kate spade new york

Tiebreaker Dress

$55 to buy
$578 retail
Stylist Notes

Strut it in this kate spade new york red floral lace dress. A flirty style that will make him fall in love at the summer party! Go with stylish bangles like the Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Full skirt. Exposed gold zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
292 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(184)
Small
(43)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2012
I was not able to wear the dress because it was too small in the waist.
The dress has a more trim waist, and is not at all forgiving if you are not an hour-glass shape. I was so disappointed to return it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2012
I got this dress for my bridal show ant it was perfect. I kept getting compliments on the dress!
The fit was a little larger than I would have like but nothing that a little belting couldn't fix. The dress was a beautiful color and it felt really great. It was a really wonderful color and I kept getting compliments on my beautiful dress from strangers.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 3, 2012
I wore this dress for my bridal shower in August 2012. Great dress, great fit! Loved it!
The material is very luxe and the A-line shape is flattering. It is also a good dress for a more formal party since it is not too flimsy but you are still cool and comfortable (I wore it during a hot August day). The only problem with the size 6 they sent me was that the hem was broken in front. However, RTR also provided me with a little satchel that had double stick tape and it helped to keep the hem in tact where it was coming apart. The dress runs true to size. I ordered a size 6 and 8 and I wore the size 6. Other than the hem issue, this dress was great and I received so many compliments on it! I also rented the Kate Spade ship clutch and it was a great accent to the dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 5, 2012
Lovely and easy to wear
Loved this dress. Wore it with a black belt and heels. Comfortable yet fun and appropriate. Would happily wear it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
A bit disappointing.
I had high hopes for this dress, but it unfortunately didn't work out for me. The skirt was definitely fuller than I thought it was going to be, but it wasn't too full. I ordered the 4 and the 2 as my backup. The 4 was too large and the lace on the 2 puckered in between my chest and the waistline. This dress might just be one of those for small chested girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
best dressed wedding guest in this dress!
I wore this dress to my husband's best friend's wedding and it was absolute perfection! It was extremely comfortable and so awesome to dance in. The skirt of the dress twirls a lot so it looked incredible in photos. I wish I owned this dress because i know i would get tons of wear out of it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
My sorority hosts an annual Red Dress Gala charity event & this dress was perfect for the occasion!
Great quality, fit, and color. The dress was a bit longer than expected, but I was still very satisfied.
KristineNovember 28, 2012
Hello sister! I wore this to my Red Dress Gala too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 13, 2012
Loved the dress. Great color.
Got many compliments on the dress. Very detailed overlay. Would rent this again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
Everyone kept telling me how fabulous I looked - even the beautiful bride!!
definitely hangs heavy, but great for a fall wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
November 30, 2012
I can sum it up in one word: PHENOMENAL!
I don't think I have loved a dress as much as I did this one! It fits beautifully, the dress is just gorgeous, the color is beautiful, and the length is perfect. I HIGHLY recommend it! I wore it to my senior graduation and paired it with nude pumps. You will not be disappointed by this dress! I'm petite and that's huge worry for me when I rent dresses but this dress left me so unbelievably happy that I almost didn't want to return it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2012
This is a really pretty dress, great detail and shape overall.
This dress runs pretty true to size. It was a really pretty dress on - unfortunately the only down side was that the fabric was a lot heavier than I thought and I decided to return and swap it out for a different dress. I think this dress would be good for a fall or winter event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2012
Great for the holidays, fabric is heavy
I was planning on wearing this dress for a holiday party until I tried it on and it wasn't as dressy as I would've liked. Instead I wore it the Following night to the Nutcracker. I received a bunch of complements but I wasn't as in love with it as much as I thought I'd be. I'm 5'8" and the dress reached my knees so the dress would probably be below the knees if you're shorter or if you have a shorter torso. The skirt also falls heavy. I noticed some girls wore this dress to summer parties. Personally I would've overheated with this dress having so much fabric. Although I wasn't head over heels for the dress, I'm pleased with my RTR experience. Everything worked out very well logistically and it was fun to wear a new dress out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 124lbs
December 19, 2012
Perfect for holiday parties!
I wore this dress for my best friend's bridal shower last weekend and received so many compliments on it! The overall fit was great - runs true to size. The length was a little longer than I thought it would be (it would look frumpy without heels) but it was such a hit that I really didnt care. I would definitely recommend the dress to others. I wore it with nude heels but it could definitely be worn with tights, booties and a cute leather jacket. Very versitile!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 19, 2012
fun yet classic
I absolutely LOVED this dress! Would 100% rent again. I wish I could buy it! The dress is extremely comfortable and classy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 22, 2012
Friend's wedding
amazing dress but became little long to me...everybody loved it but i was little feeling uncomfortable because of the lenght of the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 23, 2015
Pretty Dress, However not for me.
This dress is very pretty and has a great weight to it. I order a 10 which is true to my size. Because I have a large chest 34 D, the dress was not very appealing. , I have average size hips, however this dress made me feel like I was all chest and hips. Not attractive at all. Sadly I sent it back. I think if you have a smaller chest and a straight shape, this would be adorable.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2012
The Dress was perfect!
Easy dress to wear - loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 12, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
August 15, 2012
Great dress!
Fun dress for an evening wedding. Only drawback is it is very heavy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 24, 2012
Got a ton of compliments!
I rented this dress for a work holiday party, and really loved the style. I wore it with pearls and black heels and got a ton of compliments. I wear an XS or a 0, and the 0 in this case was actually a little loose. It wasn't too big to wear, but I do think it runs larger than other 0s I've worn so keep that in mind when sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
This dress was gorgeous but much too longer than I thought, despite the reviews. I returned.
This dress was beautiful but much too longer than I anticipated, despite the reviews. The skirt was VERY full and just too long for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 1, 2013
compliment from my boss on how pretty this dress was
The fit was a bit small and I had to go up a size but it fit perfectly once I did! The lace is beautiful but sturdy and the color is vibrant. I got so many compliments! on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2013
I wore this for NYE 2013 and found it easy to wear and quite fun!
Pros: heavier feel and fabric which was great for the cold night, very elegant, a little on the long side (ran just below my knee) which I loved, overall a flattering cut Cons: there was some kind of boning that ran on the sides of the garment that I found to be a bit pokey under my arms...not horrible, and no visible irritation on my skin, but it was rather annoying.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2013
Everything was effortless.
I rented this for a holiday party--that got cancelled! So I wore it to a work event--just belted it with a charcoal belt and dressed it down a little bit. It got so many compliments and I felt lovely wearing it (wish I'd taken a pic!). It fit well. It's a little heavy in terms of fabrication, so definitely better for cold-weather events, I think. But I loved it and would absolutely rent it again (maybe for a holiday party that actually happens!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2013
Vivid Red and Detailed
Another beautiful dress I am so glad I rented! This one was slightly heavier than I imagined and longer as well. I am a rather small gal with short legs so this dress hit right at the knee. Which would've been fine but for my age I wanted it to be a little shorter so I didn't look as much like my mother. Beautiful fabric and love the zipper on the back! Kate Spade knows her stuff.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it!
It fit perfectly. The color was just right, nice and vibrant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 16, 2013
Beautiful, well-fiting red dress. Loads of compliments from both men and women
Wore this to my niece's wedding in St. Louis. The dress was stunning. Although it is a conservative cut, the red made it stand out in a sea of black. Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 24, 2013
Makes you want to twirl!
This was a back-up dress and I ended up just taking it out to dinner with a few friends. It is beautiful and makes you want to dance! I will definitely rent it again for an occasion. It is very heavy, though, so may not be the best for a very warm event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Engagement Photo Dress
I rented this dress for my engagement photos. I'm in between 8 & 10, rented both, and found the 8 just a bit too big in the waist. It was a beautiful dress, and it popped in my photos. I'm very curvy and tall, and it fit very well! If I get an opportunity, I might buy it. Photo by John Cain Photography.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 6, 2013
The waist is a little strange
This is one of those times I wish the dress was mine and I could get it altered. I have a thick waist and was surprised that there was a bunch of extra fabric around the middle of this dress. It didn't have the slimming effect I was hoping to achieve. The lace detail and color are great but I felt a little odd. I think RTR has added some better red lace frocks to their inventory since I rented this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
March 11, 2013
Ran large, heavy fabric but very cute cut and color
I really loved the color and style of this dress but unfortunately it ran a little large and just didn't quite fit right. If I had gone down a size (or maybe even 2!) I think I would've loved it. Also the fabric is pretty heavy so this dress is probably better for fall/winter events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 18, 2013
So many compliments
I wore this to my bridal shower and loved it! The material was heavier than I expected, but it was a fun flirty dress, and the perfect length, not too short. I got a ton of compliments. The one thing I would tell someone is the lace is big, so I kept getting caught on door handles on drawers and tables. Just be careful where you walk. Oh, and if you are busty, it is tight on your girls, but it is true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2013
fun dress with a vintage feel
I actually rented another dress but learned, just days before, that my original rental pick would not be available. I was very bummed and at work when I learned about this. I didn't have time or means to check for another dress, so Lindsay, a stylist made a few suggestioins and sent this one to me in its place. I probably would have never picked this dress on my own, so I'm glad she did! I got thousands of compliments and although the dress was a little big- I just added a belt and it looked great. Fun dress. Detail of the crochet was gorgeous. Fabric was a little on the heavy side and I could see it being a little uncomfortable in warmer weather. It hit me at about knee and I'm 5'5". I had some extra room at the waist and chest area. The skirt is full and so fun. Again, thanks Rent the runway and a special thanks to Lindsay! The stylists make this company and its customer service so stellar
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 63
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 6, 2013
Didn't think about what I was going to wear until 5 days before the wedding... RTR was there for me!
This dress, while beautiful, was not an all-time favorite for me. Loved the color and fabric, but the style was not quite me. I chose it because I had very little time and I knew it would fit. That being said, i received several compliments at the wedding (all from strangers) and my husband loved it, so what more could I ask for? The fabric is very heavy (very high quality) but i thought it looked slightly worn. I said it runs large, but if you are big busted which I am not, it might be tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2013
Cute but not for petite girls.
The dress is very cute, very Betty Draper. However, it is HEAVY and was very long on me. It was more flattering with huge heels but I still ended up going with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2013
This was a show stopper.
The color and material was beautiful. The red is brighter than it looks in the picture and the dress was long enough to be appropriate for an afternoon Fall wedding in Vermont. I got compliments all night and has made me a rent-the-runway addict :).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 2, 2013
Fun party dress!
This dress is perfect for a Christmas party. The lace overlay is very heavy and has a poinsettia design. I recommend going one size up for the backup because this fabric has no stretch at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2013
Nice dress
I was looking for something to wear for my rehearsal dinner before my wedding. I married into a Chinese family and needed something traditionally red and conservative yet still ME. This dress worked out pretty well. Color was great. Bold, retro type red. Fit: I ordered a 2 & a 4 based on reviews saying to size up, but wished I had a 0. It was a little big but not too noticeable. Quality was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2013
Loved the Red and lace combo!
This dress was great, a little tight but nothing too bad, I didn't have to wear a bra! Great length and great weight! LOVED!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Great color
This dress is very pretty and the red is vibrant. I've found that Kate Spade dresses are not great for those with broad, athletic shoulders as the chest/shoulder area generally seems to run smaller. At 5'10", the dress hit at a nice spot, right at the knee. This would be great for a garden party.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×