You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Python Matelasse Dress
Rental $30 Retail $1295
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
In a stunning cobalt hue, this Lela Rose matelasse dress is a true showstopper for any evening affair. With a flattering pleated skirt, this style is the perfect cocktail choice.
Chat with a Stylist
Cobalt embossed matelasse. V neckline. Asymmetric draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted on hips and backside - women with full hips should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos21

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 10, 2012
Want to love it, but...
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress a lot, although, as other reviewers point out, it does not look like the photo at all. It's not just the fabric, which looks shiny and almost like leather or sateen in the photo but is actually a sweater-ish knit with no sheen whatsoever. The dress in the photo, at least to me, looks very structured. But the actual dress, all the structure comes from the cut (which is very cool). The fabric itself has very little structure. It fit true-to-size, but I didn't end up wearing it at all because I couldn't sit down in it. If you are straight, you won't have a problem. I have a long torso, so my hips are little lower than most people. When standing, it wasn't tight at all, but since there is no stretch I couldn't really sit down without looking like a weirdo. I think this dress is very cool (even my husband said so!) and I think it's a hard one to represent in a photo. RTR, have you thought about adding a closeup photo of the material?
ginene
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 4, 2012
Great!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress worked great, I wore it to a party that was on a Thursday night. It was just the right mix of not to dressy but I did not look under dressed for the event. I will say the v neck came down lower on my body than the model, so this is an nightime dress, but I loved it and so did my husband.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Dec 15, 2011
Great color!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my works Christmas Party. The color of this dress is amazing and looked great with my super fair skin tone. No one at the party had a dress this color. I am pretty large bust, but this dress is so well made that I didn't look as if I was 'popping' out. It was very tasteful. This picture makes the dress look leathery, but it was more like a thin wool. I will most likely rent this dress again!
Rae
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1521
Oct 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
As other reviewers have said, the color of this dress is stunning. I also found it to be true to size. However, the material is not at all how it appears in the photo. It's definitely a thin wool dress that can get very nubby. I did end up wearing the dress during my rental period, but not for the event I was planning on. I didn't think the dress was of great quality.
Marina
Age: 37
Canonical User Type: 1511
Oct 5, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Per advice of the stylist the dress was supposed to be true to size, so for my second size I was suggested to go up and should have gone down instead, since even the size 10 I ordered was large on me, needed an 8. But I think it is because both dresses sent were worn too much and after dry cleaning the bottom on one side stretched out really bad, the dress was assymertical with no structure, just hanging like a rag. This dress may have been something at one time, but clearly not at this point. I sent both dresses back immediately and will not use this service again.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I thought this dress was leather, or looked like leather. It's not. And it doesn't look like it. It's cotton. The color is amazing, but it's more appropriate for a daytime work event than an evening fete. Fit was perfect though.
Christina
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1421
Sep 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Please note before renting that matelasse is a double-woven, almost wool-like fabric. The cobalt blue color is stunning, but the python pattern is much more subtle than it appears in the photo. The V-neck fell too inappropriately low on me for a family wedding rehearsal dinner. My solution involved wearing a black lace vneck tank top underneath. The look was seamless, and appeared like it was part of the dress. Normally I'm a size 8/10, but certainly needed the size 10. Would definetly rent again for a fall or winter event.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Aug 10, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I guess I should have looked up what matelasse was because the material of the dress was nothing like how it shows in the photo. It appears to be a waxy material with a sheen of some sort, but it's really a heavy sweatery material....probably not the best for an August wedding, oops! Besides for that, the fit and color are absolutely amazing. I would rent this again, but in the fall or winter for sure!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1421
May 23, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I'm definitely an hourglass figure with a large bust 34DDD (38 bust, 28 waist and 39 hips) and this dress showed off my curves perfectly. I ordered a 6 and it was wonderful. Because I am so short the length was a little longer but it didn't effect the overall look.
ashley.e
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5343
Mar 27, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! The fabric is deep yet bright cobalt in person, and the subtle print is to die for. The dress is also made out of wool, which gives it some structure. I normally am a 6/8, and in this dress I definitely needed the 8. I wore it to a black tie event and stood out (in the best of ways).
Anne
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
Feb 28, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I LOVED this dress, I got so many compliments on it throughout the night, that I wish I owned it. It was so flattering and so comfortable to wear, I'm definitely going to rent it again.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7543
Feb 24, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Didn't wear it to my event because although the color is stunning it looks a little cheap and loud, with the short lenght and color and animal skin texture pattern all going on on the same dress-- so it felt more like something only someone under 25 should try to pull off. Great for a teenager with a hot body.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Feb 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I got this dress by accident (they didn't have one I ordered and suggested this one) and I really loved it. It's comfortable and flattering and the color is beautiful. It is made of a wooly type of material which was unexpected, and looked much better on the body than on the hanger. I have a medium sized chest for my height and the bust of the dress fit perfectly with a bra underneath...you can wear a normal bra and the straps dont show. I'd recommend it!
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jan 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I wore it to a party on NYE and couldn't have been happier. The fabric falls perfectly and the color is eye-catching! The v-neck fell slightly lower on me than it does on the model, which I liked. Overall, LOVED it and would recommend it to anyone as a great rental piece!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 13, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Better for ladies with a bust! Straps feel a bit long for someone without much of a chest. The color is so pretty though!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 11, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved, loved this dress! The color and texture of the dress is stunning and definitely got me noticed.
Megs
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1431
Nov 22, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is stunning. The color is beautiful and the fit is a show stopper. Perfect for a night out with the girls or date night with the man. You will definitely turn heads.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress