Kay Unger

Sequin Rain Sheath

$30 rental
$600 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready to shimmy it on the dance floor in this sequin shift by Kay Unger. Make everyone's heads turn when you pair it with Badgley Mischka's Showstopper Earrings, Ben-Amun's Kiss The Bride Bracelet, and Serpui Marie's Buckingham Silver Minaudiere.

Size & Fit

Sized: 16W - 22W

Size & Fit Notes

Sized: 16W - 22W

Plus Size Size Chart

Plus Size Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with sequins (65% Polyester, 35% Metallic Fibers). Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

126 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 69
Large 49
Photos 67
Rosanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 8, 2013

Great dress: comfortable, fancy and fun!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time on Rent the Runway because I was always slightly bigger than size 16. I would not hesitate to do it again. I absolutely loved the dress. It showed my midsection a little more than I wanted it to, but that's more my issue than the dress's issue! It was the perfect length for me and I'm 5'3 and it was true to size. Thank you for making these beautiful dresses available for women my size!
Amanda
Usually wears: 18
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 240 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Beautiful dress! Perfect for a wedding, but...

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress. It was comfortable, flattering, and had the right amount of sparkle. I was so excited to wear this to my event. However, when I received the dress the chemical, dry cleaning smell was overwhelming. I had it hanging in my hotel room for 2 days hoping that the scent would dissipate. It was so bad that at one point I had to air out my hotel room. The staff at RTR were great and offered to overnight me a new dress for the event.
FMM
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Beautiful dress! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, a little longer on me than pictured on the model, but I'm only 5'3". Very comfortable and very beautiful.
Crawfy
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

I love it! It fit great.

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I celebrated my 50th birthday in great style. It was even better than I thought. The size 16 fit me perfect. Thank you RTR
Atom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

Sparkle!!!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very nice dress super comfortable. Black slip underneath the lace over lay. Low back is very tasteful. Charcoal grey color is nice with texture of the lace and shine of the sequence! Sleeves are not tight. Liked this style!
LucyLooHoo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 6, 2014

I received lots of compliments on the dress...but I was terribly disappointed.

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress is lovely-- the lace and the beading really exquisite. Both sizes were in great condition-- the exception being that both were missing the bra straps. People loved the dress and I received dozens of compliments.. But I was disappointed. Both sizes I ordered were too large-- but it was for a New Years Eve party and it was too late to make a change. The dresses were *very* shapeless on me and made me appear *much* larger than I am. I cringe at every picture of me from that night. I ended up pairing it with black tights and knee boots to play up on the shapelessness. Heels looked silly. On the hanger it was stunning, on me it was forgettable.
Crystal
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
Jan 23, 2014

Got many compliments!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Looked great, fit a bit loose overall for the size but fit perfect in the bust. Loved the sparkle!
A.K.
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 12, 2014

I loved this dress!!! I will defintely use RTR again!!! So many compliments!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Somewhat large which is why I went for the smaller size!
elizabeth
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 27, 2014

classy dress, comfortable, longer

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
My husband loved this dress on me, I felt like it was a bit of an "older lady" style and kept referring to it as "mother of the groom," but I received a lot of compliments the night I wore it. I think I prefer a slimmer cut and shorter length. It was a great dress to wear to a nice dinner on a winter night with black tights/shoes. I usually have difficulty with dresses that have linings, but not with this dress.
Brittney
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

I felt so confident and received numerous compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
When looking for a dress to wear to my work's awards banquet I wanted something conservative but fun, and this dress definitely fit the bill! The dress ran true to size and because of the top layer I didn't even need spanx!! Loved partying the night away in a dress that was suitable for work colleagues, but still allowed me to express my love of all things sparkle. If you are looking for a dress that will subtlety sparkle, make you feel awesome, confident, and comfortable - this is your dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 2, 2014

Glad I ordered two sizes! Additionally, one style didn't arrive but they overnighted another.

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore for a gala and it was comfortable, stylish and flattering. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone.
Adina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Mar 3, 2014

I rented this dress for a formal fundraiser - I received many compliments!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I would have ordered a second dress in a size smaller as the fit was rather loose. Overall a comfortable dress and was glad of my choice.
Ren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 3, 2014

Sparkly, lump forgiving, perfect dress

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my law school ball. It was beautiful. I received many compliments. It looks black/gray in this picture, but in reality it varies depending on the lighting. In some pictures it looks blue, in some black, in many somewhere in between. The arms are wonderful. They are actually very slimming and really pretty b/c it's sheer over the skin. It includes a slip for underneath the dress. It is about 2-3 inches shorter than the sheer top, which means the bottom really shows off the lacey pattern. I have a bit of a belly and this hid it like magic. It really streamlined my body shape. I would rent this again. It did run slightly big, so go a size down and then get your normal size as the backup.
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 250 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Received compliments all night.

Size worn: 22W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
New to RTR and recently lost a few pounds so I didn't know what size to order. Ordered two, but only received one. Luckily, the one I received fit perfectly. A bit shorter than I expected, but that's the norm for me. This dress would've looked fabulous in heels, but coming off a recently sprained ankle, I decided not to tempt fate again. I will most definitely use RTR again.
Elgie
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 9, 2014

Felt dazzling!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Couldn't have been a more perfect fit! Was a little shorter on me than on the website, but I am quite tall. Felt that it accentuated all that needed accentuating! There were three if us who "rented the runway" for this charity ball. We all looked fabulous!!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a casino themed Jack & Jill Party. I have never worn a 14W before, I found the dress to be a little big on me, but it may be because I usually wear a 12 or 14 regular. I wasn't in love with the shape of the dress, but maybe I just wasn't used to the style, because I did get compliments all night long on it! It had just enough sparkles to glam it up a bit without being overwhelming. I also thought it was a great value price wise. Definitely recommend it!
Gilda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

Lots of sparkly fun!

Size worn: 22W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is definitely a fun party dress. Be prepared to shine! I wish it didn't snag as much on other peoples clothing but this is to be expected because of the fabric. Beware, when camera flashes go off, the sheath underneath will appear very prominently in photos. I wish the length was a tad longer, but that might be my personal preference. It will ride up a bit when you sit down. Paired it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Clear Drop earrings and it just popped!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 17, 2014

I definitely had strangers come up to me at the charity gala and compliment me on this dress!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super comfortable! I felt beautiful in it and received many compliments! I ordered up a size due to the fact that I'm 12 weeks pregnant with my 3rd. I'm 5'7" and the dress was a little longer on me than the model in the picture. I think I probably needed a size down. Also I have very narrow shoulders so the dress was quite big on me in that area as well. None the less it was beautiful, comfortable, and I was able to adjust the dress back further to keep it on my shoulders using the bra snaps. This was my first RTR experience and it was a great one! They make it so easy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Mar 21, 2014

Elegant, fun, and comfortable

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit beautifully. High-quality dress. Could have probably done a 14 across the bust, but waist, hips, and arms were perfect. Received a ton of compliments!
Rosemary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 20, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My only problem was that the lining kept slipping off my shoulder.
Baddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 211 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

The great service when upgrading to pro and delivering my birthday dress (with the pro bday promo)

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looked so nice on! I was a little disillusioned with my sizing because both sizes I chose were too big. So I had to belt the smaller of the two but that was my fault for sizing up. The belt puffed the dress out a bit making me look fluffy in the tummy regions which I'm not, but besides that I looked and felt beautiful and was parading around Hollywood getting a myriad of compliments from strangers and friends. Now that is a perfect birthday! I will absolutely rent this dress again! I recommend it to anyone considering it.
Katie
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Body type: Petite
Apr 27, 2014

the comfortable feeling in this dress

Size worn: 20W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
its alittle big so I would suggest to go a size smaller then your average size
SuperGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

So many compliments with this gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I found this dress forgiving and true to size. It's basically a satin slip with a mesh overly. I wore a regular bra and snapped it into the straps of the slip. I went with a nude heel. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments! A number of people asked me where I got it.
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 67
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs large. If it would have been a 14 regular, it would have fit perfectly. I had to fly out of town for a wedding, so I decided to go with it. The dress looked brand new. My only complaint is that it did not have any shape to it, so it does not flatter your curves. It was very comfortable and easy to wear all evening. It definitely looked "curvy" on the model. If you have no waist it would be a perfect dress. Lots of compliments, but i thought i did not look so good in the photos.
meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 210 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Really comfortable & fun dress for the CMA Awards!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Normally wear a size 18 so that's what I ordered; it was a little big and could've used a little more shape to it. I could pull the slip & dress on without having to unzip it, the 16 would have probably fit. I got tons of compliments on the dress, it was very comfy, none of the mesh was itchy and I felt stylish w/o worry about any wardrobe malfunctions. I would've like it to be a little shorter, it hit right at the knee but that's usual being 5'3".
christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 13, 2014

Fantastic dress!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit! Does run a touch big. usually wear an 18. Was able to wear the 16.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Nov 20, 2014

Did not end of wearing, didn't fit

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very big on the top, but then again it was a sheath dress
Katharine
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

I wore this for a charity event and I am so glad I did. Comfortable, cute and perfect fit.

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sheath underneath was super comfortable and the sparkle on the overlay was just perfect. Struck a nice balance for an evening charity event. It is forgiving but fitted nicely.
L
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Looks and feels great

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't over the moon about the dress, but everyone kept complimenting me on it so it must have looked good! I was worried it would be itchy but it wasn't at all.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 220 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Unable to wear, but stunning!!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I never ended up wearing this (STUNNING!!) dress, because the fit was completely off. I can't blame it all on the dress though, as my body shape isn't exactly normal. I'm bigger on the bottom and my shoulders are much smaller, comparatively, so the straps on the underlayer of this dress simply could not stay up AT ALL, even in the smaller size. The bottom portion of the dress fit nicely, although I felt the 20 fit even better, but the straps were equivalent to that of a dress 4 x bigger. Another big turnoff was that my undergarment (Spanx) showed in the back of this dress, so I couldn't wear it and you really need to be fairly "smoothed out" underneath to pull off this dress. Very bummed that I couldn't wear it, because it's really a showstopper.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 235 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

So sparkly!!!

Size worn: 20W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Sequinned, netted over-dress with a detached satin wide strap slip dress underneath. Beautiful color, picked up blue and silver tones from the light. It was fairly comfortable; sequins were a bit scratchy on the arms as they are not lined, but nothing terribly uncomfortable or unusual for this material. Based on the size chart, I choose the 20W. Fit nicely, was a bit more sheath than body-con, and quite lovely on. My measurements are 48-41-52 for reference for fit, with the slip dress fairly fitted in the bust; this dress hit just at the top of my knee length-wise.
Michelle
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Company Christmas Party.....felt really dressed up!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really nice fit, lots of compliments...the sequins and crocheted fabric were a little uncomfortable, but worth it.
Heather
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

The dress!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit nicely, I was concerned about size so it's great that you get an extra dress for free!!!! The dress was more purplish looking though, instead of grey.
Emily
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2015

Beautiful New Year's Eve Wedding!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress and several others for a New Year's Eve wedding. This one ended up being the winner. I wanted to have a little sleeve since it was freezing but also wanted some sparkle. The dress is true to size, but maybe a little big. It's not as form fitting as it appears in the photo which could be good or bad depending what look you are going for. You could wear it with tights but I opted not to. It was perfect for the wedding especially given it was NYE.
Carol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Excellent Fit, Beautiful Dress. Recieved loads of compliments.

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent Fit, Beautiful Dress. Recieved loads of compliments.
Kati
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 31, 2015

Better for someone less hourglass-y

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Sadly, sent this one back. Definitely designed with some more room rather than figure-fitting. Would probably work best on someone with a fuller bust (not just big around, but full) or maybe less of a waist...I'm usually a 16w and even the 14w was oddly floppy. The fabric was beautiful, though, and a terrific color, so I was sorry to see it go! On the right body, it would be great for a cocktail party.
Ali
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Loved this dress! So flattering when you aren't the perfect shape! I

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My dress did have lots of snags but my husband and I cleaned it up a bit before the party so it didn't look used. It was super comfortable for the whole evening.
Alicia
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 10, 2015

I felt beautiful all night.

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very comfortable. The fit was perfect. I was able to do everything I wanted to do without worrying about my dress.
Renee
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2015

Runs large and I didn't have much shape in it

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I actually never wound up wearing this because snow kept me from traveling to the wedding. I found it to run large and I didn't have much shape in it.
Lee
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
Feb 24, 2015

Didn't wear it - too matronly

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was cute on the hanger and fit fine, but did not look cute on me! It looked like I was wearing a big sparkly sheet and did not have a defined waist like the picture indicates. I thought it made me look bigger than I am and very matronly - not cute and fun like I was hoping.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×