Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$79 to buy
$250 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
269 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(179)
Small
(46)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2017
Perfect little black dress!

Great dress but definitely runs small for Lilly! I'm always an 8 but for this dress I wore a 10. Pairs beautifully with a statement necklace! I received compliments all night long!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 31, 2014
Sweet but simple LBD

This dress if your standard LBD. The neckline and texture make it a sweet dress, but there's otherwise nothing notable about it. Dress runs slightly large - I had plenty of room in the size 2.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
April 20, 2014
Great dress and comfortable.

Very comfortable but was extremely large in the hip area, I had a lot of room and I not one of this people with no hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
Comfortable and classy.

Great fit, runs a little bit large and stretches out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2015
Wore this dress to my boyfriend's office holiday party...loved the fit!

I recommend sizing up for the back up size. I thought the size up was very flattering and I felt comfortable all night. This dress was very pretty and perfect for a work holiday party...I would definitely rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 49
July 27, 2016
Loved it!

I wanted to keep this dress! I loved it and felt great in it all night. I was concerned at first that it would be too "plain," but the lace overlay and the scalloped edge is much prettier in person than in pictures. The 8 fit - but was tight, so I wore the 10 for comfort for dancing (and eating!!) I will keep this on a short list to rent again! I accessorized simply with a strand of pearls and a summer clutch bag and wedge sandals = done!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2013
Very pretty, but not quite right.

The dress fit beautifully in the waist and hip area, but was way too small in the ribcage. Gorgeous, but better for a less full bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2013
Classic LBD, lovely lace

I rented this dress as a backup and the size I ordered was just a smidge too fitted for a lot of sitting and eating. But I could tell that it was a very well made and flattering dress, and I'd certainly be interested in renting it for a different occasion.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
August 12, 2013
Loved it! But...

Overall, I LOVED this dress! The lace is so pretty, and the hem detailing is to die for. It ran a little small for me. I usually wear a 2, but had to get the next size up. My only real issue was that the clasp above the zipper was broken, so I had to rig the dress closed with a safety pin to keep it from falling off while dancing. I guess that's the risk with a rental! Overall though, great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 26, 2013
Backup Dress

Good thing I only had this as a backup dress! I loved the dress online and looked at every review, possibly twice, and ordered it as a backup dress to my last minute decision dress for a wedding this past weekend. I was having trouble deciding what to wear because it was a 4 pm wedding at a church, but then the reception was outside. However, this dress ran small for me. I have bigger hips and a little extra around my tummy, so if that's the case for you, I'd suggest going a size up from your usual. I always find myself renting a 6 & 8 and never needing to wear the 8 for anything. I had on spanx, so maybe that extra fabric added to it overall, but still, I could not get it past my hips/butt, thus why there is no picture. I would probbaly rent this again for a more formal wedding and make sure that I got the backup size (you only get one backup size when ordering two dresses). Overall, I wish I could've seen the whole dress on, but another time!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
Another easy RTR experience!

Overall, the dress fit on the smaller side - I could fit into a 2 but it was tight/hard to move in. The 4 gave me comfort and ease of dancing, wearing it all night. The quality of the dress was fantastic! Appropriate for numerous occasions - timeless, classic look!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2013
Bought as an option...

I bought this dress as an option and ended up wearing the other dress. I wanted it for a wedding, but it didn't really wow me when I tried it on. It is a nice dress, but not outstanding. Kind of plain!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
November 22, 2013
LOVE this dress!

This is a great LBD. I love that you can wear your normal bra (it has hooks for the straps). It ended up being a little tighter than I expected, but I put on some Spanx, and it fit great after that! I absolutely loved this dress, and would rent it again in a heartbeat!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
December 22, 2013
Very elegant

This fit was a little tight - I got this as my backup dress and should have gotten a 10 so I did not end up wearing it. The tightness was all across the abdomen and bust - I am a 36C and have a mostly straight figure - that would probably be a better fit on a less busty and on someone who has a more well defined waist. . The dress itself was beautiful though. The lace touches are super sexy and the fabric has a good feel to it. The length on me was a little long to be a mini- but if you are taller this would probably fall int he mini category.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 27, 2014
Great dress for a great price! Simple and elegant!

I was very nervous as this was my first time ordering from RTR. I read previous reviews and sized up to girls that seemed my size. I ordered a 2 and a 4. Right out of the box it looked like the 2 would fit perfect. It fit perfect on the bottom half, but the top was very tight! I didn't put into consideration that I had bigger muscles from playing softball. I ended up wearing the 4 as it felt like there was more room in the arm/bust area. Although I had more room in the 4, by the end of the night, I had red marks on my arms from where the dress was too tight! The dress was also a little longer than it was on the model but that is because I am on the shorter side. So ladies, take into consideration your arms and bust area! Otherwise, it is a great dress and I was extremely happy and will be renting again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2014
No stretch

I wore this dress for a wedding and usually wear an 8-10, but should have ordered a 12 because the 10 was really snug, especially around the rib cage/chest area- I'm a 38B. There is definitely no stretch with this dress so order up if you are a larger person like myself.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 17, 2014
I got engaged in this dress!

I loved this dress! I wore it for New Year's Eve, which also ended up being the night I got engaged! It fit a little snug, mostly in the chest area which is typical for smaller lilly sizes (for me at least). The lace detail on the dress is beautiful and the style is very flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 173lbs
June 10, 2014
runs small

beautiful dress, unfortunately I couldn't zip it around my bust, so if you're bigger on top don't rent

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2014
Perfect LBD!!

I typically wear a size 8, based on the other descriptions I ordered a 6 and an 8. As luck would have it the 6 was return to RTR severly damaged so I was able to choose another dress any price range and be sent 2 sizes free of charge while still being sent the 8 in this dress. I did not like the other dress I choose so thank goodness the 8 was not damaged however it was tighter than i had hoped for. I like a little more room in the belly section for comfort but I did receive many compliments all night on how it made me look skinny. All in all even though I would have preferred a bigger size I was very happy because it was comfy to wear and dance in.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 27, 2014
So easy!

This dress was my 4th Lilly Pulitzer rental Bc I love the dresses and fit. This dress was definitely smaller then other Lilly's. I am normally a size 6 or 8 with plenty room but this one i could have worn a 10. Still worked out great though!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2014
Perfect LBD!

I'm not one for black dresses...I prefer color...the brighter the better! However, this dress was FAB! It was detailed enough that it wasn't boring, and it was perfect for a formal, evening wedding. I dressed it up with some bright jewelry, since it was still summertime, but it would be a gorgeous dress year-round. Maybe I should just buy it! It did run a bit small. I couldn't even get the size 2 (my normal size) over my hips, but the 4 fit perfectly! Definitely size up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2014
Loved this LBD!

This dress is super classy and flattering. It runs maybe a touch small but if you can zip it up, it'll suck you in. It does ride up when it's snug though so I recommend sizing up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2013
It was perfect for the occasion, so many compliments on the dress!

It definitely runs smaller, even if you are familiar with Lilly sizing . I normally wear a XS or S in Lilly, but I wore a 4 in this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 25, 2014
Beautiful Little Black Dress!!

This was a beautiful little black dress. I ended up not wearing it because it was too small. I should have went a size up in a back up dress like other girls suggested. I would definitely rent again just in a bigger size!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 5, 2014
Gorgeous, but tight!

This dress for a wedding in a 0 and 2. I am always a 0 in Lilly, but the dress was very tight in the chest and arms, so I opted for the 2 even though it was a little big in the hips (not big enough to notice a difference because the dress is black, but if it had been a different color you could have noticed) and it was still a little tight. I loved this dress, and it made me feel gorgeous, but by the end of the night I couldn't wait to get out of it, which is uncommon for me in Lilly dresses.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2014
Perfect LBD!

Loved wearing the dress. Received tons of compliments! Lilly Pulitzer tends to run a little small so order your normal size and 1 size larger. As always, AMAZING customer service with RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184lbs
November 3, 2014
Way too tight and short

I was unable to wear this dress as I could not get it to zip up all the way. I also didn't love it, but then again I am not really a Lily fan- I was just trying to go with something different.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2014
the dress.

dress was perfect for my event. The four fit fine but I felt much more comfortable in the 6. The dress runs a little tight. Not much give in the material.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2014
This was my first time using RTR and it was an even better experience than I had been told!

I am normally a petite 0 and wore the 2. I could have worn either as they both fit fine, but the 2 fit better in the arms. More room to dance!! It was a great dress, not too tight around the mid section so very flattering and easy to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
May 20, 2015
Little black dress

The dress itself runs really small and isn't the most flattering for hour glass figures. The lace looks a bit worn. The dress itself wasn't my favorite--it was kinda blah--but would be a safe option for cocktail parties.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 16, 2015
Order a size up. Looked beautiful, but I couldn't wear it because it didn't fit.

Runs a little small. No give or stretch in the fabric. V-neck bunching on chest looks a little strange as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
August 16, 2015
Beautiful material and cut; not for the fuller-hipped

This was my original RTR selection for a wedding I headed to out-of-state, which didn't make it to me in time for my travels; I did try it on once I got home, though, for future reference. It's a good thing I didn't get it--it really didn't work for me or my body type. The 4 was radically too small, and the 6 barely fit. I probably could have made it work with Spanx, but it would have been less than comfortable. The 8 would have been too large, however. It just wasn't meant to be! This would be ideal for someone very fit; the dress has no give, and is tight at the hips and through the stomach area as well. Definitely go a size up or even two for your backup.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 26, 2015
Lovely dress, but didn't get to wear it out!

I really loved this dress, but unfortunately, the size I needed wasn't returned or was returned damaged. It is true to order a size up. I received the 8 as my normal size and it fit ok standing up, but there was no way I could eat dinner in this size! Had I received the 10 (my backup size), I would have worn this dress. It's really cute and fun!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
November 27, 2015
I ordered the size 10 and it was just a little too snug, especially in chest area. Order a size up.

Cute dress! I loved the cuff bracelet that a stylist sent me to wear with the dress (I paid $15 at checkout for mystery bling). But, dress was too tight. I had to send it back on day of my event and wear a back up dress from my closet. I usually get the free back up size, but that one was not available this time. I am disappointed. I usually wear a 10 in Lilly, but this dress is cut small.......especially in chest area.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
January 28, 2016
Wore it to fall wedding

Little tight around the arms

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2016
Classy, yet super comfortable and easy to dance in! No worries about my figure or strapless bra.

I usually wear a size 2-4 in most brands. (5'4'', 130lbs, 34B) This brand runs a little small I ordered this in 4 and 6, and am glad I got the 6 - it fit perfectly! Not too tight or loose, and I could wear a normal bra. Danced the night away, received a lot of compliments, and ate as much as I wanted. I would absolutely wear this again - I wish I owned it! Thank you, Rent the Runway!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 22, 2016
Perfect dress for a Midwestern fall indoor/outdoor wedding! Compliments all night.

This was honestly an incredible find to wear when I was asked to be a +1 for a wedding last minute. It's the right amount of classy without being prudish, and was super flattering on my (very flat) body. It does run a bit small, and is a little tight (NO STRETCH)--I usually wear a 2, and I don't think I could have worn it in a 2 without dying. The dress looks really short in the picture, which I was concerned about--turned out to be a non-problem. Totally normal length for a dress. As I already mentioned, there is *no* stretch in the fabric so don't count on that; it also gets a little tricky to dance in all night since raising your arms can be a bit trying. I would size up for your second size, but really, this dress is a knockout.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2013
Unfortunately the dress didn't fit:(

It was really pretty in person and would've been great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2013
This dress was very small, would order up a couple of sizes, 6 or 8 would not fit me

Runs small

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
July 31, 2013
Classy LBD!

This is a lovely dress- I received many complements on it. The length was perfect- just above the knee- for my petite frame. The lace overlay detailing was beautiful, and the dress is very well made. I would buy this dress and wear it over and over. However, I might have gone up one size had I known how tight the bodice would fit- I could barely breathe all night and I always wear this size in Lilly dresses. The bust was especially tight. Full-busted women might want to go up one size in this dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×