Lilly Pulitzer

Allura Dress

$79 to buy
$228 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking to have a great beach getaway dress? Go with this tropical printed sheath by Lilly Pulitzer and enjoy those fruity afternoon cocktails with your friends while digging your toes in the sand.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green printed cotton jacquard(100% cotton). Boat neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
236 reviews
Fit
Large
(34)
True to Size
(143)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 7, 2014
Loved the dress, got tons of compliments.
I thought the top was a little tight, the cut and style were very cute on.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 28, 2014
was going to wear it to a horse race but both sizes I ordered were too small .
RUNS SMALL!!! I am normally a size 6 and ordered an 8 and 10 knowing it was going to run small and THEY STILL DIDNT FIT. I am an athletic fit and have wide shoulders and it would not zip up top and too small on my tummy area
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2014
Beautiful Dress, Tight in Bust
I rented this Lilly Pulitzer dress for my friends wedding rehearsal dinner. It was absolutely beautiful however it did not fit over my bust. Luckily my mom is smaller than I am and it looked amazing on her and fit her perfectly. She ended up wearing it to the rehearsal and received dozens of complements. The colors are gorgeous. Wish it had fit me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 4, 2014
Easy process, great choices, dresses that I wouldn't have time to shop for!
This is a beautiful dress to look at, the fit was slightly awkward for my body. I ordered sizes 4 and 6, wore the 6. The 4 fit my top but was too tight around the hips, but the 6 was much bigger all over. Neither size was it for me personally, but I did receive several compliments at the wedding. The dress was unique, and summery!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
September 11, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore it to a big race day at the track!
The dress was a little tight in the bust area. I am a 38C and I just didn't wear a bra. I probably would have gotten the size 8 but it was unavailable. Great quality fabric and the print is great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2014
Beach wedding
This dress was great! I received so many compliments and was very comfortable in it all night. I typically wear a size 4, but the size 6 was a better fit overall. The cut & fit are flattering at the bust and waist and the length was comfortable, hitting around mid-thigh. I would rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
April 16, 2012
It was amazing quality dress &will def.rent again from RTR
My first rental & def.pleased! This dress is great quality.I usually wear a 2, it was VERY tight waist up but a 4 was too loose in the bottom & I looked pregnant so part 2 of my bday celebration I wore the size 2 &just dealt with the top being tight. If you have broad shoulders or in a C or D cup go a size up from normal size is good idea however maybe a belt in the waist so it wouldn't look big. I'm 5'2 so the dress was perfect length for me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2012
A lady thought I made the dress myself, which was quite a compliment.
This dress was a great hit at the Apple Blossom Festival in Virginia. The main colors of the festival are pink and green. I said the dress runs small only because of all the previous reviews, which helped me choose the correct size. Incredible comfortable. I'm not large chested and was able to wear my normal bra under the dress as well, which is great for me. I received a lot of compliments. Highly recommend this dress, especially for events that are in tents and call for preppy accessories!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 25, 2012
First RTR....and I'm hooked!
I rented this for my bridal shower. It's the perfect stand-out dress without being too "look at me! look at me!" I've always been one to stick with solid colors so this was my break out moment. I loved it! I felt so great wearing it and it was so comfortable! It was a little tight in the bust area but not restricting. I was getting compliments from everyone all day!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 16, 2012
The presentation when I opened the box, I loved all the little details and hollywood tape.
I rented this dress for my best friend's bridal shower, Derby themed. I received so many compliments and it fit great. I paired it with a big pink hat and it was great for the summer shower.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
August 6, 2013
Received lot's of compliments!
Rented this dress as a treat to myself for a college friends wedding shower. I ordered the 10 and the 12 and ended up going with the 12 for a few reasons. One it was a bit snug around my legs and maybe that' because I have a little bit thicker thighs. Two the length! I am 5'8 and the 10 just wasn't long enough and made me uncomfortable. Overall this is a very girly dress perfect for a date night, shower or just because! The material is nice and thick but not heavy. The pattern is vibrant and colorful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
March 3, 2014
I ended up wearing a different dress. This dress runs small - it doesn't fit well for a full bust.
Small, pretty dress but it ran small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
September 9, 2014
No one had anything like it!
I have broad shoulders so the right was a little snug across the shoulder line, otherwise great fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 27, 2015
Fantastic day in a fantastic dress!
LOVED this dress. Such a wonderful pattern, color, and fit. I was a little tight in the arms for me, but I am fairly muscular especially through the shoulders. Very flattering, and really, really comfortable. I was able to wear a regular bra and I didn't have to fuss with anything all day. Fantastic dress! Wish I could own it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 10, 2016
Great print, cute cut but it definitely been worn a ton
Rented this dress for a beach staycation for my birthday. It is the perfect combination of laid back and cute and looked completely adorable with my tan sandals. The 2 fit perfectly for me and the print was completely adorable. It is a bit short (and I'm only 5'2"). My only complaint is that you can tell this dress has been rented A LOT as the color and material has a lot of wear and it just doesn't look as vibrant as it should be, I wish RTR would do a better job of taking dresses out of rotation when they start to look severely worn. But I loved the print and did get a lot of compliments so overall pretty happy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 25, 2016
Really liked this dress!
Enjoyed wearing this dress. It was a little worn but love the print on it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 19, 2016
Beautiful, Nautical Themed Wedding
Fit was perfect. I didn't think it was too large like the other reviews. The color was awesome, and the print was bright and bold. There was some visible wear, but nothing that others would be able to see. Will definitely order another dress from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 10, 2016
Great fit, flattering, comfortable and classy! Perfect for a spring or summer event.
Rented this for my dad's 60th birthday party at my parents' country club. I was about three months pregnant so up about eight pounds, so I sized up from a zero to a two and the dress fit great! It accented my tiny baby bump perfectly and was flattering and comfortable. I would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 27, 2012
Darling for Bridal Shower!
I rented this dress for my bridal shower and this dress was absolutely PERFECT. It's unbelievably flattering; I don't think I've ever worn something that received so many compliments! It was fitted through the bust for me, which actually made the dress more flattering through the mid-section, which is an area I typically like to hide. Length was great- short enough to elongate the leg, but completely appropriate for any occasion. Can't recommend it enough!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
April 23, 2012
Loved the bright, vibrant colors!
This was my first rental. The dress has a great fit, true to size. Although I think the top would be tight on a bustier frame. I received lots of compliments all night. I felt fabulous in this dress!
CharmeishaApril 26, 2012
your pictures perfectly shows the beauty of the dress.
LisaMay 14, 2012
Super cute! I am also 5'6"... did you feel the dress was too short?
RTRMay 14, 2012
Hi Lisa, this style is 37'' from shoulder to hem so it will be mini length on 5'6" and above
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2012
Cute dress
I rented this dress for my bridal shower and received a lot of compliments. I normally wear a size 6, but the 6 was not available, so I rented the 4. It was a little bit snug up top, but not so uncomfortable that I couldn't wear it. My mother did NOT comment on it being too tight, so it must have looked okay. The colors are perfect for spring.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 29, 2012
It was my first rental, and I'll definitely be back to rent again. Everyone loved the dress!
This was my first time renting from RTR and everything was great. They only had one size available, so I was definitely happy when the dress fit perfectly. Everyone at the party loved the dress and kept asking me where I bought it. It was a proper length for the party and fit well without being overly tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2012
Bridal Luncheon for Me!
Loved this dress! I actually tried on the exact dress at the Lilly store so i knew which size to order. I wore it the day before my wedding at the Bridal Luncheon. Very classy, yet fun and happy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 14, 2012
Didn't wear it.
I ended up not wearing this dress, was just as cute as I expected but prefered the other dress for my occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
didnt get a chance to wear
I wasnt able to wear this as their was a problem with the order. However, this is one lilly pulitzer dress I am still dying to try!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
August 17, 2012
Adorable for beach wedding
This is a quintessential Cape Cod beach wedding dress. It's a bit snug if you were blessed/cursed with woman's hips and the thighs to match so take that into consideration. It's classic Lily and something you can either dress up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
perfect shower dress
I am a small 8, big 6. Because I have broad shoulders, I ended up wearing the 8 which meant the rest of the dress was a little loose. I am 5'8" and it hit just a bit above my knee. I got tons of compliments. It is a perfect dress for a shower.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 21, 2012
Loved it! would rent again
I wore this to my graduation and got so many compliments on it! it is fitted up top but flares underneath so for those whose stomach is a problem area, this dress will hide it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2012
Love this Dress!
I received so many compliments when I wore this dress. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable. Will definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2012
review
cute dress, very comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
September 8, 2012
Just What I Needed
My sorority was having a Labor Day Barbeque, and I needed a dress that was slimming, preppy, casual, and full of the bright summer colors I would soon have to say goodbye to. It sounds like quite the impossible check-list, but with Lilly Pulitzer, it was possible. This dress is so comfortable and can be worn to a casual sorority event, or even a day on the boardwalk. I stole the attention of several girls dying to know where I got my dress from. When they heard I received it for a fraction of the initial cost, jaws dropped and wallets opened. Rent the Runway not only provided me with two sizes in this beautiful eye-catching dress, they also sent me the return envelope for free shipping, as well as a few styling tools in a beautifully wrapped pink mesh bag. This was the easiest and most affordable process. I can't believe I didn't know about this sooner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved the dress... got compliments from several people!
Great fit! Was going to go with a 2 but opted for the 4 ... glad I did!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 11, 2012
Such a fun summer dress!
I needed a size smaller in this dress, but none were available for my rental date. 8 was a little big everywhere, needed a 6.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2012
Such a cute, fun dress. Will rent again!
I made sure to try on the Allura dress in the store before renting it. It was true to size even with a large bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 5, 2012
Perfect for Bridal Shower
I wore this to my best friend's bridal shower in the summer in Long Island, New York. The fit was great and it was the PERFECT bridal shower dress. I would highly recommend it for a similar occasion.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved it! RTR was great from beginning to end! So easy!
Fit great, easy to wear, felt amazing in it...got SO many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Dress is pretty for an average night out or would work well for a bridal shower or casual wedding.
Dress fit fairly well to size however just a tad on the small side. I am a size 2 and the dress fit a little snug around the top/bottom but perfect in the middle however I could tell that a size larger would have been much to blousey in the mid rift section.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
November 4, 2012
lovely and classic
colors are just slightly more faded than tha ad, but great dress overall and so well made!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Great for a summer wedding or an outdoor event.
The fabric was comfortable and the pattern was really pretty. The fit was true to size and smaller in the bust.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 28, 2013
Everything was fabulous
I got the 4 and the 6 just to be safe and the 4 was perfect, not too tight or too short
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×