Kay Unger

Sequin Rain Sheath

$30 rental
$600 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ready to shimmy it on the dance floor in this sequin shift by Kay Unger.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with sequins (65% Polyester, 35% Metallic Fibers). Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
250 reviews
Fit
Large
(67)
True to Size
(127)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 18, 2014
I got so many compliments! And everyone loved the sparkle!
It fit very well. My only complaint was that it got caught on a lot of things including my jewelry, and was hard to get out without ripping the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 20, 2014
BEAUTIFUL. Made me feel amazing.
Rented this in a 16 & 18. The 18 smelled of BO & the 16 was stale/peculiar smelling. Called RTR staff & a replacement was overnighted (sparks fly sheath). Despite the *ahem* peculiar odor of the 16, I braved it anyway because the replacement was not a good fit. All in all, I would rent again. The stylist, Alex, was amazingly helpful and understanding. What a great company & service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2014
The dress was so perfect! comfortable to wear all night of dancing and moving around at the event!!!
The dress was exactly what I was looking for! I was a little nervous due to the fact I am never very consistent with my dress size! I did get the second size up but was much too large. So many compliments!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 240lbs
May 28, 2014
So fancy
It is a gorgeous dress that does run a bit large. The 16 I ordered hid what little shape I have, it "squared" me out so thankfully I followed reviewers suggestion and sized down for a backup and although the 14 was a bit snug it was comfortable enough for the evening. I got many complements and felt very fancy. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
June 1, 2014
I felt amazing in this dress !
I wore this dress for my bachelorette night. I felt amazing in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
June 2, 2014
Beautiful dress. Much prettier in person. It really has the "Wow" factor
Very comfortable, wonderfully made, I am busty ( 42 DDD) with a full waistline, smaller in the hips. This dress is super-flattering for that style figure. Makes you look a couple of sizes smaller. Received multiple compliments throughout the night. I love this dress!
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 4, 2014
My first Black Tie wedding event!!
Got lots of compliments on this dress for my friends black tie wedding reception! Fit was perfect! Nice and sparkly!! Wore for several hours and was comfortable in this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2014
Didn't wear it
This dress wasn't very flattering. It was shapeless and not very form fitting. The color was nice and the sparkle made me wish it worked out. I actually rented this as my backup and rented the Hello Dolly Kay Unger Dress as well and didn't need the sheath dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 10, 2014
Beautiful.
Couldn't wear it as it was too formal for the simple wedding I attended. But wish I could've. It ran a bit big and sparked so much.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 19, 2014
Shiny and pretty, but heavy/itchy fabric. Not much shape.
I ended up going with the other dress I rented for my event, but I found this dress to be a little shapeless as other reviewers have said. I would recommend belting it...it would make the biggest difference. The fabric is heavy and slightly itchy so I'd recommend renting this one for a colder or indoor event. It wasn't horrible, just not the right choice for my venue!
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
June 28, 2014
Loose and comfortable, but not super flattering
Was a very loose comfortable fit and the sequins were beautiful. I wasn't too fond of the dress because it wasn't as form fitting as the model is showing. More of a shift dress. My sleeves also kept snagging on the rest of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2014
not this dress
This dress is really pretty fabric but a little shapeless. I felt like it added weight and the sequins made it a little itchy so i chose another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
June 30, 2014
None
Looked cheap and didn't fit right. Never wore for event
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
July 1, 2014
Too big and too fancy for my event
It was a very pretty and elegant dress, but it was too formal for my event. It also was pretty loose and shapeless on my curvy, hourglass figure. I would rent this dress, sized down for a different event like opening night of a play or awards banquet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable!
Absolutely loved this dress! Got loads of compliments on it - wound up being perfect for the fancy Friday night wedding I attended!
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2014
Gatsby party
The dress was perfect for the party! It ran a little big and didn't really show off my figure, so in pictures I would put my hand on my hip and pull it back to show that I have a waist. But overall it was a great dress! Very comfortable...I'm 5'2 and it right right at my knees. The slip that comes with the dress is perfect and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 22, 2014
Fun!
I originally ordered this for a wedding. I had a wedding in the afternoon/evening, and then a bachelorette party in the late hours. This was originally the dress I was going to wear all evening, but I felt it was a little to 'flashy' for the wedding. Plus, it didn't cling to me quite as well as it does on the model. The dress was a little short for my almost 6' stature (which is why I didn't wear it to the wedding). It was very comfortable and fun for the bachelorette event instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 30, 2014
Loved the sparkles!
The dress was a great fit and very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 220lbs
August 20, 2014
Flattering and comfortable!!
This dress was so great! This was my first time using Rent the Runway, and the whole experience was wonderful. I received many compliments on the dress, and I felt very comfortable in it. It definitely hid my belly, which is usually a problem for me. The dress is not form fitting, so if you're looking for something to highlight your figure, you might want to pick a different style, but I enjoyed feeling comfortable and pretty at the same time (rather than having to choose one or the other!). I usually wear a size 16, and I ordered 16W with the 14W as backup. I ended up wearing the size 16 for the underlayer and the size 14 for the sparkly top layer (the 14 would have fit for both, but the dress was a tiny bit short on my 5'11" self and the size 16 underlayer was a little longer). I would absolutely recommend this dress, and as others have suggested, would suggest ordering your regular size with the next-smaller size as backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2014
Great dress
Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
September 18, 2014
This dress was awesome, I got a ton of compliments and it was totally comfortable.
I did not have problems with the dress snagging on anything at all, it was a shorter dress, but that was just fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
March 23, 2014
Great dress, but runs big.
Order down a size, or it looks like you have no waist/too boxy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34J
Body type: Full Bust
April 4, 2014
Received tons of compliments.
The arms of the dress run big. But overall the dress fit well.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
September 4, 2014
Very classy
The material catches on a lot of things so you have to be careful
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 26, 2013
I love it! It fit great.
I celebrated my 50th birthday in great style. It was even better than I thought. The size 16 fit me perfect. Thank you RTR
RenaeSeptember 23, 2014
Hi! This dress seems to fit you like a glove and fits others kinds boxy. Did you have to do anything to it?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
September 25, 2014
Easy to put on and fun to dress up in!
The dress was beautiful, I felt great in it! My body is shaped like an hourglass, but rotund belly (that's what 3 babies can do!) I used a girdle and the dress worked to my advantage.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
September 25, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
Rented for a military engagement and never felt more beautiful. Received quite a few compliments. Dress fits true to size and wasn't too short. I love getting my dresses from Rent The Runway. They never disappoint!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 27, 2014
Great for a girls weekend!
The dress is super comfortable and very flattering, but it is much longer on shorter girls than shown on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 6, 2014
Great dress for dancing, very comfortable, sparkly without being over-the- top.
My first RTR experience and I can't wait to rent another dress - the process was so easy! The dress was very comfortable. I'm 5'1" and wore 4 inch heels to gauge length in photo. I wish a 12w existed, the 14 was a bit too roomy but still received compliments all night. Was able to wear regular bra, the back is v cut but not too low. The quality is excellent, and the color is an exquisite gun- metal grey which helped me stand out a bit. The dress I was sent was brand new with tags.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 240lbs
October 6, 2014
Great dress for an evening wedding
Loved this dress! I was a little worried since the reviews made it seem like it would be way too big or too matronly, but I loved it. It was perfect for the wedding I went to, and I got tons of compliments. Does run slightly large.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 7, 2014
Great for formal dinners on cruise
Could've gone down a size. Normally don't wear "W" sizes, but opted to go with that with formal wear since I've found they tend to run small in "regular" sizes. Beautiful dress. I'll agree with the comments that it's not very shapely (even with shapewear). It kinds of just hangs. Not heavy at all. I did get many compliments though. Only real complaint was the pain in returning it. Kind of a hassle to find a UPS authorized return sight when on vacation. Minor problem, but finally tracked one down open on weekends to return.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 205lbs
October 14, 2014
Great party dress!
I'm between a size 16 regular and 14W. I ended up wearing the 16W, which fit my hips the best. Slightly large in the shoulders, but nothing that was uncomfortable or baggy. I received many compliments on the dress and am very happy with how it looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
October 30, 2014
So many compliments with this gorgeous dress!
I found this dress forgiving and true to size. It's basically a satin slip with a mesh overly. I wore a regular bra and snapped it into the straps of the slip. I went with a nude heel. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments! A number of people asked me where I got it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
October 30, 2014
I sparkled like a star!
Wow - did I ever get the compliments on this Kay Unger sheath! The dress fit like a glove, like it was tailored for me and it was the perfect amount of sparkle without being over the top. I had numerous people tell me I won the award for best dressed at a 700 person event. This sparkly number will have you feeling like a star!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
November 1, 2014
Super sparkly! I felt Glamorous!
This dress was pretty and made me feel glamorous. The pros - The lacy overlay was very forgiving. It concealed the things I don't like about myself. Having just had my 3rd baby, I like to keep my tummy hidden. It sparkles just right. The length was perfect. The dress was loose enough that I could dance and sit down and not be uncomfortable! The cons - The dress had a smell to it. I don't know if it was the chemicals from the dry cleaning or what, but it wasn't very pleasant. I tried to mask it with some perfume and no one seemed to notice the foul smell. The dress fit perfectly except at the top. It gaped a little in the back, which I noticed through out the evening when I was sitting down. Overall, I got a ton of compliments on the dress and I would wear it again. This was my first RTR experience and everything was great! Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2014
Dress
This dress is amazing. It is versatile runs big, If I has one size smaller it would have been magnificent. I would recommenced it. i had a 1920's celebration and all night I heard about how beautiful it was.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
November 20, 2014
Did not end of wearing, didn't fit
Very big on the top, but then again it was a sheath dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
November 21, 2014
I felt like a million bucks in this dress
Dress fit pretty true to size. Was maybe a little large in the bust. I felt amazing in it, and got compliments all night. Very sparkly and holiday appropriate.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
December 8, 2014
I wore this for a charity event and I am so glad I did. Comfortable, cute and perfect fit.
The sheath underneath was super comfortable and the sparkle on the overlay was just perfect. Struck a nice balance for an evening charity event. It is forgiving but fitted nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 220lbs
December 10, 2014
Unable to wear, but stunning!!
I never ended up wearing this (STUNNING!!) dress, because the fit was completely off. I can't blame it all on the dress though, as my body shape isn't exactly normal. I'm bigger on the bottom and my shoulders are much smaller, comparatively, so the straps on the underlayer of this dress simply could not stay up AT ALL, even in the smaller size. The bottom portion of the dress fit nicely, although I felt the 20 fit even better, but the straps were equivalent to that of a dress 4 x bigger. Another big turnoff was that my undergarment (Spanx) showed in the back of this dress, so I couldn't wear it and you really need to be fairly "smoothed out" underneath to pull off this dress. Very bummed that I couldn't wear it, because it's really a showstopper.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×