arms. It was crazy tight but it didn't ruin my night. I was able to wear a normal bra. I got a lot of compliments on the color and the style. Definitely a keeper!!!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my backup style for a bridal shower. I didn't wear it for that, but I did wear it to work and for a company meeting. It was a little shorter than I normally wear to work, but it was comfortable and I loved the color. Got many compliments!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 28, 2014

Really pretty color and nice fabric

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a great color and pretty lace but I don't know if it was very flattering. It was really tight in the arms so I was worried about that for the night. Did not wrinkle on the way to the wedding though in a suitcase!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Wore to a family wedding. Both the 4 and 6 fit but wore the 6 because it was comfier! This is a typical shift cut so if you're looking for something to accentuate your waist, you will want a belt. I love the easy feel of shift dresses, especially for eating and dancing at weddings! Wouldn't change a thing about this dress. There is a cute keyhole back that I didn't realize before I rented- might have tried to put my hair up if I had thought in advance! I found it very flattering.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×