kate spade new york

Marilyn Bow Dress

$85 rental
$478 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(20)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
November 13, 2013
The back makes the dress!
I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back! It was perfect for my boyfriend's launch party for his new iPhone application which uses a bow tie for the logo! The bow ties are super cute and the low cut back shows just enough skin. I typically wear a size 4 but the size 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 22, 2013
Big hit!
Everyone loved this dress. I wore this to my rehearsal dinner -- everyone loved it! I got compliments all night. I felt confident, and just the right amount of sassy. I love the pockets.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2013
This cute little number was perfect for a polo match in Pacific Palisades!
Cute dress with fun little bow details in the back (too bad they were a little wrinkled). I received lots of compliments from total strangers! Pros: really fun pattern Cons: not really white as pictured, bows on the back of the dress arrived wrinkled, felt like the dress needed to be retired soon because of the wear, a tad short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect dress for the KY Derby!
Great fit! A bit shorter than I expected but turned out great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2013
Great material, totally eye-catching
Loved this dress! Ran small tho and had no time to exchange :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 9, 2014
cute!
in one word, the dress is cute. i wore it for my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. there isnt much stretch to the fabric, so just keep that in mind when ordering. regardless, the size 2 fit well. like everyone else, i especially loved the back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2014
such a fun night!
this dress was maybe a tiny bit small, but for my size I do have a large chest so I just taped up and went with it! It has such a fun shape and the back is fantastic. I was a little worried about the pattern but because the dress is silk it didnt make the bowties look too silly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
November 11, 2014
Too small, not the dresses fault :)
This dress was way too small! I was in between 14's and 16's and I knew I was taking a risk but I hadn't worn Kate Spade before so I gave it a shot. The dress was cute but much too small for me. It was also the first time I had rented a dress from RTR that looked worn out. The fabric almost looked dingy. Not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 20, 2015
Felt AMAZING! Got tons of double takes while wearing this!
AMAZING DRESS. Wanted to keep it! The back was my favorite part (it was low and had a sweet bow at the bottom). It did run a little tight, but not in an uncomfortable way. Held stuff together, lol.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2013
TOO cute!
This is officially my new favorite party dress. The adorable bow print is to die for and there is a bow at the back of the dress too! The fit was incredibly easy even though you have to wear without a bra or with a sticky bra - the waist is fitted so everything feels secure! Perfect length to make it a cutesy party option - would recommend for everyone!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Sweet and Sassy
I wore this for my tea party themed bridal shower. It was the perfect fit and shape. I love the flattering cut as well as the fun and sassy back. Very easy to ear and great with the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2013
Couldn't have been happier.
I think the dress is very formal chic. I found it to be slightly tight on the top but that is because I have wide shoulders and a large chest. It was very comfortable even thought it was slightly tight. I got so many compliments on the dress. If you are thinking about it I say go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
May 22, 2013
So Cute and Classy
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. It was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I felt formal in my bow tie print yet casual in my comfort. Its the perfect pairing of sexy and cute with an open back and subtle bow. Altogether it was a great look; especially for a graduation! My only complaint was the length, it was much shorter than I expected!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2013
Best Dressed!
I wore this dress for a black and white themed formal party! I received so many comments on the dress, it almost became annoying, almost! The 00 was a little tight, a 0 would have been better, but it wasn't available. The back detailing was perfect, not to low, but just enough. Would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 27, 2013
AMAZING!
I was so sad to have to return this dress! I wore it to my bridal shower & everyone absolutely loved it - people were stopping me on the street to compliment it! The back is amazing - I wore the NuBra without a problem. Definitely no give to the fabric but the 4 zipped up perfectly - not for someone with a larger chest! Excellent first RTR experience - I recommend to all!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 8, 2013
The most perfect anniversary photo shoot dress! I felt like Audrey.
I normally wear 00 in Kate Spade, but I wore the 0 in this one due to the boob area being too tight in the 00. I felt AMAZING in this dress!
StacySeptember 14, 2013
this is adorable, love yours shoes!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 14, 2013
Eye catcher
This dress was amazing, i wore it for a date night with my hubby. Everyone complimented it i never wanted to send it back! it fit amazing, i am normal size 0-2 but with a size 34D chest, i finally was able to wear a dress with out a bra and i loved that!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2013
The fit and style of this dress was so unique it made me feel special!
My typical clothes run between a 6-8 so I was a little nervous about this one. It was slightly snug, especially after dinner, but was never so tight I was uncomfortable. I did not wear a bra and felt mostly comfortable, but probably would go with cups next time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2014
Fun and Flirty
I rented this dress for my engagement photos and it was just as adorable in person as it was pictured online. They only had a size 0 available and I am typically a size 2 but figured I would give it a try. Luckily I'm not busty by any means so I was able to squeeze myself into it. It is slightly off white/light greyish and my only complaint was that the liner underneath showed at some points. Overall such a great dress and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and flirty look.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2013
Adorable!
To me this runs just a tad small, but not by much! This dress is SO adorable. Cannot say enough good things about how cute it is!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Cute back
This dress is cute, and the back makes the dress in my opinion. I've found that Kate Spade dresses aren't great for those with broad, athletic shoulders so unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress. At 5'10", this dress was also quite short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2013
Cute bow ties! Love the low back
The dress is unbelievably cute. For me, the ribs area was a bit tighter than I expected - but everything else about the dress - the skirt, flare, etc. was true to size. Would recommend dressing it up with a colored necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 6, 2013
I got so many compliments!
Excellent fit, would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 30, 2014
I wish I owned this dress!
This dress was fun and flirty for a friend's bachelorette party! I LOVED the plunging back and full skirt (with pockets!). This is a perfect RTR dress because it's so memorable that you can't wear it regularly-so why buy it?!?
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2015
The back is beautiful and the front is modest enough where you can wear any where.
Fit perfectly everywhere.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×