Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$30 – $45 rental?
$250 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
261 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(179)
Small
(44)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 28, 2013
LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress for my birthday. The fit was perfect. Some reviews said the chest was pretty tight but I did not have that problem and I am a 34C. I got so many compliments throughout the night- my favorite was from a complete stranger, "I love your dress! Very italiano!" I felt beautiful all night and did not want to take it off! This was my first RTR experience and I am in love with the company!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
August 12, 2013
Loved it! But...
Overall, I LOVED this dress! The lace is so pretty, and the hem detailing is to die for. It ran a little small for me. I usually wear a 2, but had to get the next size up. My only real issue was that the clasp above the zipper was broken, so I had to rig the dress closed with a safety pin to keep it from falling off while dancing. I guess that's the risk with a rental! Overall though, great dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
August 15, 2013
Great dress! Loved it!
Wore this to a wedding, received lots of compliments! It was very cute and comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
August 21, 2013
Had a fun time wearing this simple yet classic Lilly!
I LOVED this dress. I would definitely buy it as my go-to LBD. I wore the 4 instead of the 2 as it definitely seemed more snug than most Lilly dresses I have rented, but the fit was just great and I got many compliments. Would recommend pairing with some gold strappy heels and bold accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 26, 2013
Backup Dress
Good thing I only had this as a backup dress! I loved the dress online and looked at every review, possibly twice, and ordered it as a backup dress to my last minute decision dress for a wedding this past weekend. I was having trouble deciding what to wear because it was a 4 pm wedding at a church, but then the reception was outside. However, this dress ran small for me. I have bigger hips and a little extra around my tummy, so if that's the case for you, I'd suggest going a size up from your usual. I always find myself renting a 6 & 8 and never needing to wear the 8 for anything. I had on spanx, so maybe that extra fabric added to it overall, but still, I could not get it past my hips/butt, thus why there is no picture. I would probbaly rent this again for a more formal wedding and make sure that I got the backup size (you only get one backup size when ordering two dresses). Overall, I wish I could've seen the whole dress on, but another time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2013
LOVED IT!
Amazing dress, great fit, got compliments all day! The lace & liner have no stretch so the 6 worked better for my shape then the 4. The length was perfect on my short 5' 3" frame. I wore spanx under to smooth everything but the lining is heavy enough I probably could have gotten away without wearing them. Loved how I felt in this dress, would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
September 5, 2013
Classy and classic beautiful lace dress!
I wore this for a Labor Day wedding and it was perfect! The lace was beautiful, and I liked the sleeves a lot. It bagged a little bit in the stomach, so I wonder if I should have gone one size down. This was a very classy and beautiful black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2013
I loved pairing it with bright, fun shoes! Really made the dress pop!
This dress was great! Instantly slimming and really fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
September 23, 2013
I adored this dress! It felt great on.
Fits exactly as described. I am 5'3 and a DD cup. It was the perfect length, and the dress fit my curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110lbs
September 30, 2013
Great dress for a wedding. Perfect fit.Super comfortable.
The dress fit my curves perfectly & was super comfortable for a long wedding day/evening. I got so many compliments all night! Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 11, 2013
Perfect LBD
Loved this dress. It is super comfortable and fell at a perfect length. I hate short dresses, and fell an inch or two above my knee. Its not a very heavy dress and is soft so it is not scratchy or itchy. You can even wear a bra with straps. Inside the shoulders there are little loops that you can snap your bra strap into. Perfect and will be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2013
Perfect LBD
Awesome little black dress. Fit so well, even in the chest area. Would absolutely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2013
Dress is striking on, can be worn casual or dressed up. I worn nude pumps with it for a color pop.
The lace is gorgeous, many compliments. Very sweet. Glad I went a size up, allowed dress to flow better. Wore a size 4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 3, 2013
This dress was perfect for a winter wedding.
I am only five feet tall so it's hard to find non petite dresses that look good but once again RTR didn't disappoint. It was a tad too long but other than that it fit like a glove and was very comfortable to dance in and I felt great in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
Another easy RTR experience!
Overall, the dress fit on the smaller side - I could fit into a 2 but it was tight/hard to move in. The 4 gave me comfort and ease of dancing, wearing it all night. The quality of the dress was fantastic! Appropriate for numerous occasions - timeless, classic look!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
November 7, 2013
this dress was perfect for the event and i was very pleased!!
i rented the 00, which is what i usually wear, and it fit pretty much as i expected. it was a well fitted around the rib cage, but not uncomfortable or binding, and a little lose over the behind, but it still looked good. the length hit me right above the knee (i am 5'1").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2013
Bought as an option...
I bought this dress as an option and ended up wearing the other dress. I wanted it for a wedding, but it didn't really wow me when I tried it on. It is a nice dress, but not outstanding. Kind of plain!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2013
this dress was great - very slimming, very comfortable and i got lots of compliments!
the material isn't super dressy but this was great for a fall saturday night wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2013
Loved this dress
Wore this dress for a cocktail party after my fiance's golf tournament. Fit great and looked even better - not much give in the fabric but did not feel too tight. Loved the lace detail
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 21, 2013
Best Rental Ever
I am already renting this again for a wedding in January. This dress is amazing. The quality is very high, especially considering the rental price of $50. There is not much stretch to the fabric, so I did wear a size up from my usual. The top was a tiny big large, but nothing I couldn't deal with. It was nice not to be smashed up there for once:) The dress had those nice bra strap hooks so even though the top was off the shoulders my bra wasn't hanging out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
November 22, 2013
LOVE this dress!
This is a great LBD. I love that you can wear your normal bra (it has hooks for the straps). It ended up being a little tighter than I expected, but I put on some Spanx, and it fit great after that! I absolutely loved this dress, and would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
November 27, 2013
Love this dress! Classic LBD
Wore it to a work function and felt like a million bucks. It can be dressed up or down. I wore it with a blazer and tights. Fits really well, wasn't too tight anywhere and definitely flattering. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
December 1, 2013
Lots of Compliments!
Very comfortable and flattering! Not a lot of stretch to the fabric so if you're between sizes, choose the higher size or wear Spanx but it is true to size. I hate my arms but the cut of the straps were flattering. Nice length, too. Broke it down on the dance floor with no trouble!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
December 2, 2013
a good dress for a nice dinner
i decided to wear this dress for my 22nd birthday last year. it was a pretty dress; the fit alittle tight but i made it work for me. overall a nice dress; but i dont know if it is a dress rent again. My body shape tends to be on the awkward side and few dress fit me correctly
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Many compliments!
Great dress. Very flattering. Recommend.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
December 22, 2013
Very elegant
This fit was a little tight - I got this as my backup dress and should have gotten a 10 so I did not end up wearing it. The tightness was all across the abdomen and bust - I am a 36C and have a mostly straight figure - that would probably be a better fit on a less busty and on someone who has a more well defined waist. . The dress itself was beautiful though. The lace touches are super sexy and the fabric has a good feel to it. The length on me was a little long to be a mini- but if you are taller this would probably fall int he mini category.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2013
True to size, extremely flattering, I felt beautiful in it!
This is a great LBD for a cocktail party or fancy holiday party. It's true to size and very flattering from the side. Also, not too revealing so I was able to wear this to a corporate party. Nice material and comfortable too. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2014
I really enjoyed the dress. It has all the right details without being over the top.
I found the shoulders to be the most restrictive part of the fit. If you have broad shoulders, you may want to opt for a larger size or different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
January 9, 2014
Super pretty, classy, but still with a bit of sex appeal.
I wore this dress to a company holiday party and it was perfect. The size was exactly true to size, though the bottom hem inched up just a bit since I wore tights under the dress. There was just enough stretch in the dress to make it comfortable as well. I'd definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
January 14, 2014
So many compliments with this dress and a sparkly blue heel! I really felt awesome wearing it!
True to size, and doesn't feel too tight when on, it was the perfect dress for a late summer wedding in the city!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2014
Comfortable and classic lace LBD
This was the perfect LBD. The only con was that it came with a tear at the bottom.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 27, 2014
Great dress for a great price! Simple and elegant!
I was very nervous as this was my first time ordering from RTR. I read previous reviews and sized up to girls that seemed my size. I ordered a 2 and a 4. Right out of the box it looked like the 2 would fit perfect. It fit perfect on the bottom half, but the top was very tight! I didn't put into consideration that I had bigger muscles from playing softball. I ended up wearing the 4 as it felt like there was more room in the arm/bust area. Although I had more room in the 4, by the end of the night, I had red marks on my arms from where the dress was too tight! The dress was also a little longer than it was on the model but that is because I am on the shorter side. So ladies, take into consideration your arms and bust area! Otherwise, it is a great dress and I was extremely happy and will be renting again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 31, 2014
Sweet but simple LBD
This dress if your standard LBD. The neckline and texture make it a sweet dress, but there's otherwise nothing notable about it. Dress runs slightly large - I had plenty of room in the size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2014
No stretch
I wore this dress for a wedding and usually wear an 8-10, but should have ordered a 12 because the 10 was really snug, especially around the rib cage/chest area- I'm a 38B. There is definitely no stretch with this dress so order up if you are a larger person like myself.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2014
Perfect for a company Christmas party!
The dress was a little tight in the bust but fit great in the body and was a great length! I would rent again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2014
Love it
I rented this dress for a cocktail dinner and loved the way it looked. The only down fall for this dress is the fact that it is snug in the arm pit area. I have also worn this dress to a wedding and have received multiple compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2014
Interpretive Gatsby
I absolutely loved this dress! I am seriously considering buying it if it ever comes across my path. I wore it to a Gatsby themed party and dressed it up to look inspired. There's nothing you can't do with a LBD and this one is perfect for any occasion (even costume parties) ! The dress is very true to size, especially for Lilly. I feel like Lilly dresses can either run a little small or be right on point, for me this was right on point. And the biggest plus? You can wear a bra with it. How many dresses can you say that about ?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
February 23, 2014
gorgeous and so comfortable!
i loved this dress so much! even at a very formal wedding, this beautiful dress felt elegant yet was still so comfortable to dance in. I would reccommend especially for girls with a bigger bust who don't want to have to worry about pulling up strapless dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 18, 2014
Meh.
It's okay, for a standard black dress. The lace detailing is beautiful. However, nothing stood out about it - it's a pretty boring dress. One major downside is that it makes your boobs look really small. This dress doesn't highlight anything and I feel like it got lost in the crowd of better dresses. Will not be renting again and in my opinion RTR has way better black dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2014
Beautiful fit.
This is a great LBD. It was longer than I was expecting. It's rather modest and works well for weddings and work parties.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×