Sequin Rain Sheath

$30 rental
$600 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready to shimmy it on the dance floor in this sequin shift by Kay Unger. Make everyone's heads turn when you pair it with Badgley Mischka's Showstopper Earrings.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Plus Size Size Chart

Plus Size Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with sequins (65% Polyester, 35% Metallic Fibers). Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
231 reviews
Fit
Large
(66)
True to Size
(120)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
22W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
January 12, 2016
Outside wedding in St. Louis in October. Bride wore an orange gown.
It is a great dress. Could have worn either size, but went with the bigger one as it is a tad longer. It sparkled all night! I am usually hot, it was great for a fall wedding outside at night.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
January 11, 2016
Great dress!
Very roomy and comfortable. Wore a regular bra underneath.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
January 10, 2016
Tons of compliments on the dress!
Fit was true to size, dress was beautiful and sparkly! So many compliments on me wearing this gorgeous dress!!
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
January 7, 2016
I wore this for a New Year's Eve wedding and was happy with the look!
The dress fit slightly large, I could've used a 14W, but it was unavailable. The 16W was fine, it just slipped forward a little due to being a bit too large. I was able to enjoy eating, drinking and dancing with zero discomfort, so the large size worked fine for me. I wore opaque black tights and suede mary jane heels and really liked the look. It was fun and sparkly without being over-the-top. I would definitely wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 54
January 4, 2016
Great dress. Received tons of compliments.
Very true to fit - the only surprise was the color. From the photos, it truly looked silver. However, I would have described it as black with silver sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
December 22, 2015
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I received a ton of compliments!
I prefer a loser fit so I went with the larger of the two sizes. The overlay I felt went a little long, and didn't line up like is does in the photo. Overall, I didn't have any issues with the sequins rubbing my skin. One thing that could be a little frustrating is that you can't really do anything with the strings that keep the sheath on the hanger as the dress is lace, so they remain somewhat visible and moved around. However, I would still recommend this dress. It has the right amount of sparkle without being tacky.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
December 17, 2015
I felt great in the dress and when I feel great I have a great time!
I loved this dress because it was comfortable/stretchy, sparkly but not flashy, allowed me to wear my favorite bra (a big plus since I have yet to find a "special" bra that gives my full size bust the support it needs). The dress is pretty short which is a plus for me since my best feature is my legs, but wouldn't be a ideal for anyone who doesn't want to show off their legs!
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
December 14, 2015
This dress is perfect for any event. You can dress it up or down.
Love the look of this dress. I ordered the 14W and 16W. I wore the 16W slip and the 14W overlay. I received compliments all evening.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
December 10, 2015
It was the perfect choice for the gala.
It fit great. I did try on the larger size just to see. And I'm glad my original choice worked, because the larger size had a bad smell to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
December 9, 2015
This dress is so flattering
The dress is perfect for anyone who doesn't want to wear anything form fitting. It hugs your curves perfectly. I got numerous compliments all night on how beautiful the dress looked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Party
December 7, 2015
My 1st time renting a party dress & I was at a bit nervous that it may not come on time. But it did
It worked out perfect for our Gatsby themed Holiday party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
December 2, 2015
Very pretty dress, sparkly and eye-catching. I added a scarf, and va-va-voom!
I got a 14, and it fit, but was a little tight. So I got a 16 as a backup, and decided I would rather the dress be a little looser and go more on the comfort level.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 30, 2015
Never one to turn away from something sparkly, this dress added that pop of pizzazz!!
I'm not a huge fan of long dresses, but the length on this was perfect. I'm 5'10" and I was wearing 3 1/2 inch heels, and when standing the dress hit just below mid thigh. The dress is darker in person than it appears in the picture (think dark charcoal as opposed to a medium gray), but still absolutely gorgeous. I got MANY compliments on the dress, and the bride even wanted to know where I got it. I would definitely wear again for another occasion.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14W
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
November 29, 2015
Gorgeous dress
This dress was gorgeous - it is NAVY and not black (I wasn't positive when ordering, so FYI) My arms are a bit bigger, so they sleeves were a little tighter than I would prefer. Also, my torso is much longer than my legs so this ended up being very short on me. When I sat, it barely covered my bottom. Had ordered the size up (which is what I usually wear, but reviews said size down) for backup, but it was too baggy in areas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
November 21, 2015
Nice fit but dull
This style of dress always looks good on me but I ended up not wearing it. The color is very drab in person-- my husband even commented that it was a terrible color. Maybe the right jewelry could have made a big difference.
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
November 16, 2015
Beautiful dress
I received a lot of compliments on this dress, it fit well, however the mesh fabric over the black sheath is a bit itchy. Beautiful, just itchy.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 43
November 14, 2015
Looked/Felt Like a Million Bucks!!!
I wore this dress to a cocktail party fundraiser. I wore "off-black" pantyhose and black patent leather pumps with it. The whole look was fabulous! I got so many compliments, even from complete strangers. RTR is going to get a spike in business from people in Scottsdale/Phoenix, I'm sure! The dress runs a little big due to it being a women's (plus) size, and I'm between a 14 and 16 in the regular sizes. I felt so pretty in this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
November 13, 2015
Easy to get ready when you know you like what you have to wear.
I'm 5'9" 181lbs. I rented a 16W fit was a little loose. I probably could have gone into a 14W. But liked the overall comfort and length was good.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2015
Comfortable glamour for a red carpet awards event...
This dress is 2 separate layers; a black satiny sheath and the sparkly overlay. I actually wore the 18 sheath with the 16 overlay, so I'd recommend choosing your backup size with that in mind. The overlay snagged and rubbed a little under the arms, but overall the dress was comfortable, looked great, and was the perfect blend of glamour and elegance for a black tie event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 9, 2015
Fun wedding - could dance all night in the dress!
I wore this for a friend's wedding and loved it! Dress fit great -- it's a slip and an overlay, which I liked. Nice to have sleeves for an evening out.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2015
Pretty, but unexpected
Unfortunately I could not wear this dress as when I tried it on a noticed an odor in the underarms. While I was disappointed, customer service got back to me quickly. I've never had a problem with a dress before so I am positive this is a one off situation. While I wasn't able to wear it, the dress is very pretty. What I didn't expect is that it is two pieces. There is a black dress underneath and the slivery sequin part goes over it separately - it's very net like. The underneath does not stretch at all, which the sliver sequin part has a bit of stretch to it. I assumed it was one whole piece with and that the sleeves and neck part had sheer material underneath, but that wasn't the case...not a big deal, just something to note.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
October 27, 2015
Did not wear this dress
Fit was nice, the sequence would of been itchy though. I did not wear this dress
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Date
Age: 36
October 13, 2015
Lots of compliments
This is the comfiest fancy dress I have ever worn. Be careful with styling or it can get matronly fast.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
October 12, 2015
Sparkly and flattering!
I normally wear a size 14/16 regular (not plus size) jean. Ordered that 14w and 16w. Like a couple others I ended up wearing the inner slip from the size 16W and the outer sparkly dress of the 14W. The 14W slip kept riding up. It was shorter than I expected but not too short - just couldn't really bend over to get things in it. The dress showed wear (snagged sequins) but it was lovely and the arm coverage was just right. The dress got lots of compliments. Its loose in the middle, more of a shift style dress so if that is what you are looking for - go for it. Also I did notice that the last/sparkly pattern was very different on the 14W vs the 16W - both were pretty but the 14W was the dress pictured in the RTR online pic.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
October 5, 2015
This dress looked great on and was VERY comfortable.
I wish I had tried the 12 as well since it ran a little big but really, no complaints. It was stunning and I received tons of compliments. The sequins were nice and not scratchy at all but I did ditch my bracelet for fear of snagging the dress. This was my first rental and it was a great experience. I'm already thinking of reasons why I need to rent again ;-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 2, 2015
This dress was true to size and fit the bill for what I needed!
I wore this dress for my work Gala. As one of the event planners, I needed something that was elegant but versatile and this fit both! I got the 14W and didn't even need to try on the 16W, it fit perfectly. The material was light but the sleeves were a little itchy (but not enough to irritate me). I got a ton of compliments on the dress and would definitely recommend this dress along with Rent the Runway, perfect for any occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
September 23, 2015
Seamless experience with RTR
Dress was great - fit wel
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
September 16, 2015
It was such a hit! I felt sexy and danced all night!
I rented this for my 40th birthday party. I was complemented all night on the dress. I felt so pretty, so sexy, and was able to dance all night in this dress. I rented the 18W and 16W because I heard it ran a bit big. I am so glad I did that. I ended up wearing the 16W and it was so flattering. I am also very busty, and the fit was perfect. No issues with the sequins being scratchy, but they did get tangled in my hair a bit. Overall, I was SO pleased!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Wedding
September 5, 2015
I looked amazing! Beautiful dress which was noticed!!
Perfect fit. Looked amazing and never received so many compliments. Everyone asked where they could get it. I love this service and will definitely use it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 28
August 30, 2015
Loved it!
I loved this dress! I received so many compliments. It was perfect for dinner and a night out in Vegas! I thought it would be too tight around the stomach (my problem area) but it fit perfect!
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 71
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
August 17, 2015
the dress was wonderful
However, Michael said I could get it in black.... so I selected gold jewelry earings to rent.... and I had a gold and black bag. I received the dress in grey !!! I purposely went to the location to try on dresses and Michael told me that it came in black... If I had known I was receiving this in grey I would have selected silver earings and I would have rented a silver bag..... As I did not have time to change accessories I had to wear the gold with the grey dress and I was NOT HAPPY....PLEASE RESPOND TO THIS ....
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
August 17, 2015
Very flattering dress!
I ordered the 16W, with the 14W as a back-up and ended up wearing the 16W sheath with the 14W overlay. The dress was very comfortable and flattering, hiding my problem areas. I received a ton of compliments on it! Highly recommended!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
August 10, 2015
Was a very comfortable dress to wear. The fit was a litle big but the comfort made up for it.
Great dress for any occasion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
August 4, 2015
Lot of compliments had on the dress, so a great choice for a cheap glam look.
It's a sheath dress, so it falls straight. It ran a little small, which made it actually hug the curves. The top material is not very comfortable. The sheath protects torso, but it did bother my arms a bit, and I got caught on a couple of people. I'm tallish, so it ran at mid thigh, so when I sat, I had to play the tug game.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 3, 2015
Dress was a great fit!
Easy to match with accessories and shoes.
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2015
It was my birthday
the dress was wide in the middle like a bit too big but other than that perfect and beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
July 13, 2015
Back up dress not worn
I got this as my back up dress and ending up going with my first selection. This dress fit great but the sequin part was itchy on my arms. This particular dress also looked like it had a lot of wear which made it look cheaper than in the photo. I was disappointed and felt like it didn't really look like the picture.
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 256lbs
June 24, 2015
I got tons of compliments on the dress the process was quick and effort less
The dress made me feel sexy. It ft perfectly and was flattering
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2015
The dress is beautiful and looked gorgeous on! Very flattering!
Very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
June 17, 2015
The perfect sparkly dress for a glitter/sequin themed bachelorette party in San Francisco!
This dress was comfortable! And a very flattering fit on my tall, curvy frame. I probably could have worn a 14W but this was my first rental and I ordered the 18W as a backup. Not necessary! The only downside was that the sequins kept catching on themselves in the arms or on other people. An excuse to brush up against someone new? ;)
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×