Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$30 rental
$250 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
262 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(179)
Small
(44)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 21, 2013
This dress was perfect for my bachelorette party!
This dress hugs my curves in all the right places and really complimented my hour glass figure. The back of the dress and the sleeves have see through lace which ad a sexy feel to it. I love it and wanted to keep it forever. Def a timeless and classy little black dress
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2013
It's an incredibly flattering fit, and manages to be classy with a touch of sexy all at one.
Only watch out is that if you like to dance, the sleeves might cause some chaffind on your upper arms. I had some red marks on my skin from the sleeves, but that was after a few hours on the dance floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
February 10, 2013
Didn't wear but fit great!
This was my backup dress so I ended up wearing another one, but this one fit great I would definitely rent again for another event! Runs true to size
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2013
Very pretty, but not quite right.
The dress fit beautifully in the waist and hip area, but was way too small in the ribcage. Gorgeous, but better for a less full bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2013
Classic LBD, lovely lace
I rented this dress as a backup and the size I ordered was just a smidge too fitted for a lot of sitting and eating. But I could tell that it was a very well made and flattering dress, and I'd certainly be interested in renting it for a different occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
February 12, 2013
This was a Ventines day party the dress was perfect. Not too short, just rite. Very true to size.
Very nice dress, happy with everything
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2013
GREAT dress and accessories (thanks RTR) for a GREAT night out!
Pros: Loved the style. The lace is like a modern twist on traditional lace, but still very classy and elegant, yet sexy. I liked the cut of the dress on top (V-cut in front and back) in addition to the scalloped hem and little cap sleeves. You can also wear a bra w/ straps w/ this dress. Cons: Fit a bit snug in the bust area and I'm not a big-busted gal.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2013
pretty lace
this dress was gorgeous, and pretty much fit true to size (I rented the 2 which is my usual). However, it was really tight over my shoulders (I have a pretty athletic build, broad shoulders) and would have been uncomfortable so I had to return without wearing :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2013
Classy and elegant
I wore this dress to a formal Christmas dinner party and it was perfect! I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 6 fit like a glove. Comfortable, classy and I received lots of compliments. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2013
This dress fits like a glove!
I rented this dress for a fun weekend in Atlantic City. It was sophisticated and sexy at the same time. I recieved so many compliments as I walked through the casino and the hotel. It was so comfortable, the dress felt as if it was tailored just for me. I didn't have to adjust myself once. Definetly reccommend this dress for a night out on the town or for a dinner with someone special, either way you're bound to get compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2013
Perfect for a winter engagement party!
I loved this dress - it was perfect for a winter engagement party! It was comfortable, flattering and I loved the detailing at the hemline.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
March 15, 2013
I felt so cute and it was super flattering! Could be great for winter formal or summer affair.
I wore this dress to my winter formal. Although it wasn't much for cleavage, It was super flattering on the bust I thought, I didn't need to wear a bra. It was a little tight at my legs, but I have bigger thighs, it was also a little tight on the arms. I love the neck cut, and it's an extremely photogenic dress. I would definitely recommend it!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
March 16, 2013
Wore this for engagement pictures and absolutely loved it- fit perfect and was gorgeous
Perfect condition, could not have been happier. I was so happy when I opened the box and tried it on. It was exactly what I hoped it to be from the pictures. Highly recommend. I love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
March 25, 2013
Dressy yet comfortable.
The fit was perfect. I have a larger chest and this dress hugged my curves perfectly but wasn't too tight where I didn't feel comfortable or couldn't sit. Would recommend it for a fancy party or wedding. The only thing was that the sleeves kept falling down but I would have been fine if I had used the tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 28, 2013
Great dress!
I'm in between a 4 and a 6 in fitted dresses through the hip, and so the 4 was a smidge too tight, but I was able to make it work (read: spanx). I believe it's true to size and the fit was great!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
Young and Classy!
Loved the way it fit and how comfortable it was! What was great about it that even though the back was somewhat low and the shoulders were lace I was still able to wear a bra with straps and no one new! I would definitely purchase this dress if I found it on sale! I wore this to a school fundraiser and received many compliments from those my age and older...classy and elegant but still fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 3, 2013
Classy
This dress is flattering without being revealing--I work it to a black-tie-optional formal affair for work--and fit right in among the cocktail dresses and more traditional floor-length dresses. I felt confident and comfortable the whole night! The lace detailing is great. RTR was fabulous; ordered on a Saturday for a Tuesday delivery.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2013
I ended up returning the dress....
The dress was much longer than I expected. It went almost to my knees and I am 5'8" with long legs. I got it for a formal wedding and it felt more like something I would wear to a funeral.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 8, 2013
True to size. Love the fit.
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. Everyone complimented me on the dress and how well it fit. It was a little snug around the breast area. The length was perfect just right above the knees. This is definiately a dress I will rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2013
Flattering, gorgeous dress but with no stretch/movement!
Gorgeous dress overall- I rented it for a party with dancing, and it had very little movement/stretch. I'd recommend it for an event where not much dancing is involved. It's tight around the bust area, so I had to wear a smaller bra than the one I usually wear so it would fit under the dress. I'd rent this again if there was a formal event where I wouldn't have to dance. The 6 was out of stock, and I'm between a 4 and a 6 (large bust and butt, normal everything else), so I just went with the 4 and didn't get the extra size. A 6 probably would have fit me better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2013
the dress fit perfectly. i couldn't be happier with my choice to use rent the runway!
the fit was true to size, there is a little clip to hold your bra strap in place...not much to complain about this dress. I recommend sizing up instead of down for the second size. I got so many compliments and will definitely rent again!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2013
Such a lovely dress. I felt great wearing it.
It's definitely true to size so I'd recommend going with a size up, since it's tightest around the waist/ribcage. Great dress, very comfortable, I felt wonderful wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 16, 2013
Classic little black dress
Wore this dress for a Newport, RI wedding and it was perfect. It isn't over the top, but just you're classic LBD. Fit was perfect. I have a small bust and this certainly did nothing to help that - so I wasn't crazy about the fit in the chest. But overall very nice dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 5, 2013
Excellent
This dress was fantastic for the wedding I went to. It was elegant but the shorter skirt and neckline made it fun and casual enough for my friends wedding. I did go up a size from my normal dress size...there isn't much stretch to the fabic, especially in the bust. So with a 36DD I needed to go up a size to make sure I wasn't overexposed! But it definitely worked out! Perfect look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 28, 2013
LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress for my birthday. The fit was perfect. Some reviews said the chest was pretty tight but I did not have that problem and I am a 34C. I got so many compliments throughout the night- my favorite was from a complete stranger, "I love your dress! Very italiano!" I felt beautiful all night and did not want to take it off! This was my first RTR experience and I am in love with the company!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
August 12, 2013
Loved it! But...
Overall, I LOVED this dress! The lace is so pretty, and the hem detailing is to die for. It ran a little small for me. I usually wear a 2, but had to get the next size up. My only real issue was that the clasp above the zipper was broken, so I had to rig the dress closed with a safety pin to keep it from falling off while dancing. I guess that's the risk with a rental! Overall though, great dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
August 15, 2013
Great dress! Loved it!
Wore this to a wedding, received lots of compliments! It was very cute and comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
August 21, 2013
Had a fun time wearing this simple yet classic Lilly!
I LOVED this dress. I would definitely buy it as my go-to LBD. I wore the 4 instead of the 2 as it definitely seemed more snug than most Lilly dresses I have rented, but the fit was just great and I got many compliments. Would recommend pairing with some gold strappy heels and bold accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 26, 2013
Backup Dress
Good thing I only had this as a backup dress! I loved the dress online and looked at every review, possibly twice, and ordered it as a backup dress to my last minute decision dress for a wedding this past weekend. I was having trouble deciding what to wear because it was a 4 pm wedding at a church, but then the reception was outside. However, this dress ran small for me. I have bigger hips and a little extra around my tummy, so if that's the case for you, I'd suggest going a size up from your usual. I always find myself renting a 6 & 8 and never needing to wear the 8 for anything. I had on spanx, so maybe that extra fabric added to it overall, but still, I could not get it past my hips/butt, thus why there is no picture. I would probbaly rent this again for a more formal wedding and make sure that I got the backup size (you only get one backup size when ordering two dresses). Overall, I wish I could've seen the whole dress on, but another time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2013
LOVED IT!
Amazing dress, great fit, got compliments all day! The lace & liner have no stretch so the 6 worked better for my shape then the 4. The length was perfect on my short 5' 3" frame. I wore spanx under to smooth everything but the lining is heavy enough I probably could have gotten away without wearing them. Loved how I felt in this dress, would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
September 5, 2013
Classy and classic beautiful lace dress!
I wore this for a Labor Day wedding and it was perfect! The lace was beautiful, and I liked the sleeves a lot. It bagged a little bit in the stomach, so I wonder if I should have gone one size down. This was a very classy and beautiful black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2013
I loved pairing it with bright, fun shoes! Really made the dress pop!
This dress was great! Instantly slimming and really fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
September 23, 2013
I adored this dress! It felt great on.
Fits exactly as described. I am 5'3 and a DD cup. It was the perfect length, and the dress fit my curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110lbs
September 30, 2013
Great dress for a wedding. Perfect fit.Super comfortable.
The dress fit my curves perfectly & was super comfortable for a long wedding day/evening. I got so many compliments all night! Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 11, 2013
Perfect LBD
Loved this dress. It is super comfortable and fell at a perfect length. I hate short dresses, and fell an inch or two above my knee. Its not a very heavy dress and is soft so it is not scratchy or itchy. You can even wear a bra with straps. Inside the shoulders there are little loops that you can snap your bra strap into. Perfect and will be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2013
Perfect LBD
Awesome little black dress. Fit so well, even in the chest area. Would absolutely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2013
Dress is striking on, can be worn casual or dressed up. I worn nude pumps with it for a color pop.
The lace is gorgeous, many compliments. Very sweet. Glad I went a size up, allowed dress to flow better. Wore a size 4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 3, 2013
This dress was perfect for a winter wedding.
I am only five feet tall so it's hard to find non petite dresses that look good but once again RTR didn't disappoint. It was a tad too long but other than that it fit like a glove and was very comfortable to dance in and I felt great in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
Another easy RTR experience!
Overall, the dress fit on the smaller side - I could fit into a 2 but it was tight/hard to move in. The 4 gave me comfort and ease of dancing, wearing it all night. The quality of the dress was fantastic! Appropriate for numerous occasions - timeless, classic look!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
November 7, 2013
this dress was perfect for the event and i was very pleased!!
i rented the 00, which is what i usually wear, and it fit pretty much as i expected. it was a well fitted around the rib cage, but not uncomfortable or binding, and a little lose over the behind, but it still looked good. the length hit me right above the knee (i am 5'1").
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×