Island Breeze Shift

$30 rental
$278 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look effortlessly chic in this Lilly Pulitzer sea foam lace dress. A feminine style made for a day out on the town with your best friend! Dress up this look with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Whiting and Davis' Black Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal lace (68% polyester, 32% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Back keyhole with hook-and-eye closure. No zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Lined (100% polyester). Imported.

Share
238 reviews
Fit
Large27
True to Size157
Small24
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2014
Great dress
This is a great fun dress... It was perfect for graduation! The color is even brighter in person!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2014
Great for a summer wedding
I ordered this for a September wedding. The dress is really pretty, nice material in a typical sheath fit. Sadly had to send it back because the color and material were just too summery. I plan to rent it for a wedding next summer if it's still available! This was a great experience with RTR, with them crediting my order without any hassle.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2014
Beautiful color
Very tight in the armholes. The shift style hides your figure. It was a beautiful color and pattern.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2014
Worked perfectly as an "aqua bridesmaid dress"
I was asked to wear an aqua dress to a beach wedding of a close friend. After finding nothing that I liked to buy, I decided to try RTR. This dress was perfect. It's gorgeous and it was so nice to throw it in a bag and send it back, I didn't even have to pack it to fly home! It was a little small around the arms. I'm narrow shouldered and it fit pretty perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 13, 2014
Simple summer dress
Great color but not the most flattering fit. Rented this for a summer weekend and it could have worked for both an evening out or a Sunday morning church service with a sweater.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2014
Perfect color; great for a wedding
I loved the color of this dress. I paired it with a trendy bright coral lip and coral nails and received compliments all night. Things you should know about the dress: if you're a busty girl, its going to be a bit tight in that area; the neckline is fairly high, so its great for conservative events; and the length was pretty short on me, which is saying something considering I'm only 5'4". Definitely manageable, and not too risque, just the type of dress where I had to make sure I was sitting lady-like at all times and didn't bend over at the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 3, 2014
Cute dress, great color
Great, vibrant color. Runs small in terms of the armit holes. Not a fitted dress which is the charm of it. You will get compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2014
wore this to a derby and it was PERFECT
Great dress- I got tons of compliments. it is just the right length and not tight, but also not too loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 2, 2014
Such a cute Lilly Dress!!
The only problem I had was the top hook and eye kept coming open. It may not have come open if I'd gotten a smaller size. I just took the advice of previous reviewers and ordered up!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
September 27, 2014
Loved the color of this dress.
I loved the color of the dress. It was tight in the armpits. Could be more form fitting but over all I really liked the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
September 22, 2014
Perfect dress!
I love this dress, I wish I didn't have to send it back! Fit is true to size, I am typically a 4 and wore a 4. Great length, color, and very comfortable. I liked that. I could wear a normal bra with it and also had built I holder to keep your bra straps tucked in. This was my first rental and I look forward to more!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Weight: 125lbs
September 15, 2014
Absolutely beautiful!
I loved wearing this dress. It was perfect for a September wedding! I was able to dance comfortably and received many compliments on it! I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
September 7, 2014
The perfect color dress!
Beautiful dress with elegant pattern and fun color! I loved wearing it all day and received many compliments. As in other reviews if you are larger chested it will feel a bit tight in the chest but manageable. It seems many Lilly dresses that are 4-6 don't a compensate larger bust sizes comfortable however it is manageable. I choose not to wear the bigger size 6 because I wanted a more fitted look to the dress and the 6 felt a bit baggy with the shift pattern.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 3, 2014
Perfect dress for a summer wedding! Great pop of color... Many compliments.
The dress fits well in the bust and the length is good. A con maybe is the fit is straight so it doesn't hug your waist. The color looks more mint in person and not sky blue-like online. Love the lace!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 2, 2014
Not for curvy ladies
Added this as my "extra" dress and I'm glad that I had the primary dress to fall back on. After reading other reviews, I agree with what most gals say about this one - it's absolutely beautiful and the color is amazing, but it's definitely not a good cut for us curvy gals. This would look great on someone who is very slender with slim arms and smaller bust - on me, it was a little snug around the bust, and loose through the middle, and neckline was not very flattering. 10 would have probably fit better in the bust and arms, but this cut was just not for me. Such a disappointment, because this is really a beautiful and fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 2, 2014
Very pretty but not my favorite
I have had my eye on this dress for a while so opted to rent it for a Labor Day Wknd wedding. The RTR process was flawless with the dress and optional alt size arriving on time in perfect condition. I tried on the 2 and it fit perfectly except underneath the arms where it pinched a little bit and I thought it might get uncomfortable. The 4 was just a little bigger so not quite as flattering but much more comfortable under the arms. After much debate and comparison I went with the 4 and it was fine. I was able to wear a regular bra with the dress and there are snaps to hold the straps in place but they kept unsnapping. I was hoping the dress would have been more flattering and fitted but I'm glad I tried it. It was just fine for the event and I was comfortable - just not my favorite rental.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 28, 2014
Great color and style! I received lots of compliments!
It's a shift dress so it's not fitted through the middle. The size 4 fit better in length but the size 6 fit better under the arms. The lace overlay was well maintained. The color, especially for a summer wedding, was fresh and popped! The only con was the hook-and-eye closure at the back kept popping open. The suggested accessories really brought the look together. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 28, 2014
Beautiful but runs big
Beautiful color and style! The dress runs really big though and I could not wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
August 24, 2014
Easy shipping , beautiful dress, great color! I felt beautiful!
Great dress for a summer engagement party. Flattering and classy !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 18, 2014
Absolutely perfect! I ended up renting it twice this summer!
This dress was perfect for a summer wedding! The color was stunning - not too bright - but the perfect pop of color. I was worried about length since I'm taller and have long legs, but it ended up hitting mid-thigh. I felt comfortable dancing and didn't have to keep pulling it down like some other shorter dresses I've rented in the past. I originally rented it for a summer beachside wedding in Newport, RI -- and my husband loved it so much that he asked me to rent it again for his brother's wedding a month later. If it's ever available to purchase I would scoop this dress up to add to my closet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 18, 2014
Perfect for a beach wedding.
Usually a size 6, I rented both the 6 and 4 as I read some reviews saying it runs a bit large. The 4 fit perfect, but was a little tight under the arms. The 6 was way too big. There are convenient snaps inside the dress to hold your bra straps in place. This was my favorite Rent the Runway dress yet! The color is perfect and the fit is forgiving and comfortable. I couldn't believe the compliments I received!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 18, 2014
Loved the color!! Perfect for am outdoor rehearsal dinner.
The 0 fit okay but it was very tight in the armpits so I went with the 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 12, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress from the color to the way it looked.
I got so many compliments on this dress from the color to the way it looked. It was very comfortable and perfect for a summer wedding!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 9, 2014
Everyone loved the dress! I got so many compliments.
Fit great. Wore the 6 because it fit better around the middle! #standout
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 7, 2014
Wasn't able to wear
Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress. Gorgeous color, great look, and the bra snaps are a nice touch. Had hoped the size 12 would fit but the dress lining made it snug in my hips. I have a true hourglass shape. It fit as far as the bust and arm holes were concerned but it was unflattering because it made me look like I have a large stomach (definitely not where I carry my weight) due to it being tight in my hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
August 5, 2014
I rented this dress for graduation pictures and it was fabulous!
The dress fit perfectly. I was very pleased with the way it shaped to my body as well as the vibrant color! The dress arrived on time and was in great condition. It was extremely convenient to have the dress delivered and ready for me waiting on my doorstep when I got home.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
August 4, 2014
Very cute summer event dress.
This was sent as a backup to another dress I rented for a spring wedding. I ended up going with the other dress, but this one was super cute. It was very comfortable and easily accessorize-able. It was a little "drapey" on me, so adding a belt would be a must in my case, but I can see from other people that they didn't need one, so it's up to you. Soft material and comfortable, easily something you could wear for a long day of events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 3, 2014
Loved the color for a beach wedding!
The fit is pretty true to size. I ordered this last minute for wound up with only one size to choose from - the 00. Fortunately, because it was not a form fitted dress getting the 00 made it a little more flattering on my body. Usually I wear a 0 in Lilly P but the extra size was not available. The fit was perfect except for around the arms. It was crazy tight but it didn't ruin my night. I was able to wear a normal bra. I got a lot of compliments on the color and the style. Definitely a keeper!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 31, 2014
Great color
This was my backup style for a bridal shower. I didn't wear it for that, but I did wear it to work and for a company meeting. It was a little shorter than I normally wear to work, but it was comfortable and I loved the color. Got many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2014
Really pretty color and nice fabric
It was a great color and pretty lace but I don't know if it was very flattering. It was really tight in the arms so I was worried about that for the night. Did not wrinkle on the way to the wedding though in a suitcase!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 28, 2014
Great color, is a little darker than image; is still a wonderful color for the summer or spring!
The sleeves are a little awkward but other than that, great dress! A little tight around the bust area if you are busty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 27, 2014
Perfect!
Loved this dress! Wore to a family wedding. Both the 4 and 6 fit but wore the 6 because it was comfier! This is a typical shift cut so if you're looking for something to accentuate your waist, you will want a belt. I love the easy feel of shift dresses, especially for eating and dancing at weddings! Wouldn't change a thing about this dress. There is a cute keyhole back that I didn't realize before I rented- might have tried to put my hair up if I had thought in advance! I found it very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
July 21, 2014
Arm holes run small - if you're athletic and not petite, beware.
I was not able to wear this dress because the arm holes and chest were very tight. Depending on the designer, I'm usually a 10 or 12 with C size chest. This dress "fit" but not properly. Unfortunately I had to return it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 17, 2014
Great dress for a Palm Beach wedding!
I LOVED this dress for a wedding at the Breakers in Palm Beach! The color is gorgeous, and it is a beautiful dress. It was a touch too big, but I would say overall runs true to size. I am 5/2 and 105 lbs, and I think a size 00 would have fit me better. This was just the slightest bit too long for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2014
Great color
A little tight - I was in between the 10 and 12 and should have worn the 12
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2014
loved the dress, great color, got lots of good feedback
hit at mid thigh, doesn't have a ton of shape but that works for me since I have bigger hips. i thought the cut was slimming. lots of people loved it. great color, nice detail, looks good in person and in photos
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2014
Perfection
This dress was perfect. True to size. Amazing color, especially for summer events. Looked brand new. Extremely comfortable (no tugging or riding up). Definitely flattering on curvy figures, but I'm pretty sure it would look good on anybody. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 11, 2014
Dissapointed
I know shift dresses are meant to be straight, but usually I have some sort of shape in them. I had no shape at all in this dress- I felt like I had on a potato sack. I think this would look better on taller girls, as I am only 5 feet tall, so it was not only shapeless but too long! Too bad because I love Lily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 7, 2014
Bright color, fun look.
I wore this dress to a July wedding. It was a flattering cut and a vibrant color. There were 6 other people in the exact same teal at this wedding, so it must be super trendy right now. It's shorter then I normally wear but that ended up being ok. The sleeve holes were very tight and I wish I'd gone a size up. Good value rental over all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
July 4, 2014
Great dress, awesome color
Wore to a outdoor wedding. It was the perfect color and length. I was just sent the 6, it fit perfectly. It was a little snug under the arms but was comfortable!
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×