Tulle Elegance Dress

$105 to buy
$1395 retail
Stylist Notes

This Lela Rose dress is a sensational LBD for any formal affair. Tulle sleeves add sophistication and elegance to this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - thick, stretch fabric cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - thick, stretch fabric cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch faille. Square neckline. Tulle sleeves. Pleated bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
59 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(25)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
August 12, 2014
elegant
Everything about this dress was just breathtaking. I went to a gala in it and although I wasn't a key person there I felt as if I was. A few people even came over to me to find out who I was lol. My only small issue with the dress is that the tulle on the sleeves were a bit large but didn't make it too awkward. None the less, nothing a little safety pin or double sided tape couldn't fix. I also have unusually skinny arms. The dress was a success otherwise. Will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2014
This dress was very unique, I loved the netting on the sleeves :)
This dress was so pretty and feminine in person, it was a great rental. After reading reviews I rented a size up and I am very glad I did. The dress runs small in the ribcage area and a size up was comfortable and not too tight. I did have a major problem with the zipper, it would not zip up! This was not because of the size, even on the hanger it would not zip, it was just sticky from a lot of dry cleaning. I attached a bracelet to the zipper and was then able to get enough leverage to zip it up while on, even though the fabric overlapped with plenty of room. I also had a problem with the boning poking through the lining and poking me by the end of the night. It was a great rental and from the outside the dress did not appear to be very worn, but it clearly had seen some wear and tear on the inside. Overall it was a great dress that did not require a bra which was a bonus. Very structured yet appeared very feminine. A great rental with a few adjustments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 3
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 30, 2014
I loved the tulle on sleeves. It was simple and classy.
I had a women's event fundraiser and it was a hit. I got complements all night on the fit, the tulle on the sleeves and how it v-ed in the back. This was my first rental and I loved it! I also rented the earrings in the pic too!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2014
I did not wear this. The bottom half fit but top was WAY too small and I am not big chested at all!
The dress is pretty but when I tried the 6, my regular size, the zipper could not go farther than mid way up the back. The 8 was not much better. I have never had this happen before. I have rented before from RTR and the sizes have always been fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 5, 2012
Very elegant - a unique take on the LBD
The dress fit perfectly although it was slightly short-waisted for me (I'm 5'11"). Since the fabric is fairly substantial, I did not need a bra or any special undergarments. As other reviewers have noted, the sleeves do slide down your arms at times - but I wore this dress for about 7 hours and it really wan't an issue. This was my first rental - I had the dress shipped directly to my hotel so I was a bit nervous. Everything went perfectly and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 16, 2014
Pretty formal dress for a wedding
I wanted to wear this originally, but they didn't have an 8 available. The 6 though, fit way way too small so it runs a little small. The sleeves were surprisingly not itchy and the top was perfect for a more conservative wedding. Looking for a chance to wear this dress in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
October 18, 2014
So many compliments!!
I rented this for a wedding, so many people complimented me on this dress. Not anything I would ever have tried on in a store. So glad I rented it. I needed to use an extender for the back band of my bra to bring it lower under the cut of the dress, other than that I was able to wear a normal black bra and it was fine. Very flattering on my hip heavy hourglass figure. Perfect length even though I'm short. My husband bragged about RTR all night. There was one other woman at the wedding who uses RTR so we compared notes. I'll have to post a picture later, I have to get one from a friend, I forgot to take one. I also rented the earrings and bracelet that were recommended, those were fun also.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 8, 2014
Beautiful, but small in chest.
I have wide ribs, so even though I have pretty small breasts (B cup), it is very hard to fit a lot of dresses in my chest area. This dress was fine in the hips and waist, but I just couldn't get it to zip up past my chest. Unfortunately, even the backup size was too small, so I was unable to wear the dress. The sleeves are just beautiful! The material of the dress is pretty thick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
December 31, 2014
Back Up Dress
I received this dress when my original dress was returned too damaged to be worn. This dress is classic and elegant. I ended up wearing the other dress in my shipment because I liked it just a tad more but I would have been very happy with this dress if I hadn't had the other one. The customer service for this dress was above and beyond. I was disappointed when my original dress was unavailable however, they made the replacement process so easy. I had no doubt that they would find me something fabulous and they did. They even shipped it straight to my hotel!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 17, 2015
2 sizes too small
I'm a 4/6 but would have needed an 8/10 in this little number. Gorgeous dress but I couldn't even get the zipper of the 6 past my waist. Back in the bag!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2010
This dress is really tight in the ribcage and narrow through the hips. It has no stretch to it so I would definitely size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 20, 2011
Elegant and classy!
I usually wear a 6 in dresses, however, people had mentioned this dress ran small so I ordered it in a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit great and I'm definitely a curvy 6. 35/27/39 if that helps. This dress looked fantastic on and I got so many compliments. I had people asking all night about it. If you need a classy dress, this is the one! Only drawback was that it was a bit loose up top and too low in the back for a strapless bra, so a nubra or some other backless bra might be helpful!
StashaJanuary 15, 2014
You look so classy!
LainaOctober 6, 2014
The dress looks much baggier on you than the other photos. Looking back, would you have worn a 4?
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2011
This dress is beautiful. The fabric is heavy and rich...a great winter dress. I found the fit to be a bit strange. I wore my usual size 0, but the rib cage area was like wearing a vice, while the hips fit fine. I could have gone a size up, but I didn't like the extra room in the hips, so I sucked it up (literally) and went with the 0. It was worth it, as the dress is gorgeous and it was the classy, elegant look I wanted, but it was a bit uncomfortable at first getting used to not being able to breathe. If you're smaller on top, rent it. So pretty!!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Body type: Petite
October 15, 2011
This dress runs a bit on the small size so good to go up one size. At my height, the hemline was 2 inches below my knee and looked dowdy. If you are tall and slim, this will work for you.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2011
The zipper was quite a challenge. It got stuck. And the boning was coming out at the top and stabbing me in the chest. It is a classic dress, you just have to suffer for fashion if you want to wear this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2011
I Love this Dress!
This dress is top notch quality and fit. The style is timeless and elegant. I wore this to a political fundraiser and received compliments from all ages. The sleeve detail is the perfect twist to a traditional, classy, Sexy LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2011
Stunning LBD
This dress turns heads and garners compliments from left and right. I loved the ticker fabric with its subtle sheen. On me it did run a little large but I got a 6 because they were out of 4. (I'm usually between those sizes.) Though I do have a C cup I felt that it was slightly loose in that area -- but the boning keeps everything in place. A great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 23, 2011
Very pretty!
A beautiful dress. Ran quite small in the bodice, though. Wore a 2 with cinching lingerie, but could have probably worn a 4.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2012
Made my night!
Usually I'm a size 6 except in the chest area so (as you can see from the picture) I had to have my friend zip me up all the way that night. I loved the sleeves but they didn't necessarily stay put unless my posture was on point. It was a tad long on me because I'm super short but that was to be expected. I honestly think that an 8 would have been too big on me. I think I should have worn pasties instead of an actual bra because a lot of my pictures included what color they were. Overall, though, it was a beautiful dress! I enjoyed wearing it (even though I kinda couldn't breathe).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
January 19, 2012
Gorgeous dress, but...!
Gorgeous, sophisticated, elegant dress. Ordered the 6 and 8. As other reviewers have noted, the bodice runs very small, so although the 6 fit (v. snugly!) I went with the 8 for comfort, which was probably a mistake as I had difficulty keeping the sleeves up and had to wear a nu-bra. Also, the boning had poked through on one side and was stabbing me in the chest all night. Despite all, I got a ton of compliments and felt beautiful in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 22, 2012
Wish I could've worn this one!
This is a lovely dress, with fabric at the shoulders which really gives it a very unique and classy look. I order Lela Rose all the time, however, and I have to say that this dress runs considerably smaller than many of her other dresses-- especially through the hips and bust area. Although I've comfortably fit into the Sweet Sarah dress and Galaxy Tweed dress in a size 8, this one wouldn't-- quite-- zip, so I had to wear my backup dress, which was the Sweet Sarah in a size 8. Definitely will be renting this one again though in another size!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
May 7, 2012
Classic and Beautiful
I wore this dress to a wedding in February and received many compliments! I am 5'11", so often dresses are too short for me in the torso, but this one was an almost perfect fit.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
No wiggle Room
This dress was tough for me because there is not much stretch. I ordered 2 sizes and neither worked. The larger was too big and the smaller was too small. It seemed like there was more than 1 size difference in the 2 dresses. Oh well, it was worth a shot!! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
August 29, 2012
Very Pretty!!!
Loved this dress, though the torso runs a bit small. Very elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
September 27, 2012
Many compliments
Boning was ripping out and piercing my skin
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 3, 2012
Great dress! Everyone talks about a perfect little back dress. This one definitely one.
Nothing specific to say here.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
Beautiful to look at ,.,.
But, neither the 6 or the 8 fit me. It was too big in the top and the 6 was more like a 4 on the bottom. The 8 top was way too big on the top and the bottom still didn't fit me right. Didn't work out for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 22, 2012
Wore this dress for engagement pictures, and LOVED the look!
I normally wear an 8, but this dress was very fitted, and a little tight in the hips. The top fit fine, but I would recommend getting a size up for your additional size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 166lbs
December 9, 2012
Very Classic
I actually rented this specifically for my mother-in-law's funeral. It was perfect, classy, and statement worthy. Now that may sound horrible, but considering the circumstances and events prior to, at that current time, and still going on now... it was worth it and most definitely needed. I rented 6 with my 10. The 6 would have felt wonderfully if I would have been able to zip the last inch up (chest was snug but not exposed). The 10 was slightly baggy but not to the point that it felt like a sack...it didn't gap to bad but the tulle for the "sleeves" were a little...confining, especially when you were hugging people. That would be my only beef about the dress- the sleeves. It was comfortable enough to be able to jump on a trampoline with my 7 year old right before the wake. I received A LOT of compliments and I felt very confident in it. A good "go to" little black dress for any occasion, I believe.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
December 18, 2012
Perfect for a black tie attire wedding! Recieved a lot of compliments!
Fit true to size. Just hard to lift your hands up with the sleeves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
November 7, 2012
very classy/elegant dress for a formal affair
The body portion fit perfectly, but the sheer sleeves were very big/loose. I had to pin them to fit my shoulder and stay in place.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 1, 2013
Elegant LBD with perfect boning
The dress is elegant and very-well put together. The fabric is very thick, lined, and has great tailoring at the top runching and the waist line. I recieved so many compliments on the dress- it does cinch at the waist and skim the hips perfectly. Unlike the description, the waist is NOT stretchy at all. Be aware, if you have a large ribcage, this is a very tight close. While the dress fit great thru my waist and hips, despite only a 36B, I nearly gave up on this dress as the last 3 inches on the zipper did not go easy. For the negatives, the boning is intense on the front. While it will form and contour your body without Spanx-type undergarments, I still reccomend them to keep the bones from poking into your bare skin all night. You'll have great posture, but bending the torso is quite constrained. Don't expect to be able to raise your arms. Pratice the t-rex arm motions. Although if you really need to raise them, it's quite easy to slip out of the tulle sleeves and the boning still holds the dress in place perfectly. (Fixing hair in the bathroom, etc).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 23, 2013
It was perfect! Simple yet elegant.
I wore the dress to a charity gala. The dress was a little tough to move my arms, but luckily I had my sweet husband to fetch everything that I was unable to reach. I felt a little confined, but I was happy that I didn't have to be concerned with showing too much. The guests included Senators and community leaders, as well as celebrities, so I didn't want to be worried about too much cleavage or a short skirt. This dress was elegant and perfect for my event. I would suggest it for a wedding or formal event for women who are not so comfortable exposing too much and women over 40.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2013
The fabric and look of this dress is beautiful, but it did not fit. No size inside dress.
No size inside dress to confirm whether it was the right size and the two sizes sent seemed to fit about the same. I could not breathe it was so tight across my chest and in the hips. I could not get it hooked in the back. I wore the backup dress I'd ordered.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 6, 2013
Everyone loved this dress!
I thought this dress was really pretty. i wore it for a country club black tie event on the beach. cons: sleeves didnt stay up that well and it was a bit hard to dance. it was also a bit longer than i would have hoped but other than that it fit great, everyone had lots of compliments and pictures came out fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 11, 2013
Perfect holiday outfit
Runs a little small, but was great for my event. The tulle sleeves didn't stay up as well as I expected and unfortunately some of the boning in the corset was poking through the dress. However, the wonderful stylists at RTR remedied that with a special credit to my account! Helpful as always.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 5, 2013
Sleeves don't stay up
I rented this dress as my first choice, but did not end up wearing it because the tulle sleeves kept sliding down, making the dress look frumpy. Otherwise, the dress looks great- but I just couldn't make it work!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2013
Wore this to a wedding in NYC and got tons of compliments
Challenging if you like to put your arms in the air while dancing... but overall great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2014
fun
fun
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 28, 2014
Wore this dancing the night away at a friend's wedding...
I received so many compliments on this dress. I think it is a great balance between a simple black dress, and something just a bit different. I am only 5'2", so this dress hit at the bottom of my knees. I was a bit worried about the length at first, but ultimately, embraced the classiness. My only compliant, is that the sleeves were a huge pain. They are so beautiful but fell down the entire night. I had actually put a stitch in them to help keep them together a bit, and it was still a pain. Looks good in photos though..
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×