kate spade new york

Tiebreaker Dress

$99 to buy
$578 retail
Stylist Notes

Strut it in this kate spade new york red floral lace dress. A flirty style that will make him fall in love at the summer party! Go with stylish bangles like the Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Full skirt. Exposed gold zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
291 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(184)
Small
(43)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 12, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
August 15, 2012
Great dress!
Fun dress for an evening wedding. Only drawback is it is very heavy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 24, 2012
Got a ton of compliments!
I rented this dress for a work holiday party, and really loved the style. I wore it with pearls and black heels and got a ton of compliments. I wear an XS or a 0, and the 0 in this case was actually a little loose. It wasn't too big to wear, but I do think it runs larger than other 0s I've worn so keep that in mind when sizing.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
This dress was gorgeous but much too longer than I thought, despite the reviews. I returned.
This dress was beautiful but much too longer than I anticipated, despite the reviews. The skirt was VERY full and just too long for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 1, 2013
compliment from my boss on how pretty this dress was
The fit was a bit small and I had to go up a size but it fit perfectly once I did! The lace is beautiful but sturdy and the color is vibrant. I got so many compliments! on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2013
I wore this for NYE 2013 and found it easy to wear and quite fun!
Pros: heavier feel and fabric which was great for the cold night, very elegant, a little on the long side (ran just below my knee) which I loved, overall a flattering cut Cons: there was some kind of boning that ran on the sides of the garment that I found to be a bit pokey under my arms...not horrible, and no visible irritation on my skin, but it was rather annoying.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2013
Everything was effortless.
I rented this for a holiday party--that got cancelled! So I wore it to a work event--just belted it with a charcoal belt and dressed it down a little bit. It got so many compliments and I felt lovely wearing it (wish I'd taken a pic!). It fit well. It's a little heavy in terms of fabrication, so definitely better for cold-weather events, I think. But I loved it and would absolutely rent it again (maybe for a holiday party that actually happens!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2013
Vivid Red and Detailed
Another beautiful dress I am so glad I rented! This one was slightly heavier than I imagined and longer as well. I am a rather small gal with short legs so this dress hit right at the knee. Which would've been fine but for my age I wanted it to be a little shorter so I didn't look as much like my mother. Beautiful fabric and love the zipper on the back! Kate Spade knows her stuff.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it!
It fit perfectly. The color was just right, nice and vibrant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 16, 2013
Beautiful, well-fiting red dress. Loads of compliments from both men and women
Wore this to my niece's wedding in St. Louis. The dress was stunning. Although it is a conservative cut, the red made it stand out in a sea of black. Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 24, 2013
Makes you want to twirl!
This was a back-up dress and I ended up just taking it out to dinner with a few friends. It is beautiful and makes you want to dance! I will definitely rent it again for an occasion. It is very heavy, though, so may not be the best for a very warm event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Engagement Photo Dress
I rented this dress for my engagement photos. I'm in between 8 & 10, rented both, and found the 8 just a bit too big in the waist. It was a beautiful dress, and it popped in my photos. I'm very curvy and tall, and it fit very well! If I get an opportunity, I might buy it. Photo by John Cain Photography.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 6, 2013
The waist is a little strange
This is one of those times I wish the dress was mine and I could get it altered. I have a thick waist and was surprised that there was a bunch of extra fabric around the middle of this dress. It didn't have the slimming effect I was hoping to achieve. The lace detail and color are great but I felt a little odd. I think RTR has added some better red lace frocks to their inventory since I rented this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
March 11, 2013
Ran large, heavy fabric but very cute cut and color
I really loved the color and style of this dress but unfortunately it ran a little large and just didn't quite fit right. If I had gone down a size (or maybe even 2!) I think I would've loved it. Also the fabric is pretty heavy so this dress is probably better for fall/winter events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 18, 2013
So many compliments
I wore this to my bridal shower and loved it! The material was heavier than I expected, but it was a fun flirty dress, and the perfect length, not too short. I got a ton of compliments. The one thing I would tell someone is the lace is big, so I kept getting caught on door handles on drawers and tables. Just be careful where you walk. Oh, and if you are busty, it is tight on your girls, but it is true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2012
Feeling like $1M when I don't have $1M to spend on a dress!
I wore this dress to a fundraiser in San Francisco attended by "high society" and top philanthropists who have closets full of couture. Throughout the night, I received compliments and I felt great - felt like I fit in with the attire of the other more financially secure guests. It was also very comfortable and easy to move in as we went from cocktail hour to dinner to a concert with dancing. The color was great - very bold and bright - and the fabric was soft to the touch with intricate detailing. It was a little loose in the bust but overall fit true to size. As a mom of two, I was pleased that it hid the parts of my body that are in need of some toning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2012
Beautiful but heavy!!
I have a short torso, so the bodice of this dress was way too long. I just had a baby and unfortunately the pleats and fullness of the skirt hung right on the baby fat. I chose it thinking it would make my waist look small and camouflage my lower abdomen and hips, but it did the opposite and made me look much bigger than I am. I am only 5'2" so I think it would look much better on someone taller. The quality is amazing though- the lace and the color are gorgeous!!! One thing to note is that this dress is very heavy- I wouldn't recommend wearing this outdoors during the summer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 31, 2012
I stopped at a store before my event to purchase a card and a sweet older women flagged me down in the parking lot just to tell me that my dress was STUNNING!
I wore this to a family member's Confirmation and to a nice dinner after. The dress was a bit heavy but extremely well built and high quality. The lace detail and the bold color stood out in a crowd and I received many compliments throughout the evening. I highly recommend this dress for a cocktail party/formal event. Love it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
June 11, 2012
Loved!
Loved this red lace number! I rented to go to a horse race with my husband. It was perfect! Fitted in just the right place, and the full skirt was great for hiding my hips. You can wear a bra with this as well, elegant and comfortable! Will rent this again for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
June 14, 2012
Other than the bride, you were the best dressed beauty at the wedding.
The color and sheen of this dress is fantastic. I fit into a size 8, but chose the 10 because of hem length. I prefer a dress that hits at or just above the knee. Girls if you are curvy, no worries this dress is not fitted at all through the hips...I hate it when the dress is flared but the lining is straight. That is definitely not the case here. This dress is heavy because of the crocheting. Although perfect for an early June wedding in the evening, I would hesitate if it was a middle of the day in August wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2012
I liked the dress
I really liked the dress, but the material was too heavy for summer. I should have also paid more attention to the height of the model because i was expecting the dress to hit me above the knees, but since im 5'7 and not 5'10, it hit me lower, which i did not care for either.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2012
Compliments all night...
I wore this to a dear friend's wedding, and I received compliments on the dress all night long. The bride said it was the first thing she saw as she was walking down the aisle! The fabric is heavy, so I wouldn't recommend for an outdoor event, but it is beautiful and detailed, and the color surely pops!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 23, 2012
So Many Compliments!
Great fit- should work for all shapes. I got TONS of compliments on this dress. I would say its not super hot and sexy but great for a classic look. Pictures don't do it justice, it looks like a $575 dress. Didn't want to part with it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 25, 2012
Not a summer dress...
First off, this dress was beautiful. Very high-end and luxe fabric, very well made, and was in great condition. It definitely runs large though as the 4 was quite big on me. This would be a great option for hippy girls as the skirt is quite flared and has tons of extra fabric. For me, I felt the extra fabric and flared skirt just added unnecessary bulk and made the whole thing a little too schoolgirl for my taste. It's also very heavy, as many other reviewers have said, so perhaps a better option for the fall/winter rather than summer. I ordered it as my back-up and didn't end up wearing it for all of these reasons. It's a lovely dress, but just wasn't for me in the end.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2012
Fabulous dress!
Wore this to a 60th birthday party and got lots of compliments. I love the dress. It was a little large at the waist but I needed the size for the bust area. I would rent this dress again. Would love to own it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
Most amazing dress!
The beauty is in the detail of this one! I wasn't sure how it would fit and how I would like it, but it is absolutely gorgeous - I would love to own this dress! The lace is stunning (it's a thicker, "woven" lace, it's not super delicate) and even the gold zipper in the back was a great detail. I wore this for my engagement photos in June and I am thrilled that I am wearing this dress in all the pictures - it's awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 20, 2012
The Answer to the LBD!
I love this dress! It was my alternate selection and I ordered a size 6. My first choice worked for me so I did not end up wearing this but I would have needed a 4 if it was really going to work perfectly. There is a shiny satin fabric under the lacy overlay and details like the gold zipper pull in the back are great touches.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
August 31, 2012
Short waist but still pretty
I was pleasantly surprised by the drape of this heavy lace. Even though it's kind of thick, it flows very nicely over the body. My issue with the fit was that the waist seemed a little high--not high enough that I thought it was intentional, but about 1 inch above my natural waist. This was my back up dress, so I wore the other, but I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Way more compliments than I expected. Fun dress, perfect for the dancefloor.
Pros: fits true to size, super flattering, perfect for a wedding, color is amazing, versatile. Cons: the fabric + lining is a little heavy so I wouldn't wear it to a super humid/hot destination, bodice is really fitted so if you have a huge cup size you may want to think about a different dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
September 6, 2012
This dress stood out at the office retirement party so well.... It brightened the bittersweet day.
This dress was picked out for me be the wonderful RTR stylist due to the fact that the original Nantucket dress was not available last minute in my 2nd size choice. This wound up being a beautiful ,elegant, striking dress that although was slightly big in the waist for me ( I belted it was a black 2" wide patent belt) and it was great. The look was then made a bit more casual for what I needed it for and I loved it. I did wear the size 2 Nantucket dress the next day since I had it and loved that one also. Thank you Janna and Lindsay for your terrific customer service and the phone call to let me know my options and just for being excellent stylist that knew what I would like!!!! You are the best!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
lady who lunches
I received this dress as a back up option for a wedding. The dress was really pretty, with the fabric having a nice weight to it for a lace dress. I really loved the shape of the dress, but the top didn't do much for me. The fit was beautiful, but I normally wear a 4 and this dress fit in a 2. I really liked it, it just wasn't right for the evening wedding I was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
I stepped out of the box and went for this bold red floral lace dress and I'm OBSESSED!!!! It can be dressed up or dressed down. I wore this to an early evening wedding in Maine that was cocktail attire and the compliements didn't stop! I have to go out and purchase it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2013
fun dress with a vintage feel
I actually rented another dress but learned, just days before, that my original rental pick would not be available. I was very bummed and at work when I learned about this. I didn't have time or means to check for another dress, so Lindsay, a stylist made a few suggestioins and sent this one to me in its place. I probably would have never picked this dress on my own, so I'm glad she did! I got thousands of compliments and although the dress was a little big- I just added a belt and it looked great. Fun dress. Detail of the crochet was gorgeous. Fabric was a little on the heavy side and I could see it being a little uncomfortable in warmer weather. It hit me at about knee and I'm 5'5". I had some extra room at the waist and chest area. The skirt is full and so fun. Again, thanks Rent the runway and a special thanks to Lindsay! The stylists make this company and its customer service so stellar
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 63
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 6, 2013
Didn't think about what I was going to wear until 5 days before the wedding... RTR was there for me!
This dress, while beautiful, was not an all-time favorite for me. Loved the color and fabric, but the style was not quite me. I chose it because I had very little time and I knew it would fit. That being said, i received several compliments at the wedding (all from strangers) and my husband loved it, so what more could I ask for? The fabric is very heavy (very high quality) but i thought it looked slightly worn. I said it runs large, but if you are big busted which I am not, it might be tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2013
Cute but not for petite girls.
The dress is very cute, very Betty Draper. However, it is HEAVY and was very long on me. It was more flattering with huge heels but I still ended up going with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2013
This was a show stopper.
The color and material was beautiful. The red is brighter than it looks in the picture and the dress was long enough to be appropriate for an afternoon Fall wedding in Vermont. I got compliments all night and has made me a rent-the-runway addict :).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 2, 2013
Fun party dress!
This dress is perfect for a Christmas party. The lace overlay is very heavy and has a poinsettia design. I recommend going one size up for the backup because this fabric has no stretch at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2013
Nice dress
I was looking for something to wear for my rehearsal dinner before my wedding. I married into a Chinese family and needed something traditionally red and conservative yet still ME. This dress worked out pretty well. Color was great. Bold, retro type red. Fit: I ordered a 2 & a 4 based on reviews saying to size up, but wished I had a 0. It was a little big but not too noticeable. Quality was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2013
Loved the Red and lace combo!
This dress was great, a little tight but nothing too bad, I didn't have to wear a bra! Great length and great weight! LOVED!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Great color
This dress is very pretty and the red is vibrant. I've found that Kate Spade dresses are not great for those with broad, athletic shoulders as the chest/shoulder area generally seems to run smaller. At 5'10", the dress hit at a nice spot, right at the knee. This would be great for a garden party.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×