Lela Rose

Retro Brocade dress

$30 rental
$1,610 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This Lela Rose dress has retro flare. With sparkling metallic brocade, you'll be sure to shine in this sensational dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Metallic brocade silk brocade. Scoop neckline. A-line pleated skirt. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(50)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
December 11, 2012
It felt great to wear such a pretty dress that I would normally not have been able to wear!
I loved this dress. Unfortunately, I only had one size since my backup size was unavailable. I am usually a size 2 and thought the 0 would fit since some reviews said it ran big, but it was too tight around my bust area. Would rent again if my size was available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 29, 2012
Beautiful color, flattering shape
This dress fit me just right and was a great choice for a family member's wedding I attended. The royal blue color is vibrant without being too bright and the fabric was very comfortable. I wanted something flirty and fun that was still appropriate for an afternoon wedding, and this dress was perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
Very pretty material. The ribbon belt was to small. Easy fix with ribbon from craft shop.
This dress was easy to wear. I wore a regular bra. Got many compliments. It was above the knee but not too short. Most imortant my daughters approved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
Fits perfectly.
Fun dress to wear. Looks darker in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
October 21, 2012
Dress was super pretty and unique.
The side zip was tough, and wouldn't close over my bust, but it was easily concealable with a sweater.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2012
Feeling gorgeous next to the designer herself!
I absolutely loved this dress - wore it to a dinner party at Lela Rose's house. The color is stunning and the cut super flattering. I highly recommend - this is a great dinner party dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal and I could not have felt more amazing!
The dress is definitely true-to-fit. It was perfectly streamlined against my waist and because I have an hourglass curve to my body, the dress highlighted the best parts of my body while also distracting from the not-so-great (ie boobs good, bigger bottom not too good). The material felt luxurious and expensive and whenever I walked, it shimmered a little bit. And the attention I received wasn't too bad either!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2012
Gorgeous Material, Great Fit!
This dress is so feminine and pretty- the fabric looks so rich and expensive, and the fit is perfect. I am smaller on top but have curvy hips so the fit/flare silhouette worked great for me! I wore this to a winery wedding, and it was a great mix of daytime and cocktail without being too over the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 16, 2012
Pretty material
I rented this as a back-up for a wedding but didn't end up wearing it. They only had a size 4 available, which ended up being too big (so I would say it probably runs true to size). I really liked the material, though, and I might try this dress again in the future (although with a size 2!) for another formal-ish event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
September 13, 2012
Cute dress, runs big
I ordered the 2 & 4 in this dress, although I would have preferred a 0 to the 4 as my extra size. I may have worn it if that were the case. Even the 2 made me look very thick through the middle. Also, if you have a long torso, this dress might not work as I found the "belt" area to hit me higher than my natural waist, which also contributed to the thick-waist look and feel of the dress. Otherwise dress is super cute and would be great on the right body.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 9, 2012
too big
very pretty dress/material but too large throughout
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
perfect wedding dress!
I wore this to my friends' wedding in the city, and it was absolutely perfect. I initally tried to rent the milly "prim and proper" dress, but my size wasn't available. The stylist stayed on the phone with me for an hour and was super helpful in finding me the perfect dress. The fabric is gorgeous, and even better, it doesn't really wrinkle and held its shape wonderfully. I'm typically a 2-4, but since I am small on top, the 2 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Babe in Blue
LOVED this dress. I received compliments all night and felt so confident wearing it. This dress is beautiful online and in person. It's such a beautiful collection of blues and the shimmer is just right. Very flattering cut and structure. One of the best dresses I've ever worn!!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2012
One photographer on the red carpet told me my picture belonged on the side of every bus in NY! These mobile phone pictures don't do the look justice...it is a beautiful dress.
Although RTR sent me a long belt to be tied in a bow instead of the belt pictured, I loved this dress. Beautiful fabric and fun to wear.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2012
great, simple shape, stunning
For an hourglass girl, this is PERFECT. I got so many compliments on the fabric and the shape is great. Also, simple enough style that you can really spruce it up with accessories. I wore a big black necklace, black tights and black Louboutins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2012
Too long
It's a great dress for girls with curves, but for shorter girls, it's too long. It fell well below the knee. I ended up not wearing it because it was just too long, even with heels, and didn't look pretty enough for the party I was going to. Other than that the fit is good and flattered curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2011
I wish I had a photo where you could see the dress a bit more but I wore this Lela Rose to dress up as Betty Draper from Mad Men for Halloween. Totally 60s!
I wore this dress for Halloween to channel Betty Draper from Mad Men. This dress did just that! Easy fit and cinched waist that I really liked. Fun to play with accessories.
View photos (0)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2011
eh.... fit not right for waist
Okay, caveat is that I am very small boned on top, but being that I'm 3 months pregnant I thought a 2 would work as the fit advice all said this runs true to size. I'm normally a 25" waist and even the 0 i think would have been way too big. As it was now, I'm probably about 28" and it just wasn't fitted at the top. The zero might have worked.... Also, the fabric is very stiff and the skirt of the dress sticks out a lot in the back because of this. Makes the a-line a bit too pronounced for my tastes.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2011
Loved this dress! Like the last reviewer, I'm also usually somewhere between a 4 and 6 and both sizes fit me well. I decided to go with the 6 since there was just a little more room in the bust. I wore this to a fall wedding and it was perfect! I lost count of how many compliments I got throughout the night! It was easy to dance in and so comfortable. The wedding/reception lasted over 7 hours and I could have happily worn the dress another 7 hours. I highly recommend this one!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Body type: Apple
October 28, 2011
I rented this dress for a black-tie fundraiser that I was running, and it was perfect. The colors are really rich and elegant, but it was very easy to move around it, and I never had to be worried that something might be "hanging out." It is perfect to accentuate a smaller waist, and flattering for someone with bigger hips. Loved the hidden snaps to loop in your bra so it doesn't slip down. Overall - a great rental. I am usually between an 8 and 10 and wore the 8, so I would say it runs pretty true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 13, 2011
Loved the dress! Wore it to a country club wedding and felt perfectly dressed. The fabric was beautiful, and it was so easy to wear. The hemline was perfect. The dress seemed to run large, I wore the smaller of the two sizes and still felt like the bodice was too large in the chest. Nothing a little padded bra couldn't fix. Will definitely rent another Lela Rose in the future!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2011
The fabric is beautiful. It has more of a metalic sheen than you see in the picture. the problem i had was it isnt a good length for someone tall. I'm between a 10 and 12. the 10 fit better but was too short.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
September 14, 2011
This was my first time renting and it turned out good. It was a true to size fit for me at a size 8. They suggested your second size should be a size down. I did so and got a 6, which was too small. Being tall, I felt like the dress could be too short but I felt comfortable wearing it. They only sent one belt but it ended up being ok because the fabric was stretchy. Also, the metal belt hooks were falling apart. I quickly resewed and it was fine. Overall condition of the dress was good.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 23, 2011
great fit and very forgiving. i'm 5'3", 135 lbs, and a 36C. the size 6 fit wonderfully. it's very mad men-esque. the dress just about hit the top of my knees, and showed just enough cleavage for it to be sexy, but still very appropriate for a wedding rehearsal dinner for all ages. i wish i owned this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
June 10, 2011
This dress is SO beautiful. The fabric has a really nice sheen and sparkle to it. For women that are more pear shaped, it's incredibly flattering! I felt really great in this dress, which I used for my engagement photos (and got so many compliments on it by the way!). If you're renting this dress, I would definitely order one size down if you're thinner through the waist.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
June 1, 2011
Incredibly A-line which I loved, but couldn't get it sipped on the side. I think it runs a little small. Great dress though and a perfect length right above the knee!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2011
Nice dress with a good fit for those of us with some curves. The belt that came with it wasn't my size so I had to subsitute with another belt...seems to be sort of a problem with dresses with belts at RTR! Not the most exciting style but it still looked good and I still got compliments. The dress flares in a pretty adorable way in the back, I must admit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 7, 2011
I loved this dress, and it looked fabulous! The fabric was great quality and the fit was perfect, except for the belt, which was too small (strange that the dress fit but the belt was too small). Fortunately I used the belt from my alternate larger size and that worked fine. Got lots of compliments on the dress at my black tie party, and I will probably rent this dress as a sure-thing backup next time!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2010
This dress was absolutely perfect! It fit true to size, gave a great waist line, and was comfortable. I got tons of compliments and felt great in the dress all night. Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 11, 2010
I love this dress! I am generally either a 0 or 2, so I ordered both and the 0 fit best. The brocade fabric is stunning and looks very elegant. The dress is extremely comfortable and has that great 50s flair skirt. The belt was a little big but I used some of the enclosed double stick tape to cinch it. I also used the tape to adhere the dress directly to my bra so that nothing moved around. I loved wearing it and go so many compliments! The delivery and return was also soooo easy!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
October 10, 2010
Love this dress. I have a large (DD) bust and it showed it off beautifully and brought attention to my neck. The full skirt felt very feminine.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
August 31, 2010
Super cute dress! Fit true to size. I am usually between a 4 and a 6, and both fit fine, but the belt/waist fit best in a 6 for me. The dress style is flattering and modest, but still fun and exciting. Great for all shapes and sizes!
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×