Lilly Pulitzer

Island Breeze Shift

$40 rental
$278 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look effortlessly chic in this Lilly Pulitzer sea foam lace dress. A feminine style made for a day out on the town with your best friend! Dress up this look with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Whiting and Davis' Black Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal lace (68% polyester, 32% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Back keyhole with hook-and-eye closure. No zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Lined (100% polyester). Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

167 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 121
Large 25
Photos 96
Hazel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 29, 2014

Very unique & color is flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Belt may be used otherwise dress is flowy & may not complement your body's shape
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 29, 2014

A Rainy Carolina Cup 2014

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A little long for 5'1.. very comfortable and great condition!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Perfect summer wedding dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is super cute, comfy and true to size! Yet it's fashionable and I received so many compliments! Loved it!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

Perfect color, stood out at the wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Ok, I am not a fan of this dress. The color was beautiful but the dress itself made me look huge. I weigh 131 but have a 34d chest size and made me look 20-30 pounds heavier. If you are not tiny, I would look at other Lily options that are more form fitting. I was not pleased with the fit and wish I had selected another rental.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

comfortable, great color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I fit into both the 0 & 2 however I'm on the 'hippy' side and the 0 hugged my hips which made the lower portion of the dress taut & the middle portion loose. The dress probably wasn't made for curvy girls but I just loved the color & couldn't resist renting it. I rated it 4 stars only because of this. Otherwise the dress was super comfortable & easy to move around in
Paige
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Jun 16, 2014

Looked amazing for a surprise birthday dinner. Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was a little tight in the arms, but the size up (a 6) was too big throughout the rest of the dress so I dealt with it in the four, but it wasn't enough to take away from the dress or the night. Very nice dress, beautiful color. Never disappointed with a Lilly dress
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Many compliments on this great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my future sister-in-law's bridesmaid luncheon- it was perfect! The color and material were awesome, and I felt great in the dress. The only downside - the armholes felt small and it was a little tight under the arms. A bigger size would have been too large all over. Definitely recommend the dress.
jfenrigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Comfy dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color of this dress and it was perfect for a wedding. The shape didn't look the best on me, but overall it was comfy to wear
Whitney
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 24, 2014

It was so easy and the dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The dress fits tighter in the arms and runs a little more open down your body. The lace also snags easy so be careful with the fish hook clip.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Great color for blondes

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a good length and neckline for a small family wedding where I was looking for modest but still a bright spring color. It does have a green under tone but overall it reads aqua. Think it is perfect for blondes. It was a bit snug across the chest (36DD) but worked. Loved how the bottom section of lace hung below the lining to accentuate the pretty scalloped edge. I used to make fun of my friends 15 years ago who wore Lilly but she has come along way and I take back everything I ever said! She's more than super preppy prints these days!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Love rtr!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I took a risk and only got one size -8 bc they were out of stock of the 6. I'm normally between the two sizes.. The 8 was great, gave me room to move and dance! Got tons of compliments on the style and color. This was my favorite Lilly rental so far! I really had no issue with the arm holds like other people mentioned but the clasp in the back did come undone when sitting too long.
RTR Customer
Jun 30, 2014

I got a lot of compliments and the process was so easy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress!!
Bevin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Bright color, fun look.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a July wedding. It was a flattering cut and a vibrant color. There were 6 other people in the exact same teal at this wedding, so it must be super trendy right now. It's shorter then I normally wear but that ended up being ok. The sleeve holes were very tight and I wish I'd gone a size up. Good value rental over all.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Perfection

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect. True to size. Amazing color, especially for summer events. Looked brand new. Extremely comfortable (no tugging or riding up). Definitely flattering on curvy figures, but I'm pretty sure it would look good on anybody. Highly recommend!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Wore to a family wedding. Both the 4 and 6 fit but wore the 6 because it was comfier! This is a typical shift cut so if you're looking for something to accentuate your waist, you will want a belt. I love the easy feel of shift dresses, especially for eating and dancing at weddings! Wouldn't change a thing about this dress. There is a cute keyhole back that I didn't realize before I rented- might have tried to put my hair up if I had thought in advance! I found it very flattering.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 28, 2014

Really pretty color and nice fabric

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a great color and pretty lace but I don't know if it was very flattering. It was really tight in the arms so I was worried about that for the night. Did not wrinkle on the way to the wedding though in a suitcase!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my backup style for a bridal shower. I didn't wear it for that, but I did wear it to work and for a company meeting. It was a little shorter than I normally wear to work, but it was comfortable and I loved the color. Got many compliments!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Loved the color for a beach wedding!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is pretty true to size. I ordered this last minute for wound up with only one size to choose from - the 00. Fortunately, because it was not a form fitted dress getting the 00 made it a little more flattering on my body. Usually I wear a 0 in Lilly P but the extra size was not available. The fit was perfect except for around the arms. It was crazy tight but it didn't ruin my night. I was able to wear a normal bra. I got a lot of compliments on the color and the style. Definitely a keeper!!!
Grace
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

I rented this dress for graduation pictures and it was fabulous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly. I was very pleased with the way it shaped to my body as well as the vibrant color! The dress arrived on time and was in great condition. It was extremely convenient to have the dress delivered and ready for me waiting on my doorstep when I got home.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Aug 9, 2014

Everyone loved the dress! I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. Wore the 6 because it fit better around the middle! #standout
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Loved the color!! Perfect for am outdoor rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 0 fit okay but it was very tight in the armpits so I went with the 2.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Perfect for a beach wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Usually a size 6, I rented both the 6 and 4 as I read some reviews saying it runs a bit large. The 4 fit perfect, but was a little tight under the arms. The 6 was way too big. There are convenient snaps inside the dress to hold your bra straps in place. This was my favorite Rent the Runway dress yet! The color is perfect and the fit is forgiving and comfortable. I couldn't believe the compliments I received!
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Absolutely perfect! I ended up renting it twice this summer!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a summer wedding! The color was stunning - not too bright - but the perfect pop of color. I was worried about length since I'm taller and have long legs, but it ended up hitting mid-thigh. I felt comfortable dancing and didn't have to keep pulling it down like some other shorter dresses I've rented in the past. I originally rented it for a summer beachside wedding in Newport, RI -- and my husband loved it so much that he asked me to rent it again for his brother's wedding a month later. If it's ever available to purchase I would scoop this dress up to add to my closet!
Carey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 28, 2014

Great color and style! I received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It's a shift dress so it's not fitted through the middle. The size 4 fit better in length but the size 6 fit better under the arms. The lace overlay was well maintained. The color, especially for a summer wedding, was fresh and popped! The only con was the hook-and-eye closure at the back kept popping open. The suggested accessories really brought the look together. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Very pretty but not my favorite

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have had my eye on this dress for a while so opted to rent it for a Labor Day Wknd wedding. The RTR process was flawless with the dress and optional alt size arriving on time in perfect condition. I tried on the 2 and it fit perfectly except underneath the arms where it pinched a little bit and I thought it might get uncomfortable. The 4 was just a little bigger so not quite as flattering but much more comfortable under the arms. After much debate and comparison I went with the 4 and it was fine. I was able to wear a regular bra with the dress and there are snaps to hold the straps in place but they kept unsnapping. I was hoping the dress would have been more flattering and fitted but I'm glad I tried it. It was just fine for the event and I was comfortable - just not my favorite rental.
Nicole
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Not for curvy ladies

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Added this as my "extra" dress and I'm glad that I had the primary dress to fall back on. After reading other reviews, I agree with what most gals say about this one - it's absolutely beautiful and the color is amazing, but it's definitely not a good cut for us curvy gals. This would look great on someone who is very slender with slim arms and smaller bust - on me, it was a little snug around the bust, and loose through the middle, and neckline was not very flattering. 10 would have probably fit better in the bust and arms, but this cut was just not for me. Such a disappointment, because this is really a beautiful and fun dress!
RTR Customer
Sep 3, 2014

Perfect dress for a summer wedding! Great pop of color... Many compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits well in the bust and the length is good. A con maybe is the fit is straight so it doesn't hug your waist. The color looks more mint in person and not sky blue-like online. Love the lace!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

The perfect color dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress with elegant pattern and fun color! I loved wearing it all day and received many compliments. As in other reviews if you are larger chested it will feel a bit tight in the chest but manageable. It seems many Lilly dresses that are 4-6 don't a compensate larger bust sizes comfortable however it is manageable. I choose not to wear the bigger size 6 because I wanted a more fitted look to the dress and the 6 felt a bit baggy with the shift pattern.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress, I wish I didn't have to send it back! Fit is true to size, I am typically a 4 and wore a 4. Great length, color, and very comfortable. I liked that. I could wear a normal bra with it and also had built I holder to keep your bra straps tucked in. This was my first rental and I look forward to more!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Sep 27, 2014

Loved the color of this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color of the dress. It was tight in the armpits. Could be more form fitting but over all I really liked the dress.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Such a cute Lilly Dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The only problem I had was the top hook and eye kept coming open. It may not have come open if I'd gotten a smaller size. I just took the advice of previous reviewers and ordered up!!
Erika
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 4, 2014

Perfect color; great for a wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color of this dress. I paired it with a trendy bright coral lip and coral nails and received compliments all night. Things you should know about the dress: if you're a busty girl, its going to be a bit tight in that area; the neckline is fairly high, so its great for conservative events; and the length was pretty short on me, which is saying something considering I'm only 5'4". Definitely manageable, and not too risque, just the type of dress where I had to make sure I was sitting lady-like at all times and didn't bend over at the waist.
Annie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Worked perfectly as an "aqua bridesmaid dress"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was asked to wear an aqua dress to a beach wedding of a close friend. After finding nothing that I liked to buy, I decided to try RTR. This dress was perfect. It's gorgeous and it was so nice to throw it in a bag and send it back, I didn't even have to pack it to fly home! It was a little small around the arms. I'm narrow shouldered and it fit pretty perfectly.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Beautiful color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very tight in the armholes. The shift style hides your figure. It was a beautiful color and pattern.
Ames
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a "bridal tea" for my friend's wedding. The color is much more vibrant and green-toned in person, which I liked. I could have worn the 4 but went with the 2 because it was more fitted and had less fabric hanging. The 2 was a little tight in my armpits but not too tight to wear, and was otherwise a very comfortable dress. I highly recommend this one!
Rachel
Age: 21
Oct 28, 2014

Perfect for my formal!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my sorority formal! It has a green material under the blue lace which made the overall color really unique! The fit is pretty true to size and hits right above the knee. Perfect lilly dress for the night :)
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 29, 2014

Beautiful Rehearsal Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was wonderful for my wedding rehearsal. It moved perfectly from the church, to the boat, to dinner and then to drinks afterwards. It was comfortable, a gorgeous color and the length I was hoping for. I would highly recommend this dress. It is a little tight around the armpits as other reviewers mentioned but it wasn't too noticeable.
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Perfect for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding on a hot summer day. I ordered the 2 and the 4, the shoulders/arms and chest were snug on the 2, so I wore the 4 to be more comfortable and since its a shift, the fit other places didn't matter too much. I loved it, not too long, but long enough that you don't have to worry about lifting your arms up, etc. when dancing. I felt super comfortable and loved the color!
Jmielei
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Great color and comfy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great color and very comfortable but it is pretty shapeless.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Such a great color

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
I got compliments on this dress all night long. I wish I had a better photo of it. I'm a tall girl and it was a little short, but not inappropriate. I would rent it again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×