Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Marilyn Bow Dress

$85 rental
$478 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

65 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 42
Large 2
Photos 46
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Perfect for a shower.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress has such a cute bow print! It was really comfortable to wear. Loved it. Would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 31, 2013

Gorgeous dress, perfect fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super flattering and comfortable! It's not too revealing but has a fantastic open back for that little bit of daring.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

TOO cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is officially my new favorite party dress. The adorable bow print is to die for and there is a bow at the back of the dress too! The fit was incredibly easy even though you have to wear without a bra or with a sticky bra - the waist is fitted so everything feels secure! Perfect length to make it a cutesy party option - would recommend for everyone!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

This dress is total girly perfection.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly. The back is to die for (had to wear a stick-on bra, totally worth it). Got so many compliments all night. It was comfortable and nothing like what anyone else was wearing. When you wear this dress, you can just keep recycling the same lame joke of "they said the dress code was black tie!" and everyone will laugh and tell you that you're adorable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 17, 2013

Sweet and Sassy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my tea party themed bridal shower. It was the perfect fit and shape. I love the flattering cut as well as the fun and sassy back. Very easy to ear and great with the pockets.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

SO MANY COMPLIMENTS

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was killer! As some of the other ladies mentioned, it is an extremely comfy dress, just a tad big in the shoulders.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

This dress was perfect for my birthday party! Flashy enough, and so so fun to wear.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress fits tightly around the waste, so would not be ideal for a dinner, but great for a party and dancing. I got the 0 and 2, and ended up with the 2. It is actually a fancy silk material. I thought it was more casual and cotton when I rented it, but was pleasantly surprised by the silk. The open back is a great touch. Perfect rental as the bold pattern would be hard to repeat nowadays with instant uploading of photos for all to see.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Couldn't have been happier.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I think the dress is very formal chic. I found it to be slightly tight on the top but that is because I have wide shoulders and a large chest. It was very comfortable even thought it was slightly tight. I got so many compliments on the dress. If you are thinking about it I say go for it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
May 8, 2013

Perfect dress for the KY Derby!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit! A bit shorter than I expected but turned out great.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 15, 2013

I used this for our engagement session, and received a lot of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is adorable, and fits great.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
May 22, 2013

So Cute and Classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. It was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I felt formal in my bow tie print yet casual in my comfort. Its the perfect pairing of sexy and cute with an open back and subtle bow. Altogether it was a great look; especially for a graduation! My only complaint was the length, it was much shorter than I expected!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 21, 2013

Felt like a LADY & a DOLL.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfection. I ordered the 4 & the 6 since I have a smallish waist and bigger hips/butt. The 4 fit like a dream because the waist is really the only part that cinches in. The material has a little sheen so it's nice enough to wear to a cocktail party but casual enough for day. Pair it with a pair of retro inspired or bold colored heels (I chose fuschia retro ones). I didn't end up wearing the necklace I got with it because the bows by the neck made it seem too busy. I'd pair withe earrings/fun bracelet only. I wore this for my birthday party at a cupcake shop and it was better than I could have ever hoped. I wore it thinking it's my birthday so I can wear something fun, who cares, but it was crazy how even guys at the bars after the party ended kept saying how much they loved my dress. This is the kind of dress that's made for RTR. Really fun, stand out, and memorable to the point that if you take pics in it, you basically can't wear it again so there's no point in owning. If you have a body like mine (busty, hippy, booty with smaller waist), RENT. THIS. DRESS.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 23, 2013

I wore this dress to a fab gay wedding in Brooklyn and it was a hit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and length!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Perfect for a wedding luncheon or graduation

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress' print got lots of compliments and has a great '60s era full skirt with a dramatic back. It's great for a daytime occasion on the formal side. The front is conservative but the back livens it up. Stick-on bra only.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 29, 2013

Perfect for best friend's bridal shower!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Felt beautiful in this dress and got a ton of compliments, both at the party and through social media after. It runs small and went with my back up size...could've probably squeezed in to my regular size, but wanted to feel more comfortable. The back detail of the dress really makes it--It's business in the front, party on the back. But, really it's just party all around!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 1, 2013

Cute, girly dress perfect for a cocktail party or date night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for engagement photos and it was perfect! There is a little bow in the back that is such a cute detail. The only thing I had an issue with is it was a little tight around my chest. I am a 34B and normally size 4s fit fine. It was just a little tight, but fine to wear for photos. Another great RTR experience!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Best Dressed!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a black and white themed formal party! I received so many comments on the dress, it almost became annoying, almost! The 00 was a little tight, a 0 would have been better, but it wasn't available. The back detailing was perfect, not to low, but just enough. Would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Flawless and beyond fabulous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I am so in love with this dress! I wore it for my birthday, and I never wanted to take it off. I typically teeter between a 0 and a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. The top was very tight, but a 2 would have been unflattering for my body type. The length was perfect for me (my legs are deceptively short, and this hits just above the knee). The material was so soft and not as heavy as I thought it would be. I wore it outside in 85 degrees and felt great. The back...is to die for. Doesn't scoop down too low. Just so classy! I felt like a million bucks in this dress and already want to rent it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 22, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my husband's 30th birthday party. I was extremely happy with the dress, although it was a bit loose in the waist and chest (I usually wear a size 2 in dresses, but it was only available in a size 4). Despite this, it was comfortable and I got TONS of compliments all night. It even has cute pockets! Will definitely use RTR again for another event!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 27, 2013

AMAZING!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so sad to have to return this dress! I wore it to my bridal shower & everyone absolutely loved it - people were stopping me on the street to compliment it! The back is amazing - I wore the NuBra without a problem. Definitely no give to the fabric but the 4 zipped up perfectly - not for someone with a larger chest! Excellent first RTR experience - I recommend to all!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 28, 2013

I rented this dress for my bridal shower. This Kate Spade dress was perfectly adorable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for a day party. The fit is on the small side around the waist and larger around the bust. Size 4 fit perfectly around my waist, but as a 34A the bust was a little loose. I would definitely recommend this dress for any summer get together.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

Great Dress for a Fun, Outdoor Wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My friends got married at Camp Wandawega, so I knew I wanted to wear a unique dress. This dress was *adorable*. It was comfortable, the perfect length, and I got a lot of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and absolutely loved it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size. It's tightest in the waist.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

The most perfect anniversary photo shoot dress! I felt like Audrey.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I normally wear 00 in Kate Spade, but I wore the 0 in this one due to the boob area being too tight in the 00. I felt AMAZING in this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Sep 19, 2013

Spectacular dress! Thank you RTR!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I aboslutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it! So flattering and fun! You will not be disappointed! I was so sad to send it back.. .
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Unforgettable dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for our engagement party in mid-September. I am SO glad I went a size up for my backup size - I'd been considering going a size down. However, with the way the armpit-holes are cut, and the zip up on the side not the back, I couldn't even get the 0 to zip over my bust. So, I went up to the 2 and it fit perfectly. So if you bust is a bit disproportionate to the rest of you, maybe size up for your back up size. As a side note, it looks like it is stark white in the photo, but it's actually more of a parchment white and black. I ended up wearing it with some beige wedges and it was very cute. I am glad it was a bit off-white because it was not a formal affair, so I was able to dress it down (I felt if I'd worn black heels I would have been over dressed).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

So cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Its a silky material and a little shiny. I loved it and my bf and I looked great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

I received so many compliments in this fantastic dress!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like an absolute dream and was the perfect length.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Eye catcher

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was amazing, i wore it for a date night with my hubby. Everyone complimented it i never wanted to send it back! it fit amazing, i am normal size 0-2 but with a size 34D chest, i finally was able to wear a dress with out a bra and i loved that!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 6, 2013

The fit and style of this dress was so unique it made me feel special!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My typical clothes run between a 6-8 so I was a little nervous about this one. It was slightly snug, especially after dinner, but was never so tight I was uncomfortable. I did not wear a bra and felt mostly comfortable, but probably would go with cups next time.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

The back makes the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back! It was perfect for my boyfriend's launch party for his new iPhone application which uses a bow tie for the logo! The bow ties are super cute and the low cut back shows just enough skin. I typically wear a size 4 but the size 6 fit perfectly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

Big hit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everyone loved this dress. I wore this to my rehearsal dinner -- everyone loved it! I got compliments all night. I felt confident, and just the right amount of sassy. I love the pockets.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

This cute little number was perfect for a polo match in Pacific Palisades!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Cute dress with fun little bow details in the back (too bad they were a little wrinkled). I received lots of compliments from total strangers! Pros: really fun pattern Cons: not really white as pictured, bows on the back of the dress arrived wrinkled, felt like the dress needed to be retired soon because of the wear, a tad short
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
in one word, the dress is cute. i wore it for my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. there isnt much stretch to the fabric, so just keep that in mind when ordering. regardless, the size 2 fit well. like everyone else, i especially loved the back.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Fun and Flirty

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my engagement photos and it was just as adorable in person as it was pictured online. They only had a size 0 available and I am typically a size 2 but figured I would give it a try. Luckily I'm not busty by any means so I was able to squeeze myself into it. It is slightly off white/light greyish and my only complaint was that the liner underneath showed at some points. Overall such a great dress and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and flirty look.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

such a fun night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was maybe a tiny bit small, but for my size I do have a large chest so I just taped up and went with it! It has such a fun shape and the back is fantastic. I was a little worried about the pattern but because the dress is silk it didnt make the bowties look too silly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 30, 2014

I wish I owned this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fun and flirty for a friend's bachelorette party! I LOVED the plunging back and full skirt (with pockets!). This is a perfect RTR dress because it's so memorable that you can't wear it regularly-so why buy it?!?
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Too small, not the dresses fault :)

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was way too small! I was in between 14's and 16's and I knew I was taking a risk but I hadn't worn Kate Spade before so I gave it a shot. The dress was cute but much too small for me. It was also the first time I had rented a dress from RTR that looked worn out. The fabric almost looked dingy. Not my favorite.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

The back is beautiful and the front is modest enough where you can wear any where.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly everywhere.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

Felt AMAZING! Got tons of double takes while wearing this!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Date
AMAZING DRESS. Wanted to keep it! The back was my favorite part (it was low and had a sweet bow at the bottom). It did run a little tight, but not in an uncomfortable way. Held stuff together, lol.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×