Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$30 rental
$250 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out. Shown here with the Rebecca Minkoff Handbags' Not So Demure Clutch, Oscar de la Renta's Halcyon Cluster Earrings, and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

179 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 138
Large 3
Photos 72
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Beautiful Little Black Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is super easy and gorgeous. This dress runs very true to size, but since there is no stretch I would recommend sizing up for your backup. This hit about 2-3 inches above my knee. The lace overlay makes this a really classy, yet fun dress!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Wore this to my sorority initiation.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Was so comfortable, and chic. Didn't have to wear a bra with it either.
kac612
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Fantastic fall wedding dress!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress I rented for a fall wedding I attened. I ordered a size 00 knowing that Lilly can run a little big on me. It fit perfectly wasnt too short and wasnt too long and it looked awesome with a pair of heels. If you know what size you wear in Lilly thats what size I would order!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Classy dress and perfect fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely wonderful for a Saturday night wedding. The lace was beautiful and I got compliments all night. I was a bit concerned because my bust is a bit larger for my small stature, but I filled out the dress perfectly. I had a bit of extra room in the stomach area, but I'd rather have more room than a tight fit : )
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2012

Loved this dress- did not want to give it back!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a young alumni event for my college in DC. I loved it. I got lots of compliments and it was perfect for the occasion. I was unsure about the gathering in the front but it was not bad. I definitely recommend this one! I wore it with a gold DVF rented clutch and rented Gerard Yosca earrings and black suede pumps.
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect dress for a wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and it was perfect. The dress was very flatering on and extremely comfortable to wear.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 131 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

First RTR Dress and loved it ! Wore dress to a gala it was the perfect dress for the event.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pro's - Length perfect, style was very elegant Con's - just a little tight in the bust area
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Classic dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super cute and very classic to wear to various events. It fit very well other than the straps fell down a lot after a couple hours. However, my favorite part was the clips under the straps so you didn't have to wear a strapless bra.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Perfect the a NYE wedding

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm very petite at 5'0" and normally have a hard time finding clothes that fit right. The 00 not only fit perfectly, but it wasn't too long on my petite frame. The sleeves had clips on the inside to clip your bra in place, didn't have to worry about straps falling out. It was elegant and great for a night out. Would buy!
rachel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

This dress was perfect for my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress hugs my curves in all the right places and really complimented my hour glass figure. The back of the dress and the sleeves have see through lace which ad a sexy feel to it. I love it and wanted to keep it forever. Def a timeless and classy little black dress
melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

This was a Ventines day party the dress was perfect. Not too short, just rite. Very true to size.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very nice dress, happy with everything
Misug
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 23, 2013

GREAT dress and accessories (thanks RTR) for a GREAT night out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: Loved the style. The lace is like a modern twist on traditional lace, but still very classy and elegant, yet sexy. I liked the cut of the dress on top (V-cut in front and back) in addition to the scalloped hem and little cap sleeves. You can also wear a bra w/ straps w/ this dress. Cons: Fit a bit snug in the bust area and I'm not a big-busted gal.
Linley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

I felt so cute and it was super flattering! Could be great for winter formal or summer affair.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my winter formal. Although it wasn't much for cleavage, It was super flattering on the bust I thought, I didn't need to wear a bra. It was a little tight at my legs, but I have bigger thighs, it was also a little tight on the arms. I love the neck cut, and it's an extremely photogenic dress. I would definitely recommend it!!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

I wore this dress to a work event and it was a great fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It runs true to size but as other renters have said, if you are bigger up top, it is pretty tight. It fit me perfectly around the midsection and was a great length, just tight around my shoulders. I wore it with nude peep toe heels and a nude clutch with gold accents.
Carr
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Young and Classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the way it fit and how comfortable it was! What was great about it that even though the back was somewhat low and the shoulders were lace I was still able to wear a bra with straps and no one new! I would definitely purchase this dress if I found it on sale! I wore this to a school fundraiser and received many compliments from those my age and older...classy and elegant but still fun!
Bullet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
May 8, 2013

True to size. Love the fit.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. Everyone complimented me on the dress and how well it fit. It was a little snug around the breast area. The length was perfect just right above the knees. This is definiately a dress I will rent again.
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2013

the dress fit perfectly. i couldn't be happier with my choice to use rent the runway!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit was true to size, there is a little clip to hold your bra strap in place...not much to complain about this dress. I recommend sizing up instead of down for the second size. I got so many compliments and will definitely rent again!!!!
Rhea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 21, 2013

Such a lovely dress. I felt great wearing it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's definitely true to size so I'd recommend going with a size up, since it's tightest around the waist/ribcage. Great dress, very comfortable, I felt wonderful wearing it!
Allena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 28, 2013

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my birthday. The fit was perfect. Some reviews said the chest was pretty tight but I did not have that problem and I am a 34C. I got so many compliments throughout the night- my favorite was from a complete stranger, "I love your dress! Very italiano!" I felt beautiful all night and did not want to take it off! This was my first RTR experience and I am in love with the company!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Had a fun time wearing this simple yet classic Lilly!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress. I would definitely buy it as my go-to LBD. I wore the 4 instead of the 2 as it definitely seemed more snug than most Lilly dresses I have rented, but the fit was just great and I got many compliments. Would recommend pairing with some gold strappy heels and bold accessories.
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 29, 2013

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing dress, great fit, got compliments all day! The lace & liner have no stretch so the 6 worked better for my shape then the 4. The length was perfect on my short 5' 3" frame. I wore spanx under to smooth everything but the lining is heavy enough I probably could have gotten away without wearing them. Loved how I felt in this dress, would definitely rent it again!
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

I loved pairing it with bright, fun shoes! Really made the dress pop!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! Instantly slimming and really fun!
Limor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Great dress for a wedding. Perfect fit.Super comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit my curves perfectly & was super comfortable for a long wedding day/evening. I got so many compliments all night! Would definitely recommend.
Robyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome little black dress. Fit so well, even in the chest area. Would absolutely rent again.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Beautiful simple black dress.

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I will agree that it was simply uncomfortable under the arms. I still went for the smaller size since RTR doesn't usually have a size 00 which was flattering. You couldn't tell I was uncomfortable, so if you just want to look nice in a LBL, this is a good rent!
RunRVA
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 9, 2014

Great, flattering dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is your typical, LBD. It is fitted but the material is very flattering. The dress was short, but not too short and the top was low cut but not too revealing - overall a great choice for a wedding! I typically wear a 4 or 6 in dresses, the 4 was a little too tight around my shoulders/under my arm.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Great Dress, fit well, was true to size.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well, great for hourglass shape
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing the dress. Received tons of compliments! Lilly Pulitzer tends to run a little small so order your normal size and 1 size larger. As always, AMAZING customer service with RTR!
Laura
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

Not for small bust.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well on the bottom half ... Tight, but not too tight. The top had extra material, however, and makes the dress better suited for someone with a larger bust (than me).
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an October outdoor wedding and it was perfect! You can wear a regular bra with this dress, which is always a nice plus! The fabric is nice, while not being too thick (aka - hot!). I love that you can dress this up or down depending on the jewelry and shoes. Overall, great dress!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Way too tight and short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was unable to wear this dress as I could not get it to zip up all the way. I also didn't love it, but then again I am not really a Lily fan- I was just trying to go with something different.
Cindy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Very comfortable , elegant dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable especially when wearing it for many hours. It can tend to be tight around the arms if keeping it on the shoulders, but I was still able to move and dance no problem. I do have a very small upper body so I didn't have a major issue. Would highly recommend the dress. Was so easy to return.
Julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Very flattering dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect length, loved the scalloped lace at the bottom. Looked great with a chunky necklace. Just wish it came in more colors!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Classic LBD with pretty lace detail

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Wedding
00 fit perfectly. Not much give but easy to dance in for most of the night. A classy look
donna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

the dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
dress was perfect for my event. The four fit fine but I felt much more comfortable in the 6. The dress runs a little tight. Not much give in the material.
Katelyn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

This was my first time using RTR and it was an even better experience than I had been told!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am normally a petite 0 and wore the 2. I could have worn either as they both fit fine, but the 2 fit better in the arms. More room to dance!! It was a great dress, not too tight around the mid section so very flattering and easy to wear.
Mec419
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Classy but cute

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is your typical Lilly LBD. It's a bit lower than it looks in the picture but didn't look too low on me because I'm not very busty. I loved this dress, it was perfect for the last round of sorority recruitment.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Classic, lovely, would rent again and again.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is lovely. Add some bling or pearls and you're good to go. Perfect for a summer wedding. Comfortable and easy to dance in.
Catherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

First cocktail party hosted by my daughter.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfectly! I wore it to a cocktail party that my daughter hosted so I wanted to look good next to all her young friends. I'm only 5'1" and the dress came to a little over my knees. Flattering. The bodice was a little snug, but that's what I wanted. I live alone so zipping up the back was problematic -- but since the party was my daughter's I just had her finish zipping me when I got there. I got lots of complements, many women telling me that I should buy the dress since it looked so perfect on me. It was a win!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Loved this dress!! Wore to a wedding! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×