Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
290 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(205)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
When I walked, the fabric in the front kept bunching up to look like a stomach pouch.

Great dress besides having to keep readjusting the fabric in the front

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Dress it up, dress it down

I got this to wear to an event where I wasn't sure how dressy it would be and this was perfect. WIth flats and muted accessories this dress can go daytime casual. Add heels and accessories and it dresses up for cocktails or parties. Love the back scoop, too - playful and cute. I could have worn the 4 or 6 but went with the 4 so I'd say order down for your backup size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2012
Perfect LBD

Fit perfectly! I wore this for sorority recruitment and couldn't be happier with the way this dress looked and fit. It is a little short, so be careful!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 1, 2012
Great anytime LBD!

This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. I could have worn a 6, but the 8 was the only size available. I chose to wear it anyway, despite it being a little large in the stomach area. The dress can be dressed up or dressed down. I chose to dress it up with statement jewelry, and wore it with nude pumps. SO cute! I wanted to keep the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 8, 2012
Pretty, classy and comfortable--perfect date-night dress!

I ordered this dress for a special event I was attending with my boyfriend. It's simple and classy, but also sexy in a subtle way. I think what makes this dress so flattering is that it's cut a bit lower in the back, but higher in the front--it draws attention to your back instead of your chest, which is a nice change. Also, the fabric is thick and it's shaped well--anyone who has any insecurities about their chest or belly would feel very comfortable in this dress. I did find it a little large in the chest for me (32B) but it fit well elsewhere and it wasn't really noticeable unless I was slouched forward. I would consider buying this dress because it is versatile and comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2012
such a cute dress :)

i loved everything about it :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2012
Fabulous Dress!

I love this dress because you can dress it up or down. I ended up wearing it to a rehearsal dinner on a Friday night as well as a baptism on Sunday morning, and got two totally different looks out of it. One word of caution: it is slightly shorter than I thought it would be.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
Couldn't have been happier!

This was the perfect LBD! The fit was great and I absolutely loved the lace and back zipper details. Definitely would recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 1, 2012
Classic LBD

Great dress. Classy & classic LBD. Zipper and scoop back adds a little fun. Very soft lace, not scratchy on the arms at all.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 12, 2012
Pretty but professional

I rented this for a formal but professional party and it was perfect. Pretty but not sexy. I didn't want to send it back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
I wore this dress for a work event and it was perfect. Just enough sexy vs classy.

It fit perfectly and hid imperfections. I wore this only 6 months after having a baby and it made me look very slim.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
Perfect Party Dress!

I got this dress for me and my boyfriend's combined birthday dinner/party. This dress was SO flattering. It was slimming in all the right places and I felt comfortable and sexy in it the entire night! Note, I think what really added to it was the kate spade emerald green earrings I rented also!!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2012
The Perfect Dress

I loved this dress. I wore it to my high school reunion and got many complements! It was perfect for a classy look but not over or under dressed! With the right accessories it can be dressed up or down. I loved the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2012
Fun and flirty

This is a great dress! I wore this twice in one weekend to two completely different events and it was appropriate for both. It is comfortable, but not too loose and short, but not too short. Would love to own this as a go-to LBD for many types of occasions.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2012
Cute Dress

I liked this dress. It worked well for the event, but I probably would not buy it for my wardrobe.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
Amazing. Beautiful. Perfect for any event.

It is short. I am 5'8" and I had to watch my sitting and standing very carefully.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 28, 2012
Perfect Thanksgiving dress!

I wore this dress for Thanksgiving dinner and absolutely loved it! Both cute and classy, Lily Pulitzer's design proved to be quite the crowd pleaser. In fact, my grandma wanted to know where she could get one in her size! Pros: Classic, flattering, cute lace sleeve detail, family appropriate without being frumpy, great fit Cons: Cap sleeves may not flatter everyone

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2012
Really nice dress

So cute and versatile, but really short. Luckily it was a summer event, otherwise, wouldn't have been able to pull it off.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
I wore this dress to a fraternity's formal and everyone loved it!

great fit through the torso, didn't originally realize the shoulders were slightly capped which made my shoulders look slightly broad but it was easily fixed by wearing my hair down. Appropriate length for a formal event as well. Also wore Lee Angel Tie up necklace and a thin sparkly gold belt to bring in the waist.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Adorable dress - sizing is a little "off"

I rented both the 4 and 6 for an October wedding. In dresses I can be anywhere from a 4 to an 8 depending on the dress and designer but based on the prior reviews of this dress, I opted for a 4 and 6. The 6 was a little boxy - the lining hung lower than the lace overlay which I took as a sign that it was too big. The 4 seemed to fit better - was definitely more fitted, less boxy and gave me some shape. It looked adorable with a funky necklace. I have to admit - it was a little on the short side (and I'm only 5'4") and I was mildly self-conscious sitting in church for the ceremony. Overall, a great dress and depending on how you are built, you may have to be a little careful.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2012
Made my first trip to the opera special

I wasn't sure what to wear to the opera so I went with this simple black dress. I was very pleased with the style and fit. Although the dress is formed somewhat straight it still provides some shape. The dress fit well, but it was pretty short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Form fitting and fun

This dress is mid thigh and has a nice accent of a gold zipper up the back. The sleeve hits right at the shoulder. The lace overlay was a nice additive. I received many compliments on the dress.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2012
Super cute, but VERY short.

I rented this for a work holiday party. I loved the dress and the detail was really pretty. However, it was wayyyy too short for the occasion and I couldn't wear it. Adorable for a date night or another time when you won't need to be around your bosses...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2012
Prefect LBD!!

Rented this dress for my graduation and it was absolutely prefect. The cap shoulders and low back give it the perfect amount of detail to keep it a little sexy while still a classy, simple, black dress. heads up for the taller ladies: I am 5'3'' and this dress was short, I enjoyed the length but not all people might like it that short. The 4 fit really well, I wish I rented the 2 to try instead of the 6 because I prefer tighter dresses. Overall, loved it! I would highly recommend this dress!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 22, 2012
Very cute little black dress!

I wore this dress to a christmas party and it was my back up in a size 8. I ended up wearing this dress because it was flattering and comfortable. There is no stretch to the dress and the sleeves make it hard to raise your arms (the only uncomfortable thing about it). I am 5'5 and it hit me a little longer than mid thigh. It is a very simple but pretty dress and I wore it with a necklace that i rented as well. It was great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2012
Such a Classic! I didn't want to give it back!

I wore it to a trunk show I hosted at my sorority house for RTR and then out for dinner with friends. It was great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
Loved this dress! the scoop in the back is adorable!

fits true to size, wore it with tights, black pumps & statement necklace to a holiday party. I wish I could have kept it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Love pairing this with green emerald earrings for a holiday party!

I ordered the zero and two as I go between. The 0 was too small around my hips but great around my waist, The 2 fit more like a natural shift dress should! Perfecto!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2013
Beautiful Fabric, Well Crafted

This dress is well made. However, it's not for those that have a small bust and larger hips. I am tiny up top and have larger hips. The chest area fit nicely. The bottom fit over my hips well but was a bit snug. Therefore the dress looked frumpy above the hip area.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW

I would suggest going down a size for the free back up if you have a smaller bust. It was fitted, and didn't have any stretch, but you could still get away with going down a size. It was also very comfortable. Throw on a pair of nude or black heels, a great statement necklace and you are good to go!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2013
Nice and comfortable fit! Loved the pattern:)

The dress ran true to size and fit comfortable. It ran a little short on me but I'm on the taller side. Very cute and simple.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Love this dress

Fit well on me however, the sleeves can be a little tight so if your arms are a little big think going a size up. The dress was short enough for my occasion and I overall loved it! Definitely would recommend! love lilly, and I want to purchase this dress after my great rental!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
March 13, 2013
This Dress and the mystery bling made my Valentines dinner perfect!

I thought because the dress was short on the model that it would be longer for me since I am petite, but it wasn't. That's alright though, I just wore some black tights with it and it looked great! The jewelry that was sent with it was perfect and made the outfit! There was some difficulty getting the right size in the dress i first picked out, but the customer representatives were very nice and suggested this dress instead and promptly refunded the difference. I was well taken care of. I will definitely rent again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
This dress is the perfect balance of elegant yet young!

i wore this dress to my baccalaureate. It's kind of short, but I think it keeps the black lace from being too dreary!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
A Classic Black Dress

This is a basic black dress. The little scoop back with zipper added a little something extra to it, but it was not a show stopping dress. It satisfies the "little black dress" desire if that is what you are looking for. It was pretty, loose in the mid section, and comfortable. I wasn't blown away by it, but I felt pretty in it at the same time.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2013
Great for a bachelorette party!

I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party. It was comfortable and true to size. I don't think I would rent this dress again only because RTR has soooo many cute LBDs that I would like to try! Overall, very happy with the dress!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2013
OBSESSED

I ordered this for a bachelorette party for a dinner and drinks. It was perfect. It could absolutely be dressed up or down to be a bit more casual. I love the exposed zipper. The fit was great too. I am definitely in between sizes and have anywhere from 2-6 in my closet. I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit great and was more fitted but my chest area is a bit larger and I felt a bit like I couldn't move. The 6 was still a bit fitted but it left more room for dancing. I really did not want to send this one back!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
April 18, 2013
Classy LBD!

I rented this dress for a wedding and I ordered a size 0 and 2 just in case, but the 0 fit perfectly...not tight at all but not too loose. I'm pretty short and this hit me perfectly a few inches above the knee. I love the scoop back and zipper as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2013
not only was it a great dress for the actual wedding and reception but for the after party too!

the 4 fit me perfectly. it wasn't too loose or too snug anywhere. the only downside was that it was a little short, but lilly dresses usually are on me so i wasn't surprised.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Perfect little black dress!

This dress was perfect for a wedding and then a New Year's Eve cocktail party - so much fun to wear, very flattering and comfortable!

See more reviews:
4 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×