Lela Rose

Python Matelasse Dress

$272 to buy
$1,295 retail
Stylist Notes

In a stunning cobalt hue, this Lela Rose matelasse dress is a true showstopper for any evening affair. With a flattering pleated skirt, this style is the perfect cocktail choice.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted on hips and backside - women with full hips should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Product Details

Cobalt embossed matelasse. V neckline. Asymmetric draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 16, 2014
Date night, going from cocktails to dinner to a club.
The cut is for one side to drape like a cowl neck dress, but on one hip. I think that is most flattering on thin women, so I wasn't sure about it. I did feel confident in that I could eat dinner and grateful the top was fitted to offset the hips being a full cut style. The fabric is something like a wool or boucle so it looks a little more brunch than club outing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2014
Loved it, but tight up top for those of us busty women
If I'd rented it a few weeks from now for the bachelorette versus for the bridal shower, it would've been perfect! It was a bit tight on the bust for C+, which I should've suspected (I just thought the V might not be quite that deep...), but once I got it on, it was every bit as beautiful as I'd been hoping it would be (I've been eyeing it for years!). The fabric, as others have said, was not shiny as pictured, but it's a bit different in a distinctive way without being itchy at all--and the color cannot be beaten. Gorgeous, gorgeous slightly purple deep blue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 21, 2014
Great color, Not the best fit for me thought
I really did love the color but it was a little snug right beneath my bust. Also, it went more low cut than expected. Overall, it worked for that night but not sure if I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2014
IF YOUR A PEAR.....
Beware! The top on this dress was way too large and bottom fit just fine. I pinned the straps and was okay. I don't blame the dress, just I'm a true pear. Anyone that has equal proportions or a hourglass this dress would be perfect for!!! I wore the 12, but probably should of gotten the 10. ( it was already rented). Also, it has a really odd fit. It feel like it pulls to the left like the entire dress wants to twist to the left ? At first I thought it was lining but no, just the fit. Still gave 4 stars as the blue is so perfect and the quality of the dress was superb! Great to pair with tights for a winter look! Material is thicker so great for early Spring cold nights! It goes perfect with the CINER Anubis Collar Necklace (seen in photos) that I also rented from RTR! Overall, the entire look was a success!!!
LindsMay 22, 2014
True Pear? You look like you have an hourglass figure! You looked great!
StashaSeptember 12, 2014
You look great!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 23, 2014
Really comfy sweater like material. Perfect for spring / fall
The bottom is not symmetrical, the right side kinda flares out due to pleating but it's flattering on someone with boyish hips. Probably wouldn't be as flattering for someone naturally curvy or pear shaped. If A-Line dresses are your friend, this dress will be your enemy. Much more comfortable than it looks and a great poppy color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2014
Great Color!
The color was really pretty, however the fabric is very different from what the model photo shows. Its not shiny like that and its pretty heavy weight too. Also the top is very large. I am pretty busty and still had to pin it to make it work. Overall though it worked out for the party that I wore it to.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 24, 2014
Great dress that cinches the waist!
Although I chose to wear another RTR I got at the same time, this is a great dress that cinches your waist and makes you look slim. I liked the low cut in front, too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 9, 2014
Didn't wear it
I thought this was going to be a totally different fabric. It was like heavy sweater fabric and not idea for a summer charity event in Texas. I would maybe rent it again when it gets a little cooler, but like other renters said, from the waist down it feels like it wants to turn around on you at all times. Not what I expected.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 30, 2014
Great dress, the color and the fit were perfect!
This dress was great, very sexy. I usually wear an 8-10 dress size, I wore this in a 12, there is no give at all in the fabric. I'm 5'11" 170lbs 36D. The top fit perfect, just the right amount of cleavage. Bottom was perfect to hide any areas wanting to be hidden. The color was beautiful, like the other reviews, is not shiny like the pic however. Is a wool fabric which I really liked. Very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 27, 2014
Fits slightly smaller than normal and is especially tight in the bust area and is very low cut
I wore this dress int the end but it runs a bit small and is very low cut if you're busty like me (36DD). There was a bit TOO much cleavage showing! Also, the dress is not at all what's pictured - the fabric is cloth and not shiny AT ALL. It is not leather or faux leather. It is a CLOTH dress. It was fancy enough to wear to a wedding but had to dress it up with sparkly heels and a clutch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
November 11, 2014
Not what I was expecting. Pretty disappointed.
ORDER A SIZE UP! I couldn't wear this dress to my event because it was way too small. Couldn't even zip it up! And I typically wear a 4, sometimes a 6, but in this case I needed the 8. Unfortunately, the 8 wasn't available. Also, the dress is a fabric material that really isn't sparkly like the photos show.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 172lbs
November 19, 2014
I wore this to my bachelorette party weekend.
Such a cute dress! Makes you look like a bombshell. Fit me like a glove! Such a cool fabric!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2015
Gorgeous color (fabric not at all like the model)
I rented this for a fall wedding in Michigan. The color is gorgeous and doesn't look pythony at all. I loved the rouching at the waist - really unique! It's low cut but if you're small busted like me, it's still modest
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2015
Don't do it.
This dress looks like it's a fun leathery material on the website and does NOT. It's a wool dress that is most appropriate for a winter luncheon. The fit is also off -- the right side poofs out making the hem fall funny if you don't have the hips to fill it. All in all, I'd say go with another option as this dress is not what it appears on the site.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
April 14, 2014
Gorgeous color!
I ordered this along with another option for a wedding. It ended up being too long on me (I'm 5'3), but my older sister who is about 5'7 wore it and it was perfect! She got SO many compliments and looked great in it! It is slightly low for someone with a fuller bust and she had a hard time keeping a normal bra covered, but it still looked amazing!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2015
Great dress!
This dress was perfect. I wore it to a Gala for my industry and everyone loved it. Fit perfect, completely true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
January 5, 2015
The comfort of the dress
I wore this to a show with my husband. It's soft which surprised me, nice fit , and I wore it with a regular bra and panties.
Kelly September 15, 2015
You look great in that color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2010
Loved, loved this dress! The color and texture of the dress is stunning and definitely got me noticed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
April 27, 2016
Very Blue!
I rented this with another dress and ended up wearing the other one. The material is not as stiff as it looks in the picture. I think it will fit better for someone with a smaller bust. It kind of flattened my bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2012
I wanted something for college graduation that stood out but wasn't too flashy, this was perfect!!
The 4 was a little too tight around my legs and the 6 fit perfectly. I usually wear either a 4 or 6, depending on the dress/designer, and the 6 fit much better. It wasn't as constricting at the 4 would have been. Also, for some reason in the picture on the model the dress looks like leather, which I thought and was really excited about, but it's cloth of some sort. (I'm not really good at knowing the specific kinds) It is still beautiful though!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2014
Odd fit but fun color and beautiful fabric!
When I first put this dress on, I was determined to give it no more than 3 stars (Sorry about the picture quality!). The fit really threw me off - there is definitely some ruching on the right hip area that it took me a while to get used to, especially since I was not expecting it AT ALL. I don't think the pictures really describe the dress accurately in this sense. Fortunately, once you are moving around, it's not that noticeable but be aware that if you rent this dress, it does not fit symmetrically from the waist down. That being said, I wore it to a friend's bachelorette party in April and it definitely grew on me over the night! The color was fun, the material was almost a wool-blend material (not python-y at all!) and the length and fit were appropriate and yet a little sexy. I wore a few small bracelets, tights, and heels to accessorize in chilly spring weather. I would have probably preferred to wear the 4 but since that size was unavailable, I went with the 2, which still fit really well. My main complaint with this dress is the weird fit in the skirt - I made the most of it but given the option, I will rent something else next time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 8, 2014
Cleavage City!
This is definitely a wintery dress, so plan accordingly. Otherwise, this dress is pretty fantastic. The color is bright and beautiful. I wore this to dinner and was pleased with the reactions on the walk there. The pleating is askew which is certainly forgiving. I'm smaller on top and bigger on bottom and this dress worked really well for me. I find that's a difficult combination with fitted dresses and this dress married the two well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2014
Great color!
The fabric is not leathery like it looks in pictures, it is much softer so it was comfortable to wear. I got so many compliments! I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and had to go with the 4 because the zipper was a bit jammed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 11, 2014
Rented it for my one year anniversary dinner with my husband
Overall I loved the dress and it fit great, but you will need a lot of double stick tape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 3, 2011
I thought this dress was leather, or looked like leather. It's not. And it doesn't look like it. It's cotton. The color is amazing, but it's more appropriate for a daytime work event than an evening fete. Fit was perfect though.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2011
Great color!
I wore this dress to my works Christmas Party. The color of this dress is amazing and looked great with my super fair skin tone. No one at the party had a dress this color. I am pretty large bust, but this dress is so well made that I didn't look as if I was 'popping' out. It was very tasteful. This picture makes the dress look leathery, but it was more like a thin wool. I will most likely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2012
Great!
This dress worked great, I wore it to a party that was on a Thursday night. It was just the right mix of not to dressy but I did not look under dressed for the event. I will say the v neck came down lower on my body than the model, so this is an nightime dress, but I loved it and so did my husband.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 7, 2012
Incredible dress
This dress looked like it was made for me. Don't trust what it looks like on the hanger - the skirt looks like it's half the size it should be and cut on an angle, but when you put it on it hangs beautifully and completely justifies the cost. As previous comments have noted, the fabric is darker (and heavier) than on the model and the pattern is more subtle, but that's what I wanted and I thought it was gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 4, 2012
Perfect color and fun design
It looks odd if it is not a little tight, so don't wear a size up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 9, 2012
Easiest/hassle free rental! Will definitely use Rent the Runway for my fashion needs! :)
Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this dress, I had high hopes judging from the photography but in real person it's doesn't compare. The fit was loose very unflattering, & the fabric texture was very scratchy. But to my advantage I luckily ordered two dresses from RTR which I truly loved the 2nd one, so make sure you back up on an extra wardrobe!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2012
Great color, comfortable!
I wore the 6 and it fit without looking ridiculous, but it was a bit large- unfortunately the 4 wasn't available as a back-up size. I was surprised that the bottom of the dress was pretty roomy - typically with "straight" dresses without stretch I find that the waist fits and the hips are too tight, or it fits in the hips and isn't form fitting in the waist ("pear" body type - woo!). The materials is also not even remotely what it looks like in the picture - the material is woven, without a discernable pattern (or sheen), and is almost wool-like. I wore it for a company holiday party and it was great - fun enough to be fun, and covering enough to be work appropriate. My only wish was that the 4 was available :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2013
I wasn't crazy about this dress. The color is beautiful, but it wasn't right on my body.
The dress size fit me alright, but was too long. The fabric in the image looks shimmery and shiny, but the dress I received looked more solid blue with hints of gold. I didn't end up wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 6, 2013
Cute, but not really for me.
I rented this for a fancy date for my boyfriend's birthday and it wasn't really for me. It ran true to size the bust but the lenght was a little too long for me. Plus, the fabric is totally different in person. Not shiny and you can't really see the pattern.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2013
Absolutely Gorgeous
Looked amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
This was the second time I've rented this dress and I love it every time! The color is beautiful!
The fit runs true to size. The front is very low cut so if you're busty be prepared to flaunt it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2014
Material not like photo
Be forewarned, the material of this dress is a wool blend. It is not leathery or shiny as the photo shows. It also gathers on the side of one hip, not both. The color is beautiful but the fit and fabric made it feel like a work dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2014
wore this to the rehearsal dinner.
Color is great, but the fabric is not true to the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2014
Did not wear the dress to my formal. It is not the same color in person.
Dress does not look at all like it does in the pictures. I was really upset that it didn't look like the pictures and I was unable to send it back in time to get refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2015
The dress is absolutely beautiful.
We had to go out and get ourselves dresses. The color was close to what she wanted. The size 6 were a little too tight and the 10 way too big. I would recommend this dress to anyone. I got many compliments and even with all the problems that we all had with the wedding party, after all this dress made a little at easy with everything. I am now 143 pounds and the 8 would be the perfect size for me.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×