Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
290 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(205)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2014
I felt amazing, beautiful and classy in this dress!

The pros of this dress are that it is one of my favorite brands, affordable to rent, flattering, and beautifully constructed. The cons are only that it is short and runs one size small. I am normally a 2 and wore a 4.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2012
Great Dress!!

I rented this dress for NYE, and loved it! I got so many compliments and it was so comfortable. It runs a little small, I usually wear a 6, but the 4 fit better, and I probably could have worn a 2. Definitely order a size down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2012
Super Cute

I rented this as a "backup" to another dress I rented. I LOVED the lace and cap sleeve. The back is cut just low enough to be flirty and feminine, without looking provocative. With that being said, I was unable to wear the dress. I have a rather large booty and a tiny waist and neither size I picked fit quote right. The 4 fit everywhere except the hips and butt; the 6 was too big everywhere, but fit nicely in the hips and butt. I was disappointed I couldn't wear it, but I should have known better. Shift dresses sometime just aren't right for curvy girls

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
Very classic and flattering

I'm usually a size 0 in Lilly Pulitzer, but this was a little tight under the arms and much too short for a wedding. But the 2 fit like a dream and was significantly longer and looser under the arms without getting baggy around the middle. The dress itself has beautiful detailing and is very classic and appropriate. The low back and zipper make it a little more fun. I think I would've liked something that stood out a little more, but since I didn't know what the dress code was, this was a very safe option that looked very classic and flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 12, 2014
Dress was torn to pieces!

This dress runs really small, even my backup size was too small. Ladies with hips beware. Also- if I even wanted to wear the backup, I couldn't because it was in such bad shape. The lining was torn to point of indecent exposure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 30, 2015
Such a comfortable dress and very flattering.

Perfect fit, the 4 and 6 both fit almost the same. The 4 was just a little tight around my butt so I chose the 6.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 19, 2011

I LOVED this dress! Super cute, great fit, and not too long on my petite frame. The exposed zipper is a great detail, and the dress looks fabulous with just a little jewelry.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011

Loved loved loved this dress! Wore it to two events, & it was so incredibly comfortable! Tad bit short for my liking, but I was fine with it in the long run. I am a 0/2 normally, and the 0 fit like a glove.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 26, 2011

Loved this dress. It was perfect for the wedding I was attending. I would suggest getting your size and one smaller because it did run a bit big. Length was perfect and back is gorgeous.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 26, 2011

Great dress. I'm usually a TTS 4, but I rented a 4 and a 6 for a birthday party, and the 4 fit perfectly. The 6 was a little loose, and I think a 2 would have been too small. At 5'9", it might have been a little short, but not really a problem.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
November 4, 2011

Wore this dress for a business dinner,and it was perfect!! Very classic, true to size, and the fit was amazing. I wore a high ponytail and stud diamond earrings. The length of the skirt is short, but nothing to extreme I could not handle.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2011
Great Dress!

I wore this to a friend's daughter's bat mitzvah. Dress was perfect for occasion and so comfy! Looked great on and got tons of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 14, 2011
It looked just as cute with rain boots as with heels!

I wore this dress to an engagement party, and it was cute and fun. I loved the neckline and the shoulder detail. I was worried it would be too short, but it wasn't. I might have been more worried about the length if I had been doing a lot of dancing or sitting.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 188lbs
December 1, 2011
RTR was a greatttt experience! I chatted with Katy a stylist to talk about the delivery. One of the girls even called to make sure that I had received the delivery- talk about customer service! The employees at RTR went above & beyond to help me with the delivery. I am completely grateful that they helped to make the day of my brother's wedding a day where I can look back and remember how wonderful it was. Not only was I so happy for them, but I felt pretty & happy! Big smiles in the pictures thanks to RTR!

I loveddd this dress! It fit well, wasn't as short as the picture appeared. It photographed really well- so when I look back at my brother's wedding pictures- I am sure I won't pull a "What was I wearing back then?!" reaction. Dress was demure and timeless. ("So Pippa!" says my friend.) The perfect palate for fancying up with green jewel earrings, the green jeweled bag, cocktail ring and lace tights! Classy & current! Could a girl ask for much more? :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2011
love love love

I am so glad I selected this dress for my holiday party. It runs large, so I ordered one size smaller. Perfect dress. The lace overlay gives the dress an extra element of elegance. Went perfect with the Kate Spade clutch. This one is a must!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2011
Cute but not wonderful

I wore this to my work's holiday party. I am 5'8 and this dress hit me mid-thigh. The dress is very simple and classy, but not something that stood out in a sea of LBD's. To be honest-- the dress was more baggy than in the picture but still an overall cute dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Richmond, VA

Easy dress to wear! could have worn the 4 or the 6.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2011
Very Cute and Simple

The dress was very cute and the process was so simple.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 29, 2011
Got great compliments

I'm very curvy (5'7"), 139lbs and 30DD and with a very narrow waist, but I also have hips... Per usual with lilly pulitzer they don't design for this body type. BUT I still had a great time in this dress... its just cut very straight so while it looks like it will define your waist on the model, there is no seaming in the front to do that. The back does have seeming so it is slimming in the back but the front is very straight. That being said, the dress still worked for me and I was so happy in it. Bloomingdales is sold out of my size nation wide and Lilly Pulitzer was out of it in the tri-state region (NYC)--- RTR to the RESCUE!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
January 9, 2012
Cute!

Wore this dress to a black tie wedding reception. It is a super cute little black dress, but I would recommend renting some accessories to 'spice' it up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
January 20, 2012
The dress arrived on time, looked and fit great, and I got to wear it for a very special occasion in my life.

When I got called to interpret for the President, my first stop was to Rent the Runway. I needed a dress that would be conservative and appropriate, yet also allow me to feel beautiful and comfortable while standing next to the leader of the free world on a stage before hundreds of people. This dress delivered in every way! It felt true to fit and was very comfortable. I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses; wore the 8 because while both zipped, the 6 was too snug in the hips.The dress was slightly shorter than expected considering I'm only 5'3", but still much longer than it appears on the model. It's rare I find a dress that's figure-flattering without alterations, so I highly recommend this one!

PriyaJanuary 20, 2012
Isn't that the man who does the Alexander Hamilton rap! What a cool performance!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2012
Greatt!!

I'm a busty so I ordered a size up but it fit amazingly. I got compliments all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2012
I recieved so many compliments on the dress!

I loved this dress! It was beautiful and understated; I punched it up with gold open-toed heels. I usually wear between a 0 and 2, but chose the size 0 because it hugged my body better. I would definitely reccomend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 24, 2012
ok dress

This dress was ok. I liked the fabric but the dress just wasn't flattering. It's not as short as it looks on the model. It's a little tight in the hips too. I wouldn't rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 15, 2012
barrister ball

pretty true to size. I have disproportional sized legs to my waist, so the six would have been better in overall fit, but the 8 fit better over my thighs. Very classic dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 30, 2012
Great LBD that I've rented multiple times!!

Absolutely loved this dress and got so many compliments on it. I wore it to an afternoon bridal shower, but it definitely was nice enough that I could have worn it to a wedding. I usually wear between a 10 and a 12, but I was happy to see that the 10 fit. Update: I ordered this dress again to wear to either a wedding the night before New Year's Eve or to a New Year's Eve party...and I loved it so much I ended up wearing it to both!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2012
Cute!

I ordered this dress as a backup to what I planned on wearing for my birthday. The first choice worked out, so I didn't actually wear it, but it was a very cute and comfortable dress. The only thing I didn't like about it was where the sleeves hit my arms, but I'm also just self-conscious about my arms so it could've been just me :) Very cute, loved the length and the flattering cut of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2012
Love this dress!

I rented this dress for a benefit dinner. It was perfect! It was flirty but sophisticated. I will definitly rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
June 21, 2012
Beautiful!

This is a great black dress and perfect for so many occaisions. Much nicer in person. I always think Lilly Pullitzer runs a little larger than other designers. Perfect length on me so check length of dress if you are tall. Can't go wrong with this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 9, 2012
Tons of compliments!

Loved this dress..fit more snug than I expected but very flattering. Got compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
July 11, 2012
Love the Fit of this Dress!

This was my first Lilly experience and I Loved it! I am usually a 6 - I have small waisted with a large chest size. The size 4 dress had Plenty of room on top, but still looked great on my waist. Built perfectly for a girl with something on top. The lace is also great, not bulky, but still noticeable. Not elegant, but not causal either, the perfect in between for a summertime formal affair. Highly suggest this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect Dress

I received so many compliments on this dress; I wanted to keep it and not return! It was very flattering and fit well. I'm small but have a larger bottom half but the dress hid all the right spots. I definitely will be renting this dress again! Perfect dress for a party!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
True to Size

Very simple and elegant.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 28, 2012
Awesome and easy dress

So glad I rented this at the last minute. dressed it up easily with jewelry and heels. fits true to size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 4, 2012
So Classy!

Loved the fit and the detail was so pretty. Flattering on any figure. I felt confident and comfortable all night. I wanted to keep it forever!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2012

Really cute and hides trouble spots well. The 6 fit as well but was a bit on the small side. Nothing too fancy, but you can dress it up with accessories.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
September 9, 2012
Classy and cute

This was perfect for my 10 year high school reunion. Classy and pretty but didn't look like I was trying too hard. I am 5'2 and was afraid it would be too long, but it fit perfectly- about two inches above the knee.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 10, 2012
Graduation Star

I rented this dress for my college graduation and loved it! I chose this dress over the back-up. I usually wear around a size 3, and the size 2 was a perfect fit on me. Fitted, but in a flattering way! It hit a little lower on my thigh than it appears on the model, so I can imagine it would be pretty short on a taller girl. It was a little more snug than I would have liked across my chest, which is somewhere in between a B and C, but it's because the dress doesn't have a ton of stretch. My favorite detail is the sheer and lace overlay on the sleeves. However, the sheer part at the bottom of the skirt kept rising above the black underneath, so I kept pulling it down, until I finally gave up. Even then, it didn't take away from the dress. In a sea of black dresses, this dress made me stand out!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2012
Convenience, convenience, convenience. Had a wedding in DTW but don't live there. Dress was waiting.

Great fit. Small in the chest but worked well for me. Was unsure about the dress from the picture but the fit and simpleness of the dress was great. It was comfortable and had a scoop in the back Was the perfect length

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Classic Little Black Dress

This dress was gorgeous and fit perfectly. My only complaint is that the lining on the dress was much longer than the lace overlay. I didn't have any fashion tape on me, so I had to tape the hem with bandaids. They did the trick, but were annoying and started coming off towards the middle of the night. If it weren't for this issue, I would have given 5 stars.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×