Sequin Rain Sheath

$30 rental
$600 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready to shimmy it on the dance floor in this sequin shift by Kay Unger. Make everyone's heads turn when you pair it with Badgley Mischka's Showstopper Earrings.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Plus Size Size Chart

Plus Size Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with sequins (65% Polyester, 35% Metallic Fibers). Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
200 reviews
Fit
Large64
True to Size105
Small1
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
August 17, 2015
Very flattering dress!
I ordered the 16W, with the 14W as a back-up and ended up wearing the 16W sheath with the 14W overlay. The dress was very comfortable and flattering, hiding my problem areas. I received a ton of compliments on it! Highly recommended!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
August 10, 2015
Was a very comfortable dress to wear. The fit was a litle big but the comfort made up for it.
Great dress for any occasion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
August 4, 2015
Lot of compliments had on the dress, so a great choice for a cheap glam look.
It's a sheath dress, so it falls straight. It ran a little small, which made it actually hug the curves. The top material is not very comfortable. The sheath protects torso, but it did bother my arms a bit, and I got caught on a couple of people. I'm tallish, so it ran at mid thigh, so when I sat, I had to play the tug game.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 3, 2015
Dress was a great fit!
Easy to match with accessories and shoes.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2015
It was my birthday
the dress was wide in the middle like a bit too big but other than that perfect and beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
July 13, 2015
Back up dress not worn
I got this as my back up dress and ending up going with my first selection. This dress fit great but the sequin part was itchy on my arms. This particular dress also looked like it had a lot of wear which made it look cheaper than in the photo. I was disappointed and felt like it didn't really look like the picture.
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 256lbs
June 24, 2015
I got tons of compliments on the dress the process was quick and effort less
The dress made me feel sexy. It ft perfectly and was flattering
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2015
The dress is beautiful and looked gorgeous on! Very flattering!
Very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
June 17, 2015
The perfect sparkly dress for a glitter/sequin themed bachelorette party in San Francisco!
This dress was comfortable! And a very flattering fit on my tall, curvy frame. I probably could have worn a 14W but this was my first rental and I ordered the 18W as a backup. Not necessary! The only downside was that the sequins kept catching on themselves in the arms or on other people. An excuse to brush up against someone new? ;)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
June 8, 2015
I didn't wear it.
I loved this dress in pictures people submitted, and could have worn it, but liked the other I rented better. I felt like it was a little too matronly looking on me, it was pretty...just not me :)
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
May 21, 2015
Lots of compliments!
This was my first time using rent the runway and overall I had a great experience. I got lots of compliments on this dress. A few details: The black lining is not attached to the sequence net overlay. I just thought that was a bit unusual. The sequence net got caught on everything! I had to remove my bracelets because they keep snagging the dress. The size 20 fit around my middle, but was too big up top. But even though the dress didn't fit perfectly it still looked great. And as I mentioned before, I got a lot compliments. I probably wouldn't rent this dress again, but that's only because there are so many beautiful dresses to choose from on RTR!
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
May 20, 2015
Dress was very comfortable and I received lots of compliments .
Not form fitting but that was what I liked about it. Runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2015
Very pretty, comfortable, and not too revealing cocktail dress.
Loved this dress. It's very lightweight and would be fine for summer despite the long sleeves and dark color. It's extremely comfortable to wear overall and looks elegant. Also liked that it's not too revealing so it works great for formal work events where you need to maintain a professional yet festive appearance. Runs true to size but is a little roomy in the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
May 17, 2015
Pretty dress!
The dress was a great fit and very pretty in person. It isn't form fitting at all so it doesn't really give you any "shape" it's just sort of boxy. I didn't realize the slip underneath had hooks to hook to your bra strap until I already had it on for 3 hours - they then helped because the straps did keep slipping. If you have large upper arms be careful because there's not much stretch in that area. I'm 5'9" and the dress fell right above my knees.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
May 14, 2015
Dress was pretty, and was a heavy material.
However I don't normally wear "Wide" sizes and looked beyond that and ordered it anyway. That was a mistake as the dressy was large and looked frumpy. I don't have wide hips or a "butt" but have a full bust so I'm kind of lollipop body shape and this dress did not do anything for my figure.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 9, 2015
I didn't end up wearing this one to the event since it was my "backup" dress.
This dress was incredibly sparkly and could fit just about any body type I think. It ran a little big and wish that I could have gone a size down. The sleeves were a little itchy but otherwise a very comfortable fit and easy to move around in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
May 6, 2015
Too big
I've rented Kay Unger dresses before and usually the 16W is right on the money (if not a little snug). This was swimming on me. Not to mention, there's not a whole heck of a lot of shape so it was not very flattering. I thought it would be a fun, party dress, but it actually seemed a little matronly. Bummer.
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
May 4, 2015
A lot of compliments!!
The fit was nice. It felt like it hid all the flaws. I like that it was sparkly. The dress was 2 pieces, the under piece was all black and the top piece almost felt like it was crocheted. The dress covers everything. I wish the underdress was a little more revealing. I like a little bit of cleavage. The dress ran a little bit on the larger size. I do wear a 14 regularly but the dress looked a little frumpy on me and I do have curves. All in all it was a good choice for a wedding. Very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2015
Friends wedding
I had rented this dress for a black tie wedding on Halloween. i was 6 months pregnant at the time and both sizes that I rented were way too big, so unfortunately i did not get to wear it, but it was a beautiful dress!
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2015
I received so many compliments and felt like a million bucks!
This dress is beautiful and extremely comfortable. I felt like I could have probably worn the 18, but had not selected that as an option. I did feel the sequins on the underside of my arms, but it didn't bother me. I really enjoyed the length - not too short, not too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 197lbs
April 27, 2015
Did not wear the dress.
This dress was huge ... there was no way I would've been able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2015
Felt so glamorous!!!!!
I rented this for my daughter's sorority formal. I loved the dress and felt beautiful in it! Received so many compliments on it! I rented the 16 and got the free 14 because I read that the dress runs a bit big. It does run big through the chest and shoulders if you're not a big-busty girl. I wore the 16 inner tank dress and the 14 outer sequined dress and it was fabulous! I will rent it again in November for a cruise!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 21, 2015
Really Special!
This dress was great.. comfortable and easy to wear.. I could have used a size 12 b/c 14 was too big for me, but i made it work. I wish i owned it now! Someone from across the room screamed at me that she loved my dress!! Great sparkle and very impactful.. very chic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 21, 2015
Didn't end up wearing.
Found the 14W to be bigger than a 14... News to me. Whoops.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
April 19, 2015
dress was gorgeous, but unfortunately it was too big. I did not wear it.
I rented this dress and another for a fundraiser I was chairing. I loved the dress but the 16 was way too big it was falling off my shoulders. Customer service was great when I called, but they did not have a smaller size. This went back without event wearing it
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress! It made me feel gorgeous!
Perfect fit and so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
April 15, 2015
Star of the night!
I ordered this dress for a small birthday dinner at a local wine house. Delivery was prompt as usual. The dress has a loose fit, but I will still say its true to size. I wanted to be glamorous and comfortable. This dress was it. The only slight problem occurred when sitting on the restaurant couches. The dress kept riding up and I had to adjust myself a few times. This could really just be a tall girl problem. One thing to note, the sequins are much shinier than they show in pictures. I definitely stood out in the crowd!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 12, 2015
I love this dress.
I wore this dress for my 37th birthday. I loved the fit and how glamorous and sexy. I got lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2015
Stylist Review!
I really like this style! The slip underneath is a little more fitted, but not tight enough that shapewear is necessary. The sequin overlay is great and it hides any imperfections. The sequins aren't uncomfortable and I was able to move freely, so it would be a great style for a wedding and would not hinder your ability to dance the night away! The colors is fun and unexpected. The length was also perfect. I would definitely rent this style!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
March 31, 2015
Dress was a bit too long and came across as very matronly for me. Decided not to wear it after all.
The sheath dress has little stretch but the sparkly overlay is very stretchy. I found the fit to be pretty true to size. The dress was much longer than I anticipated - hitting right above my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
March 31, 2015
High quality designer dress at an inexpensive price.
Loved this dress. It's 2 layers. I ordered a size 14 and a size 16. The 14 fit nicely but since I do lave larger thighs & booty. I felt the size 16 was more appropriate for a wedding. The top around the bust and shoulders was too large on me though for a size 16. The top layer with all the detailing I wore a size 14 because the size 16 would of been huge. Overall the dresses came on time. Were clean. Had a few snags but nothing noticeable. Everything was simple, easy to follow. Just put everything in the prepaid envelope & drop off at UPS. I would order this dress again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2015
Perfect dress for a Wedding Guest!
This was a great rent for a Wedding! I loved the silky underlay and the sequin overlay was perfect! There were no noticeable sequins missing and the dress was the perfect length. I got tons of compliments and felt great all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
March 25, 2015
A little big but really classy and fun
The dress fit a little big and was a little long (it hit right at the knee). It was very comfy and classy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
March 24, 2015
LOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE!!
This dress is a stunner! With my hair up and some bangin accessories (silver mesh glam clutch and Ainsley earrings from RTR), black peep toe heels, the whole look was amazing. We went to a gala fundraiser which was semi-formal; even amongst all the lovely dresses I received a TON of compliments. the dress is very high quality and quite comfortable as well. A few notes--as others have said the dress is in two pieces. The one I received had all the little straps and snaps so I was able to attach the liner to my bra and the overlay to the liner, but I would recommend not trying to get dressed alone--I needed a lot of help to keep stuff from snagging. All in all I had a very good experience with RTR and look forward to renting again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 220lbs
March 23, 2015
Cruise formal night
Loved this!!! Fit very true to size and was extremely comfortable. The sequins would catch on each other and my fiancée would have to detangle me, but it was a pretty perfect dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
March 18, 2015
Shapeless
Really beautiful dress but since I have a large bust it really just looked a bit like a tent from the side. Could just be my body type though.
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225lbs
March 17, 2015
All of the amazing compliments I received.
Great dress, received many compliments and it made me feel glamorous. The only issue I had was it was little loose in the bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
March 11, 2015
Wore this to a show in Vegas!
Dress was comfortable, though the sequins did catch on my clutch a few times. I would have liked it a little shorter (I'm 5'7), but it did the job! First dress with RTR, and it was really fun to wear something I wouldn't buy for myself :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
March 8, 2015
Dress was very sparkly, and I got tons of compliments! Photographed nicely!
Was a little big! I wore a belt with it in order to cinch it, which helped with the fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2015
Arrived early! Beautiful dress. Prettier then the pictures.
Loved that it showed my figure but yet was lose enough to hide my flaws.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×