Sequin Rain Sheath

$30 rental
$600 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready to shimmy it on the dance floor in this sequin shift by Kay Unger. Make everyone's heads turn when you pair it with Badgley Mischka's Showstopper Earrings.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Plus Size Size Chart

Plus Size Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with sequins (65% Polyester, 35% Metallic Fibers). Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
219 reviews
Fit
Large65
True to Size115
Small1
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 30, 2015
Never one to turn away from something sparkly, this dress added that pop of pizzazz!!
I'm not a huge fan of long dresses, but the length on this was perfect. I'm 5'10" and I was wearing 3 1/2 inch heels, and when standing the dress hit just below mid thigh. The dress is darker in person than it appears in the picture (think dark charcoal as opposed to a medium gray), but still absolutely gorgeous. I got MANY compliments on the dress, and the bride even wanted to know where I got it. I would definitely wear again for another occasion.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 29, 2015
Gorgeous dress
This dress was gorgeous - it is NAVY and not black (I wasn't positive when ordering, so FYI) My arms are a bit bigger, so they sleeves were a little tighter than I would prefer. Also, my torso is much longer than my legs so this ended up being very short on me. When I sat, it barely covered my bottom. Had ordered the size up (which is what I usually wear, but reviews said size down) for backup, but it was too baggy in areas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
November 21, 2015
Nice fit but dull
This style of dress always looks good on me but I ended up not wearing it. The color is very drab in person-- my husband even commented that it was a terrible color. Maybe the right jewelry could have made a big difference.
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
November 16, 2015
Beautiful dress
I received a lot of compliments on this dress, it fit well, however the mesh fabric over the black sheath is a bit itchy. Beautiful, just itchy.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 43
November 14, 2015
Looked/Felt Like a Million Bucks!!!
I wore this dress to a cocktail party fundraiser. I wore "off-black" pantyhose and black patent leather pumps with it. The whole look was fabulous! I got so many compliments, even from complete strangers. RTR is going to get a spike in business from people in Scottsdale/Phoenix, I'm sure! The dress runs a little big due to it being a women's (plus) size, and I'm between a 14 and 16 in the regular sizes. I felt so pretty in this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
November 13, 2015
Easy to get ready when you know you like what you have to wear.
I'm 5'9" 181lbs. I rented a 16W fit was a little loose. I probably could have gone into a 14W. But liked the overall comfort and length was good.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2015
Comfortable glamour for a red carpet awards event...
This dress is 2 separate layers; a black satiny sheath and the sparkly overlay. I actually wore the 18 sheath with the 16 overlay, so I'd recommend choosing your backup size with that in mind. The overlay snagged and rubbed a little under the arms, but overall the dress was comfortable, looked great, and was the perfect blend of glamour and elegance for a black tie event.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 9, 2015
Fun wedding - could dance all night in the dress!
I wore this for a friend's wedding and loved it! Dress fit great -- it's a slip and an overlay, which I liked. Nice to have sleeves for an evening out.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2015
Pretty, but unexpected
Unfortunately I could not wear this dress as when I tried it on a noticed an odor in the underarms. While I was disappointed, customer service got back to me quickly. I've never had a problem with a dress before so I am positive this is a one off situation. While I wasn't able to wear it, the dress is very pretty. What I didn't expect is that it is two pieces. There is a black dress underneath and the slivery sequin part goes over it separately - it's very net like. The underneath does not stretch at all, which the sliver sequin part has a bit of stretch to it. I assumed it was one whole piece with and that the sleeves and neck part had sheer material underneath, but that wasn't the case...not a big deal, just something to note.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
October 27, 2015
Did not wear this dress
Fit was nice, the sequence would of been itchy though. I did not wear this dress
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Date
Age: 36
October 13, 2015
Lots of compliments
This is the comfiest fancy dress I have ever worn. Be careful with styling or it can get matronly fast.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
October 12, 2015
Sparkly and flattering!
I normally wear a size 14/16 regular (not plus size) jean. Ordered that 14w and 16w. Like a couple others I ended up wearing the inner slip from the size 16W and the outer sparkly dress of the 14W. The 14W slip kept riding up. It was shorter than I expected but not too short - just couldn't really bend over to get things in it. The dress showed wear (snagged sequins) but it was lovely and the arm coverage was just right. The dress got lots of compliments. Its loose in the middle, more of a shift style dress so if that is what you are looking for - go for it. Also I did notice that the last/sparkly pattern was very different on the 14W vs the 16W - both were pretty but the 14W was the dress pictured in the RTR online pic.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
October 5, 2015
This dress looked great on and was VERY comfortable.
I wish I had tried the 12 as well since it ran a little big but really, no complaints. It was stunning and I received tons of compliments. The sequins were nice and not scratchy at all but I did ditch my bracelet for fear of snagging the dress. This was my first rental and it was a great experience. I'm already thinking of reasons why I need to rent again ;-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
October 2, 2015
This dress was true to size and fit the bill for what I needed!
I wore this dress for my work Gala. As one of the event planners, I needed something that was elegant but versatile and this fit both! I got the 14W and didn't even need to try on the 16W, it fit perfectly. The material was light but the sleeves were a little itchy (but not enough to irritate me). I got a ton of compliments on the dress and would definitely recommend this dress along with Rent the Runway, perfect for any occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
September 23, 2015
Seamless experience with RTR
Dress was great - fit wel
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
September 16, 2015
It was such a hit! I felt sexy and danced all night!
I rented this for my 40th birthday party. I was complemented all night on the dress. I felt so pretty, so sexy, and was able to dance all night in this dress. I rented the 18W and 16W because I heard it ran a bit big. I am so glad I did that. I ended up wearing the 16W and it was so flattering. I am also very busty, and the fit was perfect. No issues with the sequins being scratchy, but they did get tangled in my hair a bit. Overall, I was SO pleased!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
September 5, 2015
I looked amazing! Beautiful dress which was noticed!!
Perfect fit. Looked amazing and never received so many compliments. Everyone asked where they could get it. I love this service and will definitely use it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 28
August 30, 2015
Loved it!
I loved this dress! I received so many compliments. It was perfect for dinner and a night out in Vegas! I thought it would be too tight around the stomach (my problem area) but it fit perfect!
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 70
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
August 17, 2015
the dress was wonderful
However, Michael said I could get it in black.... so I selected gold jewelry earings to rent.... and I had a gold and black bag. I received the dress in grey !!! I purposely went to the location to try on dresses and Michael told me that it came in black... If I had known I was receiving this in grey I would have selected silver earings and I would have rented a silver bag..... As I did not have time to change accessories I had to wear the gold with the grey dress and I was NOT HAPPY....PLEASE RESPOND TO THIS ....
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
August 17, 2015
Very flattering dress!
I ordered the 16W, with the 14W as a back-up and ended up wearing the 16W sheath with the 14W overlay. The dress was very comfortable and flattering, hiding my problem areas. I received a ton of compliments on it! Highly recommended!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
August 10, 2015
Was a very comfortable dress to wear. The fit was a litle big but the comfort made up for it.
Great dress for any occasion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
August 4, 2015
Lot of compliments had on the dress, so a great choice for a cheap glam look.
It's a sheath dress, so it falls straight. It ran a little small, which made it actually hug the curves. The top material is not very comfortable. The sheath protects torso, but it did bother my arms a bit, and I got caught on a couple of people. I'm tallish, so it ran at mid thigh, so when I sat, I had to play the tug game.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 3, 2015
Dress was a great fit!
Easy to match with accessories and shoes.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2015
It was my birthday
the dress was wide in the middle like a bit too big but other than that perfect and beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
July 13, 2015
Back up dress not worn
I got this as my back up dress and ending up going with my first selection. This dress fit great but the sequin part was itchy on my arms. This particular dress also looked like it had a lot of wear which made it look cheaper than in the photo. I was disappointed and felt like it didn't really look like the picture.
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 256lbs
June 24, 2015
I got tons of compliments on the dress the process was quick and effort less
The dress made me feel sexy. It ft perfectly and was flattering
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2015
The dress is beautiful and looked gorgeous on! Very flattering!
Very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
June 17, 2015
The perfect sparkly dress for a glitter/sequin themed bachelorette party in San Francisco!
This dress was comfortable! And a very flattering fit on my tall, curvy frame. I probably could have worn a 14W but this was my first rental and I ordered the 18W as a backup. Not necessary! The only downside was that the sequins kept catching on themselves in the arms or on other people. An excuse to brush up against someone new? ;)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
June 8, 2015
I didn't wear it.
I loved this dress in pictures people submitted, and could have worn it, but liked the other I rented better. I felt like it was a little too matronly looking on me, it was pretty...just not me :)
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
May 21, 2015
Lots of compliments!
This was my first time using rent the runway and overall I had a great experience. I got lots of compliments on this dress. A few details: The black lining is not attached to the sequence net overlay. I just thought that was a bit unusual. The sequence net got caught on everything! I had to remove my bracelets because they keep snagging the dress. The size 20 fit around my middle, but was too big up top. But even though the dress didn't fit perfectly it still looked great. And as I mentioned before, I got a lot compliments. I probably wouldn't rent this dress again, but that's only because there are so many beautiful dresses to choose from on RTR!
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
May 20, 2015
Dress was very comfortable and I received lots of compliments .
Not form fitting but that was what I liked about it. Runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2015
Very pretty, comfortable, and not too revealing cocktail dress.
Loved this dress. It's very lightweight and would be fine for summer despite the long sleeves and dark color. It's extremely comfortable to wear overall and looks elegant. Also liked that it's not too revealing so it works great for formal work events where you need to maintain a professional yet festive appearance. Runs true to size but is a little roomy in the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
May 17, 2015
Pretty dress!
The dress was a great fit and very pretty in person. It isn't form fitting at all so it doesn't really give you any "shape" it's just sort of boxy. I didn't realize the slip underneath had hooks to hook to your bra strap until I already had it on for 3 hours - they then helped because the straps did keep slipping. If you have large upper arms be careful because there's not much stretch in that area. I'm 5'9" and the dress fell right above my knees.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
May 14, 2015
Dress was pretty, and was a heavy material.
However I don't normally wear "Wide" sizes and looked beyond that and ordered it anyway. That was a mistake as the dressy was large and looked frumpy. I don't have wide hips or a "butt" but have a full bust so I'm kind of lollipop body shape and this dress did not do anything for my figure.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 9, 2015
I didn't end up wearing this one to the event since it was my "backup" dress.
This dress was incredibly sparkly and could fit just about any body type I think. It ran a little big and wish that I could have gone a size down. The sleeves were a little itchy but otherwise a very comfortable fit and easy to move around in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
May 6, 2015
Too big
I've rented Kay Unger dresses before and usually the 16W is right on the money (if not a little snug). This was swimming on me. Not to mention, there's not a whole heck of a lot of shape so it was not very flattering. I thought it would be a fun, party dress, but it actually seemed a little matronly. Bummer.
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
May 4, 2015
A lot of compliments!!
The fit was nice. It felt like it hid all the flaws. I like that it was sparkly. The dress was 2 pieces, the under piece was all black and the top piece almost felt like it was crocheted. The dress covers everything. I wish the underdress was a little more revealing. I like a little bit of cleavage. The dress ran a little bit on the larger size. I do wear a 14 regularly but the dress looked a little frumpy on me and I do have curves. All in all it was a good choice for a wedding. Very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2015
Friends wedding
I had rented this dress for a black tie wedding on Halloween. i was 6 months pregnant at the time and both sizes that I rented were way too big, so unfortunately i did not get to wear it, but it was a beautiful dress!
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2015
I received so many compliments and felt like a million bucks!
This dress is beautiful and extremely comfortable. I felt like I could have probably worn the 18, but had not selected that as an option. I did feel the sequins on the underside of my arms, but it didn't bother me. I really enjoyed the length - not too short, not too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 197lbs
April 27, 2015
Did not wear the dress.
This dress was huge ... there was no way I would've been able to wear it.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×