Beauty Within Dress

$30 rental
$250 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out. Shown here with Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
237 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size169
Small43
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 4, 2016
The great service
Cute dress fits well.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2016
Classy, yet super comfortable and easy to dance in! No worries about my figure or strapless bra.
I usually wear a size 2-4 in most brands. (5'4'', 130lbs, 34B) This brand runs a little small I ordered this in 4 and 6, and am glad I got the 6 - it fit perfectly! Not too tight or loose, and I could wear a normal bra. Danced the night away, received a lot of compliments, and ate as much as I wanted. I would absolutely wear this again - I wish I owned it! Thank you, Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
April 18, 2016
The dress was very comfortable to wear and easy to dance in.
The dress had a thing where you could hook in the strap of your bra at the shoulder so you didn't have to worry about your bra strap coming out.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 13, 2016
Great dress for a formal country club wedding!
It's hard to see it in the picture but there is a nice somewhat lace overlay on the dress. I could have worn the size 4 but I felt like the size 2 fit better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 1, 2016
Fit perfectly!
I wore this dress for a February wedding. I LOVED the way this dress fit. The V in the back and the front, with the cap sleeves, was gorgeous. I ordered the size 2 and 4 because I can be in between sizes, and I was very happy that the 2 fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2016
Perfect dress for a Midwestern fall indoor/outdoor wedding! Compliments all night.
This was honestly an incredible find to wear when I was asked to be a +1 for a wedding last minute. It's the right amount of classy without being prudish, and was super flattering on my (very flat) body. It does run a bit small, and is a little tight (NO STRETCH)--I usually wear a 2, and I don't think I could have worn it in a 2 without dying. The dress looks really short in the picture, which I was concerned about--turned out to be a non-problem. Totally normal length for a dress. As I already mentioned, there is *no* stretch in the fabric so don't count on that; it also gets a little tricky to dance in all night since raising your arms can be a bit trying. I would size up for your second size, but really, this dress is a knockout.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2016
?
I normally wear a size 10 but ordered a size 12 due to I had another Lilly dress and the 10 was tight. The 12 fit like a glove. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2016
Wore this dress for a Valentine's Day Chef's Table dinner at a vineyard. Love this dress so much!!!!
The dress fits perfectly. I have larger hips and thighs so I was concerned about the fit of a size 4. I am usually a 2 in a dress if it isn't fitted. It was a beautiful dress and it fit like a dream. I was very comfortable all night. I am considering purchasing this dress if I can locate it. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 9, 2016
Wonderful dress!!!
Fits- Tight (had to wear spanx), very cute though and great for dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 96lbs
February 4, 2016
It was a wedding.
It was a great dress. Fit well, which i have a hard time finding so that was very exciting for me :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
January 28, 2016
Wore it to fall wedding
Little tight around the arms
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
January 11, 2016
Perfect dress for company holiday party!
I wore this dress for my company holiday party and it fit so well! It was slimming and well constructed. There is very little give to the fabric so based on other reviews I ordered my normal size, 6, as well as an 8 and ended up wearing the 8 which was very fitted. This was my first RTR experience and I am HOOKED! The process was seamless and I was so pleased with the outcome- I will definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 22, 2015
Beautiful dress and lots of compliments.
It fit really well, i could have gone a size smaller but the 0 wasn't available to ship. I loved the lace design.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 22, 2015
Simple, flattering version of the LBD
This was a last-minute selection because my original choice was damaged. It turned out to be a great option, with beautiful details to make it different from the average little black dress (LBD). The length was appropriate for a formal holiday party, and the cut was flattering on my curvy body. The top plunged a little lower than expected, but it wasn't a problem or cause for adjustment/discomfort. I'd pick this dress again if I needed a LBD for another formal party. Worn with nude hose and black heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 20, 2015
Wore it to a work party
I wore the 00 to a work Holiday Party. Cute dress. Good quality.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 20, 2015
this dress was prefect for a winter wedding and my husbands Christmas party!
fit perfectly and was super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2015
Wore this dress to my boyfriend's office holiday party...loved the fit!
I recommend sizing up for the back up size. I thought the size up was very flattering and I felt comfortable all night. This dress was very pretty and perfect for a work holiday party...I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
December 15, 2015
It did its job
Overall, nothing went wrong with the dress or my experience with RTR. I'm the second person from the left in the picture, and I feel like the model picture is a very accurate picture of this dress. I just expected to like the dress on me a little more., but otherwise there was nothing wrong, just my personal taste.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 29, 2015
Amazing fit.
This dress was 100% STUNNING. Fit perfectly, not too low cut for a B cup, the length was a bit shorter than I liked (I'm 5'4 and had thigh high hose on), but it was BEAUTIFUL. Felt like a million bucks in it. Rent this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2015
Beautiful dress! Exactly what I expected.
The dress fit very well & was really comfortable. I usually wear an 8 but ended up wearing the 6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
November 27, 2015
I ordered the size 10 and it was just a little too snug, especially in chest area. Order a size up.
Cute dress! I loved the cuff bracelet that a stylist sent me to wear with the dress (I paid $15 at checkout for mystery bling). But, dress was too tight. I had to send it back on day of my event and wear a back up dress from my closet. I usually get the free back up size, but that one was not available this time. I am disappointed. I usually wear a 10 in Lilly, but this dress is cut small.......especially in chest area.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 18, 2015
loved this dress
no cons
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
November 4, 2015
Chose this for Homecoming-loved the lace fabric!
Very tight in bodice/sleeves (might be best for A/B cup) but otherwise a beautiful dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2015
Great LBD
This dress was amazing. Unfortunately due to the person before me returning the dress late, I wasn't able to get my backup size 4, which I think would have fit a bit better; the 2 was a little tight. However, it looked amazing, the black color hid my stomach pooch and the dress hit at just the right length of mid thigh. I got compliments on it all night and can't wait to rent it again. I have never felt so confident in a dress at a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 33
October 13, 2015
Beautiful dress, great neckline, gorgeous lace
The dress fits true to size (perhaps just a shade on the smaller side), and it's gorgeous. The V-neck and V-back are flattering and give the dress a little something extra beyond a black lace dress. The length was just right (I'm 5'1 and the size 0 hit a few inches above the knee), and the scalloped lace on the bottom was beautiful. The dress felt like it had been dry cleaned a few too many times - you could feel the fabric was getting old - but otherwise it was perfect. Definitely recommend!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 12, 2015
Wearing this dress made me feel confident. I loved everything about it!
I LOVE this dress!! I wore this to a formal wedding with black pumps, and I got a ton of compliments!! It's comfortable, true to size, and makes you look super thin. The bra straps underneath the lace on the shoulders helped tremendously. The neckline is also very flattering- not too low, but just right. Sometimes I have problems wearing dresses like this because of my broad shoulders, but I didn't even have an issue with this dress. I would highly recommend this dress!!! It's a knockout!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2015
Beautiful dress, very comfortable.
This dress fit perfectly. I would have worn the 4 but there was a small tear near the left cap sleeve. The 6 fit just as well, not too big. My husband said he couldn't tell the difference. It was very comfortable to wear, the material was soft. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
September 14, 2015
Lots of compliments - subtle lace detail and nice length made it perfect for eve wedding!
I read almost all of the reviews for this dress and based my selection on that - it was truly ideal. I'm not big on top but I would imagine the fitted nature of the dress might present a challenge for larger cup sizes. The tightness of the straps was also noticeable but not bothersome. It was perfect for this wedding in terms of length and fit and I wore 4.5 inch heels with it too (I also paired with minimal jewelry and RTR Chrome Lattice Clutch.) The dress itself was in excellent condition and the lace detail made it stand out from just any "little black dress."
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2015
Perfect fit.
I got this dress as my backup and I am so glad that I did! I am familiar with Lilly sizes and my regular size 4 fit perfectly. I spiced it up with some hot pink peep toe pumps. My husband absolutely loved the dress on me and I felt great in it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2015
Gorgeous dress! So fun to wear!
Great dress so flattering. Order a size up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2015
Easy and reliable! Loved it.
This dress was a great fit for me. I am tall and thin with a long torso so I have a hard time finding dresses that aren't too short. This one fit great! I got lots of compliments, I would totally recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2015
Beautiful Lace
The 4 and 6 fit. I went with the 6 because I felt like I could move more. The 4 restricted my movement a little. The lace was beautiful. The shoulders had snaps for bra straps which was good since it sat a little off center. Being shorter it hit the top of my knee cap, definitely wedding appropriate but too long if you are going for something a little more LBD sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 26, 2015
Lovely dress, but didn't get to wear it out!
I really loved this dress, but unfortunately, the size I needed wasn't returned or was returned damaged. It is true to order a size up. I received the 8 as my normal size and it fit ok standing up, but there was no way I could eat dinner in this size! Had I received the 10 (my backup size), I would have worn this dress. It's really cute and fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2015
Wore this dress for my friends wedding
I found this dress to be incredibly flattering. I'm about one year post baby but still have a few extra pounds and I felt great in this dress. It has a nice neckline for someone w a larger chest and of course the all black is flattering but the lace gives it a but more personality. I can see how this may have been loose on someone w a smaller chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
August 16, 2015
Beautiful material and cut; not for the fuller-hipped
This was my original RTR selection for a wedding I headed to out-of-state, which didn't make it to me in time for my travels; I did try it on once I got home, though, for future reference. It's a good thing I didn't get it--it really didn't work for me or my body type. The 4 was radically too small, and the 6 barely fit. I probably could have made it work with Spanx, but it would have been less than comfortable. The 8 would have been too large, however. It just wasn't meant to be! This would be ideal for someone very fit; the dress has no give, and is tight at the hips and through the stomach area as well. Definitely go a size up or even two for your backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2015
Very pretty dress
Very pretty dress. Fits like most other Lilly dresses; has very little give or stretch. I always go one size up for Lilly, and it worked perfectly for this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
August 10, 2015
Pretty but uncomfortable
I wore this to a wedding. It was a very nice dress and got a ton of compliments. The downfall was that it was not made for an athletic body type. I went with the larger size but still too tight. The cap sleeves were also very tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
August 10, 2015
Great fit
Great dress for rehearsal dinner
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 27, 2015
Fit like a glove!
I often have difficulty finding dresses because I have a large bust (32DD), but this dress was perfect. I wore it without a bra (couldn't fit it on with the bra anyways) and I felt incredibly comfortable all day. I wore the dress for an outdoor wedding, tea ceremony, dinner/reception, and then danced for hours at the after-party. It looked super classy and I got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 46
July 27, 2015
Comfort for a after party
This fit in every are bust a bit big but I'm small breasted. It looked great and was easy to move in. I could have worn this to the main party and it would have been just as awesome as the main dress I wore. This was a red carpet NYC party. I also got the 8 in this it would not have fit. I have a big bottom and thighs, it was not to tight.
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×