Kay Unger

Sequin Rain Sheath

$30 rental
$600 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ready to shimmy it on the dance floor in this sequin shift by Kay Unger.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with sequins (65% Polyester, 35% Metallic Fibers). Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
267 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(137)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
July 11, 2016
Convenience and price

Loved this dress! Received lots of compliments. I could have used one size smaller but that was my fault! Will definitely use RTR again!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
August 15, 2016
Love the sparkle!

This was a great dress. I loved the sparkle. Length was appropriate and fit very well. There's room in this dress to breath. The arms were a little itchy bc of the fabric but overall no other problems. I'm curvy and this dress made me feel sexy and was comfortable. The slip and dress are two different pieces of material.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
August 21, 2016
It's sparkled!

The dress was very pretty, but it was itchy and kept sticking to itself or getting caught on things.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
20W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Age: 44
September 18, 2016
Love. Love. Love

Cannot say enough about this dress...I am plus size. Hard to fit. This dress makes you look amazing...and you can't beat the price. Many guests at the wedding came up to me and asked where this dress was from...it's so unique and flattering. This is 2 pieces...I wore the 20 but could have used the 18 with no problem. I wore this to a July wedding in NJ--100 degrees with 100% humidity---without a problem. It's not heavy. RTR's customer service is excellent---the size 18 dress was returned by another customer damages. RTR contacted me via email and told me this. They actually selected 2 additional rental dresses in similar styles for me (in case the 20 didn't fit). I also could have selected a different rental free of charge, which would the be overnights to me. Thanks RTR! PS my daughter is also in a RTR rental:)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 225lbs
November 1, 2016
Looked luxurious

It was so fun to wear such a beautiful dress. The sequin details catch the light and really make you shine. Very flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2017
More sequins please

I ordered this at the last minute and as usual RTR helped me in a jam. Very comfortable dress that runs large. Sequins snag a bit especially on hosiery but overall a lovely dress

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2017
This dress is a show stopper!!!

I rented this dress to wear for a friend's black tie wedding. It was perfect in every way!!! This was my first experience using RTR so I was a little nervous. What a great first experience I had!! Dresses arrived right on time, very nicely packed & in great shape. This dress was true to size & was extremely flattering. I have broad shoulders, but this dress was very slimming. I received so many compliments! I would definitely rent this dress again for another event!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225lbs
January 29, 2017
Got compliments all night!

Loved this dress! The downside of a dress with sequins is you have to be careful and conscious of snags, but this dress was very flattering and pretty true to size. Good at hiding flaws. Caught the light at my work holiday party and it was nice to be so sparkly. I got compliments all night on how pretty it was. The sleeves/shoulders were a little larger than what felt normal, maybe the dress I got was slightly stretched out. Other than that, it fit perfect and I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 227lbs
March 6, 2017
Wish it fit

Unfortunately this dress didn't not fit quite right and just didn't have time or inclination to get another but I ended up using the accessories I ordered to doll up another dress I had on the rack. I was surprised by how lightweight it was - in the picture it looks like it's beaded so I was expecting a heavy dress... Will try it again next time I have another formal event to attend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Body type: Apple
April 26, 2017
Ok

Not as shiny as in photo! Gray not green?? Fit true to size! Didn't wear it Actually not fancy enough??

Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
April 30, 2017
.

This dress fit me perfectly even in the sleeves, I have large upper arms and the fit was great, I had room to spare. I received several compliments on it. Very happy with this service, and I would highly recommended it

Size worn:
20W
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 255lbs
May 3, 2017
It is not easy to find a stunning plus size dress. This dress helped me feel beautiful!

Absolutely love this dress!!! I didn't want to send it back! Very comfortable, and stunning! RTR is amazing, and I will definitely be ordering again in the near future.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
May 23, 2017
So many compliments!!

This dress was beautiful and just perfect for my cousins wedding! I have never received this many compliments on a dress!

Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Age: 54
June 4, 2017
So many compliments!

2 pieces-the slip is much shorter than the top part. So comfy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 250lbs
October 10, 2017
Weird fit

The slip has no stretch and therefore ran very small and unforgiving compared to the sheath. The sheath was very pretty and I was disappointed that the slip didn't fit right. It hugged my rolls too much. I actually checked the size because I thought they sent the wrong slip size since the sheath fit great. Disappointing.

Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
November 3, 2017
Super fun dress

I absolutely loved this dress. It was so comfortable and easy to wear. I didn't have to worry about any special undergarments to wear underneath it. I got a ton of compliments through out the night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38G
Body type: Apple
January 9, 2018
Only the outer layer arrived!!

Unfortunately, the inner layer did not come for either size. I wore the outer shell over a tank & faux leather leggings. It was almost a total disaster. Also, this sheath had lots of "picks" on it. I would have been embarassed if this had been a formal event.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 240lbs
October 9, 2013
Beautiful dress! Perfect for a wedding, but...

I loved the dress. It was comfortable, flattering, and had the right amount of sparkle. I was so excited to wear this to my event. However, when I received the dress the chemical, dry cleaning smell was overwhelming. I had it hanging in my hotel room for 2 days hoping that the scent would dissipate. It was so bad that at one point I had to air out my hotel room. The staff at RTR were great and offered to overnight me a new dress for the event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
October 28, 2013
Extremely Flattering!! Will be renting for another event!

The dress fits like a dream, I normally wear a 16 but since the 14W had a bit more room I was able to wear that for the best fit. i didnt end up wearing it for the night because I opted for my first choice-- but this was so flattering I may be renting it for an upcoming wedding!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 241lbs
November 17, 2013
Got so many compliments on this dress!

This dress is such a great piece!!! I kept getting compliments, and it really stood out (just wore basic accessories and still looked fab!). However the dress kept getting caught on things and may have had some snags already when it arrived to me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 7, 2013
Sparkle!!!

Very nice dress super comfortable. Black slip underneath the lace over lay. Low back is very tasteful. Charcoal grey color is nice with texture of the lace and shine of the sequence! Sleeves are not tight. Liked this style!

PeggyDecember 7, 2013
i'm a 14 will this dress work for me?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 70
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 30, 2014
Beautiful dress

This dress definitely runs large. If it would have been a 14 regular, it would have fit perfectly. I had to fly out of town for a wedding, so I decided to go with it. The dress looked brand new. My only complaint is that it did not have any shape to it, so it does not flatter your curves. It was very comfortable and easy to wear all evening. It definitely looked "curvy" on the model. If you have no waist it would be a perfect dress. Lots of compliments, but i thought i did not look so good in the photos.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
I received lots of compliments on the dress...but I was terribly disappointed.

The dress is lovely-- the lace and the beading really exquisite. Both sizes were in great condition-- the exception being that both were missing the bra straps. People loved the dress and I received dozens of compliments.. But I was disappointed. Both sizes I ordered were too large-- but it was for a New Years Eve party and it was too late to make a change. The dresses were *very* shapeless on me and made me appear *much* larger than I am. I cringe at every picture of me from that night. I ended up pairing it with black tights and knee boots to play up on the shapelessness. Heels looked silly. On the hanger it was stunning, on me it was forgettable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225lbs
January 23, 2014
Beautiful dress!!

Loved the dress, wore it to a night on the town in Vegas. Very comfortable, however it is not a "fitted" dress as it appears on the model on the website. Maybe more fitted with a smaller size down???

Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
February 12, 2014
I loved this dress!!! I will defintely use RTR again!!! So many compliments!

Somewhat large which is why I went for the smaller size!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 17, 2014
Shiny but boxy

A very pretty dress made very well but does not provide a great shape. It proved to be a bit boxy on my shape and I have a full bust and wide hips. Pretty color and runs a bit large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
March 3, 2014
I rented this dress for a formal fundraiser - I received many compliments!

I wish I would have ordered a second dress in a size smaller as the fit was rather loose. Overall a comfortable dress and was glad of my choice.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2014
Sparkly, lump forgiving, perfect dress

I wore this for my law school ball. It was beautiful. I received many compliments. It looks black/gray in this picture, but in reality it varies depending on the lighting. In some pictures it looks blue, in some black, in many somewhere in between. The arms are wonderful. They are actually very slimming and really pretty b/c it's sheer over the skin. It includes a slip for underneath the dress. It is about 2-3 inches shorter than the sheer top, which means the bottom really shows off the lacey pattern. I have a bit of a belly and this hid it like magic. It really streamlined my body shape. I would rent this again. It did run slightly big, so go a size down and then get your normal size as the backup.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 238lbs
March 10, 2014
Compliments all night!

I rented this dress for a casino themed Jack & Jill Party. I have never worn a 14W before, I found the dress to be a little big on me, but it may be because I usually wear a 12 or 14 regular. I wasn't in love with the shape of the dress, but maybe I just wasn't used to the style, because I did get compliments all night long on it! It had just enough sparkles to glam it up a bit without being overwhelming. I also thought it was a great value price wise. Definitely recommend it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 38G
March 17, 2014
I definitely had strangers come up to me at the charity gala and compliment me on this dress!

The dress was super comfortable! I felt beautiful in it and received many compliments! I ordered up a size due to the fact that I'm 12 weeks pregnant with my 3rd. I'm 5'7" and the dress was a little longer on me than the model in the picture. I think I probably needed a size down. Also I have very narrow shoulders so the dress was quite big on me in that area as well. None the less it was beautiful, comfortable, and I was able to adjust the dress back further to keep it on my shoulders using the bra snaps. This was my first RTR experience and it was a great one! They make it so easy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 230lbs
April 8, 2014
Not as cute as the photo

I ordered this dress for an event at work. I was afraid it might be a little too flashy based on the photos, but in person it was actually very matronly! The body was shapeless - no darts or seaming of any kind. It was really unflattering - it made me look much older and larger than I am. I was thankful that I had ordered more than one dress, as I just didn't feel good in this one and didn't wear it.

Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 18, 2014
I loved the look of the sequins. I glimmered! Dress looked great. Got so many compliments.

Fit a bit large (which was a great feeling for a busty chick like me) but not so large that it was unflattering. Highly recommend this dress.

Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
April 24, 2014
I ended up not wearing it because it was too big and made me look frumpy :(

when I saw the dress in the packaging, I was really excited because the sequins reflect light really well without being too flashy. when I first put on the lining dress without having to unzip the side zipper, I knew it would be too big. After I put the second layer for sequins, you were unable to see my figure. I should have taken a photo, but I put it back and sealed the UPS package up before I thought to take a photo for this website! ***Customer service is amazing. This company really understands being different-body type conscious as well as time urgency. They're really on top of it for responding to clients as well as sending out dresses immediately. I really really appreciated their help.***

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 30, 2014
Just too big in the hips and waist.

Dress is very pretty and had it fit, would have been great. But it was so large in the hips and waist that i couldn't wear it. Bust was not as loose on me, but probably could have gone down a size there, too. Alas, it doesn't come any smaller!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 250lbs
May 1, 2014
It worked, but it was a little big

Pretty dress, very big on top for me and I have a 40 G bust, but it fit me in the hips. I would not rent again, based on fit, but it was beautiful.

Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 3, 2014
Besides being a fabulous night with a great date, this dress made me feel amazingly beautiful!

Two pieces, a little bit bigger than I expected, amazing beautiful!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 179lbs
May 4, 2014
Sparkles!!!!

This dress ran a bit large but overall the fit was good. I was given tons of compliments all night long. It was super fun to wear and very comfortable. The downside of this dress is the sequences would get stuck together so I would get snagged on other dresses or I would snag the arm on my side. I spent a great deal of the night unsticking myself. If you rent this dress, maintain your distance from others!

Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 237lbs
May 10, 2014
Received tons of compliments on the dress.

Loved the dress. Ran a little large for me. I used the smaller back up size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 240lbs
May 28, 2014
So fancy

It is a gorgeous dress that does run a bit large. The 16 I ordered hid what little shape I have, it "squared" me out so thankfully I followed reviewers suggestion and sized down for a backup and although the 14 was a bit snug it was comfortable enough for the evening. I got many complements and felt very fancy. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 44F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
June 4, 2014
Didn't wear it

This dress wasn't very flattering. It was shapeless and not very form fitting. The color was nice and the sparkle made me wish it worked out. I actually rented this as my backup and rented the Hello Dolly Kay Unger Dress as well and didn't need the sheath dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×