Marilyn Bow Dress

$85 rental
$478 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size42
Small20
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
June 19, 2013
I wore this for my graduate commencement ceremony, and it was polished and cute
The waistband hits a little high, around the ribs, and it was very tight. The back of the dress is very cute though, and the pattern is adorable. I am 5'6-ish and the dress was longer on me than on the model, which worked out perfectly - it hit a bit above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2013
Great material, totally eye-catching
Loved this dress! Ran small tho and had no time to exchange :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2013
Easily fit in for 2 different events.
This dress is cute, sexy and comfortable and fun. I am considering buying it. I wore it to a political event in the early evening with a hot pink suit jacket, then just took the jacket off for another party later in the evening to expose the low back. I have a larger bust, but was still able to wear it without a bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2013
Cute bow ties! Love the low back
The dress is unbelievably cute. For me, the ribs area was a bit tighter than I expected - but everything else about the dress - the skirt, flare, etc. was true to size. Would recommend dressing it up with a colored necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
May 22, 2013
So Cute and Classy
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. It was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I felt formal in my bow tie print yet casual in my comfort. Its the perfect pairing of sexy and cute with an open back and subtle bow. Altogether it was a great look; especially for a graduation! My only complaint was the length, it was much shorter than I expected!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Cute back
This dress is cute, and the back makes the dress in my opinion. I've found that Kate Spade dresses aren't great for those with broad, athletic shoulders so unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress. At 5'10", this dress was also quite short.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2013
I used this for our engagement session, and received a lot of compliments on the dress.
The dress is adorable, and fits great.
KatieJune 6, 2013
beautiful! great idea!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2013
Beautiful, Fun Dress
I rented this for my graduation. All the sizes were rented out except for the 0, but I called RTR and they said that Kate Spade runs slightly large so I decided to go for it. Sadly, my rib cage was too large and it did not zip up! But the dress was absolutely beautiful--made out of a heavier cotton and flaring out at the hip for a great silhouette. I cannot wait to rent it again in a size 2 or 4!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2013
I thought this dress was super cute but it runs too small.
I was excited to wear this dress to a wedding but it runs small so I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect dress for the KY Derby!
Great fit! A bit shorter than I expected but turned out great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
May 3, 2013
what a great dress! fun and easy to wear
fit great, easy to zip up, really flattering i got so many compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
May 2, 2013
very pleased with experience!
LOVVEEEDDD THE DRESS!!!!! but,Thanfully the size 4 fit and I was able to wear this dress, instead of the alternative size 2 bc the hem was out of the dress when I received the shipment.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
Everyone at the party loved my dress. I don't think there was one woman that didn't tell me that.
I have a small chest so i needed to wear a bra with it. Otherwise it would have been baggy on the bust lines.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2013
Couldn't have been happier.
I think the dress is very formal chic. I found it to be slightly tight on the top but that is because I have wide shoulders and a large chest. It was very comfortable even thought it was slightly tight. I got so many compliments on the dress. If you are thinking about it I say go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for my birthday party! Flashy enough, and so so fun to wear.
The dress fits tightly around the waste, so would not be ideal for a dinner, but great for a party and dancing. I got the 0 and 2, and ended up with the 2. It is actually a fancy silk material. I thought it was more casual and cotton when I rented it, but was pleasantly surprised by the silk. The open back is a great touch. Perfect rental as the bold pattern would be hard to repeat nowadays with instant uploading of photos for all to see.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 23, 2013
Cute but couldn't wear
Ordered this as a backup dress and it was way way too small. I ordered a size 2, based on what I've mostly been wearing from RtR, but I could't even zip it. It's a side zip which may have been why - I'm very muscular and typically don't fare well in side-zip clothing. Also I wouldn't have been able to wear a bra with it which is just a no-no for me. The fabric and pattern were very cute though.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2013
SO MANY COMPLIMENTS
The dress was killer! As some of the other ladies mentioned, it is an extremely comfy dress, just a tad big in the shoulders.
RachelJuly 31, 2013
did you wear a bra? or was it comfortable where the dress held you in
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Sweet and Sassy
I wore this for my tea party themed bridal shower. It was the perfect fit and shape. I love the flattering cut as well as the fun and sassy back. Very easy to ear and great with the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2013
Adorable!
To me this runs just a tad small, but not by much! This dress is SO adorable. Cannot say enough good things about how cute it is!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2013
This dress is total girly perfection.
Fit perfectly. The back is to die for (had to wear a stick-on bra, totally worth it). Got so many compliments all night. It was comfortable and nothing like what anyone else was wearing. When you wear this dress, you can just keep recycling the same lame joke of "they said the dress code was black tie!" and everyone will laugh and tell you that you're adorable.
BethanyJuly 18, 2013
Could you have gotten away with no bra--or was the material not thick enough?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2013
Tons of compliments!
Was a little snug, but a 4 fit just fine. Would recommend ordering one size up from normal size to be safe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2013
TOO cute!
This is officially my new favorite party dress. The adorable bow print is to die for and there is a bow at the back of the dress too! The fit was incredibly easy even though you have to wear without a bra or with a sticky bra - the waist is fitted so everything feels secure! Perfect length to make it a cutesy party option - would recommend for everyone!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 31, 2013
Gorgeous dress, perfect fit!
This dress is super flattering and comfortable! It's not too revealing but has a fantastic open back for that little bit of daring.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
March 24, 2013
Super Cute - but not what I wanted (and it fit a little awkward)
So I rented this dress for a party, the fabric looks more casual in the picture, in real life it's more dressy. The 00 fit, but it was a little tight in the waist, but big in the shoulders. Also the hem was long. The dress overall was cute, but not what I wanted. It was a little more conservative and not as fun as it looks in the picture. It wasn't as sassy as I was hoping it would be. I tried the 0 to see if it was more comfortable and it was WAY big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2013
Perfect for a shower.
The dress has such a cute bow print! It was really comfortable to wear. Loved it. Would rent again.
JordanApril 6, 2013
What kind of bra did you wear?
SarahApril 23, 2013
you would have to wear a stick-on bra - too low in the back for regular or even strapless
KatieMay 3, 2013
I went no bra and it wasn't an issue
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×