Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$40 rental
$298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out. Go with a pop of color by renting the Gerard Yosca's Vintage Jade Crystal Studs and the Kate Spade's Emerald Anastasia Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

264 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 191
Large 53
Photos 89
rhgmm12
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162 lbs
May 2, 2013

PERFECT!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'2" and I was concerned about the length but it fit perfectly! I have an apple shape and it was "just right" at a size 12 (I would have picked at 14 as a back up if they'd had it but it wasn't an option). This dress is perfect for a wedding, party, funeral, etc. Black eyelet with a dramatic "lower" back . Pair it with black heels and a pop of color in the purse or jewelry and you're set for the night. As someone who is often self conscious - this dress made me feel pretty, elegant and just perfect!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
May 8, 2013

Perfect LBD

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was my backup. I really liked it and had a hard time choosing between it and my number one choice. It was extremely comfortable, flattering, and the lace aspect put it into the trendy realm. I had trouble choosing between this dress and the other one I ordered, so I asked a few of my guy friends to help me pick and the score was 2-2!! I ended up not going with this dress because I felt the other one had a little bit more personality, but this would have been a great choice too.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 14, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The perfect LBD. The lace was gorgeous and the low back and zipper made it a little sexier. Loved it!
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

I rented this dress for a gala that I attended. When it arrived I loved the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately it was too big for me to wear. I usually wear a 4 and the 4 was too big. Was bummed I didn't get to wear the dress I rented!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Jun 17, 2013

Great for new years eve dinner!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
dress fit great! true to size, nice fabric. Wasn't too heavy. Would rent again!
katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Great for a date night out.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The night of my 21 birthday was a school night so I decided to have a classy night out with a few girlfriends and this was a great dress for a GNO.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

classy and sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The size 6 fit like a glove but was just a tad shorter than I was comfortable with wearing to a wedding, so I ended up wearing the 8 for length- even though it was a tad loose. The only con that I have is that on the size 8, the lining was just a bit longer than the lace, which looked kind of weird. But, other than that i loved the dress.
BizzyAttorney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2013

Simple but sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is very simple, classic and sexy. I wore it for a hot date with my hubby for his birthday. He was very pleased. The lace detail is beautiful but not very noticeable if you're wearing it at night. I initially ordered a pair of earrings from RTR to wear with this dress, but because of the simplicity of the dress, I wore an amazing necklace as a statement piece instead, with simple stud earrings. Also, the dress ran true to size for me. It did not run small like some other reviewers indicated, but I guess it depends on your body style. If you're big in the bust or hip area, you may have a problem. I could have worn either the size 4 or 6, but I chose to wear the size 4 because I was going for a more fitted look. Its a beautiful dress and I would order it again.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2013

I felt confident and received lots of compliments. This dress could be worn for so many events!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I chose a 4 and 6. The 4 fit fine but was a little on the shorter side so I went with the 6. The dress was comfortable and flattering, perfect black dress to wear out for a bacheloerette party! Would definitely rent again!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Aug 14, 2013

classic dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
was a classic dress to wear to a nighttime march wedding.
Katherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Great LBD for a daytime affair!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a birthday party and loved it! I never know with Lilly due to my chest how to go w/ sizes so I got the 10 even though I'm usually a 6/8. Could have definitley gone smaller but overall the fit was fine. I'm 5'4 so the length was fine on me but taller gals might find it a bit short. Overall was a great experience and would rent it again for the right occasion!
Margareth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 23, 2013

was a very classy dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love rentig
Desiree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 9, 2013

So many compliments.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress. I had to give four stars because the dress is starting to show its age...
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Simple and Classic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I received tons of compliments on this dress! I wore it for my brother's wedding rehearsal and paired it with nude heals and a turquoise necklace. The only con was that the shoulders were a little too big and kept sliding down, but overall the fit was on point with the dress description and I would recommend it to anyone needing something simple but classy.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 20, 2013

Not crazy about this one

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It is very short and boxy.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 15, 2013

Dress arrived on time and so easy to send back!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Flattering but comfortable. Received so many compliments all night. Runs short. Can be dressed up or down for any occasion!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

Love this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I recently rented this dress for a November wedding. It is simple, stylish and fits great. It doesn't have a skin tight fit, so it is very flattering. I normally wear a 4 and it fit perfectly. I paired with dangle green bubble earrings and gold heels. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Carla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Classic LBD.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore to husband's business party. Comfortable, great fit and just right for occasion.
Randi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Dress was perfect for a fall Bar Mitzvah. Dressy enough for the services and perfect to dance in!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit great. I felt comfortable and not self conscious. Runs true to size and it was great to style with flashy costume jewelry.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

it was a great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friends wedding that I was in. I had just had a baby and didn't want something that was tight around my tummy. This fit perfectly and I still got tons of compliments.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

4 weeks post-baby, an old friend said 'you do NOT look like you just had a kid.'

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great! Initially, I ordered the wrong size. The dress was delivered Friday, and when I realized my mistake, I contacted RTR. I had the right size in hand the next day by noon. Amazing! I will definitely rent again. The dress itself doesn't have too much stretch, but you don't really need it. I'm 5'4" with a longer torso and the length was exactly what I wanted. Snug in the chest, loose around the mid-section and on (but I am top-heavy). I loved it!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Cute and classy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my back up dress and I wound up wearing the original one. It is super comfortable - there is some very comfortable lining. However, It was just too short for me to be comfortable wearing it, particularly to a work event. If you're a little shorter than me this would look very nice!
Mer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

First RTR experience

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
BEWARE this dress is made weird. The lace overlay is shorter than the sheath underneath. It looked unfinished when I put it on and I ended up having to tape the sheath to make it shorter and was worried about it the entire night. This isn't a fault on RTR's part - it's just the way the dress is made. Otherwise, good fit, classy but sexy. I wore it to a work holiday party with tights and pumps.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Perfect little black party dress for a low key winter night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress, great details but glad it was cold out so I could wear tights because it was definitely short on 5'6 frame.
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Jan 7, 2014

I loved taking the pictures before homecoming in this dress, it made me feel pretty and glamourous.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my homecoming and it was so comfortable. I got so many compliments on the dress. While the dress fit really well, I have really long legs so it was really short. I love Lilly Pulitzer but the dresses are always so expensive so I was glad to have found this dress. Homecoming dresses are often really expensive as well for a dress that you are probably only going to wear once. The price of the dress was very affordable for a top designer. I would recommend this dress to anyone and I would definitely wear it again.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2014

Fun and flirty!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. It was a super cute dress, perfect for the occasion, and garnered a lot of compliments, but I don't know that I would rent it again. The length was perfect- not as short as on the model (I am 5'4)- and great for dancing. However, I am not large in the chest (32B) and with the wide neckline and scoop back the dress did not fit well in the shoulders and I felt like it was always hanging a bit lopsided. The exposed zipper in the back was super cute, but it did not lie flat and rippled down the back. I am normally a 4, sometimes a 2 in dresses, and the 2 was a tad bit big. In spite of the fit issues, it was a fun and flirty dress, and I had a great time wearing it!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Cute

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I rented this for an anniversary dinner with my boyfriend. It was cute and perfect for the summer. It's a bit more casual than I thought it would be, but it still worked. I rented both a 4 and a 6, but the 4 was a bit more flattering, so I went with that one.
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

I ended up not wearing this because it didn't fit my petite size correctly.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The waist didn't fit where it should because I am too short, so it ended up looking boxy on me.
Emily Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

Everyone loved this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It made me look model thin
Samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect for graduation, good balance of daytime formal/classy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered both the 4 and 6, as I had no other backups. While both fit, the 6 was more comfortable for long periods of sitting (also good length for sitting down). I probably would have opted for a 4 if I planned on standing. I'm short, and the 6 fit well, so I'm not sure how this would fit taller girls. I would definitely recommend this dress though!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 2, 2014

Perfect for the semi-formal, comfortable fit.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
TTS
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Perfect fit, super classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size. Very comfortable. Definitely recommend.
Anisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 10, 2014

This dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's the perfect LBD and is so simple and classy. It matches virtually any pair of shoes or any bag. The fit was perfect and the texture was super unique.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 142 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

Classic, elegant dress that can be dressed up or down.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I think it runs a bit big!
Grace
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 15
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2014

A $300 dress for $30

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
No surprises with this dress. Looks just like it does on the model. This dress could go anywhere.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 24, 2014

Loved It

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect Black Dress
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

This was a beautiful but simple black dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a beautiful but simple black dress. It was great for walking around but got a little tight to sit in.
Jen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The liner of this dress was coming out under the lace and I had to use tape to make it work. It was a great dress, perfect for our pref night for rush, but I was disappointed with the quality of the dress. A little small in the bust, but as an LBD worked great.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Apr 3, 2014

Simple and classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was my first RTR, and I absolutely loved it! Wore this dress for a dinner date with tights and boots (in the winter). Definitely needs a necklace or some earrings to dress it up a bit. It fit perfectly on my short frame, but I can see how it might be too short for some taller girls. The lace was subtle and beautiful. Fit was very true to size.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Apr 7, 2014

True to size

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit perfectly!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×