Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Marilyn Bow Dress

$85 rental
$478 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

65 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 42
Large 2
Photos 46
NJL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Super Cute - but not what I wanted (and it fit a little awkward)

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
So I rented this dress for a party, the fabric looks more casual in the picture, in real life it's more dressy. The 00 fit, but it was a little tight in the waist, but big in the shoulders. Also the hem was long. The dress overall was cute, but not what I wanted. It was a little more conservative and not as fun as it looks in the picture. It wasn't as sassy as I was hoping it would be. I tried the 0 to see if it was more comfortable and it was WAY big.
Keek
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was a little snug, but a 4 fit just fine. Would recommend ordering one size up from normal size to be safe.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Adorable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
To me this runs just a tad small, but not by much! This dress is SO adorable. Cannot say enough good things about how cute it is!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Cute but couldn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ordered this as a backup dress and it was way way too small. I ordered a size 2, based on what I've mostly been wearing from RtR, but I could't even zip it. It's a side zip which may have been why - I'm very muscular and typically don't fare well in side-zip clothing. Also I wouldn't have been able to wear a bra with it which is just a no-no for me. The fabric and pattern were very cute though.
Charlotte
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 1, 2013

Everyone at the party loved my dress. I don't think there was one woman that didn't tell me that.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a small chest so i needed to wear a bra with it. Otherwise it would have been baggy on the bust lines.
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
May 2, 2013

very pleased with experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVVEEEDDD THE DRESS!!!!! but,Thanfully the size 4 fit and I was able to wear this dress, instead of the alternative size 2 bc the hem was out of the dress when I received the shipment.
marina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
May 3, 2013

what a great dress! fun and easy to wear

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit great, easy to zip up, really flattering i got so many compliments!
Gilly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2013

I thought this dress was super cute but it runs too small.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was excited to wear this dress to a wedding but it runs small so I couldn't wear it.
Chelsae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 12, 2013

Beautiful, Fun Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my graduation. All the sizes were rented out except for the 0, but I called RTR and they said that Kate Spade runs slightly large so I decided to go for it. Sadly, my rib cage was too large and it did not zip up! But the dress was absolutely beautiful--made out of a heavier cotton and flaring out at the hip for a great silhouette. I cannot wait to rent it again in a size 2 or 4!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
May 22, 2013

Cute back

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is cute, and the back makes the dress in my opinion. I've found that Kate Spade dresses aren't great for those with broad, athletic shoulders so unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress. At 5'10", this dress was also quite short.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2013

Cute bow ties! Love the low back

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is unbelievably cute. For me, the ribs area was a bit tighter than I expected - but everything else about the dress - the skirt, flare, etc. was true to size. Would recommend dressing it up with a colored necklace.
clairehamm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Easily fit in for 2 different events.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is cute, sexy and comfortable and fun. I am considering buying it. I wore it to a political event in the early evening with a hot pink suit jacket, then just took the jacket off for another party later in the evening to expose the low back. I have a larger bust, but was still able to wear it without a bra.
Vita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 16, 2013

Great material, totally eye-catching

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Ran small tho and had no time to exchange :(
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 19, 2013

I wore this for my graduate commencement ceremony, and it was polished and cute

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The waistband hits a little high, around the ribs, and it was very tight. The back of the dress is very cute though, and the pattern is adorable. I am 5'6-ish and the dress was longer on me than on the model, which worked out perfectly - it hit a bit above the knee.
julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

UNFORGETTABLE GORGEOUS DRESS!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything was absolutely perfect about this dress! I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and I got millions of compliments on this dress! The back of the dress is adorable. The length is perfect for a more formal affair but the part backless dress makes it super fun and flirty! The material is so soft but can wrinkle easily! I did not want to take this dress off or send it back!
CC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 28, 2013

I got SO MANY compliments from girls, guys...everyone! The design makes it casual "black tie."

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is cut perfectly. The waist falls just above the belly bottom, so it perfectly conceals your belly and you can breathe, drink and move with ease! The fabric is also a softer, silk material and makes it look very expensive. Cannot stress enough how much I loved this dress.
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Jul 3, 2013

Did not wear. :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a 2. The only sizes available were for a 00 & 0. I have rented Kate Spade before & she typically runs large so I thought I would wing it. Once I found out they didn't fit I called RTR & they overnighted me new Kate Spade dresses at no additional charge. A friend that is smaller than we was able to wear these & RAVED about the experience. All in all, this dress is ADORABLE--just wasn't available in my size. I may try to rent the 2 & the 4 in the future for a perfect fit. :)
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

PERFECT dress for my Bridal Shower!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such a fun, playful, girly dress - absolutely perfect for my bridal shower. I was able to sit and open gifts without adjusting or pulling it down, because the pleated skirt fell over my knees. But when I was standing, the dress is short enough that I could show some leg. It was tight enough in the chest that I didn't need a bra and the open back was a fun, sexy little detail. The 6 fit perfectly, but did need a little help with the zipper. I would definitely recommend this dress - it's comfortable, flattering, sexy, girly, and fun! I got SO many compliments. Happy renting!
stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Thought I had found "The Dress."

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The material is nice especially the flow of the dress. I absolutely loved the back of the dress which gave it that ultimate sophisticated sexy. However and even though, I did order two sizes, I was not able to wear the dress. It was a perfect fit up to the point, when it came to zipping. I am a tall woman and quite slender for my height and am big up top. This dress is a side-zipper and I could not get it zipped fully. I tried everything possible to squeeze my top half in but it was completely unsuccessful and a big disappointment. I did email RTR and they told me to have the dress delivered back to them immediately and they would credit my account - that did me no good, since I was rushed to go out that afternoon and buy another dress, which I will say, was a size 4 with a side zipper and had no problems with the fit.
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Aug 20, 2013

Loved this dress for my Rehearsal Dinner!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was dead on - I ordered a six and a four and went with the four.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 6, 2013

I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent fit, would rent it again!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Adorable, flattering, formal but still fun

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is more formal than it looks- it is a shiny material. But, the fun pattern and flattering cut still keep it looking young and fun. The bow detail and the low back are the perfefct fun touch in back. I have a very small waist, and the dress wasn't as snug as it could have been. But- it fit well enough and offered such a flattering shilouette overall that it still ended up looking raelly good. I am 5'4" and the dress came to a few inches above my knees and was a prefect lenght- classy without being dowdy. I wore the dress for a formal daytime event and it was the perfect choice since it was both formal and daytime appropraite. I would rent this one again! I only took off 1 star since hte fit was not as perfect as it could have been for me.
ChaCha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Runs very small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as my backup dress for my wedding anniversary. We were going to a really nice restaurant and I thought it'd look so cute as my "black tie" dress. Unfortunately, the dress runs way too small! I couldn't even zip up the size 4! I have full busts so I sometimes run into these problems, but usually have no problems fitting into a size 2 or 4 at the waist. I was bummed, such an adorable dress, cute print and it has pockets! I'm tempted to order a size 6 and 8 next time. Would look so great for a summer wedding.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

looked worn and discolored

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Regarding the style, this is one of my favorite dresses ever. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and party and it was so cute and everyone loved it (the back is the best). The main problem is the dress is supposed to bright white and should have a lovely silky texture...but the rented ones are not like this anymore. I tried this dress on several times in stores (when it was brand new) and it was white and crisp. However, both dresses that showed up for my rehearsal dinner (size 2 and 0) were discolored -- no longer white, more like an off-white dingy color, an even one looked more blush-like. There was no silky texture left either, it felt and looked much more casual and like it was just plain cotton instead of the cotton/silk mixture that it is made of. This is my first order from RTR when the dress looked anything other than brand new. It really showed its age and the number of times it had been cleaned.
Joey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
i loved this dress! wish i could have kept it. i'm on the shorter side (5'4), so most kate spade dresses look overwhelmingly long on me if i'm not wearing heels, but this one was a little shorter than most kate spade dresses. i do think it ran on the smaller side... i easily fit into a kate spade size 2, but i had a bit of trouble zipping this one up! not small enough for me to warrant sizing up, but if you're in between sizes, definitely consider ordering a size up as a back up!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×