Rent the Runway

Kay Unger

Sequin Rain Sheath

$30 rental
$600 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready to shimmy it on the dance floor in this sequin shift by Kay Unger. Make everyone's heads turn when you pair it with Badgley Mischka's Showstopper Earrings and Ben-Amun's Kiss The Bride Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 16W-22W

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips, semi- fitted lining
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Plus Size Size Chart

Plus Size Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with sequins (65% Polyester, 35% Metallic Fibers). Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

156 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 80
Large 57
Photos 80
Rosanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 8, 2013

Great dress: comfortable, fancy and fun!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time on Rent the Runway because I was always slightly bigger than size 16. I would not hesitate to do it again. I absolutely loved the dress. It showed my midsection a little more than I wanted it to, but that's more my issue than the dress's issue! It was the perfect length for me and I'm 5'3 and it was true to size. Thank you for making these beautiful dresses available for women my size!
Amanda
Usually wears: 18
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 240 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Beautiful dress! Perfect for a wedding, but...

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress. It was comfortable, flattering, and had the right amount of sparkle. I was so excited to wear this to my event. However, when I received the dress the chemical, dry cleaning smell was overwhelming. I had it hanging in my hotel room for 2 days hoping that the scent would dissipate. It was so bad that at one point I had to air out my hotel room. The staff at RTR were great and offered to overnight me a new dress for the event.
FMM
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Beautiful dress! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, a little longer on me than pictured on the model, but I'm only 5'3". Very comfortable and very beautiful.
Crawfy
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

I love it! It fit great.

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I celebrated my 50th birthday in great style. It was even better than I thought. The size 16 fit me perfect. Thank you RTR
Atom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

Sparkle!!!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very nice dress super comfortable. Black slip underneath the lace over lay. Low back is very tasteful. Charcoal grey color is nice with texture of the lace and shine of the sequence! Sleeves are not tight. Liked this style!
LucyLooHoo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 6, 2014

I received lots of compliments on the dress...but I was terribly disappointed.

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress is lovely-- the lace and the beading really exquisite. Both sizes were in great condition-- the exception being that both were missing the bra straps. People loved the dress and I received dozens of compliments.. But I was disappointed. Both sizes I ordered were too large-- but it was for a New Years Eve party and it was too late to make a change. The dresses were *very* shapeless on me and made me appear *much* larger than I am. I cringe at every picture of me from that night. I ended up pairing it with black tights and knee boots to play up on the shapelessness. Heels looked silly. On the hanger it was stunning, on me it was forgettable.
Crystal
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
Jan 23, 2014

Got many compliments!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Looked great, fit a bit loose overall for the size but fit perfect in the bust. Loved the sparkle!
A.K.
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 12, 2014

I loved this dress!!! I will defintely use RTR again!!! So many compliments!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Somewhat large which is why I went for the smaller size!
elizabeth
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 27, 2014

classy dress, comfortable, longer

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
My husband loved this dress on me, I felt like it was a bit of an "older lady" style and kept referring to it as "mother of the groom," but I received a lot of compliments the night I wore it. I think I prefer a slimmer cut and shorter length. It was a great dress to wear to a nice dinner on a winter night with black tights/shoes. I usually have difficulty with dresses that have linings, but not with this dress.
Brittney
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

I felt so confident and received numerous compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
When looking for a dress to wear to my work's awards banquet I wanted something conservative but fun, and this dress definitely fit the bill! The dress ran true to size and because of the top layer I didn't even need spanx!! Loved partying the night away in a dress that was suitable for work colleagues, but still allowed me to express my love of all things sparkle. If you are looking for a dress that will subtlety sparkle, make you feel awesome, confident, and comfortable - this is your dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 2, 2014

Glad I ordered two sizes! Additionally, one style didn't arrive but they overnighted another.

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore for a gala and it was comfortable, stylish and flattering. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone.
Adina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Mar 3, 2014

I rented this dress for a formal fundraiser - I received many compliments!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I would have ordered a second dress in a size smaller as the fit was rather loose. Overall a comfortable dress and was glad of my choice.
Ren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 3, 2014

Sparkly, lump forgiving, perfect dress

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my law school ball. It was beautiful. I received many compliments. It looks black/gray in this picture, but in reality it varies depending on the lighting. In some pictures it looks blue, in some black, in many somewhere in between. The arms are wonderful. They are actually very slimming and really pretty b/c it's sheer over the skin. It includes a slip for underneath the dress. It is about 2-3 inches shorter than the sheer top, which means the bottom really shows off the lacey pattern. I have a bit of a belly and this hid it like magic. It really streamlined my body shape. I would rent this again. It did run slightly big, so go a size down and then get your normal size as the backup.
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 250 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Received compliments all night.

Size worn: 22W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
New to RTR and recently lost a few pounds so I didn't know what size to order. Ordered two, but only received one. Luckily, the one I received fit perfectly. A bit shorter than I expected, but that's the norm for me. This dress would've looked fabulous in heels, but coming off a recently sprained ankle, I decided not to tempt fate again. I will most definitely use RTR again.
Elgie
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 9, 2014

Felt dazzling!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Couldn't have been a more perfect fit! Was a little shorter on me than on the website, but I am quite tall. Felt that it accentuated all that needed accentuating! There were three if us who "rented the runway" for this charity ball. We all looked fabulous!!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a casino themed Jack & Jill Party. I have never worn a 14W before, I found the dress to be a little big on me, but it may be because I usually wear a 12 or 14 regular. I wasn't in love with the shape of the dress, but maybe I just wasn't used to the style, because I did get compliments all night long on it! It had just enough sparkles to glam it up a bit without being overwhelming. I also thought it was a great value price wise. Definitely recommend it!
Gilda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

Lots of sparkly fun!

Size worn: 22W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is definitely a fun party dress. Be prepared to shine! I wish it didn't snag as much on other peoples clothing but this is to be expected because of the fabric. Beware, when camera flashes go off, the sheath underneath will appear very prominently in photos. I wish the length was a tad longer, but that might be my personal preference. It will ride up a bit when you sit down. Paired it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Clear Drop earrings and it just popped!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 17, 2014

I definitely had strangers come up to me at the charity gala and compliment me on this dress!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super comfortable! I felt beautiful in it and received many compliments! I ordered up a size due to the fact that I'm 12 weeks pregnant with my 3rd. I'm 5'7" and the dress was a little longer on me than the model in the picture. I think I probably needed a size down. Also I have very narrow shoulders so the dress was quite big on me in that area as well. None the less it was beautiful, comfortable, and I was able to adjust the dress back further to keep it on my shoulders using the bra snaps. This was my first RTR experience and it was a great one! They make it so easy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Mar 21, 2014

Elegant, fun, and comfortable

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit beautifully. High-quality dress. Could have probably done a 14 across the bust, but waist, hips, and arms were perfect. Received a ton of compliments!
Rosemary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 20, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My only problem was that the lining kept slipping off my shoulder.
Baddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 211 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

The great service when upgrading to pro and delivering my birthday dress (with the pro bday promo)

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looked so nice on! I was a little disillusioned with my sizing because both sizes I chose were too big. So I had to belt the smaller of the two but that was my fault for sizing up. The belt puffed the dress out a bit making me look fluffy in the tummy regions which I'm not, but besides that I looked and felt beautiful and was parading around Hollywood getting a myriad of compliments from strangers and friends. Now that is a perfect birthday! I will absolutely rent this dress again! I recommend it to anyone considering it.
Katie
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Apr 27, 2014

the comfortable feeling in this dress

Size worn: 20W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
its alittle big so I would suggest to go a size smaller then your average size
Alexis
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
May 3, 2014

Besides being a fabulous night with a great date, this dress made me feel amazingly beautiful!

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Two pieces, a little bit bigger than I expected, amazing beautiful!
Autumn
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 237 lbs
May 10, 2014

Received tons of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 20W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress. Ran a little large for me. I used the smaller back up size.
RTR Customer
May 18, 2014

I got so many compliments! And everyone loved the sparkle!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit very well. My only complaint was that it got caught on a lot of things including my jewelry, and was hard to get out without ripping the dress.
RTR Customer
May 20, 2014

BEAUTIFUL. Made me feel amazing.

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this in a 16 & 18. The 18 smelled of BO & the 16 was stale/peculiar smelling. Called RTR staff & a replacement was overnighted (sparks fly sheath). Despite the *ahem* peculiar odor of the 16, I braved it anyway because the replacement was not a good fit. All in all, I would rent again. The stylist, Alex, was amazingly helpful and understanding. What a great company & service.
Holly
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2014

The dress was so perfect! comfortable to wear all night of dancing and moving around at the event!!!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was exactly what I was looking for! I was a little nervous due to the fact I am never very consistent with my dress size! I did get the second size up but was much too large. So many compliments!!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 240 lbs
May 28, 2014

So fancy

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It is a gorgeous dress that does run a bit large. The 16 I ordered hid what little shape I have, it "squared" me out so thankfully I followed reviewers suggestion and sized down for a backup and although the 14 was a bit snug it was comfortable enough for the evening. I got many complements and felt very fancy. Thanks RTR!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

I felt amazing in this dress !

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bachelorette night. I felt amazing in it!
Rosabella
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

Loose and comfortable, but not super flattering

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Was a very loose comfortable fit and the sequins were beautiful. I wasn't too fond of the dress because it wasn't as form fitting as the model is showing. More of a shift dress. My sleeves also kept snagging on the rest of the dress.
Shannon
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 16, 2014

Gatsby party

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was perfect for the party! It ran a little big and didn't really show off my figure, so in pictures I would put my hand on my hip and pull it back to show that I have a waist. But overall it was a great dress! Very comfortable...I'm 5'2 and it right right at my knees. The slip that comes with the dress is perfect and I would definitely recommend it!
Alisa
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Loved the sparkles!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a great fit and very flattering.
Steph
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Singing in this dress made the night even better!!!

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Excellent fit and comfortable! #hollywood #glam #wedding #performance #happy
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
May 6, 2015

Too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I've rented Kay Unger dresses before and usually the 16W is right on the money (if not a little snug). This was swimming on me. Not to mention, there's not a whole heck of a lot of shape so it was not very flattering. I thought it would be a fun, party dress, but it actually seemed a little matronly. Bummer.
na4a1ie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
May 9, 2015

I didn't end up wearing this one to the event since it was my "backup" dress.

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was incredibly sparkly and could fit just about any body type I think. It ran a little big and wish that I could have gone a size down. The sleeves were a little itchy but otherwise a very comfortable fit and easy to move around in.
Nicole
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
May 14, 2015

Dress was pretty, and was a heavy material.

Size worn: 14W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
However I don't normally wear "Wide" sizes and looked beyond that and ordered it anyway. That was a mistake as the dressy was large and looked frumpy. I don't have wide hips or a "butt" but have a full bust so I'm kind of lollipop body shape and this dress did not do anything for my figure.
TT
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Full Bust
May 20, 2015

Dress was very comfortable and I received lots of compliments .

Size worn: 18W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not form fitting but that was what I liked about it. Runs true to size.
jfreda
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
May 21, 2015

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 20W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using rent the runway and overall I had a great experience. I got lots of compliments on this dress. A few details: The black lining is not attached to the sequence net overlay. I just thought that was a bit unusual. The sequence net got caught on everything! I had to remove my bracelets because they keep snagging the dress. The size 20 fit around my middle, but was too big up top. But even though the dress didn't fit perfectly it still looked great. And as I mentioned before, I got a lot compliments. I probably wouldn't rent this dress again, but that's only because there are so many beautiful dresses to choose from on RTR!
anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

I didn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress in pictures people submitted, and could have worn it, but liked the other I rented better. I felt like it was a little too matronly looking on me, it was pretty...just not me :)
Michele
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 19, 2015

The dress is beautiful and looked gorgeous on! Very flattering!

Size worn: 16W
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×