Lela Rose

Retro Brocade dress

$159 to buy
$1,610 retail
Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This Lela Rose dress has retro flare. With sparkling metallic brocade, you'll be sure to shine in this sensational dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Metallic brocade silk brocade. Scoop neckline. A-line pleated skirt. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(50)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
October 10, 2010
Love this dress. I have a large (DD) bust and it showed it off beautifully and brought attention to my neck. The full skirt felt very feminine.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2010
This dress was absolutely perfect! It fit true to size, gave a great waist line, and was comfortable. I got tons of compliments and felt great in the dress all night. Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 7, 2011
I loved this dress, and it looked fabulous! The fabric was great quality and the fit was perfect, except for the belt, which was too small (strange that the dress fit but the belt was too small). Fortunately I used the belt from my alternate larger size and that worked fine. Got lots of compliments on the dress at my black tie party, and I will probably rent this dress as a sure-thing backup next time!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
June 10, 2011
This dress is SO beautiful. The fabric has a really nice sheen and sparkle to it. For women that are more pear shaped, it's incredibly flattering! I felt really great in this dress, which I used for my engagement photos (and got so many compliments on it by the way!). If you're renting this dress, I would definitely order one size down if you're thinner through the waist.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 23, 2011
great fit and very forgiving. i'm 5'3", 135 lbs, and a 36C. the size 6 fit wonderfully. it's very mad men-esque. the dress just about hit the top of my knees, and showed just enough cleavage for it to be sexy, but still very appropriate for a wedding rehearsal dinner for all ages. i wish i owned this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
September 14, 2011
This was my first time renting and it turned out good. It was a true to size fit for me at a size 8. They suggested your second size should be a size down. I did so and got a 6, which was too small. Being tall, I felt like the dress could be too short but I felt comfortable wearing it. They only sent one belt but it ended up being ok because the fabric was stretchy. Also, the metal belt hooks were falling apart. I quickly resewed and it was fine. Overall condition of the dress was good.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2011
The fabric is beautiful. It has more of a metalic sheen than you see in the picture. the problem i had was it isnt a good length for someone tall. I'm between a 10 and 12. the 10 fit better but was too short.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 13, 2011
Loved the dress! Wore it to a country club wedding and felt perfectly dressed. The fabric was beautiful, and it was so easy to wear. The hemline was perfect. The dress seemed to run large, I wore the smaller of the two sizes and still felt like the bodice was too large in the chest. Nothing a little padded bra couldn't fix. Will definitely rent another Lela Rose in the future!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Apple
October 28, 2011
I rented this dress for a black-tie fundraiser that I was running, and it was perfect. The colors are really rich and elegant, but it was very easy to move around it, and I never had to be worried that something might be "hanging out." It is perfect to accentuate a smaller waist, and flattering for someone with bigger hips. Loved the hidden snaps to loop in your bra so it doesn't slip down. Overall - a great rental. I am usually between an 8 and 10 and wore the 8, so I would say it runs pretty true to size.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2011
eh.... fit not right for waist
Okay, caveat is that I am very small boned on top, but being that I'm 3 months pregnant I thought a 2 would work as the fit advice all said this runs true to size. I'm normally a 25" waist and even the 0 i think would have been way too big. As it was now, I'm probably about 28" and it just wasn't fitted at the top. The zero might have worked.... Also, the fabric is very stiff and the skirt of the dress sticks out a lot in the back because of this. Makes the a-line a bit too pronounced for my tastes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2011
I wish I had a photo where you could see the dress a bit more but I wore this Lela Rose to dress up as Betty Draper from Mad Men for Halloween. Totally 60s!
I wore this dress for Halloween to channel Betty Draper from Mad Men. This dress did just that! Easy fit and cinched waist that I really liked. Fun to play with accessories.
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2012
great, simple shape, stunning
For an hourglass girl, this is PERFECT. I got so many compliments on the fabric and the shape is great. Also, simple enough style that you can really spruce it up with accessories. I wore a big black necklace, black tights and black Louboutins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Babe in Blue
LOVED this dress. I received compliments all night and felt so confident wearing it. This dress is beautiful online and in person. It's such a beautiful collection of blues and the shimmer is just right. Very flattering cut and structure. One of the best dresses I've ever worn!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
perfect wedding dress!
I wore this to my friends' wedding in the city, and it was absolutely perfect. I initally tried to rent the milly "prim and proper" dress, but my size wasn't available. The stylist stayed on the phone with me for an hour and was super helpful in finding me the perfect dress. The fabric is gorgeous, and even better, it doesn't really wrinkle and held its shape wonderfully. I'm typically a 2-4, but since I am small on top, the 2 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2012
One photographer on the red carpet told me my picture belonged on the side of every bus in NY! These mobile phone pictures don't do the look justice...it is a beautiful dress.
Although RTR sent me a long belt to be tied in a bow instead of the belt pictured, I loved this dress. Beautiful fabric and fun to wear.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
September 13, 2012
Cute dress, runs big
I ordered the 2 & 4 in this dress, although I would have preferred a 0 to the 4 as my extra size. I may have worn it if that were the case. Even the 2 made me look very thick through the middle. Also, if you have a long torso, this dress might not work as I found the "belt" area to hit me higher than my natural waist, which also contributed to the thick-waist look and feel of the dress. Otherwise dress is super cute and would be great on the right body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2012
Pretty material
I rented this as a back-up for a wedding but didn't end up wearing it. They only had a size 4 available, which ended up being too big (so I would say it probably runs true to size). I really liked the material, though, and I might try this dress again in the future (although with a size 2!) for another formal-ish event.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal and I could not have felt more amazing!
The dress is definitely true-to-fit. It was perfectly streamlined against my waist and because I have an hourglass curve to my body, the dress highlighted the best parts of my body while also distracting from the not-so-great (ie boobs good, bigger bottom not too good). The material felt luxurious and expensive and whenever I walked, it shimmered a little bit. And the attention I received wasn't too bad either!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2012
Feeling gorgeous next to the designer herself!
I absolutely loved this dress - wore it to a dinner party at Lela Rose's house. The color is stunning and the cut super flattering. I highly recommend - this is a great dinner party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
Fits perfectly.
Fun dress to wear. Looks darker in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 29, 2012
Beautiful color, flattering shape
This dress fit me just right and was a great choice for a family member's wedding I attended. The royal blue color is vibrant without being too bright and the fabric was very comfortable. I wanted something flirty and fun that was still appropriate for an afternoon wedding, and this dress was perfect.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
December 11, 2012
It felt great to wear such a pretty dress that I would normally not have been able to wear!
I loved this dress. Unfortunately, I only had one size since my backup size was unavailable. I am usually a size 2 and thought the 0 would fit since some reviews said it ran big, but it was too tight around my bust area. Would rent again if my size was available.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!
Fits perfectly and true to size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2013
Fabulous dress
Great A-line dress, perfect fit, appropriate for business event cocktail party. Just the right amount of shimmer to make the dress stand out without being overly flashy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
February 13, 2013
The fabric is beautiful and the dress received lots of compliments but it does run large.
Sorry I didn't get a better picture. Loved the dress but couldn't give it a 5 star rating because the waist, bust area and straps were a little too large. I am 5'2" with full B's and an athletic frame so the zero should have fit like a charm if not been a little snug. The bright side is the belt is a real, detachable dress so I could actually cinch the waist a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 15, 2013
Beautiful Material and Lots of Compliments
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. The material was very pretty and well made. The pictures on the site don't really do it justice. My only issue was the fit. Through the body, I could have sized down but (as with many Lela Rose dresses) the bust was very tight. Overall a great dress. Just be aware, if you are large busted, you might want to size up. Also, I had to add my own thin black belt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 8, 2013
Beautiful dress fit perfectly.
Very pretty material and very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2013
Just too big.
Gorgeous dress. As soon as I opened it, I adored it...until I put it on. I'm tiny up top and the cut of the dress just didn't work for me on my chest. I THINK a Size 0 would have been best for me, but since it was my back-up dress, I went with the 2 to be safe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
October 8, 2013
Beautiful, chic dress! Super flattering
This dress fit a little bit large but it wasn't so bad. I typically wear a 4 or 6 but i felt like i could have easily gone down to the 2. That said, the neckline and waist were both beautiful, and I really enjoyed wearing it at my engagement party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2013
Beautiful dress! Extremely comfortable!
Unfortunately I completely forgot to take a picture in this one. I wore it for a date night and I was very comfortable in it all night. The picture of the model really doesn't do the colors justice. The fabric is a little different than what I'm used to but overall I really liked this dress. It's perfect for a night out on the town or even an evening wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
December 2, 2013
It's stunning and comfortable.
I rented this for a black tie event in Dec. It fit nicely but was a touch long... The 0 was better in length but it was too tight in the chest. Regardless it looked great and I got a ton of compliments on it. I was able to wear a bra which made it much more comfortable. It is even prettier in person and photographs really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 9, 2013
Pretty dress, but the fit is challenging.
The material is very pretty, but as others have described, the fit in the bust area is too small. I also did not like the flared skirt. It made my tummy look extra big because the pleats started right at the belly. Also didn't like the belt that came with it. Looked cheap. I order the size 4 and 2. I usually wear a 4, but this one was too tight in the bust - and I am not particularly large in that area. I ended up wearing my back-up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
Good, safe choice.
I got this dress after returning another for fit - I figured the fit-n-flare was safe choice. I was right. Well I can't say it was the most eye-catching dress I've ever rented, it was pretty, flattering, and comfortable. I would say that its a good option for a winter event - especially something like an office party where you don't want to be overly revealing. Thanks RTR for the great service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 19, 2013
This dress has retro-60's classic style and elegance.
I felt like I walked out of a scene from Breakfast at Tiffany's. I wore my hair in an up-do and accessorized with larger jewelry to keep with the theme. The fabric is fantastic. It definitely runs large, but the accompanying belt allows you to show off a smaller waist so the flair in the skirt doesn't look wide. I'm usually a 4, sometimes a 6. The 6 was very large, but the 4 fit great. If you're between sizes go down a size. The bust runs a little tight, so if you're large busted go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2014
Many compliments on the dress!
Very wedding appropriate for evening fall wedding! Many compliments! I wore a size 8 which was slightly big, but I'm usually a size 6 so the dress was true to size. Wore this dress because the size 6, I got was a different style (last minute rental) and I liked this one better. I'm 5'5" and 130 lbs, average build. Would recommend the dress. It was comfortable to dance in as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
October 14, 2014
Classy & Timeless
I loved wearing this dress. It made my waist look absolutely tiny, and I really liked the belt detail. I rented it for an evening wedding, so it was most definitely formal enough for the occasion but I could still dance and be completely comfortable in it. Since it was cold, I wore tights and black heels. The sparkle was very subtle, but the silhouette was absolutely gorgeous and made me feel glamorous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 1, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I loved the style and color of this dress, and was really happy to wear it to my friend's engagement party. This was my first time renting from RTR though, and I wasn't sure what size to get. I'm normally between an 8 and 10, but 10 was not available. I was able to wear the size 8, but it was very tight on my rib cage and chest. I am a 34DD and I couldn't get the zipper over that area without help from my husband! But I think that had more to do with my not knowing the best size then the overall fit of the dress. Also, there is a belt pictured with this dress but one was not included with my dress. It still looked great without it, but something to note.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2014
A classic look
My parents threw an engagement party for my new fiancé and I, so I new I needed something special. After much hinting, I had a hunch it would be this dress. In person it is stunning. The fabric is partially metallic and the blue is so rich without being too dark. I accessorized with navy, but honestly black would have worked too. As for the size - I had no choice but to go with the 4. I was informed right before the 2 was not in good enough shape to be sent out. The 4 was a little loose in the torso, but not to a point of the dress being silly. The skirt is flared, so the bottom is not an issue. I am somewhat small in the upper chest, so I think this would work well for busty women as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2014
So pretty!
It's a beautiful cocktail dress for the fall or winter. Unfortunately, I took a gamble (and lost) by ordering the size 6 because my usual size (8) was unavailable. I barely got it on, but it would have been too uncomfortable to do anything but stand completely still the whole night. Even so, I could tell that if I had a size 8 it would have fit like a glove. If I need a dress for a similar event in the future and my size is available, I will definitely order it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 26, 2015
Lots of compliments!
I rented this for a wedding. The fabric did not have any pull to it but the 4 fit perfectly. The color was vibrant but not too loud. Lots of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×