Python Matelasse Dress

$30 rental
$1295 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

In a stunning cobalt hue, this Lela Rose matelasse dress is a true showstopper for any evening affair. With a flattering pleated skirt, this style is the perfect cocktail choice.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted on hips and backside - women with full hips should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted on hips and backside - women with full hips should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt embossed matelasse. V neckline. Asymmetric draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
78 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size63
Small5
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 1, 2012
Looks different from the picture but still super cute!
I rented this dress for my sorority's semi-formal and it was super cute! The only real con I have is that it looked a lot different from the picture in terms of the fabric--it's much darker and less shiny, and you can't really see the pattern. It was a little tight in the top but that is because my bust is usually a size up from the rest of my body, and it wasn't uncomfortable just a little tough to get into. Overall, I had a really good experience with this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
November 22, 2012
Perfect color & dress, was the icing on the cake for a great night!
I wore this dress for an election night party, our colors had this shade of blue. It was the right combo of professional & sexy. I got so many compliments as well and just made the night even more special. Loved this dress
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2012
I wanted something for college graduation that stood out but wasn't too flashy, this was perfect!!
The 4 was a little too tight around my legs and the 6 fit perfectly. I usually wear either a 4 or 6, depending on the dress/designer, and the 6 fit much better. It wasn't as constricting at the 4 would have been. Also, for some reason in the picture on the model the dress looks like leather, which I thought and was really excited about, but it's cloth of some sort. (I'm not really good at knowing the specific kinds) It is still beautiful though!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2012
Dress fit.
This dress does not appear as it is in the photo. It looks like it is made of leather and shiny in the photo, however it feels as if it is made of wool.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 9, 2012
Easiest/hassle free rental! Will definitely use Rent the Runway for my fashion needs! :)
Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this dress, I had high hopes judging from the photography but in real person it's doesn't compare. The fit was loose very unflattering, & the fabric texture was very scratchy. But to my advantage I luckily ordered two dresses from RTR which I truly loved the 2nd one, so make sure you back up on an extra wardrobe!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Gorgeous color!
The color of this dress is beautiful. Really sticks out! It's a perfect dress for a fall wedding with the sweater-like material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 4, 2012
Perfect color and fun design
It looks odd if it is not a little tight, so don't wear a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 2, 2012
I wore this to a formal college alumni event. The color is beautiful.
The dress was a little bigger than I expected, I should have gotten a 0. This is definitely a winter-time dress. The material is heavy and almost wool-like.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2012
Great dress when you want to look sexy AND sophisticated!
The dress was beautiful. It was a little too tight in the chest for me so I am glad I got the size up. The color blue was a lot brighter than in the picture but I like being bright so that was fine with me. I thought the material was going to have a little more of a shine and snakeskin like texture and feel but it ended up being a little heavier, softer fabric. Also, I know I am going to sound like such a dork right now but i was originally worried about the gathering on the sides and how it would look in pictures (if it would make me look bigger in the hips) so I took note of how the model in the photo was standing and whenever it was time for a picture i would turn my body the way she did to give accentuate only the gathering on one side. (just a tip from one photo nut to another) :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Wedding Shower Day Dress
The fabric does not really look like it does in the photo, which some other reviewers have said. I loved the color, but thought that the dress looked a little worn when i got it. It's a cottony kind of material and it seemed like it had started to ball a bit. I wore the dress and the photos are great, but in person it was underwhelming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 7, 2012
loved this dress
This dress was amazing! I've rented a lot from RTR and this has by far been my favorite rental. It cinched in my waist and was extremely flattering. The color really pops and the dress is so well made. Loved it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 7, 2012
Incredible dress
This dress looked like it was made for me. Don't trust what it looks like on the hanger - the skirt looks like it's half the size it should be and cut on an angle, but when you put it on it hangs beautifully and completely justifies the cost. As previous comments have noted, the fabric is darker (and heavier) than on the model and the pattern is more subtle, but that's what I wanted and I thought it was gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
August 26, 2012
Sexy show stopper
the electric blue really stands out in any event. Also the top creates great cleavage
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Not Flattering
I ordered this dress and didn't end up wearing it. The material is a light wool, and the way it's cut made it look uneven when I put it on. Not a fan.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 17, 2012
beautiful, but hot material
Lovely dress, wish I rented it for the fall or winter, the photo made the material look different from what it actaully looked and felt like, which was a woven wool.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 24, 2012
Great color
This color was a hit at the event I went to. The top part was a bit loose and the dress billows out, but it is perfect for an hourglass or pear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 10, 2012
Want to love it, but...
I liked this dress a lot, although, as other reviewers point out, it does not look like the photo at all. It's not just the fabric, which looks shiny and almost like leather or sateen in the photo but is actually a sweater-ish knit with no sheen whatsoever. The dress in the photo, at least to me, looks very structured. But the actual dress, all the structure comes from the cut (which is very cool). The fabric itself has very little structure. It fit true-to-size, but I didn't end up wearing it at all because I couldn't sit down in it. If you are straight, you won't have a problem. I have a long torso, so my hips are little lower than most people. When standing, it wasn't tight at all, but since there is no stretch I couldn't really sit down without looking like a weirdo. I think this dress is very cool (even my husband said so!) and I think it's a hard one to represent in a photo. RTR, have you thought about adding a closeup photo of the material?
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2012
Great!
This dress worked great, I wore it to a party that was on a Thursday night. It was just the right mix of not to dressy but I did not look under dressed for the event. I will say the v neck came down lower on my body than the model, so this is an nightime dress, but I loved it and so did my husband.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 29, 2012
Like a gem.
I was very happy with everything about this dress! The color was brilliant and it was very flattering. It is great if you want to hide your "gut" and show off your better curves! The dress is very easy to pair with any jewelry! For this event, I decided to wear the chrysler earrings! Together it was a hit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2011
Great color!
I wore this dress to my works Christmas Party. The color of this dress is amazing and looked great with my super fair skin tone. No one at the party had a dress this color. I am pretty large bust, but this dress is so well made that I didn't look as if I was 'popping' out. It was very tasteful. This picture makes the dress look leathery, but it was more like a thin wool. I will most likely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2011
I felt like a celebrity in this dress!
I needed a red carpet appropriate dress for a televised awards event in Los Angeles, I chose this dress at the last minute and could not have been happier with my decision. The color and fabric is amazing (like the other reviews said, it is a light sweater-like material, perfect for this time of year) the dress photographed beautifully, and I felt like a celebrity in it. I did not want to return this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
I was an intern this summer at Fox Network, and was able to attend a few movie/ television premieres! Of course I thought of RTR, why would I spend thousands of dollars on a one time use dress/jewerly when there was this blue gem waiting for me! It was SO GREAT, what a success! The fit was excellent, the material is so much cooler than I expected (more cloth-like than nylon!) and was so chic for the event. I was able to look professional and trendy all at once! Several celebs from the film complimented my dress/necklace combo (hello James Franco future hubby!) Thanks RTR, another great success on the red carpet!
This dress is SO GREAT, what a success! The fit is excellent, the material is so much cooler than I expected (more cloth-like than nylon!) and was so chic for the premiere. I was able to look professional and trendy all at once! Thanks RTR, another great success on the red carpet! I would recommend this dress to anyone!
KristenDecember 6, 2011
Hi Ali, I am also wearing this dress to a red carpet event on Friday. Can you tell me what jewelry you wore with it? Thanks, Kristen
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2011
Great weekend with my sister.
Love this dress. Easy fit and runs true to size. I rented it for a trip to Vegas with my sister. Would def recommend.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2011
As other reviewers have said, the color of this dress is stunning. I also found it to be true to size. However, the material is not at all how it appears in the photo. It's definitely a thin wool dress that can get very nubby. I did end up wearing the dress during my rental period, but not for the event I was planning on. I didn't think the dress was of great quality.
Overall fit:
Large
Age: 39
October 5, 2011
Per advice of the stylist the dress was supposed to be true to size, so for my second size I was suggested to go up and should have gone down instead, since even the size 10 I ordered was large on me, needed an 8. But I think it is because both dresses sent were worn too much and after dry cleaning the bottom on one side stretched out really bad, the dress was assymertical with no structure, just hanging like a rag. This dress may have been something at one time, but clearly not at this point. I sent both dresses back immediately and will not use this service again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 3, 2011
I thought this dress was leather, or looked like leather. It's not. And it doesn't look like it. It's cotton. The color is amazing, but it's more appropriate for a daytime work event than an evening fete. Fit was perfect though.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2011
Please note before renting that matelasse is a double-woven, almost wool-like fabric. The cobalt blue color is stunning, but the python pattern is much more subtle than it appears in the photo. The V-neck fell too inappropriately low on me for a family wedding rehearsal dinner. My solution involved wearing a black lace vneck tank top underneath. The look was seamless, and appeared like it was part of the dress. Normally I'm a size 8/10, but certainly needed the size 10. Would definetly rent again for a fall or winter event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2011
I guess I should have looked up what matelasse was because the material of the dress was nothing like how it shows in the photo. It appears to be a waxy material with a sheen of some sort, but it's really a heavy sweatery material....probably not the best for an August wedding, oops! Besides for that, the fit and color are absolutely amazing. I would rent this again, but in the fall or winter for sure!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011
I'm definitely an hourglass figure with a large bust 34DDD (38 bust, 28 waist and 39 hips) and this dress showed off my curves perfectly. I ordered a 6 and it was wonderful. Because I am so short the length was a little longer but it didn't effect the overall look.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2011
I loved this dress! The fabric is deep yet bright cobalt in person, and the subtle print is to die for. The dress is also made out of wool, which gives it some structure. I normally am a 6/8, and in this dress I definitely needed the 8. I wore it to a black tie event and stood out (in the best of ways).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
I LOVED this dress, I got so many compliments on it throughout the night, that I wish I owned it. It was so flattering and so comfortable to wear, I'm definitely going to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2011
Didn't wear it to my event because although the color is stunning it looks a little cheap and loud, with the short lenght and color and animal skin texture pattern all going on on the same dress-- so it felt more like something only someone under 25 should try to pull off. Great for a teenager with a hot body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2011
I got this dress by accident (they didn't have one I ordered and suggested this one) and I really loved it. It's comfortable and flattering and the color is beautiful. It is made of a wooly type of material which was unexpected, and looked much better on the body than on the hanger. I have a medium sized chest for my height and the bust of the dress fit perfectly with a bra underneath...you can wear a normal bra and the straps dont show. I'd recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2011
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I wore it to a party on NYE and couldn't have been happier. The fabric falls perfectly and the color is eye-catching! The v-neck fell slightly lower on me than it does on the model, which I liked. Overall, LOVED it and would recommend it to anyone as a great rental piece!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2010
Better for ladies with a bust! Straps feel a bit long for someone without much of a chest. The color is so pretty though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2010
Loved, loved this dress! The color and texture of the dress is stunning and definitely got me noticed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2010
This dress is stunning. The color is beautiful and the fit is a show stopper. Perfect for a night out with the girls or date night with the man. You will definitely turn heads.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
November 8, 2010
Such a classy dress to wear to a family wedding.
The color of this dress is to die for - a deep cobalt blue. Love how it emphasizes the chest area (i'm a DD) without being too overt!
LeahOctober 20, 2012
Yay family wedding!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×