kate spade new york

Marilyn Bow Dress

$85 rental
$478 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 17, 2013
Flawless and beyond fabulous!
I am so in love with this dress! I wore it for my birthday, and I never wanted to take it off. I typically teeter between a 0 and a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. The top was very tight, but a 2 would have been unflattering for my body type. The length was perfect for me (my legs are deceptively short, and this hits just above the knee). The material was so soft and not as heavy as I thought it would be. I wore it outside in 85 degrees and felt great. The back...is to die for. Doesn't scoop down too low. Just so classy! I felt like a million bucks in this dress and already want to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
July 22, 2013
Great party dress!
I wore this dress for my husband's 30th birthday party. I was extremely happy with the dress, although it was a bit loose in the waist and chest (I usually wear a size 2 in dresses, but it was only available in a size 4). Despite this, it was comfortable and I got TONS of compliments all night. It even has cute pockets! Will definitely use RTR again for another event!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2013
PERFECT dress for my Bridal Shower!!
Such a fun, playful, girly dress - absolutely perfect for my bridal shower. I was able to sit and open gifts without adjusting or pulling it down, because the pleated skirt fell over my knees. But when I was standing, the dress is short enough that I could show some leg. It was tight enough in the chest that I didn't need a bra and the open back was a fun, sexy little detail. The 6 fit perfectly, but did need a little help with the zipper. I would definitely recommend this dress - it's comfortable, flattering, sexy, girly, and fun! I got SO many compliments. Happy renting!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 14, 2013
Great Dress for a Fun, Outdoor Wedding
My friends got married at Camp Wandawega, so I knew I wanted to wear a unique dress. This dress was *adorable*. It was comfortable, the perfect length, and I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
August 20, 2013
Loved this dress for my Rehearsal Dinner!
The fit was dead on - I ordered a six and a four and went with the four.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 28, 2013
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and absolutely loved it.
This dress fit true to size. It's tightest in the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
September 19, 2013
Spectacular dress! Thank you RTR!!
I aboslutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it! So flattering and fun! You will not be disappointed! I was so sad to send it back.. .
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2013
So cute!
Its a silky material and a little shiny. I loved it and my bf and I looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
October 14, 2013
I received so many compliments in this fantastic dress!
The dress fit like an absolute dream and was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 22, 2013
Big hit!
Everyone loved this dress. I wore this to my rehearsal dinner -- everyone loved it! I got compliments all night. I felt confident, and just the right amount of sassy. I love the pockets.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2013
This cute little number was perfect for a polo match in Pacific Palisades!
Cute dress with fun little bow details in the back (too bad they were a little wrinkled). I received lots of compliments from total strangers! Pros: really fun pattern Cons: not really white as pictured, bows on the back of the dress arrived wrinkled, felt like the dress needed to be retired soon because of the wear, a tad short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect dress for the KY Derby!
Great fit! A bit shorter than I expected but turned out great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 9, 2014
cute!
in one word, the dress is cute. i wore it for my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. there isnt much stretch to the fabric, so just keep that in mind when ordering. regardless, the size 2 fit well. like everyone else, i especially loved the back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2014
such a fun night!
this dress was maybe a tiny bit small, but for my size I do have a large chest so I just taped up and went with it! It has such a fun shape and the back is fantastic. I was a little worried about the pattern but because the dress is silk it didnt make the bowties look too silly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2013
TOO cute!
This is officially my new favorite party dress. The adorable bow print is to die for and there is a bow at the back of the dress too! The fit was incredibly easy even though you have to wear without a bra or with a sticky bra - the waist is fitted so everything feels secure! Perfect length to make it a cutesy party option - would recommend for everyone!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Sweet and Sassy
I wore this for my tea party themed bridal shower. It was the perfect fit and shape. I love the flattering cut as well as the fun and sassy back. Very easy to ear and great with the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2013
Couldn't have been happier.
I think the dress is very formal chic. I found it to be slightly tight on the top but that is because I have wide shoulders and a large chest. It was very comfortable even thought it was slightly tight. I got so many compliments on the dress. If you are thinking about it I say go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2013
Best Dressed!
I wore this dress for a black and white themed formal party! I received so many comments on the dress, it almost became annoying, almost! The 00 was a little tight, a 0 would have been better, but it wasn't available. The back detailing was perfect, not to low, but just enough. Would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 27, 2013
AMAZING!
I was so sad to have to return this dress! I wore it to my bridal shower & everyone absolutely loved it - people were stopping me on the street to compliment it! The back is amazing - I wore the NuBra without a problem. Definitely no give to the fabric but the 4 zipped up perfectly - not for someone with a larger chest! Excellent first RTR experience - I recommend to all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 14, 2013
Eye catcher
This dress was amazing, i wore it for a date night with my hubby. Everyone complimented it i never wanted to send it back! it fit amazing, i am normal size 0-2 but with a size 34D chest, i finally was able to wear a dress with out a bra and i loved that!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2013
The fit and style of this dress was so unique it made me feel special!
My typical clothes run between a 6-8 so I was a little nervous about this one. It was slightly snug, especially after dinner, but was never so tight I was uncomfortable. I did not wear a bra and felt mostly comfortable, but probably would go with cups next time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2014
Fun and Flirty
I rented this dress for my engagement photos and it was just as adorable in person as it was pictured online. They only had a size 0 available and I am typically a size 2 but figured I would give it a try. Luckily I'm not busty by any means so I was able to squeeze myself into it. It is slightly off white/light greyish and my only complaint was that the liner underneath showed at some points. Overall such a great dress and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and flirty look.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 6, 2013
I got so many compliments!
Excellent fit, would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 30, 2014
I wish I owned this dress!
This dress was fun and flirty for a friend's bachelorette party! I LOVED the plunging back and full skirt (with pockets!). This is a perfect RTR dress because it's so memorable that you can't wear it regularly-so why buy it?!?
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2015
The back is beautiful and the front is modest enough where you can wear any where.
Fit perfectly everywhere.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×